DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims amended: 1, 14
Claims cancelled: none
Claims added: 26, 27
Claims currently pending: 1-27
Response to Arguments
Applicant, in the “REMARKS” and “Double Patenting” sections, presents opening remarks regarding the disposition of the claims and the amendments to the claims. As no specific argument is raised in this/these section(s) with respect to the instant application, no rebuttal is required.
Applicant, in the A sub-section under the “Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103” heading, refers to newly amended claim language regarding “global content, a plurality of products, and a plurality of microsites” now found in independent claims 1 and 14 and argues that the previously applied references of McCauley, Chikkareddy, Silberstein, and Abnous do not teach the newly amended claim features. This argument is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented herein which involve McCauley, Christensen, Silberstein, and Abnous which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Applicant, in the B sub-section under the “Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103” heading, refers to newly amended claim language and argues that “none of the cited references teach an external content library that is virtually mounted to the content management system as claimed”. Examiner disagrees to this notion as the cited portions of at least McCauley disclose standard file operations being performed on the nodes within the Virtual Content Repository (VCR) in at least 0133-0150. McCauley further describes, in at least 0048, “A virtual or federated content repository (herein-after referred to as ‘VCR’) is a logical representation of one or more individual content repositories such that they appear and behave as a single content repository from the standpoint of application layer 120”. Applicant argues that the “service provider in McCauley is actually a content management system, not an external content library (‘An SPI describes how a service provider (e.g., a content repository, a content management system) can be integrated into a system of some kind.’)”. Applicant asserts that, “since McCauley states that a service provider can be a content management system, a service provider cannot also be mapped to an external content library”. This argument is confusing as the quoted portions of McCauley provide examples of service providers as both “a content repository” and “a content management system”. Thus, a service provider that is “a content repository” is analogous to an “external content library”. Figure 1 of McCauley indicates that multiple service provider repositories may be simultaneously mapped to the VCR. This is further exemplified in Figure 6 that indicates that the SPI layer is used in the mapping of multiple repositories. Therefore, McCauley does teach the newly amended claim language as is indicated in the grounds of rejection presented herein.
Applicant does not present any arguments in support of the patentability of the dependent claims except to assert that the claims are patentable based on their dependence from independent claim(s) 1 and 14. Therefore, said dependent claims stand rejected under the grounds of rejection presented herein and no detailed rebuttal is required.
Double Patenting
The Terminal Disclaimer to United States Patent # 11,308,528 filed on 29 July 2024 has been accepted and overcomes the previously noted grounds of rejection with respect to Double Patenting.
References of Record but not Applied in the Current Grounds of Rejection
The prior art listed below is made of record as considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is not relied upon in the grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Those starred with '*' were added to this list in this Office action. Those without "*" were added in a previous Office action and are not repeated on a PTO-892 Notice of References Cited form but are maintained herein for informational purposes only.
* Wikipedia, in the “Microsite” article, describes microsites as “an individual web page or a small cluster (around 1 to 7) of pages which are meant to function as a discrete entity within an existing website…”.
Lauder (Pub. #: US 2010/0223048 A1) discloses a system that combines human and machine translations together.
The IBM Redbook, “IBM FileNet P8 Platform and Architecture”, describes a system for a “federated” repository of content for use in computing applications.
Siedlecki (Pub. #: US 2009/0106234 A1) discloses a system for marketing tools and digital archives that includes management of federated repositories.
Martchenko (Pub. #: US 2012/0197718 A1) teaches a system for managing web content that is part of a web-based marketing campaign.
Examiner's Note on the Format of the Prior Art Rejections
The prior art rejections below contain underlined markings of the limitations (e.g. sample limitation). The underlined portions of a claim are addressed at the end of the grounds of rejection for that claim. Examiner notes that the underlining of the claim language is not a statement that the primary reference does not teach that language, but simply that said claim language is addressed at the end of the grounds of rejection for that claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-13, 14-20, 23, 24, 26, 27 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over:
McCauley et al. (Pub. #: US 2006/0041558 A1) in view of
Christensen et al. (Pub. #: US 2013/0124562 A1) in view of
Silberstein et al. (Pub. #: US 7,383,320 B1) in view of
Abnous et al. (Pub #: US 2007/0192374 A1).
Claim(s) 1:
These claims are analogous with different representative embodiments; claim 1 is a method embodiment, and claim 14 is a system embodiment. McCauley teaches a computer system executing software modules with computer-readable media in at least 0167, 0175 and 176 for performing the steps:
establishing a blueprint for a web-based marketing campaign using a content management system, the blueprint comprising blueprint rules for
(McCauley discloses a content repository that stores "advertisements" in at least 0033 with "actions" attached to "nodes" that are processed when a node transitions to a new state, which are rules for updating linked content (i.e., nodes) when one content is changed as taught in 0047, 0105, which are blueprint comprising rules, exceptions and conditions. Specifically, McCauley discloses that the lifecycle actions may comprise “commands(s), directive(s), expression(s) or other constructs that can be interpreted or mapped to identify required processing” in at least 0105.)
(1) managing assets utilized by at least a portion of a plurality of publications of a hierarchical model of the web-based marketing campaign, the hierarchical model comprising global content, a plurality of products configured to inherit assets from the global content, and a plurality of microsites configured to inherit assets from one or more plurality of products,
(McCauley discloses a content repository for managing multiple publications for a marketing campaign with "advertisements, inventories, image collections" in at least 0033, a content repository for object displayed in a web portal in 0047, that the system has a hierarchical model in at least 0050.)
