DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 11/06/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 5-11 are withdrawn. Claims 1-4 are pending and under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Wagner and Stoffel fail to teach a binding domain of a first alpha-helical protein and at least a portion of a second alpha-helical protein.
However, Stoffel teaches a fusion protein comprising apolipoprotein A1 and apolipoprotein M (Page 8, lines 4-9), which are amphipathic alpha-helical proteins. Stoffel teaches that SEQ ID NO:1 represents the amino acid sequence of human apoM lacking the N-terminal 27 amino acids while SEQ ID NO:7 represents the amino acid sequence of human apoM lacking the N-terminal 19 amino acids (p. 5, lines 30-32). Stoffel teaches that the apoM/apoA1 fusion protein may comprise the amino acids of SEQ ID NO:1 or 7 and the N-terminal 26 or 25 amino acids of apoA1 (p 8, lines 4-6). Sphingosine-1-phosphate binds apoM at residues 98, 100, 116, 136, 102, 143, as evidenced by Zhang (p. 2, para. 2). Therefore, the fusion protein of Stoffel is considered to contain a binding domain of apoprotein M and a portion of apolipoprotein A. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner et al. (WO 2018/017442 A1), previously cited, in view of Stoffel (WO 2009/056330 A1), previously cited, as evidenced by Zhang et al., (Binding Characteristics of Sphingosine-1-Phosphate to ApoM hints to Assisted Release Mechanism via the ApoM Calyx-Opening. SCIENTIFIC REPORTS. 2016. 6:30655).
Regarding claim 1, Wagner teaches nanodisc embodiments and/or structures (para. [00140]). Wagner teaches that the term “conventional nanodisc” refers to a discoidal phospholipid bilayer encompassed by a membrane scaffold protein (MSP) e.g., two molecules of an amphipathic alpha-helical protein wrapped around the perimeter of the disc in an anti-parallel fashion (para. [00143]). Wagner teaches that the membrane scaffold protein may be an apolipoprotein (para. [00143]).
Wagner does not teach that the amphipathic alpha-helical proteins comprise a binding domain of a first alpha-helical protein and at least a portion of a second alpha-helical protein, i.e., Wagner does not teach that the amphipathic alpha-helical proteins are fusion proteins.
However, Stoffel teaches a chimeric polypeptide comprising two different apolipoproteins: apolipoprotein A1 and apolipoprotein M (Page 8, lines 4-9), which are amphipathic alpha-helical proteins. Stoffel teaches that SEQ ID NO:1 represents the amino acid sequence of human apoM lacking the N-terminal 27 amino acids while SEQ ID NO:7 represents the amino acid sequence of human apoM lacking the N-terminal 19 amino acids (p. 5, lines 30-32). Stoffel teaches that the apoM/apoA1 fusion protein comprises the amino acids of SEQ ID NO:1 or 7 and the N-terminal 26 or 25 amino acids of apoA1 (p 8, lines 4-6). Sphingosine-1-phosphate binds apoM at residues 98, 100, 116, 136, 102, 143, as evidenced by Zhang (p. 2, para. 2). Therefore, the fusion protein of Stoffel is considered to contain a binding domain of apoprotein M and a portion of apolipoprotein A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the apoA1/apoM fusion protein taught by Stoffel for the apolipoproteins in the membrane scaffold protein of Wagner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Wagner teaches that the membrane scaffold protein may be an apolipoprotein (para. [00143]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Wagner and Stoffel are in the same field of endeavor of apolipoprotein therapeutics.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Stoffel teaches a chimeric protein comprising portions of both apoA1 and apoM (Page 8, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 4, because of the term “an amino acid sequence”, any amino acid sequence that shares at least 3 contiguous amino acids with SEQ ID NO:1 is considered to read on the claim. Stoffel teaches a fusion protein comprising portions of apoA1 and apoM (Page 8, lines 4-9), which has an amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO:3 (Page 8, lines 18-22). SEQ ID NO:3 of Stoffel shares 51.8% sequence identity with a portion or variant of the instant SEQ ID NO:1 (see alignment below).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/RACHEL EMILY MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1657