Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/04/2026 on pages 10-11 of Remarks regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-23 have been fully considered but are moot. New reference Bau has been incorporated below to teach the newly presented limitations.
CRM
Examiner is interpreting computer readable medium as non-transitory in view of paragraph [0054] of the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baughman et al. (US20200175408A1); hereinafter Baughman in view of Vila Casado et al. (US20200210810A1); hereinafter Vila Casado in view of Kontschieder et al. (Deep Neural Decision Forests); hereinafter Kontschieder in view of Alain et al. (Understanding intermediate layers using linear classifier probes); hereinafter Alain and in further view of Bau et al. (Network Dissection: Quantifying Interpretability of Deep Visual Representations); hereinafter Bau
Claim 1 is rejected over Baughman, Vila Casado, Alain, Kontschieder and Bau.
Regarding claim 1, Baughman teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors of a computer system, model data; (Baughman [0076]: “During the training, the deep learning program module 420 performs partial domain adaptation on the core deep learning model 430 by adjusting the weights used in each of the layers from their initial values (taken from the external deep learning models) (model data) to improve the recognition performance (e.g., a confidence level) of each layer.”;)
slicing, by the one or more processors of the computer system, each of the plurality of [supervised models] into individual layers of the plurality of layers (Baughman [0070]: “Still referring to step 500, in embodiments, the testing performed by the deep learning program module 420 includes feeding testing data including unseen exemplars (i.e., data/patterns not previously seen by the external deep learning models) into the layers of the external deep learning models and determining whether or not the external deep learning models are able to correctly recognize (classify) the testing data. In an example, a layer in an external deep learning model may classify images as “animals” or “not animals.”; Note: The testing and selection of individual layers is slicing.)
selecting, by the one or more processors of the computer system and [based on the feature class matrix,] for each feature class of the plurality of feature classes, an individual layer having a highest prediction accuracy for that feature class from among the individual layers of the plurality of [supervised] models; and (Baughman [0072]: “Still referring to step 510, layers in different external deep learning models may perform the same classification (e.g., “animal” or “not animal,” as in the example above). In this case, the deep learning program module 420 selects the layer that is able to correctly recognize the unseen exemplars with the highest confidence level and discards the other layers as superfluous.”)
combining, by the one or more processors of the computer system, a sequence of the selected individual layers taken from different models of the plurality of [supervised] models into a composite model [based on the calculated prediction accuracies,] (Baughman [0005]: “concatenate (combine) the selected layers from the plurality of external deep learning models to form a core deep learning model (composite model)”; and [0072]: “At step 520, the computer server 410 concatenates the selected layers to form the core deep learning model 430. In embodiments, the deep learning program module 420 concatenates the layers from the external deep learning models selected at step 510 to form the core deep learning model 430. In particular, in concatenating the selected layers to form the core deep learning model 430, the deep learning program module 420 maintains the ordering of layers from the external deep learning models and also reuses the weights from the external deep learning models.”)
Baughman does not teach training, by the one or more processors of the computer system, a plurality of supervised models using the model data, each of the plurality of supervised models including a plurality of layers [and trained to output an output class indicating detection of an overall object;]
inputting, by the one or more processors of the computer system, the individual layers of the plurality of layers into a shallow neural network to determine one or more feature classes, from a plurality of feature classes, [predicted by each of the individual layers] of each of the plurality of supervised models,
However, Vila Casado teaches training, by the one or more processors of the computer system, a plurality of supervised models using the model data, each of the plurality of supervised models including a plurality of layers [and trained to output an output class indicating detection of an overall object;] (Vila Casado [0024]: “Multiple neural net models are trained independently, such that the implemented embodiment can take advantage of model diversity, feature diversity, and team diversity. Model diversity comes from having different neural network architectures, feature diversity comes from having different types of inputs into the network (raw and expert engineered), and team diversity comes from having diverse teams that can optimize the different classifiers/networks in parallel. DLNNs 240 are trained based on raw data from labeled dataset 210, while shallow classifiers 230 are trained based on expert engineered features 220.”; The models are supervised models because they are trained on a labeled dataset.)
