DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated March 13, 2026, claims 1-6, 8-14, 16-17 and 21-25 are pending. Claims 1, 8, 9 and 16 are amended, claims 24-25 are newly added, claims 18-19 are presently cancelled and claims 7, 15 and 20 were previously cancelled.
Drawings
The drawings were received on march 13, 2026. These drawings are accepted.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that the amended claim language is not disclosed by the combination of Volta and Anderson.
The reference of Dorogusker et al. US20080119241A1, as detailed further in the rejection below, is newly cited as disclosing a dual charging adapter that is used to provide convenience to a user by allowing more than one device to be charged at a time. The new grounds of rejection is necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-10, 13-14, 16-17, 21-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volta et al. US20180293412A1 in view of Anderson et al. US20230119670A1 and Dorogusker et al. US20080119241A1.
Regarding claim 1, Volta discloses a wireless power system (FIG. 4A-G).
Volta discloses a wireless charging device including a cradle housing (300) inclusive of a transmit inductor coil (341) configured to charge a barcode scanner (100) when the barcode scanner is positioned within the cradle housing (FIG. 4E - ¶75);
Volta does not explicitly teach a wireless adapter configured to be detachably inserted at least partially within the cradle housing when the barcode scanner is not positioned within the cradle housing, the wireless adapter including: a structural member configured to conform to an internal structure of the cradle housing when inserted therein; a receive inductor coil supported by the structural member, and configured to inductively receive wireless power signals inductively transferred by the transmit inductor coil of the wireless charging device; an electrical circuit configured to convert the wireless power signals received by the receive inductor coil into electrical signals; and an output configured to output the electrical signals from the electrical circuit to provide power to one or more external devices other than the barcode scanner and the wireless charging device and that are not being secured by the cradle housing .
Anderson teaches a wireless adapter (104/204) configured to be detachably inserted at least partially (¶27 - adaptor is selectively placed on a charging pad) within the cradle housing (106) when the barcode scanner (102) is not positioned within the cradle housing (FIG. 1 the scanner is not directly attached to the charging pad) (¶36 - NFC conductor 140 used in an adapter for a portable scanning system that includes a cradle charging pad; ¶27 – the charging pad is a raised cradle), the wireless adapter including:
Anderson discloses the wireless adaptor (104/204) includes a structural member (body 112) configured to conform to an internal structure of the cradle housing when inserted therein. (¶27 – the charging pad is a raised cradle and the bottom 115 of the adapter 104 is shaped to be complementary to the charging pad 106).
Anderson discloses the wireless adaptor includes a receive inductor coil (¶35 - wireless charging receiver conductor 136 positioned in the body) supported by the structural member (112), and configured to inductively receive wireless power signals inductively transferred by the transmit inductor coil (¶38 - wireless charging transmitter conductor 146) of the wireless charging device (¶35 - inductively received power).
Anderson discloses the wireless adaptor includes an electrical circuit configured to convert the wireless power signals received by the receive inductor coil into electrical signals (¶35 - receiver conductor 136 coupled to adapter electrical contacts 130 to provide inductively received power to the barcode reader 102).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an adaptor of Anderson to the system of Volta in order to provide protection to the charger contacts and allow for charging of a wider variety of models (¶1).
In the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner notes that, if “electrical signals” is considered to only mean charging, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that near-field communication (240) from the adapter of Anderson is commonly used for wireless charging. Thus, would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the NFC enabled device for wireless charging of a second device.
Anderson does not explicitly teach a wireless adaptor includes an output configured to output the electrical signals from the electrical circuit to provide power to one or more external devices other than the barcode scanner and the wireless charging device and that are not being secured by the cradle housing.
Dorogusker discloses an output (218) configured to output the electrical signals from the electrical circuit to provide power to one or more external devices (¶30 – when wireless headset 220 is plugged into the recess portion 218, docking station 210 the wireless headset 220 is charged) other than the device to be charged and the wireless charging device and that are not being secured by the cradle housing (FIG. 2 – the wireless headset 220 not being secured in the docking station 210 portion that holds the phone).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill it the art to provide an additional charging output on the adapter in order to provide convenience to a user to charge multiple electronic devices with a single adapter, whether the device be a mobile phone, as taught by Dorogusker or a barcode scanner as taught by Volta (Dorogusker; ¶1-7).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 13, Volta discloses a non- planar surface of the cradle (300) at which the transmit inductor coil (341) of the wireless charging device is positioned (FIG. 4E – transmitting coils 341 are arranged on a non-planar surfaces)
Volta does not explicitly teach that the structural member includes a non-planar surface at which the receive inductor coil is positioned and is complementary to a non- planar surface of the cradle.
