DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 10/20/2025 have been entered. Claims 1 and 3-20 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claims 2, 21, 35-42, and 57 have been cancelled.
The amendments and remarks filed are sufficient to cure the previous claim objections set forth in the Non-Final office action mailed on 04/18/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1 and 3-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haschka et al. (Patent No. 4,250,236) in view of Su et al. (Advanced Energy Materials, 2016) and further in view of Pham et al. (Pub. No. US 20200365953 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Haschka teaches an electrode (see [Col. 6, lines 5-9]), comprising: an iron electrode body (see [Col. 4, lines 65-67]) comprising iron active material (see [Col. 5, lines 4-16], iron material and additive pressed into iron electrode, iron now comprises the body and active material) and a zinc sulfide additive (see [Col. 5, lines 1-5]), wherein the zinc sulfide additive (see [Col. 5, lines 1-5]) comprises zinc sulfide (see [Col. 5, lines 1-5] where zinc sulfide is added as zinc sulfide) in an amount of 0.01% to 20% by weight (3.4%, see [Col. 5, lines 3-4], the zinc sulfide is added in 2% by weight based on total weight of electrode, this equates to 3.4% based on weight of iron active material, (total weight = weight of iron, weight of sodium chloride, and weight of zinc sulfide, weight percent of zinc sulfide/weight percent of iron = 2/58 = .0344 *100 = 3.4%) of the iron active material (see [Col. 5, lines 4-16], iron material and additive pressed into iron electrode, iron now comprises the body and active material), and sulfide ions (sulfide ions, see [Col. 2, lines 28-30]) releasable from the zinc sulfide (see [Col. 5, lines 1-5] where zinc sulfide is added as zinc sulfide, see [Col. 2, lines 28-30] where the sulfur compounds used place sulfide ions in the electrolyte) into an electrolyte (electrolyte, see [Col. 2, lines 28-30]) during charging (during the charging process, see [Col. 2, lines 28-32]) but fails to teach wherein the zinc sulfide additive comprises crystalline cubic zinc sulfide, and a sulfide ion concentration of 0.01 mmol/L to 10 mmol/L during charging.
However, Su teaches a highly pure crystalline cubic zinc sulfide (see [Page. 3, paragraph 2]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Haschka to substitute zinc sulfide as taught by Haschka for a highly pure cubic form of zinc sulfide with a high degree of crystallinity (see [Page 3, Paragraph 3] of Su) as taught by Su as an art effective equivalent for the benefit of stable long cycling life, high-rate capability, and high Coulombic efficiency (see [Page 11, Paragraph 2] of Su]). Further Haschka teaches that modifications can be made (see [Col. 6, lines 17-21] of Haschka).
Haschka in view of Su fails to teach a sulfide ion concentration of 0.01 mmol/L to 10 mmol/L during charging.
However, Pham teaches a sulfide ion concentration (sulfide concentration, see [0202]) of 0.01 mmol/L to 10 mmol/L (0.1 micromol/L or more, and 0.7 mmol/L or less, see [0202]) during charging (see [0049] where the concentration is kept during at least 99% of charge-discharge cycles, therefore during charging).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Haschka in view of Su such that the sulfide ion concentration is between 0.1 micromol/L to 0.7 mmol/L as taught by Pham to operate efficiently and prevent corrosion or other detrimental effects (see [0198] of Pham). It would have further been obvious to modify the sulfide ion concentration to stay within the claimed range as Pham teaches sulfide ion concentration is a result effective variable of range of coulombic efficiency, range of voltaic efficiency, operating temperature, and separator material (see [0201] of Pham). Further Haschka in view of Su teaches that modifications can be made (see [Col. 6, lines 17-21] of Haschka).
Regarding claim 2, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide has a high degree of crystallinity as measured by at least one metric (see [Page 3, Paragraph 3] of Su).
Regarding claim 3, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein at least 50 mass % (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su, no peaks at hexagonal wurtzite type ZnS) of the zinc sulfide additive is in the form of cubic zinc sulfide (see zinc sulfide substituted for crystalline cubic zinc sulfide).
Regarding claim 4, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein at least 75 mass % (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su, no peaks at hexagonal wurtzite type ZnS) of the zinc sulfide additive is in the form of cubic zinc sulfide (see zinc sulfide substituted for crystalline cubic zinc sulfide).
