DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s amendments/ remarks dated October 14, 2025. Claims 1, 2, 7, and 13 are amended. Claims 1-23 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 and 7, filed, October 14, 2025 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 13-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gorman et.al., (US 20220163634 A1), (“Gorman”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 6-7, 11, 13-16, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinberg et.al., (US 20180113200 A1), (“Steinberg”) in view of Gorman et.al., (US 20220163634 A1), (“Gorman”).
Regarding claim 1, Steinberg teaches a method comprising: preparing a plurality of light sources ([0296] light projector 112 as light sources), each of the plurality of light sources having a respective wavelength ([0296] multiple sources each capable of emitting light at a different wavelength); […]; scanning, by the active illumination system, the portion of the field of view using the selected one of the plurality of light sources ([0296] particular region of the FOV as portion of the field of view).
Steinberg fails to teach determining, by an active illumination system, a wavelength to be emitted based on angle-dependent transmission characteristics of a spectral filter in a receiver of the active illumination system, wherein the wavelength is selected to compensate for a passband of the spectral filter at different incident angles corresponding to a portion of a field of view to be scanned.
However, Gorman teaches determining, by an active illumination system ([0005]), a wavelength to be emitted based on angle-dependent transmission characteristics of a spectral filter in a receiver of the active illumination system, wherein the wavelength is selected to compensate for a passband of the spectral filter at different incident angles corresponding to a portion of a field of view to be scanned ([0010] – [0011] The respective wavelengths of the optical signals may vary according to variations in a passband of a detector-side spectral filter element that is configured to receive return signals having the respective wavelengths corresponding to the optical signals over the respective portions of the field of view, [0108]); selecting one of the plurality of light sources based on the determination ([0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength selection as taught by Steinberg with the wavelength selection as dependent on the spectral filter as taught by Gorman with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of reducing detection of radiation from other sources that may be incident on the detector (See Gorman – [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the scanning includes positioning one or more reflective optical elements of the active illumination system into a desired position (Steinberg [0471] Furthermore, a LIDAR system consistent with embodiments of the present disclosure may use a common deflector to aim light from the plurality of light sources, Figure 28, deflector 2800 as reflective optical element) the desired position corresponding to a coordinate within a coordinate space having two or more dimensions in the field of view (Steinberg [0476] single deflector configured to pivot along two separate axes, Figure 28 note field of view 2810).
Regarding claim 3, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the one or more reflective optical elements comprise mirrors (Steinberg [0115] “light deflector” broadly includes any mechanism or module which is configured to make light deviate from its original path; for example, a mirror, (Steinberg [0471] Figure 28, deflector 2800 as reflective optical element) that are configured to controllably direct light from the selected one of the plurality of light sources in a direction corresponding to the coordinate (Steinberg [0475] In some embodiments, each light source may be generally associated with a differing region of the field of view, Steinberg [0497] note a region in the field of view may be associated with a differing angular portion).
Regarding claim 4, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the coordinate comprises an azimuth and elevation in the coordinate space (Steinberg [0476] Figure 28 note field of view 2810).
Regarding claim 6, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising: determining, by the active illumination system, a second wavelength to be emitted based on a second portion of a field of view to be scanned different from the portion of the field of view (Steinberg [0511] light sources 2806 and 2808 have different wavelengths, Steinberg [0513] note region 2810b as second portion of a field of view); selecting a different one of the plurality of light sources based on the determination (Steinberg [0511] light source 2806 only emits light in region 2810b) ; and scanning, by the active illumination system, the second portion of the field of view using the different one of the plurality of light sources (Steinberg [0476] Figure 28 note field of view 2810b arrow indicating scanning portion of the field of view).
Regarding claim 7, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by an active imaging system (Steinberg [0513] Figure 28, detector sensor 2814).
Steinberg fails to teach a reflected light beam having an incoming direction within the field of view; configuring an optical element to have an optical characteristic based on the incoming direction; passing, by the active imaging system, the reflected light beam through the optical element detecting, by the active imaging system, the reflected light beam using a detector element after passing through the optical element.
