DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments received on April 28, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently, claims 1 and 13 are amended; claims 2, 7, 14, and 19 are cancelled; and claims 21-24 are new; resulting in claims 1, 3-6, 8-13, 15-18, and 20-24 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 23-24, the limitation requiring that “the second current rating is lower than the first current rating” is new matter that is not supported by the original specification. In looking to the instant specification, paragraph [0025] discloses that the fusing between cells and the fusing to the battery management system have different current ratings, however, the instant specification does not disclose that the current rating of the fusing to the battery management system is lower than the current rating of the fusing between cells. In the remarks filed April 28, 2026, the Applicant points to originally filed drawings 3 and 4 for support, indicating that the fusing (125) is thinner than the fusing (115), supporting that the current rating for the fusing (125) is lower. While it is acknowledged that the fusing (125) is shown as being thinner than fusing (115) in these drawings, there are other factors that contribute to the current rating. As disclosed in US Patent Application 2017/0077487, incorporated by reference into the instant application, the material selected and the cross-sectional area (including both thickness and width) of the fusible link impact the current rating (¶ [0112], Ln. 18-21, ¶ [0127], Ln. 1-15). As the drawings indicate a 2-dimensional representation of the fuses, and the instant specification does not provide additional information of the cross-sectional area or the materials selected, it cannot be determined that the current rating for fusing (125) is lower than the current rating for fusing (115) from drawings 3 and 4 alone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 10, 13, 15-16, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ng, et al. (US 2017/0012331 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 10, 13, and 24, Ng teaches a battery system including batteries (energy cells) and a battery management system (control and communications module) (Fig. 12). The batteries are arranged in a battery assembly (1000; energy module) which is enclosed in a housing (1010; support module to physically support the energy module) (¶ [0068], Ln. 1-2). Current from the batteries is collected by a power collector (¶ [0065], Ln. 7-9), allowing the battery system to supply power to loads or electrical devices (power coupling module coupled to energy module to accomplish input or output of electric power) (¶ [0082], Ln. 1-2). As shown in Figure 10B, a plurality of batteries are positioned between a top cover and bottom cover of the housing, each having a first terminal (1015A) and second terminal (1015B) (¶ [69], Ln. 1-5). Ng teaches that the plurality of batteries are individually fused (power pack fusing) and interconnected through a deformable conductive structure (¶ [0025], Ln. 1-6). The conductive structure includes conductive sheets (630) electrically connected to printed circuit boards (620) with elastomeric pads (640; insulator) in between and pushed against the conductive sheets (laminated with an insulator), forming the flexible interconnect circuit (Fig. 6; ¶ [0025], Ln. 3-6, [0026], Ln. 1-3). The fuses (1155) connect battery terminal contacts to a conductive line (1165), and break when the current from a battery exceeds the current carrying capacity of its fuse, with the example of 15 ampere (first current rating) provided (Fig. 11; ¶ [0076], Ln. 15-26). Ng teaches that the BMS communicates with a voltage detector and temperature detector (¶ [0081], Ln. 5-6). The voltages of each row of batteries are measured by the voltage detector, and fuses (1166) connect the cell terminals to the voltage detector by way of the conductive lines (1165). The row fuses (1166) break when the current from a row of batteries exceeds the current carrying capacity of its fuse, with the example of 1 ampere (second current rating) provided (¶ [0077], Ln. 1-10). Thus, the fuses (1155; power pack fusing) and row fuses (1166; sense line fusing) have different current ratings wherein the second current rating is lower than the first current rating.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Ng teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 13 above and further teaches that the row fuses (1166; sense line fusing) are connected to the conductive lines (1165), which also connect to the fuses (1155; power pack fusing) (Fig. 11; ¶ [0077], Ln. 1-6). Thus, the row fuses (1166; sense line fusing) are connected to the fuses (1155; power pack fusing) and terminal contacts.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Ng teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 13 above and further teaches that the conductive structure includes conductive sheets, which have material removed from the sheets (through-holes) to generate a plurality of conductive contacts which engage the terminals of the batteries (¶ [0026], Ln. 8-11, ¶ [0027], Ln. 1-10).
