DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 14, 17, 20, 22, 27 and 29 are amended. Claims 1-30 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 12/15/2025 with respect to claims 1-30, have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-8, 12-21 and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0036564 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0031360 A1) and further in view of Choi et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0239082 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bae discloses method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (See Abstract and Fig. 2; UE 100), comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a first grant allocating a first set of downlink resources to the UE (See Par. [14], [16], [236] and Fig. 15 of Bae for a reference to receiving, by the UE, from the BS, a first DCI [Grant] a scheduling a first PDSCH, which comprises a first time resource for HARQ-ACK feedback for the first PDSCH);
receiving, from the base station and after receiving the first grant, a second grant allocating a second set of downlink resources to the UE (See Par. [14], [19], [229], [236] and Fig. 15 of Bae for a reference to receiving, by the UE, from the BS, a second DCI [Grant] a scheduling a second PDSCH, after the first DCI, which comprises a second time resource for HARQ-ACK feedback for the second PDSCH);
determining that a slot comprises both resources of the first set of downlink resources and resources of the second set of downlink resources (See Par. [14], [229], [236], [242] of Bae for a reference to determining that the first time resources included in PDSCH#1 and the second time resources included in PDSCH#2, being included in the same slot);
generating a feedback codebook for downlink signaling scheduled to be received over the first set of downlink resources, the second set of downlink resources, or both (See Par. [91], [214], [236] of Bae for a reference to a HARQ-ACK feedback codebook associated with the first PDSCH is generated separately from a HARQ-ACK feedback codebook that is associated with the second PDSCH. Alternatively, one multiplexed HARQ-ACK feedback codebook associated with a plurality of PDSCHs is generated); and
transmitting, to the base station, the feedback codebook based at least in part on generating the feedback codebook (See Par. [14], [169], [236] of Bae for a reference to transmitting, from the UE, to the BS, uplink control information (UCI) including HARQ-ACK feedback codebook for PDSCH#1, PDSCH#2 and/or both).
Bae does not explicitly disclose wherein a size of the feedback codebook is based at least in part on the slot comprising both resources of the first set of downlink resources and resources of the second set of downlink resources and whether the resources of the first set of downlink resources are earlier in the slot than the resources of the second set of downlink resources; and wherein generating the feedback codebook comprises generating a single bit for the slot based at least in part on determining that the resources of the first set of downlink resources overlap with the resources of the second set of downlink resources or do not satisfy one or more scheduling rules.
However, Zhang discloses wherein a size of the feedback codebook is based at least in part on the slot comprising both resources of the first set of downlink resources and resources of the second set of downlink resources (See Par. [93]-[94], [121], [124]-[125] and Figs. 4 & 5 of Zhang for a reference to the HARQ feedback codebook size [number of bits] is determined based on the number of the active PDSCH repetitions in one slot [Number of resources (First & Second) in one slot]) and whether the resources of the first set of downlink resources are earlier in the slot than the resources of the second set of downlink resources (See Par. [94]-[95], [97]-[98], [126]-[127] of Zhang for a reference to the number of feedback bits appended, which in turn determines the feedback codebook size, is based on the PDSCH reception in the same slot. if there is more than one PDSCH received in the same slot, this implies that one is received earlier in the slot. The HARQ codebook includes feedback bits mapped to PDSCHs index values, and the size of the codebook is determined based on mapped bits)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Bae. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by efficiently handling the overlap of multiple PDSCH configurations in one slot to reduce codebook overhead. (Zhang; Par. [38])
The combination of Bao and Zhang does not explicitly disclose and wherein generating the feedback codebook comprises generating a single bit for the slot based at least in part on determining that the resources of the first set of downlink resources overlap with the resources of the second set of downlink resources or do not satisfy one or more scheduling rules.
