DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alt et al. (US 2021/0179118 A1) in view of Simon et al. (DE102019216232 A1).
As to claims 1/12, Alt discloses a system/method comprising: a memory (para. 0042) configured to store machine readable instructions; and one or more processors (para. 0042) that are configured to execute the machine-readable instructions stored in the memory for performing a method comprising: receive first vehicle following data (para. 0021) and associated first environmental data (para. 0056) of a plurality of vehicles; classify the first vehicle following data and the first environmental data into a plurality of driver type classifications (Fig. 2, step 230, para. 0054); train a cruise control policy model for each driver type classification based on the first vehicle following data and the first environmental data (para. 0023-0027), wherein the control policy model is trained using a machine learning technique (para. 0023-0031, parameters optimization; receive a real-time classification of a target vehicle based on second vehicle following data and associated second environmental data of a target vehicle (para. 0027, observing a driving behavior of a driver in a driving operation of the motor vehicle; identifying a driver type-specific cluster from the set of driver type- specific clusters, based on the observed driving behavior - observing a driving behavior is real-time data, because Fig. 3 illustrate the method for controlling a motor vehicle using a control system in real-time with surroundings sensors in para 0041; and output a trained cruise control policy model to the target vehicle based on the real-time classification of the target vehicle (Fig. 3, para. 00027-0031, parameters optimization is a training process in machine learning, para. 0046-0051, machine learning), wherein a following distance between the target vehicle and a lead vehicle is controlled according to the trained cruise control policy model (para. 0019-0021, 0044). Alt does not explicitly disclose the first vehicle operating data comprises at least one of a gradient of weight or a state visitation frequency of at least one of the plurality of vehicles. However, Simon teaches the use of IRL with gradient of weight (maximum entropy) to determine an optimal drive strategy (Translation, para. 0011, 0050-0054). Therefore, given the teaching of Simon, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying method of Alt, by employing the well-known or conventional features of the use of IRL with gradient of weight (maximum entropy) to determine an optimal drive strategy/policy.
As to claims 2-3 and 13, Alt further discloses wherein the first vehicle operating data comprises one or more of vehicle speed, lead vehicle speed, and a following distance between the target vehicle and the lead vehicle (para. 0021, 0044), and wherein the first environmental data comprises one or more of weather information, time of day information, road type information, road surface condition information, vehicle type information, and a degree of traffic information (para. 0056).
As to claims 4 and 21, Alt further discloses comprising: receiving, from each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles, a subset of the first vehicle operating data and an associated subset of the first environmental data, wherein each subset of the first vehicle operating data and associated subset of the first environmental data correspond in time (para. 0056).
As to claims 5 and 14, Alt further discloses comprising: identifying the plurality of driver type classifications by executing unsupervised learning on the first vehicle operating data and the associated first environmental data (para. 0017, 0021, 0029, 0031).
As to claims 6 and 15, Alt further discloses comprises: for each driver type classification, applying inverse reinforcement learning (IRL) to the first vehicle operating data and the associated first environmental data classified into the respective driver type classification, wherein training the control policy model is based on the application of the IRL (para. 0017, 0029, 0031, 0053, 0069).
As to claims 7 and 22, Alt further discloses wherein the IRL infers a reward function based on observed demonstrations, wherein the first vehicle operating data and the associated first environmental data classified into the respective driver type classification is the observed demonstrations and the reward function is the control policy model (para. 0016-0021, 0028, 0031, 0052-0060, 0067).
As to claims 8 and 23, Alt further discloses wherein the second vehicle operating data comprises one or more of target vehicle speed, a lead vehicle speed, and a following distance between the target vehicle and the lead vehicle (Fig. 3, para. 0044).
As to claims 9 and 24, Alt further discloses wherein the second environmental data comprises one or more of weather information, time of day information, road type information, road surface condition information, vehicle type information, and a degree of traffic information (para. 0056).
As to claims 10 and 16, Alt further discloses comprising: receiving the second vehicle operating data and the associated second environmental data of the target vehicle; and classifying the second vehicle operating data and the associated second environmental data into one of the plurality of driver type classifications (Fig. 3).
As to claim 11, Alt further discloses wherein the first vehicle operating data is first vehicle following data of the plurality of vehicles following a plurality of lead vehicles and the second vehicle operating data is second vehicle following data of the target vehicle following a lead vehicle (para. 0044).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CE LI . LI
Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661