DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4-20 as they pertain to the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et. al US 20110176046 (hereinafter “Hu” of record) in view of Byon et. al US 20160341926 (hereinafter “Byon” of record) and Lee et. al US 20200033551 (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Hu teaches an optical element driving mechanism (Hu figs. 1-5, element 44 "camera unit"; see also para. 0049), comprising:
a fixed part (Hu fig. 5, element 40 "base portion"; see also paras. 0042-0043 and 0053);
a movable part (Hu fig. 1, element 20 "focus portion"; see also paras. 0015-0024, 0049, 0056-0059))), movable relative to the fixed part (Hu para. 0022), the movable part (Hu 20) holds an optical element having an optical axis (Hu fig. 1 – lenses disposed within 21 “lens portion” with L “light axis”, see also para. 0049); and
a driving assembly (Hu fig. 1, element 42 "lens driving unit" comprising elements 38 "AF voice coil motor" and 39 "blurring compensation voice coil motor"; see also paras. 0049-0052 and 0062), driving the movable part (Hu 20) to move relative to the fixed part (Hu 40),
wherein the driving assembly (Hu 42) comprises a driving magnetic element (Hu fig. 1, elements 26 "AF magnet", 37x "X-direction blurring compensation magnet", and 37y "Y-direction blurring compensation magnet"; see also paras. 0066-0075) and a driving coil (Hu fig. 1, elements 23 "AF coil", 36x "X-direction blurring compensation coil", and 36y "Y-direction blurring compensation coil "; see also paras 0063-0075), and the driving magnetic element (Hu 26, 37x, 37y) corresponds to the driving coil (Hu paras. 0021-0024 and 0049-0052)
wherein the movable part (Hu 20) comprises an optical element holder (Hu fig. 1, element 21 "lens portion"; see also para. 0073) and a photosensitive element holder (Hu fig. 1 – 12 “bracket”, see also para. 0051), the driving magnetic element (Hu 26, 37x, 37y) comprises a first driving magnetic element (Hu 26), and the driving coil (Hu 23, 36x, 36y) comprises an optical element holder driving coil (Hu 23),
wherein the optical element holder driving coil (Hu 23) is disposed on the optical element holder (Hu para. 0075-0076) and corresponds to the first driving magnetic element (Hu 26);
wherein the driving assembly (Hu 42) further comprises a first driving magnetic element conductive sheet (Hu fig. 1, element 22 "coil holder"; see also paras. 0076, 0078-0079), wherein the first driving magnetic element conductive sheet (Hu 22) is disposed between the optical element holder driving coil (Hu 23) and the optical element holder (Hu figs. 1 and 5), and the optical element holder driving coil (Hu 23) is fixedly disposed on the first driving magnetic element conductive sheet (Hu para. 0076);
wherein the first driving magnetic element conductive sheet (Hu 22) positionally corresponds to the first driving magnetic element (see annotated Hu fig. 5 below to see how 22 and 21 positionally correspond, see also paras. 0076 and 0078-0079 – here the positional relationship between 22 and 21 is described and places 22 between 23 and 21 as shown in fig. 5 below),
Hu does not teach a fixed part comprising a frame; wherein the optical element holder comprises an optical element holder body and an optical element holder stopping element, the optical element holder stopping element extends from the optical element holder body toward the frame, and the optical element holder stopping element partially overlaps the frame when viewed along the optical axis, wherein along the optical axis, the shortest distance between the optical element holder stopping element and the frame is shorter than the shortest distance between the optical element holder body and the photosensitive element holder.
