DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment filed 02/03/2026:
Claims 1-6, 10-21, and 23-28 are pending.
Claims 7-9 and 22 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, 11, 16, 18-21, and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Prakash (US20180345649), and further in view of Beetz et al.
(US20220134661), Li (CN107310149A), and Counts et al. (US20200307087).
Regarding claim 1, Prakash teaches a build platform (base plate (“base 103”); Figure 1)
for receiving material (deposited material 104; Figure 1) in an additive manufacturing system
(additive manufacturing system 100; Figure 1), the build platform comprising:
a build volume section having an outermost surface layer configured to receive the
material (see top surface of 103 receiving deposited material 104 in Figure 1);
a base section (base 103; Figure 1);
at least one first feature or first functional element (see heat transfer elements 303C
and 303D1 in 103C and 103D in Figure 3) operably coupled to a portion of the build volume
section ([0036] heat transfer elements 303C and 303D1 are liquid heating coils where a heated
liquid flows through the coils. In such case, the heating source 305 may include, for example, a
heat pump for pumping the heating liquid through the pipes to the coils of the heat transfer
elements 303C, 303D1. The coils which are heated by the heated liquid increases the
temperature of region 103C and 103D);
at least one second feature or second functional element (heat transfer element 303D2;
Figure 3) operably coupled to at least the portion of the build volume section, the at least one
second feature or second functional element being different than the at least one first feature or first functional element ([0037] the heat transfer element 303D2 is a liquid cooling coil
where a cooled or chilled liquid flows through the coils. In such case, the cooling source 306
may include, for example, a condenser for pumping the cooling liquid through the coils of the
heat transfer element 303D2); and
a controller (computing device 102 comprising additive manufacturing apparatus control 207 and temperature controller 208; Figure 2) operably coupled to individually
control the at least one first feature or first functional element, and the at least one second
feature or second functional element ([0032] temperature controller 208 may be configured to
provide temperature adjustment information for the regions to the heating or cooling source
105; see temperature controller 208 as part of computing device 102 in Figure 2);
wherein the controller is coupled to the build volume section ([0044]) and the controller
comprises:
a microcontroller ([0029] The processor 203 may be implemented as one or
more microprocessors, microcontrollers; Figure 2);
a memory (memory 204; Figure 2);
a build volume driver module (processor 203 in Figure 2; [0030] processor 203
may perform any of the various operations, processes, and techniques described herein.
For example, in some embodiments, the various processes and subsystems described
herein (e.g., additive manufacturing apparatus control 207 or temperature controller
208) may be effectively implemented by the processor 203 executing appropriate
instructions);
wherein the build volume section includes an array of elements (see multiple regions in
base 402; Figure 4B), the portion being one of the array of elements (103A-103D in Figure 3);
at least one first element of the array of elements having the at least one first feature or
first functional element (see 103C with heat transfer element 303C in Figure 3); and
at least one second element of the array of elements having the at least one second
feature or second functional element (see 103D with heat transfer element 303D2 in
Figure 3).
While Prakash teaches the build platform is part of an additive manufacturing system
([0021] The additive manufacturing system 100 includes a base plate (“base 103”) for
depositing the deposition material by the additive manufacturing apparatus 101; see additive
manufacturing system 100 and base plate 103 in Figure 1), Prakash fails to explicitly show how
the build platform is connected to the additive manufacturing system, and fails to teach an
interface section configured to couple with the additive manufacturing system and the base
section is coupled to the interface section between the interface section and the build volume
section.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing, Beetz teaches a
build platform comprising a build volume section (plates 10, 14, and 15 in Figure 5) having an
outermost surface layer configured to receive material (see printing surface F in Figure 5);
an interface section (base plate D; Figure 5 and Figure 6) configured to couple with the
additive manufacturing system (3D printing device V in Figure 6; [0042] The platform unit (not
shown in FIG. 6) can thus be arranged and then displaced into an end position via the guide
apparatus 2. In this way, a printing surface F, on which the three-dimensional component is
constructed in layers inside the printing space R, is finally defined on the platform unit 1 fastened detachably on the base plate D);
a base section (base support B; Figure 5) coupled to the interface section between the
interface section and the build volume section (see base support B between base plate D and
printing surface F in Figure 5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art for the build platform of Prakash to have an interface
section configured to couple with the additive manufacturing system such that the base section
is coupled to the interface section between the interface section and the build volume section,
as taught by Beetz, to achieve the predictable result of coupling the build platform to the
additive manufacturing system. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for
the build platform of Prakash to include an interface section to couple the build platform with
the additive manufacturing system, as taught by Beetz, since both Prakash and Beetz are
directed to build platforms with heating devices that are used to heat a build volume and are
coupled to fused deposition modelling printers (see [0020] of Prakash and [0041] of Beetz).
