DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 12th December, 2025.
Claims 1, 19, 22-23, 25-26, 37 were amended; no claims were cancelled; no new claims were added; therefore, claims 1, 4, 7-16, 18-19, 22-23, 25-35, 37-44 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
The objections to claims 41-43 have been withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 22-23 and 25-32 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12th December, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
In response to applicant’s argument that references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “during each collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the housing rotation…..”, “define, during the rotation of the housing….each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which a plurality of laser pulses are emitted……each data acquisition collection interval being distinct from the mere interval between consecutive single laser pulse emissions….”) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). [[Here, Applicant argues that the “infill beam” and “multi-firing per collection interval logic” is a key inventive concept disclosed in the presentation that is absent from Hall’983, Hall’215 and Sasaki; furthermore, applicant argues Brimble’s invention which is different from the collection interval required by claim 37 and Gassend’s invention which is not pertain to synchronization of multi-channel laser firing with scanning mirror position to achieve multiple infill points per channel]] However, these claim limitations were not present in the original independent claims and were presented by amendment on 12th December, 2025. Therefore, the issue of whether Hall’983, Hall’215 and Sasaki, Brimble and Gassend addresses these limitations are not relevant. These amended claims containing new limitations have been addressed by Hall’983, Hall'215, Sakaki, Cho in the present Office Action.
In response to applicant’s argument, see page 13-16, filed on 12th December 2025, with respect to the combination of Hall’983, Hall’215 and Sasaki proposed in the Office Action is improper. Applicant argue that in each of the Hall’983 and Hall’215 references, an array of lasers and detectors are employed. In these systems, the array geometry is designed so that the multiple sources/detectors collectively “cover” the field of view (simultaneously sample a range of vertical angles) with scanning is performed by moving a mirror or rotating the entire lidar to enable full 3D coverage. There is no need for a second axis of mechanical scanning because the array itself provides the coverage in one dimension and the mirror provides scanning in the orthogonal direction.
However, this is exactly what the current case’s setup. Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 8A, Fig. 9 in current case shows the array of illumination sources. With only housing rotation about a second axis and no mirror oscillate about a first axis, a full 3D coverage can be performed. In current case with similar setup, applicant added a second axis of mechanical scanning to provide additional “infill beam”. And this mechanical scanning to provide additional infill beam can be realized by Sasaki’s rotation mirror. The reason for combining Sasaki with Hall’983 and Hall’215 is to provide another freedom to scan in vertical direction predictably to expand the vertical field of view as well as to realize “infill beam” scanning. Therefore, the applicant’s argument is NOT correct. This combination is NOT as applicant’s argument as unnecessary, redundant and potentially counterproductive in Hall’983 and Hall’215’s architecture. Thus, the combination of Hall’983, Hall’215 and Sasaki proposed in the Office Action is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 14-16, 19, 22-23, 26, 33-34, 37, 39 and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall et al. (US 20170350983 A1, hereinafter “Hall'983”), modified in view of Hall et al. (US 20170269215 A1, hereinafter “Hall'215”), in view of Sasaki (US 20210033394 A1, hereinafter “Sasaki”), in view of Cho et al. (US 20210109222 A1, hereinafter “Cho”).
Regarding claim 1, Hall'983 teaches a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device comprising:
a plurality of illumination sources, each of the plurality of illumination sources configured to emit illumination light (Hall'983; Fig. 1, integrated LIDAR measurement device 130 where the optical scanning mechanism is disclosed in Fig. 5-Fig. 7 with different rotation axis and light sources arrangement, [0053], light emitted from a two-dimensional array of light sources 401A-D);
a plurality of photosensitive detectors, each configured to detect a respective portion of return light reflected from a three-dimensional (3-D) environment when illuminated by a respective portion of the illumination light (Hall'983; Fig. 1, [0032], photodetector 170 having an active sensor area 174; [0034], return light 171 reflected from the surrounding environment is detected by photodetector 170. [0047], detail in Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 where beam optical elements 116 arranged to focus collected light 118 onto each detector of the array of integrated LiDAR measurement devices 113);
a monolithic scanning mirror disposed in a common optical path of the plurality of illumination sources (Hall'983; Fig. 7, [0053] each beam passing through beam shaping optics 402 reflect from the surface of scanning mirror 403), the scanning mirror configured to redirect the illumination light emitted by the plurality of illumination sources from the LIDAR device into the 3-D environment and to redirect return light from the 3-D environment toward the plurality of photosensitive detectors (Hall'983; Fig. 7, [0053], line 13, each beam passing through beam shaping optics 402 reflect from the surface of scanning mirror 403 which is rotated in an oscillatory manner about axis 405 by actuator 406 to object in the environment); and
a controller operatively coupled to the plurality of illumination sources (Hall'983; Fig. 1, [0036], master controller 190 is configured to generate a pulse command signal 191. In some embodiments, the pulse command signal 191 is directly used to trigger pulse generation by illumination driver IC 152 and data acquisition by receiver IC 150) and the scanning mirror (Hall'983; Fig. 1, [0031], beam scanning device 164 is a moveable mirror element that is rotated about an axis by rotary actuator 165 controlled by master controller 190), the controller configured
Hall'983 does not teach,
a housing;
a plurality of illumination sources disposed within the housing;
a plurality of photosensitive detectors disposed within the housing;
a monolithic scanning mirror disposed within the housing, the scanning mirror configured to oscillate about a first axis;
a motor configured to rotate the housing, including the plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror, about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis;
during operation, (i) cause the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors; and (ii) during each collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the housing rotation, cause each illumination source to be fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions by synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval.
Hall'215 teaches,
a housing (Hall'215; Fig. 2, [0052], 3D LIDAR system 10 includes a lower housing 11 and upper housing 12);
a plurality of illumination sources disposed within the housing (Hall'215; Fig. 2, a plurality of beams of light 15 are emitted from 3D LIDAR system 10. Each beam of light is projected outward into the surrounding environment in a plurality of different direction. Fig. 3, [0056], light emission/collection engine 112 includes an array of integrated LIDAR measurement devices 113 (each includes a light emitting element, a light detecting element));
a plurality of photosensitive detectors disposed within the housing (Hall'215; Fig. 3, Fig. 5, [0056], light emission/collection engine 112 includes an array of integrated LIDAR measurement devices 113 (each includes a light emitting element, a light detecting element));
a monolithic scanning mirror disposed within the housing in a common optical path of the plurality of illumination sources (Hall'215; Fig. 4, [0058], light 118 passing through optics 116 is reflected from mirror 124 and is directed onto each detector of the array of integrated LIDAR measurement device 113); and
housing is rotated which including the plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror, about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis (Hall'215; [0055], 3D LIDAR system 100 includes a light emission/collection engine 112 (includes array of light emitting and detecting elements), a mirror 124 (Fig. 4) that rotates about central axis 104);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the Lidar system includes housing where the plurality of emitting and detecting unit and scanning mirror is disposed on the housing. The Lidar system can further rotate the housing for realizing a 3D LIDAR system (Hall'215; Fig. 2, [0052]-[0053]).
However, Hall'983 modified in view of Hall'215 still not teach,
the scanning mirror configured to oscillate about a first axis;
a motor configured to rotate the housing,
during operation, (i) cause the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors; and (ii) during each collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the housing rotation, cause each illumination source to be fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions by synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval.
Sasaki teaches,
the scanning mirror configured to oscillate about a first axis (Sasaki; Fig. 2, [0043], laser scanner 109 is fixed on a top of the main unit 11 includes housing (301, 302 and protective case 304), rotating part 305 with a tilt mirror 306 attached on it (equivalent to scanning mirror), a light emitting part and light receiving part (both in column 302 [0045]); [0044], the rotating part 305 (with a tilt mirror 306 attached on it) is driven to be rotated around the x-axis by a motor contained in the first column 301);
a motor configured to rotate the housing (Sasaki; [0037], the main unit 11 horizontally rotates relative to the base 12 by electrical operation. That is the main unit 11 is driven by a motor for controlling a horizontal angle contained in the main unit 11; since laser scanner 109 (includes housing) is fixed on a top of the main unit 11, this implies a motor configured to rotate the housing);
during operation, (i) cause the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors (Sasaki; [0051], the laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed. Simultaneously, laser scanning in the horizontal direction is also performed by horizontally rotating the main unit 11 around a Z-axis. Thus, laser scanning is performed on the entire circumference or a necessary area).
