DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mou et al. (US 2019/0056125).
Regarding claim 1, Regarding claim 1, the reference Mou et al. discloses a gas evacuation device (100) for filtering a gas, comprising:
a housing (101);
a gas channel located in the housing and comprising a gas-channel inlet (1011) and a gas-channel outlet (1012), wherein the gas-channel inlet (1011) and the gas-channel outlet (1012) are formed on the housing (see paras. [0017]-[0019]; [0024]; Figs. 1-2);
a gas detection main body (12) disposed in the gas channel adjacent to the gas-channel inlet for detecting the gas introduced through the gas-channel inlet (1011) and generating detection data;
a gas guider (13) disposed adjacent to the gas-channel outlet for guiding and transporting the gas from the gas-channel inlet to the gas-channel outlet (see paras. [0017]-[0019]; [0024]; Figs. 1-2); and
a driving controller (11) disposed in the gas channel adjacent to the gas guider for controlling enablement and disablement of the gas detection main body and the gas guider (see paras. [0017]-[0019]; [0024]; Figs. 1-2),
wherein the housing (101) of the gas evacuation device is connected with a space boundary on at least one outer surface thereof (i.e., a space boundary defined by the outer surface of the housing element 101, see Fig. 1), the gas-channel inlet (1011) and the gas-channel outlet (1012) are respectively located in a first space and a second space, and the first space and the second space are separated by the space boundary (i.e., the space boundary defined by the outer surface of the housing element 101) (see para. [0017]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Mou et al. discloses that the gas evacuation device (100) further comprises a purification unit (2) disposed in the gas channel for filtering the gas passing through the gas channel (see para. [0017]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, the reference Mou et al. discloses the gas evacuation device, wherein the purification unit (2) is a high efficiency particulate air filter screen (see para. [0023]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, as no structural distinction is seen between the purification unit (2) of Mou et al. and the purification unit of the instantly claimed device, the purification unit (2) of Mou et al. is considered capable of performing the function recited in claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, the reference Mou et al. discloses the gas evacuation device, wherein the driving controller further comprises: at least one wireless multiplexing communication module (14) including a Wi-Fi module, a Bluetooth module, a radio frequency identification module, or a near field communication module (see paras. [0022]; [0024]-[0025]; Fig. 2); a processing and computing system (11) for processing and computing the detection data received by the wireless multiplexing communication module, so as to automatically adjust the setting values of an exported airflow rate of the gas guider (see paras. [0024]-[0025]; Fig. 2); a wired control module for providing control signals to the purification unit, the gas guider and the gas detection main body (see paras. [0024]-[0025]; Fig. 2); and an external transmission module (14) for executing a communication transmission with an external device via the wireless multiplexing communication module(see para. [0026]; Fig. 2). Thus, the driving controller of Mou et al. is considered capable of performing all the functions recited in claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, the reference Mou et al. discloses the gas evacuation device, wherein the detection data is one selected from the group consisting of PM1, PM2.5, PM10, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, ozone, sulfur dioxide, nitrogen dioxide, lead, total volatile organic compounds, formaldehyde, bacteria, virus, temperature, humidity and a combination thereof (see paras. [0020]-[0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Mou et al. (US 2021/0188050), hereinafter, US ‘050.
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 1, the reference US ‘050 discloses a gas evacuation device (1) for filtering a gas, comprising:
a housing (1);
a gas channel (13) located in the housing (1) and comprising a gas-channel inlet (11) and a gas-channel outlet (12), wherein the gas-channel inlet (11) and the gas-channel outlet are formed on the housing (1) (see para. [0038]; Figs. 2A-E);
a gas detection main body (4) disposed in the gas channel (13) for detecting the gas introduced through the gas-channel inlet (11) and generating detection data (see para. [0037; Figs. 2A-E);
a gas guider (3) disposed adjacent to the gas-channel outlet (12) for guiding and transporting the gas from the gas-channel inlet (11) to the gas-channel outlet (12); and
a driving controller (4c) disposed in the gas channel (13) near the gas guider (3) for controlling enablement and disablement of the gas detection main body and the gas guider (see Abstract; paras. [0007]; [0038]; [0050]; Figs. 2A-E; Fig. 13),
wherein the housing (1) of the gas evacuation device (1) is connected with a space boundary on at least one outer surface thereof (i.e., a space boundary defined by an outer surface of the housing 1, as shown in Figs. 2A-E), the gas-channel inlet (11) and the gas-channel outlet (12) are respectively located in a first space and a second space, and the first space and the second space are separated by the space boundary (i.e. the space boundary defined by the outer surface of the housing 1, as shown in Figs. 2A-E) (see para. [0038]; Figs. 2A-E).