Anderson teaches that the structural member (body 112) includes a non-planar surface at which the receive inductor coil is positioned and is complementary to a non-planar surface of the cradle (¶36 adaptor is for a portable scanning system that includes a cradle charging pad) at which the transmit inductor coil of the wireless charging device is positioned (FIG. 6 illustrates that that the wireless power transfer between the adapter and the power source are complementary to each other).
A person of ordinary skill would provide the receive inductor coil of an adapter, as described in Anderson, to be complementary to the transmit inductor of the wireless charging device of Volta in order to provide effective charging.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an adaptor of Anderson to the system of Volta in order to provide protection to the charger contacts and allow for charging of a wider variety of models (para 1).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 14, Volta does not explicitly teach that the receive inductor coil is substantially aligned with the transmit inductor coil of the wireless charging device when the structural member interfaces with the cradle housing of the wireless charging device.
Anderson discloses that the receive inductor coil (¶35 - wireless charging receiver conductor 136 positioned in the body) is substantially aligned with the transmit inductor coil of the wireless charging device (¶38 - wireless charging transmitter conductor 146) when the structural member interfaces with the cradle housing of the wireless charging device (¶27 - “the charge pad 106 may include curvatures or an uneven topography or may be structured as a raised cradle, and the bottom 115 would then be so shaped so as to be complementary to the charge pad 106 or any other surface upon which the barcode reader 102 and adapter 104 are intended to be placed“ thus, the structural member interfaces with the cradle housing).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an adaptor of Anderson to the system of Volta in order to provide protection to the charger contacts and allow for charging of a wider variety of models (¶1).
Regarding claim 8 and claim 16, Volta does not explicitly teach that the electrical circuit is configured to modify an electrical output voltage of the electrical signals based on a device type of an external device electrically coupled to the output in response to the wireless adapter receiving a power requirement received from the external device.
Dorogusker discloses the electrical circuit is configured to modify an electrical output voltage of the electrical signals based on a device type of an external device electrically coupled to the output (claim 17 – the voltage level is adjusted according to the device requirements) in response to the wireless adapter receiving a power requirement received from the external device (¶30 – when the headset is docked, the docking station receives and transmits power to the wireless headset, thus, the adapter receiving a power requirement)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill it the art to provide an additional charging output on the adapter in order to provide convenience to a user to charge multiple electronic devices with a single adapter, whether the device be a mobile phone, as taught by Dorogusker or a barcode scanner as taught by Volta (Dorogusker; ¶1-7).
Regarding claim 9, Volta discloses a system (FIG. 4A-G) comprising:
Volta discloses a barcode scanner (100) having a first receive inductor coil (143).
Volta discloses a wireless charging device including a cradle housing (300) and a transmit inductor coil (341) disposed therein (FIG. 4A-G), wherein the cradle housing is configured to support the barcode scanner (FIG. 4E) to inductively receive power via the first receive inductor coil (143) from the transmit inductor coil (341) (¶78).
Volta discloses wherein the cradle is configured to support the barcode scanner when the barcode scanner interfaces with the cradle (FIG. 4D-4E where the cradle 300 is illustrated to hold the reader).
Volta does not explicitly teach a wireless adapter configured to be detachably inserted at least partially within the cradle housing when the barcode scanner is not positioned within the cradle housing, the wireless adapter comprising: a structural member configured to conform to an internal structure of the cradle housing when inserted therein; a second receive inductor coil supported by the structural member, and configured to inductively receive wireless power signals inductively transferred by the transmit inductor coil of the wireless charging device when the structural member is placed in proximate location with the cradle housing of the wireless charging device to be supported by the cradle housing while the wireless adapter is positioned within the cradle housing; an electrical circuit configured to convert the wireless power signals received by the receive inductor coil into electrical signals; and an output configured to output the electrical signals from the electrical circuit to one or more external devices other than the barcode scanner that are not being secured by the cradle housing, and wherein the cradle is further configured to support the wireless adapter when the wireless adapter interfaces with the cradle.
Anderson teaches a wireless adapter (104/204) configured to be detachably inserted at least partially (¶27 - adaptor is selectively placed on a charging pad) within the cradle housing (106) when the barcode scanner (102) is not positioned within the cradle housing (FIG. 1 the scanner is not directly attached to the charging pad) (para 36 - NFC conductor 140 used in an adapter for a portable scanning system that includes a cradle charging pad; ¶27 – the charging pad is a raised cradle), the wireless adapter comprising:
Anderson discloses the wireless adaptor (104/204) includes a structural member (body 112) configured to conform to an internal structure of the cradle housing when inserted therein. (¶27 – the charging pad is a raised cradle and the bottom 115 of the adapter 104 is shaped to be complementary to the charging pad 106).
