DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-14, and 16-21, and 23-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diaz (US 2022/0317438, of record) in view of Soskind (US 2022/0299605, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Diaz discloses a laser transmitter (see Fig 1A), comprising: an emission assembly comprising a light outlet configured to emit a laser beam (see Fig 1A; Para [0024]; laser 101 has a light outlet emitting laser light); and a phased array assembly located at the light outlet, wherein the phased array assembly is configured to change a direction of the laser beam emitted from the light outlet (see Fig 1A; Para [0026-0032]; meta surface 190 together with steering actuator 195 used to steer laser beam), the plurality of adjustment unit comprise a liquid crystal cell or an optical waveguide unit (see Fig 1A; Para [0024-0026]; meta surface 190 act as optical waveguide to direction incident light).
Diaz does not disclose wherein the phased array assembly comprises material characterized by an electro-optical effect and a thermo-optical effect, and the phased array assembly is configured to change the direction of the laser beam emitted from the light outlet under control of an applied electric field or temperature of the phased array assembly; and wherein the phased array assembly comprises a plurality of phase adjustment units located outside the laser transmitter, on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and arranged in an array, and the plurality of phase adjustment units forming the array comprise at least two rows of phase adjustment units, and each row of phase adjustments units comprises at least two phase adjustment units; wherein a phase difference between a first laser beam and a second laser beam is ΔΦ, a phase difference between a second laser beam and a third laser beam is 2ΔΦ, and a phase difference between a third laser beam and a fourth laser is 3ΔΦ. Diaz and Soskind are related because both disclose light emitting devices.
Soskind discloses a light emitting device (see Fig 2A) wherein the phased array assembly comprises material characterized by an electro-optical effect and a thermo-optical effect (see Fig 2A; Para [0046-0047]; modulators 70 comprises electro-optical elements and may be temperature tunable phase modulator as stated in Para [0047]), and the phased array assembly is configured to change the direction of the laser beam emitted from the light outlet under control of an applied electric field or temperature of the phased array assembly (see Fig 2A; Para [0046]; a phased modulator array comprising liquid crystal cells that respond to electrical stimulus to cause beam steering); and wherein the phased array assembly comprises a plurality of phase adjustment units located outside the laser transmitter, on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and arranged in an array (see Fig 2A and 5A; Para [0042-0044]; phased array layer 68 of units 70 is assembled outside the laser transmitter 58 on an outer side of the transparent medium 52 which is away from a diffractive structure 60 which examiner interprets as the light outlet), and the plurality of phase adjustment units forming the array comprise at least two rows of phase adjustment units, and each row of phase adjustments units comprises at least two phase adjustment units (see Fig 5A; Para [0051-0054]; the array of units 70 comprises multiple rows of multiple phase units 70; phase adjustment units are being interpreted as liquid crystal cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Diaz with wherein the phased array assembly comprises material characterized by an electro-optical effect and a thermo-optical effect, and the phased array assembly is configured to change the direction of the laser beam emitted from the light outlet under control of an applied electric field or temperature of the phased array assembly; and wherein the phased array assembly comprises a plurality of phase adjustment units located outside the laser transmitter, on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and arranged in an array, and the plurality of phase adjustment units forming the array comprise at least two rows of phase adjustment units, and each row of phase adjustments units comprises at least two phase adjustment units of Soskind for the purpose of maintaining a small fill factor of modulators so that the far-field optical energy forms an array of beams rather than a single beam (Para [0052])
Diaz in view of Soskind does not disclose wherein a phase difference between a first laser beam and a second laser beam is ΔΦ, a phase difference between a second laser beam and a third laser beam is 2ΔΦ, and a phase difference between a third laser beam and a fourth laser is 3ΔΦ.
Optimizing a phase difference between adjacent laser beams, is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result- effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Duval et al. in Pgs. 6-8 teaches the ability of a beam to adjust adjacent phase differences to form a specific beam shape with a capability to steer said beam which achieves a recognized result which may be modeled.
Therefore, the prior art teaches a phase difference between adjacent laser beams being critical to beam formation and identifies said ratio as result-effective variable. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to modify Diaz in view of Soskind with wherein a phase difference between a first laser beam and a second laser beam is ΔΦ, a phase difference between a second laser beam and a third laser beam is 2ΔΦ, and a phase difference between a third laser beam and a fourth laser is 3ΔΦ since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Claims 10-12, 19, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camarri (US 2016/0025855, of record) in view of Soskind (US 2022/0299605, of record).