Regarding claim 5, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein at least 90 mass % (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su, two strong peaks at 258 and 349 cm-1 indicates cubic structure, while a lack of peak at 72 and 286 cm-1 shows the absence of wurtzite hexagonal form, showing a highly pure cubic crystalline material) of the zinc sulfide additive is in the form of cubic zinc sulfide (see zinc sulfide substituted for crystalline cubic zinc sulfide).
Regarding claim 6, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham fails to teach wherein 95 mass % of the zinc sulfide additive is in the form of cubic zinc sulfide, however Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham appreciates the unavoidable presence of other phases (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] and Figure 1f of Su showing minor peaks in the Figure) which obviates the claimed range as a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand ~5% of impurities is acceptable in the prior art.
Regarding claim 7, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide is characterized by a non-zero x-ray diffraction (XRD) peak for cubic ZnS (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su]), but fails to specifically teach it is characterized with Miller indices (111) as determined by Rietveld refinement at 28.6 degrees with a full-width at half-maximum (FWHM) value of less than 0.6±0.1 degree.
However, the claimed and prior art compounds are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition as further seen in comparison between Rietveld refinement pattern graph Figure 1c of the prior art and Figure 2A “crystalline” section of the instant application as seen below. Therefore, the properties of the characterization are necessarily present in the prior art and a prima facie case of obviousness has been established as “the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel” (MPEP 2112.I).
Figure 1c of Su
Fig. 2A of Application
Regarding claim 8, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide is characterized by a non-zero x-ray diffraction (XRD) peak for cubic ZnS (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su]), but fails to specifically teach it is characterized with Miller indices (111) as determined by Rietveld refinement at 28.6 degrees with a full-width at half-maximum (FWHM) value of less than 0.45±0.1 degree.
However, the claimed and prior art compounds are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition as further seen in comparison between Rietveld refinement pattern graph Figure 1c of the prior art and Figure 2A “crystalline” section of the instant application as seen above. Therefore, the properties of the characterization are necessarily present in the prior art and a prima facie case of obviousness has been established as “the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel” (MPEP 2112.I).
Regarding claim 9, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide is characterized by a non-zero x-ray diffraction (XRD) peak for cubic ZnS (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su]), but fails to specifically teach it is characterized with Miller indices (111) as determined by Rietveld refinement at 28.6 degrees with a full-width at half-maximum (FWHM) value of less than 0.3±0.1 degree.
However, the claimed and prior art compounds are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition as further seen in comparison between Rietveld refinement pattern graph Figure 1c of the prior art and Figure 2A “crystalline” section of the instant application as seen above. Therefore, the properties of the characterization are necessarily present in the prior art and a prima facie case of obviousness has been established as “the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel” (MPEP 2112.I).
Regarding claim 10, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide is characterized by a non-zero XRD peak for cubic ZnS (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su]), but fails to specifically teach it is characterized with Miller indices (220) as determined by Rietveld refinement at 47.6 degrees with an FWHM value of less than 0.5±0.1 degree.
However, the claimed and prior art compounds are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition as further seen in comparison between Rietveld refinement pattern graph Figure 1c of the prior art and Figure 2A “crystalline” section of the instant application as seen above. Therefore, the properties of the characterization are necessarily present in the prior art and a prima facie case of obviousness has been established as “the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel” (MPEP 2112.I).
Regarding claim 11, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide is characterized by a non-zero XRD peak for cubic ZnS (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su]), but fails to specifically teach it is characterized with Miller indices (220) as determined by Rietveld refinement at 47.6 degrees with an FWHM value of less than 0.35±0.1 degree.
However, the claimed and prior art compounds are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition as further seen in comparison between Rietveld refinement pattern graph Figure 1c of the prior art and Figure 2A “crystalline” section of the instant application as seen above. Therefore, the properties of the characterization are necessarily present in the prior art and a prima facie case of obviousness has been established as “the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel” (MPEP 2112.I).
Regarding claim 12, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide is characterized by a non-zero XRD peak for cubic ZnS (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su]), but fails to specifically teach it is characterized with Miller indices (220) as determined by Rietveld refinement at 47.6 degrees with an FWHM value of less than 0.2±0.1 degree.
However, the claimed and prior art compounds are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition as further seen in comparison between Rietveld refinement pattern graph Figure 1c of the prior art and Figure 2A “crystalline” section of the instant application as seen above. Therefore, the properties of the characterization are necessarily present in the prior art and a prima facie case of obviousness has been established as “the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel” (MPEP 2112.I).