(2) for localizing assets, the localizing assets including inheriting, the inheriting including a parent-child relationship,
(McCauley discloses that some of the content nodes are child nodes of other content nodes in at least 0050 and that "resources can be arranged in one or more hierarchies such that parent/child relationships are established" in 0081.)
and sharing assets between the plurality of publications where the sharing is agnostic to the vertical or horizontal relationships between publications,
(McCauley discloses that "Lifecycles can also be directly associated with content nodes" and that actions associated with changing of states throughout a lifecycle "can include any type of processing that can be invoked in the course of the lifecycle" and specifically spells out "checking a node into/out of version control", "performing some kind of processing on the node" in at least 0104-0109. McCauley further discloses that "child resources can override their parents' roles with roles of their own", which means that the role of a node is sometimes defined solely by the node itself regardless of if the node is a child of another node in at least 0081 and 0086.)
the plurality of publications comprising at least one parent publication and at least one child publication,
(McCauley discloses that some of the content nodes are child nodes of other content nodes in at least 0050 and that "resources can be arranged in one or more hierarchies such that parent/child relationships are established" in 0081.)
at least a portion of the assets utilized by the hierarchical model being stored on an external content library mapped to the content management system via a network,
(McCauley discloses that at least some of the assets may be stored with a service provider, accessed over a network via "remote procedure calls" via an API and/or SPI in at least 0048. See also 0046, 0047, 0128.)
the external content library being virtually mounted to the content management system,
(McCauley discloses mapping of external data for use in the VCR which acts as the local repository in at least 0048-0050, 0071-0073 and 0133-0150.)
the content management system configured to utilize the external content library and a local content repository, the content management system further comprising a content manager,
(McCauley discloses a Virtual Content Repository that comprises at least a "content manager" in at least Figures 7-11 and 0169.)
the assets on the external content library owned by a plurality of different owners,
(McCauley teaches that the content (i.e., a node) in a library belongs to a "Creator" member subject to various policies for interacting with that object in at least 0078-0085.)
wherein the external content library is registered and mapped by: registering an external content library with a content management system using an external content provider module,
(McCauley discloses that at least some of the assets may be stored with a service provider, accessed over a network via "remote procedure calls" via an API and/or SPI in at least 0048. See also 0046, 0047, 0128. McCauley teaches using "processes, threads, servlets, portlets, objects, libraries, and other suitable application components" to implement a Service Provider Interface (SPI) which constitutes "an external content provider module".)
whereby one or more content authors must present or verify their identity before accessing assets that reside on the external content library;
(McCauley discloses establishing permissions based on user roles in at least 0078-0080 and policies that restrict access to users on a resource in at least 0084 and 0085 and discloses that users must be "authorized" in at least 0106 by providing their credentials in at least 0129 and 0131.)
and mapping assets of the external content library, by an asset mapper module of the content manager, for use within the content management system as if the assets were stored locally on a local content repository,
(McCauley discloses mapping of external data for use in the VCR which acts as the local repository in at least 0050, 0071-0073 and 0133-0150. McCauley discloses, in 0050, that the VCR, using API's and SPI's, "presents a unified view of all repositories to the application layer such that navigation, CRUD operations (create, read, update, delete), versioning, lifecycles, and searching operations initiated from the application layer operate on the repositories as though they were one".)
the mapping including: determining, during the mapping of the assets, a file name, a file type, a file size, and a file version for each of the assets of the external content library;
obtaining or generating a thumbnail image of each of the assets for displaying to the one or more content authors via a graphical user interface once the assets are mapped;
and tracking and mapping usage of one or more file versions of each of the assets of the external content library
(McCauley discloses, in at least 0165-0166, that the "version history" of content nodes can be imported or exported. McCauley discloses, within at least 0114-0117, maintaining a version history for each node and including a history of users that have modified and/or checked-out each node.)
and creating, by the asset mapper module, mapped asset indices from asset mappings, the mapped asset indices configured to return search results of both mapped assets that are stored on the external content library and local assets that reside on the local content repository, in response to a query for assets that is sent to the content management system,
(McCauley discloses "SearchOps" that is a search service for "the entire VCR based on one or more search expressions" in at least 0161 and "WorkspacesOps" that control "node/property locking" with the nodes in the VCR mapped to "SPI WorkspaceOps...which in turn fulfill the request using their associated repositories" in at least 0151-0160. McCauley further discloses that the repositories can be local (i.e., "shared memory") or remote (i.e., "remote procedure calls") in at least 0048.)
generating mapped asset indices that make the assets of the external content library available to the content management system and searchable alongside local assets of a local content repository;
(McCauley discloses a “virtual or federated content repository” (i.e., VCR) that federates “one or more individual content repositories such that they appear and behave as a single content repository from the stand-point of application layer 120” including “searching operations initiated from the application layer operate on the repositories as though they were one” in at least 0048-0050. McCauley further discloses that external data may be mapped according to a mapping index (or schema) found within VCR in at least 0071-0073.)
upon selection of an asset by a content author, executing a second mapping operation that links the selected asset to web content being created, wherein the second mapping maintains a dynamic link between the web content and a current location of the asset on the external content library;
(McCauley discloses a VCR that can be used to create and maintain a variety of content, including “web content” with at least the disclosure that the content could comprise "Hypertext Markup Language" in at least 0047-0051. McCauley further discloses that the VCR can contain links to “a content node in a VCR” or “a file on a file system” including a “link destination” property in at least 0068.)
continually evaluating the assets of the external content library to detect a change in at least one asset of the plurality of assets stored on the external content library for the at least one parent publication,
wherein the asset mapper module tracks mappings between the assets and the external content library such that when changes to asset locations are detected during evaluation, the mappings are automatically updated to ensure that assets are properly linked to web content and the mappings remain valid;
(McCauley discloses that the VCR system can include links to content allowing for content reuse wherein “if a link refers to a content node or a content node property that has been moved, the link can be automatically resolved by the system to reflect the new location” in at least 0068. McCauley discloses that changes to nodes initiate inheritance functions based on the change of state in at least 0106-0108, and 0111. McCauley discloses that the content within the VCR could comprise "web content" with at least the disclosure that the content could comprise "Hypertext Markup Language" in at least 0047-0051.)
using the blueprint rules for localizing assets to determine whether to automatically translate at least a portion of the change in the at least one asset across multiple websites for the at least one parent publication to the at least one child publication without translating manually;
and using the blueprint rules for localizing assets to determine whether to automatically inherit at least an unmodified portion of the change including without translation of the portion of the change, in the at least one asset across multiple websites for the at least one parent publication to the at least one child publication.