Regarding claim 10, Camarri discloses a depth camera (see Fig 1), comprising a laser transmitter and a laser receiver (see Fig 1; Para [0018]; device 100 comprises a light emitter 106 and a TOF sensor 108); wherein the laser transmitter comprises an emission assembly and a phased array assembly (see Fig 1; Para [0020]; device comprises an emission assembly which is interpreted as the structure used to emit light and phased array/lens 120A); wherein the emission assembly has a light outlet, and the light outlet is configured to emit a laser beam (see Fig 1; Para [0018-0020]; light has an outlet that emits light at one end of the device 100); and the phased array assembly is located at the light outlet and is configured to change a direction of the laser beam emitted from the light outlet (see Fig 1; Para [0020]; Lens 120A is located at outlet and shapes light of the light emitter); and the laser receiver is arranged side by side with the laser transmitter (see Fig 1; Para [0018]; TOF sensor 108 is disposed side by side to the laser emitter 106). Camarri does not disclose wherein the phased array assembly comprises material characterized by an electro-optical effect and a thermo-optical effect, and the phased array assembly is configured to change the direction of the laser beam emitted from the light outlet under control of an applied electric field or temperature of the phased array assembly; and wherein the phased array assembly comprises a plurality of phase adjustment units located outside the laser transmitter, on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and arranged in an array, and the plurality of phase adjustment units forming the array comprise at least two rows of phase adjustment units, and each row of phase adjustment units comprises at least two phase adjustment units, the plurality of phase adjustment units comprise a liquid crystal cell or an optical waveguide unit, wherein a phase difference between a first laser beam and a second laser beam is ΔΦ, a phase difference between a second laser beam and a third laser beam is 2ΔΦ, and a phase difference between a third laser beam and a fourth laser is 3ΔΦ. Camarri and Soskind are related because both disclose light emitting devices.
Soskind discloses a light emitting device (see Fig 2A) wherein the phased array assembly comprises material characterized by an electro-optical effect and a thermo-optical effect (see Fig 2A; Para [0046-0047]; modulators 70 comprises electro-optical elements and may be temperature tunable phase modulator as stated in Para [0047]), and the phased array assembly is configured to change the direction of the laser beam emitted from the light outlet under control of an applied electric field or temperature of the phased array assembly (see Fig 2A; Para [0046]; a phased modulator array comprising liquid crystal cells that respond to electrical stimulus to cause beam steering); and wherein the phased array assembly comprises a plurality of phase adjustment units located outside the laser transmitter, on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and arranged in an array (see Fig 2A and 5A; Para [0042-0044]; phased array layer 68 of units 70 is assembled outside the laser transmitter 58 on an outer side of the transparent medium 52 which is away from a diffractive structure 60 which examiner interprets as the light outlet), and the plurality of phase adjustment units forming the array comprise at least two rows of phase adjustment units, and each row of phase adjustment units comprises at least two phase adjustment units (see Fig 5A; Para [0051-0054]; the array of units 70 comprises multiple rows of multiple phase units 70; phase adjustment units are being interpreted as liquid crystal cells), the plurality of phase adjustment units comprise a liquid crystal cell or an optical waveguide unit (see Fig 5A; Para [0032]; electro-optic modulators may be liquid crystal cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Camarri with wherein the phased array assembly comprises material characterized by an electro-optical effect and a thermo-optical effect, and the phased array assembly is configured to change the direction of the laser beam emitted from the light outlet under control of an applied electric field or temperature of the phased array assembly; and wherein the phased array assembly comprises a plurality of phase adjustment units located outside the laser transmitter, on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and arranged in an array, and the plurality of phase adjustment units forming the array comprise at least two rows of phase adjustment units, and each row of phase adjustment units comprises at least two phase adjustment units, the plurality of phase adjustment units comprise a liquid crystal cell or an optical waveguide unit of Soskind for the purpose of reducing the size and complexity of laser scanning devices so as to improve the overall performance of the device (Para [0028-0029]).
Camarri in view of Soskind does not disclose wherein a phase difference between a first laser beam and a second laser beam is ΔΦ, a phase difference between a second laser beam and a third laser beam is 2ΔΦ, and a phase difference between a third laser beam and a fourth laser is 3ΔΦ.
Optimizing a phase difference between adjacent laser beams, is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result- effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Duval et al. in Pgs. 6-8 teaches the ability of a beam to adjust adjacent phase differences to form a specific beam shape with a capability to steer said beam which achieves a recognized result which may be modeled.
