DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s note
Claims 3 and 12 recite the phrase “substantially-real time”. The phrase is considered definite as applicant defined term “substantially” in the specification. See Specification: “[0033] “….. Unless otherwise stated, “about,” “approximately,” or “substantially” preceding a value means+/−10 percent of the stated value or reference”.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 was filed in this application after a decision by the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, but before the filing of a Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit or the commencement of a civil action. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the appeal has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114 and prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on 05/20/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 recites, “wherein the manipulation to the spatial data is persistent irrespective of a current view of the 3D spatial map in the Bird's Eye View orientation.”
This limitation doesn’t have support in specification.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 depends on claim 1 but what claim 6 recites, that is already recited in claim 1. Therefore claim 6 doesn’t limit claim. 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kocienda (US Patent No. 9080885 “Kocienda”).
Regarding claim 1, Kocienda teaches, An apparatus (Fig. 1A), comprising:
a memory storing computer executable instructions for implementing a spatially aware computing scheme; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the executable instructions (“Col 9 lines 62-65 “Peripherals interface 118 can be used to couple input and output peripherals of the device to CPU 120 and memory 102. The one or more processors 120 run or execute various software programs and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 102 to perform various functions for device 100 and to process data. Col 44 lines 3-5: In one embodiment, computer system 9900 includes one or more processors 9360a-9360n coupled to system memory 9370 via input/output (I/O) interface 9380”) to:
access a three-dimensional (3D) spatial map that comprises a plurality of meshes defined according to spatial data to form a 3D digital representation of a physical environment (Col 4 lines 26-34 “In some embodiments, a map tool, given an indication to display designations of points of interest in the display of a map view, may determine which points of interest to select for which to display designations of points of interest. For example, the map tool may determine that three points of interest may possibly be displayed in a current map view. For example, points of interest corresponding to designations 506, 508, and 510 in FIG. 5A.
Col 41 Lines 44-47 “The map tool may also receive or request three-dimensional mapping information for the map region, such as mesh data from Map Service 380, where the three-dimensional mapping information includes multiple height values corresponding to one or more locations in the map” This map data is based on one or more location which is the spatial data.);
display the 3D spatial map by rendering at least some of the plurality of meshes in a Bird's Eye View orientation (Col 38 lines 1-3 “In some embodiments, the map view provides a user with a bird's eye virtual camera view with photographic detail of the surrounding environment”);
and receive, via the Bird's Eye View orientation of the 3D spatial map, a manipulation to the spatial data while displaying the 3D spatial map in the Bird's Eye View orientation (Col 3 lines 14-17 “The possible map views may be results of user interactions with a map tool, for example, a user may zoom in or out of a map view, or pan in any direction, rotate a map view, or for three-dimensional map view, tilt a map view”) wherein the manipulation comprises a change to at least one of the plurality of meshes defined according to the spatial data and which is subsequently rendered to display the spatial data of the 3D spatial map in the Bird’s Eye View orientation, ((Col 41 Lines 44-47 “The map tool may also receive or request three-dimensional mapping information for the map region, such as mesh data from Map Service 380, where the three-dimensional mapping information includes multiple height values corresponding to one or more locations in the map. Col 3 lines 14-17 “The possible map views may be results of user interactions with a map tool, for example, a user may zoom in or out of a map view, or pan in any direction, rotate a map view, or for three-dimensional map view, tilt a map view”.
As map data has mesh, so zooming in/out to map means zooming in/out of mesh or a manipulation of nesh.).
(column 42 Lines 55-64) In such a case, the map view may be updated based on a combination of an already computed three-dimensional model augmented with computed model information for the new area displayed in the map as a result of the change in location. In this way, in this case, a complete recalculation of the 3D model is avoided, and only the area of the map that is new is used to augment the already generated 3D model.” “Col 4 Lines 11-17 “ The generated three-dimensional model may then serve as the basis for the generation of a display of the map area such as the map view in FIG. 5A. In some cases, the three-dimensional model may be augmented to include additional details, such as texture and shading for one or more objects within the three-dimensional model, or doors or windows or outlines of doors or windows”).”
wherein the apparatus is not located in the physical environment, (Col 26 Lines 56-58: “Devices 352a, 352b, and 352c can communicate with map service 380 over the one or more wire and/or wireless networks, 360 or 362. For example, map service 380 can provide a map service data to rendering devices 352a, 352b, and 352c”. As client device 352c is a desktop computer and gets data from map service tool, so the device is not located in physical environment). and
wherein a change to the 3D spatial map implemented by a second apparatus is viewable by the apparatus in substantially real-time. (Col 38 Lines 23-25: “In some cases, a user may manipulate a given map view such as through input indicating to the map tool to display a different virtual camera perspective of the map view.