(ii) during each collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the housing rotation; the definition of “each collection interval corresponding to a defied angular or temporal segment of the housing rotation” is not specified defined in the specification, by Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), each collection interval corresponding to a defied angular or temporal segment of the housing rotation is interpretated as any scanning frame. Sasaki states in paragraph [0051], the laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates can read on this claim limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed. Simultaneously, laser scanning in the horizontal direction is also performed by horizontally rotating the main unit 11 around a Z-axis. Thus, laser scanning is performed on the entire circumference or a necessary area (Sasaki; [0051]). Furthermore, the reason for combining Sasaki with Hall’983 and Hall’215 is to provide another freedom to scan in vertical direction predictably to expand the vertical field of view as well as to realize “infill beam” scanning.
Nevertheless, Hall'983 modified in view of Hall'215, Sasaki still not teach,
cause each illumination source to be fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions by synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval.
Cho disclosed in Fig. 4, paragraph [0081], the optical device form 4 vertical scan area A1-A4 using 4 different light source LS1-LS4. Cho also disclosed, the first vertical scan area A1 may include M vertical channels (M is a natural number). For example, the M vertical channels including a first vertical channel S1 and second vertical channel S2 included in the vertical scan area A1 respectively may be formed according to the rotation steps of the scanning mirror 200. For example, the first vertical channel S1 may be formed by the scanning mirror 200 that is rotated by β1 degree (refer to Fig. 3) from the starting point. The second vertical channel S2 may be formed by the scanning mirror 200 that is rotated by β2 degree (refer to Fig. 3) from the starting point (equivalent to cause each illumination source to be fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions by synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror). In this way the number of vertical channels of the scan area SA of the optical device 1000 may increase according to the number of light sources and the number of rotation steps of the scanning mirror 200 (equivalent to multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include to cause each illumination source to be fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions by synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to increase the number of vertical channels of each scan area A1-A4 (equivalent to achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval) according to the rotation steps of the scanning mirror 200 (Cho; Fig. 4, [0081]). In combine with Sasaki’s disclosure in Fig. 2, paragraph [0043]-[0045], [0051], laser scanner 109 (including rotating part 305 with a tilt mirror 306, rotating housing 301, 302 and protective case 304), predictably to generate in “fill beam” and “multi-firing per collection interval logic”.
Regarding claim 4, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 1, wherein the plurality of illumination sources and the plurality of photosensitive detectors are stationary relative to the first and second axes (Hall'983; Fig. 7, [0053], a two dimensional array of light sources 401A-D are aligned in different parallel plane (401A-C in one xy plane and 401B-D is in another xy plane) which the detectors are associated with light sources in the same integrated LiDAR measurement device 130. The only moving part in embodiment 400 as disclosed is scanning mirror 403 which is oscillatory rotated about axis 405 by actuator 406), and
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the scanning mirror is actuated to oscillate about the first axis and the housing is rotated about the second axis relative to the plurality of illumination sources and the plurality of photosensitive detectors.
Sasaki teaches, wherein the scanning mirror is actuated to oscillate about the first axis and the housing is rotated about the second axis relative to the plurality of illumination sources and the plurality of photosensitive detectors (Sasaki; [0037], the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed. Simultaneously, laser scanning in the horizontal direction is also performed by horizontally rotating the main unit 11 around a Z-axis (equivalent to housing is rotated about the second axis). Thus, laser scanning is performed on the entire circumference or a necessary area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include wherein the scanning mirror is actuated to oscillate about the first axis and the housing is rotated about the second axis relative to the plurality of illumination sources and the plurality of photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include to cause each illumination source to be fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions by synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed. Simultaneously, laser scanning in the horizontal direction is also performed by horizontally rotating the main unit 11 around a Z-axis. Thus, laser scanning is performed on the entire circumference or a necessary area (Sasaki; [0051]).
Regarding claim 8, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 1, further comprising a computing system, and the computing system is configured to collect a plurality of measurement points during a collection window corresponding to each measurement position of the plurality of measurement positions (Hall'983; Fig. 2, [0040], line 8, a measurement window is initiated by enabling data acquisition at the rising edge of pulse trigger signal 162. Receiver IC 150 controls the duration of the measurement window, Tmeasurement, to correspond with the window of time when a return signal is expected in response to the emission of a measurement pulse sequence; Detailed process is disclosed in Fig. 11, method 500).
Hall'983 does not teach,
wherein the motor is configured to rotate the housing about the second axis across a plurality of measurement positions.
Sasaki teaches, wherein the motor is configured to rotate the housing about the second axis across a plurality of measurement positions (Sasaki; [0051], The laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. Simultaneously, laser scanning in the horizontal direction is also performed by horizontally rotating the main unit 11 around a Z-axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include wherein the motor is configured to rotate the housing about the second axis across a plurality of measurement positions taught by Sasaki, include to cause each illumination source to be fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions by synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed. Simultaneously, laser scanning in the horizontal direction is also performed by horizontally rotating the main unit 11 around a Z-axis. Thus, laser scanning is performed on the entire circumference or a necessary area (Sasaki; [0051]).
Regarding claim 14, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 1, further comprising: a fixed mirror disposed in the optical path between the plurality of illumination sources and the scanning mirror (Hall'983; Fig. 1, fixed mirror element 161).
Regarding claim 15, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 1, further comprising: a computing system configured to determine a distance between the LIDAR device and an object in the 3-D environment based on one or more of the portions of return light detected by one or more of the plurality of photosensitive detectors (Hall'983; Fig. 1, [0035], line 14, master controller 190 (external computing system) processes returned signal 181 to identify properties of the detected object in the 3-D environment. Detailed process is disclosed in Fig. 11, method 500).
Regarding claim 16, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 15, wherein the computing system is configured to determine the distance between the LIDAR device and the object in the 3-D environment by measuring a difference between a first time when one or more of the portions of illumination light are emitted from one or more of the plurality of illumination sources and second time when one or more portions of the return light are detected by one or more of the plurality of photosensitive detectors (Hall'983; Fig. 11, method 500, step 506 [0080], a distance between the plurality of pulsed illumination sources and an object in the 3-D environment is determined based on a difference between a time when each pulsed is emitted from the LIDAR device and a time when each photosensitive detector detects an amount of light reflected from the object illuminated by the pulse of illumination light).
Regarding claim 19, Hall'983 teaches a method comprising:
emitting illumination light from each of a plurality of illumination sources of a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device towards a monolithic scanning mirror disposed in a common optical path with the plurality of illumination sources (Hall'983; Fig. 1, integrated LIDAR measurement device 130 where the optical scanning mechanism is disclosed in Fig. 5-Fig. 7 with different rotation axis and light sources arrangement, [0053], light emitted from a two-dimensional array of light sources 401A-D);
the scanning mirror concurrently rotating the plurality of illumination sources and the scanning mirror about a second axis, orthogonal to the first axis, to redirect the illumination light emitted by the plurality of illumination sources from the LIDAR device into a three-dimensional (3-D) environment (Hall'983; Fig. 7, [0053] each beam passing through beam shaping optics 402 reflect from the surface of scanning mirror 403 which is rotated in an oscillatory manner about axis 405 by actuator 406 to object in the environment),
detecting, by each of a plurality of photosensitive detectors, a respective portion of return light reflected from the 3-D environment illuminated by a respective portion of the illumination light (Hall'983; Fig. 1, [0032], photodetector 170 having an active sensor area 174; [0034], return light 171 reflected from the surrounding environment is detected by photodetector 170. [0047], detail in Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 where beam optical elements 116 arranged to focus collected light 118 onto each detector of the array of integrated LiDAR measurement devices 113); and
generating an output indicative of the detected portions of return light (Hall'983, [0035], Receiver IC 150 includes timing circuitry and a time-to-digital converter that estimates the time of flight of the measurement pulse from illumination source 160, to a reflective object in the three dimensional environment, and back to the photodetector 170. A signal 155 indicative of the estimated time of flight is communicated to master controller 190 for further processing and communication to a user of the LIDAR measurement system 100).
Hall'983 does not teach,
a plurality of illumination sources disposed within the housing
oscillating the scanning mirror about a first axis while concurrently rotating the housing including the plurality of illumination source, a plurality of photosensitive detectors disposed within the housing
such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions,
during each collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the rotation of the housing, synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval.
Hall'215 teaches,
a plurality of illumination sources disposed within the housing (Hall'215; Fig. 2, a plurality of beams of light 15 are emitted from 3D LIDAR system 10. Each beam of light is projected outward into the surrounding environment in a plurality of different direction. Fig. 3, [0056], light emission/collection engine 112 includes an array of integrated LIDAR measurement devices 113 (each includes a light emitting element, a light detecting element));
housing including the plurality of illumination source (same as above), a plurality of photosensitive detectors disposed within the housing (Hall'215; Fig. 3, Fig. 5, [0056], light emission/collection engine 112 includes an array of integrated LIDAR measurement devices 113 (each includes a light emitting element, a light detecting element));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the Lidar system includes housing where the plurality of emitting and detecting unit and scanning mirror is disposed on the housing. The Lidar system can further rotate the housing for realizing a 3D LIDAR system (Hall'215; Fig. 2, [0052]-[0053]).
