DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment, filed on December 2nd, 2025, the following are withdrawn from the previous office action, mailed on September 4th, 2025.
Rejections of claims 1-21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) are withdrawn in light of the amendments
Rejections of claims 1-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in light of the amendments
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 14-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alberdi (EP 2883685 A1), in view of Stuecker et al. (US 7527671 B1; hereafter Stuecker) and Mark et al. (US 20200114422 A1; hereafter Mark).
For the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 please refer to the marked version of figure 8 of Alberdi below.
Regarding claim 1, Alberdi (Fig. 8, 9) discloses a method for simultaneously manufacturing a plurality of three-dimensional parts ([0034]; manufacturing 3D porous structures 17), by manufacturing a three-dimensional structure of the plurality of three-dimensional parts connected to each other (Fig. 8; [0034]; 17 are connected to each other), the method including depositing interconnected filaments ([0034]; depositing multiple intertwinings of strands of plastic material) of a build material ([0034]; plastic material) in a predetermined arrangement in a plurality of consecutively stacked layers (Fig. 9; plural layers), wherein the build material comprises a viscous material composition ([0034]; flowing plastic material), wherein the filaments of the consecutive layers are connected to one another at least at contact points between filaments of consecutive layers to obtain a porous structure with interconnected pores between the filaments (Fig. 9; strands of adjacent layers contact each other to form porous structure 17), the filaments of the consecutive layers being at an angle to each other (Fig. 9; strands of adjacent layers are at an angle), wherein a plurality of less-frangible regions are formed in the arrangement of filaments to form the plurality of three-dimensional parts (Fig. 8; strands form 3D porous structures 17), wherein one or more frangible regions are formed in the arrangement of filaments between the plurality of three-dimensional parts (Marked Fig. 8; the areas between structures 17 form frangible regions A and B), and wherein the filaments are deposited such that the one or more frangible regions of the porous structure are connected to the plurality of less-frangible regions (Marked Fig. 8; frangible regions are connected to structures 17), wherein the frangible regions connect adjacently positioned three-dimensional parts together (Marked Fig. 8; frangible regions connect adjacent 17s), wherein the predetermined arrangement of interconnected filaments is configured such that the one or more frangible regions form structurally weakened zones of the porous structure (Marked Fig. 8; frangible regions A and B comprise fewer strands and therefore are structurally weakened zones), such that the porous structure breaks along said one or more frangible regions under influence of a load and/or a stress in order to make the plurality of three-dimensional parts releasable under influence of the load and/or the stress (Marked Fig. 8, Fig. 9; [0034]; frangible regions A and B are cropped out in order to obtain the 3D porous structures 17).
While Alberdi discusses the manufacture of porous three-dimensional parts from ceramic material ([0002]), Alberdi does not explicitly disclose the build material comprises an inorganic particulate material. Alberdi further does not explicitly disclose the load and/or the stress does not break the less-frangible regions, regardless of whether said load and/or stress is applied locally at one or more points or distributed over an area.
However, in the analogous art Stuecker teaches a method of manufacturing a three-dimensional porous structure (Col. 3, Ln. 47-52) by depositing intertwining filaments (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 43-47; alternating crosshatched patterns) of a build material comprising an inorganic particulate material (Col. 4, Ln. 37-39; build material comprises ceramic powder).
Alberdi and Stuecker are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of 3D printing of intertwined filaments of viscous material to form porous 3D structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Alberdi with the teachings of Stuecker to provide the build material comprises an inorganic particulate material. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Doing so would allow for the manufacture of three-dimensional porous structures with a greater variety of heat transfer, mass transfer and pressure drop characteristics as required (Stuecker Col. 2, Ln. 36-39).
Alberdi, in view of Stuecker, does not explicitly disclose the load and/or the stress does not break the less-frangible regions, regardless of whether said load and/or stress is applied locally at one or more points or distributed over an area.