Further, while Prakash teaches at least one first feature or first functional element and
at least one second feature or second functional element, and that the feature or elements are
placed within regions of the build platform (see regions 103A to 103D in Figure 3), Prakash fails
to explicitly teach the build volume section is made of a plurality of layers.
However, Beetz teaches the build volume section is made of a plurality of layers where
the first functional element is placed in one layer and the second functional element is placed
in another layer ([0043] Each of the platform units 1 has a base support B via which detachable
fastening to the guide apparatus 2 of the base plate D is possible and that may be equipped optionally with different plates 10, 14, and 15 to supply different additional functions; see
plates 10, 14, 15 as different layers in build volume section in Figure 5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art for the build volume section of Prakash modified with
Beetz to be made of a plurality of layers to achieve the predictable result of forming build
platforms with more than one functional element. There would have been a reasonable
expectation of success to have the first functional element of Prakash placed in one layer and
the second element of Prakash placed in another layer of the build volume section, since both
Prakash and Beetz are directed to build platforms with multiple functional elements, including
heating coils that heat the outermost surface layer to heat the received material, and one of
ordinary skill would look to various configurations on how to place multiple functional elements
within a build volume section.
While Prakash teaches the build platform is connected to a power source to supply heat
to the build platform ([0035] the heat transfer element 303A of region 103A is an electric a
resistive or inductive heater that is electrically coupled to a heating source 304, which may be a
power source that is configured to provide current to the resistive heating element), Prakash
fails to teach a wirelessly charged build platform such that the controller comprises a
power management circuit; a wireless charging coil electrically coupled to the power
management circuit; an external power input electrically coupled to the power management
circuit; a battery electrically coupled to the power management circuit; and a communication
module.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to an additive manufacturing apparatus, Li
teaches a controller that comprises:
a power management circuit (power supply board (124) in Figure 1);
a wireless charging coil electrically (secondary side coil (209); Figure 3) coupled to the
power management circuit (power supply board (124) in Figure 1; “a power supply board (124)
is provided with a wireless power receiving device”- see pg. 2 line 23-24);
an external power input (“power line is connected with the primary coil (207)”- see pg. 2
line 46) electrically coupled to the power management circuit;
a battery electrically coupled to the power management circuit; and
a communication module (“printing control board (123) is provided with a printer
controller, a power supply interface, a data port, a motor driver and a communication module”-
see pg. 2 line 23). A wireless charge technology improves the additive manufacturing device’s
print power reliability and reduces the manual charge time and effort (Abstract: “automatic
wireless charge technology and improves the reliability of the three-dimensional printer power,
reduces the manual charge time and effort is consumption”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the controller of Prakash modified with Beetz
comprise the components required for wireless charging a 3D printer base, as taught by Li, for
the benefit of improving the additive manufacturing device’s print power reliability and
reducing the manual charge time and effort.
Further, while Prakash teaches the controller comprises temperature controller
208 which receives temperature information and provides temperature adjustment information to a heating or cooling source ([0032] Temperature controller 208 may be configured to provide temperature adjustment information for the regions to the heating or cooling source 105. For example, temperature controller 208 may receive ambient temperature information of the additive manufacturing system 100, temperature information at the regions, and/or computed desired temperature information for the regions as determined by the additive manufacturing apparatus control 207, and provide a control signal to the heating or cooling source 105, which in turn heats or cools the heat transfer elements at each of the regions), Prakash fails to teach wherein the controller is disposed in the base section.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to an additive manufacturing apparatus, Counts
teaches wherein the controller is disposed in the base section (see control board 280 in base
260 in Figure 2). Placing the controller within the base section allows for the build platform to
operate independently of other additive manufacturing apparatus components, regardless of
whether other additive manufacturing apparatus components are powered or not ([0051] build
platform 140 shows a portion of a battery pack or other energy storage element 270 (such as
an ultra capacitor) and control board 280 depicted (and partly revealed) within the base 260.
The energy storage element 270 can provide energy for powering control elements (such as
temperature monitoring and reporting), as well as to provide energy to heat portions of the top
substrate 250).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the temperature controlling components of the controller of Prakash modified with Beetz and Li be disposed in the base section, as taught by Counts, as one of ordinary skill would be motivated to provide the build platform with powering capabilities independent of other additive manufacturing apparatus components (see “Response to Arguments” below).
Regarding claim 2, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Prakash teaches wherein the build volume section is configured to change a position, orientation, or shape of the at least one surface with two or more degrees of freedom ([0025] the modular regions are movable along and X-axis, Y-axis, and/or Z-axis direction as desired by the user. In this manner, the user may adjust the position of the modular regions so precisely align the regions to the desired positions).
Regarding claim 3, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Prakash teaches wherein the controller is configured to be communicatively coupled to an additive manufacturing system via a communications interface ([0032] The additive manufacturing apparatus control 207 may be configured to provide commands to the additive manufacturing apparatus 101 in response to receiving commands from a user at the user controls 201 or it may be in response to an automated command generated by the additive manufacturing apparatus control 207 application).
