DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carson et al. (US 2005/0192604).
Regarding claim 1, Carson discloses an apparatus (Elements of FIG 1A) for subcutaneous delivery in tissue of a patient of a vascular arteriovenous graft including a cannulation chamber and having a proximal end and a distal end and a length extending along a longitudinal axis between the proximal end and the distal end (Examiner notes as written in the claim, the graft and its cannulation chamber are not a positively recited element of the claim), using a tunneling instrument (48) including an elongated shaft having a handle at a proximal end of the shaft and a removable tip at a distal end of the shaft for creating a pathway in the subcutaneous tissue (The tunneling instrument is not a positively recited element of the claim, therefore the specific limitations and intended use need not be disclosed by the prior art), the subcutaneous delivery apparatus comprising: an elongated tubular sleeve (42, [0069-0071, FIGs 1A-3D) having a length (FIG 1A shows the full length) and defining an interior lumen (The sleeve has a lumen which receives 48 therein. See lumen in cross section FIG 2A-2B), the sleeve having a distal end (end on the right side of 42 as viewed in FIG 1A) configured to be inserted into the patient (the tubular shape is at least configured to be inserted into a large enough opening in a patient) and a proximal end (End closest to slit 44, FIG 1A-1B) configured to have the tunneling instrument inserted therein (The proximal end of the lumen is at least sized and shaped to have the tunneling instrument such as 48 inserted therein, such as in FIG 2B), the sleeve adapted for being slidably positioned over at least a portion of the shaft of the tunneling instrument between the handle and the tip such that once the tunneling instrument has been advanced to a desired subcutaneous anatomical location the shaft is selectively removed from the sleeve while the sleeve remains positioned at the desired anatomical location (The sleeve is at least configured to be used in this manner because it is sized to receive a tunneling tool such as 48 and it can be left in place while the shaft of a tunneling tool is removed, as demonstrated in FIG 3C), the sleeve having a slit (44) extending along the length of the sleeve from the proximal end to a point intermediate the length of the sleeve (FIG 1B), wherein the lumen defined at the proximal end of the sleeve is adapted to receive the distal end of the graft and at least a portion of the cannulation chamber such that the proximal end portion of the sleeve progressively expands along the slit to provide an enlarged diameter for accommodating the cannulation chamber (FIGs 1B-2B show and end of the sleeve is capable of progressively expanding along the slit to form a widened diameter of the lumen. This widening is at least configured to receive a cannulation chamber of at least some graft in accordance with the claim. Therefore, it functional language is interpreted as being met by the device and structure of the claimed sleeve), and wherein application of a longitudinal force to the sleeve from the distal end of the sleeve is effective to cause the sleeve to move in a distal direction during removal of the sleeve from the tissue (The sleeve is at least structurally configured such that application of a force at its distal end would cause the sleeve to move in a corresponding direction) such that the graft is fixed in the sleeve by radial compression of the sleeve for pulling the graft and the sleeve through the tunnel for deploying the vascular graft (These limitations express and intended use of the device wherein the graft is not positively recited by the claim. The sleeve is understood to be at least capable of being used in this manner if a graft were situated within its lumen).
Regarding claim 2, Carson discloses the sleeve is adapted to receive substantially the entire length of the shaft between the handle and the tip (The sleeve comprises a length and a lumen which is at least configured to receive a shaft of a tunneling tube having an appropriate length and diameter).
Regarding claim 3, Carson discloses the sleeve is uniformly tapered from the proximal end to the distal such that distal end has a reduced diameter from the proximal end (See tapering in FIG 2B wherein the top end is interpreted as the proximal end).
Regarding claim 4, Carson discloses wherein the slit is linear (FIG 1B and 2B demonstrates the slit is linear).
Regarding claim 5, Carson discloses the sleeve comprises an enlarged diameter portion adjacent the proximal end (FIG 2B shows the enlarges diameter portion), the enlarged diameter portion of the sleeve adapted for receiving the cannulation chamber (This portion is at least configured to receive a cannulation chamber having an appropriately sized diameter).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bright (US 2009/0299377) in view of Braga (US 2010/0063512), further in view of Barooni (US 2020/0405517).
