Response to Amendments and Arguments
The amendments, filed April 28, 2026, have been entered. Claims 1, 10, and 19 have been amended. Claim 21 has previously been cancelled. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application. The amendments to the claims have overcome previous drawing objections and the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b).
Applicant argues, on pages 10-11 of Applicant’s remarks, that the previously cited references do not disclose a set of zippers provided to allow for a topper to be removed from a mattress core assembled while, at the same time, another fastener is provided in the topper to removably fix a bottom panel of the topper to the sidewalls of the topper to expose the foam layers and vibrating units for servicing without fully needing to disassemble the topper. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in further detail below, An (U.S. Patent No. 7,757,322) teaches a cover 50 for a mattress topper 30 with a zipper 60 which connects to the mattress core assembly (which includes frame 10 with sidewalls 11 and core cushion elements 30 enclosed in padded cover 40 and 50’, see Figures 2 and 5 and Col. 3, lines 35-47). This topper cover 50 has an additional zipper 60a (Figure 3) which encloses topper cushion 30 (Figure 3 and Col. 3, lines 48-56). This additional zipper 60a allows for the mattress of An to have easily replaceable parts of the mattress, which can prolong or extend the life of a mattress by allowing a user to replace faulty, worn-out, or damaged parts individually instead of replacing the mattress as a whole (Col. 1, lines 56-67, Col. 2, lines 30-33, and Col. 3, lines 35-56). While An does not teach vibrating units which can be removed for service or replacement, Lee (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0167311) which is cited for disclosing a mattress topper with vibrating units explicitly discloses that the vibrating units of its vibrating mattresses and mattress toppers are designed with the explicit intention of being individually removable and replaceable by an end user (paragraph 0036), and that the vibrating units are removable from a bottom foam layer, accessible by flipping the mattress upside-down such that the bottom foam layers are facing upward (as shown in Figure 4). While Figure 4 shows the mattress embodiment, the only disclosed difference between the mattress and the mattress topper embodiment is that the foam layers of the mattress topper are made thinner and the antenna cables extend between the mattress topper and the mattress rather than hang out from the bottom of the mattress, but it can reasonably be assumed that this is because the bottom of the mattress topper is placed on top of the mattress, providing a physical barrier which prevents the cables from hanging downward in the same way, not that the vibration units are arranged in an entirely new and undisclosed configuration different from the configuration shown in figures. While neither Lee nor An individually explicitly disclose a single embodiment with a multi-layered foam mattress topper comprising vibrating units in a topper cover with a zipper to attach to a mattress cover and a different zipper or other fastener to remove the bottom panel of the mattress topper cover such that the foam layers and vibrating units can be accessed for service or replacement, any recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art (see MPEP 2114). If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As the topper cover of An allows for a user to access the bottom of a mattress topper when opening the zipper 60a (as shown in Figure 3) for the purpose of accessing the mattress topper for replacement and Lee, with removable and replaceable vibrating units, allows for the vibrating units to be accessed and removed from the bottom of the mattress topper, then the combination is capable of performing the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 10, 13-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0167311) in view of An (U.S. Patent No. 7,757,322).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a removable mattress topper (paragraph 0043) comprising: a first foam layer 15 comprising a plurality of spaced apart vibrating units 24-26 embedded therein (in cavities 21, Figures 4 and 6, and see paragraph 0043 where the Lee contemplates another embodiment of the invention where the three layers of mattress 11 may be made thinner to form a mattress topper that fits over an end user’s existing mattress), wherein the vibrating units 24-26 are in electrical communication with a control module 27 and a power source (paragraph 0031, where a power cord 35 is inserted into a wall socket); a second foam layer (defined by the top foam layer of visco-elastic polyurethane foam, paragraph 0025) overlying the first foam layer 15, and a cover 40 encapsulating the first 15 and second foam layers (the second foam layer defined by the top foam layer of visco-elastic polyurethane foam, paragraph 0025, and see Figure 9 and paragraph 0043 which discusses outer cover 40 as applied to the mattress topper embodiment).
