DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 16, 19-22 are pending wherein claims 16 and 22 are in independent form.
3. Claims 1-15, 17-18, and 23-24 have been canceled.
4. Claims 16 and 22 have been amended. In view of amendments, rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed 11/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
6. On page 6 of the remarks, applicant argues, “In contrast, the claimed "cell identifier" corresponds to an inter-cell identifier (e.g., PCI, cell ID, or NCellIID) that uniquely identifies a different cell associated with PRACH transmission. Therefore, "TRP indication" or "TRP ID" of MolavianJazi cannot correspond to the claimed "cell identifier" of the second cell. Thus, MolavianJazi fails to disclose at least "based on that the information indicates a cell identifier of the second cell, the UE transmits the PRACH to the second cell based on the second RACH configuration," as recited in the present claims.”
In response, examiner respectfully disagrees because:
MolavianJazi discloses that each TRP is associated with a single cell and multiple TRPs are associated with multiple cells (Par 0194-0195). As each TRP is associated with a single cell, the TRP ID is also an identifier relevant to the corresponding cell. Moreover, MolavianJazi discloses in paragraph [0199], “In one realization, a TRP may be identified by an explicit identity such as a TRP-ID. A TRP-ID can include a number of identities for a corresponding cell, such as a physical cell identity (PCI), or a cell global identity (CGI) such as an NR CGI (NCGI), as well as a number of identities for the TRP, such as an NR absolute radio frequency channel number (NRARFCN) of the TRP, or a dedicated TRP identity within the cell”. Therefore, MolavianJazi clearly discloses that a TRP ID can be a cell identifier.
7. On page 7 of the remarks, applicant argues, “Such flexibility allows multiple TRPs within a coordinated set to share control signaling responsibilities; it does not disclose that a PDCCH order received from one cell initiates or triggers a random access procedure for another cell, as recited in the present claims.”
In response, examiner respectfully disagrees because:
Claim recites that a UE receives DCI from a first cell and transmits PRACH to a second cell based on the received DCI. MolavianJazi discloses that a UE receives PDCCH order for a RA procedure from a second TRP and initiates PRACH transmission to a first TRP based on the received PDCCH order (Par 0385-0388). MolavianJazi further discloses that each TRP is associated with a single cell and therefore, the PDCCH order received from a TRP/cell (i.e., second TRP/cell) causes a PRACH transmission to another TRP/cell (i.e., first TRP/cell).
8. On page 7 of the remarks, applicant argues, “Moreover, paragraphs [0194-0195] of MolavianJazi describe conceptual definitions, not operational disclosures. Paragraphs [0194-0195] of MolavianJazi state that "a TRP is typically associated with a single cell but can also correspond to multiple cells" and that "multi-TRP operation can also refer to operation with multiple TRPs corresponding to multiple cells." However, these statements are conceptual generalizations defining potential TRP-cell relationships, not operational disclosures describing a PDCCH order carrying a cell identifier. No specific embodiment or DCI format in MolavianJazi teaches inclusion of an inter-cell identifier within the PDCCH order. Thus, these paragraphs cannot support the Examiner's interpretation that the reference discloses a "cell identifier" field.”
In response, examiner respectfully disagrees because:
MolavianJazi discloses to perform multiple concurrent random access procedures with multiple transmission reception points or multiple cells (Par 0002, Par 0004, Par 0049, Par 0079, Par 0195, Par 0249). Therefore, concurrent random access procedures with multiple cells is not a generalized concept defining a TRP-cell relationship. As each TRP is associated with a single cell, the RA procedure with a TRP is associated with the corresponding cell. Therefore, multi-TRP RA procedure is associated with the corresponding multiple cells. MolavianJazi discloses in paragraph [0199], “In one realization, a TRP may be identified by an explicit identity such as a TRP-ID. A TRP-ID can include a number of identities for a corresponding cell, such as a physical cell identity (PCI), or a cell global identity (CGI) such as an NR CGI (NCGI), as well as a number of identities for the TRP, such as an NR absolute radio frequency channel number (NRARFCN) of the TRP, or a dedicated TRP identity within the cell”. Therefore, MolavianJazi clearly discloses that a TRP ID can be a cell identifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MolavianJazi et al (US 20220210844 A1, hereinafter referred to as MolavianJazi).
