Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending;
Claims 1 and 4 are amended;
Claims 13, 15, and 20 are withdrawn.
Status of Rejections and Objections Pending since the Office Action of 06/03/2025
The 112(b) rejection of claim 4 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment;
The 103 rejections of claims 1-12, 14, and 16-19 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s argument and amendment and replaced by new 103 rejections.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12, 14, and 16-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 includes the limitation “the at least one carbon fiber component an integrated structural carbon fiber battery” in lines 4-5. There should be some form of connecting word between “component” and “an” such as “the at least one carbon fiber component including an integrated” or “the at least one carbon fiber component is an integrated” for example. For the sake of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation to mean “the at least one carbon fiber component including an integrated structural fiber battery.”
Claim 1 includes the limitation “an integrated structural fiber battery” in lines 4-5 followed by “the structural battery” in lines 5, 15, and 16. “the structural battery” should be corrected the “the integrated structural fiber battery” for consistency. Claim 14 is objected for the same reason for the occurrence of “the structural battery” in line 3.
Claims 2-12 and 16-19 are objected to due to their dependence on claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciccaglione et al. (US-20200329801-A1), hereinafter Ciccaglione, in view of Jeong (US-20170018799-A1) and Pistorino et al. (US-20170187063-A1), hereinafter Pistorino.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Ciccaglione teaches an electric power storage device, comprising: a protective cover configured to protect from impact (Abstract; electronic system configured for inclusion in a helmet; [0040] includes batteries or other electrical storage devices). Ciccaglione also teaches that the helmet comprises a battery with at least one interface terminal electrically connected to the structural battery, the at least one interface terminal for outputting power from the structural battery ([0040] the electronic apparatus includes one or more power circuits that connect components in the apparatus to the power source).
Ciccaglione fails to teach that the protective cover includes at least one electric carbon fiber component; the at least one electric carbon fiber component an integrated structural carbon fiber battery, the structural battery including one or more energy storage devices, each of the one or more energy storage devices having: at least one anode core of a continuous carbon fiber, an electrolyte arranged on the at least one continuous carbon fiber core, wherein the electrolyte includes an electrolyte precursor coating solution containing a lithium salt, a polymer or monomer which solvates lithium ion, a gel or elastomer matrix polymer, a UV sensitive cross-linking agent, and a plasticizer, and a cathode layer arranged to the at least one continuous carbon fiber core on the electrolyte. Ciccaglione also fails to teach that each of the one or more energy storage devices having a laminate structure with: at least one anode core of a plurality of continuous carbon fibers, an electrolyte coating arranged on the plurality of continuous carbon fibers, and a cathode layer arranged to the at least one continuous carbon fiber core on the electrolyte coating.
Jeong teaches at least one electric carbon fiber component, the at least one electric carbon fiber component an integrated structural carbon fiber battery, the structural battery including one or more energy storage devices, each of the one or more energy storage devices having: at least one anode core of a continuous carbon fiber ([0010]; [0012] anode formed into a fiber shape; fig. 11 anode 201 [0071]), an electrolyte arranged on the at least one continuous carbon fiber core ([0010]; [0012] covering the anode material with a solid electrolyte; fig. 11[0071] electrolyte 202), wherein the electrolyte includes an electrolyte precursor coating solution containing a lithium salt ([0085]), a polymer or monomer which solvates lithium ion ([0085]; [0059] propylene carbonate), a gel or elastomer matrix polymer ([0086] polyurethane nanoweb), a UV sensitive cross-linking agent ([0085]-[0086]), and a plasticizer ([0085] ETPTA), and a cathode layer arranged to the at least one continuous carbon fiber core on the electrolyte ([0012] covering the electrolyte with a carbon nanotube film including a cathode active material; fig. 11). Jeong also teaches that each of the one or more energy storage devices having a laminate structure with: at least one anode core of a plurality of continuous carbon fibers, an electrolyte coating arranged on the plurality of continuous carbon fibers, and a cathode layer arranged to the at least one continuous carbon fiber core on the electrolyte coating (fig. 1; [0012]) (claim 2).