Lee does not disclose a separate cover for only the removeable mattress topper encapsulating the first and second foam layers, the cover comprising a top panel, sidewalls extending from the top panel, and a zippered portion extending about an entire periphery of the sidewalls configured to be engageable with a zippered portion of a mattress core assembly such that the mattress topper is removable relative to the mattress core assembly; and a bottom panel removably attached to the cover sidewalls by a zipper or other fastener extending along the periphery of the sidewalls, such that the cover and the bottom panel together fully encapsulate the first and second foam layers and the vibrating units and allow the bottom panel to be independently removed to provide access to the foam layers and vibrating units for cleaning, service, or replacement, without removing the entire cover from the removeable mattress topper, and wherein removal of the bottom panel exposes the foam layers and vibrating units while the cover remains in place.
An teaches a separate cover (Figure 3) for only the removable mattress topper 50 encapsulating foam layer 30’ (Figure 3), the cover comprising a top panel, sidewalls extending from the top panel (see annotated Figure 3, below), and a zippered portion 60 extending about an entire periphery of the sidewalls configured to be engageable with a zippered portion of a mattress core assembly such that the removeable mattress cover is removable relative to the mattress core assembly 10 (Figures 2-3 and Col. 3, lines 35-47); and a bottom panel 51 removably attached to the cover sidewalls by a zipper 60A or other fastener extending along the entire periphery of the sidewalls (see annotated Figure 3, below, and Col. 3, lines 48-56), such that the cover and the bottom panel 50 together fully encapsulate the foam layer 30’ and allow the bottom panel 51 to be independently removed to provide access to the foam layers 30 for cleaning, service, or replacement (Col. 1, lines 56-67 and Col. 3, lines 35-56); and wherein removal of the bottom panel exposes mattress topper while the cover remains in place (Col. 1, lines 56-67, Col. 2, lines 30-33, and Col. 3, lines 35-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Lee (directed to a vibrating mattress topper) with An (directed to a cover for a mattress and mattress topper) and arrived at a separate cover for the mattress topper, the cover comprising a top panel, sidewalls, and a zippered portion extending about the sidewalls engageable with a zippered portion of a mattress core assembly such that the mattress topper is removable; and a bottom panel removably attached to the cover sidewalls by a zipper or other fastener to allow the bottom panel to be independently removed to provide access to the foam layers and vibrating units for cleaning, service, or replacement without removing the entire cover from the removeable mattress topper, and wherein removal of the bottom panel exposes the foam layers and vibrating units while the cover remains in place. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the cover of An allows for various elements within the mattress to be individually removed to replace or repair them, which prolongs the life of the mattress (Col. 1, lines 65-67 and Col. 2, lines 30-33).
Regarding claim 3, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Lee, as modified, further discloses one or more additional layers 16 overlying the first foam layer 15 including the vibrating units 24-26 (see Lee, paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 4, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Lee, as modified, further discloses wherein the second foam layer comprises a viscoelastic layer (the second foam layer being defined by the top foam layer of visco-elastic polyurethane foam, see Lee, paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 5, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Lee, as modified, further discloses wherein each of the vibrating units 24-26 is independently actuated (see Lee, paragraph 0035 and Figure 11, where the remote control 43 has buttons 1, 2, and 3 which activate each of the modules 24, 25, and 26, respectively).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses a mattress assembly comprising: a mattress core assembly comprising a mattress core (defined the used mattress described in paragraph 0043), and a removable mattress topper (see paragraph 0043 where the Lee contemplates another embodiment of the invention where the three layers of mattress 11 may be made thinner to form a mattress topper that fits over an end user’s existing mattress) comprising a first foam layer 15 comprising a plurality of spaced apart vibrating units 12 embedded therein (in cavities 21, Figures 4 and 6, and see paragraph 0043 where the Lee contemplates another embodiment of the invention where the three layers of mattress 11 may be made thinner to form a mattress topper that fits over an end user’s existing mattress), a second foam layer (defined by the top foam layer of visco-elastic polyurethane foam, paragraph 0025) overlying the first foam layer 15; and a cover 40 encapsulating the first 15 and second foam layers (the second foam layer defined by the top foam layer of visco-elastic polyurethane foam, paragraph 0025, and see Figure 9 and paragraph 0043 which discusses outer cover 40 as applied to the mattress topper embodiment).