Regarding claim 4, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 3. Further, Prakash teaches the build platform further comprising a multi- dimensional build platform interface controller operably coupled to the build volume section ([0044] the temperature of each region may be further adjusted based on, for example, measured ambient temperature at or near the regions or as provided by user input (610). In some embodiments, a temperature measuring device may be coupled to or embedded at the regions to provide temperature feedback to the computing device 102 to provide the further adjustments to the temperature).
Regarding claim 5, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 4. Further, Prakash teaches wherein the multi-dimensional build platform interface controller is coupled to the build volume section ([0044] the temperature of each region may be further adjusted based on, for example, measured ambient temperature at or near the regions or as provided by user input (610). In some embodiments, a temperature measuring device may be coupled to or embedded at the regions to provide temperature feedback to the computing device 102 to provide the further adjustments to the temperature), the multi- dimensional build platform interface controller further comprises:
a microcontroller ([0029] The processor 203 may be implemented as one or more
microprocessors, microcontrollers; Figure 2);
a memory (memory 204; Figure 2);
However, Prakash fails to teach the multi-dimensional build platform
interface controller comprising a build platform additive system interface; a power
management circuit; a wireless charging coil electrically coupled to the power management
circuit, the wireless charging coil configured for inductive energy absorption; an external power
input electrically coupled to the power management circuit; a battery electrically coupled to
the power management circuit; and a communication module.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to an additive manufacturing apparatus, Li
teaches:
a build platform additive system interface (printing control board (123); Figure 1),
a wireless charging coil (secondary side coil (209); Figure 3) electrically coupled to a
power management circuit (power supply board (124) in Figure 1; “a power supply board (124) is provided with a wireless power receiving device”- see pg. 2 line 23-24), the wireless charging coil configured for inductive energy absorption (“wireless power receiving device comprises… a secondary side coil 209 is connected with the capacitor 321”- see pg. line 23- 25),
an external power input (“power line is connected with the primary coil (207)”- see pg. 2
line 46) electrically coupled to the power management circuit, and
a communication module (“printing control board (123) is provided with a printer
controller, a power supply interface, a data port, a motor driver and a communication module”-
see pg. 2 line 23). A wireless charge technology improves the additive manufacturing device’s
print power reliability and reduces the manual charge time and effort (Abstract: “automatic
wireless charge technology and improves the reliability of the three-dimensional printer power,
reduces the manual charge time and effort is consumption”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the multi-dimensional build platform interface
controller of Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts comprise the components required for wireless charging a 3D printer base, as taught by Li, for the benefit of improving the additive
manufacturing device’s print power reliability and reducing the manual charge time and effort.
Regarding claim 6, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Prakash teaches wherein the controller is configured to be communicatively coupled to a power system via a power interface ([0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Prakash teaches wherein at least one of the at least one functional element comprises a heater coil ([0036] In some embodiments, the heat transfer elements 303C and 303D1 are liquid heating coils where a heated liquid flows through the coils).
Regarding claim 11, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 10. Further, Prakash teaches wherein to individually control the heater coil comprises activating the heater coil, deactivating the heater coil, or changing a temperature responsive to a signal received from a multi-dimensional build platform interface controller ([0035] The resistive or inductive heater becomes hotter when a higher current is applied to it, which heats the region 103A to affect the heat transfer characteristics of the deposited material over the region 103A. When a lower current is provided by the power source, the resistive or inductive heater is less hot and therefore allows the deposition material to cool down at a faster rate and [0044]).
Regarding claim 16, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Beetz teaches wherein at least one of the at least one functional element is disposed in each layer of the plurality of layers of the build volume section as noted in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Prakash teaches the at least one functional elements are
embedded in the build volume section such that they are disposed in a layer other than the
outermost surface layer of the build volume section ([0039] In some embodiments, the heat
transfer elements 303 may be embedded inside of a respective region 103A-103D. For example,
region 103A may have a hollow center and the resistive heat transfer element 303A may be
attached to the interior of region 103A).
Regarding claim 18, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Prakash teaches wherein the at least one first feature or first functional element is configured to dynamically vary during operation over time, the at least one second feature or second functional element is configured to dynamically vary during operation over time ([0043]- [0044]).
Regarding claim 19, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 18. Further, Prakash teaches wherein the controller is further configured to change an operation of the at least one feature of functional element in response to information received external to the build volume section ([0044]).
Regarding claim 20, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Prakash teaches wherein the at least one feature or functional element includes a plurality of feature or functional elements arranged as a matrix (se base 402 in Figure 4B).
Regarding claim 21, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Prakash teaches wherein the at least one feature or functional element is configured to change a characteristic of at least a portion of the material or property of the additive manufacturing system ([0004] temperature of individual regions of a deposition base plate used in such manufacturing operations may be individually controlled. In doing so,
residual stress and distortion may be reduced in the manufactured product. For example, by
controlling the heat transfer rates and heat transfer flow/paths associated with the individual
regions of the deposition base plate, desired portions of the manufactured components may be
cooled down more evenly at substantially the same rate during an additive manufacturing
process to reduce such residual stress and distortion).