However, Hall'983 modified in view of Hall'215 still not teach,
oscillating the scanning mirror about a first axis
such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions,
during each collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the rotation of the housing, synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval.
Sasaki teaches, oscillating the scanning mirror about a first axis (Sasaki; [0051], the laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed), such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions (in combine with the mirror rotated in the second axis taught by Hall'983, predictably the illumination light is scanned across the 3D environment in at least two dimensions).
during each collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the rotation of the housing; the definition of “each collection interval corresponding to a defied angular or temporal segment of the housing rotation” is not specified defined in the specification, by Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), each collection interval corresponding to a defied angular or temporal segment of the housing rotation is interpretated as any scanning frame. Sasaki states in paragraph [0051], the laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates can read on this claim limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include oscillating the scanning mirror about a first axis taught by Sasaki with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed (Sasaki; [0051]). Furthermore, combine with the mirror rotated in the second axis taught by Hall'983, predictably the illumination light is scanned across the 3D environment in at least two dimensions. Besides, the reason for combining Sasaki with Hall’983 and Hall’215 is to provide another freedom to scan in vertical direction predictably to expand the vertical field of view as well as to realize “infill beam” scanning.
Nevertheless, Hall'983 modified in view of Hall'215, Sasaki still not teach,
synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval.
Cho disclosed in Fig. 4, paragraph [0081], the optical device form 4 vertical scan area A1-A4 using 4 different light source LS1-LS4. Cho also disclosed, the first vertical scan area A1 may include M vertical channels (M is a natural number). For example, the M vertical channels including a first vertical channel S1 and second vertical channel S2 included in the vertical scan area A1 respectively may be formed according to the rotation steps of the scanning mirror 200. For example, the first vertical channel S1 may be formed by the scanning mirror 200 that is rotated by β1 degree (refer to Fig. 3) from the starting point. The second vertical channel S2 may be formed by the scanning mirror 200 that is rotated by β2 degree (refer to Fig. 3) from the starting point (equivalent to synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval). In this way the number of vertical channels of the scan area SA of the optical device 1000 may increase according to the number of light sources and the number of rotation steps of the scanning mirror 200 (equivalent to achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include oscillating the scanning mirror about a first axis taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to increase the number of vertical channels of each scan area A1-A4 (equivalent to achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval) according to the rotation steps of the scanning mirror 200 (Cho; Fig. 4, [0081]). In combine with Sasaki’s disclosure in Fig. 2, paragraph [0043]-[0045], [0051], laser scanner 109 (including rotating part 305 with a tilt mirror 306, rotating housing 301, 302 and protective case 304), predictably to generate in “fill beam” and “multi-firing per collection interval logic”.
Regarding claim 22, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 19, wherein the plurality of illumination sources and the plurality of photosensitive detectors are stationary relative to the first and second axes (Hall'983; Fig. 7, [0053], a two dimensional array of light sources 401A-D are aligned in different parallel plane (401A-C in one xy plane and 401B-D is in another xy plane) which the detectors are associated with light sources in the same integrated LiDAR measurement device 130. The only moving part in embodiment 400 as disclosed is scanning mirror 403 which is oscillatory rotated about axis 405 by actuator 406).
Hall'983 does not teach,
redirecting the illumination light includes actuating the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis and the scanning mirror is rotated with the plurality of illumination sources about the second axis relative to the plurality of illumination sources and the plurality of photosensitive detectors.
Hall'215 teaches,
the scanning mirror is rotated with the plurality of illumination sources about the second axis relative to the plurality of illumination sources and the plurality of photosensitive detectors (Hall'215; [0055], 3D LIDAR system 100 includes a light emission/collection engine 112 (includes array of light emitting and detecting elements), a mirror 124 (Fig. 4) that rotates about central axis 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include oscillating the scanning mirror about a first axis taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the Lidar system includes housing where the plurality of emitting and detecting unit and scanning mirror is disposed on the housing. The Lidar system can further rotate the housing for realizing a 3D LIDAR system (Hall'215; Fig. 2, [0052]-[0053]).
However, Hall'983 modified in view of Hall'215 still not teach,
redirecting the illumination light includes actuating the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis and the scanning mirror is rotated about the second axis relative to the plurality of illumination sources and the plurality of photosensitive detectors.
Sasaki teaches,
redirecting the illumination light includes actuating the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis and the scanning mirror is rotated about the second axis relative to the plurality of illumination sources and the plurality of photosensitive detectors (Sasaki; [0051], The laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. Simultaneously, laser scanning in the horizontal direction is also performed by horizontally rotating the main unit 11 around a Z-axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include redirecting the illumination light includes actuating the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis and the scanning mirror is rotated with the plurality of illumination sources about the second axis relative to the plurality of illumination sources and the plurality of photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed. Simultaneously, laser scanning in the horizontal direction is also performed by horizontally rotating the main unit 11 around a Z-axis. Thus, laser scanning is performed on the entire circumference or a necessary area (Sasaki; [0051]).
Regarding claim 23, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 19, wherein the optical scanning device comprises a single-axis scanning mirror (Hall'983; Fig. 7, [0053], 3D LiDAR scanning mirror is rotated in an oscillatory manner about axis 405 (z axis) by actuator 406).
Regarding claim 26, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 19.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein redirecting the illumination light includes rotating the optical scanning device about the second axis across a plurality of measurement positions.
Sasaki teaches, wherein redirecting the illumination light includes rotating the optical scanning device about the second axis across a plurality of measurement positions (Sasaki; [0051], The laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include wherein redirecting the illumination light includes rotating the optical scanning device about the second axis across a plurality of measurement positions taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed. Simultaneously, laser scanning in the horizontal direction is also performed by horizontally rotating the main unit 11 around a Z-axis. Thus, laser scanning is performed on the entire circumference or a necessary area (Sasaki; [0051]).
Regarding claim 33, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 19, further comprising: processing the output to determine a distance between the plurality of illumination sources and an object in the 3-D environment (Hall'983; Fig. 1, [0035]master controller 190 (external computing system) processes returned signal 181 to identify properties of the detected object in the 3-D environment. Detailed process is disclosed in Fig. 11, method 500).
Regarding claim 34, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 33, wherein processing the output to determine the distance between the plurality of illumination sources and the object in the 3-D environment includes: measuring a difference between a first time when one or more of the portions of the illumination light are emitted and second time when one or more portions of the return light are detected (Hall'983; Fig. 11, method 500, step 506 [0080], a distance between the plurality of pulsed illumination sources and an object in the 3-D environment is determined based on a difference between a time when each pulsed is emitted from the LIDAR device and a time when each photosensitive detector detects an amount of light reflected from the object illuminated by the pulse of illumination light).
Regrading claim 37, Hall'983 teaches a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device comprising:
a plurality of illumination sources, each of the plurality of illumination sources configured to emit illumination light (Hall'983; Fig. 1, integrated LIDAR measurement device 130 where the optical scanning mechanism is disclosed in Fig. 5-Fig. 7 with different rotation axis and light sources arrangement, [0053], light emitted from a two-dimensional array of light sources 401A-D);
a plurality of photosensitive detectors, each configured to detect a respective portion of return light reflected from a three-dimensional (3-D) environment when illuminated by a respective portion of the illumination light (Hall'983; Fig. 1, [0032], photodetector 170 having an active sensor area 174; [0034], return light 171 reflected from the surrounding environment is detected by photodetector 170. [0047], detail in Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 where beam optical elements 116 arranged to focus collected light 118 onto each detector of the array of integrated LiDAR measurement devices 113);
a monolithic scanning mirror disposed in a common optical path of the plurality of illumination sources (Hall'983; Fig. 7, [0053] each beam passing through beam shaping optics 402 reflect from the surface of scanning mirror 403), the scanning mirror configured to redirect the illumination light emitted by the plurality of illumination sources from the LIDAR device into the 3-D environment and to redirect return light from the 3-D environment toward the plurality of photosensitive detectors (Hall'983; Fig. 7, [0053], line 13, each beam passing through beam shaping optics 402 reflect from the surface of scanning mirror 403 which is rotated in an oscillatory manner about axis 405 by actuator 406 to object in the environment);
Hall'983 does not teach
a housing;
a plurality of illumination sources disposed within the housing;
a plurality of photosensitive detectors disposed within the housing;
a monolithic scanning mirror disposed within the housing, the scanning mirror configured to oscillate about a first axis;
a motor configured to rotate the housing, including the plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror, about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis; and
a controller configured to, during operation, cause the motor to continuously rotate the housing about the second axis and cause the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis while the housing is being rotated;
wherein the controller is further configured to: (i) define, during the rotation of the housing, a plurality of collection intervals of data acquisition collection intervals, each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which a plurality of laser pulses are emitted and measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the continuous rotation of the housing, and each data acquisition collection interval being distinct from the mere interval between consecutive single laser pulse emissions; and (ii) during each data acquisition collection interval, control the oscillation of the scanning mirror and the emission of illumination light such that multiple unique measurement points per channel are acquired, thereby increasing the spatial sampling density relative to a single firing per collection interval.
