This is a final office action.
Response to Amendment
2. This action is in response to communication filed on 05/21/2025.
a. Claims 1-20, 23-29, 31-32 and 34-37 are pending in this application.
b. Claims 1, 18 and 28 has been amended.
c. Claims 21-22 has been canceled. Claims 30 and 33 were previously canceled.
d. Claims 35-37 are newly added.
Response to Arguments Regarding Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
3. Applicant's arguments, see page 8-12 of REMARKS, filed on 05/21/2025, with respect to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 18 and 28 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues in substance that:
a. “As the other applied references fail to cure the deficiencies of Magzimof, currently amended independent claim 1 is allowable over the applied references. Currently amended independent claims 18 and 28 recite similar features and are allowable for similar reasons.” (see remarks, page 10)
Regarding above remarks that claims 18 and 28 recite similar features as claim 1, Examiner disagrees. Claims 18 and 28 does not include amended limitations similar to claim 1. No specific remarks for claims 18 and 28 are provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 18, 23-24, 28, 31-32 and 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 2018/0076970 A1, hereinafter Han) in view of O’Mahony et al. (US 2017/0134537 A1, hereinafter O’Mahony).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches a system comprising:
vehicle having a first network of a first type and a second network of a second type ([2, 94]: The present disclosure relates to a communication technology in a vehicle network, and more specifically, to an automotive safety integrity level (ASIL) based communication technology in a vehicle network comprising a controller area network (CAN) and an Ethernet-based network (i.e. CAN is the first network and “Ethernet-based network” is the second network in a vehicle)), wherein the first type is different from the second type ([20]: Instruction may be configured to receive an Ethernet message from a second communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network; generate a CAN message based on the Ethernet message for which the integrity verification has been completed; and transmit the CAN message to a third communication node belonging to the CAN (i.e. CAN and Ethernet-based network are different type networks);
a first device on the first network ([16]: An operating method of a first communication node supporting communications between an Ethernet-based network and a controller area network (CAN) may comprise receiving a CAN message from a second communication node belonging to the CAN (i.e. second communication node belonging to the CAN is a first device on first network)); and
a converged network device (CND) interposed between the first network and the second network and structured to: facilitate communications between the first device and the second network ([20]: A first communication node supporting communications between an Ethernet-based network and a controller area network (CAN) may comprise a processor and a memory storing at least one instruction executed by the processor (i.e. first communication node is the CND interposed between CAN and Ethernet-based network)).
Han however does not teach up-sample one or more messages between the first network of the first type and the second network of the second type, wherein the up-sample adjusts a number of the one or more messages including inserting one or more additional messages to generate up-sampled data messages.
O’Mahony teaches up-sample one or more messages between the first network of the first type and the second network of the second type ([27-30]: The connection 136 may include a wireless communication link established between the VDLC 110 and the VID 114. That connection to the VDR 118 may include a communication link 116. The communication link 116 may include a wireless communication link, a wired communication link, or a combination of a wireless communication link and a wired communication link. [79, 109]: Detecting the first trigger to change the VDTM may include detecting a change in signal strength of a signal transmitted from the VDR 118. A change in signal strength may allow for or require a change in the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118. For example, detecting an increase in signal strength may allow for increasing the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118 (i.e. up-sample data based on increase in signal strength)), wherein the up-sample adjusts a number of the one or more messages including inserting one or more additional messages to generate up-sampled data messages ([3, 99-100]: The communication link may have a maximum data transfer rate for transmitting vehicle data messages to the VDR and that data transfer rate may decrease for various reasons, such as, but not limited to, an increase in interference with the communication link, an increase in distance between the VID and the VDR, and changing communication channels (e.g., a high bandwidth communication channel to a low bandwidth communication channel). When operating below the maximum data transfer rate, the data transfer rate across the communication link may increase from the present data transfer rate until the maximum data transfer rate is obtained. [79, 109]: Detecting the first trigger to change the VDTM may include detecting a change in signal strength of a signal transmitted from the VDR 118. A change in signal strength may allow for or require a change in the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118. For example, detecting an increase in signal strength may allow for increasing the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118 (i.e. up-sampling data adjusts number of data messages by increasing data rate based on conditions of the network, wherein increasing sends/adds more data messages)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han to incorporate the teachings of O’Mahony and up-sample one or more messages between the first network of the first type and the second network of the second type, wherein the up-sample adjusts a number of the one or more messages including inserting one or more additional messages to generate up-sampled data messages. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to get maximum data transfer rate based on network condition (O’Mahony, [03]).
Regarding claim 2, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the system of claim 1.
Han further teaches further comprising: a second device on the second network and structured to communicate with the first device via the CND ([20]: The at least one instruction may be configured to receive an Ethernet message from a second communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network; generate a CAN message based on the Ethernet message for which the integrity verification has been completed; and transmit the CAN message to a third communication node belonging to the CAN (i.e. second communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network is the second device in second network that communicates with first device in CAN via first communication node (CND))).
Regarding claim 4, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the system of claim 1.
Han further teaches wherein at least one of the first network and/or the second network is a Controller Area Network (CAN) based network ([16]: An operating method of a first communication node supporting communications between an Ethernet-based network and a controller area network (CAN) may comprise receiving a CAN message from a second communication node belonging to the CAN (i.e. CAN is the first network)).
Regarding claim 5, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the system of claim 1.
Han further teaches wherein at least one of the first network and/or the second network is an Ethernet based network ([16]: An operating method of a first communication node supporting communications between an Ethernet-based network and a controller area network (CAN) may comprise receiving a CAN message from a second communication node belonging to the CAN (i.e. Ethernet-based network is the second network)).
Regarding claim 6, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the system of claim 5.