However, Gorman teaches a reflected light beam having an incoming direction within the field of view (Gorman [0058] angle of the incident light on the detector); configuring an optical element to have an optical characteristic based on the incoming direction (Gorman [0060] the shift in the passband may be due to the changing path length through the detector-side filter material with the angle of incidence, angle of incidence as incoming direction); passing, by the active imaging system, the reflected light beam through the optical element detecting, by the active imaging system, the reflected light beam using a detector element after passing through the optical element (Gorman [0060] detector(s) 110d, there can be a shift in the passband of the detector-side filter 111 with the angle of incidence of light thereon, detector side filter 111 as optical element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength selection of Steinberg with the knowledge of the characteristics of a spectral filter as taught by Gorman. This would have the predictable result of reducing detection of unwanted light sources (See Gorman – [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman above teach the method of claim 7.
Steinberg fails to teach wherein the optical element comprises a spectral filter the method further comprising configuring the spectral filter to have a passband that is dependent on the incoming beam direction.
However, Gorman teaches wherein the optical element comprises a spectral filter (Gorman [0058] spectral filter 111), the method further comprising configuring the spectral filter to have a passband that is dependent on the incoming beam direction (Gorman [0060] there can be a shift in the passband of the detector-side filter 111 with the angle of incidence of light thereon, wavelengths permitted to pass depended on the incidence angle).
Regarding claim 13, Steinberg teaches an active imaging system comprising: an emitter including: a plurality of light sources ([0296] light projector 112 as light sources), each of the plurality of light sources having a respective wavelength ([0296] multiple sources each capable of emitting light at a different wavelength); […]; and a scan controller configured to scan the portion of the field of view using a selected one of the plurality of light sources; ([0296] particular region of the FOV as portion of the field of view).
Steinberg fails to teach a controller including a wavelength selector configured to determine a wavelength to be emitted based on angle-dependent transmission characteristics of a spectral filter in a receiver of the active illumination system, wherein the wavelength is selected to compensate for a passband of the spectral filter at different incident angles corresponding to a portion of a field of view to be scanned and to select one of the plurality of light sources based on the determination.
However, Gorman teaches a controller including a wavelength selector ([0053] – [ 0054]) configured to determine a wavelength to be emitted based on angle-dependent transmission characteristics of a spectral filter in a receiver of the active illumination system, wherein the wavelength is selected to compensate for a passband of the spectral filter at different incident angles corresponding to a portion of a field of view to be scanned and to select one of the plurality of light sources based on the determination. ([0010] – [0011] The respective wavelengths of the optical signals may vary according to variations in a passband of a detector-side spectral filter element that is configured to receive return signals having the respective wavelengths corresponding to the optical signals over the respective portions of the field of view, [0108]); selecting one of the plurality of light sources based on the determination ([0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength selection as taught by Steinberg with the wavelength selection as dependent on the spectral filter as taught by Gorman with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of reducing detection of radiation from other sources that may be incident on the detector (See Gorman – [0005]).
Regarding claim 14, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman teaches the system of claim 13, further comprising one or more reflective optical elements, and wherein the scan controller is configured to position the one or more reflective optical elements into a desired position (Steinberg [0471] Furthermore, a LIDAR system consistent with embodiments of the present disclosure may use a common deflector to aim light from the plurality of light sources, Figure 28, deflector 2800 as reflective optical element), the desired position corresponding to a coordinate within a coordinate space having two or more dimensions in the field of view (Steinberg [0476] single deflector configured to pivot along two separate axes, Figure 28 note field of view 2810).
Regarding claim 15, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the one or more reflective optical elements comprise mirrors (Steinberg [0115] “light deflector” broadly includes any mechanism or module which is configured to make light deviate from its original path; for example, a mirror, Steinberg [0471] Figure 28, deflector 2800 as reflective optical element) that are configured to controllably direct light from the selected one of the plurality of light sources in a direction corresponding to the coordinate (Steinberg [0475] In some embodiments, each light source may be generally associated with a differing region of the field of view, Steinberg [0497] note a region in the field of view may be associated with a differing angular portion).
Regarding claim 16, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the coordinate comprises an azimuth and elevation in the coordinate space (Steinberg [0476] Figure 28 note field of view 2810).
Regarding claim 18, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman above teaches the system of claim 13.