Lee does not disclose wherein the cover comprises a top panel and a first zippered portion about an entire peripheral edge of the top panel; a separate cover for only the mattress topper encapsulating the mattress topper, the separate cover comprising a top panel sidewalls extending from the top panel, and a second zippered portion extending an entire peripheral edge of the top panel, and a bottom panel removably attached to the cover sidewalls by a zipper or other fastener extending along the periphery of the sidewalls such that the separate cover and the bottom panel cooperate to fully encapsulate first and second foam layers and the vibrating units, and a bottom panel removably attached to the cover sidewalls by a zipper or other fastener extending along the entire periphery of the sidewalls, such that the cover and the bottom panel together fully encapsulate the first and second foam layers and allow the bottom panel to be independently removed to provide access to the foam layers and vibrating units for cleaning, service, or replacement without removing the entire cover from the removeable mattress topper, and wherein removal of the bottom panel exposes the foam layers and vibrating units while the cover remains in place; wherein the second zippered portion is configured for mechanical and releasable engagement with the first zippered portion of the mattress core assembly to maintain the removable mattress topper and the mattress core assembly in a fixed relationship, wherein the removable mattress topper is removable from the mattress core assembly via the respective zippered portions.
An teaches a separate cover (Figure 3) for only the mattress topper 50 encapsulating foam layer 30’ (Figure 3), the cover comprising a top panel, sidewalls extending from the top panel (see annotated Figure 3, above), and a zippered portion 60 extending about an entire periphery of the sidewalls configured to be engageable with a zippered portion of a mattress core assembly such that the mattress cover is removable relative to the mattress core assembly 10 (Figures 2-3 and Col. 3, lines 35-47); and a bottom panel 51 removably attached to the cover sidewalls by a zipper 60A or other fastener extending along the entire periphery of the sidewalls (see annotated Figure 3, above, and Col. 3, lines 48-56), such that the cover and the bottom panel 50 together fully encapsulate the foam layer 30’ and allow the bottom panel 51 to be independently removed to provide access to the foam layers 30 for cleaning, service, or replacement (Col. 1, lines 56-67 and Col. 3, lines 35-56); and wherein removal of the bottom panel exposes mattress topper while the cover remains in place (Col. 1, lines 56-67, Col. 2, lines 30-33, and Col. 3, lines 35-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Lee (directed to a vibrating mattress topper) with An (directed to a cover for a mattress and mattress topper) and arrived at a separate cover for the mattress topper, the cover comprising a top panel, sidewalls, a zippered portion extending about the sidewalls engageable with a zippered portion of a mattress core assembly such that the mattress topper is removable from the mattress core; and a bottom panel removably attached to the cover sidewalls by a zipper or other fastener to allow the bottom panel to be independently removed to provide access to the foam layers and vibrating units for cleaning, service, or replacement without removing the entire cover from the removeable mattress topper, and wherein removal of the bottom panel exposes the foam layers and vibrating units while the cover remains in place. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the cover of An allows for various elements within the mattress to be individually removed to replace or repair them, which prolongs the life of the mattress (Col. 1, lines 65-67 and Col. 2, lines 30-33).
Regarding claim 13, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 10. Lee, as modified, further discloses one or more additional layers 16 overlying the first foam layer 15 including the vibrating units 24-26 (see Lee, paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 14, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 10. Lee, as modified, further discloses wherein the second foam layer comprises a viscoelastic layer (the second foam layer being defined by the top foam layer of visco-elastic polyurethane foam, see Lee, paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 15, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 10. Lee, as modified, further discloses wherein each of the vibrating units 24-26 is independently actuated (see Lee, paragraph 0035 and Figure 11, where the remote control 43 has buttons 1, 2, and 3 which activate each of the modules 24, 25, and 26, respectively).