Regarding claim 23, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Prakash teaches wherein: the at least one first element further includes the at least one second feature or second functional element ([0033]); and the at least one second element further includes the at least one first feature or first functional element ([0038] region 103D includes both a heat transfer element 303D1 for heating the region 103D and a heat transfer element 303D2 for cooling the region 103D. Thus, the region 103D may be used to add heat using the heat transfer element 303C or the region 103D may be used to remove heat using heat transfer element 303D2 as determined by the user).
Regarding claim 24, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Prakash teaches wherein the array of elements forms a tessellation surface on the at least one surface (see Figure 4E).
Regarding claim 25, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 24. Further, Prakash teaches wherein: the at least one first feature or first functional element includes a first functional characteristic that is configured to dynamically and continuously vary in time or space (Claim 1 temperature control system coupled with the
regions and configured to adjust an associated temperature of each of the regions to reduce
residual stress and distortion in a product that is fabricated from the received deposition
material during an additive manufacturing process); and the at least one second feature or
second functional element includes a second functional characteristic that is configured to
dynamically and continuously vary in time or space ([0004] desired portions of the
manufactured components may be cooled down more evenly at substantially the same rate
during an additive manufacturing process).
Regarding claim 26, Prakash modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 2. Further, Prakash teaches the at least one surface changes in position as desired by a user ([0025] each individual modular region may be able to provide an individual heat transfer characteristic to the corresponding deposited material as determined by the user. In some embodiments, the modular regions are movable along an X-axis, Y-axis, and/or Z-axis direction as desired by the user).
While Prakash fails to explicitly teach the user changes the position of the at least one
surface by the additive manufacturing system using the controller, Prakash does teach user
controls that allow users to adjust various settings and/or parameters through a user interface
to control the additive manufacturing system ([0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the user controls of Prakash modified
with Beetz, Li, and Counts to change the position of the at least one surface by the additive
manufacturing system using the controller, to achieve the predictable result of moving the
modular regions along an X-axis, Y-axis, and/or Z-axis direction as desired by the user. There
would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the user controls to change the
orientation of the at least one surface, since Prakash teaches this is done so as desired by a user
and the user controls of Prakash allows users to adjust various settings and/or parameters to
control the additive manufacturing system.
Claim(s) 1, 10-13, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Beetz et al. (US20220134661), and further in view of Li (CN107310149A) and Counts et al. (US20200307087).
Regarding claim 1, Beetz teaches a build for receiving material in an additive
manufacturing system (Abstract: A platform unit for being arranged on a base plate of a 3D
printing device), the build platform comprising:
a build volume section made of a plurality of layers (plates 10, 14, and 15 in Figure 5),
the build volume section having an outermost surface layer configured to receive the
material (see printing surface F in Figure 5);
an interface section (base plate D; Figure 5 and Figure 6) configured to couple with the
additive manufacturing system (3D printing device V in Figure 6; [0042] The platform unit (not
shown in FIG. 6) can thus be arranged and then displaced into an end position via the guide
apparatus 2. In this way, a printing surface F, on which the three-dimensional component is
constructed in layers inside the printing space R, is finally defined on the platform unit 1
fastened detachably on the base plate D);
a base section (base support B; Figure 6) coupled to the interface section between the
interface section and the build volume section (see base support B between base plate D and
printing surface F in Figure 6);
at least one first feature or first functional element (heating coil 10; Figure 6) operably
coupled to a portion of the build volume section ([0046] heating coil 10 may wind back and
forth along the heating plate 10);
at least one second feature or second functional element (magnetizing apparatus in
[0020]) operably coupled to at least the portion of the build volume section, the at least one
second feature or second functional element being different than the at least one first feature
or first functional element ([0014] at least one first (heating) plate is provided to carry the
heating apparatus. A second (support) plate carries the sintering base plate and a third
(magnetizing) plate that carries the at least one magnetizing apparatus may also be provided);
and
a controller operably coupled to individually control the at least one first feature or first
functional element, and the at least one second feature or second functional element ([0011]
Alternatively or additionally, at least one latching element, for example, in the form of a
latching lug or a latching hook, is provided to electrically connect the platform unit to a power
supply and/or an electronic control system of the 3D printing device… to be able to control via
electrical signals the operation of the at least one heating apparatus and the at least one
magnetizing apparatus during a 3D printing or similar process);
wherein the controller is coupled to the build volume section ([0048] contacting to
connect the base support B to a power supply and/or a higher-level electronic control system of
the 3D printing device) and the controller comprises:
a build volume driver module ([0011] to be able to control via electrical signals the
operation of the at least one heating apparatus and the at least one magnetizing apparatus
during a 3D printing or similar process);
wherein the build volume section includes an array of elements, the portion being one
of the array of elements, at least one first element of the array of elements having the at least
one first feature or first functional element (see heating coil 10 forming an array in Figure 1A
and Figure 1B), and at least one second element of the array of elements having the at least
one second feature or second functional element (see coils 140 and magnetizing apparatus
141a-141c forming an array in Figure 3A and Figure 3B).
