Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 16 and 21-29 are pending.
Claims 2-3, 5-8, 10-11, 13-15 and 17-20 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 16 and 21-29 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 16, 21-22, 24-25 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190364561 A1) in view of Yoshioka et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220053483 A1) and Gordaychik (Pub. No.: US 20190363843 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Xiong, Yoshioka, and Gordaychik.
In regard to Claim 1, Xiong teaches An uplink control information (UCI) Transmission method, applied to a terminal (multiplexing PUCCH(s) with different UCI types to allow alignment between gNB and UE, Para. 39, FIG. 4D) and comprising: in a case that a time-domain transmission resource (single-slot physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), Para. 30) of a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for carrying first UCI (PUCCH carrying a second UCI type using one beam or panel (beam A or panel A) in a slot, Para. 42, FIG. 4D. FIG. 4D shows a slot resource containing a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK using Panel-A) and a time-domain transmission resource (single-slot PUCCH, Para. 30) of a second PUCCH for carrying second UCI (PUCCHs carrying a first UCI type using more than beams or panels, Para. 42, FIG. 4D. FIG. 4D shows a different slot resource containing a different PUCCH carrying CSI using Panel-A) are overlapped (when PUCCHs carrying a first UCI type using more than beams or panels overlap with PUCCH carrying a second UCI type using one beam or panel (beam A or panel A), Para. 42, FIG. 4D), determining to multiplex the first UCI and the second UCI (the first and second UCI type are multiplexed, Para. 42, FIG. 4D. HARQ-ACK and CSI report are multiplexed, Para. 43, FIG. 4D) on a single PUCCH for transmission (the first and second UCI type are multiplexed on PUCCH, Para. 42, FIG. 4D. FIG. 4D shows that a slot resource containing a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK using Panel-A, is later utilized for containing the PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK + CSI using Panel-A after multiplexing), the single PUCCH being the first PUCCH (FIG. 4D shows that a slot resource containing a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK using Panel-A, is later utilized for containing the PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK + CSI using Panel-A).
Although Xiong teaches first UCI and second UCI, Xiong fails to teach first UCI with a high priority and second UCI with a low priority, and Xiong fails to teach determining a second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI based on a bit quantity of the first UCI and a bit quantity of the second UCI; wherein the determined second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI comprises a quantity of physical resource blocks (PRBs), or a quantity of symbol groups.
Yoshioka teaches first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1, Para. 100, FIG. 5) with a high priority (the priority of the UCI type may be determined in the order of HARQ-ACK>SR>first CSI>second CSI, Para. 82).
Yoshioka teaches second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2, Para. 100, FIG. 5) with a low priority (the priority of the UCI type may be determined in the order of HARQ-ACK>SR>first CSI>second CSI, Para. 82).
Yoshioka teaches determining a second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI (transmit the multiplexed UCI by using a dedicated PUCCH #3, Para. 98, FIG. 5. 4 bits in total of HARQ-ACK and SR, Para. 100, FIG. 5) based on a bit quantity of the first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1 is 3-bit data, Para. 100, FIG. 5) and a bit quantity of the second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2 is 1 bit, Para. 100, FIG. 5).
Yoshioka teaches wherein the determined second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed (multiplexed UCI by using a dedicated PUCCH #3, Para. 98, FIG. 5. 4 bits in total of HARQ-ACK and SR, Para. 100, FIG. 5) first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1 is 3-bit data, Para. 100, FIG. 5) and second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2 is 1 bit, Para. 100, FIG. 5) comprises a quantity of physical resource blocks (PRBs) (A resource block (RB) is the unit of resource allocation in the time domain and the frequency domain, Para. 255. One or more RBs may be referred to as a “physical resource block (PRB (Physical RB))”, Para. 257. The bandwidth part (BWP) (which may be called partial bandwidth and the like) may represent a subset of consecutive common resource blocks (RB), Para. 259. The number of RBs included in a slot, Para. 262), or a quantity of symbol groups.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshioka with the teachings of Xiong since Yoshioka provides a technique for multiplexing UCIs of different priority into a single PUCCH of an appropriate bit length, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong to permit available PUCCHs to be formed from multiple UCIs of different priority and different bit lengths into an appropriate bit length.