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses a process for operating a removable mattress topper (paragraph 0043) including vibrating units 24-26, the process comprising: zippering the removable topper layer on an upper surface of a mattress core, wherein the removable topper layer comprises a first foam layer 15 comprising a plurality of spaced apart vibrating units 24-26 embedded therein (in cavities 21, Figures 4 and 6, and see paragraph 0043 where the Lee contemplates another embodiment of the invention where the three layers of mattress 11 may be made thinner to form a mattress topper that fits over an end user’s existing mattress), wherein the vibrating units 24-26 are in electrical communication with a control module 27 and a power source (paragraph 0031, where a power cord 35 is inserted into a wall socket); a second foam layer (defined by the top foam layer of visco-elastic polyurethane foam, paragraph 0025) overlying the first foam layer 15; (see paragraph 0043 where the Lee contemplates another embodiment of the invention where the three layers of mattress 11 may be made thinner to form a mattress topper that fits over an end user’s existing mattress) and providing a power source to the vibrating units 24-26 via a power cord 35 (paragraph 0031, where a power cord 35 is inserted into a wall socket), wherein the vibrating units 24-26 arranged in zones (each zone corresponding to respective vibrating units 24, 25, and 26) along a length and width dimension thereof wherein each zone includes one or more spaced part vibrating units 24, 25, and 26 (Figure 8); activating the one or more spaced apart vibrating units within a selected one or more of the zones (paragraph 0035 and Figure 8, where the remote control 43 has buttons 1, 2, and 3 which activate each of the modules 24, 25, and 26, respectively).
Lee does not disclose zippering the removable topper layer on an upper surface of a single mattress core assembly, further comprising a separate cover for only the mattress cover encapsulating the first and second foam layers, the cover comprising a top panel, sidewalls extending from the top panel, and a zippered portion extending about an entire periphery of the sidewalls configured to be removably engageable with a zippered portion of the mattress core assembly such that the removable mattress topper can physically be removed or attached to the mattress core assembly; and a bottom panel removably attached to the cover sidewalls by a zipper or other fastener extending along the entire periphery of the sidewalls, such that the separate cover and the bottom panel together fully encapsulate the first and second foam layers and allow the bottom panel to be independently removed to provide access to the foam layers and vibrating units for cleaning, service, or replacement, without removing the entire cover from the removeable mattress topper, and wherein removal of the bottom panel exposes the foam layers and vibrating units while the cover remains in place.
An teaches zippering the removable topper layer 50 on an upper surface of a single mattress core assembly 30, and teaches a separate cover (Figure 3) for only the mattress topper 50 encapsulating foam layer 30’ (Figure 3), the cover comprising a top panel, sidewalls extending from the top panel (see annotated Figure 3, above), and a zippered portion 60 extending about an entire periphery of the sidewalls configured to be engageable with a zippered portion of a mattress core assembly such that the mattress cover is removable relative to the mattress core assembly 10 (Figures 2-3 and Col. 3, lines 35-47); and a bottom panel 51 removably attached to the cover sidewalls by a zipper 60A or other fastener extending along the entire periphery of the sidewalls (see annotated Figure 3, above, and Col. 3, lines 48-56), such that the cover and the bottom panel 50 together fully encapsulate the foam layer 30’ and allow the bottom panel 51 to be independently removed to provide access to the foam layers 30 for cleaning, service, or replacement (Col. 1, lines 56-67 and Col. 3, lines 35-56), and wherein removal of the bottom panel exposes mattress topper while the cover remains in place (Col. 1, lines 56-67, Col. 2, lines 30-33, and Col. 3, lines 35-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Lee (directed to a vibrating mattress topper) with An (directed to a cover for a mattress and mattress topper) and arrived at a separate cover for the mattress topper, the cover comprising a top panel, sidewalls, and a zippered portion extending about the sidewalls engageable with a zippered portion of a mattress core assembly such that the mattress cover is removable; and a bottom panel removably attached to the cover sidewalls by a zipper or other fastener to allow the bottom panel to be independently removed to provide access to the foam layers and vibrating units for cleaning, service, or replacement without removing the entire cover from the removeable mattress topper, and wherein removal of the bottom panel exposes the foam layers and vibrating units while the cover remains in place. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the cover of An allows for various elements within the mattress to be individually removed to replace or repair them, which prolongs the life of the mattress (Col. 1, lines 65-67 and Col. 2, lines 30-33).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of An and further in view of Sieber et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0061545), hereinafter referred to as Sieber.