inputting, by the one or more processors of the computer system, the individual layers of the plurality of layers into a shallow neural network to determine one or more feature classes, from a plurality of feature classes, [predicted by each of the individual layers] of each of the plurality of supervised models; (Vila Casado [0030]: “That new set of features, which includes the concatenated layers described above, is then fed through a new classifier to form a single final classifier that uses the best parts of each input classifier.”; [0019]; “FIG. 2B is an enlarged portion of FIG. 2A that shows feature fusion 250 and fusion learning classifier 260 (shallow neural network), according to an embodiment of the present invention. The last two neuron layers from kerasNN 231 and ResNeXt 241 are horizontally concatenated. The neural layers for kerasNN 231 are batch normalized. This input layer is connected to a first hidden dense layer with a rectified linear unit (ReLU) activation function. This first hidden layer is connected to a second hidden dense layer with a ReLU activation function. The output layer is a dense layer with a softmax activation function connected to the second hidden layer.”; and [0045]: “outputs 312 from the output layer and results 314 from the last intermediate layer for each original neural network 310 for all of the training data and training truth data 320 are provided to merging neural network 330 (shallow neural network).”; Note: See Fig. 3 of Vila Casado to see that the features are processed through the Merging Neural Network to process and output the classifications;)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the concatenation of layers from a plurality of models Baughman and the supervised models of Vila Casado to improve classification accuracy (Vila Casado, [0020]). Baughman and Vila Casado are analogous art because they both concern layer selection and concatenation into a new core model.
Baughman does not appear to explicitly teach [inputting, by the one or more processors of the computer system, the individual layers of the plurality of layers into a shallow neural network to determine one or more feature classes, from a plurality of feature classes,] predicted by each of the individual layers [of each of the plurality of supervised models,]
calculating, by the one or more processors of the computer system, prediction accuracies corresponding to the one or more feature classes predicted by each of the individual layers of each [of the plurality of supervised models; and]
[selecting, by the one or more processors of the computer system and] based on the feature class matrix, [for each feature class of the plurality of feature classes, an individual layer having a highest prediction accuracy for that feature class from among the individual layers of the plurality of supervised models; and]
[combining, by the one or more processors of the computer system, a sequence of the selected individual layers taken from different models of the plurality of supervised models into a composite model] based on the calculated prediction accuracies,
However, Alain teaches [inputting, by the one or more processors of the computer system, the individual layers of the plurality of layers into a shallow neural network to determine one or more feature classes, from a plurality of feature classes,] predicted by each of the individual layers [of each of the plurality of supervised models,] (Alain [page 4, section 3.2 Linear classifier probes]: “At every layer we can take the features Hk from that layer and try to predict the correct labels y using a linear classifier parameterized as”; and [page 1, 1 Introduction]: “we take the features of each layer separately and we fit a linear classifier to predict the original classes.”)
calculating, by the one or more processors of the computer system, prediction accuracies corresponding to the one or more feature classes predicted by each of the individual layers of each [of the plurality of supervised models; and] (Alain [page 5]: “we chose to report the classification Error”; [page 4, 3.2 Linear classifier probes]: “At every layer we can take the features Hk from that layer and try to predict the correct labels y using a linear classifier parameterized as”; and [page 1, 1 Introduction]: “we take the features of each layer separately and we fit a linear classifier to predict the original classes.” Note: Alain shows prediction error, the inverse of prediction accuracy)
[selecting, by the one or more processors of the computer system and] based on the feature class matrix, [for each feature class of the plurality of feature classes, an individual layer having a highest prediction accuracy for that feature class from among the individual layers of the plurality of supervised models; and] (See Figure 4a on page 7 of Alain to see that the table shows accuracies of each of the individual layers.”)