Xiong in view of Yoshioka fails to teach the priority of the first UCI is determined based on a downlink control information (DCI) corresponding to the first UCI, and the priority of the second UCI is determined based on a DCI corresponding to the second UCI.
Gordaychik teaches the priority of the first UCI (HARQ processes or HARQ transmissions, Para. 37) is determined based on a downlink control information (DCI) corresponding to the first UCI (Some DCI formats may indicate priority levels associated with the HARQ processes or HARQ transmissions based on a HARQ process number or identifier, Para. 37), and the priority of the second UCI (a CSI transmission, when configured with another transmission of any signals, may be either multiplexed accordingly or dropped, Para. 29) is determined based on a DCI corresponding to the second UCI (DCI formats may also indicate the priority of the UCI information or a priority of any other indicated UL/DL information, Para. 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gordaychik with the teachings of Xiong in view of Yoshioka since Gordaychik provides a technique for a base station to inform UE of the priority of UCI information through DCI, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong in view of Yoshioka to permit gNB to utilize DCI for indicating the priorities of UCI to UE.
In regard to Claim 9, Xiong teaches A UCI receiving method, applied to a network device (multiplexing PUCCH(s) with different UCI types to allow alignment between gNB and UE, Para. 39, FIG. 4D) and comprising: in a case that a time-domain transmission resource (single-slot physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), Para. 30) of a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for carrying first UCI (PUCCH carrying a second UCI type using one beam or panel (beam A or panel A) in a slot, Para. 42, FIG. 4D. FIG. 4D shows a slot resource containing a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK using Panel-A) and a time-domain transmission resource (single-slot PUCCH, Para. 30) of a second PUCCH for carrying second UCI (PUCCHs carrying a first UCI type using more than beams or panels, Para. 42, FIG. 4D. FIG. 4D shows a different slot resource containing a different PUCCH carrying CSI using Panel-A) are overlapped (when PUCCHs carrying a first UCI type using more than beams or panels overlap with PUCCH carrying a second UCI type using one beam or panel (beam A or panel A), Para. 42, FIG. 4D), receiving the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI (the first and second UCI type are multiplexed, Para. 42, FIG. 4D. HARQ-ACK and CSI report are multiplexed, Para. 43, FIG. 4D) on a single PUCCH (the first and second UCI type are multiplexed on PUCCH, Para. 42, FIG. 4D. FIG. 4D shows that a slot resource containing a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK using Panel-A, is later utilized for containing the PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK + CSI using Panel-A after multiplexing), the single PUCCH being the first PUCCH (FIG. 4D shows that a slot resource containing a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK using Panel-A, is later utilized for containing the PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK + CSI using Panel-A).
Although Xiong teaches the first UCI and the second UCI, Xiong fails to teach first UCI with a high priority and second UCI with a low priority, and although Xiong teaches wherein a second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI is determined, Xiong fails to teach wherein a second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI is determined based on a bit quantity of the first UCI and a bit quantity of the second UCI; wherein the determined second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI comprises a quantity of physical resource blocks (PRBs), or a quantity of symbol groups.
Yoshioka teaches first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1, Para. 100, FIG. 5) with a high priority (the priority of the UCI type may be determined in the order of HARQ-ACK>SR>first CSI>second CSI, Para. 82).
Yoshioka teaches second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2, Para. 100, FIG. 5) with a low priority (the priority of the UCI type may be determined in the order of HARQ-ACK>SR>first CSI>second CSI, Para. 82).
Yoshioka teaches wherein a second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI (transmit the multiplexed UCI by using a dedicated PUCCH #3, Para. 98, FIG. 5. 4 bits in total of HARQ-ACK and SR, Para. 100, FIG. 5) is determined based on a bit quantity of the first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1 is 3-bit data, Para. 100, FIG. 5) and a bit quantity of the second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2 is 1 bit, Para. 100, FIG. 5).