While Beetz teaches the build platform is connected to a power source to supply heat or
magnetization to the build platform ([0017] The base support may also have at least one plug-in
connector, e.g., in the form of a connector socket or a connector plug, for electrical connection to the at least one heating apparatus and/or to the at least one magnetizing apparatus. The
heating apparatus and/or the magnetizing apparatus can be connected to a power supply of
the 3D printer device and/or an electronic control system of the 3D printing device via the plug-
in connector of the base support), Beetz fails to teach a wirelessly charged build platform such
that the controller comprises a microcontroller; a memory; a power management circuit; a
wireless charging coil electrically coupled to the power management circuit; an external power
input electrically coupled to the power management circuit; a battery electrically coupled to
the power management circuit; and a communication module.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to an additive manufacturing apparatus, Li
teaches a controller that comprises:
a microcontroller (Figure 5);
a memory (“data port”- see pg. 2 line 23);
a power management circuit (power supply board (124) in Figure 1);
a wireless charging coil electrically (secondary side coil (209); Figure 3) coupled to the
power management circuit (power supply board (124) in Figure 1; “a power supply board (124)
is provided with a wireless power receiving device”- see pg. 2 line 23-24);
an external power input (“power line is connected with the primary coil (207)”- see pg. 2
line 46) electrically coupled to the power management circuit;
a battery electrically coupled to the power management circuit; and
a communication module (“printing control board (123) is provided with a printer
controller, a power supply interface, a data port, a motor driver and a communication module”-
see pg. 2 line 23). A wireless charge technology improves the additive manufacturing device’s print power reliability and reduces the manual charge time and effort (Abstract: “automatic
wireless charge technology and improves the reliability of the three-dimensional printer power,
reduces the manual charge time and effort is consumption”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the controller of Beetz comprise the
components required for wireless charging a 3D printer base, as taught by Li, for the benefit of
improving the additive manufacturing device’s print power reliability and reducing the manual
charge time and effort.
Further, while Beetz teaches an additional electronic component can be provided on the build platform to enable the control of or supplying of power to modular plates on the build platform ([0047] As an alternative or in addition to the plug-in connector 12, a differently configured electronic component can also be provided on the base support B in order to enable the control of or supplying of power to (modular) plates, which are to be attached to the base support B), Beetz fails to teach wherein the controller is disposed in the base section.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to an additive manufacturing apparatus, Counts
teaches wherein the controller is disposed in the base section (see control board 280 in base
260 in Figure 2). Placing the controller within the base section allows for the build platform to
operate independently of other additive manufacturing apparatus components, regardless of
whether other additive manufacturing apparatus components are powered or not ([0051] build
platform 140 shows a portion of a battery pack or other energy storage element 270 (such as
an ultra capacitor) and control board 280 depicted (and partly revealed) within the base 260.
The energy storage element 270 can provide energy for powering control elements (such as
temperature monitoring and reporting), as well as to provide energy to heat portions of the top
substrate 250).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have an additional component of the controller of Beetz modified with Li be disposed in the base section, as taught by Counts, as one of ordinary skill would be motivated to provide the build platform with powering capabilities independent of other additive manufacturing apparatus components.
Regarding claim 10, Beetz modified with Li and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Beetz teaches wherein at least one of the at least one functional element comprises a heater coil ([0019]).
Regarding claim 11, Beetz modified with Li and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 10. Further, Beetz teaches wherein to individually control the heater coil comprises activating the heater coil ([0046] The printing surface F may be heated in a targeted fashion during the printing process via the heating coil 100).
Regarding claim 12, Beetz modified with Li and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Beetz teaches wherein at least one of the at least one functional element comprises a magnetic coil ([0049] magnetizing plate 14 carries a magnetizing apparatus, that may be formed by a plurality of magnets 141a, 141b, 141c and a coil 140).
Regarding claim 13, Beetz modified with Li and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 12. Further, Beetz teaches wherein to individually control the magnetic coil comprises activating the magnetic coil ([0049] During the printing process inside the 3D printing device V, magnetic particles printed on an upper side, defining the printing surface F, of the magnetizing plate 14 can be oriented in a targeted fashion via the magnetizing apparatus 140, 141a-141c of the magnetizing plate 14. Thus, if printing material applied to the printing surface F of the
magnetizing plate 14 contains magnetic particles, the latter can be oriented via the magnetizing
apparatus 140, 141a-141c in a targeted fashion with the action of the magnetic force of the
magnetizing apparatus 140, 141a-141c).