As for, “and a plurality of microsites configured to inherit assets from one or more plurality of products,”: McCauley discloses that some of the content nodes are child nodes of other content nodes in at least 0050 and that "resources can be arranged in one or more hierarchies such that parent/child relationships are established" in 0081. McCauley discloses that the content within the VCR could comprise "web content" with at least the disclosure that the content could comprise "Hypertext Markup Language" in at least 0047-0051. McCauley does not appear to specify a plurality of microsites inheriting assets from one or more products. However, Christensen teaches a technique for use within federated repositories that establishes “sub-sites” (i.e., microsites) for an organization in at least 0045-0047.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley with the technique of using “sub-sites” as taught by Christensen. Motivation to combine McCauley with Christensen derives from desire to save time by automating the “indexing, searching, and exporting” of information (Christensen: 0001).
As for, "using the blueprint rules for localizing assets to determine whether to automatically translate at least a portion of the change in the at least one asset across multiple websites for the at least one parent publication to the at least one child publication without translating manually;", and " and using the blueprint rules for localizing assets to determine whether to automatically inherit at least an unmodified portion of the change including without translation of the portion of the change, in the at least one asset across multiple websites for the at least one parent publication to the at least one child publication.": McCauley discloses propagating changes across the content management system (i.e., VCR) using defined actions in any policies defined on the node in at least 0103-105 (i.e., "using the blueprint rules". McCauley does not appear to specify the remainder of the limitations in question. However, Silberstein teaches localization of assets with rules for updating the assets across publications in at least Col. 6, Ll. 43-58 and Col. 10, Ll. 44-65. Silberstein selectively translating content between nodes upon detecting a change dependent upon the type of object being changed in at least Col. 18, Line 18 through Col. 19, Line 21 with the teaching of detecting "object variables" that describe how a resource should be localized. An object update is not translated if the "workflow sequence identifier obtained above is NULL" and is set for translation otherwise. Silberstein further discloses this feature in item 4.a of Col. 18, with the properties of the object in the hierarchy may be set to "copy" or "translate" indicating that the object is selectively copied directly or requires translation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley, in view of Christensen, with the method of rules for localizing assets within a content management system as taught by Silberstein. Motivation to combine McCauley, in view of Christensen, with Silberstein comes from both references pertaining to the functioning of content management systems and McCauley directly teaches the incorporation of "third party lifecycle engines" in the content management system (i.e., VCR) of McCauley (McCauley: 0111).
As for, "the mapping including: determining, during the mapping of the assets, a file name, a file type, a file size, and a file version for each of the assets of the external content library;" and "obtaining or generating a thumbnail image of each of the assets for displaying to the one or more content authors via a graphical user interface once the assets are mapped;":
McCauley discloses maintaining properties for the mapped nodes that include a name and a type in at least 0053-0054 and Table 1 (also see 0071 - 0072), and a file version in at least 0114-0117. McCauley discloses storing a thumbnail for image nodes in the "second binary property" of the node in at least 0054 and generating the thumbnail "beforehand" using "display templates" in at least 0074 and 0075. McCauley does not appear to specify that this metadata is created during the process of mapping of the assets of the external content library. However, Abnous teaches, in at least Figure 4 and 0024-0025, a technique for a content management system that can "bring entire sets and/or bodies of external content items" within the system using a "crawler" to create a "full indexing", including "metadata", of the "external content items". Abnous further teaches that the content management system includes metadata regarding the content managed by the system includes various types of metadata in at least 0022-0023. That is, the system performs the indexing of the external content upon receiving a command to map/manage the content within the content management system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley, in view of Christensen and Silberstein, that includes metadata and thumbnails with the technique of indexing an external content store at the time the external content store is added to the content management system as taught by Abnous in order to allow the system to perform requested functions upon the newly added data (i.e., search). Motivation to combine McCauley, in view of Christensen and Silberstein, with Abnous comes from all references pertaining to the functioning of content management systems and from the desire to "manage content in multiple systems with different characteristics in a centralized and similar or uniform manner" (Abnous: 0002).
Claim(s) 2:
wherein the external content library is registered and mapped to the content management system.
(McCauley discloses that at least some of the assets may be stored with a service provider, accessed over a network via "remote procedure calls" via an API and/or SPI in at least 0048. See also 0046, 0047, 0128. McCauley teaches using "processes, threads, servlets, portlets, objects, libraries, and other suitable application components" to implement a Service Provider Interface (SPI) which constitutes "an external content provider module".)
Claim(s) 3:
wherein the mapping of the assets of the external content library for use within the content management system by the asset mapper module occurs at intervals to ensure that the assets are available and properly linked to web content.
McCauley discloses propagating changes to assets across the content libraries in at least 0106-0108 and 0111. McCauley does not appear to make explicit that detecting changes is performed "at intervals". However, Silberstein teaches periodically updating a content library by propagating changes in at least Col. 2, Ll. 5-15, Col. 2, Ll. 46-59, and Col. 5, Ll. 47-63.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley with the method of rules for localizing assets within a content management system as taught by Silberstein. Motivation to combine McCauley with Silberstein comes from both references pertaining to the functioning of content management systems and from the desire to address problems of "how to automatically update a translated or localized Web site when source documents or other source information underlying the translation or localization changes" (Silberstein: Col. 2, Ll. 46-67).
Claim(s) 4:
wherein the localizing comprises any of translation, hiding, inheriting, pushing, or any combinations thereof, of assets for a publication.
(McCauley: 0050, 0105)
Claim(s) 5:
wherein a publication comprises any of assets, templates, functionalities, keywords, metadata, workflows, or any combinations thereof.
