Claims 1-5, 7-21 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to amendment
This is a non-final Office action in response to applicant's remarks/arguments filed on 01/21/2026.
Status of the claims:
Claims 1, 11, 20 have been amended.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 7-10, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-5, 7-21 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Francis S. Luecke (US 5319668 A) necessitated by the claim amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaotian Steve Yao (US 20220050187 A1, “Yao”) in view of Kyoto et al. (US 20190348817 A1, “Kyoto”) and Francis S. Luecke (US 5319668 A, “Luecke”).
Regarding claim 1, Yao teaches an optical sensing system (Fig. 5, para 108), comprising:
an integrated optical source (Fig. 5, multi-wavelength laser), wherein the integrated optical source comprises a laser diode configured to emit optical signals (Fig. 5) (and)
a first diffraction grating unit (Fig. 5, para 108, Beam forming unit (BFU) has a diffraction grating) configured to simultaneously tune wavelengths and directions of the emitted optical signals, wherein the optical signals of different wavelengths are directed along different directions towards an environment surrounding the optical sensing system (Fig. 5. See also, para 99); and
a receiver (Fig. 5, para 108, Detector array, lens, diffraction grating. See also, fig. 2A, Receiver unit (RU)), configured to receive at least a portion of the optical signals returned from the environment,
wherein the receiver comprises a second diffracting grating unit (Fig. 5, diffraction grating in the receiver unit) configured to direct the received portion of optical signals with the different wavelengths along different directions towards a sensor array (Fig. 5, para 108), the sensor array (Fig. 5, detector array) is configured to receive the optical signals of the different wavelengths at different positions of the sensor array (para 108).
Yao fails to explicitly teach an integrated optical source comprises a laser diode and a diffraction grating. However, Kyoto in fig. 1, para 20-22 teaches a laser device 100-1 (integrated optical source) that includes a laser unit and a diffraction grating.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yao, in view of Kyoto, to have an integrated optical source comprises a laser diode and a diffraction grating. Integrating components on a single chip can lead to improved performance and lower power consumption. Allowing smaller and more compact optical systems. Reducing manufacturing costs.
Yao also fails to explicitly teach wherein the first diffraction grating unit is positioned to direct first-order diffracted light beams to return to the laser diode and to direct all of zeroth order diffracted light beams directly towards the environment surrounding the optical sensing system.
However, Luecke (Fig. 1, col 3: line 68 “With reference to FIG. 1, a solid-state diode laser 1……” to col 4: line 7) teaches a laser diode where all the zero-diffraction order light is directly taken out and the first diffraction order is reflected back into the laser.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yao to arrange the diffraction grating such that the first-order diffracted light is fed back into the laser diode, and all the zeroth order diffracted light is directed outward, because returning first-order diffracted light to the laser diode provides active wavelength stabilization and mode selection, while directing all zeroth-order diffracted light outward provides a well-defined, efficiently coupled free-space output beam, which together yield predictable improvements in wavelength accuracy, spectral purity, and output beam control that are directly beneficial for optical sensing systems that rely on wavelength-dependent beam propagation and reliable detection of returned signals.
Regarding claim 4, Yao, as modified in view of Kyoto and Luecke, teaches the optical sensing system of claim 1, wherein the first diffraction grating unit comprises a surface grating structure with a predefined diffraction grating pattern (Kyoto, para 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yao, in view of Kyoto, to have a diffraction grating with a surface grating structure with a predefined diffraction grating pattern. Doing so will allow to detect distances at various direction.
Regarding claim 5, Yao, as modified in view of Kyoto and Luecke, teaches the optical sensing system of claim 1, wherein the first diffraction grating unit is positioned at a predefined distance from the laser diode (Yao, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Yao, as modified in view of Kyoto and Luecke, teaches the optical sensing system of claim 1, wherein each sensor in the sensor array is configured to detect optical signals of a predetermined spectral range (Yao, fig. 5, para 108).
Regarding claim 8, Yao, as modified in view of Kyoto and Luecke, teaches the optical sensing system of claim 1, wherein each sensor in the sensor array is configured to receive optical signals within a predetermined range of angular directions in space (Yao, fig. 5, para 108. See also, para 43, The other function is beam forming by to illuminating the surrounding space either sequentially or parallel to enable the system to identify the angular direction of the beam reflected by the object for determining its transverse spatial location (the x and y coordinates).).
Regarding claim 9, Yao, as modified in view of Kyoto and Luecke, teaches the optical sensing system of claim 1, wherein the laser diode and the first diffraction grating unit are located in a same cavity to form an external cavity laser diode (Kyoto, fig. 1, para 22 resonator 50).
Regarding claim 10, Yao, as modified in view of Kyoto and Luecke, teaches the optical sensing system of claim 1, further comprising a processor configured to construct a three-dimensional map of the environment based on the portion of optical signals received by the sensor array (Yao, para 61 (last sentence), 158 and claim 22).
Claims 11, 16, 18-19 are method claims corresponding to system claims 1-3, 7. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 12, Yao, as modified in view of Kyoto and Luecke, teaches the optical sensing method of claim 11, wherein tuning the wavelengths and directions of the optical signals comprises: rotating the first diffraction grating unit according to a predefined pattern wherein the rotation of the first diffraction grating unit causes a simultaneous change of a wavelength and an angular direction of an emitted optical signal towards the environment (Yao, Figs. 2A-B, 5, para 99 “a motor fixture or motor is engaged to the BFU to rotate the optical collimator and the grating assembly horizontally around a vertical axis to cover a desired FOV so that all the beams of different WDM wavelengths at different vertical angles are scanned or rotated horizontally to sense different parts of the surroundings.”).