In the same field of endeavor, Byon teaches a fixed part comprising a frame (Byon fig. 7a-9b – 265 “ball guide” including 265a-b “coil” and “yoke” respectively); wherein the optical element holder (Byon fig. 7a-9b – 262 “second lens group barrel holder”, see also para. 0139) comprises an optical element holder body (Byon fig. 7a-9b – 250 “second lens group barrel”, see also para. 0140) and an optical element holder stopping element (Byon fig. 7a-9b – 262d “boss”), the optical element holder stopping element (Byon 262d) extends from the optical element holder body (Byon 250) toward the frame (Byon fig. 7a-9b, 262d extends toward 265 and 265a-b from 250), and the optical element holder stopping element (Byon 262d) partially overlaps the frame (Byon 265) when viewed along the optical axis (Byon fig. 7a-9b – 262d partially overlaps 265 in the optical axis direction),
wherein along the optical axis, the shortest distance between the optical element holder stopping element (Byon 262d) and the frame (Byon 265) is shorter than the shortest distance between the optical element holder body (Byon 250) and the photosensitive element holder (Byon fig. 4 – 295 “image sensor module” which holds 296 “image sensor”; Byon fig. 9b – shows the shortest distance between 262d and 265 to be when 262d is in contact with 265 as it’s elevated via 217 “locking protrusion”. While elevated, 262d would be closer to 265 than 250 would be to 295, since 295 is disposed below 250 and remains fixed while 217 moves 250, see also para. 0112 – the distance between 250 and 296 may be adjusted when driving 250) for the purpose of contacting an inner side surface of the AF frame in an accommodation location and interacting with a locking lever (Byon para. 0015-0016). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an optical element holder body and an optical element holder stopping element as taught by Byon in the optical element driving mechanism of Hu in order to contact the inner side surface of the AF frame in an accommodation location to interact with a locking lever (Byon para. 0015-0016).
Hu and Byon do not specify that the optical element holder driving coil comprises a winding axis perpendicular to the optical axis, nor that the optical element holder driving coil overlaps the optical element holder stopping element in a direction perpendicular to both the winding axis and the optical axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches wherein the optical element holder driving coil (Lee fig. 5 – 1221 disposed on 1210 which may house a lens or lens module, see also para. 0099-0101) comprises a winding axis perpendicular to the optical axis (Lee fig. 5 – the winding axis of 1221 is perpendicular to the optical axis),
wherein the optical element holder driving coil (1221) partially overlaps with the optical element holder stopping element (Lee fig. 5 - 1212) when viewed along a direction perpendicular to both the winding axis and the optical axis (Lee fig. 5 – when viewed along a direction perpendicular to the winding axis and optical axis, 1212 partially overlaps 1221, see also para. 0101) for the purpose of winding the coils on the bobbin (Lee para. 0101). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the optical element holder driving coil comprises a winding axis perpendicular to the optical axis, and that the optical element holder driving coil overlaps the optical element holder stopping element in a direction perpendicular to both the winding axis and the optical axis as taught by Lee in the optical element driving mechanism of Hu and Byon in order to wind coils onto the bobbin (Lee para. 0101).
Claims 4-8, 10, 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, Byon, and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sharma US 20210080807 (hereinafter “Sharma” of record).
Regarding claim 4, Hu, Byon, and Lee teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 1, and Hu further teaches wherein the movable part (Hu 20) correspond to the first driving magnetic element (Hu 26).
Hu, Byon, and Lee do not teach the movable part further comprises a photosensitive element holder, and the driving coil further comprises a photosensitive element holder first driving coil and a photosensitive element holder second driving coil, wherein the photosensitive element holder first driving coil and the photosensitive element holder second driving coil are disposed on the photosensitive element holder, wherein the photosensitive element holder first driving coil and the photosensitive element holder second driving coil.
In the same field of endeavor, Sharma teaches the movable part further comprises a photosensitive element holder (Sharma figs. 3 and 6A-C, element 300 "voice coil motor actuator assembly" including 302 "carrier frame" and 304 "substrate carrier"; see also paras. 0046-0048 and 0066-0073), and the driving coil (Hu 23, 36x, 36y) further comprises a photosensitive element holder first driving coil (Sharma fig. 6A, element 602 "AF-Z coil"; see also para. 0068) and a photosensitive element holder second driving coil (Sharma fig. 6A, element 604 "AF-Z coil"; see also para. 0068), wherein the photosensitive element holder first driving coil (Sharma 602) and the photosensitive element holder second driving coil (Sharma 604) are disposed on the photosensitive element holder (Sharma 304; see also paras. 0066-0073), wherein the photosensitive element holder first driving coil (Sharma 602) and the photosensitive element holder second driving coil (Sharma 604) for the purpose of moving the image sensor in multiple directions to provide autofocusing and optical image stabilization (Sharma para. 0041). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the photosensitive element holder coils disposed within the photosensitive element holder as taught by Sharma in the optical element driving mechanism of Hu, Byon, and Lee in order to move the image sensor in multiple directions to provide autofocusing and optical image stabilization (Sharma para. 0041).