Ciccaglione and Jeong are analogous to the claimed invention. Since the helmet of Ciccaglione already includes a power source such as a battery, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced the power source of Ciccaglione with the laminated battery of Jeong in order to have a power source with a high voltage and a high energy density that can be reused (Jeong [0003]).
Modified Ciccaglione also fails to teach that the cathode layer is particles of a cathode active material embedded in a matrix of a conductive polymer.
Pistorino is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries ([0002]). Pistorino teaches that the cathode layer is particles of a cathode active material embedded in a matrix of a conductive polymer ([0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ciccaglione such that the cathode layer is particles of a cathode active material embedded in a matrix of a conductive polymer. Doing so increases the ionic conductivity of the cathode and the overall rate performance of the cell (Pistorino [0043]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ciccaglione teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ciccaglione also teaches a motion detection sensor, wherein the motion detection sensor is connected to the interface terminal for powering the motion detection sensor ([0042] the impact-detection system includes on or more accelerometer and/or gyroscopes, which would inherently be connected to the interface terminal).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ciccaglione teaches all of the limitations of claim 6. Ciccaglione also teaches a wireless communications unit ([0006] the helmet can include a HUD that allows a communication and sharing of video), wherein the wireless communications unit is connected to the interface terminal for powering the wireless communications unit ([0040] the power source provides power to the HUD included in the electronic apparatus), and wherein the wireless communication unit is configured to output a signal based on detection of a predetermined motion by the motion detection sensor ([0042] the impact-detection system includes on or more accelerometer and/or gyroscopes; as part of the impact-detection system it would inherently be connected to the interface terminal).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ciccaglione teaches all of the limitations of claim 6. Ciccaglione also teaches that the motion detection sensor is an accelerometer ([0042] the impact-detection system includes on or more accelerometer and/or gyroscopes).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ciccaglione teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Ciccaglione also teaches that the accelerometer is configured to detect an acceleration motion followed by an abrupt stop or reversal in motion direction ([0042] the accelerometer is part of an impact-detection sensing system; [0043] improved detection of impacts).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ciccaglione teaches all of the limitations of claim 7. Ciccaglione also teaches that the wireless communication unit is further connected to a microphone, wherein the microphone is connected to the interface terminal for powering the microphone ([0051]; includes one of more microphones; would inherently be connected to the interface terminal for power).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ciccaglione teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ciccaglione also teaches at least one camera, wherein the at least one camera is connected to the interface terminal for powering the at least one camera ([0037] includes a camera; would inherently be connected to the interface terminal for power).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ciccaglione teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ciccaglione also teaches a lithium ion battery, wherein the output power of the structural battery supplements electric power that is output by the lithium ion battery ([0040] the power source can include more than one battery; an example of a lithium ion battery is given; it would be obvious to have two batteries, such as the battery given in Jeong and the lithium ion battery to supplement power).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciccaglione in view of Jeong and Pistorino, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, further in view of Shu et al. (CN-205585391-U), hereinafter Shu.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, modified Ciccaglione teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ciccaglione fails to teach that the protective cover comprises an outer protective material shell arranged over the at least one carbon fiber component arranged as a sublayer. Ciccaglione also fails to teach that the outer protective material shell is of glass fiber reinforced nylon. However, shells of glass fiber reinforced nylon are known in the art.
Shu is analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wearables. For example, Shu teaches a shell for a helmet application of glass fiber reinforced nylon (Shu pg. 2, paragraph 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ciccaglione such that the outer protective material shell is of glass fiber reinforced nylon. Doing so would help prevent damage to the shell and its contents from high temperature and external force (Shu pg. 2, paragraph 3).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciccaglione in view of Jeong and Pistorino, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, further in view of Chen (CN-202496476-U).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ciccaglione teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ciccaglione fails to teach that the protective cover comprises a carbon fiber reinforced resin shell, and wherein the carbon fiber reinforced resin shell is arranged over the at least one carbon fiber component arranged as a sublayer. However, carbon fiber resin covers are known in the art.
Chen is analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wearables. Chen teaches a carbon fiber composite material helmet that includes a carbon fiber resin material as the shell layer of the helmet body (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ciccaglione such that the protective cover is of a carbon fiber resin, which would also be over the carbon fiber component. Doing so gives strong anti-impact ability to protect the safety of the wearer (Chen Abstract).