Yoshioka teaches wherein the determined second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed (multiplexed UCI by using a dedicated PUCCH #3, Para. 98, FIG. 5. 4 bits in total of HARQ-ACK and SR, Para. 100, FIG. 5) first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1 is 3-bit data, Para. 100, FIG. 5) and second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2 is 1 bit, Para. 100, FIG. 5) comprises a quantity of physical resource blocks (PRBs) (A resource block (RB) is the unit of resource allocation in the time domain and the frequency domain, Para. 255. One or more RBs may be referred to as a “physical resource block (PRB (Physical RB))”, Para. 257. The bandwidth part (BWP) (which may be called partial bandwidth and the like) may represent a subset of consecutive common resource blocks (RB), Para. 259. The number of RBs included in a slot, Para. 262), or a quantity of symbol groups.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshioka with the teachings of Xiong since Yoshioka provides a technique for multiplexing UCIs of different priority into a single PUCCH of an appropriate bit length, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong to permit available PUCCHs to be formed from multiple UCIs of different priority and different bit lengths into an appropriate bit length.
Xiong in view of Yoshioka fails to teach the priority of the first UCI is determined based on a downlink control information (DCI) corresponding to the first UCI, and the priority of the second UCI is determined based on a DCI corresponding to the second UCI.
Gordaychik teaches the priority of the first UCI (HARQ processes or HARQ transmissions, Para. 37) is determined based on a downlink control information (DCI) corresponding to the first UCI (Some DCI formats may indicate priority levels associated with the HARQ processes or HARQ transmissions based on a HARQ process number or identifier, Para. 37), and the priority of the second UCI (a CSI transmission, when configured with another transmission of any signals, may be either multiplexed accordingly or dropped, Para. 29) is determined based on a DCI corresponding to the second UCI (DCI formats may also indicate the priority of the UCI information or a priority of any other indicated UL/DL information, Para. 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gordaychik with the teachings of Xiong in view of Yoshioka since Gordaychik provides a technique for a base station to inform UE of the priority of UCI information through DCI, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong in view of Yoshioka to permit gNB to utilize DCI for indicating the priorities of UCI to UE.
In regard to Claim 16, Xiong teaches A terminal (multiplexing PUCCH(s) with different UCI types to allow alignment between gNB and UE, Para. 39, FIG. 4D), comprising a memory (memory 604G, Para. 94, FIG. 6), a processor (Processing Unit (CPU) 604E, Para. 94, FIG. 6), and a program stored in the memory and executable on the processor (modules stored in the memory 604G and executed via a Central Processing Unit (CPU) 604E, Para. 94, FIG. 6), wherein the program is executed by the processor to implement: in a case that a time-domain transmission resource (single-slot physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), Para. 30) of a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for carrying first UCI (PUCCH carrying a second UCI type using one beam or panel (beam A or panel A) in a slot, Para. 42, FIG. 4D. FIG. 4D shows a slot resource containing a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK using Panel-A) and a time-domain transmission resource (single-slot PUCCH, Para. 30) of a second PUCCH for carrying second UCI (PUCCHs carrying a first UCI type using more than beams or panels, Para. 42, FIG. 4D. FIG. 4D shows a different slot resource containing a different PUCCH carrying CSI using Panel-A) are overlapped (when PUCCHs carrying a first UCI type using more than beams or panels overlap with PUCCH carrying a second UCI type using one beam or panel (beam A or panel A), Para. 42, FIG. 4D), determining to multiplex the first UCI and the second UCI (the first and second UCI type are multiplexed, Para. 42, FIG. 4D. HARQ-ACK and CSI report are multiplexed, Para. 43, FIG. 4D) on a single PUCCH for transmission (the first and second UCI type are multiplexed on PUCCH, Para. 42, FIG. 4D. FIG. 4D shows that a slot resource containing a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK using Panel-A, is later utilized for containing the PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK + CSI using Panel-A after multiplexing), the single PUCCH being the first PUCCH (FIG. 4D shows that a slot resource containing a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK using Panel-A, is later utilized for containing the PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK + CSI using Panel-A).