Han further teaches wherein the Ethernet based network comprises a data bus architecture ([16, 78]: The communication nodes (i.e., gateways, switches, end nodes, etc.) constituting the vehicle network may be connected in a bus topology (i.e. switches and nodes in Ethernet-based network are in bus architecture)).
Regarding claim 7, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the system of claim 1.
Han further teaches wherein the first network is a Controller Area Network (CAN) based network and the second network is an Ethernet based network ([16]: An operating method of a first communication node supporting communications between an Ethernet-based network and a controller area network (CAN) may comprise receiving a CAN message from a second communication node belonging to the CAN (i.e. CAN is the first network and Ethernet-based network is the second network)).
Regarding claim 18, Han teaches an apparatus comprising:
a first network interface circuit structured to interpret a first network data set having a first network format ([67, 130-131]: If the destination of the CAN message is a communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network, the gateway 200 may generate an Ethernet message (e.g., the Ethernet message 300 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) based on the corresponding CAN message (S1605) (i.e. interpreting CAN message from the CAN network in the vehicle));
a translation circuit structured to: determine one or more message values from the first network data set and to encode the one or more message values in a second network data set having a second network format ([67, 130-131]: If the destination of the CAN message is a communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network, the gateway 200 may generate an Ethernet message (e.g., the Ethernet message 300 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) based on the corresponding CAN message (S1605). An Ethernet message 300 may include a header 310, at least one data unit (DU) 321, 322, and 323, and the like. Also, the Ethernet message 300 may further include automotive safety integrity level (ASIL) authentication information 330. If the destination of the CAN message received from the end node # 6 231 is the end node # 1 211, the gateway 200 may transmit the Ethernet message to the end node # 1 211 (S1606) (i.e. the gateway generates Ethernet message by encoding message from CAN network)); and
a second network interface circuit structured to transmit the second network data set ([67, 130-131]: If the destination of the CAN message is a communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network, the gateway 200 may generate an Ethernet message (e.g., the Ethernet message 300 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) based on the corresponding CAN message (S1605). The Ethernet message may be transmitted to the end node # 1 211 via the switch # 1 210 (i.e. the gateway provides encoded Ethernet message to destination));
wherein: the first network format and the second network format are vehicle data formats ([2, 94]: The present disclosure relates to a communication technology in a vehicle network, and more specifically, to an automotive safety integrity level (ASIL) based communication technology in a vehicle network comprising a controller area network (CAN) and an Ethernet-based network (i.e. CAN is the first network and “Ethernet-based network” is the second network in a vehicle)); and
the first network format is different than the second network format ([20]: Instruction may be configured to receive an Ethernet message from a second communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network; generate a CAN message based on the Ethernet message for which the integrity verification has been completed; and transmit the CAN message to a third communication node belonging to the CAN (i.e. CAN network format and Ethernet-based network format are different type networks).
Han however does not teach wherein the one or more encoded message values are at up- sampled from the one or more message values, and the up-sample adjusts a ratio of a number of the one or more encoded messages values to the one or more message values.
O’Mahony teaches wherein the one or more encoded message values are at up- sampled from the one or more message values ([27-30]: The connection 136 may include a wireless communication link established between the VDLC 110 and the VID 114. That connection to the VDR 118 may include a communication link 116. The communication link 116 may include a wireless communication link, a wired communication link, or a combination of a wireless communication link and a wired communication link. [79, 109]: Detecting the first trigger to change the VDTM may include detecting a change in signal strength of a signal transmitted from the VDR 118. A change in signal strength may allow for or require a change in the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118. For example, detecting an increase in signal strength may allow for increasing the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118 (i.e. up-sample data based on increase in signal strength)), and the up-sample adjusts a ratio of a number of the one or more encoded messages values to the one or more message values (application specification nowhere describes term ‘ratio’. At best, [158,162] explains up-sampling operation changing an original 50 ms data stream to an up-sampled 20 ms data stream by inserting one or more messages.) ([3, 99-100]: The communication link may have a maximum data transfer rate for transmitting vehicle data messages to the VDR and that data transfer rate may decrease for various reasons, such as, but not limited to, an increase in interference with the communication link, an increase in distance between the VID and the VDR, and changing communication channels (e.g., a high bandwidth communication channel to a low bandwidth communication channel). When operating below the maximum data transfer rate, the data transfer rate across the communication link may increase from the present data transfer rate until the maximum data transfer rate is obtained. [79, 109]: Detecting the first trigger to change the VDTM may include detecting a change in signal strength of a signal transmitted from the VDR 118. A change in signal strength may allow for or require a change in the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118. For example, detecting an increase in signal strength may allow for increasing the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118 (i.e. up-sampling data adjusts number of data messages by increasing data rate based on conditions of the network, wherein increasing sends/adds more data messages))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han to incorporate the teachings of O’Mahony and wherein the one or more encoded message values are at up- sampled from the one or more message values, and the up-sample adjusts a ratio of a number of the one or more encoded messages values to the one or more message values. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to get maximum data transfer rate based on network condition (O’Mahony, [03]).
Regarding claim 23, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the apparatus of claim 18.
Han further teaches wherein one of the first network format or the second network format is Controller Area Network (CAN) based, and the other of the first network format or the second network format is Ethernet based ([16]: An operating method of a first communication node supporting communications between an Ethernet-based network and a controller area network (CAN) may comprise receiving a CAN message from a second communication node belonging to the CAN (i.e. CAN is the first network format and Ethernet-based network is the second network format)).
Regarding claim 24, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the apparatus of claim 23.