Regarding claim 13, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide is characterized by a non-zero XRD peak for cubic ZnS (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su]), but fails to specifically teach it is characterized with Miller indices (311) as determined by Rietveld refinement at 56.4 degrees with an FWHM value of less than 0.6±0.1 degree.
However, the claimed and prior art compounds are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition as further seen in comparison between Rietveld refinement pattern graph Figure 1c of the prior art and Figure 2A “crystalline” section of the instant application as seen above. Therefore, the properties of the characterization are necessarily present in the prior art and a prima facie case of obviousness has been established as “the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel” (MPEP 2112.I).
Regarding claim 14, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide is characterized by a non-zero XRD peak for cubic ZnS (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su]), but fails to specifically teach it is characterized with Miller indices (311) as determined by Rietveld refinement at 56.4 degrees with an FWHM value of less than 0.45±0.1 degree.
However, the claimed and prior art compounds are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition as further seen in comparison between Rietveld refinement pattern graph Figure 1c of the prior art and Figure 2A “crystalline” section of the instant application as seen above. Therefore, the properties of the characterization are necessarily present in the prior art and a prima facie case of obviousness has been established as “the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel” (MPEP 2112.I).
Regarding claim 15, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide is characterized by a non-zero XRD peak for cubic ZnS (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su]), but fails to specifically teach it is characterized with Miller indices (311) as determined by Rietveld refinement at 56.4 degrees with an FWHM value of less than 0.35±0.1 degree.
However, the claimed and prior art compounds are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition as further seen in comparison between Rietveld refinement pattern graph Figure 1c of the prior art and Figure 2A “crystalline” section of the instant application as seen above. Therefore, the properties of the characterization are necessarily present in the prior art and a prima facie case of obviousness has been established as “the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel” (MPEP 2112.I).
Regarding claim 16, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide is characterized by a non-zero XRD peak for cubic ZnS (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su]), but fails to specifically teach it is characterized with Miller indices (200) as determined by Rietveld refinement at 33.1 degrees with an FWHM value of less than 0.6±0.1 degree.
However, the claimed and prior art compounds are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition as further seen in comparison between Rietveld refinement pattern graph Figure 1c of the prior art and Figure 2A “crystalline” section of the instant application as seen above. Therefore, the properties of the characterization are necessarily present in the prior art and a prima facie case of obviousness has been established as “the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel” (MPEP 2112.I).
Regarding claim 17, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide is characterized by a non-zero XRD peak for cubic ZnS (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su]), but fails to specifically teach it is characterized with Miller indices (200) as determined by Rietveld refinement at 33.1 degrees with an FWHM value of less than 0.45±0.1 degree.
However, the claimed and prior art compounds are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition as further seen in comparison between Rietveld refinement pattern graph Figure 1c of the prior art and Figure 2A “crystalline” section of the instant application as seen above. Therefore, the properties of the characterization are necessarily present in the prior art and a prima facie case of obviousness has been established as “the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel” (MPEP 2112.I).
Regarding claim 18, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide is characterized by a non-zero XRD peak for cubic ZnS (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su]), but fails to specifically teach it is characterized with Miller indices (200) as determined by Rietveld refinement at 33.1 degrees with an FWHM value of less than 0.3±0.1 degree.
However, the claimed and prior art compounds are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition as further seen in comparison between Rietveld refinement pattern graph Figure 1c of the prior art and Figure 2A “crystalline” section of the instant application as seen above. Therefore, the properties of the characterization are necessarily present in the prior art and a prima facie case of obviousness has been established as “the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel” (MPEP 2112.I).
Regarding claim 19, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide is characterized by a non-zero XRD peak for cubic ZnS (see [Page 3, Paragraph 2] of Su]), but fails to specifically teach it is characterized with Miller indices (200) as determined by Rietveld refinement at 33.1 degrees with an FWHM value of less than 0.2±0.1 degree.
However, the claimed and prior art compounds are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition as further seen in comparison between Rietveld refinement pattern graph Figure 1c of the prior art and Figure 2A “crystalline” section of the instant application as seen above. Therefore, the properties of the characterization are necessarily present in the prior art and a prima facie case of obviousness has been established as “the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel” (MPEP 2112.I).
Regarding claim 20, Haschka in view of Su and further in view of Pham teaches wherein the crystalline cubic zinc sulfide (see zinc sulfide substituted for crystalline cubic zinc sulfide) is present in the electrode as particles of between 0.1 micron and 500 micron in size (see [Col. 4, lines 66-67 and Col. 5, lines 1-2]).
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references previously applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723