Therefore, the prior art teaches a phase difference between adjacent laser beams being critical to beam formation and identifies said ratio as result-effective variable. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to modify Camarri in view of Soskind with wherein a phase difference between a first laser beam and a second laser beam is ΔΦ, a phase difference between a second laser beam and a third laser beam is 2ΔΦ, and a phase difference between a third laser beam and a fourth laser is 3ΔΦ since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 11, Camarri in view of Soskind discloses the depth camera of claim 10 (Camarri: see Fig 1). Camarri further discloses wherein the laser receiver comprises a fourth circuit board, a holder and a sensor chip (Camarri: see Fig 1; Para [0018]; a receiving portion of PCB 110 contains the TOF sensor 108 and a holder comprising spacer 114 and optics member 116); the holder is connected to a surface of the fourth circuit board and is provided with a light inlet (Camarri: see Fig 1; Para [0018]; spacer 114 and optics member 116 is connected to PCB 110 and has light inlet), and the light inlet is located at a side, facing away from the fourth circuit board, of the holder (Camarri: see Fig 1; inlet is facing away from PCB 110); and the sensor chip is located inside the holder, connected to the surface of the fourth circuit board, and opposite to the light inlet (Camarri: see Fig 1; Para [0018]; TOF sensor 108 is located inside the spacer and optics member region and is connected to PCB 110).
Regarding claim 12, Camarri in view of Soskind discloses the depth camera of claim 11 (Camarri: see Fig 1). Camarri further discloses wherein the laser receiver further comprises a receiving lens and a narrow-band filter; the receiving lens is located at the light inlet and is connected to the holder (Camarri: see Fig 1; Para [0027]; a lens 120B and a filter 121B may be placed on element 116 to receive light); and the narrow-band filter is located at the light inlet and is sandwiched between the receiving lens and the holder (Camarri: see Fig 6; Para [0027]; filter may be located between lens 120B and element 116).
Regarding claim 19, Camarri discloses an electronic device (see Fig 1) comprising: a depth camera located in a housing (see Fig 1; Para [0022]; device 100 is a proximity sensor which contains light emitter and TOF sensor surrounded by spacer 114 and optics member 116, 118), wherein the depth camera comprises a laser transmitter and a laser receiver (see Fig 1; Para [0018]; device 100 comprises a light emitter 106 and a TOF sensor 108); wherein the laser transmitter comprises an emission assembly and a phased array assembly (see Fig 1; Para [0020, 0028]; device comprises an emission assembly which is interpreted as the structure used to emit light composed of element 102 and a phased array/lens 120A; Camarri discloses multiple beam shaping elements in Para [0028]); the emission assembly has a light outlet, and the light outlet is configured to emit a laser beam (see Fig 1; Para [0018-0020]; light emission channel 102 has an outlet at the top of the channel that emits light at one end of the device); and the phased array assembly is located at the light outlet and is configured to change a direction of the laser beam emitted from the light outlet (see Fig 1; Para [0020]; Lens 120A is located at outlet of 102 and shapes light of the light emitter); and wherein the laser receiver is arranged side by side with the laser transmitter (see Fig 1; Para [0018]; TOF sensor 108 is disposed side by side to the laser emitter 106).
Camarri does not disclose wherein the phased array assembly comprises material characterized by an electro-optical effect and a thermo-optical effect, and the phased array assembly is configured to change the direction of the laser beam emitted from the light outlet under control of an applied electric field or temperature of the phased array assembly; and wherein the phased array assembly comprises a plurality of phase adjustment units located outside the laser transmitter, on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and arranged in an array, and the plurality of phase adjustment units forming the array comprise at least two rows of phase adjustment units, and each row of phase adjustments units comprises at least two phase adjustment units, the plurality of phase adjustment units comprise a liquid crystal cell or an optical waveguide unit, wherein a phase difference between a first laser beam and a second laser beam is ΔΦ, a phase difference between a second laser beam and a third laser beam is 2ΔΦ, and a phase difference between a third laser beam and a fourth laser is 3ΔΦ. Camarri and Soskind are related because both disclose light emitting devices.
Soskind discloses a light emitting device (see Fig 2A) wherein the phased array assembly comprises material characterized by an electro-optical effect and a thermo-optical effect (see Fig 2A; Para [0046-0047]; modulators 70 comprises electro-optical elements and may be temperature tunable phase modulator as stated in Para [0047]), and the phased array assembly is configured to change the direction of the laser beam emitted from the light outlet under control of an applied electric field or temperature of the phased array assembly (see Fig 2A; Para [0046]; a phased modulator array comprising liquid crystal cells that respond to electrical stimulus to cause beam steering); and wherein the phased array assembly comprises a plurality of phase adjustment units located outside the laser transmitter, on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and arranged in an array (see Fig 2A and 5A; Para [0042-0044]; phased array layer 68 of units 70 is assembled outside the laser transmitter 58 on an outer side of the transparent medium 52 which is away from a diffractive structure 60 which examiner interprets as the light outlet), and the plurality of phase adjustment units forming the array comprise at least two rows of phase adjustment units, and each row of phase adjustments units comprises at least two phase adjustment units (see Fig 5A; Para [0051-0054]; the array of units 70 comprises multiple rows of multiple phase units 70; phase adjustment units are being interpreted as liquid crystal cells), the plurality of phase adjustment units comprise a liquid crystal cell or an optical waveguide unit (see Fig 5A; Para [0032]; electro-optic modulators may be liquid crystal cells)..
