DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims 1 and 12 in the submission dated 06/16/2026 in response to the office action mailed 04/23/2026 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claims 2 and 9 were canceled previously. Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-16 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, filed 06/16/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Weng’s Embodiment 7 and Wenren’s Embodiments 1 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng et al., US 2021/0255424 (of record), and further in view of Wenren et al., US 2022/0099925 A1 (of record).
As to claim 1, Weng teaches (Embodiment 7, Fig. 13, Table 13, paras [0091]-[0096]) an imaging lens system (para [0092], “optical imaging lens,” Fig. 13), comprising:
a first lens having positive refractive power (E1, para [0093], “first lens E1 has a positive refractive power,” Fig. 13) and a convex image-side surface (S2, para [0093], “an image side surface S2 of the first lens is a convex surface,” Fig. 13);
a second lens having negative refractive power (E2, para [0093], “second lens E2 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 13) and a convex object-side surface (S3, para [0093], “an object side surface S3 of the second lens is a convex surface,” Fig. 13);
a third lens having refractive power (E3, para [0093], “third lens E3 has a positive refractive power,” Fig. 13);
a fourth lens having negative refractive power (E4, para [0093], “fourth lens E4 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 13);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (E5, para [0093], “fifth lens E5 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 13); and
a sixth lens having positive refractive power (E6, para [0093], “sixth lens E6 has a positive refractive power,” Fig. 13),
wherein the first lens to the sixth lens are sequentially disposed from an object side (E1-E6, para [0092], “sequentially from an object side to an image side,” Fig. 13), and wherein
0.95<D23/D34<1.20 (given the values that follow D23/D34=1.14),
where D23 is a distance from an image-side surface of the second lens to an object-side surface of the third lens (Table 13, Thickness column, Surface Number row S4 gives D23=0.5668), and D34 is a distance from an image-side surface of the third lens to an object-side surface of the fourth lens (Table 13, Thickness column, Surface Number row S6 gives D34=0.4954).
Weng does not explicitly teach TTL/f≤0.85 (para [0037], TTL/f<1.0, which is close and overlaps with the claimed range),
where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging plane, and f is a focal length of the imaging lens system.
It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the ratio of the distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging plane and a focal length of the imaging lens system such that TTL/f≤0.85, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
The instant application at paragraphs [0050]-[0056] does not disclose any criticality to the claimed range. The prior art discloses TTL/f<1.0. The entire range would perform the same function. Because there is no allegation of criticality and no evidence of demonstrating a difference across the range, the prior art discloses the range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP section 2131.03.II. Clearview Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify TTL/f to have the claimed range of viewing angles for the purpose of realizing the long-focus characteristic of the optical imaging lens (para [0037]).
Weng does not teach the imaging lens system wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens.
Weng and Wenren are related as optical imaging lenses.
However, Wenren teaches (Embodiment 5, Fig. 9, Table 9, paras [0096]-[0100]) an imaging lens system (para [0096], “optical imaging lens assembly,” Fig. 9), comprising:
a first lens having positive refractive power (E1, para [0098], “the first lens E1 has a positive refractive power,” Fig. 9);
a second lens having negative refractive power (E2, para [0098], “the second lens E2 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 9) and a convex object-side surface (S3, para [0098], “an object-side surface S3 thereof is a convex surface,” Fig. 9);
a third lens having refractive power (E3, para [0098], “the third lens E3 has a positive refractive power,” Fig. 9);
a fourth lens having negative refractive power (E4, para [0098], “the fourth lens E4 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 9);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (E5, para [0098], “the fifth lens E5 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 9); and
a sixth lens having positive refractive power (E6, para [0098], “the sixth lens E6 has a positive refractive power,” Fig. 9),
wherein the first lens to the sixth lens are sequentially disposed from an object side (E1-E6, para [0097], “from an object side to an image side along an optical axis,” Fig. 9),
wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens (Table 9, the radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens S10 is given as S10=0.2021, the radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens S3 is given as S3=0.1568), wherein
TTL/f≤0.85 (Table 13, TTL/f=0.83, para [0051], “TTL/f≤0.85”),
where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging plane, and f is a focal length of the imaging lens system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens system of Weng with the absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens of Wenren, because doing so enables the optical imaging lens assembly to balance the curvature field and the distortion easily, and ensures a greater focal length of the lens, properly control a range of a depth of field and meet shooting requirements of more users (paras [0058] and [0066]).
