DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 14, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,414,089 to McMonigle et al. (McMonigle).
As to claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 18 and 19, McMonigle teaches an electrolyzer comprising a solid non-melting horizontal cathode (cathode (138) and cathode top side of bipolar intermediate electrode (140)) comprising a reservoir onto which an electrolytic slurry, electrolyte, may be emplaced for electrolysis, the reservoir formed by vertical containing surfaces (perimeter walls), a horizontal anode (anode (142) and bottom side of bipolar intermediate electrode (140)) suspended above the horizontal cathode for physically engaging the electrolytic slurry for electrolysis; and a removing mechanism (overflow configuration) for removing from the horizontal cathode reservoir the end product resulting from electrolysis (Column 4, Lines 63-68; Column 5, Line 59 to Column 6, Line 12; Column 6, Line 60 to Column 7, Line 25; Figures 2 and 3).
As to claims 14 and 20, McMonigle teaches the apparatus of claims 10 and 18. McMonigle further teaches that the horizontal anode surface (anode (142) and bottom side of bipolar intermediate electrode (140)) comprises a plurality of vents (gas channels (176)) for passing gaseous compounds resulting from electrolysis (Column 7, Lines 26-48; Figure 3).
Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 11, 15, 17, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3,554,893 to Varda (Varda).
As to claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 18 and 19, Varda teaches an electrolyzer comprising a solid non-melting horizontal cathode (top of bipolar tray (8)) comprising a reservoir onto which an electrolytic slurry, electrolyte, may be emplaced for electrolysis, the reservoir formed by vertical containing surfaces (turned up borders), a horizontal anode (bottom of bipolar tray (7)) suspended above the horizontal cathode for physically engaging the electrolytic slurry for electrolysis; and a removing mechanism (overflow over turned up borders through holes (22 and 23) to tapping chamber (IV)) for removing from the horizontal cathode reservoir the end product resulting from electrolysis (Column 2, Lines 22-33; Column 5, Lines 6-12; Column 6, Line 75 to Column 7, Line 20; Figure 1).
As to claims 9 and 17, Varda teaches the apparatus of claims 1 and 10. Varda further teaches that the apparatus comprises a slurry line (through holes (21)) for, indirectly, placing the electrolytic slurry, electrolyte, onto the horizontal cathode (Column 6, Lines 48 to 74; Figure 6).
As to claim 15, Varda teaches the apparatus of claim 10. Varda further teaches that the horizontal anode surface (bottom of bipolar tray (7)) is parallel to the horizontal cathode surface (top of adjacent bipolar tray (8)) and 50 mm above (Column 5, Lines 6-12; Column 8, Lines 16-18; Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMonigle as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 4,416,746 to Kerby et al (Kerby).
As to claim 16, McMonigle teaches the apparatus of claim 10. McMonigle teaches that the apparatus comprises a power supply (Column 5, Lines 20-25). However, McMonigle fails to teach the specific power source or that the apparatus further comprises a power controller for controlling the current during electrolysis at one or more levels at one or more time periods. However, Kerby also discusses the electrolytic bipolar refining of lead (as in McMonigle) and teaches that the an effective power supply is a direct current supply that further comprises a power controller (programmer) for controlling the current during electrolysis at a variety of levels for time periods throughout the electrolysis in order to ensure stability and keep impurity content low (Column 5, Lines 3-25 and Line 55 to 62). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize a DC power source in communication with a power controller in the apparatus of McMonigle in order to control the current and ensure stability while keeping impurity content low as taught by Kerby.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is the inclusion of the gate forming part of the removing mechanism, in the electrolyzer as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794