DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
This Action is Non-Final.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 16/855,724, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The ‘724 Application generally discusses vulnerabilities and cyber-physical graphs but fails to disclose the details presented in each independent claim with respect to privilege levels and privilege escalation. As such, the earliest effective filing date is the filing date of the present application: 31 December 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 December 2021 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11-13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govindavajhala et al. (US 20090271863) in view of Morgan (US 20220191230).
As per claims 1 and 11, Govindavajhala et al. teaches a method and system for determining privilege escalation attack pathways, comprising: a computing device comprising a memory and a processor; a cyber-physical graph engine comprising a first plurality of programming instructions stored in the memory of, and operating on the processor of, the computing device, wherein the first plurality of programming instructions, when operating on the processor (see paragraph [0421]), cause the computing device to: search one or more databases to identify information about one or more vulnerabilities of each software application residing on the computing device (see paragraphs [0027] and [0378] where vulnerabilities are determined which can be found, i.e. searched for, in vulnerability databases);
wherein the information comprises the level of privilege needed to execute the one or more vulnerabilities, and new vulnerabilities and privilege levels made possible by the successful execution of the one or more vulnerabilities (see paragraphs [0047]-[0050] where privileges of starting points and escalated privileges are determined); and
construct a cyber-physical graph of privilege escalation attack pathways, the cyber-physical graph comprising nodes representing each software application and its vulnerability information, and edges representing the relationships between the nodes (see paragraphs [0047]-[0050] and Fig. 7 where the graph is displayed).
While Govindavajhala et al. generally discloses the detection of privilege escalation attack pathways, there lacks an explicit teaching of a scoring engine comprising a second plurality of programming instructions stored in the memory of, and operating on the processor of, the computing device, wherein the second plurality of programming instructions, when operating on the processor, cause the computing device to: run one or more graph-processing algorithms on the cyber-physical graph to identify one or more privilege escalation attack pathways and a probability of occurrence for each path; and generate a cybersecurity score for each privilege escalation attack pathway based on the probability of occurrence for each path.
However, Morgan teaches to search one or more databases to identify information about one or more vulnerabilities of each software application residing on the computing device (see paragraphs [0020]-[0021] and [0035]); construct a cyber-physical graph of privilege escalation attack pathways, the cyber-physical graph comprising nodes representing each software application and its vulnerability information, and edges representing the relationships between the nodes (see paragraphs [0064]-[0070]) and a scoring engine comprising a second plurality of programming instructions stored in the memory of, and operating on the processor of, the computing device, wherein the second plurality of programming instructions, when operating on the processor, cause the computing device to: run one or more graph-processing algorithms on the cyber-physical graph to identify one or more privilege escalation attack pathways and a probability of occurrence for each path; and generate a cybersecurity score for each privilege escalation attack pathway based on the probability of occurrence for each path (see paragraphs [0079]-[0093]).
At a time before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the graph processing of Morgan in the Govindavajhala et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to prioritize vulnerabilities with higher risks.
As per claims 2 and 12, the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system discloses privilege levels are access levels of a network (see Morgan paragraph [0081]).
As per claims 3 and 13, the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system discloses privilege levels are access levels of an operating system (see Govindavajhala et al. paragraphs [0088]-[0096]).
As per claims 5 and 15, the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system discloses privilege levels are access levels in a domain (see Govindavajhala et al. paragraph [0150]).
As per claims 6 and 16, the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system discloses the edges are weighted, directional, length contracted, or some combination thereof to represent aspects of the vulnerability information (see Morgan paragraphs [0079]-[0081] and [0086]-[0087]).
As per claims 7 and 17, the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system fails to explicitly disclose the cybersecurity score accounts for financial risk associated with each privilege escalation attack pathway. However, Official Notice is taken that at a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to include financial risk in the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system to prioritize vulnerabilities that will cause the most financial damager thereby saving money.
As per claims 9 and 19, the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system discloses the cybersecurity score accounts for cybersecurity scores of other network-connected computing devices (see Morgan paragraphs [0064]-[0070] where the attacking entity can find multiple paths through the network to reach the asset).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Bybell et al. (US 20120151185).
As per claims 4 and 14, the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system fails to explicitly disclose privilege levels are access levels of a processor architecture.
However, Bybell et al. teaches the use of privilege levels for a processor architecture (see paragraphs [0043]-[0044]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include access levels of a processor architecture in the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to add an additional vulnerability check thereby making the system more robust.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Siva Kumar et al. (US 20160088000).
As per claims 8 and 18, the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system discloses the use of configurations as part of the score, but fails to explicitly disclose the cybersecurity score accounts for directory services configurations.
However, Siva Kumar et al. teaches the use of directory service accounts as part of privilege escalation detection (see paragraph [0077]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include service directory configurations in score of the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to ensure the directory services are properly protected against attacks thereby improving the security of the system.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Colyandro, JR. (US 20220263850).
As per claims 10 and 20, the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system discloses the a network-side cyber-physical graph, but fails to explicitly disclose a network-wide cyber-physical graph is created from a plurality of individual computing device cyber-physical graphs.
However, Colyandro, JR. teaches a network-wide cyber-physical graph is created from a plurality of individual computing device cyber-physical graphs (see paragraphs [0020]-[0021]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to create a network-wide graph based on individual graphs in the modified Govindavajhala et al. and Morgan system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to include as much detail as possible for the graphs thereby increasing the detection of attack pathways.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,218,510. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘510 claims contain each limitation of the pending claims with the exception of the privilege escalation aspects. However, as put forth above, these limitations are obvious in view of Govindavajhala et al., Morgan, Bybell et al., Kumar et al., and/or Colyandro, JR. and as such the ‘510 claims are obvious variants of the currently pending claims. Where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the details of Govindavajhala et al., Morgan, Bybell et al., Kumar et al., and/or Colyandro, JR. in order for the system to detect specific privilege escalation attacks which thereby enhances the protection of the ‘510 claims.
Claims 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 17/539,127 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘127 claims contain each limitation of the pending claims with the exception of the privilege escalation aspects. However, as put forth above, these limitations are obvious in view of Govindavajhala et al., Morgan, Bybell et al., Kumar et al., and/or Colyandro, JR. and as such the ‘127 claims are obvious variants of the currently pending claims. Where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the details of Govindavajhala et al., Morgan, Bybell et al., Kumar et al., and/or Colyandro, JR. in order for the system to detect specific privilege escalation attacks which thereby enhances the protection of the ‘127 claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining references put forth on the PTO-892 form are directed towards privilege escalation attacks.
/Michael Pyzocha/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409