Regarding claim 2, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Lee, as modified, does not disclose wherein the second foam layer comprises a phase change material coated thereon.
Sieber teaches wherein the second foam layer 104 comprises a phase change material coated thereon (paragraph 0043 and Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Lee so the second foam layer comprises a phase change material coated thereon, as taught by Sieber. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the phase change material coating of Sieber can absorb, store, and return large amounts of heat or energy from a sleeping environment which helps regulate the temperature of the sleeping environment (paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 12, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 10. Lee, as modified, does not disclose wherein the second foam layer comprises a phase change material coated thereon.
Sieber teaches wherein the second foam layer 104 comprises a phase change material coated thereon (paragraph 0043 and Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided Lee, as modified, so the second foam layer comprises a phase change material coated thereon, as taught by Sieber. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the phase change material coating of Sieber can absorb, store, and return large amounts of heat or energy from a sleeping environment which helps regulate the temperature of the sleeping environment (paragraph 0044).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of An and further in view of Cutler et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,039,702), hereinafter referred to as Cutler.
Regarding claim 6, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Lee, as modified, further discloses wherein the vibrating units 24-26 and 37-39 are located in different zones (where each individual vibrating unit 24-26 and 37-39 may be considered in its own zone), wherein the vibrating units 24-26 and 37-39 in the different zones are connected in parallel (via power cords 31, see Figure 8, where each vibrating unit 24-26 and 37-39 are connected to the control module 27 through a separate power cord) to the control module 27 (paragraph 0031 and Figures 7-8).
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the vibrating units are located in zones corresponding to head and shoulder zone, a back zone, a lumbar zone and a leg and foot zone, wherein each zone comprises one or more vibrating units, and wherein each zone is independently actuated.
Cutler teaches wherein the vibrating units are located in zones corresponding to head and shoulder zone 26, a back zone 28, a lumbar zone 30 and a leg and foot zone 34, wherein each zone comprises one or more vibrating units 12 (Figure 1 and Col. 4, lines 35-45), and wherein each zone is independently actuated (Figure 2, Col. 4, line 57-Col. 5, line 10, and Col. 5, line 62-Col. 6, line 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Lee so the vibrating units are located in zones with each zone comprising one or more vibrating units which are independently actuated, as taught by Cutler. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the zones of Cutler allow for a user to adjust the massage intensity independently in each zone or turn on or off the vibrating units in each zone according to the user’s needs or desires, such that they may target specific areas of the body in a customizable manner (Col. 5, lines 24-Col. 6, line 11).
Regarding claim 16, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 10. Lee, as modified, does not explicitly disclose wherein the vibrating units are located in zones corresponding to head and shoulder zone, a back zone, a lumbar zone and a leg and foot zone, wherein each zone comprises one or more vibrating units, and wherein each zone is independently actuated.
Cutler teaches wherein the vibrating units are located in zones corresponding to head and shoulder zone 26, a back zone 28, a lumbar zone 30 and a leg and foot zone 34, wherein each zone comprises one or more vibrating units 12 (Figure 1 and Col. 4, lines 35-45), and wherein each zone is independently actuated (Figure 2, Col. 4, line 57-Col. 5, line 10, and Col. 5, line 62-Col. 6, line 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided Lee, as modified, so the vibrating units are located in zones and wherein each zone is independently actuated, as taught by Cutler. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the zones of Cutler allow for a user to adjust the massage intensity independently in each zone or turn on or off the vibrating units in each zone according to the user’s needs or desires, such that they may target specific areas of the body in a customizable manner (Col. 5, lines 24-Col. 6, line 11).
Claims 7, 9, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of An and further in view of Rawls-Meehan (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0138067).
Regarding claim 7, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Lee, as modified, further discloses the control module 27 in wireless communication with a control device 43 (Figure 11 and paragraph 0028).
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the control module comprises a wireless transceiver in wireless communication with a control device.