Regarding claims 21-23, Ng teaches a battery system including batteries (energy cells) and a battery management system (Fig. 12). The batteries are arranged in a battery assembly (1000) (¶ [0068], Ln. 1-2). Ng teaches that the plurality of batteries are individually fused (power pack fusing) and interconnected through a deformable conductive structure (configured to provide single contacts to energy cell connections and power pack fusing) (¶ [0025], Ln. 1-6). The conductive structure includes conductive sheets (630) electrically connected to printed circuit boards (620) with elastomeric pads (640; insulator) in between and pushed against the conductive sheets (laminated with an insulator), forming the flexible interconnect circuit (Fig. 6; ¶ [0025], Ln. 3-6, [0026], Ln. 1-3). The fuses (1155) connect battery terminal contacts to a conductive line (1165), and break when the current from a battery exceeds the current carrying capacity of its fuse, with the example of 15 ampere (first current rating) provided (Fig. 11; ¶ [0076], Ln. 15-26). Ng teaches that the BMS communicates with a voltage detector and temperature detector (¶ [0081], Ln. 5-6). The voltages of each row of batteries are measured by the voltage detector and fuses (1166) connect the cell terminals to the voltage detector by way of the conductive lines (1165). The row fuses (1166) break when the current from a row of batteries exceeds the current carrying capacity of its fuse, with the example of 1 ampere (second current rating) provided (¶ [0077], Ln. 1-10). Thus, the fuses (1155; power pack fusing) and row fuses (1166; sense line fusing) have different current ratings wherein the second current rating is lower than the first current rating. As each battery includes a terminal which is connected to the conductive line (1165) via its fuse (¶ [0076], Ln. 5-8, 20-22), each battery includes a contact configured to include a voltage tap associated with the voltage monitor in order to monitor the voltage at each battery. Thus, the contact meets the intended use limitation of the claim. Current from the batteries is collected by a power collector (¶ [0065], Ln. 7-9), allowing the battery system to supply power to loads or electrical devices (collect or distribute electric power) (¶ [0082], Ln. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9, 11-12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng, et al. (US 2017/0012331 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 13 above.
Regarding claims 8-9 and 20, Ng teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 13 above, including that the voltages of each row of batteries are measured by the voltage detector and fuses (1166) connect the cell terminals to the voltage detector by way of the conductive lines (1165). The row fuses (1166) break when the current from a row of batteries exceeds the current carrying capacity of its fuse, electrically disconnecting or isolating the batteries in that row from the voltage detector (¶ [0077], Ln. 1-10). Ng does not expressly teach that each battery includes a voltage tap with fusing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery system of Ng such that voltage is monitored at each battery rather than each row of batteries. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as Ng teaches the voltage of each row of batteries that are connected in parallel is measured by a voltage detector, the voltage of each individual battery could also be measured by the voltage detector. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to make this modification as the system for measuring voltage is already taught in the reference. One would be motivated to measure the voltage at each battery in order to minimize batteries that are isolated from the system in the case that the fuse breaks. When monitoring the row as a whole, the entire row is isolated in the case that the fuse breaks, however, if monitoring each battery, the amount of batteries isolated would be minimized.
Regarding claims 11-12, Ng teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the system provides power for portable devices (¶ [0003], Ln. 1-3). Ng does not expressly teach that the system can be used to connect fuel cells or capacitors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Ng to connect fuel cells or capacitors instead of batteries. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the system of Ng is used for the purpose of providing power to portable devices. Thus, one would find it obvious to apply the structure of the system including the conductive structure to connect cells other than battery cells, with the purpose of providing power to portable devices, such as fuel cells and capacitors. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the system could be applied to other energy cells with reasonable expectation of success. Additionally, one would be motivated to apply the structure of the system of Ng to a system including fuel cells or capacitors in order to connect adjacent energy cells and monitor the cells, with the capability of isolating individual cells in the case a current rating is exceeded.
Claims 5-6 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng, et al. (US 2017/0012331 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, in view of Crowley, et al. (US 2022/0255194 A1).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 17-18, Ng teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 13 above and further teaches that the conductive structure includes conductive sheets, which have material removed from the sheets (through-holes) to generate a plurality of conductive contacts which engage the terminals of the batteries (¶ [0026], Ln. 8-11, ¶ [0027], Ln. 1-10). Ng does not expressly teach bolting or fastening the conductive contacts to the battery terminals with threaded connectors.
Crowley teaches an electronic assembly including an electronics board (flexible interconnect circuit) adapted to span between terminals of energy storage units (energy cells). The electronic board (flexible interconnect circuit) includes terminal coupling regions, which are the primary path of electrical current between the electronics board and the unit terminals, and at least one circuit region, which includes a first conductive layer and a second non-conductive layer (insulating layer) (¶ [0008], Ln. 1-12). The terminal coupling regions further comprise temperature and voltage sensors (sense line connections) (¶ [0029]-[0030]). To fasten the electronics assembly to one or more battery cell units, the terminal coupling region of the electronic board includes an aperture (through-hole) to allow pass-through of a fastener such as a bolt, nut, and/or washer (fastening with threaded connectors). Crowley teaches that the conductive fastener is able to carry current between the electronic assembly and the one or more battery cell units (¶ [0174], Ln. 1-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the conductive structure of Ng to include threaded fasteners such as bolts to connect the battery terminals to the conductive structure as taught by Crowley. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to connect the conductive structure to the battery assembly and allow current to carry between the two.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
In light of the Applicant's amendment to claim 1 to include the limitations that the second current rating is different from the first current rating, the previous rejections of claims 1, 3-4, 10-13, and 15-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Harris, et al. (US 2018/0190960) in view of Ing, et al. (US 2021/0265669 A1); claims 5-6 and 17-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Harris in view of Ing and further in view of Crowley, et al. (US 2022/0255194 A1); and claims 8-9 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Harris in view of Ing and further in view of Faltermeier, et al. (US 2021/0399386 A1) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mark Ruthkosky can be reached at (571) 272-1291.
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785