Current Status of 17/574,781
The rejections of record are maintained below.
This Office Action is responsive to the amended claims of 7/21/2025.
Previously presented claim 1 has been examined on the merits. Claims 2-23 are canceled.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to U.S. provisional application 63/136,697, filed 01/13/2021.
The instant claims find support from 63/136,697. Therefore, the effective filing date is 1/13/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS has been filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ claim amendments and Remarks of 7/21/2025 are acknowledged and have been considered.
In regard to eh obviousness rejection, this rejection is maintained. Applicants remarks with Examiner’s reply are summarized below:
Applicants argue that Atovaquone and Niclosamide target mitochondrial functions and are antiparasitic drugs. Niclosamide has shown some antimalarial activity.
The use of these drugs does not support nonobviousness.
Applicants argue that atovaquone and Niclosamide are pharmacological equivalents.
Pharmacological equivalents does not factor into deciding nonobviousness.
Applicants submit that there is predicted synergy for the combination of atovaquone and celastrol.
These remarks are not persuasive. Applicants must show unexpected results to show synergy unless it is already established in the art. Predicted or theoretical synergy is not the same as showing unexpected results. See MPEP 716.02(A).
Though Applicant states that unexpected results have been achieved, the instant specification does not provide any unexpected or surprising results. The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965). Examples of attorney statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration include statements regarding unexpected results, commercial success, solution of a long-felt need, inoperability of the prior art, invention before the date of the reference, and allegations that the author(s) of the prior art derived the disclosed subject matter from the inventor or at least one joint inventor. See MPEP 716.01(c).
The double patenting rejection, which is not addressed, is maintained.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103- MAINTAINED
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MedlinePlus (“Atovaquone”, MedlinePlus, Last Revised 11/15/2017) in view of Tasaka (“Pneumocystis Pneumonia in Human Immunodeficiency Virus-infected Adults and Adolescents: Current Concepts and Future Directions”, Sadatomo Taska, Libertas Academica, July 08, 2015) and in view of Venkatesha (“Celastrol and Its Roel in Controlling Chronic Diseases”, Adv Exp Med Biol., 2016).
MedlinePlus teaches Atovaquone is used to treat Pneumocystis jirovecii pneumonia (PCP) (page 1).
Tasaka teaches that Pneumocystis jirovecii pneumonia (PCP) is an inflammatory disease ( page 20 bottom right col). Tasaka teaches “Severe PCP is characterized by neutrophilic lung inflammation that may result in diffuse alveolar damage, impaired gas exchange, and respiratory failure” (page 20).
Tasaka teaches that treatment for PCP attenuates lung injury by blunting the inflammatory response (page 25).
Venkatesha teaches that Celastrol, a triterpenoid derived from traditional Chinese medicinal plants, has anti-inflammatory activities (abstract).
While MedlinePlus teaches Atovaquone, MedlinePlus does not teach Celastrol.
While Venkatesha teaches Celastrol, Venkatesha does not teach Atovaquone.
Claim 1 is prima facie obvious in light of the combination of references.
The artisan would be motivated to combine atovaquone and Celastrol in order to treat Pneumocystis jiroivecii pneumona (PCP). The artisan would expect Celastrol, with known anti-inflammatory activity (Venkatesha abstract), to be useful in treating PCP (Tasaka page 25).
The artisan would expect that since atovaquone, a known PCP treatment (MedlinePlus page 1), and since Celastrol, known to have anti-inflammatory properties (Venkatesha abstract) and useful in treating PCP (Tasaka page 25), that combing them would result in a functional PCP combination/composition treatment. It is prima facie obvious to combine one PCP treatment (atovaquone) with another PCP treatment (Celastrol) in order to form a composition to be used for the very same purpose (treating PCP). This teaches claim 1.
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings. (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting- MAINTAINED
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/533,681 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the reference claims teaches the instant claim.
Reference claim 1, a pharmaceutical composition comprising atovaquone, and at least one substance such as celastrol, teaches instant claim 1, a combination of substances comprising Atovaquone and celastrol.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625