Col 22 Lines 25-40: real-time navigation data (e.g., turn-by-turn visual navigation data in two or three dimensions), location data (e.g., where is the client device currently located), and other geographic data (e.g., wireless network coverage, weather, traffic information, or nearby points-of-interest). ……..Client devices 352a-352c may implement various techniques to process map service data. Client devices 352a-352c may then provide map services to various entities, including, but not limited to, users, internal software or hardware modules, and/or other systems or devices external to the client devices 352a-352c” Any client device can change the map and the update is viewable by other client device ).
and wherein the manipulation to the spatial data is viewable by the second apparatus in substantially real-time (Col 22 Lines 25-40: real-time navigation data (e.g., turn-by-turn visual navigation data in two or three dimensions), location data (e.g., where is the client device currently located), and other geographic data (e.g., wireless network coverage, weather, traffic information, or nearby points-of-interest). ……..Client devices 352a-352c may implement various techniques to process map service data. Client devices 352a-352c may then provide map services to various entities, including, but not limited to, users, internal software or hardware modules, and/or other systems or devices external to the client devices 352a-352c” Any client device can change the map and the update is viewable by other client device. The second apparatus (any client device in the reference) is changing map data, The second device viewed the manipulation based on which second apparatus is changing map data.).
Regarding claim 9 Kocienda teaches An apparatus (Fig. 1A), comprising:
a memory storing computer executable instructions for implementing a spatially aware computing scheme; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the executable instructions (“Col 9 lines 62-65 “Peripherals interface 118 can be used to couple input and output peripherals of the device to CPU 120 and memory 102. The one or more processors 120 run or execute various software programs and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 102 to perform various functions for device 100 and to process data. Col 44 lines 3-5: In one embodiment, computer system 9900 includes one or more processors 9360a-9360n coupled to system memory 9370 via input/output (I/O) interface 9380”) to:
access a three-dimensional (3D) spatial map that comprises a plurality of meshes to form a 3D digital representation of a physical environment(Col 4 lines 26-34 “In some embodiments, a map tool, given an indication to display designations of points of interest in the display of a map view, may determine which points of interest to select for which to display designations of points of interest. For example, the map tool may determine that three points of interest may possibly be displayed in a current map view. For example, points of interest corresponding to designations 506, 508, and 510 in FIG. 5A.
Col 41 Lines 44-47 “The map tool may also receive or request three-dimensional mapping information for the map region, such as mesh data from Map Service 380, where the three-dimensional mapping information includes multiple height values corresponding to one or more locations in the map”);
display the 3D spatial map in a Bird's Eye View orientation (Col 38 lines 1-3 “In some embodiments, the map view provides a user with a bird's eye virtual camera view with photographic detail of the surrounding environment”);
and display visual indicators in the 3D spatial map corresponding to positions of one or more user devices in the physical environment (Col 28 Lines 63-65 “ Map 314 may include a graphical position indicator 316, which may represent the location of the mobile device within the geographic region of the map”).
wherein responsive to a change implemented to data of the 3D spatial map by a second apparatus selected from among the one or more user devices and different from the apparatus, the apparatus displays a changed 3d spatial map based on the change implemented to the data of 3D spatial map in substantially real-time. (Col 38 Lines 23-25: “In some cases, a user may manipulate a given map view such as through input indicating to the map tool to display a different virtual camera perspective of the map view.
Column 42 Lines 55-64: In such a case, the map view may be updated based on a combination of an already computed three-dimensional model augmented with computed model information for the new area displayed in the map as a result of the change in location. In this way, in this case, a complete recalculation of the 3D model is avoided, and only the area of the map that is new is used to augment the already generated 3D model.” “Col 4 Lines 11-17 “ The generated three-dimensional model may then serve as the basis for the generation of a display of the map area such as the map view in FIG. 5A. In some cases, the three-dimensional model may be augmented to include additional details, such as texture and shading for one or more objects within the three-dimensional model, or doors or windows or outlines of doors or windows”).”