As to claim 3, Weng in view of Wenren teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Weng further teaches the imaging lens system, wherein the fourth lens comprises a convex object-side surface (S7, para [0093], “object side surface S7 of the fourth lens is a convex surface,” Fig. 13).
As to claim 4, Weng in view of Wenren teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Weng further teaches the imaging lens system, wherein the fourth lens comprises a concave image-side surface (S8, para [0093], “image side surface S8 of the fourth lens is a concave surface,” Fig. 13).
As to claim 6, Weng in view of Wenren teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Weng further teaches the imaging lens system, wherein the sixth lens comprises a convex object-side surface (S11, para [0093], “an object side surface S11 of the sixth lens is a convex surface,” Fig. 13).
As to claim 8, Weng in view of Wenren teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1.
Weng does not teach the imaging lens system of claim 1, wherein 0.3<f1/f<0.5, where f 1 is a focal length of the first lens.
Weng and Wenren are related as optical imaging lenses.
However, Wenren teaches the imaging lens system, wherein 0.3<f1/f<0.5, where f 1 is a focal length of the first lens (Embodiment 5, Table 13, f1/f=0.45, para [0053], “0.45≤f1/f≤0.46,” Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens system of Weng with 0.3<f1/f<0.5 of Wenren, because doing so balances a contribution value of the first lens to the focal length, reduces the sensitivity of the whole assembly, and achieves a higher capability of the optical imaging lens assembly in balancing the curvature field (para [0053]).
As to claim 10, Weng in view of Wenren teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1.
Weng does not teach the imaging lens system of claim 1, wherein 2.4<f/IMGHT<2.8, where IMGHT is a height of the imaging plane.
Weng and Wenren are related as optical imaging lenses.
However, Wenren teaches an imaging lens system, wherein 2.4<f/IMGHT<2.8 (Table 9, given the values that follow f/IMGHT=2.58, Table 9, f=6.90 mm, IMGHT=2.67 mm), where IMGHT is a height of the imaging plane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens system of Weng with 2.4<f/IMGHT<2.8 of Wenren, because doing so achieves high imaging quality (para [0080]).
As to claim 11, Weng in view of Wenren teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Weng further teaches the imaging lens system, wherein 0.1<BFL/f<0.25 (given the values that follow BFL/f=0.14, para [0094], focal length f=5.96), where BFL is a distance from an image-side surface of the sixth lens to the imaging plane (Table 13, Thickness column, the sum of Surface Numbers S12-S14 gives BFL=0.8507).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng et al., US 2021/0255424 (of record), in view of Wenren et al., US 2022/0099925 A1 (of record), and further in view of Cai et al., CN112666677A (of record), as evidenced by Gross, Handbook of the Optical Systems (of record).
As to claim 5, Weng in view of Wenren teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1.
Weng does not teach imaging lens system of claim 1, wherein the fifth lens comprises a convex image-side surface.
Weng and Cai are related as optical imaging lenses.
However, Cai teaches (third embodiment, Fig. 9, paras [0113]-[0122]) an imaging lens system (100, para [0113], “the optical system 100,” Fig. 9), comprising:
a first lens having positive refractive power (L1, para [0113], “a first lens L1 with a positive refractive power,” Fig. 9) and a convex image-side surface (S2, para [0114], “the image side surface S2 is convex,” Fig. 9);
a second lens having negative refractive power (L2, para [0113], “a second lens L2 with a negative refractive power,” Fig. 9);
a third lens having refractive power (L3, para [0113] “a third lens L3 with a negative refractive power,” Fig. 9);
a fourth lens having negative refractive power (L4, para [0113], “the fourth lens L4 with negative refractive power,” Fig. 9);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (L5, para [0113], “the fifth lens L5 with negative refractive power,” Fig. 9); and
a sixth lens having positive refractive power (L6, para [0113], “the sixth lens L6 with positive refractive power,” Fig. 9),
wherein the first lens to the sixth lens are sequentially disposed from an object side (L1-L6, para [0113], “from the object side to the image side,” Fig. 9),
wherein
TTL/f≤0.85 (100, original document, para [0131], table gives TTL/f=0.841),
where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging plane, f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens, and f is a focal length of the imaging lens system, and
wherein the fifth lens comprises a convex image-side surface (S10, para [0118], “the image side surface S10 is convex at the optical axis,” Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens system of Weng with the fifth lens comprising a convex image-side surface of Cai, for the purpose of achieving excellent telephoto capabilities (para [0003]).