Han further teaches wherein one or more CAN messages of the CAN based network can be carried in one Ethernet frame of the Ethernet based network ([67, 130-131]: If the destination of the CAN message is a communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network, the gateway 200 may generate an Ethernet message (e.g., the Ethernet message 300 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) based on the corresponding CAN message (S1605). An Ethernet message 300 may include a header 310, at least one data unit (DU) 321, 322, and 323, and the like. Also, the Ethernet message 300 may further include automotive safety integrity level (ASIL) authentication information 330. If the destination of the CAN message received from the end node # 6 231 is the end node # 1 211, the gateway 200 may transmit the Ethernet message to the end node # 1 211 (S1606). The Ethernet message may be transmitted to the end node # 1 211 via the switch # 1 210 (i.e. message from CAN network is provided as Ethernet message to destination)).
Regarding claim 28, Han teaches a method comprising:
interpreting a first network data set having a first network format for a Controller Area Network (CAN) based network of a vehicle ([67, 130-131]: If the destination of the CAN message is a communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network, the gateway 200 may generate an Ethernet message (e.g., the Ethernet message 300 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) based on the corresponding CAN message (S1605) (i.e. interpreting CAN message from the CAN network in the vehicle));
determining a message value from the first network data set in response to interpreting the first network data set ([67, 128-131]: If the destination of the CAN message is a communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network, the gateway 200 may generate an Ethernet message (e.g., the Ethernet message 300 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) based on the corresponding CAN message (S1605). The gateway 200 may generate the Ethernet message including a header, a payload (e.g., the payload included in the CAN message from the end node # 6 231) (i.e. determine data units from CAN message, payload contains data units interpreted from CAN messages as shown in fig. 3));
encoding the message value in a second network data set having a second network format for an Ethernet based network of the vehicle ([67, 130-131]: If the destination of the CAN message is a communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network, the gateway 200 may generate an Ethernet message (e.g., the Ethernet message 300 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) based on the corresponding CAN message (S1605). An Ethernet message 300 may include a header 310, at least one data unit (DU) 321, 322, and 323, and the like. Also, the Ethernet message 300 may further include automotive safety integrity level (ASIL) authentication information 330. If the destination of the CAN message received from the end node # 6 231 is the end node # 1 211, the gateway 200 may transmit the Ethernet message to the end node # 1 211 (S1606) (i.e. the gateway generates Ethernet message by encoding message from CAN network, here Ethernet message is for second network)), wherein the second network data set comprises an Ethernet message corresponding to at least one CAN message of the first network data set ([67, 130-131]: If the destination of the CAN message is a communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network, the gateway 200 may generate an Ethernet message (e.g., the Ethernet message 300 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) based on the corresponding CAN message (S1605). An Ethernet message 300 may include a header 310, at least one data unit (DU) 321, 322, and 323, and the like. Also, the Ethernet message 300 may further include automotive safety integrity level (ASIL) authentication information 330. If the destination of the CAN message received from the end node # 6 231 is the end node # 1 211, the gateway 200 may transmit the Ethernet message to the end node # 1 211 (S1606) (i.e. the data received from the CAN network is the CAN message that is encoded as Ethernet message)); and
transmitting the second network data set ([67, 130-131]: If the destination of the CAN message is a communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network, the gateway 200 may generate an Ethernet message (e.g., the Ethernet message 300 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) based on the corresponding CAN message (S1605). The Ethernet message may be transmitted to the end node # 1 211 via the switch # 1 210 (i.e. the gateway provides encoded Ethernet message to destination));
wherein:
the first network format and the second network format are vehicle data formats ([2, 94]: The present disclosure relates to a communication technology in a vehicle network, and more specifically, to an automotive safety integrity level (ASIL) based communication technology in a vehicle network comprising a controller area network (CAN) and an Ethernet-based network (i.e. CAN is the first network and “Ethernet-based network” is the second network in a vehicle)); and
the first network format is different than the second network format ([20]: Instruction may be configured to receive an Ethernet message from a second communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network; generate a CAN message based on the Ethernet message for which the integrity verification has been completed; and transmit the CAN message to a third communication node belonging to the CAN (i.e. CAN network format and Ethernet-based network format are different type networks).
Han however does not teach encoding the message value comprises up-sampling the at least one CAN message, wherein the up-sampling adjusts a ratio number of the at least one message value.
O’Mahony teaches encoding the message value comprises up-sampling the at least one CAN message ([22, 27-30]: The connection 136 may include a wireless communication link established between the VDLC 110 and the VID 114. That connection to the VDR 118 may include a communication link 116. The communication link 116 may include a wireless communication link, a wired communication link, or a combination of a wireless communication link and a wired communication link. [79, 109]: Detecting the first trigger to change the VDTM may include detecting a change in signal strength of a signal transmitted from the VDR 118. A change in signal strength may allow for or require a change in the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118. For example, detecting an increase in signal strength may allow for increasing the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118 (i.e. up-sample data based on increase in signal strength)), wherein the up-sampling adjusts a ratio number of the at least one message value (application specification nowhere describes ‘ratio’. At best, [158,162] explains up-sampling operation changing an original 50 ms data stream to an up-sampled 20 ms data stream by inserting one or more messages.) ([3, 99-100]: The communication link may have a maximum data transfer rate for transmitting vehicle data messages to the VDR and that data transfer rate may decrease for various reasons, such as, but not limited to, an increase in interference with the communication link, an increase in distance between the VID and the VDR, and changing communication channels (e.g., a high bandwidth communication channel to a low bandwidth communication channel). When operating below the maximum data transfer rate, the data transfer rate across the communication link may increase from the present data transfer rate until the maximum data transfer rate is obtained. [79, 109]: Detecting the first trigger to change the VDTM may include detecting a change in signal strength of a signal transmitted from the VDR 118. A change in signal strength may allow for or require a change in the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118. For example, detecting an increase in signal strength may allow for increasing the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118 (i.e. up-sampling data adjusts number of data messages by increasing data rate based on conditions of the network, wherein increasing sends/adds more data messages))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han to incorporate the teachings of O’Mahony and encoding the message value comprises up-sampling the at least one CAN message, wherein the up-sampling adjusts a ratio number of the at least one message value. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to get maximum data transfer rate based on network condition (O’Mahony, [03]).