(McCauley: 0114, 0115)
Claim(s) 6:
wherein the blueprint comprises rules for localizing assets for the at least one child publication.
McCauley does not appear to specify rules for localization of assets. However, Silberstein teaches localization of assets with rules for updating the assets across publications in at least Col. 6, Ll. 43-58 and Col. 10, Ll. 44-65. Silberstein selectively translating content between nodes upon detecting a change dependent upon the type of object being changed in at least Col. 18, Line 18 through Col. 19, Line 21 with the teaching of detecting "object variables" that describe how a resource should be localized. An object update is not translated if the "workflow sequence identifier obtained above is NULL" and is set for translation otherwise. Silberstein further discloses this feature in item 4.a of Col. 18, with the properties of the object in the hierarchy may be set to "copy" or "translate" indicating that the object is selectively copied directly or requires translation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley with the method of rules for localizing assets within a content management system as taught by Silberstein. Motivation to combine McCauley with Silberstein comes from both references pertaining to the functioning of content management systems and McCauley directly teaches the incorporation of "third party lifecycle engines" in the content management system (i.e., VCR) of McCauley (McCauley: 0111).
Claim(s) 7:
wherein the blueprint rules for localizing assets include: rules for whether to automatically translate changes in assets for the at least one child publication without manual translation; rules for determining based on the type of assets whether to inherit changes in the assets in an unmodified format, including without translation of the asset changes, between the parent and child publications, and rules for determining based on content of the assets whether to inherit changes in assets in an unmodified manner, including without translation of the asset changes, between the parent and child publications,
McCauley does not appear to specify the limitations in question. However, Silberstein teaches localization of assets with rules for updating the assets across publications in at least Col. 6, Ll. 43-58 and Col. 10, Ll. 44-65. Silberstein selectively translating content between nodes upon detecting a change dependent upon the type of object being changed in at least Col. 18, Line 18 through Col. 19, Line 21 with the teaching of detecting "object variables" that describe how a resource should be localized. An object update is not translated if the "workflow sequence identifier obtained above is NULL" and is set for translation otherwise. Silberstein further discloses this feature in item 4.a of Col. 18, with the properties of the object in the hierarchy may be set to "copy" or "translate" indicating that the object is selectively copied directly or requires translation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley with the method of rules for localizing assets within a content management system as taught by Silberstein. Motivation to combine McCauley with Silberstein comes from both references pertaining to the functioning of content management systems and McCauley directly teaches the incorporation of "third party lifecycle engines" in the content management system (i.e., VCR) of McCauley (McCauley: 0111).
Claim(s) 8:
upon selection of an asset from the external content library via the content management system, mapping the selected asset from the external content library into web content being created on the content management system.
(McCauley: 0046-0048, 0128, 0072)
Claim(s) 9:
wherein the external content library includes assets for a plurality of owners and individual assets on the external content library are owned by different owners.
(McCauley discloses that the content (i.e., a node) in a library belongs to a "Creator" member subject to various policies for interacting with that object in at least 0078-0085.)
Claim(s) 10:
tracking usage of assets stored on the external content library and providing usage information for the assets to the respective owners of the assets.
(McCauley discloses recording a version history of the content and making that history available for viewing in at least 0113-0117.)
Claim(s) 11:
wherein the blueprint rules further comprise rules for localizing the text in the at least one asset to that of the language of one of the multiple websites.
McCauley does not appear to specify rules for localizing text in the at least one asset to that of the language of the one of the multiple websites. However, Silberstein teaches localization of assets with rules for updating the assets across publications in at least Col. 6, Ll. 43-58 and Col. 10, Ll. 44-65. Silberstein selectively translating content between nodes upon detecting a change dependent upon the type of object being changed in at least Col. 18, Line 18 through Col. 19, Line 21 with the teaching of detecting "object variables" that describe how a resource should be localized. An object update is not translated if the "workflow sequence identifier obtained above is NULL" and is set for translation otherwise. Silberstein further discloses this feature in item 4.a of Col. 18, with the properties of the object in the hierarchy may be set to "copy" or "translate" indicating that the object is selectively copied directly or requires translation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley with the method of rules for localizing assets within a content management system as taught by Silberstein. Motivation to combine McCauley with Silberstein comes from both references pertaining to the functioning of content management systems and McCauley directly teaches the incorporation of "third party lifecycle engines" in the content management system (i.e., VCR) of McCauley (McCauley: 0111).
Claim(s) 12:
wherein the blueprint rules further comprise rules for localizing a text asset of the at least one asset by translating the text asset from a first language to a second language, to produce a localized text asset in one of the multiple websites.
McCauley does not appear to specify rules for localizing text in the at least one asset to that of the language of the one of the multiple websites. However, Silberstein teaches localization of assets with rules for updating the assets across publications in at least Col. 6, Ll. 43-58 and Col. 10, Ll. 44-65. Silberstein selectively translating content between nodes upon detecting a change dependent upon the type of object being changed in at least Col. 18, Line 18 through Col. 19, Line 21 with the teaching of detecting "object variables" that describe how a resource should be localized. An object update is not translated if the "workflow sequence identifier obtained above is NULL" and is set for translation otherwise. Silberstein further discloses this feature in item 4.a of Col. 18, with the properties of the object in the hierarchy may be set to "copy" or "translate" indicating that the object is selectively copied directly or requires translation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley with the method of rules for localizing assets within a content management system as taught by Silberstein. Motivation to combine McCauley with Silberstein comes from both references pertaining to the functioning of content management systems and McCauley directly teaches the incorporation of "third party lifecycle engines" in the content management system (i.e., VCR) of McCauley (McCauley: 0111).
Claim(s) 13:
wherein when the content author selects an asset from the external content library for inclusion in the creation of web content via a graphical user interface, a second mapping is executed by linking the selected asset to the web content being created by the content author.