Col 22 Lines 25-40: real-time navigation data (e.g., turn-by-turn visual navigation data in two or three dimensions), location data (e.g., where is the client device currently located), and other geographic data (e.g., wireless network coverage, weather, traffic information, or nearby points-of-interest). ……..Client devices 352a-352c may implement various techniques to process map service data. Client devices 352a-352c may then provide map services to various entities, including, but not limited to, users, internal software or hardware modules, and/or other systems or devices external to the client devices 352a-352c” Any client device can change the map and the update is viewable by other client device ).
wherein the change implemented by the second apparatus comprises a manipulation to the spatial data received by the second apparatus while displaying the 3D spatial map, wherein the manipulation comprises a change to at least one of the plurality of meshes defined according to the spatial data and which is subsequently rendered to display the 3D spatial map. (Col 3 lines 14-17 “The possible map views may be results of user interactions with a map tool, for example, a user may zoom in or out of a map view, or pan in any direction, rotate a map view, or for three-dimensional map view, tilt a map view”)
(Col 41 Lines 44-47 “The map tool may also receive or request three-dimensional mapping information for the map region, such as mesh data from Map Service 380, where the three-dimensional mapping information includes multiple height values corresponding to one or more locations in the map. Col 3 lines 14-17 “The possible map views may be results of user interactions with a map tool, for example, a user may zoom in or out of a map view, or pan in any direction, rotate a map view, or for three-dimensional map view, tilt a map view”.
As map data has mesh, so zooming in/out to map means zooming in/out of mesh).
(column 42 Lines 55-64) In such a case, the map view may be updated based on a combination of an already computed three-dimensional model augmented with computed model information for the new area displayed in the map as a result of the change in location. In this way, in this case, a complete recalculation of the 3D model is avoided, and only the area of the map that is new is used to augment the already generated 3D model.” “Col 4 Lines 11-17 “ The generated three-dimensional model may then serve as the basis for the generation of a display of the map area such as the map view in FIG. 5A. In some cases, the three-dimensional model may be augmented to include additional details, such as texture and shading for one or more objects within the three-dimensional model, or doors or windows or outlines of doors or windows”).”
Regarding claim 3 Kocienda teaches wherein a second manipulation is performed to the 3D spatial map by the apparatus and viewable by the second apparatus in substantially real-time (Col 38 Lines 23-25: “In some cases, a user may manipulate a given map view such as through input indicating to the map tool to display a different virtual camera perspective of the map view.
Col 22 Lines 25-40: real-time navigation data (e.g., turn-by-turn visual navigation data in two or three dimensions), location data (e.g., where is the client device currently located), and other geographic data (e.g., wireless network coverage, weather, traffic information, or nearby points-of-interest). ……..Client devices 352a-352c may implement various techniques to process map service data. Client devices 352a-352c may then provide map services to various entities, including, but not limited to, users, internal software or hardware modules, and/or other systems or devices external to the client devices 352a-352c” Any client device can change the map and the update is viewable by other client device ).
Regarding claim 6 Kocienda teaches wherein the manipulation comprises a change to at least one of the plurality of meshes. (Col 41 Lines 44-47 “The map tool may also receive or request three-dimensional mapping information for the map region, such as mesh data from Map Service 380, where the three-dimensional mapping information includes multiple height values corresponding to one or more locations in the map. Col 3 lines 14-17 “The possible map views may be results of user interactions with a map tool, for example, a user may zoom in or out of a map view, or pan in any direction, rotate a map view, or for three-dimensional map view, tilt a map view”.
As map data has mesh, so zooming in/out to map means zooming in/out of mesh).
Regarding claim 7 Kocienda teaches wherein the manipulation comprises a modification to digital content placed in the 3D spatial map (Col 4 Lines 11-17 “ The generated three-dimensional model may then serve as the basis for the generation of a display of the map area such as the map view in FIG. 5A. In some cases, the three-dimensional model may be augmented to include additional details, such as texture and shading for one or more objects within the three-dimensional model, or doors or windows or outlines of doors or windows”).