Anderson discloses the wireless adaptor includes a receive inductor coil (¶35 - wireless charging receiver conductor 136 positioned in the body) supported by the structural member (112), and configured to inductively receive wireless power signals inductively transferred by the transmit inductor coil (¶38 - wireless charging transmitter conductor 146) of the wireless charging device (¶35 - inductively received power) when the structural member is placed in proximate location with the cradle housing of the wireless charging device to be supported by the cradle housing while the wireless adapter is positioned within the cradle housing (¶36 – adapter is arranged with a cradle charging pad and data is communicated through a conductor that is proximal to the charging pad).
Anderson discloses the wireless adaptor includes an electrical circuit configured to convert the wireless power signals received by the receive inductor coil into electrical signals (¶35 - receiver conductor 136 coupled to adapter electrical contacts 130 to provide inductively received power to the barcode reader 102).
Anderson discloses wherein the cradle is further configured to support the wireless adapter when the wireless adapter interfaces with the cradle (¶27 – charge pad includes curvatures such as a cradle and the bottom 115 of the adapter is shaped to be complimentary to the charging pad; ¶36 – charging pad is a cradle charging pad that the adapter electrically connects).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an adaptor of Anderson to the system of Volta in order to provide protection to the charger contacts and allow for charging of a wider variety of models (¶1).
Anderson does not explicitly disclose that an output configured to output the electrical signals from the electrical circuit to provide power to one or more external devices other than the barcode scanner and the cradle and that are not being secured by the cradle housing.
Dorogusker discloses an output (218) configured to output the electrical signals from the electrical circuit to provide power to one or more external devices (¶30 – when wireless headset 220 is plugged into the recess portion 218, docking station 210 the wireless headset 220 is charged) other than the device to be charged and the cradle and that are not being secured by the cradle housing (FIG. 2 – the wireless headset 220 not being secured in the docking station 210 portion that holds the phone).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill it the art to provide an additional charging output on the adapter in order to provide convenience to a user to charge multiple electronic devices with a single adapter, whether the device be a mobile phone, as taught by Dorogusker or a barcode scanner as taught by Volta (Dorogusker; ¶1-7).
In the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner notes that, if “electrical signals” is considered to only mean charging, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that near-field communication (240) from the adapter of Anderson is commonly used for wireless charging. Thus, would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the NFC enabled device for wireless charging of a second device.
Regarding claim 10, Volta does not explicitly teach that the output of the wireless adapter includes at least one of (i) an output port configured to output the electrical signals from the electrical circuit therefrom, (ii) a second transmit inductor coil configured to output second wireless power signals generated from the electrical signals to the one or more external devices inclusive of a second receive inductor coil, (iii) an adapter antenna configured to transmit or receive data signals, or (iv) a multi-battery charger.
Anderson discloses that the output of the wireless adapter (104/204) includes an output port (130) configured to output the electrical signals from the electrical circuit therefrom (¶35).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an adaptor of Anderson to the system of Volta in order to provide protection to the charger contacts and allow for charging of a wider variety of models (¶1).
Regarding claim 17, Volta does not explicitly disclose that the wireless adapter is configured to transmit data to the wireless charging device via a data channel between the wireless adapter and the wireless charging device.
Anderson discloses the wireless adapter (104/204) is configured to transmit data to the wireless charging device via a data channel between the wireless adapter and the wireless charging device (¶36 – the microcontroller 142 can provide pairing information provided by the barcode reader 102 to a charge pad 106).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an adaptor of Anderson to the system of Volta in order to provide protection to the charger contacts and allow for charging of a wider variety of models (¶1).
Regarding claim 21. Volta does not explicitly teach that the output includes an output port configured to output the electrical signals from the electrical circuit therefrom.
Anderson discloses that the output includes an output port (130) configured to output the electrical signals from the electrical circuit therefrom (¶35).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an adaptor of Anderson to the system of Volta in order to provide protection to the charger contacts and allow for charging of a wider variety of models (¶1).
Regarding claim 22. Volta discloses the cradle 300 having a plurality of transmittance coils 341 where the reader 100 includes corresponding receiving coils 143.
Although Volta discloses a second transmit inductor coil configured to output second wireless power signals generated from the electrical signals to the one or more external devices inclusive of a second receive inductor coil, Volta does not explicitly disclose that the second transmit inductor coil is within an adaptor.
Anderson discloses and adaptor 104 where the transmission interface corresponds with the receiving interface of the reader 102.
Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill, that if the reader has a plurality of receivers, to duplicate the transmitters of the adaptor of Anderson to provide optimal charging.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an adaptor of Anderson to the system of Volta in order to provide protection to the charger contacts and allow for charging of a wider variety of models (¶1).
Regarding claim 24. Volta does not explicitly teach that the wireless adapter includes one or more voltage regulators, voltage optimizers, voltage stabilizers, or voltage correctors to facilitate modifying the electrical circuit to output a different voltage depending on the power requirement received from the external device.