However, in the analogous art Mark teaches fused deposition modeling can be used to print 3D parts ([0004]), wherein portions of the 3D parts (Fig. 4; [0093]; raft or shrinking platform RA 1 and surrounding or lateral shell structure SH 1) may be contiguously connected by structurally weakened portions (Fig. 4; [0093]; a pinched and/or wasp-waisted and/or perforated or otherwise weakened cross-section). These structurally weakened portions may be flexed to break away and separate the portions of the 3D parts ([0093]). As the intention is to separate the portions of the 3D parts from the structurally weakened portions, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the force applied to “flex to break away” is a load and/or stress that breaks the structurally weakened portions, but does not break the portions of the 3D parts.
Alberdi and Mark are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of fused deposition modeling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Alberdi, in view of Stuecker, with the teachings of Mark to provide the frangible regions and less-frangible regions are configured such that the load and/or the stress does not break the less-frangible regions, regardless of whether said load and/or stress is applied locally at one or more points or distributed over an area. Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results supports a conclusion of obviousness. See MPEP 2143 I(D). Doing so would allow the less-frangible regions to easily break away from the frangible regions.
Regarding claim 2, modified Alberdi discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the one or more frangible regions are configured to break in a direction along a cross section of the filaments of the frangible regions which extends under an angle with respect to a longitudinal axis of said filaments forming said frangible regions (Alberdi Fig. 8, 9; [0034]; cropping breaks the frangible regions A and B along the height of the 3D porous structures 17 to provide the 3D porous structures 17).
Regarding claim 3, modified Alberdi discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the porous structure is subjected to the load to cause breaking of the porous structure along the one or more frangible regions connecting the plurality of the three-dimensional parts, the breaking resulting in a release of the plurality of the three-dimensional parts formed by the less-frangible regions, wherein the released plurality of three-dimensional parts are collected (Alberdi Fig. 8, 9; [0034]; cropping breaks the frangible regions A and B along the height of the 3D porous structures 17 to provide the 3D porous structures 17, wherein cropping is a cutting processing and therefore applies a load).
Regarding claim 4, modified Alberdi discloses the method according to claim 1.
Alberdi does not explicitly disclose the build material further comprises water and/or an organic solvent.
However, Stuecker teaches a method of manufacturing a three-dimensional porous structure (Col. 3, Ln. 47-52) by depositing intertwining filaments (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 43-47; alternating crosshatched patterns) of a build material comprising an inorganic particulate material (Col. 4, Ln. 37-39; build material comprises ceramic powder) and water (Col. 4, Ln. 37-39; build material comprises water).
Alberdi and Stuecker are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing of porous structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Alberdi with the teachings of Stuecker to provide the build material further comprises water. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Doing so would allow for the manufacture of three-dimensional porous structures with a greater variety of heat transfer, mass transfer and pressure drop characteristics as required (Stuecker Col. 2, Ln. 36-39).
Regarding claim 5, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 1.
Alberdi does not disclose the build material comprises at least one solvent.
However, Stuecker teaches a method of manufacturing a three-dimensional porous structure (Col. 3, Ln. 47-52) by depositing intertwining filaments (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 43-47; alternating crosshatched patterns) of a build material comprising an inorganic particulate material (Col. 4, Ln. 37-39; build material comprises ceramic powder) and a solvent (Col. 4, Ln. 37-39; build material comprises water, wherein the water is the solvent).
Alberdi and Stuecker are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing of porous structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Alberdi with the teachings of Stuecker to provide the build material comprises at least one solvent. Doing so would allow for the manufacture of three-dimensional porous structures with a greater variety of heat transfer, mass transfer and pressure drop characteristics as required (Stuecker Col. 2, Ln. 36-39).
Regarding claim 6, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 1.
While Alberdi discusses the manufacture of porous three-dimensional parts from ceramic material ([0002]), Alberdi does not disclose the build material is a viscous paste or a viscous suspension of the inorganic particulate material.