Regarding claim 20, Beetz modified with Li and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Beetz teaches wherein the at least one feature or functional element includes a plurality of feature or functional elements arranged as a matrix (see Figure 3B).
Regarding claim 21, Beetz modified with Li and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Beetz teaches wherein the at least one feature or functional element is configured to change a characteristic of at least a portion of the material or property of the additive manufacturing system ([0006] This additional function may be controlled heating of the printing surface during the 3D printing process, the provision of a sintering base plate which can be delivered to a subsequent sintering process together with the printed component arranged thereon).
Claim(s) 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beetz et
al. (US20220134661), Li (CN107310149A), and Counts et al. (US20200307087), and further in view of Wilenski et al. (US20180126671).
Regarding claim 27, Beetz modified with Li and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. While Beetz teaches maintaining applied layers of printing material at a specific temperature ([0046] to assist the adhesion of a newly applied layer of printing material to an already present layer of printing material, and to maintain the already applied layers of printing material at a specific temperature), Beetz fails to teach how the temperature is determined such that a specific temperature can be maintained.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing, Wilenski teaches a
build platform comprising at least one sensor monitoring at least one of the at least one first
feature or first functional element ([0027], [0030] and [0032] In some examples, an optional
support bed 38 may comprise one or more thermal sensors 44).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the build platform of Beetz modified with Li and Counts further comprise at least one sensor monitoring at least one of the at least one first feature or first functional element, as taught by Wilenski, to achieve the predictable result of determining a temperature and adjusting the temperature to achieve a desired temperature. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the build platform of Beetz modified with Li and Counts to further comprise at least one sensor, since both Beetz and Wilenski are directed to build platforms with heating devices that are used to heat a build volume and are coupled to fused deposition modelling printers.
Regarding claim 28, Beetz modified with Li, Counts, and Wilenski teaches the build platform of claim 27. While Beetz teaches the first feature or first functional element and the at least one second feature or second functional element are disposed in the build volume section (see Figure 3A and Figure 3B), Beetz fails to teach wherein the at least one sensor is disposed in the build volume section.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing, Wilenski teaches
wherein the at least one sensor is disposed in the build volume section (see thermal sensors 44
on support bed 38 in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the at least one sensor of Beetz modified with Li, Counts, and Wilenski be disposed in the build volume section, as taught by Wilenski, to achieve the predictable result of determining a temperature and adjusting the temperature to achieve a
desired temperature. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the build
platform of Beetz modified with Li to further comprise at least one sensor disposed in the build
volume section, since both Beetz and Wilenski are directed to build platforms with heating
devices that are used to heat a build volume and are coupled to fused deposition modelling
printers.
Claim(s) 1, 14-17, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Wilenski et al. (US20180126671), and further in view of Beetz et al. (US20220134661),
Li (CN107310149A), and Counts et al. (US20200307087).
Regarding claim 1, Wilenski teaches a build platform (support bed 38; Figure 1) for
receiving material (part 14; Figure 1) in an additive manufacturing system (system 10; Figure 1),
the build platform comprising:
a build volume section (volume inside support bed 38 that embeds features or
functional elements; [0027] Additionally or alternatively, in some examples, the support bed 38
comprises embedded heaters 42) having at least one surface (support surface 40; Figure 1) configured to receive the material ([0023] portions of a part 14 that are deposited, or otherwise
formed, against the support surface 40);
at least one first feature or first functional element (heaters 42 and heat source 16;
Figure 1) operably coupled to a portion of the build volume section ([0027] support bed 38
comprises embedded heaters 42);
at least one second feature or second functional element operably coupled to at least
the portion of the build volume section (see thermal sensors 44 in support bed 38 in Figure
1and [0031]), the at least one second feature or second functional element being different than
the at least one first feature or first functional element (thermal sensors are different than
heaters); and
a controller (controller 20; Figure 1) operably coupled to individually control the at least
one first feature or first functional element ([0008] controller 20 operatively coupled to the
heat source 16 and configured to direct delivery of heat 18 from the heat source 16 to discrete
sections of the part 14), and the at least one second feature or second functional element
(see thermal sensors 44 in support bed 38 in Figure 1and [0031]);
wherein the controller is coupled to the build volume section and the controller
comprises:
a build volume driver module ([0028] the controller 20 is operatively coupled to the
thermal sensor(s) 44 and is configured to direct delivery of heat 18 from a heat source 16 to
discrete sections of a part 14 based at least in part on the thermal data. In other words, the
active controlling of the delivery of heat 18 in such examples is based on real-time thermal data
acquired via the one or more thermal sensors 44);
wherein the build volume section includes an array of elements, the portion being one
of the array of elements; at least one first element of the array of elements having the at least
one first feature or first functional element ([0027] support bed 38 comprises embedded
heaters 42, for example, in the form of resistive heaters that are arranged in a two-dimensional
array or grid); and
at least one second element of the array of elements having the at least one second
feature or second functional element (see thermal sensors 44 in support bed 38 in Figure 1and
[0031]).