Hall'215 teaches,
a housing (Hall'215; Fig. 2, [0052], 3D LIDAR system 10 includes a lower housing 11 and upper housing 12);
a plurality of illumination sources disposed within the housing (Hall'215; Fig. 2, a plurality of beams of light 15 are emitted from 3D LIDAR system 10. Each beam of light is projected outward into the surrounding environment in a plurality of different direction. Fig. 3, [0056], light emission/collection engine 112 includes an array of integrated LIDAR measurement devices 113 (each includes a light emitting element, a light detecting element));
a plurality of photosensitive detectors disposed within the housing (Hall'215; Fig. 3, Fig. 5, [0056], light emission/collection engine 112 includes an array of integrated LIDAR measurement devices 113 (each includes a light emitting element, a light detecting element));
a monolithic scanning mirror disposed within the housing in a common optical path of the plurality of illumination sources (Hall'215; Fig. 4, [0058], light 118 passing through optics 116 is reflected from mirror 124 and is directed onto each detector of the array of integrated LIDAR measurement device 113); and
housing is rotated which including the plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror, about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis (Hall'215; [0055], 3D LIDAR system 100 includes a light emission/collection engine 112 (includes array of light emitting and detecting elements), a mirror 124 (Fig. 4) that rotates about central axis 104);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the Lidar system includes housing where the plurality of emitting and detecting unit and scanning mirror is disposed on the housing. The Lidar system can further rotate the housing for realizing a 3D LIDAR system (Hall'215; Fig. 2, [0052]-[0053]).
However, Hall'983 modified in view of Hall'215 still not teach,
the scanning mirror configured to oscillate about a first axis;
a motor configured to rotate the housing,
a controller configured to, during operation, cause the motor to continuously rotate the housing about the second axis and cause the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis while the housing is being rotated;
wherein the controller is further configured to: (i) define, during the rotation of the housing, a plurality of collection intervals, each collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the rotation, and (ii) during each collection interval, control the oscillation of the scanning mirror and the emission of illumination light such that multiple unique measurement points per channel are acquired, thereby increasing the spatial sampling density relative to a single firing per collection interval.
Sasaki teaches,
the scanning mirror configured to oscillate about a first axis (Sasaki; Fig. 2, [0043], laser scanner 109 is fixed on a top of the main unit 11 includes housing (301, 302 and protective case 304), rotating part 305 with a tilt mirror 306 attached on it (equivalent to scanning mirror), a light emitting part and light receiving part (both in column 302 [0045]); [0044], the rotating part 305 (with a tilt mirror 306 attached on it) is driven to be rotated around the x-axis by a motor contained in the first column 301);
a motor configured to rotate the housing (Sasaki; [0037], the main unit 11 horizontally rotates relative to the base 12 by electrical operation. That is the main unit 11 is driven by a motor for controlling a horizontal angle contained in the main unit 11; since laser scanner 109 (includes housing) is fixed on a top of the main unit 11, this implies a motor configured to rotate the housing);
a controller configured to, during operation, cause the motor to continuously rotate the housing about the second axis and cause the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis while the housing is being rotated (Sasaki; [0051], the laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed. Simultaneously, laser scanning in the horizontal direction is also performed by horizontally rotating the main unit 11 around a Z-axis. Thus, laser scanning is performed on the entire circumference or a necessary area).
(i) define, during the rotation of the housing, a plurality of collection intervals of data acquisition collection intervals, each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the continuous rotation of the housing; the definition of “a plurality of collection intervals of data acquisition collection intervals”, “each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window”, “each data acquisition collection interval corresponding to a defied angular or temporal segment of the housing rotation” is not specified defined in the specification, by Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), each data acquisition collection interval corresponding to a defied angular or temporal segment of the housing rotation is interpretated as any scanning frame and a plurality of collection intervals of data acquisition collection intervals is interpretated as different scanning cycles. Sasaki states in paragraph [0051], the laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. Thus, laser scanning is performed on the entire circumference or a necessary area. Paragraph [0072] disclosed the point clouds data acquiring unit 110 acquires the point clouds data obtained by the laser scanner 109, both housing rotation with mirror rotates and point clouds data acquiring unit 110 can read on this claim limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include a controller configured to, during operation, cause the motor to continuously rotate the housing about the second axis and cause the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis while the housing is being rotated and the data acquiring unit 110 acquires point clouds data and define, during the rotation of the housing, a plurality of collection intervals of data acquisition collection intervals, each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the continuous rotation of the housing taught by Sasaki with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed. Simultaneously, laser scanning in the horizontal direction is also performed by horizontally rotating the main unit 11 around a Z-axis. Thus, laser scanning is performed on the entire circumference or a necessary area (Sasaki; [0051]). Furthermore, combine with the mirror rotated in the second axis taught by Hall'983, predictably the illumination light is scanned across the 3D environment in at least two dimensions. Besides, the reason for combining Sasaki with Hall’983 and Hall’215 is to provide another freedom to scan in vertical direction predictably to expand the vertical field of view as well as to realize “infill beam” scanning.
Nevertheless, Hall'983 modified in view of Hall'215, Sasaki still not teach,
wherein the controller is further configured to: (i) each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which a plurality of laser pulses are emitted and measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval being distinct from the mere interval between consecutive single laser pulse emissions; and (ii) during each data acquisition collection interval, control the oscillation of the scanning mirror and the emission of illumination light such that multiple unique measurement points per channel are acquired, thereby increasing the spatial sampling density relative to a single firing per collection interval.
Cho disclosed in Fig. 4, paragraph [0081], the optical device form 4 vertical scan area A1-A4 using 4 different light source LS1-LS4. Cho also disclosed, the first vertical scan area A1 may include M vertical channels (M is a natural number). For example, the M vertical channels including a first vertical channel S1 and second vertical channel S2 included in the vertical scan area A1 respectively may be formed according to the rotation steps of the scanning mirror 200. For example, the first vertical channel S1 may be formed by the scanning mirror 200 that is rotated by β1 degree (refer to Fig. 3) from the starting point. The second vertical channel S2 may be formed by the scanning mirror 200 that is rotated by β2 degree (refer to Fig. 3) from the starting point (equivalent to control the oscillation of the scanning mirror and the emission of illumination light such that multiple unique measurement points per channel are acquired). In this way the number of vertical channels of the scan area SA of the optical device 1000 may increase according to the number of light sources and the number of rotation steps of the scanning mirror 200 (equivalent to increasing the spatial sampling density relative to a single firing per collection interval). In combine with Sasaki’s disclosure in Fig. 2, paragraph [0043]-[0045], [0051], laser scanner 109 (including rotating part 305 with a tilt mirror 306, rotating housing 301, 302 and protective case 304), predictably to generate in “fill beam” and “multi-firing per collection interval logic”.
Furthermore, for the limitation of “each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which a plurality of laser pulses are emitted and measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval being distinct from the mere interval between consecutive single laser pulse emissions”, the definition of “each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which a plurality of laser pulses are emitted and measurements are acquired”, “each data acquisition collection interval being distinct from the mere interval between consecutive single laser pulse emissions” is not specified defined in the specification, by Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which a plurality of laser pulses are emitted and measurements are acquired is interpretated as any scanning frame such as disclosed in Cho (Fig. 4) including in a plurality of laser pulses are emitted and measurements are acquired. And by Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), each data acquisition collection interval being distinct from the mere interval between consecutive single laser pulse emissions is interpretated as collected data of S1 through S2… which is distinct from the interval between each laser sources LS1-LS4 as disclosed in Fig. 4 of Cho’s invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include a controller configured to, during operation, cause the motor to continuously rotate the housing about the second axis and cause the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis while the housing is being rotated and the data acquiring unit 110 acquires point clouds data and define, during the rotation of the housing, a plurality of collection intervals of data acquisition collection intervals, each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the continuous rotation of the housing taught by Sasaki, include wherein the controller is further configured to: (i) each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which a plurality of laser pulses are emitted and measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval being distinct from the mere interval between consecutive single laser pulse emissions; and (ii) during each data acquisition collection interval, control the oscillation of the scanning mirror and the emission of illumination light such that multiple unique measurement points per channel are acquired, thereby increasing the spatial sampling density relative to a single firing per collection interval taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to increase the number of vertical channels of each scan area A1-A4 (equivalent to achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval) according to the rotation steps of the scanning mirror 200 (Cho; Fig. 4, [0081]). In combine with Sasaki’s disclosure in Fig. 2, paragraph [0043]-[0045], [0051], laser scanner 109 (including rotating part 305 with a tilt mirror 306, rotating housing 301, 302 and protective case 304), predictably to generate in “fill beam” and “multi-firing per collection interval logic”.