Regarding claim 6, Bright discloses an apparatus (FIGs 2A-3) for subcutaneous implantation in tissue of a patient of a vascular arteriovenous graft including a cannulation chamber and having a proximal end and a distal end and a length extending along a longitudinal axis between the proximal end and the distal end (Examiner notes as written in the claim, the graft and its cannulation chamber are not a positively recited element of the claim), the subcutaneous implantation apparatus comprising: a tunneling instrument (30, FIG 3) for creating a pathway in the subcutaneous tissue ([0085-0086], FIGs 4a-4e), the tunneling instrument including an elongated shaft (40) having a handle at a proximal end of the shaft (60 operates as a handle at one end of the shaft, FIGs 3-5h), and a removable tip (10, [0075-0076, 0082] discloses tip 10 is detachable via attachment means 14) at a distal end of the shaft (FIGs 2A and 3); and an elongated tubular sleeve (50, FIG 2B and 5a-5h) having a length (FIG 2B) and defining an interior lumen (51, [0083]), the sleeve having a distal end (end of 50 closest to 10 at the top of the page as viewed in FIG 3) configured to be inserted into the patient (The end of 50 is at least sized and shaped such that it could be inserted to a large enough opening within a patient) and a proximal end (End of 50 closest to 60, FIG 3), the sleeve configured for being slidably positioned over at least a portion of the shaft of the tunneling instrument between the handle and the tip ([0085], FIG 5a-5hh show 50 being slidable over 40),wherein once the tunneling instrument has been advanced to a desired subcutaneous anatomical location the shaft is configured to be selectively removed from the sleeve while the sleeve remains positioned at the anatomical location (The sleeve is at least configured to be used in this manner because it is sized to receive the tunneling tool and it can be left in place while the shaft of a tunneling tool is removed for example if tip 10 were disconnected and shaft 40 were retracted out of the lumen of 50), wherein the lumen is adapted to receive the distal end of the graft and at least a portion of the cannulation chamber via the proximal end of the sleeve (FIG 5c-5d show sleeve 50 connected to graft 20 at a connection tip 10), and wherein application of a longitudinal force to the sleeve from the distal end of the sleeve is effective to cause the sleeve to move in a distal direction for removal of the sleeve from the tissue and pulling the arteriovenous graft and the sleeve through the tunnel deploying the vascular graft (FIGs 5c-5d show that pulling or pushing 50 results in movement of graft 20 due to the mechanically containing connection at 10 therebetween, [0087]).
Bright is silent regarding the specifics of how the end of graft 20 is connected to the end of sleeve 50 at the connection 10. Specifically, is fails to disclose the sleeve having a slit extending along the length of the sleeve from the proximal end to a point intermediate the length of the sleeve and wherein the lumen of the sleeve receives the distal end of the graft such that such that the proximal end portion of the sleeve progressively expands along the slit to provide an enlarged diameter for accommodating the cannulation chamber and that the arteriovenous graft is fixed in the sleeve by radial compression of the tissue around the sleeve.
However, Braga discloses in the same field of endeavor of releasable connection between two tubular elements, a connection comprising a sleeve (1200, FIG 7A) having a slit (1206, [0066-0068]) extending along the length of the sleeve from the proximal end to a point intermediate the length of the sleeve (FIG 7A shows the slit extending form a proximal end to a point along the sleeve i.e. not the entire length of the sleeve) and wherein the lumen of the sleeve receives the distal end of the graft (wherein 1300 represents an equivalent structure to the graft. [0066] discloses Longitudinal lumen 1202 is dimensioned to receive elongate segment 1304 of the connector 1300) such that such that the proximal end portion of the sleeve progressively expands along the slit to provide an enlarged diameter for accommodating the graft ([0066] discloses Slits 1206 allow the second longitudinal end 1204 to slightly expand while a clinician inserts elongate segment 1304 of connector 1300 through longitudinal lumen 1202).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the connection between the sleeve and the graft of Bright to include the sleeve having a longitudinal slit and the graft being insertable therein to form a friction fit, as taught by Braga, for the purpose of utilizing a releasable connection means commonly known in the art for securing two tubular items in a manner which would not significantly increase the profile of the elements such that trauma to the surrounding tissue is minimized. The device as modified is at least configured such that the graft can be fixed in the sleeve by radial compression of the tissue around the sleeve because a radial compressive force would further enhance the connection.