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciccaglione in view of Jeong and Pistorino, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, further in view of Teetzel et al. (US-20190208854-A1), hereinafter Teetzel.
Regarding claim 12, modified Ciccaglione teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ciccaglione also teaches one or more speakers ([0049] can include a speaker), but fails to teach that the speakers are with noise cancellation circuitry, wherein the noise cancellation circuitry is connected to the interface terminal for powering the noise cancellation circuitry.
Teetzel is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wearable devices. Teetzel teaches that the speakers are with noise cancellation circuitry, wherein the noise cancellation circuitry is connected to the interface terminal for powering the noise cancellation circuitry ([0048] in certain embodiments the acoustical ring is used to provide noise cancelling function to the helmet audio system; this would inherently be connected to the interface terminal for power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ciccaglione with the noise cancelling function of Teetzel to provide more functionality to the helmet.
Regarding claim 19, modified Ciccaglione teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ciccaglione is silent to a mounting structure for mounting a housing of an external electric device, wherein the mounting structure includes an electrical connection port, and wherein the electrical connection port is connected to the at least one interface terminal.
Teetzel is analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wearable devices. Teetzel teaches a mounting structure for mounting a housing of an external electric device, wherein the mounting structure includes an electrical connection port, and wherein the electrical connection port is connected to the at least one interface terminal ([0041] the helmet system includes a mounting assembly to removably attach an addition device; [0042] if the detachable device is a camera, the video and control circuit boards may be integrated into the helmet, meaning there is electrical connection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ciccaglione with the device mounting function of Teetzel to provide more functionality and device options to the helmet.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciccaglione in view of Jeong and Pistorino, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, further in view of Dejneka et al. (US-20160114564-A1), hereinafter Dejneka.
Regarding claim 16, modified Ciccaglione teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ciccaglione also teaches an integrated transparent display on the visor of the helmet ([0055] – [0056]). Ciccaglione fails to teach a touch pad having a tactile sensor and mounted to a side of the protective cover, wherein the touch pad is connected to the interface terminal for powering the tactile sensor.
Dejneka teaches laminated glass articles for use in touch screen or touch sensor applications such as in helmet visors ([0055]) and in displays ([0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date or the claimed invention, to have modified the visor screen of Ciccaglione to include a touch sensor connected to the interface terminal such as in Dejneka to add more functionality and user control to the helmet.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciccaglione in view of Jeong and Pistorino, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, further in view of Davis et al. (US-20130110415-A1)
Regarding claim 17, modified Ciccaglione teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ciccaglione fails to teach a proximity sensor for detecting when the protective cover is being worn, wherein the proximity sensor is configured to turn off others of the multiple sensors when the proximity sensor does not detect that the protective cover is being worn, and wherein the proximity sensor is connected to the interface terminal for powering the proximity sensor.
Davis is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wearable devices. Davis teaches a proximity sensor for detecting when the protective cover is being worn, wherein the proximity sensor is configured to turn off others of the multiple sensors when the proximity sensor does not detect that the protective cover is being worn ([0081]; this would inherently be connected to the interface terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ciccaglione and have connected a proximity sensor to the terminal of the power source. Doing so would allow for better power reliability and efficiency by putting the helmet in sleep mode when not in use (Davis [0081]).
Regarding claim 18, Modified Ciccaglione teaches all of the limitations of claim 17. Ciccaglione is silent on use of a primary battery, but does teach that the power source can comprise multiple batteries ([0040]). As such, it would have been obvious to have employed the use of a primary battery to power certain sensors. For example, in Davis the power source may be adapted to be powered by any battery type, including a non-rechargeable battery (Davis [0078]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have used a primary battery as one of the batteries in the power source of Ciccaglione.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 09/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12, 14, and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ciccaglione in view of Jeong and Pistorino, Ciccaglione in view of Jeong, Pistorino, and Shu, Ciccaglione in view of Jeong, Pistorino, and Chen, Ciccaglione in view of Jeong, Pistorino, and Teetzel, Ciccaglione in view of Jeong, Pistorino, and Dejneka, and Ciccaglione in view of Jeong, Pistorino, and Davis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722