Although Xiong teaches the first UCI and the second UCI, Xiong fails to teach first UCI with a high priority and second UCI with a low priority, and although Xiong teaches determining resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI, Xiong fails to teach determining a second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI based on a bit quantity of the first UCI and a bit quantity of the second UCI; wherein the determined second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI comprises a quantity of physical resource blocks (PRBs), or a quantity of symbol groups.
Yoshioka teaches first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1, Para. 100, FIG. 5) with a high priority (the priority of the UCI type may be determined in the order of HARQ-ACK>SR>first CSI>second CSI, Para. 82).
Yoshioka teaches second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2, Para. 100, FIG. 5) with a low priority (the priority of the UCI type may be determined in the order of HARQ-ACK>SR>first CSI>second CSI, Para. 82).
Yoshioka teaches determining a second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI (transmit the multiplexed UCI by using a dedicated PUCCH #3, Para. 98, FIG. 5. 4 bits in total of HARQ-ACK and SR, Para. 100, FIG. 5) based on a bit quantity of the first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1 is 3-bit data, Para. 100, FIG. 5) and a bit quantity of the second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2 is 1 bit, Para. 100, FIG. 5).
Yoshioka teaches wherein the determined second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed (multiplexed UCI by using a dedicated PUCCH #3, Para. 98, FIG. 5. 4 bits in total of HARQ-ACK and SR, Para. 100, FIG. 5) first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1 is 3-bit data, Para. 100, FIG. 5) and second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2 is 1 bit, Para. 100, FIG. 5) comprises a quantity of physical resource blocks (PRBs) (A resource block (RB) is the unit of resource allocation in the time domain and the frequency domain, Para. 255. One or more RBs may be referred to as a “physical resource block (PRB (Physical RB))”, Para. 257. The bandwidth part (BWP) (which may be called partial bandwidth and the like) may represent a subset of consecutive common resource blocks (RB), Para. 259. The number of RBs included in a slot, Para. 262), or a quantity of symbol groups.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshioka with the teachings of Xiong since Yoshioka provides a technique for multiplexing UCIs of different priority into a single PUCCH of an appropriate bit length, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong to permit available PUCCHs to be formed from multiple UCIs of different priority and different bit lengths into an appropriate bit length.
Xiong in view of Yoshioka fails to teach the priority of the first UCI is determined based on a downlink control information (DCI) corresponding to the first UCI, and the priority of the second UCI is determined based on a DCI corresponding to the second UCI.
Gordaychik teaches the priority of the first UCI (HARQ processes or HARQ transmissions, Para. 37) is determined based on a downlink control information (DCI) corresponding to the first UCI (Some DCI formats may indicate priority levels associated with the HARQ processes or HARQ transmissions based on a HARQ process number or identifier, Para. 37), and the priority of the second UCI (a CSI transmission, when configured with another transmission of any signals, may be either multiplexed accordingly or dropped, Para. 29) is determined based on a DCI corresponding to the second UCI (DCI formats may also indicate the priority of the UCI information or a priority of any other indicated UL/DL information, Para. 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gordaychik with the teachings of Xiong in view of Yoshioka since Gordaychik provides a technique for a base station to inform UE of the priority of UCI information through DCI, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong in view of Yoshioka to permit gNB to utilize DCI for indicating the priorities of UCI to UE.
In regard to Claim 21, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Xiong in view of Yoshioka teaches the second resource.
Xiong fails to teach the determining the second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI based on a bit quantity of the first UCI and a bit quantity of the second UCI comprises: determining the second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI based on a total bit quantity of the first UCI and the second UCI.
Yoshioka teaches determining the second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI (transmit the multiplexed UCI by using a dedicated PUCCH #3, Para. 98, FIG. 5. 4 bits in total of HARQ-ACK and SR, Para. 100, FIG. 5) based on a bit quantity of the first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1 is 3-bit data, Para. 100, FIG. 5) and a bit quantity of the second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2 is 1 bit, Para. 100, FIG. 5) comprises: determining the second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI based on a total bit quantity (transmit the multiplexed UCI by using a dedicated PUCCH #3, Para. 98, FIG. 5. 4 bits in total of HARQ-ACK and SR, Para. 100, FIG. 5) of the first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1 is 3-bit data, Para. 100, FIG. 5) and the second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2 is 1 bit, Para. 100, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshioka with the teachings of Xiong since Yoshioka provides a technique for multiplexing UCIs of different priority into a single PUCCH of an appropriate bit length, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong to permit available PUCCHs to be formed from multiple UCIs of different priority and different bit lengths into an appropriate bit length.