Further, in the general optical system handbook, Gross demonstrated (page 378 section 33.1.4) that bending a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance. Bending a lens involves modifying the curvatures of the two surfaces while keeping the focal power of the lens the same (“zero power operations”, “do not introduce any refractive power”) without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens system wherein the fifth lens comprises a convex image-side surface, as taught by Cai in the system of Weng, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification as evidenced by Gross that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4) and bending a lens does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng et al., US 2021/0255424 (of record), and further in view of Wenren et al., US 2022/0099925 A1 (of record), as evidenced by Gross, Handbook of the Optical Systems (of record).
As to claim 7, Weng in view Wenren teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1.
Weng does not teach the imaging lens system of claim 1, wherein the sixth lens comprises a convex image-side surface.
Weng and Wenren are related as optical imaging lenses.
However, Wenren teaches an imaging lens system, wherein the sixth lens comprises a convex image-side surface (S12, para [0098], “an image-side surface S12 is a convex surface,” Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens system of Weng with the sixth lens comprising a convex image-side surface of Wenren, because doing so improves the relative luminance of the system, controls off-focus values of different FOYs, achieves a better shooting effect of the system, converges light beams and plays a decisive role in controlling edge distortions (para [0048]).
Further, in the general optical system handbook, Gross demonstrated (page 378 section 33.1.4) that bending a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance. Bending a lens involves modifying the curvatures of the two surfaces while keeping the focal power of the lens the same (“zero power operations”, “do not introduce any refractive power”) without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens system wherein the sixth lens comprises a convex image-side surface, as taught by Wenren in the system of Weng, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification as evidenced by Gross that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4) and bending a lens does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4).
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wenren et al., US 2022/0099925 A1 (of record).
As to claim 12, Wenren teaches (Embodiment 1, Fig. 1, Table 1, paras [0073]-[0076]) an imaging lens system (para [0073], “optical imaging lens assembly,” Fig. 1), comprising:
a first lens having positive refractive power (E1, para [0075], “the first lens E1 has a positive refractive power,” Fig. 1), a second lens having negative refractive power (E2, para [0075], “the second lens E2 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 1), a third lens (E3, para [0075], “the third lens E3,” Fig. 1), a fourth lens having negative refractive power (E4, para [0075], “the fourth lens E4 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 1), a fifth lens having negative refractive power (E5, para [0075], “the fifth lens E5 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 1), and a sixth lens having positive refractive power (E6, para [0075], “the sixth lens E6 has a positive refractive power,” Fig. 1), sequentially disposed from an object side (E1-E6, para [0074], “from an object side to an image side along an optical axis,” Fig. 1), and wherein
TTL/f≤0.85 (Table 13, TTL/f=0.85, para [0051], “TTL/f≤0.85”), and
0.30<D34/D45<0.40 (Wenren, Embodiment 1, given the values that follow D34/D45=0.27),
where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging plane, f is a focal length of the imaging lens system, D34 is a distance from an image-side surface of the third lens to an object-side surface of the fourth lens (Table 1, radius of curvature column, row S6, gives D34=0.2798), and D45 is a distance from an image-side surface of the fourth lens to an object-side surface of the fifth lens (Table 1, radius of curvature column, row S8, gives D45=1.05).
Wenren does not explicitly teach 0.30<D34/D45<0.40.
Wenren teaches a value of D34/D45=0.27 which is close to the claimed range of 0.30<D34/D45<0.40.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose D34/D45 such that D34/D45=0.27 is 0.30<D34/D45<0.40 since it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See MPEP §2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Wenren to have D34/D45=0.27 to be 0.30<D34/D45<0.40 for the purposes of achieving excellent telephoto capabilities (para [0003]).
Wenren’s Embodiment 1 does not teach the imaging lens system, wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens.