Regarding claim 31, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the method of claim 28.
Han further teaches wherein encoding the message value in the second network data set comprises encapsulating the CAN message into the Ethernet message ([67, 130-131]: If the destination of the CAN message is a communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network, the gateway 200 may generate an Ethernet message (e.g., the Ethernet message 300 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) based on the corresponding CAN message (S1605). An Ethernet message 300 may include a header 310, at least one data unit (DU) 321, 322, and 323, and the like. Also, the Ethernet message 300 may further include automotive safety integrity level (ASIL) authentication information 330. If the destination of the CAN message received from the end node # 6 231 is the end node # 1 211, the gateway 200 may transmit the Ethernet message to the end node # 1 211 (S1606) (i.e. the data received from the CAN network is the CAN message that is encapsulated as Ethernet message)).
Regarding claim 32, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the method of claim 31.
Han further teaches wherein encoding the message value further comprises processing at least one of a payload or a frame portion of the CAN message ([67, 130-131]: Referring to FIG. 3, an Ethernet message 300 may include a header 310, at least one data unit (DU) 321, 322, and 323, and the like. The DU # 1 321, DU # 2 322, and DU # 3 323 may be protocol data units (PDUs), user datagram protocol (UDP) data units, or the like, and may constitute a payload (i.e. CAN message is encoded to make Ethernet message, the encoding involves processing payload)).
Regarding claim 34, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the method of claim 28.
Han further teaches wherein the at least one CAN message includes at least a first CAN message and a second CAN message ([67, 130-131]: Referring to FIG. 3, an Ethernet message 300 may include a header 310, at least one data unit (DU) 321, 322, and 323, and the like. The DU # 1 321, DU # 2 322, and DU # 3 323 may be protocol data units (PDUs), user datagram protocol (UDP) data units, or the like, and may constitute a payload (i.e. CAN message is encoded to make Ethernet message, the encoded message includes multiple data units which are CAN messages)).
Regarding claim 35, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the system of claim 1.
O’Mahony teaches the converged network device (CND) further structured to down-sample one or more other messages between the first network of the first type and the second network of the second type ([27-30]: The connection 136 may include a wireless communication link established between the VDLC 110 and the VID 114. That connection to the VDR 118 may include a communication link 116. The communication link 116 may include a wireless communication link, a wired communication link, or a combination of a wireless communication link and a wired communication link. [79, 109]: Detecting the first trigger to change the VDTM may include detecting a change in signal strength of a signal transmitted from the VDR 118. A change in signal strength may allow for or require a change in the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118. For example, detecting a decrease in signal strength may require decreasing the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118 (i.e. down-sample data based on decrease in signal strength)), wherein the down-sample adjusts a number of the one or more other messages ([3, 99-101]: The communication link may have a maximum data transfer rate for transmitting vehicle data messages to the VDR and that data transfer rate may decrease for various reasons, such as, but not limited to, an increase in interference with the communication link, an increase in distance between the VID and the VDR, and changing communication channels (e.g., a high bandwidth communication channel to a low bandwidth communication channel). [79, 109]: Detecting the first trigger to change the VDTM may include detecting a change in signal strength of a signal transmitted from the VDR 118. A change in signal strength may allow for or require a change in the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118. For example, detecting a decrease in signal strength may require decreasing the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118 (i.e. down-sampling data adjusts number of data messages by decreasing data rate based on conditions of the network)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of O’Mahony to incorporate the teachings of O’Mahony and the converged network device (CND) further structured to down-sample one or more other messages between the first network of the first type and the second network of the second type, wherein the down-sample adjusts a number of the one or more other messages. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to get maximum data transfer rate based on network condition (O’Mahony, [03]).
Regarding claim 36, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the system of claim 1.
O’Mahony teaches wherein the up-sampled data messages include the one or more messages and the one or more additional messages ([3, 99-100]: The communication link may have a maximum data transfer rate for transmitting vehicle data messages to the VDR and that data transfer rate may decrease for various reasons, such as, but not limited to, an increase in interference with the communication link, an increase in distance between the VID and the VDR, and changing communication channels (e.g., a high bandwidth communication channel to a low bandwidth communication channel). When operating below the maximum data transfer rate, the data transfer rate across the communication link may increase from the present data transfer rate until the maximum data transfer rate is obtained. [79, 109]: Detecting the first trigger to change the VDTM may include detecting a change in signal strength of a signal transmitted from the VDR 118. A change in signal strength may allow for or require a change in the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118. For example, detecting an increase in signal strength may allow for increasing the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118 (i.e. up-sampling data includes additional data messages to match the increased data rate based on conditions of the network)), the one or more additional messages includes at least one of an interpolation or an extrapolation of original values of the one or more messages ([83, 99-100]: Determining a VDTM, such as the first VDTM, may include determining a priority associated with a data identifier of a VDM and either adding or removing the VDM including the data identifier to a list of VDM to be transmitted to the VDR 118 while the VID 114 operates in the VDTM. For instance, a VDM including the data identifier may be added to the list in response to determining an increase in the data transfer rate for transmitting VDM (i.e. adding more message data when data transfer rate increases)), and the up-sampled data messages include both spanning data values of the one or more messages and non-spanning data values of the one or more messages ([83, 109]: Determining a VDTM, such as the first VDTM, may include determining a priority associated with a data identifier of a VDM and either adding or removing the VDM including the data identifier to a list of VDM to be transmitted to the VDR 118 while the VID 114 operates in the VDTM. For instance, a VDM including the data identifier may be added to the list in response to determining an increase in the data transfer rate for transmitting VDM. A change in signal strength may allow for or require a change in the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118. For example, detecting an increase in signal strength may allow for increasing the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118 (i.e. the message data includes added data when increase in signal strength is detected)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of O’Mahony to incorporate the teachings of O’Mahony and the up-sampled data messages include the one or more messages and the one or more additional messages, the one or more additional messages includes at least one of an interpolation or an extrapolation of original values of the one or more messages, and the up-sampled data messages include both spanning data values of the one or more messages and non-spanning data values of the one or more messages. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to get maximum data transfer rate based on network condition (O’Mahony, [03]).
