DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-14, 18-19, and 21 are currently pending.
Claims 1 and 18 are amended.
Claims 5, 8, 15-17, and 20 is cancelled.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-14, 18-19, and 21 have been considered on the merits.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejections made onto claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-14 and 18-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in light of the clarifying amendments submitted on 07/06/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilad et al (US20230020006A1)(reference of record), effectively filled 12/10/2020, as evidenced by Kuntz et al (PLoS Genet, 2014)(reference of record), in view of Augustinos et al (PLOS one, 2016), Mazur et al (Academic Press, 1993) (reference of record), Steponkus et al (Cryo-Letters, 14, 375-380, 1993) (reference of record).
With regards to claims 1 and 18, Gilad teaches a method of cryopreservation of Drosophila embryos ([0046]) including the steps of collecting embryos, staging, dechorionating, permeabilizing, loading with cryoprotective solution (CPA), dehydrating ([0051]), transferring to a cryomesh, and placing in a cryogenic coolant as required by claims 1 and 18 ([0013]). The dehydrating solution is composed of a CPA ([0158]) and a non-penetrating compound such as a sugar ([0159]). Additionally, Gilad discloses that the CPA concentration in a first of at least two incubations with CPA is between 5-20 wt% and the CPA concentration of a second of at least two incubations with CPA is between 15-30 wt% ([0152]-[0154]). Gilad teaches transferring the embryos to a cryomesh ([0208]).
With regards to the embryos being “adhered to one or more surfaces of the cryomesh” and “cooling the embryos adhered to the cryomesh by submerging the embryos”, Gilad teaches both freezing and thawing is completed while the embryos are on either a copper mesh or a polycarbonate Nucleopore Whatman paper as required by claims 1 and 18 ([0208]). Additional support for the fact that Gilad cools the embryos adhered to the cryomesh or paper by submerging the embryos in liquid nitrogen is found in Fig. 3 and [0231], which states “FIG. 3 shows vitrified embryos on a Nucleopore Whatman paper in liquid nitrogen after the described peeling and CPA loading protocol or without treatment”. This explanation of Fig. 3 definitively supports that the method of Gilad includes submerging the embryos while still attached to either the mesh or the paper. Therefore, Gilad meets the limitation of cooling the embryos adhered to the cryomesh or “thin copper mesh” as described by Gilad ([0208]).
Regarding claim 2, the staging step comprises visually evaluating the stages of embryonic development including the gut morphology ([0043]/[0189]).
Regarding claim 3, the staging includes incubating the embryo until it has developed to a stage where head involution and dorsal closure has been completed ([0013]).
Regarding claim 6, the permeabilizing step comprises the use of D-Limonene and heptane ([0020]/[0024]).
Regarding claim 7, the CPA solution is comprised of ethylene glycol, propylene glycol, or DMSO ([0053]).
Regarding claim 9, the excess cryoprotective solution is removed ([0222]). Although Gilad does not teach that the excess liquid is removed through wicking, wicking is a method of excess liquid removal well known in the art and is addressed below by Steponkus.
Regarding claim 10, the method also comprises rewarming the embryos ([0208]) in a buffer, which unloads the CPA, and incubating them in a medium ([0032]/[0208]). One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably read the description in para. 0208 to mean that the rewarming step is completed while the embryos are on the copper mesh, since Gilad does not state removing them to freeze and/or thaw the embryos as required by claim 10 ([0208]).
Regarding claims 11-12, Gilad teaches that the buffer used to rewarm the embryos is Schneider’s medium with trehalose until hatching ([0208]). Gilad meets the limitation of rewarming the embryos in Schneider’s medium for 8 to 24 hours to form larvae because Gilad discloses rewarming in said medium until hatching, i.e. forming larvae.
Regarding claim 13, Gilad teaches the method can be performed with various genetic lines (i.e. wild type or mutant) of different species of flies, including Drosophila ([0066]).
Although Gilad does not teach incubating the embryos at about 20°C for 22 hours as recited in claim 4, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the incubation time and temperature are result effective variables and that the amount of time and the temperature of incubation would be matter of routine optimization as evidenced by Kuntz. Kuntz teaches that Drosophila embryogenesis scales uniformly dependent of temperature. Therefore, depending on the desired incubation time the temperature can be adjusted accordingly (see figure 3).
Gilad does not explicitly describe resultant cryomesh as “a monolayer comprised of individual Drosophila embryos placed on the cryomesh”. However, the term “monolayer” is being interpreted to mean a single layer of embryos, in which the embryos can be either sparse or densely packed next to one another; Gilad does teach Fig.3A and Fig. 3B, which shows embryos in liquid nitrogen in a monolayer, where about half of the surface is packed with embryos, and although a majority of embryos make contact each other laterally, a majority of the embryos do not appear to overlap one another however the images are not fully clear as to the presence of “vertical stacking or clumping” as required by dependent claim 21.
Therefore, It is not entirely clear if Gilad teaches “wherein the monolayer comprises individual embryos dispersed upon and directly contacting the one or more surfaced of the cryomesh such that the individual embryos only contact one another along margins of the individual embryos perpendicular to the cryomesh such that the monolayer comprises individual embryos dispersed on the cryomesh surface without vertical stacking or clumping of the individual embryos” as required by claim 21. Gilad does not explicitly describe an active step of breaking up clumps into individual embryos and thus forming a monolayer of individual embryos as required by claim 18.