Wenren’s Embodiment 1 and Wenren’s Embodiment 5 are related as optical imaging lenses.
However, Wenren’s Embodiment 5 teaches (Embodiment 5, Fig. 9, Table 9, paras [0096]-[0100]) an imaging lens system (para [0096], “optical imaging lens assembly,” Fig. 9), comprising:
a first lens having positive refractive power (E1, para [0098], “the first lens E1 has a positive refractive power,” Fig. 9), a second lens having negative refractive power (E2, para [0098], “the second lens E2 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 9), a third lens (E3, para [0098], “the third lens E3,” Fig. 9), a fourth lens having negative refractive power (E4, para [0098], “the fourth lens E4 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 9), a fifth lens having negative refractive power (E5, para [0098], “the fifth lens E5 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 9), and a sixth lens having positive refractive power (E6, para [0098], “the sixth lens E6 has a positive refractive power,” Fig. 9), sequentially disposed from an object side (E1-E6, para [0097], “from an object side to an image side along an optical axis,” Fig. 9),
wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens (Table 9, the radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens S10 is given as S10=0.2021, the radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens S3 is given as S3=0.1568), wherein
TTL/f≤0.85 (Table 13, TTL/f=0.83, para [0051], “TTL/f≤0.85”),
where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging plane, and f is a focal length of the imaging lens system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens system of Wenren’s Embodiment 1 with the absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens of Wenren’s Embodiment 5, because doing so enables the optical imaging lens assembly to balance the curvature field and the distortion easily, and ensures a greater focal length of the lens, properly control a range of a depth of field and meet shooting requirements of more users (paras [0058] and [0066]).
As to claim 15, Wenren teaches the imaging lens system of claim 12.
Wenren does not explicitly teach 0.17<D45/f<0.20.
Wenren teaches a value of D45/f=0.16 which is close to the claimed range of 0.17<D45/f<0.20.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose D45/f such that D45/f=0.16 is 0.17<D45/f<0.20 since it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See MPEP §2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Wenren to have D45/f=0.16 to be 0.17<D45/f<0.20 for the purposes of achieving excellent telephoto capabilities (para [0003]).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wenren et al., US 2022/0099925 A1 (of record), and further in view of Weng et al., US 2021/0255424 (of record), as evidenced by Gross, Handbook of the Optical Systems (of record).
As to claim 13, Wenren teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 12.
Wenren does not teach the imaging lens system of claim 12, wherein the first lens comprises a convex image-side surface.
Wenren and Weng are related as optical imaging lenses.
However, Weng teaches (Embodiment 7, Fig. 13, Table 13, paras [0091]-[0096]) an imaging lens system (para [0092], “optical imaging lens,” Fig. 13), comprising:
a first lens having positive refractive power (E1, para [0093], “first lens E1 has a positive refractive power,” Fig. 13), a second lens having negative refractive power (E2, para [0093], “second lens E2 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 13), a third lens (E3, para [0093], “third lens E3 has a positive refractive power,” Fig. 13), a fourth lens having negative refractive power (E4, para [0093], “fourth lens E4 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 13), a fifth lens having negative refractive power (E5, para [0093], “fifth lens E5 has a negative refractive power,” Fig. 13), and a sixth lens having positive refractive power (E6, para [0093], “sixth lens E6 has a positive refractive power,” Fig. 13),sequentially disposed from an object side (E1-E6, para [0092], “sequentially from an object side to an image side,” Fig. 13), and wherein
TTL/f≤0.85 (Weng does not explicitly teach TTL/f≤0.85, however Weng teaches the range TTL/f<1.0 which is close and overlaps with the claimed range, para [0037]), where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging plane, and f is a focal length of the imaging lens system, and
wherein the first lens comprises a convex image-side surface (S2, para [0093], “an image side surface S2 of the first lens is a convex surface,” Fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens system of Wenren with the first lens comprises a convex image-side surface of Weng, because the spherical aberration and chromatic aberration of the optical imaging lens can be effectively balanced, so that the optical imaging lens has better imaging quality and process ability (para [0036]).
