DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2024 and 3/29/2022 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Wavelength conversion system and controller in claims 1 and 20.
First wavelength conversion system and second wavelength conversion system in claim 16.
Transfer optical system in claim 19.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Wavelength conversion system is defined by the specification as a LBO and KBBF crystal (paragraph 0037, lines 1-4).The controller is defined by the specification as a laser control section 18, the solid state laser control section 26 and the laser radiation control section 58 which is formed by a central processing unit and memory (paragraph 0063, lines 1-5). The transfer optical system is defined by the specification as a plurality of lenses (paragraph 0059, lines 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,5-8,12,13,15,16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onose et al (US 10,256,594).
With regards to claim 1, Onose et al discloses a laser apparatus comprising (solid state laser system, Title): a plurality of semiconductor lasers (first solid-state laser unit 11 and second solid-state laser unit 12, Fig. 6); a plurality of optical switches disposed respectively in optical paths of the plurality of respective semiconductor lasers (first optical shutter 23 and second optical shutter 28, Fig. 6); a wavelength conversion system configured to convert pulsed beams outputted from the plurality of optical switches in terms of wavelength to generate wavelength- converted beams (crystals 18,19,21 and 22, Fig. 6); an ArF excimer laser amplifier configured to amplify the wavelength-converted beams outputted from the wavelength conversion system (amplifier 2, Fig. 6); and a controller configured to control operations of the plurality of semiconductor lasers and the plurality of optical switches (a burst pulse controller 3, synchronous circuit 13 and solid state laser controller 14, Fig. 6), the plurality of semiconductor lasers each being configured to output a laser beam so produced that wavelengths of the wavelength-converted beams outputted from the wavelength conversion system are wavelengths at which the ArF excimer laser amplifier performs amplification (first solid-state laser unit 11 and second solid-state laser unit 12 each output a laser beam which is then outputted to amplifier 2, Fig. 6), the laser beams outputted from the plurality of semiconductor lasers having wavelengths different from each other (first solid stater laser unit 11 produces a laser light having a wavelength of 257.5 nm and second solid state laser unit 12 produces a laser light having a wavelength of 1554 nm, paragraphs 0066, 0067,0668), and the plurality of semiconductor lasers being configured to output the laser beams so produced that the wavelengths of the wavelength-converted beams differ from an optical absorption line of oxygen (spectral line widths of the first laser diode 20 and the second laser diode 40 may be set to cause a spectral line width of the third pulsed laser light 71C with 193.4 nm converted by the wavelength conversion system 15 to be an acceptable line width of the exposure apparatus 4, paragraph 0071, lines 1-3).
With regards to claim 2, Onose et al discloses wherein the plurality of semiconductor lasers are each configured to output the laser beam based on continuous wave oscillation (first solid state laser unit 11 has first continuous wave excitation diode 20 and second solid state laser unit 12 has a second laser diode with continuous wave oscillation 40, Fig. 1), and the plurality of optical switches are configured to convert the laser beams outputted from the plurality of semiconductor lasers into pulses at timings specified by the controller and output the pulsed beams (first optical shutter 23 and second optical shutter 28 configured to create pulses using synchronous circuit 13, Fig. 6).
With regards to claim 3, Onose et al discloses wherein the plurality of optical switches are each configured to perform the pulse conversion by performing the operation including controlling the beam passage timing and amplifying the beam (burst pulse controller 3 controls second optical shutter 28 and shutter 23 by sending a signal to synchronous circuit 13, Fig. 6).
With regards to claim 5, Onose et al discloses wherein the plurality of semiconductor lasers are each a distributed feedback semiconductor laser (the first laser diode 20 may be a distributed-feedback laser diode and the second laser diode 40 may be a distributed-feedback laser diode, paragraph 0067,0069), and the controller is configured to specify an oscillation wavelength at which each of the plurality of semiconductor lasers operates (solid-state laser controller 14 to control unit 11 and unit 12, Fig. 6).
With regards to claim 6, Onose et al discloses wherein the absorption line is present between at least any two of the wavelengths of the plurality of wavelength-converted beams generated by the wavelength conversion system (spectral line widths of the first laser diode 20 and the second laser diode 40 may be set to cause a spectral line width of the third pulsed laser light 71C with 193.4 nm converted by the wavelength conversion system 15 to be an acceptable line width of the exposure apparatus 4, paragraph 0071, lines 1-3).
With regards to claim 7, Onose et al discloses wherein the wavelength conversion system is configured to generate a fourth harmonic as each of the wavelength-converted beams (the LBO crystal 22 and the CLBO crystal 22 may generate a fourth harmonic, paragraph 0083, lines 7-9).
With regards to claim 8, Onose et al discloses an optical amplifier disposed in an optical path between the wavelength conversion system and the plurality optical switches (solid state amplifier 27 is between a wavelength conversion system 15 and optical shutter 23, Fig. 6).