However, Choi discloses and wherein generating the feedback codebook comprises generating a single bit for the slot based at least in part on determining that the resources of the first set of downlink resources overlap with the resources of the second set of downlink resources or do not satisfy one or more scheduling rules (See Par. [250]-[251], [326], [357] of Choi for a reference to that if the UE has the capability to receive more than one PDSCH per DL slot, a same HARQ-ACK bit position is assigned to both a first valid PDSCH candidate and a second valid PDSCH candidates overlapped in time slot with the first valid PDSCH candidate. The bit position is included in the HARQ-ACK codebook).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi to the combination of Bao and Zhang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enabling a UE to transmit a PUCCH including two or more HARQ-ACKs in one slot, which, may increase the coverage of PUCCH by reducing the amount of HARQ-ACK that each PUCCH may have. (Choi; Par. [33])
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bae, Zhang and Choi, specifically Bae discloses determining, based at least in part on determining that the slot comprises both the resources of the first set of downlink resources and the resources of the second set of downlink resources, whether the resources of the first set of downlink resources are earlier in the slot than the resources of the second set of downlink resources (See Par. [14], [229], [236], [242] of Bae for a reference to determining that the first timing resource is at a value of K1_1 of a first PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing field, and that the second timing resource is at a value of K1_2 of a second PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing field. K1_1 is earlier than K1_2).
Regarding claim 3, Bae does not explicitly disclose wherein generating the feedback codebook comprises: generating a single feedback bit for the slot based at least in part on determining that the resources of the first set of downlink resources are not earlier in the slot than the resources of the second set of downlink resources.
However, Zhang discloses generating a single feedback bit for the slot based at least in part on determining that the resources of the first set of downlink resources are not earlier in the slot than the resources of the second set of downlink resources (See Par. [94, [98], [126] of Zhang for a reference to that if only one PDSCH is included in the slot [first resources is not earlier that second resources], then a single feedback bit is mapped to the PDSCH index value, and the size of the codebook is determined based on mapped bit).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Bae. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by efficiently handling the overlap of multiple PDSCH configurations in one slot to reduce codebook overhead. (Zhang; Par. [38])
Regarding claim 4, Bae does not explicitly disclose wherein a first scheduling rule of the one or more scheduling rules comprises the resources of the first set of downlink resources being earlier in the slot than the resources of the second set of downlink resources.
However, Zhang discloses a first scheduling rule of the one or more scheduling rules comprises the resources of the first set of downlink resources being earlier in the slot than the resources of the second set of downlink resources (See Par. [39], [41], [94]-[95], [98] and Fig. 4 of Zhang for a reference to applying the first priority/scheduling rule for high priority SPS PDSCH configurations if the position of the first PDSCH is before the position of the second PDSCH in the slot, then the HARQ codebook includes feedback bits mapped to PDSCHs index values, and the size of the codebook is determined based on mapped bits).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Bae. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by efficiently handling the overlap of multiple PDSCH configurations in one slot to reduce codebook overhead. (Zhang; Par. [38])
Regarding claim 5, Bae does not explicitly disclose wherein the first set of downlink resources spans a plurality of slots and a last slot of plurality of slots comprises the slot.
However, Zhang discloses wherein the first set of downlink resources spans a plurality of slots and a last slot of plurality of slots comprises the slot (See Par. [108], [119], [138]-[139] and Fig. 2, 4 & 5 of Zhang for a reference to the first PDSCH is received over a plurality of slots. The first time resources is included in the last slot).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Bae. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by efficiently handling the overlap of multiple PDSCH configurations in one slot to reduce codebook overhead. (Zhang; Par. [38])
Regarding claim 6, Bae does not explicitly disclose wherein the first set of downlink resources is entirely within the slot and the second set of downlink resources spans a plurality of slots, a first slot of the plurality of slots comprising the slot.
However, Zhang discloses wherein the first set of downlink resources is entirely within the slot and the second set of downlink resources spans a plurality of slots, a first slot of the plurality of slots comprising the slot (See Par. [108], [148], [158]-[159] and Fig. 2, 4 & 5 of Zhang for a reference to the second PDSCH is received over a plurality of slots, which overlaps with a first slot that includes the first PDSCH entirely. The second time resource is in the first slot of the plurality of slots).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Bae. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by efficiently handling the overlap of multiple PDSCH configurations in one slot to reduce codebook overhead. (Zhang; Par. [38])
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Bae, Zhang and Choi, specifically Bae discloses wherein a second scheduling rule of the one or more scheduling rules comprises the first set of downlink resources and the second set of downlink resources both being entirely within the slot (See Par. [132], [138], [229], [236], [242] of Bae for a reference to determining that the first time resources included in PDSCH#1 and the second time resources included in PDSCH#2, being included in the same slot. The indicated a PUCCH resource subset of the PUCCH resource set and which PUCCH resource in the indicated PUCCH resource subset is to be used may be determined according to a predefined scheduling rule).
