DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/31/2021 is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to "Claims filed on 4/27/2026". Applicant's amendments of claims 12-15, 17-18; cancellation of claim 16 with the same reply have been entered by the Examiner. Upon entry of the amendments, claims 1-15, 17-18 are pending wherein claims 1-11 are withdrawn, claim 12 is independent.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: With regards to claim 12, the limitation “a hardmask each having a net tensile stress” could be amended to “a hardmask having a net tensile stress” to reflect the claim scope accurately. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note applicable to all claims being rejected in this Office action: Examiner notes that the limitations "overlap", "layer", "portion" “aligned” are being interpreted broadly in accordance with MPEP. Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification. The claim presently disclose a structural limitation (i.e. overlap, layer, portion, contact) that is taught by prior art of record, therefore, the limitation is considered met by the prior art of record. Additionally, Merriam Webster dictionary defines the above limitations as “to occupy the same area in part”, “one thickness lying over or under another”, “an often limited part of a whole” “to be in correct relative position” respectively. Further note the limitation “contact” is being interpreted to include "direct contact" (no intermediate materials, elements or space disposed there between) and "indirect contact" (intermediate materials, elements or space disposed there between).
Claim(s) 12-13, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dutta et al (US 2021/0375986 A1 hereinafter Dutta).
Regarding Claim 12, Dutta discloses in Fig 1: A structure in an integrated circuit device comprising:
a hardmask (140) each having a net tensile stress for a memory device in the integrated circuit device;
a memory pillar (132) under and in direct contact with the hardmask;
a bottom electrode (130) located under and in direct contact with the memory pillar;
a bottom electrode contact (126) located beneath and in direct contact with the bottom electrode; and
an encapsulation layer (110) located around and in direct contact with the hardmask, the memory pillar, and the bottom electrode [0029-0032]. Examiner notes that the materials for hardmask disclosed by the Applicant in [0032] are the same as that disclosed by Dutta in [0032] and hence the stress behavior of the materials is the same as that required by the claim.
Regarding Claim 13, Dutta discloses in Fig 1: The structure as recited in claim 12, wherein the metallic hardmask has a single layer of tensilely stressed metallic material [0032].
Regarding Claim 15, Dutta discloses in Fig 1: The structure as recited in claim 12, further comprising: a substrate layer comprising a dielectric (102) and a set of metal interconnects (120) which connects respective memory devices to other devices in the integrated circuit device; where each of the bottom electrode contact (126) is aligned to and in electrical contact with a respective metal interconnect (120) [0031]; and a planarized capping layer (104) is disposed around the bottom electrode contact [0031-0032].
Regarding Claim 17, Dutta discloses in Fig 1: The structure as recited in claim 13, wherein the single layer of tensilely stressed material is TiN [0032].
Regarding Claim 18, Dutta discloses in Fig 1: The structure as recited in claim 14, wherein the plurality of metal layers comprises a tensilely stressed layer of TiN and a compressively stressed layer of TaN [0032]. Examiner notes that the materials for hardmask (plurality of metal layers) disclosed by the Applicant in [0032] are the same as that disclosed by Dutta in [0032] and hence the stress behavior of the materials is the same as that required by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dutta in view of Rizzollo (US 2020/0126791 A1 hereinafter Rizzollo).
Regarding Claim 14, Dutta discloses: The structure as recited in claim 12and that the hardmask can include Nb, NbN, W, WN, Ta, TaN, Ti, TiN, Ru, Mo, Cr, V, Pd, Pt, Rh, Sc, Al, and/or other high melting point metals or conductive metal nitrides [0032].
Dutta does not disclose: wherein the hardmask has a plurality of metal layers of alternating a tensilely stressed material and a compressively stressed material.
However, Rizzollo in a similar device teaches in Fig 1: wherein the hardmask has a plurality of metal layers of alternating a tensilely stressed material and a compressively stressed material [0037-0039].
References Dutta and Rizzollo are analogous art because they both are directed to memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify device of Dutta with the specified features of Rizzollo because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Dutta and Rizzollo so that the hardmask has a plurality of metal layers of alternating a tensilely stressed material and a compressively stressed material as taught by Rizzollo in Dutta’s device since, this provides a reduction of high film stress and wafer bow caused by thick conductive hardmasks [0019].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NISHATH YASMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811