Regarding claim 37, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the system of claim 1.
O’Mahony teaches wherein the CND is structured to up-sample the one or more messages to match an up-sampling rate ([79]: Detecting the first trigger to change the VDTM may include detecting a change in signal strength of a signal transmitted from the VDR 118. A change in signal strength may allow for or require a change in the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118. For example, detecting an increase in signal strength may allow for increasing the data transfer rate between the VID 114 and the VDR 118. [100]: The increased data transfer rate may allow the VDR 118 to request an increased amount of data, such as (i) an increased number of VDM relative to a number of VDM previously requested by the VDR 118, (ii) transmitting VDM at an increased rate relative to a most-recent request for transmitting VDM at a particular rate (i.e. up sample message data to meet the increased data transfer rate)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of O’Mahony to incorporate the teachings of O’Mahony and the CND is structured to up-sample the one or more messages to match an up-sampling rate. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to get maximum data transfer rate based on network condition (O’Mahony, [03]).
Claims 3, 19 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of O’Mahony further in view of Doughty et al. (US 2015/0051787 A1, hereinafter Doughty).
Regarding claim 3, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the system of claim 1.
Han in view of O’Mahony however does not teach further comprising: an external device communicatively coupled to the CND, wherein the external device is structured to adjust a configuration of the CND.
Doughty teaches an external device communicatively coupled to the CND, wherein the external device is structured to adjust a configuration of the CND ([16, 34-37]: Head unit 230 may determine the communication protocol being used by VCN 220. User device 240 may provide information that identifies the communication protocol. For example, a user of user device 240 may select a vehicle model using user device 240, and user device 240 may determine (e.g., based on stored information, based on querying telematics monitoring device 260 via network 250, etc.) the communication protocol used by VCN 220 associated with the vehicle model (i.e. Head unit 230 is the CND and user device adjusts the configuration of Head unit)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of O’Mahony to incorporate the teachings of Doughty and an external device communicatively coupled to the CND, wherein the external device is structured to adjust a configuration of the CND. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for adjusting a communication configuration (Doughty, [37]).
Regarding claim 19, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the apparatus of claim 18.
Han in view of O’Mahony however does not teach further comprising: a configuration circuit structured to configure the first network interface circuit, the translation circuit, and/or the second network interface circuit, responsive to a configuration command value from a device external to a vehicle, the vehicle including the first network interface circuit and the second network interface circuit.
Doughty teaches further comprising: a configuration circuit structured to configure the first network interface circuit, the translation circuit, and/or the second network interface circuit, responsive to a configuration command value from a device external to a vehicle, the vehicle including the first network interface circuit and the second network interface circuit ([16]: VCN 220 may include one or more wired and/or wireless networks. For example, VCN 220 may include a controller area network (CAN) that allows head unit 230 to communicate with one or more controls devices 210. VCN 220 may operate using a message-based protocol network VCN (i.e. Head unit 230 is the having first network interface for CAN network and translation circuit and the second network interface circuit for message-based protocol networks). [34-37]: Head unit 230 may determine the communication protocol being used by VCN 220. User device 240 may provide information that identifies the communication protocol. For example, a user of user device 240 may select a vehicle model using user device 240, and user device 240 may determine (e.g., based on stored information, based on querying telematics monitoring device 260 via network 250, etc.) the communication protocol used by VCN 220 associated with the vehicle model (i.e. receiving configuration command from user device for vehicle having different network interfaces)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of O’Mahony to incorporate the teachings of Doughty and a configuration circuit structured to configure the first network interface circuit, the translation circuit, and/or the second network interface circuit, responsive to a configuration command value from a device external to a vehicle, the vehicle including the first network interface circuit and the second network interface circuit. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for adjusting a communication configuration (Doughty, [37]).
Regarding claim 29, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the method of claim 28.
Han in view of O’Mahony however does not teach further comprising adjusting a configuration of at least one of the encoding or the transmitting in response to a configuration change from an external device.
Doughty teaches further comprising adjusting a configuration of at least one of the encoding or the transmitting in response to a configuration change from an external device ([34-37]: Head unit 230 may determine the communication protocol being used by VCN 220. User device 240 may provide information that identifies the communication protocol. For example, a user of user device 240 may select a vehicle model using user device 240, and user device 240 may determine the communication protocol used by VCN 220 associated with the vehicle model (i.e. receiving configuration command from user device for vehicle and adjusting the configuration for network interface)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of O’Mahony to incorporate the teachings of Doughty and adjusting a configuration of at least one of the encoding or the transmitting in response to a configuration change from an external device. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for adjusting a communication configuration (Doughty, [37]).
Claim 8-11, 13-16 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of O’Mahony further in view of Lin et al. (CN111835627A, hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claim 8, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the system of claim 7.
Han in view of O’Mahony however does not teach wherein the CND comprises: a communication device structured to access the CAN based network, an Ethernet switch structured to access to the Ethernet based network; and the communication device provides a message to the Ethernet switch in response to a corresponding message on the CAN based network.