Rawls-Meehan teaches wherein the control module 150 comprises a wireless transceiver in wireless communication with a control device 118 (paragraphs 0055 and 0239).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Lee so the control module comprises a wireless transceiver in wireless communication with a control device, as taught by Rawls-Meehan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the transceiver of Rawls-Meehan provides a means of transmitting user inputs from a wireless device, such that the massage function of the bed may be adjusted according to a user’s needs or desires (paragraphs 0055 and 0239).
Regarding claim 9, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 7. Lee, as modified, further discloses wherein the control device 43 comprises a remote control 43, a phone, a speaker, and combinations thereof (see Lee, Figure 11 and paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 17, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 10. Lee, as modified, further discloses the control module 27 in wireless communication with a control device 43 (Figure 11 and paragraph 0028).
Lee, as modified, does not explicitly disclose wherein the control module comprises a wireless transceiver in wireless communication with a control device.
Rawls-Meehan teaches wherein the control module 150 comprises a wireless transceiver in wireless communication with a control device 118 (paragraphs 0055 and 0239).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided Lee, as modified, so the control module comprises a wireless transceiver in wireless communication with a control device, as taught by Rawls-Meehan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the transceiver of Rawls-Meehan provides a means of transmitting user inputs from a wireless device, such that the massage function of the bed may be adjusted according to a user’s needs or desires (paragraphs 0055 and 0239).
Regarding claim 18, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 10 and 17. Lee, as modified, further discloses wherein the control device 43 comprises a remote control 43, a phone, a speaker, and combinations thereof (see Lee, Figure 11 and paragraph 0028).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of An and further in view of Segal et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0156508), hereinafter referred to as Segal.
Regarding claim 8, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Lee, as modified, does not disclose wherein the top panel is quilted.
Segal teaches wherein the top panel 502 is quilted 512 (paragraphs 0026-0029 and Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Lee so the top panel is quilted, as taught by Segal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the quilted top panel of Segal enhances the breathability of the mattress by quilting an uppermost layer to a spacer fabric and adds a plush-like feeling to the mattress, thereby adding increased comfort to a user (paragraph 0029).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of An and further in view of Longman et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0255941), hereinafter referred to as Longman.
Regarding claim 11, Lee, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 10. Lee, as modified, does not disclose wherein the mattress core assembly comprises multiple layers comprising foam layers, coils layers, air bladders, and combinations thereof.
Longman teaches wherein the mattress core assembly 11 comprises multiple layers comprising foam layers 19, coils layers 27, air bladders 55, and combinations thereof (Figures 4 and 10 and paragraphs 0041-0042 and 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided Lee, as modified, so the mattress core assembly comprises multiple layers comprising foam layers, coils layers, air bladders, and combinations thereof, as taught by Longman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the foam layers of Longman provide soft support to an overlying user, while the coils provide different levels of firmness corresponding to particular parts of a user’s body, and the air bladders allow for the overall firmness of the mattress to be adjusted according to a user’s needs or desires (paragraphs 0040, 0046, and 0047).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of An and further in view of Bastia et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2003/0028132), hereinafter referred to as Bastia.
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses the subject matter as discussed above wither regard to claim 19. Lee further discloses wherein activating the one or more spaced apart vibrating units 24-26 within the zones comprises sequentially activating the zones (associated with each respective vibrating unit 24-26, see Figure 8) and repeating the sequence (paragraph 0035). Lee does not disclose wherein activating the one or more spaced apart vibrating units within the zones comprises sequentially activating and deactivating the zones and repeating the sequence.
Bastia teaches wherein activating the one or more spaced apart vibrating units 16 within the zones 18 comprises sequentially activating and deactivating the zones and repeating the sequence (Figure 2 and paragraph 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Lee so the method step of activating the one or more spaced apart vibrating units within the zones comprises sequentially activating and deactivating the zones and repeating the sequence, as taught by Bastia. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because doing so would allow a user to receive a variety of different massage patterns targeting different areas of the body, such that user may receive a massage according to their needs or desires (paragraph 0033).
Conclusion
/ALISON N LABARGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679