With regards to claim 12, Onose et al discloses wherein plurality of the wavelength conversion systems are arranged in series along an optical path (crystals 18,19,21 and 22 are in series, Fig. 6).
With regards to claim 13, Onose et al discloses wherein a multiline pulsed laser beam generated by the wavelength conversion performed by the wavelength conversion systems and having a plurality of wavelengths is inputted to the ArF excimer laser amplifier, and a difference between maximum and minimum wavelengths of peak wavelengths at multiple lines of the multiline pulsed laser beam is greater than 200 pm (first pulsed laser light 71A has a wavelength of 257.5 nm and wavelength after crystal 18 has a wavelength 220.9 nm and that difference would satisfy the claim, Fig. 6).
With regards to claim 15, Onose et al discloses a first solid-state laser apparatus (first solid-state laser unit 11, Fig. 6); and a second solid-state laser apparatus (second solid state laser unit 12, Fig. 6), wherein a first pulsed laser beam outputted from the first solid-state laser apparatus and a second pulsed laser beam outputted from the second solid-state laser apparatus enter the wavelength conversion system (laser from first solid-state laser unit 11 and second solid state laser unit 12 is outputted into crystals 18,19,21 and 22, Fig. 6), and at least one of the first solid-state laser apparatus and the second solid-state laser apparatus includes the plurality of semiconductor lasers (first solid state laser unit 11 has diode 20,51 and 52 and second solid state laser unit 12 has diodes 40 and 53, Fig. 6) and the plurality of optical switches (first solid-state laser unit 11 and second solid state laser unit 12 each have a shutter 23 and are a combination of a cell and a polarizer, paragraph 0062, lines 7-9).
With regards to claim 16, Onose et al discloses wherein the first solid-state laser apparatus includes a first semiconductor laser (first solid-state laser unit 11 may be configured to output first pulsed laser light 71A, paragraph 0066, lines 1-2), a first optical switch disposed in an optical path of the first semiconductor laser (first optical shutter 23, Fig. 6), a first optical amplifier configured to amplify a first pulsed beam outputted from the first optical switch (first fiber amplifier 25 configured to amplify laser outputted from first optical shutter 23, Fig. 6), and a first wavelength conversion system configured to convert in terms of wavelength a first amplified beam outputted from the first optical amplifier and output a first wavelength-converted beam (crystals 21 and 22 in first solid state laser unit 11, Fig. 6), the second solid-state laser apparatus includes a plurality of second semiconductor lasers that are the plurality of semiconductor lasers (second solid-state laser unit 12 includes diodes 40 and 53, Fig. 6), a plurality of second optical switches that are the plurality of optical switches (a shutter 28 and are a combination of a cell and a polarizer, paragraph 0062, lines 7-9), and a second optical amplifier configured to amplify second pulsed beams that are the pulsed beams outputted from the plurality of optical switches (second fiber amplifier 42 amplifies second pulsed laser night 71B that enters second optical shutter 28, Fig. 6), and a second wavelength conversion system that is the wavelength conversion system is configured to receive the first wavelength-converted beam outputted from the first wavelength conversion system and a second amplified beam outputted from the second optical amplifier and output the wavelength-converted beam having a sum frequency produced from the first wavelength-converted beam and the second amplified beam (wavelength conversion system 15 is configured to receive beam from first solid-state laser unit 11 and a beam is outputted from wavelength conversion system 15,Fig. 6).
With regards to claim 20, Onose et al discloses a method for manufacturing an electronic device (solid state laser system can be used to manufacture an electronic device, Title), the method using a plurality of semiconductor lasers (first solid-state laser unit 11 and second solid-state laser unit 12, Fig. 6), a plurality of optical switches disposed respectively in optical paths of the plurality of respective semiconductor lasers (first optical shutter 23 and second optical shutter 28, Fig. 6), a wavelength conversion system configured to convert pulsed beams outputted from the plurality of optical switches in terms of wavelength to generate wavelength- converted beams(crystals 18,19,21 and 22, Fig. 6), an ArF excimer laser amplifier configured to amplify the wavelength-converted beams outputted from the wavelength conversion system (amplifier 2, Fig. 6), and a controller configured to control operations of the plurality of semiconductor lasers and the plurality of optical switches (a burst pulse controller 3, synchronous circuit 13 and solid state laser controller 14, Fig. 6), the plurality of semiconductor lasers each being configured to output a laser beam so produced that wavelengths of the wavelength-converted beams outputted from the wavelength conversion system are wavelengths at which the ArF excimer laser amplifier performs amplification (first solid-state laser unit 11 and second solid-state laser unit 12 each output a laser beam which is then outputted to amplifier 2, Fig. 6), the laser beams outputted from the plurality of semiconductor lasers having wavelengths different from each other (first solid stater laser unit 11 produces a laser light having a wavelength of 257.5 nm and second solid state laser unit 12 produces a laser light having a wavelength of 1554 nm, paragraphs 0066, 0067,0668), the plurality of semiconductor lasers being configured to generate excimer laser beams by using laser apparatuses configured to output the laser beams so produced that the wavelengths of the wavelength-converted beams generated by the wavelength conversion differ from an optical absorption line of oxygen (spectral line widths of the first laser diode 20 and the second laser diode 40 may be set to cause a spectral line width of the third pulsed laser light 71C with 193.4 nm converted by the wavelength conversion system 15 to be an acceptable line width of the exposure apparatus 4, paragraph 0071, lines 1-3), and the method comprising outputting the excimer laser bean to a processing apparatus and irradiating a radiation receiving object with the excimer laser beam in the processing apparatus to manufacture an electronic device (laser beam is outputted by to exposure apparatus 4 to be capable of working an electronic device, Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 4,14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onose et al as applied to claims 1,13 and 16 above, and further in view of Meyer (EP2521227A1).