Steinberg fails to explicitly teach the system further comprising: a receiver configured to receive a reflected light beam having an incoming direction within a field of view, the receiver including: an optical element configured to have an optical characteristic based on the incoming direction; and a detector element configured to detect the reflected light beam after passing through the optical element.
However Gorman teaches further comprising: a receiver configured to receive a reflected light beam having an incoming direction within a field of view (Gorman [0058] angle of the incident light on the detector), the receiver including: an optical element configured to have an optical characteristic based on the incoming direction (Gorman [0060] the shift in the passband may be due to the changing path length through the detector-side filter material with the angle of incidence, angle of incidence as incoming direction); and a detector element configured to detect the reflected light beam after passing through the optical element (Gorman [0060] detector(s) 110d, there can be a shift in the passband of the detector-side filter 111 with the angle of incidence of light thereon, detector side filter 111 as optical element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength selection of Steinberg with the knowledge of the characteristics of a spectral filter as taught by Gorman. This would have the predictable result of reducing detection of unwanted light sources (See Gorman – [0005]).
Regarding claim 22, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman teaches the system of claim 18.
Steinberg fails to teach wherein the optical element comprises a spectral filter configured to have a passband that is dependent on the incoming direction.
However, Gorman teaches wherein the optical element comprises a spectral filter configured to have a passband that is dependent on the incoming direction (Gorman [0060] there can be a shift in the passband of the detector-side filter 111 with the angle of incidence of light thereon, wavelengths permitted to pass dependent on the incidence angle).
Claim(s) 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinberg in view of Gorman, further in view of Bao et.al., (US 20180188371 A1), (“Bao”).
Regarding claim 5, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman teaches the method of claim 2.
Steinberg, as modified by Gorman teaches fails to teach wherein determining the wavelength to be emitted comprises: determining a wavelength associated with the coordinate; and identifying the selected one of the plurality of light sources by comparing the determined wavelength with the respective wavelengths of the plurality of light sources.
However, Bao teaches wherein determining the wavelength to be emitted comprises: determining a wavelength associated with the coordinate ([0007] light detector detects a first returned pulse signal); and identifying the selected one of the plurality of light sources by comparing the determined wavelength with the respective wavelengths of the plurality of light sources ([0007] The LiDAR system determines based on the wavelength of the first returned pulse signal whether the returned pulse signal corresponds to the first pulse signal or the second pulse signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify the wavelength selection of Steinberg and Gorman with that of Bao to choose a secondary wavelength based on the prior detected returns. Thus, improving the next detection by choosing the proper wavelength for that portion of the FOV based on the prior detected return.
Regarding claim 17, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman teaches the system of claim 13.
Steinberg, as modified by Gorman fail to teach wherein the plurality of light sources comprise seed lasers, the system further comprising a pump laser configured to pump light from the seed lasers.
However, Bao teaches wherein the plurality of light sources comprise seed lasers (Bao [0056] seed 1202), the system further comprising a pump laser configured to pump light from the seed lasers (Bao [0056] pump 1206).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the emitters of Steinburg with the pump lasers of Bao. This would have the predicable result of allowing the desired customization of the wavelengths emitted.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinberg in view of Gorman, further in view of Hayashi et.al., (US 20200225349 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Steinberg, as modified in view of Gorman teach the method of claim 7.
Steinberg, as modified in view of Gorman, fail to teach the system further comprising: focusing, by the active imaging system, the reflected light beam using a collection lens after passing through the optical element; and detecting the reflected light beam using the detector element after passing through the optical element and the collection lens.
However, Hayashi teaches the system further comprising: focusing, by the active imaging system, the reflected light beam using a collection lens after passing through the optical element (Hayashi [0055] Figure 3, collecting lens 64, optical filter 65 as optical element); and detecting the reflected light beam using the detector element after passing through the optical element and the collection lens ( Hayashi [0055] The collecting lens 64 collects the light which passes through the optical filter 65 and then supplies it to the APD 41 of the receiver 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter/ lens placement of Steinberg with that of Hayashi. Thus, improving the detection by collecting the only the desired filtered light rays onto the detector rather than unwanted reflected light.