Regarding claim 5, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma both teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 4, and Hu further teaches wherein the driving magnetic element (Hu 26, 37x, 37y) further comprises a second driving magnetic element (Hu 37x), wherein the photosensitive element holder first driving coil (Sharma 602) and the photosensitive element holder second driving coil (Sharma 604) correspond to the second driving magnetic element (Hu 37x).
Regarding claim 6, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 5, and Hu further teaches wherein the driving coil (Hu 23, 36x, 36y) further comprises an optical element holder second driving coil (Hu 36x), wherein the optical element holder second driving coil (Hu 36x) is disposed on the optical element holder (Hu 21) and corresponds to the second driving magnetic element (Hu 37x; see para. 0063).
Regarding claim 7, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma both teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 5, and Hu further teaches wherein the first driving magnetic element (Hu 26) and the second driving magnetic element (Hu 37x) are respectively disposed on two opposite sides of the optical element driving mechanism (see annotated Hu fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 8, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 5, and Hu further teaches wherein a magnetic force emitting surface of the first driving magnetic element (Hu 26) is parallel to an optical axis (Hu fig. 5, element L “light axis”), and a magnetic force emitting surface of the second driving magnetic element (Hu 37x) is perpendicular to the optical axis (see annotated Hu fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 10, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 5, and Sharma further teaches wherein the direction of the current of the photosensitive element holder first driving coil (Sharma 602) and the direction of the current of the photosensitive element holder second driving coil (Sharma 604) are the same when viewed along the optical axis (Sharma para. 0063).
Regarding claim 13, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 1, and Hu further teaches wherein the driving magnetic element further comprises a second driving magnetic element, wherein the driving coil (Hu 23, 36x, 36y) is not disposed between the second driving magnetic element (Hu 37x) and the optical element holder (Hu 21 - see fig. 1, elements 36x and 36y below 37x and 37y).
Regarding claim 14, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 5, and Hu further teaches wherein the first driving magnetic element (Hu 26) is disposed on a first side of the optical element driving mechanism, wherein the second driving magnetic element is disposed on a second side of the optical element driving mechanism, wherein the first side is opposite to the second side (see annotated Hu fig. 1 below for entire claim).
Regarding claim 15, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 14, and Hu further teaches the movable part (Hu 20) comprises an optical element holder guiding element (Hu figs. 1, element 31 "suspension wire", wherein the optical element holder guiding element is disposed on the first side of the optical element driving mechanism (see annotated Hu fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 16, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 14, and both further teach wherein the driving magnetic element (Hu 26, 37x, 37y) further comprises a third driving magnetic element (Hu 37y), and the driving coil (Hu 23, 36x, 36y) further comprises a photosensitive element holder third driving coil (Sharma fig. 6B, element 504 "OIS-Y coil"; see also para. 0071), wherein the photosensitive element holder third driving coil (Sharma 504) is disposed on the photosensitive element holder (Sharma para. 0071), wherein the photosensitive element holder third driving coil (Sharma 504) corresponds to the third driving magnetic element (Hu 37y), wherein the third driving magnetic element (37y) is disposed on a third side of the optical element driving mechanism (see annotated Hu fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 17, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 16, and Hu further teaches wherein a magnetic force emitting surface of the third driving magnetic element (Hu 37y) is perpendicular to an optical axis (see annotated Hu fig. 4 below).
Regarding claim 18, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 1, and Hu further teaches wherein the driving magnetic element further comprises a third driving magnetic element, wherein the driving coil (Hu 26, 36x, 36y) is not disposed between the third driving magnetic element (Hu 37y) and the optical element holder (Hu 21; see fig. 1 - coil 36y lies below both 21 and 37y).