Regarding claim 8 Kocienda teaches wherein the manipulation comprises insertion of digital content into the 3D spatial map (Col 4 Lines 11-17 “ The generated three-dimensional model may then serve as the basis for the generation of a display of the map area such as the map view in FIG. 5A. In some cases, the three-dimensional model may be augmented to include additional details, such as texture and shading for one or more objects within the three-dimensional model, or doors or windows or outlines of doors or windows”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kocienda in view of Pahud et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20180365897, “Pahud”).
Regarding claim 5 Kocienda is silent about wherein the 3D spatial map is created by a second apparatus that scans the physical environment to form the 3D spatial map.
Pahud teaches 3D spatial map is created by a second apparatus that scans the physical environment to form the 3D spatial map ([0019] “According to some aspects of the technology described herein, wearable display devices, for example head-mounted display (HMD) devices or HMDs, can be equipped with one or more optical input devices (e.g. a camera) to enable accumulation of three-dimensional data (e.g. 3D maps, depth maps) representing the geometry of a user's environment. [0041] Turning now to FIGS. 3A-3E, schematics of exemplary implementations of virtually representing real-world spaces and objects in an augmented reality environment are provided. At 300A of FIG. 3A, a user 310 at a first location scans the surrounding physical environment (e.g., source environment) to acquire and/or generate one or more collections of three-dimensional datasets, where the datasets correspond to at least a portion of a physical environment at the first location”.
Kocienda and Pahud are analogous art as both of them are related to Processing map view with AR.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kocienda by having 3D spatial map that is created by a second apparatus that scans the physical environment to form the 3D spatial map as taught by Pahud.
The motivation for the above is to have additional source of real-time map data.
Claim(s) 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kocienda in view of Chachek et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20200302510, “Chachek”).
Regarding claim 10 Kocienda is silent about wherein the positions include location and orientation information.
Chachek teaches positions include location and orientation information (“[0141] “Some embodiments may further perform placement of ads on AR/VR/POV/3d map of a venue, near a relevant product shelf as it is shown in real life. [0083] Reference is made to FIG. 6, which is an illustration of an Augmented Reality (AR) image 600 or frame, which may be generated and/or utilized in accordance with some demonstrative embodiments of the present invention. As the user holds his device and aims the camera towards a corridor in the store, the relevant mapping and navigation modules of the system determine the walking route to the desired product destination, and generate and display on the user device an overlay AR element, or a set of AR elements, indicating the walking path; such as, arrows on the floor or near the ceiling in the image, or asterisk characters (as demonstrated), or an animated avatar or character that virtually walks or runs or flies through the aisle towards the destination, or other AR-based content”. Here asterisk shows walking path of a user with a device and this will give position and orientation information).
Kocienda and Chachek are analogous art as both of them are related to Processing map view with AR.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kocienda by having positions including location and orientation information as taught by Chachek.
The motivation for the above is to display precise position and direction of the user in the map.
Regarding claim 11 Kocienda is silent about wherein the physical environment is a retail environment and the visual indicators are representative of at least some customers present in the retail environment.
Chachek teaches physical environment is a retail environment and the visual indicators are representative of at least some customers present in the retail environment (“[0055] In a demonstrative embodiment, a plurality of users (e.g., customers in a retail store) hold and operate a respective plurality of end-user devices”);
Kocienda and Chachek are analogous art as both of them are related to Processing map view with AR.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kocienda by having physical environment as a retail environment and the visual indicators are representative of at least some customers present in the retail environment as taught by Chachek.
The motivation for the above is to extend the application of Kocienda in retail environment.
Regarding claim 12 Kocienda modified by Chachek teaches wherein the visual indicators are presented and updated in substantially real-time[0083] Reference is made to FIG. 6, which is an illustration of an Augmented Reality (AR) image 600 or frame, which may be generated and/or utilized in accordance with some demonstrative embodiments of the present invention. As the user holds his device and aims the camera towards a corridor in the store, the relevant mapping and navigation modules of the system determine the walking route to the desired product destination, and generate and display on the user device an overlay AR element, or a set of AR elements, indicating the walking path; such as, arrows on the floor or near the ceiling in the image, or asterisk characters (as demonstrated), or an animated avatar or character that virtually walks or runs or flies through the aisle towards the destination, or other AR-based content”. Here asterisk is presented and updated in real time to show user’s walking path).