However, Augustinos teaches a method of cryopreservation of embryos of flies (abstract).
Regarding claims 18 and 21, Augustinos teaches a method of cryopreservation which includes a step of spreading the embryos evenly in a mesh basket and imaging (pg. 3, para 2; pg. 4, para 2 and Fig. 1A (image of embryos in mesh basket in monolayer)). Further, Augustinos teaches Fig. 1A which demonstrates suitable embryos for starting the cryopreservation process spread evenly in a monolayer such that there is no visible vertical stacking or clumping of the individual embryos.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the instant application would find it obvious to combine the method of cryopreserving taught by Gilad with the explicit teaching of a monolayer of embryos in cryopreservation taught by Augustinos. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because Augustinos teaches a successful method of cryopreserving fly embryos with “the absence of any negative impact of the cryopreservation process on egg hatch rate, pupation rates, adult emergence rates” (abstract). Further, Gilad does teach Fig.3A and Fig. 3B, which shows embryos in liquid nitrogen in a monolayer, where about half of the surface is packed with embryos, and although a majority of embryos make contact each other laterally, a majority of the embryos do not appear to overlap one another however the images are not fully clear as to the presence of “vertical stacking or clumping”. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when combining Gilad with Augustinos because Gilad does not demonstrate undeniable vertical stacking and clumping of the embryos and the combination represents routine optimization of the monolayer in the step of cryopreservation.
Gilad does not teach that the cooling rate is greater than 40,000°C/min as required by claim 1, nor that the warming rate is greater than about 100,000°C/min as required by claims 10 and 19.
However, Mazur teaches about the typical cooling and warming rates for drosophila embryos. Mazur teaches that the cooling rates for the drosophila embryos are 110,000 +/- 13,000°C/min as required by claim 1 (pg. 7, column 1, para. 2). Further, Mazur teaches that the warming rates for drosophila are 120,000 +/- 15,000°C/min as required by claims 10 and 19 (pg. 7, column 2, para 1). Finally, Mazur teaches that very high warming rates are critical to survival and that no embryos survive when warmed at a rate of 2,000°C/min (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the instant application would find it obvious to combine the method of cryopreserving taught by Gilad with the cooling/warming rates taught by Mazur. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because Mazur teaches that very high warming rates are critical to survival and that no embryos survive when warmed at a rate of 2,000°C/min (abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when combining Gilad with Mazur because Mazur is achieving these cooling and warming rates using liquid nitrogen as taught in Gilad.
With regards to claim 14, Gilad teaches the method can be performed with various genetic lines (i.e. wild type or mutant) of different species of flies, including Drosophila ([0066]).
Gilad does not explicitly teach applying the cryopreservation method to a mutant strain which contains a single nucleotide polymorphism mutation on the X chromosome that improves survival rates after cryopreservation.
However, Gilad does teach that the method can be applied to any Drosophila strain, including a mutant strain and it would be obvious to a skilled artisan at the effective filling date of the instant invention to apply the method of cryopreservation to an embryo from a fly or Drosophila with any genetic background. This would include discovered and undiscovered wild type or mutant strains, further including mutants with cold resistant mutations which aid them in the survival of cryopreservation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this because Gilad teaches that the method can be performed with various genetic lines ([0066]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when applying the method of Gilad to a mutant strain because the method is applicable to not only Drosophila, but other various fly species therefore it would be reasonable that the method is effective for mutant drosophila. Thus, the claim is obvious over Gilad.
Gilad teaches that the embryos are dehydrated, but does not teach that they are dehydrated at a temperature lower than room temperature as required by claims 1 and 18. Gilad teaches a method of dechorionating the embryos using bleach, but Gilad does not teach that the concentration of the bleach is 50% as required by claim 1 and 18. Gilad does not teach that dechorionating the embryos for a period of about 2-4 minutes as required by claim 1. Gilad does not teach that the excess cryoprotective solution is removed though wicking as required by claim 9.
However, Steponkus teaches a similar method to that of Gilad, where Drosophila are both dehydrated and dechorionated, in a procedure for the cryopreservation of Drosophila.
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Steponkus teaches that the embryos are dehydrated using 0°C solution and kept on ice during the process (i.e. dehydrated at a temperature lower than room temperature) (pg. 380, Dehydration, last para). Steponkus teaches that the chorion of Drosophila can be removed by a 2.5 min exposure to 50% bleach (Dechorionation, lines 10-11).
Regarding claim 9, Steponkus teaches that the excess cryopreservation solution is removed though wicking with a Kimwipe (pg. 380, last two para).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the concentration of bleach for dechorionation taught by Steponkus with the cryopreservation method taught by Gilad and Mazur to arrive at the instant invention. A skilled artisan would be motivated to make this combination because the method disclosed was able to cryopreserve embryos and 45% of them developed into fertile adults (Summary, line 4). One skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when employing the 50% concentration of bleach because Steponkus teaches the method of dechorionating using Drosophila as well. Thus, Gilad, Mazur, and Steponkus render the claims obvious.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pg. 7-8, filed 06/08/2026, with respect to the newly amended active step of claim 18 regarding “breaking up clumps into individual embryos” have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the claims has been withdrawn, however the rejection employing the references of record is newly presented in further view of Augustinos et al.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
CONSTANTINA E. STAVROU
Examiner
Art Unit 1632
/TITILAYO MOLOYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632