Dorogusker discloses that the wireless adapter includes one or more voltage regulators, voltage optimizers, voltage stabilizers, or voltage correctors to facilitate modifying the electrical circuit to output a different voltage depending on the power requirement received from the external device (claim 17 the plug body or adapter includes a regulation circuit to adapt a voltage level present to a different voltage level according to what is being charged).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill it the art to provide an additional charging output on the adapter in order to provide convenience to a user to charge multiple electronic devices with a single adapter, whether the device be a mobile phone, as taught by Dorogusker or a barcode scanner as taught by Volta (Dorogusker; ¶1-7).
Claims 2-4 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volta et al. US20180293412A1 in view of Anderson et al. US20230119670A1 and Dorogusker et al. US20080119241A1 and further in view of Boulanger et al. US20200389058A1.
Regarding claim 2, Volta does not explicitly teach that the output includes an adapter antenna configured to transmit or receive data signals.
Boulanger discloses that an adaptor 100 output (wireless power transmitter 116) includes an adapter antenna (102/103 ) configured to transmit (103) or receive data signals (102) (¶67 and 73 – antenna 103 is configured to transmit wireless power).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply an antenna, as taught by Boulanger, to the adaptor of Anderson in order to allow for contactless charging which improves the quality and efficiency of the power transfer (¶7).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 11, Although Volta discloses a device (200) that receives signals from the wireless charging device (800), Volta does not explicitly disclose that the output includes the adapter antenna, and wherein the adapter antenna is configured to wireless transmit the amplified data signals with a longer range than the wireless charging device.
Boulanger discloses that wherein the adapter antenna (102/103) is configured to wireless transmit the amplified data signals (with 103) with a longer range than the wireless charging device (¶75 – transmitter circuitry connected to the antenna 103 transmits power at a second frequency from the current received; ¶13 – adaptor provides additional power output).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply an antenna, as taught by Boulanger, to the adaptor of Anderson in order to allow for contactless charging which improves the quality and efficiency of the power transfer (¶7).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 12, Volta does not explicitly teach that the wireless adapter is configured to receive the data signals via the adapter antenna from a barcode scanner and transmit the data signals to the wireless charging device via a data channel between the wireless adapter and the wireless charging device.
Anderson discloses the wireless adapter (104/204) is configured to receive the data signals from a barcode scanner (102) (¶36 – the microcontroller 142 captures data from the barcode reader 102) and transmit the data signals to the wireless charging device via a data channel between the wireless adapter and the wireless charging device (¶36 – the microcontroller 142 can provide pairing information provided by the barcode reader 102 to a charge pad 106).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an adaptor of Anderson to the system of Volta in order to provide protection to the charger contacts and allow for charging of a wider variety of models (¶1).
Anderson does not explicitly teach that the data signals are received via an adapter antenna.
Boulanger discloses antennas (102/103) that receive and transmit data signals.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply an antenna, as taught by Boulanger, to the adaptor of Anderson in order to allow for contactless charging which improves the quality and efficiency of the power transfer (¶7).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volta et al. US20180293412A1 in view of Anderson et al. US20230119670A1 and Dorogusker et al. US20080119241A1 and in further view of Allen et al. US20160204636A1.
Regarding claim 23. Volta does not explicitly disclose that the wireless adapter is integrated into a multi-battery charger configured to recharge multiple battery packs.
Allen discloses that a charger may include multiple charging bay for a barcode scanner (¶2 and ¶35).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to duplicate the charger system of Volta, as taught by Allen, in order to charge multiple scanners.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volta et al. US20180293412A1 in view of Anderson et al. US20230119670A1 and Dorogusker et al. US20080119241A1 and further in view of Freeman et al. US20200305805A1.
Regarding claim 25. Volta does not explicitly teach that the output is configured to provide power to the one or more external devices via an Ethernet cable or a USB cable connected to an output port of the wireless adapter.
Freeman discloses the output is configured to provide power to the one or more external devices via an Ethernet cable or a USB cable connected to an output port of the wireless adapter (¶180 – wireless charging may not be available for every device, thus a charging cable 121 provides an alternative implementation for charging devices stored within the carry case in addition to the wireless charging interface, the interface being a USB-C or micro USB).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a USB cable, as taught by Freeman, to charge the external device of Dorogusker in order to provide additional means of charging the external device and allow for an alternative implementation, thus, allowing for the charging of a further array of external devices (Freeman; ¶180).
Related Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DeMalo US20210126477A1 in FIG. 14 discloses two adapters for charging.
Yamamoto et al. US20200212689 includes multiple adapters for multiple different devices.
Squillante et al. US20220337079A1 discloses a charging device having a barcode reader charging interface and a spare battery charging interface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859