The reference US ‘050, however, does not specifically specify wherein the gas detection main body (4) is disposed in the gas channel (13) adjacent to the gas-channel inlet (11). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the gas detection main body (4) of the reference US ‘050 in the gas channel (13) adjacent to the gas-channel inlet (11) in application where it is desired to detect the quality of ambient air drawn into the gas channel (13) prior to filtering the air, since the reference US ‘050 teaches that the gas detection main body (4) can be disposed in the gas channel (13) to detect gas drawn into the device (1) to obtain gas detection data (see Abstract; paras. [0005]-[0007]).
Regarding claim 2, the reference US ‘050 discloses that the gas evacuation device (1) further comprises a purification unit (2) disposed in the gas channel (13) for filtering the gas passing through the gas channel (see Abstract; paras. [0007]; [0039]; Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 4, the reference US ‘050 discloses the gas evacuation device (1), wherein the purification unit (2) is a high efficiency particulate air filter screen (see para. [0039]1).
Regarding claim 15, as no structural distinction is seen between the purification unit (2) of US ‘050 and the purification unit of the instantly claimed device, the purification unit (2) of US ‘050. is considered capable of performing the function recited in claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, the reference US ‘050 discloses the gas evacuation device (1), wherein the driving controller further comprises: at least one wireless multiplexing communication module (14) including a Wi-Fi module, a Bluetooth module, a radio frequency identification module, or a near field communication module (see paras. [0050]; Fig. 13); a processing and computing system (4c) for processing and computing the detection data received by the wireless multiplexing communication module, so as to automatically adjust the setting values of an exported airflow rate of the gas guider (see para. [0050]; Fig. 13); a wired control module for providing control signals to the purification unit, the gas guider and the gas detection main body (see paras. [0040]-[0044]; Fig. 13); and an external transmission module (4d) for executing a communication transmission with an external device via the wireless multiplexing communication module (see para. [0050]; Fig. 13). Thus, the driving controller of US ‘050 is considered capable of performing all the functions recited in claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, the reference US ‘050 discloses the gas evacuation device, wherein the detection data is one selected from the group consisting of PM2.5, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, ozone, total volatile organic compounds, formaldehyde, bacteria, virus and a combination thereof (see paras. [0053]; [0064]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the features "a gas channel located in the housing and comprising a gas-channel inlet and a gas-channel outlet, wherein the gas-channel inlet and the gas-channel outlet are formed on the housing" and "the housing of the gas evacuation device is connected with a space boundary on at least one outer surface thereof, the gas-channel inlet and the gas-channel outlet are respectively located in a first space and a second space, and the first space and the second space are separated by the space boundary" as recited in the amended claim 1 are not disclosed or taught by the reference Mou et al. (see Remarks, pages 10-12).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The instantly claimed gas evacuation device as defined in amended claim 1 reads on the device 100 described and illustrated in Fig. 1 of the reference Mou et al. For ease of comparison, Figure 1 of the reference Mou et al. is reproduced below with added annotations showing how the device 100 taught by Mou et al. reads on the device recited in amended claim 1.
Thus, as no structural distinction is seen between the instantly claimed device and the device of Mou et al., the device of Mou et al. can suitably be employed for filtering a gas as claimed in claim 1.
Applicant also argues the features "a gas channel located in the housing and comprising a gas-channel inlet and a gas-channel outlet, wherein the gas-channel inlet and the gas-channel outlet are formed on the housing" and "the housing of the gas evacuation device is connected with a space boundary on at least one outer surface thereof, the gas-channel inlet and the gas-channel outlet are respectively located in a first space and a second space, and the first space and the second space are separated by the space boundary" as recited in the amended claim 1 are not disclosed or taught by the reference US ‘050 (see Remarks, pages 13-14).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The structural features "a gas channel located in the housing and comprising a gas-channel inlet and a gas-channel outlet, wherein the gas-channel inlet and the gas-channel outlet are formed on the housing" and "the housing of the gas evacuation device is connected with a space boundary on at least one outer surface thereof, the gas-channel inlet and the gas-channel outlet are respectively located in a first space and a second space, and the first space and the second space are separated by the space boundary" recited in the amended claim 1 read on the device illustrated in Figure 2A of the reference US ‘050. For ease of comparison, Figure 2A of the reference US ‘050 is reproduced below with added annotations showing how the device illustrated in Figure 2A reads on the structural features as currently presented in amended claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774