DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-13, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zucker et al. (US Pub 2019/0231435) in view of Mosnier et al. (US Pub 2020/0315708).
With respect to claim 1, Zucker discloses a robotic system (see figures 1, 2 and 3A below) for inserting a rod (Fig 3A, 32) comprising: a robotic arm (fig 3A, 37) comprising: a proximal end (see fig 3A below); and a distal end (See fig 3A below) movable relative to the proximal end, the distal end configured to position a rod; at least one processor; and a memory storing instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed (paragraph 95, programmed robotic procedure), cause the at least one processor to: track at least one tower to identify a tower (fig 1, 18) movement (paragraph 98), the tower extending from a head of a corresponding implanted pedicle screw (fig 1, 13); calculate an insertion point and a path from the insertion point to the at least one tower (fig 2, 24, 25); cause the robotic arm to insert the rod at the insertion point and along the path (fig 2, 30); and cause the robotic arm to adjust the path during insertion of the rod based on the tower movement (paragraph 98) wherein adjusting the path during insertion of the rod based on the tower movement includes adjusting the insertion point, adjusting an entirety of the path (paragraph 52 adjustment of the trajectory occurs in real time based on the position and orientation of the pedicle screw heads, fig 2, shows the flow chart returning to step 24 planning the path of the rod) .
With respect to claim 6, Zucker discloses wherein tracking the at least one tower uses at least one of a navigation system, or a sensor (fig 4, 44, paragraph 13 navigation system).
With respect to claim 7, Zucker discloses wherein causing the robotic arm to adjust the path includes adjusting at least one of an orientation of the rod or a position of the rod (paragraph 98 and 99) at a number of points along the path (paragraph 52 correction in real time).
With respect to claim 8, Zucker discloses wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to: verify placement of the rod in the at least one tower (paragraph 102, tracking system on rod).
With respect to claim 9, Zucker discloses wherein verifying placement of the rod in the at least one tower uses at least one of a laser pointer and reflector, a navigation system, a sensor, or a marker (fig 4 and paragraph 102).
With respect to claim 10, Zucker discloses a robotic system (see figs 1, 2 and 3A below) for inserting a rod (fig 3A, 32) comprising: a first robotic arm (fig 3A, 37) and a second robotic arm (paragraph 99, robotic movements for each step of the process including insertion of the screws (fig 4 and fig 2)), each robotic arm comprising: a proximal end (See fig 3A below); and a distal end (See fig 3A below) movable relative to the proximal end, wherein the distal end of the first robotic arm is configured to position a rod (fig 1 and 3A) and the distal end of the second robotic arm is configured to hold at least one tower in a known position (fig 1, tower 18 and paragraph 99), the at least one tower extending from a head of a corresponding pedicle screw implanted in a vertebra of a plurality of vertebrae (fig 1); at least one processor; and a memory storing instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to: receive position information about a current position of the at least one tower (paragraph 98); calculate an insertion point and a path from the insertion point to the at least one tower based on the current position (fig 2, 24-25); and cause the first robotic arm to insert the rod at the insertion point and along the calculated path (fig 2, 30) wherein adjusting the path during insertion of the rod based on the tower movement includes adjusting the insertion point, adjusting an entirety of the path (paragraph 52 adjustment of the trajectory occurs in real time based on the position and orientation of the pedicle screw heads, fig 2, shows the flow chart returning to step 24 planning the path of the rod).
With respect to claim 11, Zucker discloses wherein the position information is received from at least one sensor (Fig 4, 44) of the second robotic arm.
With respect to claim 12, Zucker discloses further comprising: a tracking marker (fig 4, 44) positioned on the second robotic arm; and a navigation system (paragraph 98) configured to generate the position information based on detected movement of the tracking marker.
With respect to claim 13, Zucker discloses further comprising at least one sensor, and wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to: verify, by the at least one sensor (fig 4, 44), placement of the rod in the at least one tower (paragraph 98).
With respect to claim 16, Zucker discloses wherein the current position is different than the known position, and the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to: cause the first robotic arm to adjust the path during insertion of the rod when a difference between the current position and the known position meets a predetermined threshold (paragraph 88 and 98).
With respect to claim 17, Zucker discloses wherein the current position is different than the known position, and the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to (fig 2 and paragraph 43): cause the second robotic arm to adjust a position of the at least one tower based on a difference between the current position and the known position meeting a predetermined threshold (paragraph 18, iterative adjustments of the screw positions.)
With respect to claim 18, Zucker discloses a robotic system (see figures 1, 2 and 3A below) for inserting a rod (Fig 3A, 32) comprising: a robotic arm (fig 3A, 37) comprising: a proximal end (See fig 3A below); and a distal end (fig 3A, 35) movable relative to the proximal end, the distal end configured to hold at least one tower in a known position (Fig 1, 18, (paragraph 99, robotic movements for each step of the process including insertion of the screws (fig 4 and fig 2)); at least one processor; and a memory storing instructions for execution by the at least one processor that (robotic process, fig 2), when executed, cause the at least one processor to: calculate an insertion point and a path from the insertion point to the at least one tower (fig. 2, 24); generate instructions for inserting a rod along the path (fig 2, 30); and update the path during insertion of the rod based on information about a position of the rod or movement of the tower (paragraph 98 and fig 4) wherein adjusting the path during insertion of the rod based on the tower movement includes adjusting the insertion point or adjusting an entirety of the path (paragraph 52 adjustment of the trajectory occurs in real time based on the position and orientation of the pedicle screw heads, fig 2, shows the flow chart returning to step 24 planning the path of the rod).