[combining, by the one or more processors of the computer system, a sequence of the selected individual layers taken from different models of the plurality of supervised models into a composite model] based on the calculated prediction accuracies, (Alain [page 5]: “we chose to report the classification Error”; [page 4, 3.2 Linear classifier probes]: “At every layer we can take the features Hk from that layer and try to predict the correct labels y using a linear classifier parameterized as”; and [page 1, 1 Introduction]: “we take the features of each layer separately and we fit a linear classifier to predict the original classes.” Note: Alain shows prediction error, the inverse of prediction accuracy)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the concatenation of layers from a plurality of models of Baughman with the individual layers of Alain to improve test prediction error (Alain, page 6). Baughman and Alain are analogous art because they both concern evaluating individual layers of a deep neural network.
Baughman does not teach [training, by the one or more processors of the computer system, a plurality of supervised models using the model data, each of the plurality of supervised models including a plurality of layers] and trained to output an output class indicating detection of an overall object;
wherein each feature class of the plurality of feature classes corresponds to a different constituent feature that contributes to detection of the overall object and is different from the output class;
generating, by the one or more processors of the computer system, a feature class matrix that maps each of the individual layers of each of the plurality of supervised models to a respective prediction accuracy for each feature class of the plurality of feature classes;
However, Bau teaches [training, by the one or more processors of the computer system, a plurality of supervised models using the model data, each of the plurality of supervised models including a plurality of layers] and trained to output an output class indicating detection of an overall object; (Bau [page 3, 3. Experiments]: “For testing we prepare a collection of CNN models with different network architectures and supervision of primary tasks, as listed in Table 2. The network architectures include AlexNet [15], GoogLeNet [29], VGG [27], and ResNet [12] … For supervised training, the models are trained from scratch (i.e., not pretrained) on ImageNet [25], Places205 [42], and Places365 [41]. ImageNet is an object-centric data set, which contains 1.2 million images from 1000 classes.”)
wherein each feature class of the plurality of feature classes corresponds to a different constituent feature that contributes to detection of the overall object and is different from the output class; (Bau [page 2, 2.1. Broden: Broadly and Densely Labeled Dataset, Figure 5]: “To be able to ascertain alignment with both low-level concepts such as colors and higher-level concepts such as objects, we have assembled a new heterogeneous data set … The Broadly and Densely Labeled Dataset (Broden) unifies several densely labeled image data sets: ADE [43], Open-Surfaces [4], Pascal-Context [19], Pascal-Part [6], and the Describable Textures Dataset [7]. These data sets contain examples of a broad range of objects, scenes, object parts, textures, and materials in a variety of contexts. Most examples are segmented down to the pixel level except textures and scenes which are given for full-images.”; Note: objects, scenes, object parts, textures, and materials are the feature classes; and [3. Experiments]: “ImageNet is an object-centric data set, which contains 1.2 million images from 1000 classes. Places205 and Places365 are two subsets of the Places Database, which is a scene-centric data set with categories such as kitchen, living room, and coast.”)
generating, by the one or more processors of the computer system, a feature class matrix that maps each of the individual layers of each of the plurality of supervised models to a respective prediction accuracy for each feature class of the plurality of feature classes; (Bau [page 3, 2.2. Scoring Unit Interpretability]: “The proposed network dissection method evaluates every individual convolutional unit in a CNN as a solution to a binary segmentation task to every visual concept in Broden (Fig. 3) … For every input image x in the Broden dataset, the activation map Ak(x) of every internal convolutional unit k is collected … These segmentations are evaluated against every concept c in the data set by computing intersections
M
k
x
∩
L
c
x
, for every
(
k
,
c
)
pair … The value of
I
o
U
k
,
c
is the accuracy of unit k in detecting concept c; Note: The IoU accuracy score is calculated for each of the concept pairs
(
k
,
c
)
)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the concatenation of layers from a plurality of models of Baughman with the layer scoring and concept detectors of Bau to improve the discrimination ability of deep features. (Bau, page 8). Baughman and Bau are analogous art because they both concern analyzing individual layers of neural networks.
Baughman does not teach wherein a first plurality of layers of the sequence of the plurality of layers of the sequence of selected individual layers corresponds to a convolutional neural network and a second plurality of layers of the sequence of the selected individual layers corresponds to a decision tree network.