The device as modified by Braga is further silent regarding the sleeve having a hole positioned at an end of the slit configured to limit tearing of the sleeve.
However, Barooni teaches a splittable sleeve (106) having a slit (105, FIG 2A, [0206]) having a hole (232) positioned at an end of the slit (FIG 2A) configured to limit tearing of the sleeve ([0206] discloses the hole “can serve as a stress relief or measure against sidewall crack formation at the end of the helical cut 115”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the sleeve to have a hole positioned at an end of the slit configured to limit tearing of the sleeve, as taught by Barooni, for the purpose of providing a stress relief a the end of the slit thereby preventing continues splitting past the desired end of the slit ([Barooni: [0206]).
Regarding claim 7, Bright/Braga/Barooni disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 6. Bright further discloses the sleeve is configured to receive substantially the entire length of the shaft between the handle and the tip (FIGs 2A-3 show sleeve 50 has a lumen sized to receive the entire length of shaft 40 as the shaft is translated through the sleeve. Examiner notes the claim does not require the sleeve to have a length which surrounds the entire length of the shaft, only that it be configured to receive the length of the shaft).
Regarding claim 8, Bright/Braga/Barooni disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 6. The device as modified by Braga further discloses the sleeve is uniformly tapered from the proximal end to the distal such that distal end has a reduced diameter from the proximal end (When the opening at the proximal end is expanded to receive the graft therein, as described in [0066], there is a taper along the sleeve wherein the distal end has a reduced diameter from the proximal end).
Regarding claim 9, Bright/Braga/Barooni disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 6. The device as modified by Braga further discloses the slit is linear (Braga FIGs 7A-7B).
Regarding claim 10, Bright/Braga/Barooni disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 6. The device as modified further discloses the sleeve comprises an enlarged diameter portion adjacent the proximal end, the enlarged diameter portion adapted for receiving the cannulation chamber (The claim does not specify what the portion has an enlarged diameter relative to. The proximal end of the sleeve has a diameter that is enlarged at least relative to the end of the graft being inserted therein, in order to receive the graft/cannulation chamber).
Regarding claim 11, Bright/Braga/Barooni disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 6. Bright further discloses the sleeve comprises a terminal wall at the proximal end (Either wall end at 52 shown in FIG 2B), the wall having an axial opening (Hole passing therethrough, FIG 2B) for receiving the tip of the tunneling instrument for connection of the sleeve to the tunneling instrument (The tunneling tool is passed through an axial opening at the end of the sleeve, FIG 3).
Claim(s) 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bright (US 2009/0299377) in view of Braga (US 2010/0063512).
Regarding claim 13, Bright discloses an apparatus (FIGs 2A-3) for subcutaneous delivery of a medical device in a patient, the subcutaneous delivery device comprising: a rigid tunneling instrument (30, FIG 3) for creating a pathway in the subcutaneous tissue ([0085-0086], FIGs 4a-4e), the tunneling instrument including an elongated shaft (40) having a handle at a proximal end of the shaft (60 operates as a handle at one end of the shaft, FIGs 3-5h), and a removable tip (10, [0075-0076, 0082] discloses tip 10 is detachable via attachment means 14) at a distal end of the shaft (FIGs 2A and 3); a vascular arteriovenous graft (20, [0077]. [0002] discloses an AV graft) including a cannulation chamber (lumen) and having a proximal end and a distal end (FIGs 5d-5h) and a length extending along a longitudinal axis between the proximal end and the distal end (See length of the graft in FIGs 5d-5h); and an elongated tubular sleeve (50, FIG 2B and 5a-5h) having a length (FIG 2B) and defining an interior lumen (51, [0083]), the sleeve having a distal end (end of 50 closest to 10 at the top of the page as viewed in FIG 3) configured to be inserted into the patient (The end of 50 is at least sized and shaped such that it could be inserted to a large enough opening within a patient) and a proximal end (End of 50 closest to 60, FIG 3), the sleeve configured for being slidably positioned over at least a portion of the shaft of the tunneling instrument between the handle and the tip ([0085], FIG 5a-5h show 50 being slidable over 40),wherein once the tunneling instrument has been advanced to a desired subcutaneous anatomical location the shaft is configured to be selectively removed from the sleeve while the sleeve remains positioned at the anatomical location (The sleeve is at least configured to be used in this manner because it is sized to receive the tunneling tool and it can be left in place while the shaft of a tunneling tool is removed for example if tip 10 were disconnected and shaft 40 were retracted out of the lumen of 50), wherein the lumen is configured to receive the distal end of the graft and at least a portion of the cannulation chamber via the proximal end of the sleeve (FIG 5c-5d show sleeve 50 connected to graft 20 at a connection tip 10), and wherein application of a longitudinal force to the sleeve from the distal end of the sleeve is effective to cause the sleeve to move in a distal direction for removal of the sleeve from the tissue and pulling the arteriovenous graft and the sleeve through the tunnel deploying the vascular graft (FIGs 5c-5d show that pulling or pushing 50 results in movement of graft 20 due to the mechanically containing connection at 10 therebetween, [0087]).