With respect to claim 20, Zucker discloses wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to: cause the robotic arm to move the tower from the known position to an updated position based at least one of a force exerted (paragraph 32) on the robotic arm or information about a position of the rod (paragraph 99, robotic movements for each step of the process including insertion of the screws (fig 4 and fig 2)).
With respect to claims 1, 10 and 18, Zucker discloses the claimed invention except for trigger an alert to notify a user that the tower movement was detected.
Mosnier discloses trigger an alert to notify a user that the tower movement was detected (paragraph 178) to guide the surgeon during surgery (paragraph 178).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zucker to include a trigger an alert to notify a user that the tower movement was detected in view of Mosnier in order to guide the surgeon during surgery. With respect to claims 1, 10 and 18 Zucker in view of Mosnier discloses a system wherein the movement is detected (Mosnier discloses when movement of the screws occurs paragraph 178) and the calculated path has been adjusted and prompt the user to accept the adjusted path prior to the robotic arm moving the rod along the adjusted path (Zucker discloses a system where the path is adjusted and confirmed by the surgeon finishing performing the procedure, paragraph 42 discloses path planning algorithms that are used in result from changing the tower and screw positions and paragraph 96 discloses that the system aids the surgeon with trajectories as the procedure is progressing).
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zucker in view of Mosnier as applied to claims 1, and 18 above, and further in view of Crawford et al. (US 10,646,280).
With respect to claims 2, 3 and 19, Zucker in view of Mosnier discloses monitoring for a force threshold (paragraph 32) but does not specifically disclose at least one sensor, wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to: monitor a magnitude of a force received by the robotic arm using the at least one sensor wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to: cause the robotic arm to pause movement of the rod or tower when the magnitude of the force meets a threshold.
Crawford discloses at least one sensor (claim 1, force sensor), wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to (Fig 2, 110): monitor a magnitude of a force received by the robotic arm using the at least one sensor wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that(col. 2, ll. 12-15), when executed, further cause the at least one processor to: cause the robotic arm to pause movement of the rod when the magnitude of the force meets a threshold (col. 2, ll. 18-21) to prevent undesirable conditions from occurring (col. 16, ll. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zucker in view of Mosnier to include at least one sensor, wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to: monitor a magnitude of a force received by the robotic arm using the at least one sensor wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to: cause the robotic arm to pause movement of the rod or tower when the magnitude of the force meets a threshold.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zucker in view of Mosnier as applied to claims 1, and 10 above, and further in view of Bootwala (US Pub 2016/0374735).
With respect to claims 4 and 14, Zucker in view of Mosnier discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to: cause the robotic arm to tighten a set screw of the corresponding pedicle screw.
Bootwala discloses wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed (paragraph 52, robot-assisted procedure), further cause the at least one processor to: cause the robotic arm to tighten a set screw of the corresponding pedicle screw (paragraph 52, set screw positioned and rotatably driven) to lock the rod into the receiver (paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zucker in view of Mosnier to include wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to: cause the robotic arm to tighten a set screw of the corresponding pedicle screw in view of Bootwala in order to lock the rod into the receiver.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zucker in view of Mosnier as applied to claims 1, and 10 above, and further in view of Goyette et al. (US Pub 2021/0177526)
With respect to claim 5, Zucker in view of Mosnier discloses the claimed invention with towers being removed (fig 1) but does not specifically disclose wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to: cause the robotic arm to remove the at least one tower from the head of the corresponding pedicle screw.
Goyette discloses wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to (fig 2, 210): cause the robotic arm (fig 2, 240) to remove the at least one tower from the head of the corresponding pedicle screw (paragraph 37) to allow the tower to be used to interconnect addition vertebra and screws (paragraph 37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zucker in view of Mosnier to include wherein the memory stores additional instructions for execution by the at least one processor that, when executed, further cause the at least one processor to: cause the robotic arm to remove the at least one tower from the head of the corresponding pedicle screw in view of Goyette in order to allow the tower to be used to interconnect addition vertebra and screws (paragraph 37).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Zucker only discloses incremental adjustments of the path and does not change the whole path and insertion point. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in figure 2 step 24 shows that the system is used to plan the robotic movements needed to insert the rod such that it plans the whole path and shows in iterative method of adjusting screws and towers and changing the plan. Figure 2 shows that when the screw positions are changed the method returns to the planning the whole path not just a portion of the path. It is noted that Zucker does not specifically disclose changing the insertion point.
The rejection is deemed proper.
Conclusion
/S.J.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 3773
/JULIANNA N HARVEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773