DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the new and newly amended claims of 5/16/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11,16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 2022/0146147) and Armijo et al. (US 5,544,645).
Regarding claim 10, White (W) discloses a method for controlling the heating of air and water in a combination apparatus including a water heating assembly (104, Figure 1) and an air heating assembly (106) the method comprising: detecting a presence of an air heating demand; detecting a presence or absence of a hot water demand (via (102), [0029]), and if hot water demand is present when the presence of the air heating demand is detected and if the air heating assembly is not already heating air, heating air by the air heating assembly after a predetermined delay.
White (W) does not disclose the method steps of: if the hot water demand is absent when the presence of the air heating demand is detected, heating air by the air heating assembly, or if the hot water demand is present when the presence of the air heating demand is detected and if the air heating assembly is already heating air, maintaining the heating of the air by the air heating assembly.
However, Armijo (A) discloses a combined water heater and spaced heater (Abstract) with the method step of: if the hot water demand is absent when the presence of the air heating demand is detected, heating air by the air heating assembly or if the hot water demand is present when the presence of the air heating demand is detected and if the air heating assembly is already heating air, maintaining the heating of the air by the air heating assembly (C12, L14-23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to supply heated air and water when requested, as is the typical operation of simple combination heater device.
Regarding claim 11, White (W), as modified, discloses the method of claim 10 wherein the predetermined delay utilizes a timer (W- [0010], i.e., control interface circuit).
Regarding claim 16, White (W), as modified, discloses the method of claim 10
further comprising: heating water by the water heating assembly in response to detecting the presence of the hot water demand (W- [0030]).
Regarding claim 18, White (W), as modified, discloses the method of claim 10
wherein the presence of the hot water demand is detected by receiving an input from a sensor (W-132, [0030]).
Regarding claim 19, White (W), as modified, discloses the method of claim 10 wherein the air heating demand is detected when a thermostat detects an air temperature below a set point (W-132, [0029]).
Regarding claim 20, White (W), as modified, discloses the method of claim 10 wherein heating the air by the air heating assembly includes enabling an air circulation blower of the air heating assembly (W-202, [0029,0032]).
Regarding claim 21, White (W), as modified, discloses the method of claim 10 wherein the air is heated by the air heating assembly using a water to air heat exchanger (W-202, [0029,0032]).
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 2022/0146147), Armijo et al. (US 5,544,645), and Talbert, et al. (US 6109,339).
Regarding claim 15, White (W), as modified, discloses the method of claim 10, but not the steps of detecting an absence of the air heating demand when the air heating assembly is heating air; and initiating an air heating post purge function in response to detecting the absence of the air heating demand when the air heating assembly is heating air.
However, Talbert (T) discloses a combined heating system (Abstract) with the steps of: detecting an absence of the air heating demand when the air heating assembly is heating air; and initiating an air heating post purge function in response to detecting the absence of the air heating demand when the air heating assembly is heating air (C21, L47-57). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to apply the post purge step in order to prevent excessive heating of the heat exchanger, whilst preventing scale buildup.
Regarding claim 17, White (W), as modified, discloses the method of claim 16, but not the step of: initiating a water heating post purge function in response to detecting the absence of the hot water demand when the water heating assembly is heating water.
However, Talbert (T) discloses a combined heating system (Abstract) with the steps of: initiating a water heating post purge function in response to detecting the absence of the hot water demand when the water heating assembly is heating water (C21, L47-57). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to apply the post purge step in order to prevent excessive heating of the heat exchanger, whilst preventing scale buildup.
Conclusion
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/STEVEN B MCALLISTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762