(McCauley: 0046-0048, 0128, 0072)
Claim(s) 14:
A content management system for managing a web-based marketing campaign using a blueprint, the system comprising: a memory for storing executable instructions; and a processor for executing the executable instructions, the executable instructions comprising:
(McCauley teaches a computer system executing software modules with computer-readable media in at least 0167, 0175 and 176.)
a blueprinting module that establishes a blueprint for a web-based marketing campaign using a content management system
(McCauley discloses a content repository that stores "advertisements" in at least 0033 with "actions" attached to "nodes" that are processed when a node transitions to a new state, which are rules for updating linked content (i.e., nodes) when one content is changed as taught in 0047, 0105, which is a blueprint.)
configured to utilize the external content library and a local content repository, the content management system further comprising a content manager,
(McCauley discloses a Virtual Content Repository that comprises at least a "content manager" in at least Figures 7-11 and 0169.)
the blueprint comprising blueprint rules
(McCauley discloses a content repository that stores "advertisements" in at least 0033 with "actions" attached to "nodes" that are processed when a node transitions to a new state, which are rules for updating linked content (i.e., nodes) when one content is changed as taught in 0047, 0105, which are blueprint comprising rules, exceptions and conditions. Specifically, McCauley discloses that the lifecycle actions may comprise “commands(s), directive(s), expression(s) or other constructs that can be interpreted or mapped to identify required processing” in at least 0105.)
for (1) managing assets utilized by at least a portion of a plurality of publications of a hierarchical model of the web-based marketing campaign, the hierarchical model comprising global content, a plurality of products configured to inherit assets from the global content, and a plurality of microsites configured to inherit assets from one or more of the plurality of products and
(McCauley discloses a content repository for managing multiple publications for a marketing campaign with "advertisements, inventories, image collections" in at least 0033, a content repository for object displayed in a web portal in 0047, that the system has a hierarchical model in at least 0050.)
(2) for localizing assets, the localizing assets including inheriting, the inheriting including a parent-child relationship
(McCauley discloses that some of the content nodes are child nodes of other content nodes in at least 0050 and that "resources can be arranged in one or more hierarchies such that parent/child relationships are established" in 0081.)
and sharing assets between the plurality of publications where the sharing is agnostic to the vertical or horizontal relationships between publications,
(McCauley discloses that "Lifecycles can also be directly associated with content nodes" and that actions associated with changing of states throughout a lifecycle "can include any type of processing that can be invoked in the course of the lifecycle" and specifically spells out "checking a node into/out of version control", "performing some kind of processing on the node" in at least 0104-0109. McCauley further discloses that "child resources can override their parents' roles with roles of their own", which means that the role of a node is sometimes defined solely by the node itself regardless of if the node is a child of another node in at least 0081 and 0086.)
the plurality of publications comprising at least one parent publication and at least one child publication,
(McCauley discloses that some of the content nodes are child nodes of other content nodes in at least 0050 and that "resources can be arranged in one or more hierarchies such that parent/child relationships are established" in 0081.)
at least a portion of the assets utilized by the hierarchical model being stored on an external content library mapped to the content management system via a network,
(McCauley discloses that at least some of the assets may be stored with a service provider, accessed over a network via "remote procedure calls" via an API and/or SPI in at least 0048. See also 0046, 0047, 0128.)
the assets on the external content library owned by a plurality of different owners,
(McCauley teaches that the content (i.e., a node) in a library belongs to a "Creator" member subject to various policies for interacting with that object in at least 0078-0085.)
wherein the external content library is registered and mapped by: registering an external content library with a content management system using an external content provider module,
(McCauley discloses that at least some of the assets may be stored with a service provider, accessed over a network via "remote procedure calls" via an API and/or SPI in at least 0048. See also 0046, 0047, 0128. McCauley teaches using "processes, threads, servlets, portlets, objects, libraries, and other suitable application components" to implement a Service Provider Interface (SPI) which constitutes "an external content provider module".)
whereby one or more content authors must present or verify their identity before accessing assets that reside on the external content library;
(McCauley discloses establishing permissions based on user roles in at least 0078-0080 and policies that restrict access to users on a resource in at least 0084 and 0085 and discloses that users must be "authorized" in at least 0106 by providing their credentials in at least 0129 and 0131.)
and mapping assets of the external content library, by an asset mapper module of the content management system, for use within the content management system as if the assets were stored locally on a local content repository as if the assets were stored locally on the local content repository,
(McCauley discloses mapping of external data for use in the VCR which acts as the local repository in at least 0050, 0071-0073 and 0133-0150. McCauley discloses, in 0050, that the VCR, using API's and SPI's, "presents a unified view of all repositories to the application layer such that navigation, CRUD operations (create, read, update, delete), versioning, lifecycles, and searching operations initiated from the application layer operate on the repositories as though they were one".)
the mapping including: determining, during the mapping of the assets, a file name, a file type, a file size, and a file version for each of the assets of the external content library;
obtaining or generating a thumbnail image of each of the assets for displaying to the one or more content authors via a graphical user interface once the assets are mapped;
and tracking and mapping usage of one or more file versions of each of the assets of the external content library
(McCauley discloses, in at least 0165-0166, that the "version history" of content nodes can be imported or exported. McCauley discloses, in at least 0114-0117, maintaining a version history for each node and including a history of users that have modified and/or checked-out each node.)
and creating, by an asset mapper module, mapped asset indices from asset mappings, the mapped asset indices configured to return search results of both mapped assets that are stored on the external content library and local assets that reside on the local content repository, in response to a query for assets that is sent to the content manager,
(McCauley discloses "SearchOps" that is a search service for "the entire VCR based on one or more search expressions" in at least 0161 and "WorkspacesOps" that control "node/property locking" with the nodes in the VCR mapped to "SPI WorkspaceOps...which in turn fulfill the request using their associated repositories" in at least 0151-0160. McCauley further discloses that the repositories can be local (i.e., "shared memory") or remote (i.e., "remote procedure calls") in at least 0048.)
