DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Summary
This Office Correspondence is based on the Response filed with the Office on 26 January 2026, regarding the LaTour, et al. application.
Claims 1-36 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 16, 18, 20, 21, 29, 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a US Patent Application Publication to Feldman, et al. (US 2007/0193019 A1; hereinafter, “Feldman”) in view of any of US Patent Application Publication to Taub (US 2008/0319294 A1; hereinafter, “Taub”), US Patent Application Publication to Russell, et al. (US 2004/0138543 A1; hereinafter, “Russell”), and US Patent to Guo, et al. (US 5,695,947; hereinafter, “Guo”).
Regarding claim 1, Feldman discloses a sensor utilizing a non-leachable or diffusible redox mediator (Abstract; which reads upon the instantly claimed, “[a]n analyte sensor”). Feldman teaches the sensor also includes a nonleachable redox mediator on the working electrode of at least one of the electrode pairs ([0011]; which reads on “a sensor tail comprising at least a first working electrode”). Feldman teaches the redox mediator can be immobilized by covalent attachment of the redox mediator to a polymer on the working electrode ([0153]; reading on “wherein the first active area comprises a first polymer, a first redox mediator covalently bounded to the first polymer”). Feldman also teaches a suitable second electron transfer agent is an enzyme which catalyzes a reaction of the analyte ([0166]; reading on “at least one enzyme responsive to the first analyte”). The Feldman reference teaches a redox mediator including osmium or ruthenium transitional metal complexes with one or more ligands, each ligand having one or more nitrogen-containing heterocycles ([0122]), wherein the structure of the ligands may be derivatives for pyridine including 2,6-bis(2-imidazolyl)pyridine ([0137]), which is the ligand of instant claim 1. Feldman additionally teaches the transition metal complexes may have vinyl functional groups through which the complexes can be co-polymerized ([0155]), wherein is taught such vinyl functional groups can be pendent from a pyridine ring (R13), as shown in structure XIV ([0140]; reading on “wherein the linking group covalently bonds the first redox mediator to the first polymer”).
Feldman does not explicitly teach a mass transport limiting membrane comprising any of the claimed polymers.
However, Taub discloses analyte monitoring devices and systems that include an analyte sensor ([0018]), wherein is taught a mass transport limiting layer is a membrane composed of crosslinked polymers containing heterocyclic nitrogen groups, such as polymers of polyvinylpyridine and polyvinylimidazole, and embodiments also include membranes that are made of a polyurethane, or polyether urethane, or chemically related material, or membranes that are made of silicone, and the like.
At the time of the filing of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the mass transport limiting layer of Taub into the sensor disclosed by Feldman because the mass transport limiting layer act as a diffusion-limiting barrier to reduce the rate of mass transport of the analyte into the region around the working electrode (Taub, [0059]).
Regarding claim 3, Feldman teaches glucose determination (Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Feldman does not explicitly teach a mass transport limiting membrane comprising any of the claimed polymers.
However, Taub discloses analyte monitoring devices and systems that include an analyte sensor ([0018]), wherein is taught a mass transport limiting layer is a membrane composed of crosslinked polymers containing heterocyclic nitrogen groups, such as polymers of polyvinylpyridine and polyvinylimidazole, and embodiments also include membranes that are made of a polyurethane, or polyether urethane, or chemically related material, or membranes that are made of silicone, and the like.
At the time of the filing of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the mass transport limiting layer of Taub into the sensor disclosed by Feldman because the mass transport limiting layer act as a diffusion-limiting barrier to reduce the rate of mass transport of the analyte into the region around the working electrode (Taub, [0059]).
Regarding claim 6, Feldman does not explicitly teach the first active area comprises a cofactor.
However, Russell discloses a method of measuring an analyte concentration in body fluid (Abstract), wherein is taught an analyte sensing element including enzyme and enzyme cofactor are mixed into the layer that includes a conductive, redox mediating polymer ([0012]).
At the time of the filing of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the enzyme cofactor analyte sensing layer into the invention of Feldman as the cofactor allow the enzymatic reaction for sensing to occur.
Feldman does not explicitly teach the claimed first active area comprises a stabilizing agent.
However, Guo discloses a sensor of amperometric assay (Abstract), wherein is taught a reagent strip is a porous or fibrous carrier, typically a paper, impregnated with a mixture containing the second redox mediator, enzymes, at least one surfactant and at least one stabilizer comprising an aqueous thickening agent (Abstract).
At the time of the filing of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the stabilizer into the invention of Feldman as it allows thickening or gelling to retain the enzyme in place on the sensor (Col. 6, line 15-18).
Regarding claim 8, Feldman teaches osmium ([0122]).
Regarding claims 16, the combination of Feldman and Taub teaches the shared limitations with instant claim 1, as outlined above. Feldman additionally teaches sensor is operated at an applied potential of no more than about +100 mV, +50 mV, +25 mV, 0 mV, -25 mV, -50 mV, -100 m V, or -150 m V between the working electrode and the counter or counter/reference electrode ([0109]). Feldman also teaches reactions are transduced to an electrical signal that can be correlated to an amount or concentration of analyte (Abstract).
Regarding claim 18, Feldman teaches glucose determination (Abstract).