Bright is silent regarding the specifics of how the end of graft 20 is connected to the end of sleeve 50 at the connection 10. Specifically, is fails to disclose the sleeve having a slit extending along the length of the sleeve from the proximal end to a point intermediate the length of the sleeve, the elongated tubular sleeve tapering from the proximal end to the distal end to a smaller diameter and wherein the lumen of the sleeve receives the distal end of the graft such that such that the proximal end portion of the sleeve progressively expands along the slit to provide an enlarged diameter for accommodating the cannulation chamber and that the arteriovenous graft is fixed in the sleeve by radial compression of the tissue around the sleeve.
However, Braga discloses in the same field of endeavor of releasable connection between two tubular elements, a connection comprising a sleeve (1200, FIG 7A) having a slit (1206, [0066-0068]) extending along the length of the sleeve from the proximal end to a point intermediate the length of the sleeve (FIG 7A shows the slit extending form a proximal end to a point along the sleeve i.e. not the entire length of the sleeve), the elongated tubular sleeve tapering from the proximal end to the distal end to a smaller diameter (When the opening at the proximal end is expanded to receive the graft therein, as described in [0066], there is a taper along the sleeve wherein the distal end has a reduced diameter from the proximal end) and wherein the lumen of the sleeve receives the distal end of the graft (wherein 1300 represents an equivalent structure to the graft. [0066] discloses Longitudinal lumen 1202 is dimensioned to receive elongate segment 1304 of the connector 1300) such that such that the proximal end portion of the sleeve progressively expands along the slit to provide an enlarged diameter for accommodating the graft ([0066] discloses Slits 1206 allow the second longitudinal end 1204 to slightly expand while a clinician inserts elongate segment 1304 of connector 1300 through longitudinal lumen 1202).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the connection between the sleeve and the graft of Bright to include the sleeve having a longitudinal slit and the graft being insertable therein to form a friction fit, as taught by Braga, for the purpose of utilizing a releasable connection means commonly known in the art for securing two tubular items in a manner which would not significantly increase the profile of the elements such that trauma to the surrounding tissue is minimized. The device as modified is at least configured such that the graft can be fixed in the sleeve by radial compression of the tissue around the sleeve because a radial compressive force would further enhance the connection.
Regarding claim 14, Bright/Braga disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 13. Bright further discloses the sleeve is configured to receive substantially the entire length of the shaft between the handle and the tip (FIGs 2A-3 show sleeve 50 has a lumen sized to receive the entire length of shaft 40 as the shaft is translated through the sleeve. Examiner notes the claim does not require the sleeve to have a length which surrounds the entire length of the shaft, only that it be configured to receive the length of the shaft).
Regarding claim 15, Bright/Braga disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 13. The device as modified by Braga further discloses the sleeve is uniformly tapered from the proximal end to the distal such that distal end has a reduced diameter from the proximal end (When the opening at the proximal end is expanded to receive the graft therein, as described in [0066], there is a taper along the sleeve wherein the distal end has a reduced diameter from the proximal end).
Regarding claim 16, Bright/Braga disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 13. The device as modified by Braga further discloses the slit is linear (Braga FIGs 7A-7B).