In regard to Claim 22, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Xiong teaches first UCI and second UCI.
Xiong fails to teach the total bit quantity comprises: the sum of a bit quantity of the first UCI and a bit quantity of the second UCI; or the sum of the bit quantity of the first UCI and a commuted bit quantity of the second UCI, wherein the commuted bit quantity of the second UCI is a function of the bit quantity of the second UCI.
Yoshioka teaches the total bit quantity (transmit the multiplexed UCI by using a dedicated PUCCH #3, Para. 98, FIG. 5. 4 bits in total of HARQ-ACK and SR, Para. 100, FIG. 5) comprises: the sum of a bit quantity of the first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1 is 3-bit data, Para. 100, FIG. 5) and a bit quantity of the second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2 is 1 bit, Para. 100, FIG. 5); or the sum of the bit quantity of the first UCI and a commuted bit quantity of the second UCI, wherein the commuted bit quantity of the second UCI is a function of the bit quantity of the second UCI.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshioka with the teachings of Xiong since Yoshioka provides a technique for multiplexing UCIs of different priority into a single PUCCH of an appropriate bit length, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong to permit available PUCCHs to be formed from multiple UCIs of different priority and different bit lengths into an appropriate bit length.
In regard to Claim 24, as presented in the rejection of Claim 9, Xiong in view of Yoshioka teaches the second resource.
Xiong fails to teach the second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI is determined based on a total bit quantity of the first UCI and the second UCI.
Yoshioka teaches the second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI is determined based on a total bit quantity (transmit the multiplexed UCI by using a dedicated PUCCH #3, Para. 98, FIG. 5. 4 bits in total of HARQ-ACK and SR, Para. 100, FIG. 5) of the first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1 is 3-bit data, Para. 100, FIG. 5) and the second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2 is 1 bit, Para. 100, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshioka with the teachings of Xiong since Yoshioka provides a technique for multiplexing UCIs of different priority into a single PUCCH of an appropriate bit length, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong to permit available PUCCHs to be formed from multiple UCIs of different priority and different bit lengths into an appropriate bit length.
In regard to Claim 25, as presented in the rejection of Claim 9, Xiong teaches first UCI and second UCI.
Xiong fails to teach the total bit quantity comprises: the sum of a bit quantity of the first UCI and a bit quantity of the second UCI; or the sum of the bit quantity of the first UCI and a commuted bit quantity of the second UCI, wherein the commuted bit quantity of the second UCI is a function of the bit quantity of the second UCI.
Yoshioka teaches the total bit quantity (transmit the multiplexed UCI by using a dedicated PUCCH #3, Para. 98, FIG. 5. 4 bits in total of HARQ-ACK and SR, Para. 100, FIG. 5) comprises: the sum of a bit quantity of the first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1 is 3-bit data, Para. 100, FIG. 5) and a bit quantity of the second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2 is 1 bit, Para. 100, FIG. 5); or the sum of the bit quantity of the first UCI and a commuted bit quantity of the second UCI, wherein the commuted bit quantity of the second UCI is a function of the bit quantity of the second UCI.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshioka with the teachings of Xiong since Yoshioka provides a technique for multiplexing UCIs of different priority into a single PUCCH of an appropriate bit length, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong to permit available PUCCHs to be formed from multiple UCIs of different priority and different bit lengths into an appropriate bit length.
In regard to Claim 27, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Xiong in view of Yoshioka teaches the second resource.
Xiong fails to teach determining the second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI based on a bit quantity of the first UCI and a bit quantity of the second UCI comprises: determining the second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI based on a total bit quantity of the first UCI and the second UCI.