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Camarri with wherein the phased array assembly comprises material characterized by an electro-optical effect and a thermo-optical effect, and the phased array assembly is configured to change the direction of the laser beam emitted from the light outlet under control of an applied electric field or temperature of the phased array assembly; and wherein the phased array assembly comprises a plurality of phase adjustment units located outside the laser transmitter, on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and arranged in an array, and the plurality of phase adjustment units forming the array comprise at least two rows of phase adjustment units, and each row of phase adjustments units comprises at least two phase adjustment units of Soskind for the purpose of reducing the size and complexity of laser scanning devices so as to improve the overall performance of the device (Para [0028-0029])
Camarri in view of Soskind does not disclose wherein a phase difference between a first laser beam and a second laser beam is ΔΦ, a phase difference between a second laser beam and a third laser beam is 2ΔΦ, and a phase difference between a third laser beam and a fourth laser is 3ΔΦ.
Optimizing a phase difference between adjacent laser beams, is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result- effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Duval et al. in Pgs. 6-8 teaches the ability of a beam to adjust adjacent phase differences to form a specific beam shape with a capability to steer said beam which achieves a recognized result which may be modeled.
Therefore, the prior art teaches a phase difference between adjacent laser beams being critical to beam formation and identifies said ratio as result-effective variable. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to modify Camarri in view of Soskind with wherein a phase difference between a first laser beam and a second laser beam is ΔΦ, a phase difference between a second laser beam and a third laser beam is 2ΔΦ, and a phase difference between a third laser beam and a fourth laser is 3ΔΦ since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 24, Camarri in view of Soskind disclose the depth camera of claim 11. Camarri further discloses wherein the emission assembly comprises a third circuit board, a frame and a laser chip (see Figs 1 and 2A; Para [0018]; assembly comprises a section of the circuit board 110 that contains element 106 which acts as laser chip and a frame composed of spacer elements 114 and 115); one end of the frame is connected to a surface of the third circuit board, and the other end of the frame has the light outlet (see Fig 1; Para [0018]; light outlet 122A is formed on one side and on the other is the section of the circuit board 110); and the laser chip is located in the frame and is connected to the surface of the third circuit board (see Fig 1; Para [0018]; 106 is connected to the section of the circuit board 110 and is located within the frame structure composed by spaces 114 and 115) wherein a first flexible circuit board extended from the laser transmitter is connected to the third circuit board (see Fig 1; Para [0021]; the emitter 106 is connected to a section of the circuit board 110 by wire bonds 117 which examiner interprets as a first flexible circuit), and a second flexible circuit board extended from the laser receiver is connected to the fourth circuit board (see Fig 1; Para [0021]; the receiver 108 is connected to a section of the circuit board 110 by wire bonds 117 which examiner interprets as a second flexible circuit), and wherein the first flexible circuit board and the second flexible circuit board are located on the same side (see Fig 1; Para [0018]; both wires are on a top side of the circuit board 110).
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diaz (US 2022/0317438, of record) in view of Soskind (US 2022/0299605, of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US 2022/0085571, of record).
Regarding claim 2, Diaz in view of Soskind discloses the laser transmitter of claim 1. Diaz in view of Soskind does not disclose wherein the phased array assembly comprises a circuit board component, the transparent substrate and a plurality of phase adjustment units; the circuit board component is located outside the light outlet and is connected to the emission assembly; the transparent substrate is located at the light outlet and is perpendicular to the laser beam emitted from the light outlet; the plurality of phase adjustment units are located on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and is arranged in an array; and an orthographic projection of the array formed by the plurality of phase adjustment units on a plane where the light outlet is located, at least partially, overlaps with the light outlet. Diaz in view of Soskind and Chen are related because both disclose laser transmitting devices.
Chen discloses a laser transmitter (see Fig 4) wherein the phased array assembly comprises a circuit board component, the transparent substrate and a plurality of phase adjustment units (see Fig 4; Para [0060]; a conductive layer 440; a transparent support 490; and a first and second optical components 452 and 454); the circuit board component is located outside the light outlet and is connected to the emission assembly (see Fig 4; Para [0048]; conductive layer may be disposed in a periphery so as to not impede emission of light); the transparent substrate is located at the light outlet and is perpendicular to the laser beam emitted from the light outlet (see Fig 4; Para [0059]; a second transparent substrate 490 is disposed at an outlet and is perpendicular to emitted light); the plurality of phase adjustment units are located on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and is arranged in an array (see Fig 4; Para [0059]; first and second optical components are located on an inner side of the device away from the light outlet); and an orthographic projection of the array formed by the plurality of phase adjustment units on a plane where the light outlet is located, at least partially, overlaps with the light outlet (see Fig 4; Para [0059-0060]; examiner is interpreting this to mean that a projection of the array overlaps the light outlet; as can be seen in Fig 4 a projection of elements 452 and 454 on a light outlet plane would overlap partially the outlet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Diaz in view of Soskind with wherein the phased array assembly comprises a circuit board component, the transparent substrate and a plurality of phase adjustment units; the circuit board component is located outside the light outlet and is connected to the emission assembly; the transparent substrate is located at the light outlet and is perpendicular to the laser beam emitted from the light outlet; the plurality of phase adjustment units are located on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and is arranged in an array; and an orthographic projection of the array formed by the plurality of phase adjustment units on a plane where the light outlet is located, at least partially, overlaps with the light outlet of Chen for the purpose of miniaturizing the device while maintaining even light distribution (Para [0183]).