However, Stuecker teaches a method of manufacturing a three-dimensional porous structure (Col. 3, Ln. 47-52) by depositing intertwining filaments (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 43-47; alternating crosshatched patterns) of a build material comprising an inorganic particulate material (Col. 4, Ln. 37-39; build material comprises ceramic powder) and a solvent (Col. 4, Ln. 37-39; build material comprises water, wherein the water is the solvent), wherein the build material is a viscous paste or a viscous suspension of the inorganic particulate material (Col. 4, Ln. 42-45; build material is a viscous paste/suspension).
Alberdi and Stuecker are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing of porous structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Alberdi with the teachings of Stuecker to provide the build material is a viscous paste or a viscous suspension of the inorganic particulate material. Doing so would allow for the manufacture of three-dimensional porous structures with a greater variety of heat transfer, mass transfer and pressure drop characteristics as required (Stuecker Col. 2, Ln. 36-39).
Regarding claim 7, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 1.
Alberdi does not disclose the inorganic particulate material is catalytically active material.
However, Stuecker teaches a method of manufacturing a three-dimensional porous structure (Col. 3, Ln. 47-52) by depositing intertwining filaments (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 43-47; alternating crosshatched patterns) of a build material comprising an inorganic particulate material (Col. 4, Ln. 37-39; build material comprises ceramic powder), wherein the inorganic particulate material is catalytically active material (Claim 8; Col. 4, Ln. 18-22; materials are catalytically active).
Alberdi and Stuecker are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing of porous structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Alberdi with the teachings of Stuecker to provide the inorganic particulate material is catalytically active material. Doing so would allow for the manufacture of three-dimensional porous structures with a greater variety of heat transfer, mass transfer and pressure drop characteristics as required (Stuecker Col. 2, Ln. 36-39) and allow for the manufacturing of catalytically active porous structures useful in regeneratable filters (Stuecker Col. 4, Ln. 58-67).
Regarding claim 8, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 1, wherein the inorganic particulate material is a sorbent material.
Alberdi does not disclose the inorganic particulate material is a sorbent material.
However, Stuecker teaches a method of manufacturing a three-dimensional porous structure (Col. 3, Ln. 47-52) by depositing intertwining filaments (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Ln. 43-47; alternating crosshatched patterns) of a build material comprising an inorganic particulate material (Col. 4, Ln. 37-39; build material comprises ceramic powder), wherein the inorganic particulate material is a sorbent material (Col. 6, Ln. 29-31; Col. 7, Ln. 5-9; ceramic powder can be SiC or Alumina, sorbent materials).
Alberdi and Stuecker are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing of porous structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Alberdi with the teachings of Stuecker to provide the inorganic particulate material is a sorbent material. Doing so would allow for the manufacture of three-dimensional porous structures with a greater variety of heat transfer, mass transfer and pressure drop characteristics as required (Stuecker Col. 2, Ln. 36-39).
Regarding claim 9, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 1, wherein the one or more frangible regions comprise regions of filaments in consecutive layers with a reduced intertwining of filaments when compared to intertwining of filaments in less-frangible regions (Alberdi Marked Fig. 8; [0034]; frangible regions A and B do not comprise the intertwinings of the porous structures 17, and therefore have less intertwinings of strands compared to those of the porous structures 17).
Regarding claim 10, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 1, wherein the filaments deposited in the predetermined arrangement at the one or more frangible regions have a reduced density compared to filaments deposited at the less-frangible regions (Alberdi Marked Fig. 8; [0034]; frangible regions A and B do not comprise the intertwinings of the porous structures 17, and therefore frangible regions A and B are less dense than the porous structures 17).
Regarding claim 11, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 10, wherein the reduced density is achieved by the filaments deposited at the one or more frangible regions having, compared to the filaments deposited at the less-frangible regions: a reduced number of filaments per unit of length (Alberdi Marked Fig. 8; [0034]; frangible regions A and B do not comprise the intertwinings of the porous structures 17 and comprise parallel strands, and therefore frangible regions A and B have a reduced number of filaments per unit of length).