However, Kontschieder teaches wherein a first plurality of layers of the sequence of the plurality of layers of the sequence of selected individual layers corresponds to a convolutional neural network and a second plurality of layers of the sequence of the selected individual layers corresponds to a decision tree network. (Kontschieder [pages 1470-1471]: “Fig. 2 provides a schematic illustration of this idea, showing how decision nodes can be implemented by using typically available fully-connected (or inner-product) and sigmoid layers in DNN frameworks like Caffe or MatConvNet. Easy to see, the number of split nodes is determined by the number of output nodes of the preceding fully-connected layer.”; Note: See Figure 2 to see the illustration of the top being a Deep CNN (first plurality of layers) and the second plurality of layers being the decision nodes that come with the decision tree.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the concatenation of layers from a plurality of models Baughman and the convolutional decision tree structure of Kontschieder for improved prediction performance (Kontschieder, page 1472, 5.2 Improving Performance with dNDF). Baughman and Kontschieder are analogous art because they both concern learning using convolutional neural networks.
Claim 3 is rejected over Baughman, Vila Casado, Alain, Kontschieder and Bau with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Baughman teaches concatenating, by the one or more processors of the computer system, the sequence of selected individual layers (Baughman [0073]: “At step 520, the computer server 410 concatenates the selected layers to form the core deep learning model 430. In embodiments, the deep learning program module 420 concatenates the layers from the external deep learning models selected at step 510 to form the core deep learning model 430. In particular, in concatenating the selected layers to form the core deep learning model 430, the deep learning program module 420 maintains the ordering of layers from the external deep learning models and also reuses the weights from the external deep learning models.”;) in an order that begins with low level features and ends with high level features. (Baughman [0074]: “In an example, each of the external deep learning models may have three layers, including a first layer that performs coarse-grained recognition, a second layer that performs medium-grained recognition, and a third layer that performs fine-grained recognition. (sequential ordering of layers from low to high level features)”;)
Claim 4 is rejected over Baughman, Vila Casado, Alain, Kontschieder and Bau with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Baughman does not teach wherein the plurality of supervised models comprises different types of models.
However, Vila Casado teaches wherein the plurality of supervised models comprises different types of models. (Vila Casado [0024]: “DLNNs 240 are trained based on raw data from labeled dataset 210, while shallow classifiers 230 are trained based on expert engineered features 220.”; Note: Because the models are trained on labeled data, they are supervised models.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the concatenation of layers from a plurality of models Baughman and the different types of supervised models of Vila Casado to improve classification accuracy (Vila Casado, [0020]). Baughman and Vila Casado are analogous art because they both concern layer selection and concatenation into a new core model.
Claim 5 is rejected over Baughman, Vila Casado, Alain, Kontschieder and Bau with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Baughman teaches wherein an output of a first layer of the sequence of selected individual layers is not connected directly to an input of a second layer of the sequence selected individual layers during training, and (Baughman [0074]: “The deep learning program module 420 uses a first layer selected from one of the external deep learning models as a first layer in the core deep learning model 430, a second layer selected from one of the external deep learning models as a second layer in the core deep learning model 430, and a third layer selected from one of the external deep learning models as a third layer in the core deep learning model 430.”; and [0072]: “Still referring to step 510, layers in different external deep learning models may perform the same classification (e.g., “animal” or “not animal,” as in the example above). In this case, the deep learning program module 420 selects the layer that is able to correctly recognize the unseen exemplars with the highest confidence level and discards the other layers as superfluous.”)
wherein the output of the first layer is connected to the input of the second layer after the training. (Baughman [0073]: “At step 520, the computer server 410 concatenates the selected layers to form the core deep learning model 430. In embodiments, the deep learning program module 420 concatenates the layers from the external deep learning models selected at step 510 to form the core deep learning model 430. In particular, in concatenating the selected layers to form the core deep learning model 430, the deep learning program module 420 maintains the ordering of layers from the external deep learning models and also reuses the weights from the external deep learning models.”)