Regarding claim 20, Feldman does not explicitly teach a mass transport limiting membrane comprising any of the claimed polymers.
However, Taub discloses analyte monitoring devices and systems that include an analyte sensor ([0018]), wherein is taught a mass transport limiting layer is a membrane composed of crosslinked polymers containing heterocyclic nitrogen groups, such as polymers of polyvinylpyridine and polyvinylimidazole, and embodiments also include membranes that are made of a polyurethane, or polyether urethane, or chemically related material, or membranes that are made of silicone, and the like.
At the time of the filing of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the mass transport limiting layer of Taub into the sensor disclosed by Feldman because the mass transport limiting layer act as a diffusion-limiting barrier to reduce the rate of mass transport of the analyte into the region around the working electrode (Taub, [0059]).
Regarding claim 21, Feldman does not explicitly teach the first active area comprises a cofactor.
However, Russell discloses a method of measuring an analyte concentration in body fluid (Abstract), wherein is taught an analyte sensing element including enzyme and enzyme cofactor are mixed into the layer that includes a conductive, redox mediating polymer ([0012]).
At the time of the filing of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the enzyme cofactor analyte sensing layer into the invention of Feldman as the cofactor allow the enzymatic reaction for sensing to occur.
Feldman does not explicitly teach the claimed first active area comprises a stabilizing agent.
However, Guo discloses a sensor of amperometric assay (Abstract), wherein is taught a reagent strip is a porous or fibrous carrier, typically a paper, impregnated with a mixture containing the second redox mediator, enzymes, at least one surfactant and at least one stabilizer comprising an aqueous thickening agent (Abstract).
At the time of the filing of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the stabilizer into the invention of Feldman as it allows thickening or gelling to retain the enzyme in place on the sensor (Col. 6, line 15-18).
Regarding claim 35, Feldman does not explicitly teach a mass transport limiting membrane comprising any of the claimed polymers.
However, Taub discloses analyte monitoring devices and systems that include an analyte sensor ([0018]), wherein is taught a mass transport limiting layer is a membrane composed of crosslinked polymers containing heterocyclic nitrogen groups, such as polymers of polyvinylpyridine and polyvinylimidazole, and embodiments also include membranes that are made of a polyurethane, or polyether urethane, or chemically related material, or membranes that are made of silicone, and the like.
At the time of the filing of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the mass transport limiting layer of Taub into the sensor disclosed by Feldman because the mass transport limiting layer act as a diffusion-limiting barrier to reduce the rate of mass transport of the analyte into the region around the working electrode (Taub, [0059]).
Regarding claim 36, Feldman does not explicitly teach a mass transport limiting membrane comprising any of the claimed polymers.
However, Taub discloses analyte monitoring devices and systems that include an analyte sensor ([0018]), wherein is taught a mass transport limiting layer is a membrane composed of crosslinked polymers containing heterocyclic nitrogen groups, such as polymers of polyvinylpyridine and polyvinylimidazole, and embodiments also include membranes that are made of a polyurethane, or polyether urethane, or chemically related material, or membranes that are made of silicone, and the like.
At the time of the filing of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the mass transport limiting layer of Taub into the sensor disclosed by Feldman because the mass transport limiting layer act as a diffusion-limiting barrier to reduce the rate of mass transport of the analyte into the region around the working electrode (Taub, [0059]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 7, 9-15, 17, 19, and 22-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Feldman reference is considered the closest prior art reference to the indicated claims. However, Feldman does not anticipate nor render obvious the limitations of the instant indicated claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 January 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While the Applicant has correctly pointed out the difference between the Feldman structures IV & V with the claimed chemical structure, Feldman is shown to teach an osmium complex with ligands that may be 2,6-bis(2-imidazolyl)pyridine, which is the claimed ligand of claims 1 and 16. Therefore, the prior art renders obvious the limitations of the indicated claims.
Interview with the Examiner
If at any point during the prosecution it is believe an interview with the Examiner would further the prosecution of an application, please consider this option.
The Automated Interview Request form (AIR) is available to request an interview to be scheduled with the Examiner. First, an authorization for internet communications regarding the case should be filed prior or with an AIR online request.
The internet communication authorization form (SB/0439), which authorizes or withdraws authorization for internet-based communication (e.g., video conferencing, email, etc.) for the application must be signed by the applicant or the attorney/agent for applicant. The form can be found at:
https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf
The AIR form can be filled out online, and is automatically forwarded to the Examiner, who will call to confirm a requested time and date, or set up a mutually convenient time for the interview. The form can be found at:
https://www.uspto.gov/patent/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.html
The Examiner encourages, but does not require, interviews by the USPTO Microsoft Teams video conferencing. This system allows for file-sharing along audio conferencing. Microsoft Teams can be used as an internet browser add-on in Microsoft IE, Google Chrome, or Mozilla Foxfire, or as a temporary Java-based application on these browsers. Steps for joining an Examiner setup Microsoft Teams can be found at the USPTO website:
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/interview-practice#step3
Additionally, a blank email to the Examiner at the time of a telephonic interview can be used for a reply to easily allow for Microsoft Teams communication. Please note, policy guidelines regarding Internet communications are detailed at MPEP §500-502.3, and office policy regarding interviews are detailed at MPEP §713.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J. Christopher Ball/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795