the asset manager module of the content manager that receives a change in an asset mapped from the external content library to the asset manager for the parent publication;
wherein the blueprint rules for localizing assets to determine whether to automatically inherit in an unmodified form, including without translation at least a portion of the change in the asset between the parent publication and the child publications,
and uses localizing rules to automatically translate without manual translation at least a portion of the change in the asset from the parent publication to the child publication
and wherein the external content library is registered and mapped by the asset mapper module by: registering an external content provider module,
(McCauley discloses that at least some of the assets may be stored with a service provider, accessed over a network via "remote procedure calls" via an API and/or SPI in at least 0048. See also 0046, 0047, 0128. McCauley teaches using "processes, threads, servlets, portlets, objects, libraries, and other suitable application components" to implement a Service Provider Interface (SPI) which constitutes "an external content provider module".)
whereby one or more content authors must present or verify their identity before accessing assets that reside on the external content library;
(McCauley discloses establishing permissions based on user roles in at least 0078-0080 and policies that restrict access to users on a resource in at least 0084 and 0085 and discloses that users must be "authorized" in at least 0106 by providing their credentials in at least 0129 and 0131.)
mapping assets of the external content library for use within the content management system;
(McCauley discloses mapping of external data for use in the VCR which acts as the local repository in at least 0048-0050, 0071-0073 and 0133-0150. McCauley discloses, in 0050, that the VCR, using API's and SPI's, "presents a unified view of all repositories to the application layer such that navigation, CRUD operations (create, read, update, delete), versioning, lifecycles, and searching operations initiated from the application layer operate on the repositories as though they were one".)
tracking mappings between the assets and the content management system such that when changes to asset locations are detected during evaluation, the mappings are automatically updated to ensure that the mappings remain valid;
(McCauley discloses that the VCR system can include links to content allowing for content reuse wherein “if a link refers to a content node or a content node property that has been moved, the link can be automatically resolved by the system to reflect the new location” in at least 0068. McCauley discloses that changes to nodes initiate inheritance functions based on the change of state in at least 0106-0108, and 0111.)
and an asset manager module that:
receives a change in an asset mapped from the external content library to the asset manager for the parent publication; generates mapped asset indices that make the assets of the external content library available to the external content library and searchable alongside local assets of a local content repository;
(McCauley discloses a “virtual or federated content repository” (i.e., VCR) that federates “one or more individual content repositories such that they appear and behave as a single content repository from the stand-point of application layer 120” including “searching operations initiated from the application layer operate on the repositories as though they were one” in at least 0048-0050. McCauley further discloses that external data may be mapped according to a mapping index (or schema) found within VCR in at least 0071-0073.)
and upon selection of an asset by a content author, executes a second mapping operation that links the selected asset to web content being created, wherein the second mapping maintains a dynamic link between the web content and a current location of the asset on the external content library.
(McCauley discloses a VCR that can be used to create and maintain a variety of content, including “web content” with at least the disclosure that the content could comprise "Hypertext Markup Language" in at least 0047-0051. McCauley further discloses that the VCR can contain links to “a content node in a VCR” or “a file on a file system” including a “link destination” property in at least 0068.)
As for, “and a plurality of microsites configured to inherit assets from one or more plurality of products,”: McCauley discloses that some of the content nodes are child nodes of other content nodes in at least 0050 and that "resources can be arranged in one or more hierarchies such that parent/child relationships are established" in 0081. McCauley discloses that the content within the VCR could comprise "web content" with at least the disclosure that the content could comprise "Hypertext Markup Language" in at least 0047-0051. McCauley does not appear to specify a plurality of microsites inheriting assets from one or more products. However, Christensen teaches a technique for use within federated repositories that establishes “sub-sites” (i.e., microsites) for an organization in at least 0045-0047.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley with the technique of using “sub-sites” as taught by Christensen. Motivation to combine McCauley with Christensen derives from desire to save time by automating the “indexing, searching, and exporting” of information (Christensen: 0001).
As for, "and wherein the blueprint rules for localizing assets to determine whether to automatically inherit in an unmodified form, including without translation at least a portion of the change in the asset between the parent publication and the child publications, and uses the localizing rules to automatically translate without manual translation at least a portion of the change in the asset from the parent publication to the child publication ": McCauley discloses propagating changes across the content management system (i.e., VCR) using defined actions in any policies defined on the node in at least 0103-105 (i.e., "using the blueprint rules". McCauley does not appear to specify the remainder of the limitations in question. However, Silberstein teaches localization of assets with rules for updating the assets across publications in at least Col. 6, Ll. 43-58 and Col. 10, Ll. 44-65. Silberstein selectively translating content between nodes upon detecting a change dependent upon the type of object being changed in at least Col. 18, Line 18 through Col. 19, Line 21 with the teaching of detecting "object variables" that describe how a resource should be localized. An object update is not translated if the "workflow sequence identifier obtained above is NULL" and is set for translation otherwise. Silberstein further discloses this feature in item 4.a of Col. 18, with the properties of the object in the hierarchy may be set to "copy" or "translate" indicating that the object is selectively copied directly or requires translation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley, in view of Christensen, with the method of rules for localizing assets within a content management system as taught by Silberstein. Motivation to combine McCauley, in view of Christensen, with Silberstein comes from both references pertaining to the functioning of content management systems and McCauley directly teaches the incorporation of "third party lifecycle engines" in the content management system (i.e., VCR) of McCauley (McCauley: 0111).