While Wilenski teaches the build platform is part of an additive manufacturing system
([0023] Some systems 10 further comprise a support bed 38 that is positioned relative to the
build volume 12 and configured to support a part 14 as it is being additively manufactured),
Wilenski fails to explicitly show how the build platform is connected to the additive
manufacturing system, and fails to teach an interface section configured to couple with the
additive manufacturing system and the base section is coupled to the interface section
between the interface section and the build volume section.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing, Beetz teaches a
build platform comprising a build volume section having an outermost surface layer configured
to receive material (see printing surface F in Figure 1A and Figure 3C);
an interface section (base plate D; Figure 1A and Figure 6) configured to couple with the
additive manufacturing system (3D printing device V in Figure 6; [0042] The platform unit (not
shown in FIG. 6) can thus be arranged and then displaced into an end position via the guide
apparatus 2. In this way, a printing surface F, on which the three-dimensional component is constructed in layers inside the printing space R, is finally defined on the platform unit 1
fastened detachably on the base plate D);
a base section (base support B; Figure 5) coupled to the interface section between the
interface section and the build volume section (see base support B between base plate D and
printing surface F in Figure 5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art for the build platform of Wilenski to have an interface
section configured to couple with the additive manufacturing system such that the base section
is coupled to the interface section between the interface section and the build volume section,
as taught by Beetz, to achieve the predictable result of coupling the build platform to the
additive manufacturing system. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for
the build platform of Prakash to include an interface section to couple the build platform with
the additive manufacturing system, as taught by Beetz, since both Wilenski and Beetz are
directed to build platforms with heating devices that are used to heat a build volume and are
coupled to fused deposition modelling printers (see [0020] of Prakash and [0041] of Beetz).
Further, while Wilenski teaches at least one first feature or first functional element can
be embedded into the build volume ([0027] Additionally or alternatively, in some examples, the
support bed 38 comprises embedded heaters 42), Wilenski fails to explicitly teach the build
volume section is made of a plurality of layers.
However, Beetz teaches the build volume section is made of a plurality of layers where
the first functional element is placed in one layer and the second functional element is placed
in another layer ([0043] Each of the platform units 1 has a base support B via which detachable fastening to the guide apparatus 2 of the base plate D is possible and that may be equipped
optionally with different plates 10, 14, and 15 to supply different additional functions; see
plates 10, 14, 15 as different layers in build volume section in Figure 5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art for the build volume section of Wilenski modified with
Beetz to be made of a plurality of layers to achieve the predictable result of forming build
platforms with more than one functional element. There would have been a reasonable
expectation of success to have the first functional element of Wilenski placed in one layer and
the second element of Wilenski placed in another layer of the build volume section, since both
Wilenski and Beetz are directed to build platforms with multiple functional elements, including
heaters that heat the outermost surface layer to heat the received material, and one of
ordinary skill would look to various configurations on how to place multiple functional elements
within a build volume section.
However, Wilenski fails to teach a wirelessly charged build platform such that the
controller comprises a microcontroller; a memory; a power management circuit; a wireless
charging coil electrically coupled to the power management circuit; an external power input
electrically coupled to the power management circuit; a battery electrically coupled to the
power management circuit; and a communication module.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to an additive manufacturing apparatus, Li
teaches a controller that comprises:
a microcontroller (Figure 5);
a memory (“data port”- see pg. 2 line 23);
a power management circuit (power supply board (124) in Figure 1);
a wireless charging coil electrically (secondary side coil (209); Figure 3) coupled to the
power management circuit (power supply board (124) in Figure 1; “a power supply board (124)
is provided with a wireless power receiving device”- see pg. 2 line 23-24);
an external power input (“power line is connected with the primary coil (207)”- see pg. 2
line 46) electrically coupled to the power management circuit;
a battery electrically coupled to the power management circuit; and
a communication module (“printing control board (123) is provided with a printer
controller, a power supply interface, a data port, a motor driver and a communication module”-
see pg. 2 line 23). A wireless charge technology improves the additive manufacturing device’s
print power reliability and reduces the manual charge time and effort (Abstract: “automatic
wireless charge technology and improves the reliability of the three-dimensional printer power,
reduces the manual charge time and effort is consumption”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the controller of Wilenski modified with Beetz
comprise the components required for wireless charging a 3D printer base, as taught by Li, for
the benefit of improving the additive manufacturing device’s print power reliability and reducing the manual charge time and effort.