With regards to claim 4, Onose et al does not disclose wherein the plurality of optical switches are each a semiconductor optical amplifier.
Meyer teaches wherein the plurality of optical switches are each a semiconductor optical amplifier (optical matrix switch 54 comprising a plurality of semiconductor amplifier devices 10, Fig. 3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Onose et al and Meyer before him or her, to modify the first optical shutter and second optical shutter of Onose et al to include the semiconductor amplifier devices as taught by Meyer because the combination allows a reliable and efficient laser switch for a laser processing apparatus.
With regards to claim 14, Onose et al and Meyer does not teach wherein the difference between the maximum and minimum wavelengths of the peak wavelengths at the multiple lines of the multiline pulsed laser beam is smaller than or equal to 450 pm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use the difference in wavelength of Onose et al and Meyer since the applicant has not disclosed that wherein the difference between the maximum and minimum wavelengths of the peak wavelengths at the multiple lines of the multiline pulsed laser beam is smaller than or equal to 450 pm solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with the difference in wavelength of Onose et al and Meyer.
With regards to claim 18, Onose et al discloses wherein a plurality of the wavelength conversion systems are arranged in series along an optical path (laser from first solid-state laser unit 11 and second solid state laser unit 12 is outputted into crystals 18,19,21 and 22 are in series, Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onose et al as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Watanabe et al (US20170244215A1).
With regards to claim 9, Onose et al does not disclose wherein the optical amplifier is a titanium-sapphire amplifier using a titanium-sapphire crystal.
Watanabe et al teaches the optical amplifier is a titanium-sapphire amplifier using a titanium-sapphire crystal (power oscillator 60 having a titanium-sapphire crystal 61, Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Onose et al and Watanabe et al before him or her, to modify the optical amplifier of Onose et al to include the titanium-sapphire amplifier as taught by Watanabe et al because the combination allows for efficient beam characteristics for a laser processing apparatus.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onose et al as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Taylor et al (US 8,773,752).
With regards to claim 10, Onose et al does not disclose wherein the optical amplifier is a fiber amplifier using an optical fiber doped with an impurity.
Taylor et al teaches wherein the optical amplifier is a fiber amplifier using an optical fiber doped with an impurity (narrow band fiber Raman optical amplifier with dopants as listed, col 4, lines 47-53).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Onose et al and Taylor et al before him or her, to modify the optical amplifier of Onose et al to include the fiber amplifier as taught by Taylor et al because the combination allows precise output polarization and stable operation.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onose et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aanesuto et al (JPH0766781).
With regards to claim 11, Onose et al does not disclose wherein the wavelength conversion system is configured to generate a second harmonic as each of the wavelength-converted beams.
Aanesuto et al teaches wherein the wavelength conversion system is configured to generate a second harmonic as each of the wavelength-converted beams (the harmonic generator 38 may provide the second harmonic i .sup.2 (t) or the third harmonic i .sup.3 (t) of the modulated signal, paragraph 0027, lines 1-2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Onose et al and Aanesuto et al before him or her, to modify the wavelength conversion system of Onose et al to include the second harmonics as taught by Aanesuto et al because the combination allows for increased efficiency and improve operation.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onose et al as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Mo et al (CN102875019A).
With regards to claim 17, Onose et al does not disclose wherein the first optical amplifier includes an Yb fiber amplifier using an optical fiber doped with Yb, and the second optical amplifier includes an Er fiber amplifier using an optical fiber doped with Er.