Claim 7 is rejected over Baughman, Vila Casado, Alain, Kontschieder and Bau with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Baughman does not teach comparing, by the one or more processors of the computer system, accuracy of the composite model relative to the accuracy of individual models of the plurality of supervised models.
However, Vila Casado teaches comparing, by the one or more processors of the computer system, accuracy of the composite model relative to the accuracy of individual models of the plurality of supervised models. (Vila Casado [0027]: “The accuracy score of DLNNs (individual models) 240 was 74.693. However, the accuracy score of fusion learning classifier 260 after feature fusion 250 (composite model) was 76.422, which was better than SLNNs 230 or DLNNs 240 alone.”;)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the concatenation of layers from a plurality of models Baughman and comparison of models of Vila Casado to improve classification accuracy (Vila Casado, [0020]). Baughman and Vila Casado are analogous art because they both concern layer selection and concatenation into a new core model.
Claim 8 is rejected over Baughman, Vila Casado, Alain, Kontschieder and Bau.
Regarding claim 8, Baughman teaches a computer system, comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more memory devices coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: (Baughman [0006]: “there is a system that includes: a hardware processor, a computer readable memory, and a computer readable storage medium associated with a computing device; program instructions to select layers from a plurality of external deep learning models; program instructions to concatenate the selected layers from the plurality of external deep learning models to form a core deep learning model;)
The remainder of claim 8 is claim 1 in the form of a computer system and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 stated above.
Dependent claim 10 is claim 3 in the form of a computer system and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3 stated above. For the rejection of the limitations specifically pertaining to the computer system of claim 8, see the rejection of claim 8 above.
Dependent claim 11 is claim 4 in the form of a computer system and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4 stated above. For the rejection of the limitations specifically pertaining to the computer system of claim 8, see the rejection of claim 8 above.
Dependent claim 12 is claim 5 in the form of a computer system and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5 stated above. For the rejection of the limitations specifically pertaining to the computer system of claim 8, see the rejection of claim 8 above.
Dependent claim 13 is claim 6 in the form of a computer system and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6 stated above. For the rejection of the limitations specifically pertaining to the computer system of claim 8, see the rejection of claim 8 above.
Dependent claim 14 is claim 7 in the form of a computer system and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7 stated above. For the rejection of the limitations specifically pertaining to the computer system of claim 8, see the rejection of claim 8 above.
Claim 15 is rejected over Baughman, Vila Casado, Alain, Kontschieder and Bau.
Regarding claim 15, Baughman teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to: (Baughman [0006]: “there is a system that includes: a hardware processor, a computer readable memory, and a computer readable storage medium associated with a computing device; program instructions to select layers from a plurality of external deep learning models; program instructions to concatenate the selected layers from the plurality of external deep learning models to form a core deep learning model;)
The remainder of claim 15 is claim 1 in the form of a non-transitory computer-readable medium and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 stated above.
Dependent claim 17 is claim 3 in the form of a non-transitory computer-readable medium and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3 stated above. For the rejection of the limitations specifically pertaining to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, see the rejection of claim 15 above.
Dependent claim 18 is claim 5 in the form of a non-transitory computer-readable medium and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5 stated above. For the rejection of the limitations specifically pertaining to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, see the rejection of claim 15 above.