Yoshioka teaches determining the second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI (transmit the multiplexed UCI by using a dedicated PUCCH #3, Para. 98, FIG. 5. 4 bits in total of HARQ-ACK and SR, Para. 100, FIG. 5) based on a bit quantity of the first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1 is 3-bit data, Para. 100, FIG. 5) and a bit quantity of the second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2 is 1 bit, Para. 100, FIG. 5) comprises: determining the second resource of the first PUCCH for the multiplexed first UCI and second UCI based on a total bit quantity (transmit the multiplexed UCI by using a dedicated PUCCH #3, Para. 98, FIG. 5. 4 bits in total of HARQ-ACK and SR, Para. 100, FIG. 5) of the first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1 is 3-bit data, Para. 100, FIG. 5) and the second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2 is 1 bit, Para. 100, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshioka with the teachings of Xiong since Yoshioka provides a technique for multiplexing UCIs of different priority into a single PUCCH of an appropriate bit length, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong to permit available PUCCHs to be formed from multiple UCIs of different priority and different bit lengths into an appropriate bit length.
In regard to Claim 28, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Xiong teaches first UCI and second UCI.
Xiong fails to teach the total bit quantity comprises: the sum of a bit quantity of the first UCI and a bit quantity of the second UCI; or the sum of the bit quantity of the first UCI and a commuted bit quantity of the second UCI, wherein the commuted bit quantity of the second UCI is a function of the bit quantity of the second UCI.
Yoshioka teaches the total bit quantity (transmit the multiplexed UCI by using a dedicated PUCCH #3, Para. 98, FIG. 5. 4 bits in total of HARQ-ACK and SR, Para. 100, FIG. 5) comprises: the sum of a bit quantity of the first UCI (HARQ-ACK of the PUCCH #1 is 3-bit data, Para. 100, FIG. 5) and a bit quantity of the second UCI (SR of the PUCCH #2 is 1 bit, Para. 100, FIG. 5); or the sum of the bit quantity of the first UCI and a commuted bit quantity of the second UCI, wherein the commuted bit quantity of the second UCI is a function of the bit quantity of the second UCI.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshioka with the teachings of Xiong since Yoshioka provides a technique for multiplexing UCIs of different priority into a single PUCCH of an appropriate bit length, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong to permit available PUCCHs to be formed from multiple UCIs of different priority and different bit lengths into an appropriate bit length.
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Yoshioka, Gordaychik, and further in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180007681 A1), hereafter referred to as Yang.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik teaches the first UCI.
Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik fails to teach the DCI corresponding to the first UCI is: DCI with a specific format, DCI scrambled with a specific radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), or DCI configured with a specific modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table.
Yang teaches the DCI corresponding to the first UCI is: DCI with a specific format (The size and usage of the DCI carried by one PDCCH are varied depending on DCI formats, Para. 77. An eNB determines a DCI format depending on the DCI to be transmitted to the UE, Para. 78), DCI scrambled with a specific radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), or DCI configured with a specific modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with the teachings of Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik since Yang provides a technique for determining formats of DCI, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik to permit an appropriate DCI format is utilized for conveying a certain amount of information to a UE.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 9, Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik teaches the first UCI.
Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik fails to teach the DCI corresponding to the first UCI is: DCI with a specific format, DCI scrambled with a specific RNTI, or DCI configured with a specific MCS table.
Yang teaches the DCI corresponding to the first UCI is: DCI with a specific format (The size and usage of the DCI carried by one PDCCH are varied depending on DCI formats, Para. 77. An eNB determines a DCI format depending on the DCI to be transmitted to the UE, Para. 78), DCI scrambled with a specific RNTI, or DCI configured with a specific MCS table.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with the teachings of Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik since Yang provides a technique for determining formats of DCI, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik to permit an appropriate DCI format is utilized for conveying a certain amount of information to a UE.
Claim(s) 23, 26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Yoshioka, Gordaychik, and further in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190053218 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim.
In regard to Claim 23, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik teaches the method.
Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik fails to teach the function is obtained by multiplying an actual bit quantity by a commutation factor.
Kim teaches the function is obtained by multiplying an actual bit quantity by a commutation factor (two or more traffics are multiplexed and transmitted may exist. For example, when two data traffics are considered, the UE should transmit a UCI (i.e., UCI1) generated in the first traffic and a UCI (i.e., UCI2) generated in the second traffic to the serving base station, Para. 75. A method of applying compression to UCIs, Para. 77. An environment in which the UE transmits a UCI (hereinafter referred to as UCI1) generated in a first traffic (e.g., eMBB traffic) and a UCI (hereinafter referred to as UCI2) generated in a second traffic (e.g., URLLC traffic) to a serving base station in order to support two or more types of data traffics. It is necessary to multiplex PUCCHs (e.g., long PUCCH and short PUCCH) having different lengths (different number of symbols), Para. 78).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik since Kim provides a technique for compressing UCIs for a multiplexing process, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik to permit a reduction in bits utilized for multiplexing UCIs of different types for transmissions.
In regard to Claim 26, as presented in the rejection of Claim 9, Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik teaches the method.
Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik fails to teach the function is obtained by multiplying an actual bit quantity by a commutation factor.
Kim teaches the function is obtained by multiplying an actual bit quantity by a commutation factor (two or more traffics are multiplexed and transmitted may exist. For example, when two data traffics are considered, the UE should transmit a UCI (i.e., UCI1) generated in the first traffic and a UCI (i.e., UCI2) generated in the second traffic to the serving base station, Para. 75. A method of applying compression to UCIs, Para. 77. An environment in which the UE transmits a UCI (hereinafter referred to as UCI1) generated in a first traffic (e.g., eMBB traffic) and a UCI (hereinafter referred to as UCI2) generated in a second traffic (e.g., URLLC traffic) to a serving base station in order to support two or more types of data traffics. It is necessary to multiplex PUCCHs (e.g., long PUCCH and short PUCCH) having different lengths (different number of symbols), Para. 78).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik since Kim provides a technique for compressing UCIs for a multiplexing process, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik to permit a reduction in bits utilized for multiplexing UCIs of different types for transmissions.
In regard to Claim 29, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik teaches the terminal.
Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik fails to teach the function is obtained by multiplying an actual bit quantity by a commutation factor.
Kim teaches the function is obtained by multiplying an actual bit quantity by a commutation factor (two or more traffics are multiplexed and transmitted may exist. For example, when two data traffics are considered, the UE should transmit a UCI (i.e., UCI1) generated in the first traffic and a UCI (i.e., UCI2) generated in the second traffic to the serving base station, Para. 75. A method of applying compression to UCIs, Para. 77. An environment in which the UE transmits a UCI (hereinafter referred to as UCI1) generated in a first traffic (e.g., eMBB traffic) and a UCI (hereinafter referred to as UCI2) generated in a second traffic (e.g., URLLC traffic) to a serving base station in order to support two or more types of data traffics. It is necessary to multiplex PUCCHs (e.g., long PUCCH and short PUCCH) having different lengths (different number of symbols), Para. 78).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik since Kim provides a technique for compressing UCIs for a multiplexing process, which can be introduced into the system of Xiong in view of Yoshioka and Gordaychik to permit a reduction in bits utilized for multiplexing UCIs of different types for transmissions.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 1/5/2026, with respect to the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been withdrawn.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 1/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that Hence, it is clear and definite, as the Applicant observes, that Yoshioka fails to disclose, teach or suggest the above-emphasized limitations "determining to multiplex the first UCI and the second UCI on a single PUCCH for transmission, the single PUCCH being the first PUCCH; the priority of the first UCI is determined based on a downlink control information (DCI) corresponding to the first UCI, and the priority of the second UCI is determined based on a DCI corresponding to the second UCL". This argument is not persuasive. The limitation introduced by the amendment of Claims 1, 9 and 16, which are not taught by Xiong and Yoshioka, are taught by Gordaychik (Pub. No.: US 20190363843 A1).
Conclusion
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
2-6-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477