As for, "the mapping including: determining, during the mapping of the assets, a file name, a file type, a file size, and a file version for each of the assets of the external content library;" and "obtaining or generating a thumbnail image of each of the assets for displaying to the one or more content authors via a graphical user interface once the assets are mapped;": McCauley discloses maintaining properties for the mapped nodes that include a name and a type in at least 0053-0054 and Table 1 (also see 0071 - 0072), and a file version in at least 0114-0117. McCauley discloses storing a thumbnail for image nodes in the "second binary property" of the node in at least 0054 and generating the thumbnail "beforehand" using "display templates" in at least 0074 and 0075. McCauley, in view of Silberstein and Christensen, does not appear to specify that this metadata is created during the process of mapping of the assets of the external content library. However, Abnous teaches, in at least Figure 4 and 0024-0025, a technique for a content management system that can "bring entire sets and/or bodies of external content items" within the system using a "crawler" to create a "full indexing", including "metadata", of the "external content items". Abnous further teaches that the content management system includes metadata regarding the content managed by the system includes various types of metadata in at least 0022-0023. That is, the system performs the indexing of the external content upon receiving a command to map/manage the content within the content management system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley in view of Silberstein and Christensen that includes metadata and thumbnails with the technique of indexing an external content store at the time the external content store is added to the content management system as taught by Abnous in order to allow the system to perform requested functions upon the newly added data (i.e., search). Motivation to combine McCauley, in view of Silberstein and Christensen, with Abnous comes from all references pertaining to the functioning of content management systems and from the desire to "manage content in multiple systems with different characteristics in a centralized and similar or uniform manner" (Abnous: 0002).
Claim(s) 15:
wherein the external content library is registered and mapped to the content management system.
(McCauley discloses that at least some of the assets may be stored with a service provider, accessed over a network via "remote procedure calls" via an API and/or SPI in at least 0048. See also 0046, 0047, 0128. McCauley teaches using "processes, threads, servlets, portlets, objects, libraries, and other suitable application components" to implement a Service Provider Interface (SPI) which constitutes "an external content provider module".)
Claim(s) 16:
wherein the mapping of the assets of the external content library for use within the content management system by the asset mapper module occurs at intervals to ensure that the assets are available and properly linked to web content.
McCauley discloses propagating changes to assets across the content libraries in at least 0106-0108 and 0111. McCauley does not appear to make explicit that detecting changes is performed "at intervals". However, Silberstein teaches periodically updating a content library by propagating changes in at least Col. 2, Ll. 5-15, Col. 2, Ll. 46-59, and Col. 5, Ll. 47-63.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley with the method of rules for localizing assets within a content management system as taught by Silberstein. Motivation to combine McCauley with Silberstein comes from both references pertaining to the functioning of content management systems and from the desire to address problems of "how to automatically update a translated or localized Web site when source documents or other source information underlying the translation or localization changes" (Silberstein: Col. 2, Ll. 46-67).
Claim(s) 17:
wherein localizing comprises any of translation, hiding, inheriting, pushing, or any combinations thereof, of assets for a publication.
(McCauley: 0050, 0105)
Claim(s) 18:
wherein the blueprint comprises rules for localizing assets for the at least one child publication.
McCauley does not appear to specify rules for localization of assets. However, Silberstein teaches localization of assets with rules for updating the assets across publications in at least Col. 6, Ll. 43-58 and Col. 10, Ll. 44-65. Silberstein selectively translating content between nodes upon detecting a change dependent upon the type of object being changed in at least Col. 18, Line 18 through Col. 19, Line 21 with the teaching of detecting "object variables" that describe how a resource should be localized. An object update is not translated if the "workflow sequence identifier obtained above is NULL" and is set for translation otherwise. Silberstein further discloses this feature in item 4.a of Col. 18, with the properties of the object in the hierarchy may be set to "copy" or "translate" indicating that the object is selectively copied directly or requires translation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley with the method of rules for localizing assets within a content management system as taught by Silberstein. Motivation to combine McCauley with Silberstein comes from both references pertaining to the functioning of content management systems and McCauley directly teaches the incorporation of "third party lifecycle engines" in the content management system (i.e., VCR) of McCauley (McCauley: 0111).
Claim(s) 19:
wherein the blueprint rules further comprise rules for localizing the text in the at least one asset to that of the language of one of the multiple websites.
McCauley does not appear to specify rules for localizing text in the at least one asset to that of the language of the one of the multiple websites. However, Silberstein teaches localization of assets with rules for updating the assets across publications in at least Col. 6, Ll. 43-58 and Col. 10, Ll. 44-65. Silberstein selectively translating content between nodes upon detecting a change dependent upon the type of object being changed in at least Col. 18, Line 18 through Col. 19, Line 21 with the teaching of detecting "object variables" that describe how a resource should be localized. An object update is not translated if the "workflow sequence identifier obtained above is NULL" and is set for translation otherwise. Silberstein further discloses this feature in item 4.a of Col. 18, with the properties of the object in the hierarchy may be set to "copy" or "translate" indicating that the object is selectively copied directly or requires translation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley with the method of rules for localizing assets within a content management system as taught by Silberstein. Motivation to combine McCauley with Silberstein comes from both references pertaining to the functioning of content management systems and McCauley directly teaches the incorporation of "third party lifecycle engines" in the content management system (i.e., VCR) of McCauley (McCauley: 0111).
Claim(s) 20:
wherein when the content author selects an asset from the external content library for inclusion in creation of web content via a graphical user interface, a second mapping is executed by linking the selected asset to the web content being created by the content author.
(McCauley: 0046-0048, 0128, 0072)
Claim(s) 23:
using the blueprint rules to determine whether to automatically inherit the at least one image asset of the assets of the external content library from the at least one parent publication to the at least on child publication;
and when the at least one image asset from the at least one parent publication is determined to be automatically inherited from the at least one parent publication to the at least one child publication based on the blueprint rules, using the blueprint rules to further provide mappings of the at least one image asset from the at least one parent publication that is stored in the external content library to both the at least one parent publication and the at least one child publication.
(McCauley discloses, in at least 0033, that the VCR can include "image collections"; in at least 0047 and 0054, that a "content repository" can include "images". McCauley further discloses that some of the content nodes are child nodes of other content nodes in at least 0050 and that "resources can be arranged in one or more hierarchies such that parent/child relationships are established" in 0081.)