Regarding claim 39, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device of claim 37, wherein the plurality of illumination sources and the plurality of photosensitive detectors are stationary relative to the first and second axes (Hall'983; Fig. 7, [0053], a two dimensional array of light sources 401A-D are aligned in different parallel plane (401A-C in one xy plane and 401B-D is in another xy plane) which the detectors are associated with light sources in the same integrated LiDAR measurement device 130. The only moving part in embodiment 400 as disclosed is scanning mirror 403 which is oscillatory rotated about axis 405 by actuator 406).
Regarding claim 42, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device of claim 37, wherein the plurality of illumination sources are arranged in a linear or two-dimensional array (Hall'983; [0013], the array of light sources is two dimensional, and the two-dimensional field of measurement beams is swept over a range of the three dimensional environment under measurement) and
Hall'983 does not teach, the scanning mirror is configured to sweep beams emitted from each illumination source across at least a portion of the environment as the mirror oscillates and the housing rotates.
Sasaki teaches, the scanning mirror is configured to sweep beams emitted from each illumination source across at least a portion of the environment as the mirror oscillates and the housing rotates (Sasaki; [0051], the laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed. Simultaneously, laser scanning in the horizontal direction is also performed by horizontally rotating the main unit 11 around a Z-axis. Thus, laser scanning is performed on the entire circumference or a necessary area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, , include a controller configured to, during operation, cause the motor to continuously rotate the housing about the second axis and cause the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis while the housing is being rotated and the data acquiring unit 110 acquires point clouds data and define, during the rotation of the housing, a plurality of collection intervals of data acquisition collection intervals, each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the continuous rotation of the housing and the scanning mirror is configured to sweep beams emitted from each illumination source across at least a portion of the environment as the mirror oscillates and the housing rotates taught by Sasaki, include wherein the controller is further configured to: (i) each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which a plurality of laser pulses are emitted and measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval being distinct from the mere interval between consecutive single laser pulse emissions; and (ii) during each data acquisition collection interval, control the oscillation of the scanning mirror and the emission of illumination light such that multiple unique measurement points per channel are acquired, thereby increasing the spatial sampling density relative to a single firing per collection interval taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed. Simultaneously, laser scanning in the horizontal direction is also performed by horizontally rotating the main unit 11 around a Z-axis. Thus, laser scanning is performed on the entire circumference or a necessary area (Sasaki; [0051]).
Regarding claim 43, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device of claim 37, wherein the oscillation of the scanning mirror and the rotation of the housing are coordinated (Sasaki; [0051], the laser scanning light is emitted and reflected at the tilt mirror 306, and is then emitted intermittently to the outside from the protective case 304. At this time, the laser scanning light is emitted while the rotating part 305 rotates. As a result, laser scanning along the vertical plane is performed. Simultaneously, laser scanning in the horizontal direction is also performed by horizontally rotating the main unit 11 around a Z-axis. Thus, laser scanning is performed on the entire circumference or a necessary area, also see mapping in claim 42).
Hall'983 does not teach, to generate a scan pattern comprising both a central scan position and a plurality of infill scan positions for each channel within each collection window.
Cho disclosed in Fig. 4, paragraph [0081], the optical device form 4 vertical scan area A1-A4 using 4 different light source LS1-LS4. Cho also disclosed, the first vertical scan area A1 may include M vertical channels (M is a natural number). For example, the M vertical channels including a first vertical channel S1 and second vertical channel S2 included in the vertical scan area A1 respectively may be formed according to the rotation steps of the scanning mirror 200. For example, the first vertical channel S1 may be formed by the scanning mirror 200 that is rotated by β1 degree (refer to Fig. 3) from the starting point. The second vertical channel S2 may be formed by the scanning mirror 200 that is rotated by β2 degree (refer to Fig. 3) from the starting point (equivalent to generate a scan pattern comprising both a central scan position and a plurality of infill scan positions for each channel within each collection window). In this way the number of vertical channels of the scan area SA of the optical device 1000 may increase according to the number of light sources and the number of rotation steps of the scanning mirror 200.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include a controller configured to, during operation, cause the motor to continuously rotate the housing about the second axis and cause the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis while the housing is being rotated and the data acquiring unit 110 acquires point clouds data and define, during the rotation of the housing, a plurality of collection intervals of data acquisition collection intervals, each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the continuous rotation of the housing taught by Sasaki, include wherein the controller is further configured to: (i) each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which a plurality of laser pulses are emitted and measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval being distinct from the mere interval between consecutive single laser pulse emissions; and (ii) during each data acquisition collection interval, control the oscillation of the scanning mirror and the emission of illumination light such that multiple unique measurement points per channel are acquired, thereby increasing the spatial sampling density relative to a single firing per collection interval and generate a scan pattern comprising both a central scan position and a plurality of infill scan positions for each channel within each collection window taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to increase the number of vertical channels of each scan area A1-A4 (equivalent to achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval) according to the rotation steps of the scanning mirror 200 (Cho; Fig. 4, [0081]). In combine with Sasaki’s disclosure in Fig. 2, paragraph [0043]-[0045], [0051], laser scanner 109 (including rotating part 305 with a tilt mirror 306, rotating housing 301, 302 and protective case 304), predictably to generate in “fill beam” and “multi-firing per collection interval logic”.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall'983, modified in view of Hall'215, in view of Sasaki, in view of Cho, in view of in view of Wang (US 20220260722 A1) and further in view of Hinderling (US 20160084651 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 1.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the motor comprises a pancake motor operable to rotate the optical scanning device, the plurality of illumination sources, and the plurality of photosensitive detectors about the second axis at a same rate of rotation.
Wang teaches, wherein the motor comprises a pancake motor (Wang; Figs. 8A-8B, [0116], motorized optical scanner 800 can further include an axial flux motor 812 (also referred to as an axial flux electrical motor, an axial gap motor or a pancake motor)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho and include wherein the motor comprises a pancake motor taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the scanning mechanism comprises a pancake motor is to use the axial flux motor (a pancake motor) to rotate or oscillates reflective piece 802 to scan light beams to an FOV (Wang; Figs. 8A-8B, [0116]).
However, Hall'983 modified in view of Hall'215, Sasaki and Wang still does not teach,
operable to rotate the optical scanning device, the plurality of illumination sources, and the plurality of photosensitive detectors about the second axis at a same rate of rotation.
Hinderling further teaches, operable to rotate the optical scanning device, the plurality of illumination sources, and the plurality of photosensitive detectors about the second axis at a same rate of rotation (Hinderling; Fig. 2, [0085], rotation unit 10 comprising a rotary mirror 22 rotate in the axis 11. The housing 5 includes light source 6 and detector 8 with rotation unit 10 attached to it. The control unit 9 coordinates the rotation of the rotation unit 10 about the cylinder axis 11 and the rotation of the housing 5 about the base axis 4 during a scanning process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho, include wherein the motor comprises a pancake motor taught by Wang and include operable to rotate the optical scanning device, the plurality of illumination sources, and the plurality of photosensitive detectors about the second axis at a same rate of rotation taught by Hinderling with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing operable to rotate the optical scanning device, the plurality of illumination sources, and the plurality of photosensitive detectors about the second axis at a same rate of rotation is to use the measuring instrument for optically scanning the field of view (Hinderling; [0084], [0085]).
Claim(s) 9-11 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall'983, modified in view of Hall'215, in view of Sasaki, in view of Cho, in view of Chen et al. (US 20200278427 A1, hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 9, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 8.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the plurality of photosensitive detectors include a first photosensitive detector, and wherein the optical scanning device is oscillated about the first axis during each collection window such that two or more collected measurement points in the plurality of collected measurement points are unique measurement points corresponding to the respective portion of return light detected by the first photosensitive detector.