Lin teaches wherein the CND (fig, 2(12,13) and [Page 10]: The switch 12 and the gateway 13 are introduced inside the automobile 10 to realize communication between the in-vehicle device 11 supporting the ethernet protocol and the in-vehicle device 11 supporting the CAN protocol (i.e. gateway 13 and switch 12 combined is the CND)) comprises:
a communication device structured to access the CAN based network (fig. 2(13) and [Page 10]: The switch 12 and the gateway 13 are introduced inside the automobile 10 to realize communication between the in-vehicle device 11 supporting the ethernet protocol and the in-vehicle device 11 supporting the CAN protocol (i.e. gateway 13 helps to access devices that support CAN protocol));
an Ethernet switch structured to access to the Ethernet based network (fig. 2(12) and [Page 10]: The switch 12 and the gateway 13 are introduced inside the automobile 10 to realize communication between the in-vehicle device 11 supporting the ethernet protocol and the in-vehicle device 11 supporting the CAN protocol (i.e. switch 12 helps to access devices that support Ethernet protocol)); and
wherein the communication device provides a message to the Ethernet switch in response to a corresponding message on the CAN based network ([Page 11]: The vehicle-mounted device A, B … X may send the communication data of the CAN protocol to the gateway 13, and the gateway 13 is configured to convert the communication data of the CAN protocol into the communication data of the ethernet protocol and send the communication data of the ethernet protocol to the switch 12, so that the switch 12 sends the communication data of the ethernet protocol to the corresponding vehicle-mounted device of the vehicle-mounted devices (i) and (… X). (i.e. the gateway 13 is a communication device that provides message from CAN devices to switch 12)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of O’Mahony to incorporate the teachings of Lin and wherein the CND comprises a communication device, an Ethernet switch, and the communication device provides a message to the Ethernet switch in response to a corresponding message on the CAN based network. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to provide an in-vehicle device gateway communication method (Lin, [Page 5]).
Regarding claim 9, Han in view of O’Mahony and Lin teaches the system of claim 8.
Han further teaches wherein the communication device is structured to provide the message to the Ethernet switch as an Ethernet message including at least one encapsulated CAN message based on the corresponding message on the CAN based network ([67, 130-131]: If the destination of the CAN message is a communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network, the gateway 200 may generate an Ethernet message (e.g., the Ethernet message 300 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) based on the corresponding CAN message (S1605). An Ethernet message 300 may include a header 310, at least one data unit (DU) 321, 322, and 323, and the like. Also, the Ethernet message 300 may further include automotive safety integrity level (ASIL) authentication information 330. If the destination of the CAN message received from the end node # 6 231 is the end node # 1 211, the gateway 200 may transmit the Ethernet message to the end node # 1 211 (S1606). The Ethernet message may be transmitted to the end node # 1 211 via the switch # 1 210 (i.e. the device in gateway is the communication device that generates Ethernet message by encapsulating message from CAN network and provides this Ethernet message to destination via Ethernet switch)).
Regarding claim 10, Han in view of O’Mahony and Lin teaches the system of claim 9.
Han further teaches wherein the at least one encapsulated CAN message includes more than one encapsulated CAN message (fig. 3(DU # 1, 2, 3 and [67, 130-131]: If the destination of the CAN message is a communication node belonging to the Ethernet-based network, the gateway 200 may generate an Ethernet message (e.g., the Ethernet message 300 shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) based on the corresponding CAN message (S1605). Referring to FIG. 3, an Ethernet message 300 may include a header 310, at least one data unit (DU) 321, 322, and 323, and the like. The DU # 1 321, DU # 2 322, and DU # 3 323 may be protocol data units (PDUs), user datagram protocol (UDP) data units, or the like, and may constitute a payload. (i.e. the gateway generates Ethernet message by encapsulating message from CAN network. The encapsulated Ethernet message as shown in fig. 3 includes multiple data units from CAN message))
Regarding claim 11, Han in view of O’Mahony and Lin teaches the system of claim 8.
Han further teaches wherein the communication device is positioned in a first housing, and wherein the Ethernet switch is positioned in a second housing ([63]: Referring to FIG. 2, a vehicle network may include an Ethernet-based network, a CAN, and the like. A gateway 200 belonging to the vehicle network may support communications between the Ethernet-based network and the CAN. The Ethernet-based network may include a switch # 1 210, a switch # 2 220 (i.e. as seen in fig. 2 (200, 210, 220) gateway 200 and switch 210 are positioned in different housing (first/second)).
Regarding claim 13, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the system of claim 7.
Han in view of O’Mahony however does not teach wherein the CND comprises: a communication device structured to access the CAN based network; an Ethernet switch structured to access to the Ethernet based network; and wherein the communication device receives a message from the Ethernet switch in response to a corresponding message on the Ethernet based network.