Further, while Wilenski teaches the controller may be positioned at least partially within the environmental enclosure ([0042] Other components such as the controller 20 may be positioned external of, or at least partially external of, the environmental enclosure, when present) and that the controller may include one or more of an electronic controller, a dedicated controller, a special-purpose controller etc… ([0044] Controller 20 may be any suitable device or devices that are configured to perform the functions of the controller 20 discussed herein. For example, the controller 20 may include one or more of an electronic controller, a dedicated controller, a special-purpose controller…), Wilenski fails to teach wherein the controller is disposed in the base section.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to an additive manufacturing apparatus, Counts
teaches wherein the controller is disposed in the base section (see control board 280 in base
260 in Figure 2). Placing the controller within the base section allows for the build platform to
operate independently of other additive manufacturing apparatus components, regardless of
whether other additive manufacturing apparatus components are powered or not ([0051] build
platform 140 shows a portion of a battery pack or other energy storage element 270 (such as
an ultra capacitor) and control board 280 depicted (and partly revealed) within the base 260.
The energy storage element 270 can provide energy for powering control elements (such as
temperature monitoring and reporting), as well as to provide energy to heat portions of the top
substrate 250).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have an additional component of the controller of Wilenski modified with Beetz and Li be disposed in the base section, as taught by Counts, as one of ordinary skill would be motivated to provide the build platform with powering capabilities independent of other additive manufacturing apparatus components.
Regarding claim 14, Wilenski modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Wilenski teaches wherein at least one of the at least one functional element comprises an optical device ([0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Wilenski modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 14. Further, Wilenski teaches wherein to individually control the optical device comprises activating the optical device ([0028] the active controlling of the delivery of heat 18 in such examples is based on real-time thermal data acquired via the one or more thermal sensors 44).
Regarding claim 16, Wilenski modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Beetz teaches wherein at least one of the at least one functional element is disposed in each layer of the plurality of layers of the build volume section as noted in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Wilenski teaches the at least one functional elements are
embedded in the build volume section such that they are disposed in a layer other than the
outermost surface layer of the build volume section ([0027] support bed 38 comprises
embedded heaters 42).
Regarding claim 17, Wilenski modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Wilenski teaches wherein the build platform is a nonplanar build platform ([0023] The support bed 38 has a support surface 40, which may take any suitable form or shape, including being planar or having contoured regions).
Regarding claim 20, Wilenski modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Wilenski teaches wherein the at least one feature or functional element includes a plurality of feature or functional elements arranged as a matrix (see heaters 42 and thermal sensors 44 arranged as a matrix in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 21, Wilenski modified with Beetz, Li, and Counts teaches the build platform of claim 1. Further, Wilenski teaches wherein the at least one feature or functional element is configured to change a characteristic of at least a portion of the material or property of the additive manufacturing system (Abstract: a controller operatively coupled to the heat source and configured to direct delivery of heat from the heat source to discrete sections of the part as it is being additively manufactured to impart desired physical properties to the part).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the proposed combination of Prakash, Beetz, Li, and Counts would undermine the teachings of Prakash and, based on the present reasoning, would contradict the claimed system (see pg. 10 of Remarks), Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant states the Office alleges computing device 102 of Prakash is operable coupled to control the temperature controller 208, which is referenced as the claimed feature or functional element. However, to provide clarification, heat transfer elements 303C and 303D1 in 103C and 103D in Figure 3 are referenced as the at least one first feature or first functional element (see pg. 3 of Office Action mailed 09/04/2025. The computing device 102 comprises temperature controller 208, which is a portion of the controller that is operatively coupled to individually control the at least one first feature or functional element as recited in [0032] and as noted on pg. 4 of the Office Action mailed 09/04/2025.
Computing device 102 of Prakash is a controller comprising sub-controllers additive manufacturing apparatus control 207 ([0032] the additive manufacturing apparatus 101 in response to receiving commands from a user at the user controls 201 or it may be in response to an automated command generated by the additive manufacturing apparatus control 207 application) and temperature controller 208 ([0032] Temperature controller 208 may be configured to provide temperature adjustment information for the regions to the heating or cooling source 105. For example, temperature controller 208 may receive ambient temperature information of the additive manufacturing system 100, temperature information at the regions, and/or computed desired temperature information for the regions as determined by the additive manufacturing apparatus control 207, and provide a control signal to the heating or cooling source 105, which in turn heats or cools the heat transfer elements at each of the regions).
Further, Counts teaches system 100 includes a controller comprising multiple components, including one or more control circuits, microprocessor-based engine control systems, and/or digitally-controlled raster imaging processor systems, which are configured to operate the components of system 100 in a synchronized manner based on printing instructions received from a host computer in [0039].
Therefore, placing temperature controller 208, a component of computing device 102 of Prakash, within a base section, as taught by Counts, would not isolate a controller from interacting with the additive manufacturing apparatus. Additive manufacturing apparatus control 207 continues to interact with and control the additive manufacturing apparatus while temperature controller 208 controls the temperature by controlling heating or cooling instructions to the heating or cooling source 105.
Counts teaches placing the controller within the base section allows for the build platform to operate independently, as noted on pg. 16 of the Office Action, and therefore one of ordinary skill would be motivated to place Prakash’s temperature controller 208 of computing device 102 within the base section to provide the build platform powering capabilities independent of other additive manufacturing apparatus components.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743