Regarding claim 8, Bae does not explicitly disclose determining the size of the feedback codebook based at least in part on the slot comprising both resources of the first set of downlink resources and resources of the second set of downlink resources.
However, Zhang discloses determining the size of the feedback codebook based at least in part on the slot comprising both resources of the first set of downlink resources and resources of the second set of downlink resources (See Par. [93]-[94], [121], [124]-[125] and Figs. 4 & 5 of Zhang for a reference to the HARQ feedback codebook size [number of bits] is determined based on the number of the active PDSCH repetitions in one slot [Number of resources (First & Second) in one slot]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang to Bae. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by efficiently handling the overlap of multiple PDSCH configurations in one slot to reduce codebook overhead. (Zhang; Par. [38])
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bae, Zhang and Choi, specifically Bae discloses wherein the first grant and the second grant each comprise multi-physical downlink shared channel scheduling downlink control information or single-physical downlink shared channel scheduling downlink control information (See Par. [14], [236] and fig. 15 of Bae for a reference to the received first and second DCIs (grants) comprises a first and second PDSCH).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Bae, Zhang and Choi, specifically Bae discloses wherein the feedback codebook comprises a type-1 hybrid automatic repeat request codebook (See Par. [141]-[142], [149] of Bae for a reference to the HARQ feedback codebook comprises a type-1 HARQ feedback codebook).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (See Fig. 2; UE 100), comprising: memory (See Fig. 2; Memory 104); a transceiver (See Fig. 2; Transceiver 106); and at least one processor of the UE, the at least one processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver (See Fig. 2; Processor 102).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 12.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 13.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (See Fig. 2; UE 100), comprising: means for receiving (See Fig. 2; Transceiver 106), means for determining (See Fig. 2; Processor 102), means for generating a feedback codebook (See Fig. 2; Processor 102), and means for transmitting (See Fig. 2; Transceiver 106).
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by a processor (See Par. [75] of Bae for a reference to a computer readable storage medium that store instruction or program, executed by at least one processor to perform operations of claim 1).
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
6. Claims 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. in view of Zhang et al. in view of Choi et al. and further in view of Yang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0303064 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Bae, Zhang and Choi does not explicitly disclose wherein determining the size of the feedback codebook comprises: determining a first quantity of feedback bits for scheduled downlink signaling on the first set of downlink resources; determining a second quantity of feedback bits for scheduled downlink signaling on the second set of downlink resources; and determining a maximum quantity of feedback bits for the feedback codebook based at least in part on the first quantity of feedback bits and the second quantity of feedback bits.
However, Yang discloses wherein determining the size of the feedback codebook comprises: determining a first quantity of feedback bits for scheduled downlink signaling on the first set of downlink resources (See Par. [164], [190], [490] of Yang for a reference to determining the size/number of bits for the first received PDSCH, which is related to the HARQ process and includes the first time resources for the HARQ feedback);
determining a second quantity of feedback bits for scheduled downlink signaling on the second set of downlink resources (See Par. [164], [190], [490] of Yang for a reference to determining the size/number of bits for the second received PDSCH, which is related to the HARQ process and includes the second time resources for the HARQ feedback); and
determining a maximum quantity of feedback bits for the feedback codebook based at least in part on the first quantity of feedback bits and the second quantity of feedback bits (See Par. [164], [490] of Yang for a reference to determining and appending the maximum number of bits, related to the HARQ feedback based on the received PDSCHs, to the HARQ feedback codebook. The size of the codebook equals the maximum total number of feedback bits related to all PDSCHs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang to the combination of Bae, Zhang and Choi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing the HARQ feedback payload size and overhead through type-3 codebook. (Yang; Par. [413])
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
7. Claims 10-11 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. in view of Zhang et al. in view of Choi et al. in view of Yang et al. and further in view of Huang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0019320 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Bae, Zhang, Choi and Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein determining the maximum quantity of feedback bits comprises: determining that the first set of downlink resources and the second set of downlink resources do not overlap one another in a time domain; and determining a third quantity of feedback bits, wherein the third quantity of feedback bits corresponds to a combination of the first quantity of feedback bits and the second quantity of feedback bits, and wherein the third quantity of feedback bits is equal to the maximum quantity of feedback bits.