Regarding claim 14, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 1, wherein the filaments deposited in the predetermined arrangement at the one or more frangible regions have a filament-to-filament distance that is increased compared to filaments deposited at the less-frangible regions (Alberdi Marked Fig. 8; [0034]; a filament-to-filament distance between strands in the frangible regions A and B is greater than those in the porous structures 17).
Regarding claim 15, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 14, wherein a filament-to-filament distance in a same layer of one of the one or more frangible regions as in one of the less-frangible regions is increased by at least 20% (Alberdi Marked Fig. 8; [0034]; a filament-to-filament distance between strands in the frangible regions A and B is greater than those in the porous structures 17 by greater than 20%).
Regarding claim 16, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 1, wherein different frangible regions with varying pre-selected frangibility are formed in the porous structure, wherein the different frangible regions are configured to break at different loads (Alberdi Marked Fig. 8; [0034]; frangible regions A and B have different strand orientations/configurations and thus would be expected to have different strengths and therefore are configured to break at different loads).
Regarding claim 21, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 1, wherein the porous structure comprises at least two three-dimensional parts (Alberdi Marked Fig. 8; [0034]; plural porous structures 17 are formed).
Claims 12, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alberdi (EP 2883685 A1), in view of Stuecker et al. (US 7527671 B1; hereafter Stuecker) and Mark et al. (US 20200114422 A1; hereafter Mark) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Gelbart (US 20190168300 A1).
Regarding claim 12, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 1.
Modified Alberdi does not disclose the filaments deposited in the predetermined arrangement at the one or more frangible regions have an increased porosity compared to filaments deposited at the less-frangible regions.
However, Gelbart teaches a method of making a three-dimensional porous structure ([0033]; dried object is highly porous) wherein a support region is made from a build material comprising less binder material than a build material for a dried three-dimensional structure ([0016, 0029]; support paste has little or no binder compared to metal paste comprising binder) and the support region is structurally weaker than the dried three-dimensional structure (claim 6; [0016, 0023]; dried ceramic paste is weaker than dried object). Gelbart teaches the same system can be used to deposit the support region material and the build material ([0016]).
Alberdi and Gelbart are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing of porous structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Alberdi with the teachings of Gelbart to provide the filaments deposited in the predetermined arrangement at the one or more frangible regions have an increased porosity compared to filaments deposited at the less-frangible regions. Doing so would allow cracks to form in the frangible regions when the porous three-dimensional structures are dry and therefore allow the porous three-dimensional structures to be easily removed from the frangible regions (Gelbart [0016, 0023]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 12.
Modified Alberdi does not disclose a higher porosity is achieved by at least one of: filaments made of a build material with an increased solvent concentration, filaments made of a build material with less binder material, filaments made of a build material with a different binder material, filaments made of a build material containing less particulate material.
However, Gelbart teaches a method of making a three-dimensional porous structure ([0033]; dried object is highly porous) wherein a support region is made from a build material comprising less binder material than a build material for a dried three-dimensional structure ([0016, 0029]; support paste has little or no binder compared to metal paste comprising binder) and the support region is structurally weaker than the dried three-dimensional structure (claim 6; [0016, 0023]; dried ceramic paste is weaker than dried object).
Alberdi and Gelbart are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing of porous structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Alberdi with the teachings of Gelbart to provide a higher porosity is achieved by filaments made of a build material with less binder material. Doing so would allow cracks to form in the frangible regions when the porous three-dimensional structures are dry and therefore allow the porous three-dimensional structures to be easily removed from the frangible regions (Gelbart [0016, 0023]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 1.
While Stuecker discloses sintering the porous structure (Col. 7, Ln. 5-9), modified Alberdi does not disclose drying and/or calcination parameters are chosen such that spontaneous cracking along the one or more frangible regions is promoted.
However, Gelbart teaches a method of making a three-dimensional porous structure comprising drying a three-dimensional structure ([0033]; dried object is highly porous), wherein when dry a support region is structurally weaker than the dried three-dimensional structure (claim 6; [0016, 0023]; dried ceramic paste is weaker than dried object).