Regarding claim 17, Bright/Braga disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 13. The device as modified further discloses the sleeve comprises an enlarged diameter portion adjacent the proximal end, the enlarged diameter portion adapted for receiving the cannulation chamber (The claim does not specify what the portion has an enlarged diameter relative to. The proximal end of the sleeve has a diameter that is enlarged at least relative to the end of the graft being inserted therein, in order to receive the graft/cannulation chamber).
Regarding claim 18, Bright/Braga disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 13. Bright further discloses the sleeve comprises a terminal wall at the proximal end (Either wall end at 52 shown in FIG 2B), the wall having an axial opening (Hole passing therethrough, FIG 2B) for receiving the tip of the tunneling instrument for connection of the sleeve to the tunneling instrument (The tunneling tool is passed through an axial opening at the end of the sleeve, FIG 3).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bright (US 2009/0299377) in view of Braga (US 2010/0063512), further in view of Barooni (US 2020/0405517), further in view of Marsot (US 2017/0100250).
Regarding claim 12, Bright/Braga/Barooni disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 6. Bright further discloses that a mechanism for attaching a tubular member (20, FIG 1) to the end of the tunneling tool ([0076]) can include a clip ([0077]) radially surrounding the tube in place of suture material 22 which is shown in FIG 1.
Bright is silent regarding the clip including a pin, wherein the shaft has a hole adjacent the tip defining an axial passage for receiving the pin and capturing the sleeve between the clip and the shaft.
However, Marsot teaches exemplary attachment means for adjustably securing medical devices including clips, clasps, and/or a pin and hole assembly ([0192]) among other suitable locking mechanisms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the releasable attachment between the sleeve and the shaft of the tunneling tool of Bright to comprise a clip including a pin, wherein the shaft has a hole adjacent the tip defining an axial passage for receiving the pin and capturing the sleeve between the clip and the shaft, as taught by Bright and Marsot, for the purpose of utilizing a releasable locking mechanism commonly known in the art and achieving the predictable result of securing the sleeve to the tunneling tool in a manner which can easily be release by the user and does not significantly increase the working diameter of the device.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bright (US 2009/0299377) in view of Braga (US 2010/0063512), further in view of Marsot (US 2017/0100250).
Regarding claim 19, Bright/Braga disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 13. Bright further discloses that a mechanism for attaching a tubular member (20, FIG 1) to the end of the tunneling tool ([0076]) can include a clip ([0077]) radially surrounding the tube in place of suture material 22 which is shown in FIG 1.
Bright is silent regarding the clip including a pin, wherein the shaft has a hole adjacent the tip defining an axial passage for receiving the pin and capturing the sleeve between the clip and the shaft.
However, Marsot teaches exemplary attachment means for adjustably securing medical devices including clips, clasps, and/or a pin and hole assembly ([0192]) among other suitable locking mechanisms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the releasable attachment between the sleeve and the shaft of the tunneling tool of Bright to comprise a clip including a pin, wherein the shaft has a hole adjacent the tip defining an axial passage for receiving the pin and capturing the sleeve between the clip and the shaft, as taught by Bright and Marsot, for the purpose of utilizing a releasable locking mechanism commonly known in the art and achieving the predictable result of securing the sleeve to the tunneling tool in a manner which can easily be release by the user and does not significantly increase the working diameter of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues on page 9 that “The amendments included herein clarify the arrangement and therefore differentiates over the arrangement shown in FIG. 2B. For at least these reasons, Applicant submits that claim 1 is allowable over Carson”. However, applicant has not pointed out specifically how Carson is believed to fail to meet the limitations of the claim as amended. It is the examiners position that the rejection set forth above addresses the newly recited limitations. Therefore, applicants’ argument is not found to be persuasive.
Regarding claim 6 and 13, applicant argues on page 9 that “None of Bright, Braga, or Barooni describe the arrangement claimed in claim 6. Accordingly, Applicant submits that claim 6 is allowable over the art” and “As discussed above, Bright and Braga fail to disclose these features. For at least this reason, Applicant submits that claim 13 and its dependent claims are allowable”. However, applicant has not pointed out specifically how Bright is believed to fail to meet the limitations of the claim as amended. It is the examiners position that the rejection set forth above addresses the newly recited limitations. Therefore, applicants’ argument is not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771