However, Huang discloses wherein determining the maximum quantity of feedback bits comprises: determining that the first set of downlink resources and the second set of downlink resources do not overlap one another in a time domain (See Par. [85], [106], [172]-[175] of Huang for a reference to determining that the time resource of the multiple received PDSCHs do not overlap within the slot); and determining a third quantity of feedback bits, wherein the third quantity of feedback bits corresponds to a combination of the first quantity of feedback bits and the second quantity of feedback bits, and wherein the third quantity of feedback bits is equal to the maximum quantity of feedback bits (See Par. [85], [172]-[175] of Huang for a reference to the UE determines the maximum number of PDSCHs receptions in a single slot based on the non-overlapping start and length index value (SLIVs) according to the set of row indexes. Based on the SLIVs, the maximum number of feedback bits is determined and appended to the HARQ feedback codebook).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang to the combination of Bae, Zhang, Choi and Yang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enhancing the efficiency of generating the HARQ feedback codebook, by avoiding unnecessary HARQ withdraw. (Huang; Par. [95])
Regarding claim 11, Bae discloses receiving, from the base station, a third grant allocating a third set of downlink resources to the UE (See Par. [14], [229], [236] and Fig. 15 of Bae for a reference to receiving, by the UE, from the BS, PDSCH#3 [Third Grant], which comprises a third time resource for HARQ-ACK feedback for the third PDSCH);
The combination of Bae, Zhang and Choi does not explicitly disclose determining a fourth quantity of feedback bits to include in the feedback codebook for scheduled downlink signaling on the third set of downlink resources; determining that the third set of downlink resources and the first set of downlink resources do not overlap one another in a time domain; and determining a fifth quantity of feedback bits, wherein the fifth quantity of feedback bits corresponds to a combination of the first quantity of feedback bits and the fourth quantity of feedback bits, and wherein the maximum quantity of feedback bits is equal to the third quantity of feedback bits based at least in part on the fifth quantity of feedback bits being less than the third quantity of feedback bits.
However, Yang discloses determining a fourth quantity of feedback bits to include in the feedback codebook for scheduled downlink signaling on the third set of downlink resources (See Par. [164], [190], [490] of Yang for a reference to determining the size/number of bits for the first received PDSCH, which is related to the HARQ process and includes the first time resources for the HARQ feedback, and determining the size/number of bits for the second received PDSCH, which is related to the HARQ process and includes the second time resources for the HARQ feedback).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang to the combination of Bae and Zhang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing the HARQ feedback payload size and overhead through type-3 codebook. (Yang; Par. [413])
The combination of Bae, Zhang, Choi and Yang does not explicitly disclose determining that the third set of downlink resources and the first set of downlink resources do not overlap one another in a time domain; and determining a fifth quantity of feedback bits, wherein the fifth quantity of feedback bits corresponds to a combination of the first quantity of feedback bits and the fourth quantity of feedback bits, and wherein the maximum quantity of feedback bits is equal to the third quantity of feedback bits based at least in part on the fifth quantity of feedback bits being less than the third quantity of feedback bits.
However, Huang discloses determining that the third set of downlink resources and the first set of downlink resources do not overlap one another in a time domain (See Par. [85], [106], [172]-[175] of Huang for a reference to determining that the time resource of the multiple received PDSCHs do not overlap within the slot); and determining a fifth quantity of feedback bits, wherein the fifth quantity of feedback bits corresponds to a combination of the first quantity of feedback bits and the fourth quantity of feedback bits, and wherein the maximum quantity of feedback bits is equal to the third quantity of feedback bits based at least in part on the fifth quantity of feedback bits being less than the third quantity of feedback bits (See Par. [85], [172]-[175], [188]-[189] of Huang for a reference to the UE determines the maximum number of PDSCHs receptions in a single slot based on the non-overlapping start and length index value (SLIVs) according to the set of row indexes. Based on the SLIVs, the maximum number of feedback bits is determined and appended to the HARQ feedback codebook. The SLIVs of PDSCHs within the slot is less that the SLIVs of PDSCHs in a plurality of slots).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang to the combination of Bae, Zhang, Choi and Yang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enhancing the efficiency of generating the HARQ feedback codebook, by avoiding unnecessary HARQ withdraw. (Huang; Par. [95])
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lei et al. (US 2024/0405928 A1) discloses hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook determination.
Hao et al. (US 2024/0049210 A1) discloses systems and methods for managing transmission indication in multicast and broadcast communications.
Yang et al. (US 2020/0374089 A1) discloses methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support feedback for multiple active downlink semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configurations.
/R. F./
Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413