Lin teaches wherein the CND comprises (fig, 2(12,13) and [Page 10]: The switch 12 and the gateway 13 are introduced inside the automobile 10 to realize communication between the in-vehicle device 11 supporting the ethernet protocol and the in-vehicle device 11 supporting the CAN protocol (i.e. gateway 13 and switch 12 combined is the CND)):
a communication device structured to access the CAN based network (fig. 2(13) and [Page 10]: The switch 12 and the gateway 13 are introduced inside the automobile 10 to realize communication between the in-vehicle device 11 supporting the ethernet protocol and the in-vehicle device 11 supporting the CAN protocol (i.e. gateway 13 helps to access devices that support CAN protocol));
an Ethernet switch structured to access to the Ethernet based network (fig. 2(12) and [Page 10]: The switch 12 and the gateway 13 are introduced inside the automobile 10 to realize communication between the in-vehicle device 11 supporting the ethernet protocol and the in-vehicle device 11 supporting the CAN protocol (i.e. switch 12 helps to access devices that support Ethernet protocol)); and
wherein the communication device receives a message from the Ethernet switch in response to a corresponding message on the Ethernet based network ([Page 11]: The vehicle-mounted device A, B … X supports the CAN protocol, and the switch 12 is configured to perform a message exchange function on data supporting the ethernet protocol; after the vehicle-mounted devices (i) and (ii) … X send the communication data of the Ethernet protocol to the gateway 13 through the exchanger 12, the gateway 13 is used for converting the communication data of the Ethernet protocol into the communication data of the CAN protocol and then sending the communication data of the CAN protocol to the CAN bus, so that the corresponding vehicle-mounted device in the vehicle-mounted device A, B … X CAN receive the communication data of the CAN protocol through the CAN bus (i.e. the gateway 13 is a communication device that receives message from Ethernet switch 12)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of O’Mahony to incorporate the teachings of Lin and wherein the CND comprises a communication device, an Ethernet switch, and the communication device receives a message from the Ethernet switch in response to a corresponding message on the Ethernet based network. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to provide an in-vehicle device gateway communication method (Lin, [Page 5]).
Regarding claim 14, Han in view of O’Mahony and Lin teaches the system of claim 13.
Han further teaches wherein the communication device is structured to receive the message from the Ethernet switch as an Ethernet message including at least one encapsulated CAN message based on the corresponding message on the Ethernet based network ([108-112]: The end node # 1 211 may transmit Ethernet messages (e.g., the Ethernet message # 1, the Ethernet message # 2, and the Ethernet message # 3 illustrated in FIG. 11) (S1002). In the case that the destination of the Ethernet message is a communication node belonging to the CAN, the gateway 200 may identify the type of information included in the payload of the Ethernet message based on the information included in the header of the Ethernet message (S1004). When it is determined that the payload of the Ethernet message includes data (e.g., multimedia data, AVB data, etc.), the gateway 200 may generate a CAN message (e.g., the CAN message illustrated in FIG. 5 or 6), and transmit the generated CAN message to the corresponding communication node (e.g., the end node # 6 231, the end node # 7 232, or the end node # 8 233). Here, the CAN message may include a CRC, an alive counter, a payload, etc., and the payload may include ASIL authentication information for the CAN message. (i.e. the device in gateway is the communication device that receives Ethernet message which is encapsulated CAN message)).
Regarding claim 15, Han in view of O’Mahony and Lin teaches the system of claim 14.
Han further teaches wherein the at least one encapsulated CAN message includes more than one encapsulated CAN message (fig. 5(DU in 530) and ([108-112]: In the case that the destination of the Ethernet message is a communication node belonging to the CAN, the gateway 200 may generate a CAN message (e.g., the CAN message illustrated in FIG. 5 or 6), and transmit the generated CAN message to the corresponding communication node (i.e. the gateway receives Ethernet message and encapsulate it into CAN message. The encapsulated CAN message as shown in fig. 5 includes multiple data units))
Regarding claim 16, Han in view of O’Mahony and Lin teaches the system of claim 13.
Han further teaches wherein the communication device is positioned in a first housing, and wherein the Ethernet switch is positioned in a second housing ([63]: Referring to FIG. 2, a vehicle network may include an Ethernet-based network, a CAN, and the like. A gateway 200 belonging to the vehicle network may support communications between the Ethernet-based network and the CAN. The Ethernet-based network may include a switch # 1 210, a switch # 2 220 (i.e. as seen in fig. 2 (200, 210, 220) gateway 200 and switch 210 are positioned in different housing (first/second)).
Regarding claim 26, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the apparatus of claim 18.
Han in view of O’Mahony however does not teach wherein the first network interface circuit and/or the second network interface circuit is integrated with an Ethernet switch.
Lin teaches the first network interface circuit and/or the second network interface circuit is integrated with an Ethernet switch (fig. 2(12) and [Page 10]: [Page 10]: The switch 12 and the gateway 13 are introduced inside the automobile 10 to realize communication between the in-vehicle device 11 supporting the ethernet protocol and the in-vehicle device 11 supporting the CAN protocol (i.e. switch 12 helps to access devices that support Ethernet protocol)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of O’Mahony to incorporate the teachings of Lin and the first network interface circuit and/or the second network interface circuit is integrated with an Ethernet switch. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to provide an in-vehicle device gateway communication method (Lin, [Page 5]).
Claim 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of O’Mahony and Lin further in view of Fischer et al. (US 2016/0182341 A1, hereinafter Fischer).
Regarding claim 12, Han in view of O’Mahony and Lin teaches the system of claim 8.
Han in view of O’Mahony and Lin however does not teach wherein the communication device and the Ethernet switch are positioned in a single housing.
Fischer teaches wherein the communication device and the Ethernet switch are positioned in a single housing ([39]: The controller 221 is connected to the external transmitter 250 via an Ethernet network 110 of the vehicle and via a diagnostic bus system (e.g. via a FlexRay 120, CAN 130 and/or MOST 140 network, if need be also via an Ethernet network 110) of the vehicle. In this case, the communication via the diagnostic bus is effected via the processing unit 102 of the gateway 201, the controller 221 typically being addressed using an IP address of the gateway 201. By contrast, the communication by the Ethernet network is effected by the Ethernet switch 201 rather than via the processing unit 102 of the gateway 201 (i.e. the Ethernet switch fig. 2(202) and processing unit fig. 2(102) are in single housing fig. 2(201)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of O’Mahony and Lin to incorporate the teachings of Fischer and the communication device and the Ethernet switch are positioned in a single housing. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for transmitting data in vehicle (Fischer, [39]).
Regarding claim 17, Han in view of O’Mahony and Lin teaches the system of claim 13.