Regarding claim 4, Diaz in view of Soskind and Chen discloses the laser transmitter of claim 2 (Chen: see Fig 4). Diaz in view of Soskind does not disclose wherein the circuit board component comprises a first circuit board and a second circuit board; the first circuit board is sandwiched between the transparent substrate and the light outlet and one end of the second circuit board is connected to the first circuit board, and the other end of the second circuit board is connected to the emission assembly.
Chen discloses wherein the circuit board component comprises a first circuit board and a second circuit board (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0060]; a first conductive layer 440 and a first conductive post 482 are being considered as circuit boards); the first circuit board is sandwiched between the transparent substrate and the light outlet (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0060]; a first conductive 440 layer is sandwiched between the light outlet and the top of transparent substrate 490), a middle part of the first circuit board has a light transmission hole, and the light transmission hole is opposite to the light outlet (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0048]; conductive layer may be disposed in a periphery so as to not impede emission of light); and one end of the second circuit board is connected to the first circuit board, and the other end of the second circuit board is connected to the emission assembly (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0060]; conductive post 482 connects with element 440 at one end).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Diaz in view of Soskind with wherein the circuit board component comprises a first circuit board and a second circuit board; the first circuit board is sandwiched between the transparent substrate and the light outlet, a middle part of the first circuit board has a light transmission hole, and the light transmission hole is opposite to the light outlet; and one end of the second circuit board is connected to the first circuit board, and the other end of the second circuit board is connected to the emission assembly of Chen for the purpose of miniaturizing the device while maintaining even light distribution (Para [0183]).
Regarding claim 5, Diaz in view of Soskind discloses the laser transmitter of claim 1. Diaz in view of Soskind does not disclose wherein the emission assembly comprises a third circuit board, a frame and a laser chip; one end of the frame is connected to a surface of the third circuit board, and the other end of the frame has the light outlet; and the laser chip is located in the frame and is connected to the surface of the third circuit board. Diaz in view of Soskind and Chen are related because both disclose laser transmitter devices.
Chen discloses a laser transmitter (see Fig 4) wherein the emission assembly comprises a third circuit board (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0058]; an external circuit board 42 is part of element 40), a frame and a laser chip (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0059-0061]; a frame 480 and chip 402 and 404); one end of the frame is connected to a surface of the third circuit board, and the other end of the frame has the light outlet (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0058-0060]; one end of the support element 480 is connected to the external circuit board 42 via element 417 and the other end has the outlet); and the laser chip is located in the frame and is connected to the surface of the third circuit board (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0058] a laser chip 402 is located within frame 480 and is connected to circuit board via 412).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Diaz in view of Soskind with wherein the emission assembly comprises a third circuit board, a frame and a laser chip; one end of the frame is connected to a surface of the third circuit board, and the other end of the frame has the light outlet; and the laser chip is located in the frame and is connected to the surface of the third circuit board of Chen for the purpose of miniaturizing the device while maintaining even light distribution (Para [0183]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diaz (US 2022/0317438, of record) in view of Soskind (US 2022/0299605, of record) and Chen (US 2022/0085571, of record) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 2019/0281265, of record).
Regarding claim 9, Diaz in view Soskind, and Chen discloses the laser transmitter of claim 5. Diaz in view Soskind, and Chen does not disclose wherein the emission assembly further comprises a collimating lens; the collimating lens is located between the light outlet and the laser chip and is connected to an inner wall of the frame. Diaz in view Soskind, and Chen and Zhang are related because both disclose laser transmitting devices.
Zhang discloses a laser transmitter (see Fig 1) wherein the emission assembly further comprises a collimating lens; the collimating lens is located between the light outlet and the laser chip and is connected to an inner wall of the frame (see Fig 1; Para [0018]; a collimation element 20 is provided between light outlet and laser chip 10 and is connected to inner wall of frame as seen in Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Diaz in view Soskind, and Chen with wherein the emission assembly further comprises a collimating lens; the collimating lens is located between the light outlet and the laser chip and is connected to an inner wall of the frame of Zhang for the purpose of improving the quality of output light by reducing dispersion of light (Para [0005-0007]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camarri (US 2016/0025855, of record) in view of Soskind (US 2022/0299605) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 2019/0281265, of record).