Dependent claim 20 is claim 7 in the form of a non-transitory computer-readable medium and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7 stated above. For the rejection of the limitations specifically pertaining to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, see the rejection of claim 15 above.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baughman, Vila Casado, Kontschieder, Alain and Bau in view of Nagae et al. (“Automatic layer selection for transfer learning and quantitative evaluation of layer effectiveness”); hereinafter Nagae
Claim 6 is rejected over Baughman, Vila Casado, Kontschieder, Alain, Bau and Nagae with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Baughman does not teach using, by the one or more processors of the computer system, at least one transfer learning technique to determine one or more features from the individual layers to produce the output class using the composite model
However, Nagae teaches using, by the one or more processors of the computer system, at least one transfer learning technique to determine one or more features from the individual layers to produce the output class using the composite model (Nagae [page 155, section 3.2]: “We propose a method to evaluate the update layer’s effectiveness in transfer learning by quantitatively assessing how much each layer (individual layers) of the pretrained model detects common features in the source and target datasets. The pretrained model’s convolutional filter detects a specific feature from the input image and generates an activation feature map, as shown in Fig. 5. The degree of feature detection of each layer is evaluated quantitatively using the OTDD for the activation feature map of the convolutional filter of each layer of the pretrained model for the target datasets.”; and [page 154, 3.1.1.7 Ensemble]: “Among the final generation’s genotypes, the top m genotypes with the highest accuracy in the corresponding models are trained using the target datasets for five epochs, and the results are ensembled.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the concatenation of layers from a plurality of models Baughman and the layer selection based on the feature detection of Nagae to improve transfer learning performance (Nagae, page 160, 6. Conclusion, last paragraph). Baughman and Nagae are analogous art because they both concern layer selection and transfer learning.
Baughman does not appear to explicitly teach wherein an accuracy with which the composite model produces the output class is greater than an accuracy with which each of the plurality of supervised models produces the output class.
However, Vila Casado teaches wherein an accuracy with which the composite model produces the output class is greater than an accuracy with which each of the plurality of supervised models produces the output class. (Vila Casado [0029]: “The accuracy score of DLNNs 240 was 74.693. However, the accuracy score of fusion learning classifier 260 after feature fusion 250 was 76.422, which was better than SLNNs 230 or DLNNs 240 alone.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the concatenation of layers from a plurality of models Baughman and the processing of individual layers of Vila Casado to improve classification accuracy (Vila Casado, [0020]). Baughman and Vila Casado are analogous art because they both concern layer selection and concatenation into a new core model.
Dependent claim 19 is claim 6 in the form of a non-transitory computer-readable medium and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6 stated above. For the rejection of the limitations specifically pertaining to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, see the rejection of claim 15 above.
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baughman Vila Casado, Kontschieder, Alain and Bau in further view of Zagoruyko et al. (“PAYING MORE ATTENTION TO ATTENTION: IMPROVING THE PERFORMANCE OF CONVOLUTIONAL NEURAL NETWORKS VIA ATTENTION TRANSFER”); hereinafter Zagoruyko
Claim 21 is rejected over Baughman, Vila Casado, Kontschieder, Alain, Bau and Zagoruyko with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Baughman does not teach wherein the slicing is performed at each layer of the plurality of layers taking output from attention layers.
However, Zagoruyko teaches wherein the slicing is performed at each layer of the plurality of layers taking output from attention layers. (Zagoruyko [page 1, Introduction]: “we consider attention as a set of spatial maps that essentially try to encode on which spatial areas of the input the network focuses most for taking its output decision (e.g., for classifying an image), where, furthermore, these maps can be defined w.r.t. various layers of the network so that they are able to capture both low-, mid-, and high-level representation information. More specifically, in this work we define two types of spatial attention maps: activation-based and gradient-based”; and [page 4, paragraph 1]: “more, attention maps focus on different parts for different layers in the net”;)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the concatenation of layers from a plurality of models Baughman and the attention maps of Zagoruyko to effectively focus on different parts for different layers in the network (Zagoruyko, page 4, paragraph 1). Baughman and Zagoruyko are analogous art because they both concern focusing on different layers of a neural network.
Dependent claim 22 is claim 21 in the form of a computer system and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 21 stated above. For the rejection of the limitations specifically pertaining to the computer system of claim 8, see the rejection of claim 8 above.
Dependent claim 23 is claim 21 in the form of a non-transitory computer-readable medium and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 21 stated above. For the rejection of the limitations specifically pertaining to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, see the rejection of claim 15 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al., “Interpreting CNNs via Decision Trees”
Frosst et al., “Distilling a Neural Network Into a Soft Decision Tree”
/DAVID H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2147
/VIKER A LAMARDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2147