Regarding claim 13 Kocienda modified by Chachek teaches wherein the processor is further configured to display digital content in the Bird's Eye View of the 3D spatial map, the digital content representative of augmented reality content viewable by the customers (Kocienda Col 38 lines 1-3 “In some embodiments, the map view provides a user with a bird's eye virtual camera view with photographic detail of the surrounding environment.
Col 40 Lines 14-17: In some cases, the three-dimensional model may be augmented to include additional details, such as texture and shading for one or more objects within the three-dimensional model, or doors or windows or outlines of doors or windows”).
Regarding claim 14 Kocienda modified by Chachek teaches at least some of the augmented reality content is capable of being interacted with by the customers (Chachek [0127] “Similarly, a Virtual Stand or a Virtual Sales Associate or a Virtual Assistant or a Virtual Advisor or a Virtual Shopping Assistant or a Volumetric Personal Sales Assistant may be generated and provided to the user as an AR element, via the Virtual Selling Point Generator 125 or other suitable unit; such as, to enable e-commerce sales for multiple applications, or to interact with the user in an organic way and to provide the user with more information about brand products and content around the consumer”).
Regarding claim 15 Kocienda modified by Chachek teaches wherein the interaction is an element of a sales transaction (Kocienda [0124] “…. Accordingly, the system of the present invention allows brands to promote their products directly to their target market segment(s), and/or to actual consumers that are about to perform a real-life purchase in a brick-and-mortar store and can be guided towards buying a particular product; [0087] In another example, a “Navigate-to-List” Module 112 enables a user to request turn-by-turn navigation directions and/or AR-based navigation directions, in order to visit the real-life locations of multiple products that are on a List of the user; such as, a wish list of products, a previous Order that the user placed online or offline, a list of Favorite products that he pre-selected, a list of products that share a common characteristic (e.g., “all products that are currently on sale of at least 40% discount”).
Regarding claim 16 Kocienda modified by Chachek teaches wherein the digital content is editable while viewed in the Bird's Eye View of the 3D spatial content (Kocienda Col 25 Lines 13-16 “ A client device may display map image data that reflects the current location of the client device and update the map image data in real-time. A navigation system may provide auditory or visual directions to follow a certain route”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
Independent claim 17 is allowable because applicant’s argument is persuasive that the prior arts of record fails to teach the amended limitation.
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 22 is objected because the combination of prior art fails to expressly teach the limitation regarding gap of a region.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks Pages 8-9, filed 05/20/2026, with respect to rejection of claim 1/9 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The rejection has been maintained.
Applicant argues, see remarks Page 8, “ However, neither of these is a "manipulation to the spatial data while displaying the 3D spatial map wherein the manipulation comprises a change to at least one of the plurality of meshes defined according to the spatial data and which is subsequently rendered to display the 3D spatial map in the Bird's Eye View orientation," nor do either of these facilitate the claimed "wherein the manipulation to the spatial data is viewable by the second apparatus in substantially real-time." As such, Kocienda fails to disclose Applicant's claimed modificamanipulation, and consequently fails to anticipate independent claims 1 or 9..”
Examiner replies, Kocienda teaches, the map data is a mesh data. See Col 41 Lines 44-47 “The map tool may also receive or request three-dimensional mapping information for the map region, such as mesh data from Map Service 380, where the three-dimensional mapping information includes multiple height values corresponding to one or more locations in the map”
Col 3 lines 14-17 “The possible map views may be results of user interactions with a map tool, for example, a user may zoom in or out of a map view, or pan in any direction, rotate a map view, or for three-dimensional map view, tilt a map view”.
As map data has mesh, so zooming in/out to map means zooming in/out of mesh or a manipulation of mesh. Therefore applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Kocienda, Col 22 Lines 25-40 teaches that the second apparatus (referenced any client device) is changing map data. Any client device can change the map and the update is viewable by other client device. The second apparatus (any client device in the reference) is changing map data, The second device viewed the manipulation based on which second apparatus is changing map data.
Therefore applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks Page 9, filed 06/10/2024, with respect to rejection of claims 5 and 10-16 have been fully considered and are not persuasive based on the reply given above for independent claims The rejection has been maintained
Conclusion
/TAPAS MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615