Regarding claim 13, Camarri in view of Soskind discloses the depth camera of claim 10 (see Fig 1). Camarri in view of Soskind does not disclose wherein the depth camera further comprises a reinforcement plate; the laser transmitter and the laser receiver are connected to a same surface of the reinforcement plate. Camarri in view of Soskind and Zhang are related because both disclose laser transmitting devices.
Zhang discloses a laser transmitting device (see Fig 1) wherein the depth camera further comprises a reinforcement plate; the laser transmitter and the laser receiver are connected to a same surface of the reinforcement plate (see Fig 1; Para [0018-0022]; laser module 100 rests on a substrate 62; Camarri discloses transmitter and receiver on the same surface of the PCB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Camarri in view of Soskind with wherein the depth camera further comprises a reinforcement plate; the laser transmitter and the laser receiver are connected to a same surface of the reinforcement plate of Zhang for the purpose of improving the quality of output light by reducing dispersion of light (Para [0005-0007]).
Claims 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camarri (US 2016/0025855, of record) in view of Soskind (US 2022/0299605) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Chen (US 2022/0085571, of record).
Regarding claim 14, Camarri in view of Soskind discloses the depth camera of claim 10. Camarri in view of Soskind does not disclose wherein the phased array assembly comprises a circuit board component, a transparent substrate and a plurality of phase adjustment units; the circuit board component is located outside the light outlet and is connected to the emission assembly; the transparent substrate is located at the light outlet and is perpendicular to the laser beam emitted from the light outlet; and the plurality of phase adjustment units are located on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and is arranged in an array, and an orthographic projection of the array formed by the plurality of phase adjustment units on a plane where the light outlet is located, at least partially, overlaps with the light outlet. Camarri in view of Soskind and Chen are related because both disclose laser emitting devices.
Chen discloses a laser emitting device (see Fig 4) wherein the phased array assembly comprises a circuit board component, a transparent substrate and a plurality of phase adjustment units (see Fig 4; Para [0060]; a conductive layer 440; a transparent support 490; and a first and second optical components 452 and 454; optical components may be a micro lens array); the circuit board component is located outside the light outlet and is connected to the emission assembly (see Fig 4; Para [0048]; conductive layer may be disposed in a periphery so as to not impede emission of light); the transparent substrate is located at the light outlet and is perpendicular to the laser beam emitted from the light outlet (see Fig 4; Para [0059]; a second transparent substrate 490 is disposed at an outlet and is perpendicular to emitted light); and the plurality of phase adjustment units are located on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and is arranged in an array (see Fig 4; Para [0059]; first and second optical components are located on an inner side of the device away from the light outlet), and an orthographic projection of the array formed by the plurality of phase adjustment units on a plane where the light outlet is located, at least partially, overlaps with the light outlet (see Fig 4; Para [0059-0060]; examiner is interpreting this to mean that a projection of the array overlaps the light outlet; as can be seen in Fig 4 a projection of elements 452 and 454 on a light outlet plane would overlap the outlet partially).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Camarri in view of Soskind with wherein the phased array assembly comprises a circuit board component, a transparent substrate and a plurality of phase adjustment units; the circuit board component is located outside the light outlet and is connected to the emission assembly; the transparent substrate is located at the light outlet and is perpendicular to the laser beam emitted from the light outlet; and the plurality of phase adjustment units are located on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and is arranged in an array, and an orthographic projection of the array formed by the plurality of phase adjustment units on a plane where the light outlet is located, at least partially, overlaps with the light outlet of Chen for the purpose of miniaturizing the device while maintaining even light distribution (Para [0183])
Regarding claim 16, Camarri in view of Soskind, and Chen discloses the depth camera of claim 14 (Chen: see Fig 4). Camarri in view of Soskind does not disclose wherein the circuit board component comprises a first circuit board and a second circuit board; the first circuit board is sandwiched between the transparent substrate and the light outlet, a middle part of the first circuit board has a light transmission hole, and the light transmission hole is opposite to the light outlet; and one end of the second circuit board is connected to the first circuit board, and the other end of the second circuit board is connected to the emission assembly.