Alberdi and Gelbart are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing of porous structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Alberdi with the teachings of Gelbart to provide drying and the deposited porous structure, wherein the drying parameters are chosen such that spontaneous cracking along the one or more frangible regions is promoted. Doing so would allow cracks to form in the frangible regions when the porous three-dimensional structures are dry and therefore allow the porous three-dimensional structures to be easily removed from the frangible regions (Gelbart [0016, 0023]).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alberdi (EP 2883685 A1), in view of Stuecker et al. (US 7527671 B1; hereafter Stuecker) and Mark et al. (US 20200114422 A1; hereafter Mark) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Chow et al. (US 20200206384 A1; hereafter Chow).
Regarding claim 17, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 1.
Modified Alberdi does not disclose at the one or more frangible regions the filaments have a diameter that is reduced compared to filaments in the less-frangible regions.
However, Chow (Fig. 2, 3) teaches a method of manufacturing a three-dimensional porous structure (Fig. 2, 3, 6; [0080]) by depositing intertwining filaments of a build material (Fig. 6; [0080]), wherein a diameter of filaments forming a layer can vary within the layer (Fig. 3; [0034]) and/or can vary across plural layers (Fig. 2).
Alberdi and Chow are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing of porous structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Alberdi with the teachings of Chow to provide at the one or more frangible regions the filaments have a diameter that is reduced compared to filaments in the less-frangible regions. Doing so would allow for fine tuning the porosity of the three-dimensional porous structures (Chow [0082]), allow for the manufacture of three-dimensional porous structures with a greater variety of porosities simultaneously and allow for the frangible regions to be more easily separated from the porous structures.
Regarding claim 18, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 1.
Modified Alberdi does not explicitly disclose cross sections at varying positions of one or more of the plurality of less-frangible regions have a varying shape or varying dimensions or a combination thereof.
However, Chow (Fig. 2, 3) teaches a method of manufacturing a three-dimensional porous structure (Fig. 2, 3, 6; [0080]) by depositing intertwining filaments of a build material (Fig. 6; [0080]), wherein a diameter of filaments forming a layer can vary within the layer (Fig. 3; [0034]) and/or can vary across plural layers (Fig. 2).
Alberdi and Chow are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing of porous structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Alberdi with the teachings of Chow to provide cross sections at varying positions of one or more of the plurality of less-frangible regions have a varying shape or varying dimensions or a combination thereof. Doing so would allow for fine tuning the porosity of the three-dimensional porous structures (Chow [0082]) and therefore allow for the manufacture of three-dimensional porous structures with a greater variety of porosities simultaneously.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alberdi (EP 2883685 A1), in view of Stuecker et al. (US 7527671 B1; hereafter Stuecker) and Mark et al. (US 20200114422 A1; hereafter Mark) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Hocker (US 20170259507 A1).
Regarding claim 20, modified Alberdi discloses the method according claim 1.
Modified Alberdi does not disclose a vibration unit is employed for providing vibrations to one or more porous structures so as to facilitate breaking of the one or more frangible regions of the one or more porous structures under influence of the vibrations, wherein the less-frangible regions remain intact under influence of said applied vibrations.
However, Hocker a method of making three-dimensional structures ([0018]) wherein a vibration unit ([0059]; vibrating rigid plate) is used to separate a three-dimensional part from a support ([0059]; vibrations separate part composite from build sheet), wherein a vibration force applied to the three-dimensional part can be adjusted based on characteristics of the three-dimensional part ([0059]).
Alberdi and Hocker are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of additive manufacturing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Alberdi with the teachings of Hocker to provide a vibration unit is employed for providing vibrations to one or more porous structures so as to facilitate breaking of the one or more frangible regions of the one or more porous structures under influence of the vibrations, wherein the less-frangible regions remain intact under influence of said applied vibrations. Doing so would avoid damaging the porous three-dimensional structures when separating them from the frangible regions as the frangible regions can be easily separated from the porous three-dimensional structures.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754