Chen teaches, wherein the plurality of photosensitive detectors include a first photosensitive detector, and wherein the optical scanning device is oscillated about the first axis during each collection window such that two or more collected measurement points in the plurality of collected measurement points are unique measurement points corresponding to the respective portion of return light detected by the first photosensitive detector (Chen; Fig. 2A, [0053], line 15, mirror assembly 212 includes one or more actuators to oscillatory rotate the rotatable mirrors around first axis 222 (x-axis) and second axis 226 (z-axis). Such that the movement of output projection path 219 can follow a scanning pattern 232. Fig. 2B, [0054], LiDAR controller 206 can select an incident light direction 239 for detection of incident light by receiver 204. By setting the angles of rotation of the rotatable mirrors of mirror assemble 212, only light beam 220 (portion of returned light 239) reflected to beam splitter 213 and detected by photodetector 216. With such arrangements, receiver 204 can selectively receive signals that are relevant for the ranging/imaging of object 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho and include wherein the plurality of photosensitive detectors include a first photosensitive detector, and wherein the optical scanning device is oscillated about the first axis during each collection window such that two or more collected measurement points in the plurality of collected measurement points are unique measurement points corresponding to the respective portion of return light detected by the first photosensitive detector taught by Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the plurality of photosensitive detectors include a first photosensitive detector, and wherein the optical scanning device is oscillated about the first axis during each collection window such that two or more collected measurement points in the plurality of collected measurement points are unique measurement points corresponding to the respective portion of return light detected by the first photosensitive detector is to selectively receive signals that are relevant for the ranging/imaging of object 112 (Chen; [0054]).
Regarding claim 10, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 9.
Hall'983 does not teach, further comprising an actuator, wherein the actuator is configured to oscillate the optical scanning device according to an oscillation pattern during each collection window.
Chen teach, further comprising an actuator, wherein the actuator is configured to oscillate the optical scanning device according to an oscillation pattern during each collection window (Chen; Fig. 2A, [0053], line 25, LiDAR controller 206 can control the actuators to produce different combination of angles of rotation around first axis 222 and second axis 226 such that the movement of output projection path 219 can follow a scanning pattern 232 (oscillatory pattern 290 in Fig. 2E (sinusoidal pattern), [0059])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho and include further comprising an actuator, wherein the actuator is configured to oscillate the optical scanning device according to an oscillation pattern during each collection window taught by Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing further comprising an actuator, wherein the actuator is configured to oscillate the optical scanning device according to an oscillation pattern during each collection window is that a micro-mirror can rotate following an oscillatory pattern to define the FOV (Chen; Fig. 2E, [0059]).
Regarding claim 11, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 10.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the oscillation pattern is a sinusoidal oscillation pattern.
Chen teaches, wherein the oscillation pattern is a sinusoidal oscillation pattern (Chen; Fig, 2E [0059], the micro-mirror can rotate following an oscillatory pattern (sinusoidal pattern) 290 with respect to time between an angle range -Ө and +Ө).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho and include wherein the oscillation pattern is a sinusoidal oscillation pattern taught by Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the oscillation pattern is a sinusoidal oscillation pattern is that a micro-mirror can rotate following an oscillatory pattern to define the FOV (Chen; Fig. 2E, [0059]).
Regarding claim 27, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 26, wherein detecting the return light reflected from the 3-D environment includes collecting a plurality of measurement points during a collection window corresponding to each measurement position of the plurality of measurement positions (Hall'983; Fig. 2, [0040], a measurement window is initiated by enabling data acquisition at the rising edge of pulse trigger signal 162. Receiver IC 150 controls the duration of the measurement window, Tmeasurement, to correspond with the window of time when a return signal is expected in response to the emission of a measurement pulse sequence).
Hall'983 does not teach,
wherein detecting the respective portions of return light reflected from the 3-D environment.
Chen teaches,
wherein detecting the respective portions of return light reflected from the 3-D environment (Chen; Fig. 2A, [0053], line 15, mirror assembly 212 includes one or more actuators to oscillatory rotate the rotatable mirrors around first axis 222 (x-axis) and second axis 226 (z-axis). Such that the movement of output projection path 219 can follow a scanning pattern 232. Fig. 2B, [0054], LiDAR controller 206 can select an incident light direction 239 for detection of incident light by receiver 204. By setting the angles of rotation of the rotatable mirrors of mirror assemble 212, only light beam 220 (portion of returned light 239) reflected to beam splitter 213 and detected by photodetector 216. With such arrangements, receiver 204 can selectively receive signals that are relevant for the ranging/imaging of object 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho and include wherein detecting the respective portions of return light reflected from the 3-D environment taught by Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to selectively receive signals that are relevant for the ranging/imaging of object 112 (Chen; [0054]).
Regarding claim 28, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 27.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the plurality of photosensitive detectors include a first photosensitive detector, and wherein redirecting the illumination light includes oscillating the optical scanning device about the first axis during each collection window such that two or more collected measurement points in the plurality of collected measurement points are unique measurement points corresponding to the respective portion of return light detected by the first photosensitive detector.
Chen teaches, wherein the plurality of photosensitive detectors include a first photosensitive detector, and wherein redirecting the illumination light includes oscillating the optical scanning device about the first axis during each collection window such that two or more collected measurement points in the plurality of collected measurement points are unique measurement points corresponding to the respective portion of return light detected by the first photosensitive detector (Chen, Fig. 2A, [0053], line 15, mirror assembly 212 includes one or more actuators to oscillatory rotate the rotatable mirrors around first axis 222 (x-axis) and second axis 226 (z-axis). Such that the movement of output projection path 219 can follow a scanning pattern 232. Fig. 2B, [0054], LiDAR controller 206 can select an incident light direction 239 for detection of incident light by receiver 204. By setting the angles of rotation of the rotatable mirrors of mirror assemble 212, only light beam 220 (portion of returned light 239) reflected to beam splitter 213 and detected by photodetector 216. With such arrangements, receiver 204 can selectively receive signals that are relevant for the ranging/imaging of object 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho and include wherein the plurality of photosensitive detectors include a first photosensitive detector, and wherein redirecting the illumination light includes oscillating the optical scanning device about the first axis during each collection window such that two or more collected measurement points in the plurality of collected measurement points are unique measurement points corresponding to the respective portion of return light detected by the first photosensitive detector taught by Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the plurality of photosensitive detectors include a first photosensitive detector, and wherein redirecting the illumination light includes oscillating the optical scanning device about the first axis during each collection window such that two or more collected measurement points in the plurality of collected measurement points are unique measurement points corresponding to the respective portion of return light detected by the first photosensitive detector is to selectively receive signals that are relevant for the ranging/imaging of object 112 (Chen; [0054]).
Regarding claim 29, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 28.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the optical scanning device is configured to be oscillated according to an oscillation pattern during each collection window.
Chen teaches, wherein the optical scanning device is configured to be oscillated according to an oscillation pattern during each collection window (Chen, Fig. 2A, [0053], line 25, LiDAR controller 206 can control the actuators to produce different combination of angles of rotation around first axis 222 and second axis 226 such that the movement of output projection path 219 can follow a scanning pattern 232 (oscillatory pattern 209 in Fig. 2E (sinusoidal pattern), [0059])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho and include wherein the optical scanning device is configured to be oscillated according to an oscillation pattern during each collection window taught by Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the optical scanning device is configured to be oscillated according to an oscillation pattern during each collection window is that a micro-mirror can rotate following an oscillatory pattern to define the FOV (Chen; Fig. 2E, [0059]).
Regarding claim 30, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 29.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the oscillation pattern is a sinusoidal oscillation pattern.
Chen teaches, wherein the oscillation pattern is a sinusoidal oscillation pattern (Chen; Fig, 2E [0059], the micro-mirror can rotate following an oscillatory pattern (sinusoidal pattern) 290 with respect to time between an angle range -Ө and +Ө)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho and include wherein the oscillation pattern is a sinusoidal oscillation pattern taught by Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the oscillation pattern is a sinusoidal oscillation pattern is that a micro-mirror can rotate following an oscillatory pattern to define the FOV (Chen; Fig. 2E, [0059]).
Claim(s) 12 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall'983, modified in view of Hall'215, in view of Sasaki, in view of Cho, in view of Chen, in view of Tsai et al. (US 11294040 B1, hereinafter “Tsai”).
Regarding claim 12, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 10.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the plurality of illumination sources are configured to emit the illumination light as a series of pulses having a non-linear timing pattern during each collection window.
Tsai teaches, wherein the plurality of illumination sources are configured to emit the illumination light as a series of pulses having a non-linear timing pattern during each collection window (Tsai; Column 6, paragraph 8, The scanner 130 may be implemented as a 1 or 2-dimensional scanner (to distribute the sample pulsed wavelength-modulated coherent light), which the scanning pattern may be linear or non-linear in time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho, include further comprising an actuator, wherein the actuator is configured to oscillate the optical scanning device according to an oscillation pattern during each collection window taught by Chen and include wherein the plurality of illumination sources are configured to emit the illumination light as a series of pulses having a non-linear timing pattern during each collection window taught by Tsai with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the plurality of illumination sources are configured to emit the illumination light as a series of pulses having a non-linear timing pattern during each collection window is including different scanning pattern (linear, non-linear in time, unidirectional or bidirectional) and perform different scan (raster scan, spiral scan, or other pattern) to provide the required scanning motion to collect the measurement information (Tsai; Column 6, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 31, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 29.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein emitting illumination light from the plurality of illumination sources includes emitting a series of pulses having a non-linear timing pattern during each collection window.