Chen discloses wherein the circuit board component comprises a first circuit board and a second circuit board (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0060]; a first conductive layer 440 and a first conductive post 482 are being considered as circuit boards); the first circuit board is sandwiched between the transparent substrate and the light outlet (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0060]; a first conductive 440 layer is sandwiched between the light outlet and the top of transparent substrate 490), a middle part of the first circuit board has a light transmission hole, and the light transmission hole is opposite to the light outlet (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0048]; conductive layer may be disposed in a periphery so as to not impede emission of light); and one end of the second circuit board is connected to the first circuit board, and the other end of the second circuit board is connected to the emission assembly (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0060]; conductive post 482 connects with element 440 at one end other end forms lower portion of emission assembly).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Camarri in view of Soskind with wherein the circuit board component comprises a first circuit board and a second circuit board; the first circuit board is sandwiched between the transparent substrate and the light outlet, a middle part of the first circuit board has a light transmission hole, and the light transmission hole is opposite to the light outlet; and one end of the second circuit board is connected to the first circuit board, and the other end of the second circuit board is connected to the emission assembly of Chen for the purpose of miniaturizing the device while maintaining even light distribution (Para [0183]).
Regarding claim 17, Camarri in view of Soskind, and Chen discloses the depth camera of claim 10 (Chen: see Fig 4). Camarri in view of Soskind does not disclose wherein the emission assembly comprises a third circuit board, a frame and a laser chip; one end of the frame is connected to a surface of the third circuit board, and the other end of the frame has the light outlet; and the laser chip is located in the frame and is connected to the surface of the third circuit board.
Chen discloses wherein the emission assembly comprises a third circuit board (Chen: see Fig 4A; Para [0058]; an external circuit board 42 is part of element 40), a frame and a laser chip (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0059-0061]; a frame 480 and chip 402 and 404); one end of the frame is connected to a surface of the third circuit board, and the other end of the frame has the light outlet (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0058-0060]; one end of the support element 480 is connected to the external circuit board 42 via element 417 and the other end has the outlet); and the laser chip is located in the frame and is connected to the surface of the third circuit board (Chen: see Fig 4; Para [0058] a laser chip 402 is located within frame 480 and is connected to circuit board via 412).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Camarri in view of Soskind with wherein the emission assembly comprises a third circuit board, a frame and a laser chip; one end of the frame is connected to a surface of the third circuit board, and the other end of the frame has the light outlet; and the laser chip is located in the frame and is connected to the surface of the third circuit board of Chen for the purpose of miniaturizing the device while maintaining even light distribution (Para [0183]).
Regarding claim 20, Camarri in view of Soskind discloses the electronic device of claim 19. Camarri in view of Soskind does not disclose the phased array assembly comprises a circuit board component, the transparent substrate and a plurality of phase adjustment units; the circuit board component is located outside the light outlet and is connected to the emission assembly; the transparent substrate is located at the light outlet and is perpendicular to the laser beam emitted from the light outlet; and the plurality of phase adjustment units are located on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and is arranged in an array, and an orthographic projection of the array formed by the plurality of phase adjustment units on a plane where the light outlet is located, at least partially, overlaps with the light outlet. Camarri in view of Soskind and Chen are related because both disclose electronic device emitting laser light.
Chen discloses a laser emitting device (see Fig 4) wherein the phased array assembly comprises a circuit board component, a transparent substrate and a plurality of phase adjustment units (see Fig 4; Para [0049, 0060]; a conductive layer 440; a transparent support 490; and a first and second optical components 452 and 454; optical components may be a micro lens array); the circuit board component is located outside the light outlet and is connected to the emission assembly (see Fig 4; Para [0048]; conductive layer 440 may be disposed in a periphery so as to not impede emission of light); the transparent substrate is located at the light outlet and is perpendicular to the laser beam emitted from the light outlet (see Fig 4; Para [0059]; a second transparent substrate 490 is disposed at an outlet and is perpendicular to the emitted light); the plurality of phase adjustment units are located on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and is arranged in an array (see Fig 4; Para [0059]; first and second optical components are located on an inner side of the device away from the light outlet); and an orthographic projection of the array formed by the plurality of phase adjustment units on a plane where the light outlet is located, at least partially, overlaps with the light outlet (see Fig 4; Para [0059-0060]; examiner is interpreting this to mean that a projection of the array overlaps the light outlet; as can be seen in Fig 4 a projection of elements 452 and 454 on a light outlet plane would overlap the outlet partially).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Camarri in view of Soskind with wherein the phased array assembly comprises a circuit board component, a transparent substrate and a plurality of phase adjustment units; the circuit board component is located outside the light outlet and is connected to the emission assembly; the transparent substrate is located at the light outlet and is perpendicular to the laser beam emitted from the light outlet; the plurality of phase adjustment units are located on a side, away from the light outlet, of the transparent substrate and is arranged in an array; and an orthographic projection of the array formed by the plurality of phase adjustment units on a plane where the light outlet is located, at least partially, overlaps with the light outlet of Chen for the purpose of miniaturizing the device while maintaining even light distribution (Para [0183])
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camarri (US 2016/0025855, of record) in view of Soskind (US 2022/0299605, of record) and Chen (US 2022/0085571, of record) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 2019/0281265, of record).