Further, in the general optical system handbook, Gross demonstrated (page 378 section 33.1.4) that bending a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance. Bending a lens involves modifying the curvatures of the two surfaces while keeping the focal power of the lens the same (“zero power operations”, “do not introduce any refractive power”) without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens system wherein the first lens comprises a convex image-side surface, as taught by Weng in the system of Wenren, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification as evidenced by Gross that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4) and bending a lens does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4).
As to claim 14, Wenren teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 12.
Wenren does not teach the imaging lens system of claim 12, wherein the sixth lens comprises a convex object-side surface.
Wenren and Weng are related as optical imaging lenses.
However, Weng teaches an imaging lens system, wherein the sixth lens comprises a convex object-side surface (S11, para [0093], “an object side surface S11 of the sixth lens is a convex surface,” Fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens system of Wenren with the sixth lens comprises a convex object-side surface of Weng, because the off-axis aberration can be reduced, and the resolving power of the optical imaging lens is effectively improved. (para [0044]).
Further, in the general optical system handbook, Gross demonstrated (page 378 section 33.1.4) that bending a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance. Bending a lens involves modifying the curvatures of the two surfaces while keeping the focal power of the lens the same (“zero power operations”, “do not introduce any refractive power”) without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens system wherein the sixth lens comprises a convex object-side surface, as taught by Weng in the system of Wenren, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification as evidenced by Gross that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4) and bending a lens does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wenren et al., US 2022/0099925 A1 (of record), and further in view of Cai et al., CN112666677A (or record), as evidenced by Gross, Handbook of the Optical Systems (or record).
As claim 16, Wenren teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 12.
Wenren does not teach the imaging lens system of claim 12, wherein 0.063<D34/f<0.073.
Wenren and Cai are related as optical imaging lenses.
However, Cai teaches (third embodiment, Fig. 9, paras [0113]-[0122]) an imaging lens system (100, para [0113], “the optical system 100,” Fig. 9), comprising:
a first lens having positive refractive power (L1, para [0113], “a first lens L1 with a positive refractive power,” Fig. 9), a second lens having negative refractive power (L2, para [0113], “a second lens L2 with a negative refractive power,” Fig. 9), a third lens (L3, para [0113] “a third lens L3,” Fig. 9), a fourth lens having negative refractive power (L4, para [0113], “the fourth lens L4 with negative refractive power,” Fig. 9), a fifth lens having negative refractive power (L5, para [0113], “the fifth lens L5 with negative refractive power,” Fig. 9), and a sixth lens having positive refractive power (L6, para [0113], “the sixth lens L6 with positive refractive power,” Fig. 9), sequentially disposed from an object side (L1-L6, para [0113], “from the object side to the image side,” Fig. 9), and wherein
TTL/f≤0.85 (100, original document, para [0131], table gives TTL/f=0.841), where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging plane, f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens, and f is a focal length of the imaging lens system, and
wherein 0.063<D34/f<0.073 (given the values that follow D34/f=0.057: original document, para [0124], Table 6, gives f=12.601, para [0126], Table 7, fourth column, row 6 gives D34=0.719).
The Examiner contends that the prior art, Cai’s value of 0.057 for D34/f is sufficiently close to the claimed range of 0.063<D34/f<0.073 to render it obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium, with the court opining that "[t]he proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.").
Here, the difference between 0.057 and the endpoint of 0.06 is insubstantial, representing only a 10% difference. Here, the calculated D34/f value from the prior art is substantially close to Applicant’s claimed range similar to the case in the Titanium Metals decision. Moreover, the present record does not demonstrate any substantial difference in operation, or any superior and unexpected effect, attributable to the claimed range of 0.063<D34/f<0.073.
In view of the above facts, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would have reasonably concluded that the value of 0.057 for D34/f, calculated from the prior art disclosure, is sufficiently close to the claimed range of 0.063<D34/f<0.073 to render it obvious because the difference between 0.057 and the endpoint of 0.063 is insubstantial, a value of 0.057 is reasonably expected to have the same effect as if it were the endpoint of the range for D34/f, and because there is no evidence to suggest criticality of the endpoint of the claimed range and/or that the endpoint of the claimed range is related to any superior and/or unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens system of Wenren with 0.063<D34/f<0.073 of Cai, because a high-resolution image can be obtained, and the optical system can be made more compact (para [0064]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.J./JENNIFER A JONES
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
09/09/2026
/JYOTSNA V DABBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872