Tsai teaches, wherein emitting illumination light from the plurality of illumination sources includes emitting a series of pulses having a non-linear timing pattern during each collection window (Tsai; Column 6, paragraph 8, The scanner 130 may be implemented as a 1 or 2-dimensional scanner (to distribute the sample pulsed wavelength-modulated coherent light), which the scanning pattern may be linear or non-linear in time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho, include wherein the optical scanning device is configured to be oscillated according to an oscillation pattern during each collection window taught by Chen and include wherein emitting illumination light from the plurality of illumination sources includes emitting a series of pulses having a non-linear timing pattern during each collection window taught by Tsai with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein emitting illumination light from the plurality of illumination sources includes emitting a series of pulses having a non-linear timing pattern during each collection window is including different scanning pattern (linear, non-linear in time, unidirectional or bidirectional) and perform different scan (raster scan, spiral scan, or other pattern) to provide the required scanning motion to collect the measurement information (Tsai; Column 6, paragraph 8).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall'983, modified in view of Hall'215, in view of Sasaki, in view of Cho, in view of Chen, in view of Benscoter et al. (US 20220373654 A1, hereinafter “Benscoter”).
Regarding claim 13, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 10.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the emission of the illumination light as the series of pulses having the non-linear timing pattern yields a sinusoidal pattern of measurement points in a plane substantially parallel to a surface of the optical scanning device.
Benscoter teaches, wherein the emission of the illumination light as the series of pulses having the non-linear timing pattern yields a sinusoidal pattern of measurement points in a plane substantially parallel to a surface of the optical scanning device (Benscoter; Fig. 8, [0214], the bean scanner 810 include a feedback system 850 that tracks the actual mirror tilt angles for mirror 110; [0215], the beam scanner controller 802 incorporate with mirror motion model 808a to generate firing commands 120 for the laser source 102 that closely match up with the actual shot angle to be target with the laser pulses 122; This means the illumination light is firing with respect to the mirror tilt angles where the mirror is actuated in a sinusoidal oscillation pattern as detailed above in claim 10 which results in the illumination light having the non-linear timing pattern yields a sinusoidal pattern of measurement points).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho, include further comprising an actuator, wherein the actuator is configured to oscillate the optical scanning device according to an oscillation pattern during each collection window taught by Chen and include wherein the emission of the illumination light as the series of pulses having the non-linear timing pattern yields a sinusoidal pattern of measurement points in a plane substantially parallel to a surface of the optical scanning device taught by Benscoter with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the emission of the illumination light as the series of pulses having the non-linear timing pattern yields a sinusoidal pattern of measurement points in a plane substantially parallel to a surface of the optical scanning device is such that allows the beam scanner controller to generate firing commands for the laser source that closely match up with the actual shot angles to be targeted with the laser pulses (Benscoter; Fig. 8, [0214], [0215]). This means the illumination light is firing with respect to the mirror tilt angles where the mirror is actuated in a sinusoidal oscillation pattern (in two axes) as detailed above in claim 10 which results in the illumination light having the non-linear timing pattern yields a sinusoidal pattern of measurement points. Furthermore, because the mirror is actuated in two axes in a sinusoidal oscillation pattern, the illumination light with sinusoidal pattern of measurement points will be in a plane substantially parallel to a surface of the optical scanning device.
Claim(s) 18 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall'983, modified in view of Hall'215, in view of Sasaki, in view of Cho, in view of Nicolaescu (US 20190391243 A1, hereinafter “Nicolaescu”).
Regarding claim 18, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 1.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis with an oscillation rate between approximately 18 kHz and approximately 22 kHz.
Nicolaescu teaches, wherein the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis with an oscillation rate between approximately 18 kHz and approximately 22 kHz (Nicolaescu; [0108], a rastering pattern can be used in which the horizontal axis can be driven at resonance at high frequency (such as 10-30 kHz) while the vertical axis can be driven in a low frequency (50-100Hz) for desired frame rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho and include wherein the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis with an oscillation rate between approximately 18 kHz and approximately 22 kHz taught by Nicolaescu with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the optical scanning device is oscillated about the first axis with an oscillation rate between approximately 18 kHz and approximately 22 kHz is to use high frequency (horizontal axis) and low frequency (vertical axis) of a rastering pattern for a desired frame rate (Nicolaescu; [0108]).
Regarding claim 35, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 19.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein oscillating the scanning mirror about the first axis includes oscillating the scanning mirror with an oscillation rate between approximately 18 kHz and approximately 22 kHz.
Nicolaescu teaches, wherein oscillating the scanning mirror about the first axis includes oscillating the scanning mirror with an oscillation rate between approximately 18 kHz and approximately 22 kHz (Nicolaescu; [0108], a rastering pattern can be used in which the horizontal axis can be driven at resonance at high frequency (such as 10-30 kHz) while the vertical axis can be driven in a low frequency (50-100Hz) for desired frame rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include oscillating the scanning mirror about a first axis taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho and include wherein oscillating the scanning mirror about the first axis includes oscillating the scanning mirror with an oscillation rate between approximately 18 kHz and approximately 22 kHz taught by Nicolaescu with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein oscillating the optical scanning device about the first axis includes oscillating the optical scanning device with an oscillation rate between approximately 18 kHz and approximately 22 kHz is to use high frequency (horizontal axis) and low frequency (vertical axis) of a rastering pattern for a desired frame rate (Nicolaescu; [0108]).
Claim(s) 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall'983, modified in view of Hall'215, in view of Sasaki, in view of Cho, in view of Hinderling.
Regarding claim 25, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 19.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the scanning mirror, the plurality of illumination sources, and the plurality of photosensitive detectors are rotated about the second axis at the same rate of rotation.
Hinderling teaches, wherein the scanning mirror, the plurality of illumination sources, and the plurality of photosensitive detectors are rotated about the second axis at the same rate of rotation (Hinderling; Fig. 2, [0085], rotation unit 10 comprising a rotary mirror 22 rotate in the axis 11. The housing 5 includes light source 6 and detector 8 with rotation unit 10 attached to it. The control unit 9 coordinates the rotation of the rotation unit 10 about the cylinder axis 11 and the rotation of the housing 5 about the base axis 4 during a scanning process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include oscillating the scanning mirror about a first axis taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho and include the optical scanning device, the plurality of illumination sources, and the plurality of photosensitive detectors are rotated about the second axis at the same rate of rotation taught by Hinderling with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing the optical scanning device, the plurality of illumination sources, and the plurality of photosensitive detectors are rotated about the second axis at the same rate of rotation is to use the measuring instrument for optically scanning the field of view (Hinderling; [0084], [0085]).
Claim(s) 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall'983, modified in view of Hall'215, in view of Sasaki, in view of Cho, in view of Chen, in view of Tsai and further in view of Benscoter.
Regarding claim 32, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 31.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the emission of the illumination light as the series of pulses having the non-linear timing pattern yields a sinusoidal pattern of measurement points in a plane substantially parallel to a surface of the optical scanning device.