Regarding claim 18, Camarri in view of Soskind, and Chen discloses the laser transmitter of claim 17. Camarri in view of Soskind, and Chen does not disclose wherein the emission assembly further comprises a collimating lens; the collimating lens is located between the light outlet and the laser chip and is connected to an inner wall of the frame. Camarri in view of Soskind, and Chen and Zhang are related because both disclose laser transmitting devices.
Zhang discloses a laser transmitter (see Fig 1) wherein the emission assembly further comprises a collimating lens; the collimating lens is located between the light outlet and the laser chip and is connected to an inner wall of the frame (see Fig 1; Para [0018]; a collimation element 20 is provided between light outlet and laser chip 10 and is connected to inner wall of frame as seen in Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Camarri in view of Soskind, and Chen with wherein the emission assembly further comprises a collimating lens; the collimating lens is located between the light outlet and the laser chip and is connected to an inner wall of the frame of Zhang for the purpose of improving the quality of output light by reducing dispersion of light (Para [0005-0007]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diaz (US 2022/0317438, of record) in view of Soskind (US 2022/0299605, of record) and Boloorian (US 2020/0408912, of record).
Regarding claim 21, Diaz in view of Soskind discloses the laser transmitter of claim 1. Diaz in view of Soskind does not disclose wherein the phase difference between adjacent laser beams at the midpoint position satisfies the following equation:
Δ
ω
=
2
*
π
λ
0
n
2
d
2
-
n
1
d
1
=
2
*
π
λ
0
(
Δ
d
)
, wherein ni and n2 denote the refractive indices of a first laser beam and a second laser beam passing through a propagation medium, respectively; di and d2 denote lengths of the first laser beam and the second laser beam through a propagation path, respectively; and λ denotes a wavelength of the laser beams.
Diaz in view of Soskind and Boloorian are related because both disclose beam steering laser devices.
Boloorian discloses a beam steering laser device (see Fig 5) wherein the phase difference between adjacent laser beams at the midpoint position satisfies the following equation:
Δ
ω
=
2
*
π
λ
0
n
2
d
2
-
n
1
d
1
=
2
*
π
λ
0
(
Δ
d
)
, wherein ni and n2 denote the refractive indices of a first laser beam and a second laser beam passing through a propagation medium, respectively; di and d2 denote lengths of the first laser beam and the second laser beam through a propagation path, respectively; and λ denotes a wavelength of the laser beams (see Fig 5; Para [0108]; examiner is interpreting this equation to define a linear length differential equivalent to that of Boloorian in Para [0108] as linear length and phase is related via optical path length and angular frequency equations)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Diaz in view of Soskind with wherein the phase difference between adjacent laser beams at the midpoint position satisfies the following equation:
Δ
ω
=
2
*
π
λ
0
n
2
d
2
-
n
1
d
1
=
2
*
π
λ
0
(
Δ
d
)
, wherein ni and n2 denote the refractive indices of a first laser beam and a second laser beam passing through a propagation medium, respectively; di and d2 denote lengths of the first laser beam and the second laser beam through a propagation path, respectively; and λ denotes a wavelength of the laser beams of Boloorian for the purpose of purpose of improving the scaning capabilities of a LIDAR output signal (see Para [0111]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camarri (US 2016/0025855, of record) in view of Soskind (US 2022/0299605, of record) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lin (US 2019/0129008, of record).
Regarding claim 23, Camarri in view of Soskind disclose the depth camera of claim 11. Camarri further discloses wherein the emission assembly comprises a third circuit board, a frame and a laser chip (see Figs 1 and 2A; Para [0018]; assembly comprises a section of the circuit board 110 that contains element 106 which acts as laser chip and a frame composed of spacer elements 114 and 115); one end of the frame is connected to a surface of the third circuit board, and the other end of the frame has the light outlet (see Fig 1; Para [0018]; light outlet 122A is formed on one side and on the other is the section of the circuit board 110); and the laser chip is located in the frame and is connected to the surface of the third circuit board (see Fig 1; Para [0018]; 106 is connected to the section of the circuit board 110 and is located within the frame structure composed by spaces 114 and 115). Camarri in view of Soskind does not disclose, wherein a laser chip driver and a phased array assembly driver are both connected to the third circuit board and are located on the same side of the holder. Camarri in view of Soskind and Lin are related because both disclose depth camera systems.
Lin discloses a depth camera system (see Fig 3) wherein a laser chip driver and a phased array assembly driver are both connected to the third circuit board and are located on the same side of the holder (see Fig 3; Para [0024]; a laser driver 32 and a OPA driver 31 may be connected to the control module 35; Camarri discloses ASIC being in the same side of the device)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Camarri in view of Soskind with wherein a laser chip driver and a phased array assembly driver are both connected to the third circuit board and are located on the same side of the holder of Lin for the purpose of reducing size of the
Conclusion
/G.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872