Han in view of O’Mahony and Lin however does not teach wherein the communication device and the Ethernet switch are positioned in a single housing.
Fischer teaches wherein the communication device and the Ethernet switch are positioned in a single housing ([39]: The controller 221 is connected to the external transmitter 250 via an Ethernet network 110 of the vehicle and via a diagnostic bus system (e.g. via a FlexRay 120, CAN 130 and/or MOST 140 network, if need be also via an Ethernet network 110) of the vehicle. In this case, the communication via the diagnostic bus is effected via the processing unit 102 of the gateway 201, the controller 221 typically being addressed using an IP address of the gateway 201. By contrast, the communication by the Ethernet network is effected by the Ethernet switch 201 rather than via the processing unit 102 of the gateway 201 (i.e. the Ethernet switch fig. 2(202) and processing unit fig. 2(102) are in single housing fig. 2(201)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of O’Mahony and Lin to incorporate the teachings of Fischer and the communication device and the Ethernet switch are positioned in a single housing. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for transmitting data in vehicle (Fischer, [39]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of O’Mahony and Doughty further in view of Rajan et al. (US 2019/0141133 A1, hereinafter Rajan).
Regarding claim 20, Han in view of O’Mahony and Doughty teaches the apparatus of claim 19.
Han in view of O’Mahony and Doughty however does not teach wherein the configuration command value comprises at least one value selected from the values consisting of: sampling rate value; a payload processing value; a timestamp value; a metadata value; a target device for the one or more message values from the first network data set, wherein the target device comprises a device on the vehicle to send and/or receive the one or more message values; and an encapsulation description for the one or more message values.
Rajan teaches wherein the configuration command value comprises at least one value selected from the values consisting of:
a sampling rate value;
a payload processing value;
a timestamp value ([45]: At (1), a CAN message arrives at the CAN controller and is stored in the buffer 822. The CAN controller may also store a reception timestamp for the CAN message in the buffer 822. The CPU may enforce message ordering in response to the reception timestamps (i.e. configuration for gateway specifying timestamp value for message processing));
a metadata value;
a target device for the one or more message values from the first network data set, wherein the target device comprises a device on the vehicle to send and/or receive the one or more message values; and an encapsulation description for the one or more message values.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of Christian and Doughty to incorporate the teachings of Rajan and the configuration command value comprises a timestamp value. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to pass messages of interest for further processing (Rajan, [45]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of O’Mahony further in view of Fischer et al. (US 2016/0182341 A1, hereinafter Fischer).
Regarding claim 25, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the apparatus of claim 18.
Han in view of O’Mahony however does not teach wherein the first network interface circuit and/or the second network interface circuit is integrated with a configurable edge gateway (CEG).
Fischer teaches wherein the first network interface circuit and/or the second network interface circuit is integrated with a configurable edge gateway (CEG) ([39]: The controller 221 is connected to the external transmitter 250 via an Ethernet network 110 of the vehicle and via a diagnostic bus system (e.g. via a FlexRay 120, CAN 130 and/or MOST 140 network, if need be also via an Ethernet network 110) of the vehicle. In this case, the communication via the diagnostic bus is effected via the processing unit 102 of the gateway 201, the controller 221 typically being addressed using an IP address of the gateway 201. By contrast, the communication by the Ethernet network is effected by the Ethernet switch 201 rather than via the processing unit 102 of the gateway 201 (i.e. the Ethernet switch fig. 2(202) and processing unit fig. 2(102) are within gateway fig. 2(201)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of O’Mahony to incorporate the teachings of Fischer and the communication device and the Ethernet switch are positioned in a single housing. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for transmitting data in vehicle (Fischer, [39]).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of O’Mahony further in view of Brewton et al. (US10,181,059 B1, hereinafter Brewton).
Regarding claim 27, Han in view of O’Mahony teaches the apparatus of claim 18.
Han in view of O’Mahony however does not teach wherein the first network interface circuit, the translation circuit, and/or the second network interface circuit, are compliant with the Motor Industry Software Reliability Association standard and/or the AUTomotive Open System ARchitecture standard.
Brewton teaches wherein the first network interface circuit, the translation circuit, and/or the second network interface circuit, are compliant with the Motor Industry Software Reliability Association standard and/or the AUTomotive Open System ARchitecture standard ([Col 7, 55-65; Col 8, 22-28]: The network interface 16 and the modem 15 of the computing device 10 (shown in FIG. 2) enable the server 35 to communicate with the clients 33 and 37 through the communication network 31. The communication network 31 may include a control-area network (such as CAN, FlexRay, TTP, ARINC for e.g. Automotive and avionic applications). A library may only contain blocks that facilitate part or all of the standardized services of Automotive Open System Architecture (AUTOSAR). This may include blocks that correspond to the send and receive AUTOSAR FlowPort interface. These blocks may be provided in a general purpose interface as well and they may also be made available otherwise (i.e. CAN interface is in compliant with AUTOSAR standard)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of O’Mahony to incorporate the teachings of Brewton and first network interface circuit is compliant with AUTomotive Open System ARchitecture standard. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to enable a user to model an interface between physical components (Brewton, [Col 1, 22-25]).
Additional References
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Haga et al., US 2019/0068407 A1: GATEWAY DEVICE, VEHICLE NETWORK SYSTEM, TRANSFER METHOD, AND NON-TRANSITORY COMPUTER-READABLE RECORDING MEDIUM STORING PROGRAM
b. Akella et al., US 2020/0036717 A1: Serial network communication using intelligent access policies.
c. Penilla et al., US 2019/0188651 A1: Methods For Cloud Processing Of Vehicle Diagnostics And Providing Electronic Keys For Servicing.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUJANA KHAKURAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2453
/KAMAL B DIVECHA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2453