Benscoter teaches, wherein the emission of the illumination light as the series of pulses having the non-linear timing pattern yields a sinusoidal pattern of measurement points in a plane substantially parallel to a surface of the optical scanning device (Benscoter; Fig. 8, [0214], the bean scanner 810 include a feedback system 850 that tracks the actual mirror tilt angles for mirror 110; [0215], the beam scanner controller 802 incorporate with mirror motion model 808a to generate firing commands 120 for the laser source 102 that closely match up with the actual shot angle to be target with the laser pulses 122; This means the illumination light is firing with respect to the mirror tilt angles where the mirror is actuated in a sinusoidal oscillation pattern as detailed above in claim 29 which results in the illumination light having the non-linear timing pattern yields a sinusoidal pattern of measurement points).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis while the housing or assembly is rotated about the second, orthogonal axis, such that the emitted illumination light is scanned across the 3-D environment in at least two dimensions and return light from the environment is directed to the photosensitive detectors taught by Sasaki, include synchronizing the emission timing of each illumination source with the position of the oscillating scanning mirror, such that each illumination source is fired at a plurality of distinct scan positions and multiple spatially unique measurement points per channel are generated within each collection interval, thereby achieving a spatial sampling density that is greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per collection interval taught by Cho, include wherein the optical scanning device is configured to be oscillated according to an oscillation pattern during each collection window taught by Chen and include wherein emitting illumination light from the plurality of illumination sources includes emitting a series of pulses having a non-linear timing pattern during each collection window taught by Tsai and include wherein the emission of the illumination light as the series of pulses having the non-linear timing pattern yields a sinusoidal pattern of measurement points in a plane substantially parallel to a surface of the optical scanning device taught by Benscoter with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the emission of the illumination light as the series of pulses having the non-linear timing pattern yields a sinusoidal pattern of measurement points in a plane substantially parallel to a surface of the optical scanning device is such that allows the beam scanner controller to generate firing commands for the laser source that closely match up with the actual shot angles to be targeted with the laser pulses (Benscoter; Fig. 8, [0214], [0215]). This means the illumination light is firing with respect to the mirror tilt angles where the mirror is actuated in a sinusoidal oscillation pattern (in two axis) as detailed above in claim 29 which results in the illumination light having the non-linear timing pattern yields a sinusoidal pattern of measurement points. Furthermore, because the mirror is actuated in two axes in a sinusoidal oscillation pattern, the illumination light with sinusoidal pattern of measurement points will be in a plane substantially parallel to a surface of the optical scanning device.
Claim(s) 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall'983, modified in view of Hall'215, in view of Sasaki, in view of Cho, in view of Hall (US 20100302528 A1, hereinafter “Hall'528”).
Regarding claim 38, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device of claim 37.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the motor is configured to rotate the housing through at least 360 degrees about the second axis to provide panoramic scanning of the environment.
Hall'528 teaches, wherein the motor is configured to rotate the housing through at least 360 degrees about the second axis to provide panoramic scanning of the environment (Hall'528; Fig. 2, [0031], the housing is connected to a motor configured to allow the device to rotate 360 degrees about the z axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include a controller configured to, during operation, cause the motor to continuously rotate the housing about the second axis and cause the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis while the housing is being rotated and the data acquiring unit 110 acquires point clouds data and define, during the rotation of the housing, a plurality of collection intervals of data acquisition collection intervals, each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the continuous rotation of the housing taught by Sasaki, include wherein the controller is further configured to: (i) each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which a plurality of laser pulses are emitted and measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval being distinct from the mere interval between consecutive single laser pulse emissions; and (ii) during each data acquisition collection interval, control the oscillation of the scanning mirror and the emission of illumination light such that multiple unique measurement points per channel are acquired, thereby increasing the spatial sampling density relative to a single firing per collection interval taught by Cho, include wherein the motor is configured to rotate the housing through at least 360 degrees about the second axis to provide panoramic scanning of the environment taught by Hall'528 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that the housing is connected to a motor configured to allow the housing to rotate 360 degree about the Z axis. When the device rotates (with scanning device is contained within a housing), it scans across a horizontal field of view, rendering multiple pixels as it scans (Hall'528; [0007], [0031]).
Regarding claim 40, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device of claim 37.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the housing is rotated about the second axis at a rate of between 10-20 Hz.
Hall'528 teaches, wherein the housing is rotated about the second axis at a rate of between 10-20 Hz (Hall'528; [0032], in a preferred example, the housing rotates at a rate of up to 900 revolutions per minute (15 Hz), with all lasers and detectors mechanically linked and set at a fixed angle with respect to the Z axis. In other versions, the housing may rotate at a faster or slower rate, as desired. The data sampling rate (number of data points received per second) is preferably constant and independent of the rate of rotation, although it may be adjusted as a function of the rate of rotation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include a controller configured to, during operation, cause the motor to continuously rotate the housing about the second axis and cause the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis while the housing is being rotated and the data acquiring unit 110 acquires point clouds data and define, during the rotation of the housing, a plurality of collection intervals of data acquisition collection intervals, each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the continuous rotation of the housing taught by Sasaki, include wherein the controller is further configured to: (i) each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which a plurality of laser pulses are emitted and measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval being distinct from the mere interval between consecutive single laser pulse emissions; and (ii) during each data acquisition collection interval, control the oscillation of the scanning mirror and the emission of illumination light such that multiple unique measurement points per channel are acquired, thereby increasing the spatial sampling density relative to a single firing per collection interval taught by Cho, include wherein the housing is rotated about the second axis at a rate of between 10-20 Hz taught by Hall'528 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to set up the desired housing rotate rate such as 15 Hz for different scanning requirement, furthermore, the data sampling rate is preferably constant and independent of the rate of rotation, although it may be adjusted as a function of the rate of rotation (Hall'528; [0032]).
Claim(s) 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall'983, modified in view of Hall'215, in view of Sasaki, in view of Cho, in view of Hall'528, in view of Nicolaescu.
Regarding claim 41, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device of claim 40.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the scanning mirror is configured to oscillate at a frequency between approximately 18 kHz and approximately 22 kHz.
Nicolaescu teaches, wherein the scanning mirror is configured to oscillate at a frequency between approximately 18 kHz and approximately 22 kHz (Nicolaescu; [0108], a rastering pattern can be used in which the horizontal axis can be driven at resonance at high frequency (such as 10-30 kHz) while the vertical axis can be driven in a low frequency (50-100Hz) for desired frame rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include a controller configured to, during operation, cause the motor to continuously rotate the housing about the second axis and cause the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis while the housing is being rotated and the data acquiring unit 110 acquires point clouds data and define, during the rotation of the housing, a plurality of collection intervals of data acquisition collection intervals, each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the continuous rotation of the housing taught by Sasaki, include wherein the controller is further configured to: (i) each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which a plurality of laser pulses are emitted and measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval being distinct from the mere interval between consecutive single laser pulse emissions; and (ii) during each data acquisition collection interval, control the oscillation of the scanning mirror and the emission of illumination light such that multiple unique measurement points per channel are acquired, thereby increasing the spatial sampling density relative to a single firing per collection interval taught by Cho, include wherein the housing is rotated about the second axis at a rate of between 10-20 Hz taught by Hall'528 and include wherein the scanning mirror is oscillated about the first axis with an oscillation rate between approximately 18 kHz and approximately 22 kHz taught by Nicolaescu with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein the optical scanning device is oscillated about the first axis with an oscillation rate between approximately 18 kHz and approximately 22 kHz is to use high frequency (horizontal axis) and low frequency (vertical axis) of a rastering pattern for a desired frame rate (Nicolaescu; [0108]).
Claim(s) 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall'983, modified in view of Hall'215, in view of Sasaki, in view of Cho, in view of Solomentsev et al. (US 20220113429 A1, hereinafter “Solomentsev”).
Regarding claim 44, Hall'983 as modified above teaches the LIDAR device of claim 37.
Hall'983 does not teach, wherein the spatial sampling density achieved by the device is at least an order of magnitude greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per rotational increment of the housing.
Solomentsev teaches, wherein the spatial sampling density achieved by the device is at least an order of magnitude greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per rotational increment of the housing (Solomentsev; Fig. 7, [0057], illustration of propagating beams from the scanner units of Fig. 4 or Fig. 5 in a field of view; This implies that each horizontal position has at least 12 laser beams, predictably the spatial sampling density will achieved at least an order of magnitude greater than that of the laser only firing once per rotation increment of the housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the LIDAR device taught by Hall'983 to include housing with plurality of illumination sources, the plurality of photosensitive detectors, and the scanning mirror are disposed on it and rotates about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis taught by Hall'215, include a controller configured to, during operation, cause the motor to continuously rotate the housing about the second axis and cause the scanning mirror to oscillate about the first axis while the housing is being rotated and the data acquiring unit 110 acquires point clouds data and define, during the rotation of the housing, a plurality of collection intervals of data acquisition collection intervals, each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval corresponding to a defined angular or temporal segment of the continuous rotation of the housing taught by Sasaki, include wherein the controller is further configured to: (i) each data acquisition collection interval comprising a window during which a plurality of laser pulses are emitted and measurements are acquired, each data acquisition collection interval being distinct from the mere interval between consecutive single laser pulse emissions; and (ii) during each data acquisition collection interval, control the oscillation of the scanning mirror and the emission of illumination light such that multiple unique measurement points per channel are acquired, thereby increasing the spatial sampling density relative to a single firing per collection interval taught by Cho, include wherein the spatial sampling density achieved by the device is at least an order of magnitude greater than would be achieved by firing each illumination source only once per rotational increment of the housing taught by Solomentsev with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to vertically fire at least 12 laser beams at each horizontal position to expand the vertical scanning data point (Solomentsev; Fig. 7, [0057]), predictably the spatial sampling density will achieve at least an order of magnitude greater than that of the laser only firing once per rotation increment of the housing.
Conclusion
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645