Mo et al teaches wherein the first optical amplifier includes an Yb fiber amplifier using an optical fiber doped with Yb, and the second optical amplifier includes an Er fiber amplifier using an optical fiber doped with Er (the prefabricated target rod of rare earth material may be a rare earth material inorganic compound mixed with a co-doped metal inorganic compound, and pressed into a column with a density higher than 3.5g / cm 3, wherein the rare earth element is Yb (Ytterbium) , Er (erbium), Tm (thulium), Nd (neodymium), Tb (terbium), Dy (dysprosium), Ho (holmium), Sm (samarium), Ce (cerium), Pr (praseodymium), Pm (promethium) One or more of the elements, the co-doped metal element is Al (aluminum) element, page 5, lines 1-6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Onose et al and Mo et al before him or her, to modify the amplifier of Onose et al to include rare earth material inorganic compounds as taught by Mo et al because the combination allows for optimal amplifiers that allow for high energy dissipation.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onose et al in view of Kakizaki (WO2018100638A1).
With regards to claim 19, Onose et al discloses a laser processing system (solid-state laser system, Fig. 6) comprising: a laser apparatus comprising (solid state laser system, Title): a plurality of semiconductor lasers (first solid-state laser unit 11 and second solid-state laser unit 12, Fig. 6); a plurality of optical switches disposed respectively in optical paths of the plurality of respective semiconductor lasers (first optical shutter 23 and second optical shutter 28, Fig. 6); a wavelength conversion system configured to convert pulsed beams outputted from the plurality of optical switches in terms of wavelength to generate wavelength- converted beams (crystals 18,19,21 and 22, Fig. 6); an ArF excimer laser amplifier configured to amplify the wavelength-converted beams outputted from the wavelength conversion system (amplifier 2, Fig. 6); and a controller configured to control operations of the plurality of semiconductor lasers and the plurality of optical switches (a burst pulse controller 3, synchronous circuit 13 and solid state laser controller 14, Fig. 6), the plurality of semiconductor lasers each being configured to output a laser beam so produced that wavelengths of the wavelength-converted beams outputted from the wavelength conversion system are wavelengths at which the ArF excimer laser amplifier performs amplification (first solid-state laser unit 11 and second solid-state laser unit 12 each output a laser beam which is then outputted to amplifier 2, Fig. 6), the laser beams outputted from the plurality of semiconductor lasers having wavelengths different from each other (first solid stater laser unit 11 produces a laser light having a wavelength of 257.5 nm and second solid state laser unit 12 produces a laser light having a wavelength of 1554 nm, paragraphs 0066, 0067,0668), and the plurality of semiconductor lasers being configured to output the laser beams so produced that the wavelengths of the wavelength-converted beams differ from an optical absorption line of oxygen (spectral line widths of the first laser diode 20 and the second laser diode 40 may be set to cause a spectral line width of the third pulsed laser light 71C with 193.4 nm converted by the wavelength conversion system 15 to be an acceptable line width of the exposure apparatus 4, paragraph 0071, lines 1-3).
Onose et al does not disclose a processing apparatus configured to radiate an excimer laser beam outputted from the laser apparatus onto a radiation receiving object, the processing apparatus including a table on which the radiation receiving object is placed, and a radiation optical system configured to guide the excimer laser beam outputted from the laser apparatus to the radiation receiving object on the table, and the radiation optical system including an optical path difference prism configured to lower coherence of the excimer laser beam outputted from the laser apparatus, a mask configured to define an exposure pattern applied to the radiation receiving object, a beam homogenizer disposed in an optical path between the optical path difference prism and the mask, and a transfer optical system configured to transfer an image of the mask illuminated via the beam homogenizer onto a surface of the radiation receiving object.
Kakizaki teaches a processing apparatus configured to radiate an excimer laser beam outputted from the laser apparatus onto a radiation receiving object (laser processing system 2, Fig. 1), the processing apparatus including a table on which the radiation receiving object is placed (the table 33 supports the workpiece 41, Fig. 29), and a radiation optical system configured to guide the excimer laser beam outputted from the laser apparatus to the radiation receiving object on the table (housing 37 configured to guide laser from optical path tube 5 to workpiece 41, Fig. 29), and the radiation optical system including an optical path difference prism configured to lower coherence of the excimer laser beam outputted from the laser apparatus (attenuator 52 has partial reflection mirror 52a and the partial reflection mirror 52b adjust the inclination angle by the rotation stage 52 c and the rotation stage 52 d so that the incident angle of the pulse laser light coincides with each other and has a desired transmittance, Fig. 29), a mask configured to define an exposure pattern applied to the radiation receiving object (window 42A, Fig. 29), a beam homogenizer disposed in an optical path between the optical path difference prism and the mask (beam homogenizer 74, Fig. 29), and a transfer optical system configured to transfer an image of the mask illuminated via the beam homogenizer onto a surface of the radiation receiving object (transfer lens 76, Fig. 29).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Onose et al and Kakizaki before him or her, to modify the laser system of Onose et al to include the processing apparatus as taught by Kakizaki because the combination allows for increased controllability of a laser processing system.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761