Regarding claim 9, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman and Hayashi, teach the method of claim 8, wherein the optical element comprises a refractive optical element, the method further comprising configuring the refractive optical element to refract the reflected light beam based on the incoming direction (Gorman [0056] one or more lenses to collect light over the FOV 190).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the filter/ lens elements of Steinberg with that of Gorman. Thus, improving the detection by including a lens to refract the light based on the incoming direction.
Regarding claim 19, Steinberg, as modified in view of Gorman, teach the system of claim 18.
Steinberg, as modified in view of Gorman, fail to teach further comprising a collection lens configured to focus the reflected light beam toward the detector element after passing through the optical element.
However, Hayashi teaches the system comprising a collection lens configured to focus the reflected light beam toward the detector element after passing through the optical element (Hayashi [0055] The collecting lens 64 collects the light which passes through the optical filter 65 and then supplies it to the APD 41 of the receiver 40, Figure 3, collecting lens 64, optical filter 65 as optical element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the filter/ lens placement of Steinberg with that of Hayashi. Thus, improving the detection by collecting the only the desired filtered light rays onto the detector rather than unwanted reflected light.
Regarding claim 20, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman and Hayashi teach the system of claim 19.
Steinberg fails to teach wherein the optical element comprises a refractive optical element configured to refract the reflected light beam based on the incoming direction.
However, Gorman teaches wherein the optical element comprises a refractive optical element configured to refract the reflected light beam based on the incoming direction. ((Gorman [0056] one or more lenses to collect light over the FOV 190).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the filter/ lens elements of Steinberg with that of Gorman. Thus, improving the detection by including a lens to refract the light based on the incoming direction.
Claim(s) 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinberg in view of Gorman, in view of Hayashi, further in view of Stann et.al., (US 20200025883 A1), (“Stann”).
Regarding claim 10, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman and Hayashi teach the method of claim 9.
Steinberg, as modified by Gorman and Hayashi fail to teach wherein a size of the detector element is based on, in part, a size of the collection lens.
However, Stann teaches wherein a size of the detector element is based on, in part, a size of the collection lens (Stann [0040] The ability of a laser radar to detect targets at a specified range and field-of-view (FOV) is directly related to the amount of light captured by its receiver front-end optics and following photodiode. In applications where the FOV is large, then the photodiode size must be also large, collection lens as receiver front-end optics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the detector size of Steinberg with the knowledge of Stann. Thus, allowing detection of reflected light from the entire field of view improving the range of detection
Regarding claim 21, Steinberg, as modified by Gorman and Hayashi teach the system of claim 19.
Steinberg, as modified by Gorman and Hayashi fail to teach wherein a size of the detector element is based on, in part, a size of the collection lens.
However, Stann teaches wherein a size of the detector element is based on, in part, a size of the collection lens (Stann [0040] The ability of a laser radar to detect targets at a specified range and field-of-view (FOV) is directly related to the amount of light captured by its receiver front-end optics and following photodiode. In applications where the FOV is large, then the photodiode size must be also large, collection lens as receiver front-end optics).
Claim(s) 12 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinberg in view of Gorman, further in view of Stann et.al., (US 20200025883 A1), (“Stann”).
Regarding claim 12, Steinberg, as modified in view of Gorman, teach the method of claim 7.
Steinberg, as modified in view of Gorman fail to teach wherein a size of the detector element is based on, in part, the field of view.
Stann teaches wherein a size of the detector element is based on, in part, the field of view (Stann [0040] The ability of a laser radar to detect targets at a specified range and field-of-view (FOV) is directly related to the amount of light captured by its receiver front-end optics and following photodiode. In applications where the FOV is large, then the photodiode size must be also large).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the detector size of Steinberg with the knowledge of Stann. Thus, allowing detection of reflected light from the entire field of view improving the range of detection.
Regarding claim 23, Steinberg, as modified in view of Gorman teach the system of claim 18.
Steinberg, as modified in view of Gorman fail to teach wherein a size of the detector element is based on, in part, the field of view (Stann [0040] The ability of a laser radar to detect targets at a specified range and field-of-view (FOV) is directly related to the amount of light captured by its receiver front-end optics and following photodiode. In applications where the FOV is large, then the photodiode size must be also large).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA MARIA BACA/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645