Re claim 16, MolavianJazi teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 11, Abstract), the method comprising:
(i) receiving, from a first cell, random access channel (RACH) configuration information (TRP specific RACH configuration) (Fig. 8, Par 0087, Par 0090-0091, Par 0166-0168, Par 0194-0195, Par 0209, Par 0239-0241, Par 0289-0293, Par 0568);
(ii) receiving, from the first cell, a PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) including DCI (downlink control information) for triggering a contention-free RACH (PDCCH Order triggering/initiating RA procedure/CFRA) from the first cell (Par 0388 states, “In one example, a PDCCH order for a RA procedure from a first UE panel for a first TRP can be transmitted by either the first TRP or a second TRP and can be received by either the first UE panel or a second UE panel”) (Par 0087, Par 0166-0168, Par 0172, Par 0177, Par 0194-0195, Par 0215, Par 0234, Par 0247, Par 0249, Par 0385-0393, Par 0422); and
(iii) transmitting a PRACH (physical RACH) based on the RACH configuration information (TRP specific RACH configuration) and the DCI (PDCCH Order triggering/initiating RA procedure) (Par 0087, Par 0097, Par 0166-0168, Par 0172, Par 0177, Par 0209, Par 0215, Par 0234, Par 0239-0241, Par 0247, Par 0249, Par 0289-0292, Par 0385-0393, Par 0422, Par 0568),
(iv) wherein the RACH configuration information includes a first RACH configuration for the first cell and a second RACH configuration for a second cell (TRP specific RACH configuration, RACH configuration for each cell) (Fig. 8, Par 0087, Par 0090-0091, Par 0166-0168, Par 0194-0195, Par 0209, Par 0239-0241, Par 0289-0292, Par 0568,
(v) wherein the DCI (PDCCH order) includes i) information related to a cell associated with the transmission of the PRACH (TRP ID, Par 0194-0195, Par 0199, Par 0385-0393, Par 0568) and (ii) a random access preamble index dedicated for the UE (dedicated preamble index for contention free random access, CFRA, Par 0172-0173, Claim 7, Claim 14),
(vi) wherein, based on that the information indicates a cell identifier of the second cell (TRP ID), the UE transmits the PRACH to the second cell based on the second RACH configuration (triggering/initiating RA procedure for each cell/TRP based on the RACH configuration) (Par 0087, Par 0097, Par 0166-0168, Par 0172, Par 0177, Par 0194-0195, Par 0199, Par 0209, Par 0215, Par 0234, Par 0239-0241, Par 0247, Par 0249, Par 0289-0292, Par 0385-0393, Par 0422, Par 0568).
Claim 22 recites a user equipment performing the steps recited in claim 16 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 16. MolavianJazi further teaches that the user equipment comprises a transceiver (310); and at least one processor (340) coupled to the transceiver (Fig. 3, Par 0061-0068).
Re claim 19, MolavianJazi teaches to receive a random access response to the transmission of the PRACH (receiving RAR); and transmitting uplink scheduling information on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) based on the random access response (transmitting PUSCH msg3 based on the UL grant received in the RAR message, PUSCH msg3 providing UL-SCH containing a C-RNTI MAC CE), wherein the PUSCH includes at least one of uplink control information (UCI) or a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) including a specific MAC control element (CE) (PUSCH msg3 containing common control channel SDU, C-RNTI MAC CE, BFR MAC CE, TC-RNTI MAC CE, UL MAC CE. (Fig. 14-16, Par 0093-0095, Par 0172, Par 0187, Par 0189-0190, Par 0326-0327, Par 0338-0345, Par 0351-0359, Par 0364, Par 0367-0371, Par 0377-0378).
Re claim 20, MolavianJazi teaches that the UCI or the specific MAC CE includes at least one of a UE identifier (ID) allocated by the second cell, a UE ID for the first cell (PUSCH msg3 to each TRP includes TC-RNTI MAC CE, C-RNTI MAC CE) (Fig. 14-16, Par 0187, Par 0189-0190, Par 0338-0345, Par 0353-0357, Par 0364, Par 0369-0372, Par 0377-0378).
Re claim 21, MolavianJazi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium recording a program code for performing the method according to claim 16 (Par 0005-0006, Par 0010).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARUN CHOWDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2473