Regarding claim 13, Yao, as modified in view of Kyoto and Luecke, teaches the optical sensing method of claim 12, wherein the wavelength and the angular direction of an emitted optical signal have a correspondence relationship (Yao, para 56, 73).
Regarding claim 14, Yao, as modified in view of Kyoto and Luecke, teaches the optical sensing method of claim 13, further comprising constructing a three- dimensional map of the environment based on the optical signals returned by the environment and received by the sensor array (Yao, Para 56. See also, para 61 (last sentence), para 158 and claim 22).
Regarding claim 15, Yao, as modified in view of Kyoto and Luecke, teaches the optical sensing method of claim 14, wherein constructing the three- dimensional map of the environment based on the optical signals returned by the environment and received by the sensor array further comprises: acquiring a wavelength of each optical signal returned from the environment and received by the sensor array (Yao, para 158) and
determining, for each optical signal returned from the environment and received by the sensor array, angular direction of a corresponding wavelength of a respective optical signal (Yao, para 56, 73); and construct the three-dimensional map of the environment based on the angular direction corresponding to each optical signal returned from the environment and received by the sensor array. (Yao, Para 56. See also, para 61 (last sentence), para 158 and claim 22).
Regarding claim 17, Yao, as modified in view of Kyoto and Luecke, teaches the optical sensing method of claim 11, wherein receiving the diffracted optical signals with different wavelengths at different positions of the sensor array further comprises:
sequentially activating sensor units therein included in the sensor array according to a predefined pattern (Yao, Figs.2A, 5, para 100 lines 23-44; electronics board control the sensor array via the local oscillator (LO) circuitry by controlling the activation timing of each detector); and
receiving the diffracted optical signals by the sequentially activated sensor units included in the sensor array (Yao, Figs.2A, 5, para 100 lines 23-44; electronics board receiving the diffracted optical signals by the sequentially activated sensor units included in the sensor array).
Regarding claim 20, Yao teaches an integrated optical source (Fig. 5, multi-wavelength laser), comprising:
a laser diode configured to emit optical signals (Fig. 5); (and)
a diffraction grating unit (Fig. 5, para 108, Beam forming unit (BFU) has a diffraction grating) configured to simultaneously tune wavelengths and directions of the emitted optical signals, wherein the optical signals of different wavelengths are directed along different directions towards an environment surrounding the integrated optical source (Fig. 5. See also, para 99).
Yao fails to explicitly teach an integrated optical source comprises a laser diode and a diffraction grating. However, Kyoto in fig. 1, para 20-22 teaches a laser device 100-1 (integrated optical source) that includes a laser unit and a diffraction grating.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yao, in view of Kyoto, to have an integrated optical source comprises a laser diode and a diffraction grating. Integrating components on a single chip can lead to improved performance and lower power consumption. Allowing smaller and more compact optical systems. Reducing manufacturing costs.
Yao also fails to explicitly teach wherein the first diffraction grating unit is positioned to direct first-order diffracted light beams to return to the laser diode and to direct all of zeroth order diffracted light beams directly towards the environment surrounding the optical sensing system associated with the integrated optical source.
However, Luecke (Fig. 1, col 3: line 68 “With reference to FIG. 1, a solid-state diode laser 1……” to col 4: line 7) teaches a laser diode where all the zero-diffraction order light is directly taken out and the first diffraction order is reflected back into the laser.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yao to arrange the diffraction grating such that the first-order diffracted light is fed back into the laser diode, and all the zeroth order diffracted light is directed outward, because returning first-order diffracted light to the laser diode provides active wavelength stabilization and mode selection, while directing all zeroth-order diffracted light outward provides a well-defined, efficiently coupled free-space output beam, which together yield predictable improvements in wavelength accuracy, spectral purity, and output beam control that are directly beneficial for optical sensing systems that rely on wavelength-dependent beam propagation and reliable detection of returned signals.
Claims 2 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Kyoto, Luecke and Wu et al. (US 20190353893 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yao, as modified in view of Kyoto and Luecke, fails to explicitly teach but Wu teaches the optical sensing system of claim 1, wherein the first diffraction grating unit comprises a diffraction grating mounted on a micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS)-based actuator, wherein the MEMS-based actuator is configured to rotate the first diffraction grating unit in order to tune the wavelengths and directions of the emitted optical signals (Figs. 1 and 3B, para 25-28, 44-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yao, in view of Wu, to have a diffraction grating mounted on a micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS)-based actuator. Doing so will allow to detect distances at various direction.
Regarding claim 21, Yao, as modified in view of Kyoto and Luecke, fails to explicitly teach but Wu teaches the integrated optical source of claim 20, wherein the diffraction grating unit comprises a diffraction grating mounted on a micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS)-based actuator, wherein the MEMS-based actuator is configured to rotate the first diffraction grating unit in order to tune the wavelengths and directions of the emitted optical signals (Figs. 1 and 3B, para 25-28, 44-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yao, in view of Wu, to have a diffraction grating mounted on a micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS)-based actuator. Doing so will allow to detect distances at various direction.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Kyoto, Luecke and Hosseini et al. (US 20180306925 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Yao, as modified in view of Kyoto and Luecke, fails to explicitly teach but Hosseini teaches optical sensing system of claim 1, wherein the first diffraction grating unit comprises a diffraction grating and a MEMS mirror, wherein the MEMS mirror is configured to rotate and reflect the optical signals emitted by the laser diode to the diffraction grating at a set of directions, wherein the diffraction grating is configured to tune wavelengths of the reflected optical signals to the different wavelengths and direct the reflected optical signals to the different directions (Figs. 5-7, para 41-42, claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yao, in view of Hosseini, to have a diffraction grating and a MEMS mirror. Doing so will allow to detect distances at various direction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEMPSON NOEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645