Claim(s) 24:
receiving a selection of an asset from the external content library for use in a creation of web content;
and in response to the selection of a selected asset, performing a second mapping by the asset mapper module, the second mapping comprising linking the selected asset to the creation of web content.
(McCauley discloses a content repository for managing multiple publications for a marketing campaign with "advertisements, inventories, image collections" in at least 0033, a content repository for object displayed in a web portal in 0047, that the system has a hierarchical model in at least 0050. At least the status of "published" in Figure 10 indicates a "mapping" that links the asset to web content. Also see 0106-0108.)
Claim(s) 26:
wherein the hierarchical model further comprises a “.com” website that is configured to inherit assets from one or more of the plurality of microsites.
McCauley discloses that some of the content nodes are child nodes of other content nodes in at least 0050 and that "resources can be arranged in one or more hierarchies such that parent/child relationships are established" in 0081. McCauley discloses that the content within the VCR could comprise "web content" with at least the disclosure that the content could comprise "Hypertext Markup Language" in at least 0047-0051. McCauley does not appear to specify a plurality of microsites inheriting assets from one or more products. However, Christensen teaches a technique for use within federated repositories that establishes “sub-sites” (i.e., microsites) for an organization in at least 0045-0047.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley with the technique of using “sub-sites” as taught by Christensen. Motivation to combine McCauley with Christensen derives from desire to save time by automating the “indexing, searching, and exporting” of information (Christensen: 0001).
Claim(s) 27:
wherein the global content is linked to each of the plurality of products, and one or more of the plurality of products is linked to each of the plurality of microsites.
McCauley discloses that some of the content nodes are child nodes of other content nodes in at least 0050 and that "resources can be arranged in one or more hierarchies such that parent/child relationships are established" in 0081. McCauley discloses that the content within the VCR could comprise "web content" with at least the disclosure that the content could comprise "Hypertext Markup Language" in at least 0047-0051. McCauley does not appear to specify a plurality of microsites inheriting assets from one or more products. However, Christensen teaches a technique for use within federated repositories that establishes “sub-sites” (i.e., microsites) for an organization in at least 0045-0047.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley with the technique of using “sub-sites” as taught by Christensen. Motivation to combine McCauley with Christensen derives from desire to save time by automating the “indexing, searching, and exporting” of information (Christensen: 0001).
Claims 21 and 22 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over:
McCauley et al. (Pub. #: US 2006/0041558 A1) in view of
Christensen et al. (Pub. #: US 2013/0124562 A1) in view of
Silberstein et al. (Pub. #: US 7,383,320 B1) in view of
Abnous et al. (Pub #: US 2007 /0192374 A1) in view of
Anderson et al. (Pub. #: US 2011/0145064 A1).
Claim(s) 21:
the rules further comprising a rule requiring all logo images be inherited from the parent publication to the child publication in an unmodified format.
McCauley does not appear to specify a rule requiring all logo images be inherited from the parent to the child publication in an unmodified format. However, Anderson teaches, in at least 0059-0061 and 0088-090, a content management system with a technique of a global developer creating a logo asset for use by local developers, allowing local developers to use the logos in their marketing efforts, but disallowing local developers from modifying the logos in.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley, in view of Silberstein, Christensen and Abnous, with the technique of logo preservation taught by Anderson. Motivation to combine McCauley, in view of Silberstein, Christensen and Abnous, with Anderson comes from both references pertaining to content management systems for use in creating advertisement messages and from the desire to integrate "third party brand items" in publications so "as to provide a consistent experience" (Anderson: 0007).
Claim(s) 22:
a rule that all tradename, trademark, servicemark, logo, brand, or other source identifiers be inherited from the parent publication to the child publication in an unmodified manner.
McCauley does not appear to specify a rule requiring all logo images be inherited from the parent to the child publication in an unmodified format. However, Anderson teaches, in at least 0059-0061 and 0088-090, a content management system with a technique of a global developer creating a logo asset for use by local developers, allowing local developers to use the logos in their marketing efforts, but disallowing local developers from modifying the logos in.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system of McCauley, in view of Silberstein, Christensen and Abnous, with the technique of logo preservation taught by Anderson. Motivation to combine McCauley, in view of Silberstein, Christensen and Abnous, with Anderson comes from both references pertaining to content management systems for use in creating advertisement messages and from the desire to integrate "third party brand items" in publications so "as to provide a consistent experience" (Anderson: 0007).
Claims 25 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over:
McCauley et al. (Pub. #: US 2006/0041558 A1) in view of
Christensen et al. (Pub. #: US 2013/0124562 A1) in view of
Silberstein et al. (Pub. #: US 7,383,320 B1) in view of
Abnous et al. (Pub #: US 2007/0192374 A1) in view of
Lockhart et al. (Pub. #: US 2013/0198600 A1).
Claim(s) 25:
further comprising registering the external content library, via the external content provider module, using an API, by establishing a transport level security configuration between the external content library and the external content provider module.
(McCauley discloses that at least some of the assets may be stored with a service provider, accessed over a network via "remote procedure calls" via an API and/or SPI in at least 0048. See also 0046, 0047, 0128.)
McCauley does not appear to specify the linkage is performed, "by establishing a transport level security configuration". However, Lockhart teaches a technique of network communication wherein the network is made secure using "transport layer security (TLS)" in at least 0040-0042.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the content management system with network communication between an external library and a content manager of a VCR of McCauley, in view of Silberstein, Christensen, and Abnous, with the technique of securing network communication utilizing transport layer security as taught by Lockhart. Motivation to combine McCauley, in view of Silberstein, Christensen, and Abnous, with Lockhart, comes from the desire to secure communications between two entities over a network (Lockhart: 0041).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT SNIDER/Examiner, Art Unit 3621