Regarding claim 19, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 16, and Hu further teaches wherein the shortest distance between the third driving magnetic element (Hu 37y) and the first driving magnetic element (Hu 26) is greater than the shortest distance between the third driving magnetic element (Hu 37y) and the second driving magnetic element (Hu 37x) when viewed along an optical axis (see Hu fig. 1, element 26 is above both elements 37x and 37y).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Takizawa US 20140362242 (hereinafter “Takizawa” of record).
Regarding claim 9, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 8, and Hu further teaches a sensing element (Hu fig. 1, elements 35x “X-direction position sensor” and 35y “Y-direction position sensor”; see also para. 0056), wherein the sensing element corresponds to the magnetic force emitting surface (Hu para. 0056)
Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma do not specifically teach the sensing element corresponding to the first driving magnetic element.
In the same field of endeavor, Takizawa teaches a sensing element corresponding to the magnetic force emitting surface of the first driving magnetic element (Takizawa para. 0087) for the purpose of detecting and correcting undesired tilt within the driving mechanism. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a sensing element corresponding to the magnetic force emitting surface of the first driving magnetic element as taught by Takizawa in the optical element driving mechanism of Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma in order to detect and correct undesired tilt within the driving mechanism.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kawano US 20010028515 (hereinafter “Kawano” of record).
Regarding claim 11, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 5, and Sharma further teaches wherein the direction of the current of the photosensitive element holder first driving coil (Sharma 602) and the direction of the current of the photosensitive element holder second driving coil (Sharma 604).
Sharma does not specifically teach that the currents are different when viewed along the optical axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Kawano teaches that the currents are different when viewed along the optical axis (see annotated Kawano fig. 4b below) for the purpose of propelling the movable part upward in the focusing direction (Kawano para. 0061). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have coils where the currents are different when viewed along the optical axis as taught by Kawano in the optical element driving mechanism of Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma in order to propel the movable part upward in the focusing direction (Kawano para. 0061).
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma as applied to claims 5 and 16 above, and further in view of Miller et. al US 20190212632 (hereinafter “Miller” of record).
Regarding claim 12, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 5, and Hu further teaches the first driving magnetic element (Hu 26), the optical element holder (Hu 21), and the second driving magnetic element (Hu 37x).
Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma do not teach that the shortest distance between the first driving magnetic element and the optical element holder is greater than the shortest distance between the second driving magnetic element and the optical element holder.
In the same field of endeavor, Miller teaches that the shortest distance between the first driving magnetic element (Miller figs. 8A-D, element 824 “AF magnets”; see also para. 0072) and the optical element holder (Miller figs. 8A-D, element 802 “lens group”; see also para. 0069) is greater than the shortest distance between the second driving magnetic element (Miller figs. 8A-D, element 836 “OIS-X magnets”; see also para. 0075) and the optical element holder (Miller figs. 8A-D; see also para. 0068-0078) for the purpose of driving the optical element holder in multiple directions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the shortest distance between the first driving magnetic element and the optical element holder is greater than the shortest distance between the second driving magnetic element and the optical element holder as taught by Miller in the optical element driving mechanism of Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma in order to drive the optical element holder in multiple directions.
Regarding claim 20, Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma teach the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 16, and Hu further teaches the first driving magnetic element (Hu 26), optical element holder (Hu 21), and third driving magnetic element (Hu 37y).
Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma do not teach wherein the shortest distance between the first driving magnetic element and the optical element holder is greater than the shortest distance between the third driving magnetic element and the optical element holder.
In the same field of endeavor, Miller teaches wherein the shortest distance between the first driving magnetic element (Miller figs. 8A-D, element 824 “AF magnets”; see also para. 0072) and the optical element holder (Miller figs. 8A-D, element 802 “lens group”; see also para. 0069) is greater than the shortest distance between the third driving magnetic element (Miller figs. 8A-D, element 848 “OIS-Y magnets”; see also para. 0078) and the optical element holder for the purpose of driving the optical element holder in multiple directions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the shortest distance between the first driving magnetic element and the optical element holder is greater than the shortest distance between the second driving magnetic element and the optical element holder as taught by Miller in the optical element driving mechanism of Hu, Byon, Lee, and Sharma in order to drive the optical element holder in multiple directions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/RICKY L MACK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872