DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11/18/2025 has been entered. Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12, 14, 20-22, 24, 37, 39 and 42 have been amended. Claims 46-51 have been added. Claims 2-17 and 19-51 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed on 11/18/2025, with respect to the rejection of the pending claims under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 62/365,784 and 15/655,934, and the instant application, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. §112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Since the disclosure of the prior-filed applications do not sufficiently comply with the requirement of 35 U.S.C. §112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §112, the application is not entitled to an effective filling date earlier than the filing date of the present application. See MPEP §211.05.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6, 8-17, 20-28, 30-33, 35, 38-40, 42-45 and 47 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 recites “…advertise, …a plurality of operations, each associated with a respective one of the plurality of applications…” which is not supported by the specification. The specification at most describes advertising the existence of client application 203 (¶ 0109) or a single server application 205 (¶ 0112) for the purpose of service discovery. Nothing in the specification describes advertising operations, let alone advertising multiple operations mapped to multiple applications.
Claim 2 further recites “…receive, based on a selection of one of the operations of the device within a content-editor application running on the other device, a notification to one of the applications at the device associated with the one of the operations…”, which is not supported by the specification. The specification at best shows in Fig. 7C a notification to allows access content on the other device (¶¶ 0129-0131). The notification is showing on the other device, not on the device.
Claim 2 further recites “…execute the one of the applications at the device and the one of the operations responsive to the notification without user input to the device;”, which is not supported by the specification. The specification at best discloses after user respond to the remote access authorization request… the server application 205 is connected to client application 203 and present the remote content to the user…the user is able interact with the content of the server remotely (¶¶ 0131, 0133). The disclosure does not disclose “execute…the one of the operations responsive to the notification without user input to the device.”.
Claim 3 recites “…wherein the user input comprises a selection of an image capture option… perform the one of the operations by controlling the camera to capture an image, responsive to the selection of the image capture option”, which is not supported by the specification. The specification at best discloses editing a photos, The disclosure does not disclose controlling the camera to capture an image.
Claim 4 recites “…provide the generated data by transmitting the captured image from the device…”, which is not supported by the specification. As aforementioned the specification does not disclose capturing an image, instead discloses view/edit image/content.
Claim 5 recites “…wherein the content-editor application of the other device comprises a word processing application…”, which is not supported by the specification. There is no disclosure of a word processing application.
Claim 6 recites “…receive image markup input via a touchscreen of the device; and provide image markup metadata based on the image markup input … wherein the generated data comprises the image markup metadata.”, which is not supported by the specification. There is no disclosure of receive image markup input via a touchscreen.
Claim 8 recites “…advertise the plurality of operations…”, which is not supported by the specification. The specification at most describes advertising the existence of client application 203 (¶ 0109) or a single server application 205 (¶ 0112). Nothing in the specification describes advertising operations.
Claim 9 recites “…advertise, …a plurality of operations…”, as aforementioned, Nothing in the specification describes advertising operations.
Claim 9 further recites “…provide a notification to the second electronic device to execute, ….one of the applications at the second electronic device associated with the one of the operation…”, which is not supported by the specification. At best the specification shows in Fig. 7C a notification to allows access content on the other device (¶¶ 0129-0131). The notification is for user authorization, not for execute one of the application.
Claim 9 further recites execute the one of the applications at the second electronic device and the one of the operations responsive to the notification...”, which is not supported by the specification. The specification at best discloses after user respond to the remote access authorization request… the server application 205 is connected to client application 203 and present the remote content to the user…the user is able interact with the content of the server remotely (¶¶ 0131, 0133). The disclosure does not disclose “execute…the one of the operations responsive to the notification without user input to the device.”.
Claims 10, 11 and 12 recites similar limitations as claims 3, 4 and 5 therefore rejected for the same rationale, see rejection of claims 3, 4 and 5 above.
Claim 13 recites “provide, …a preview image stream from the camera;…” which is not supported by the specification. The specification discloses displays libraries and file directories, but not from camera.
Claim 14 recites “…obtain…an indication of one or more data generating operations for each of the communicatively coupled devices…”, which is not supported by the specification. The disclosure does not disclose any indication of generating operations.
Claim 14 further recites “…provide, …a list of remotely obtainable content types…” which is not supported by the specification. The specification at best discloses display a content list, content metadata, or content binary data. The disclosure does not disclose display content type.
Claim 14 further recites “…execute, concurrently with providing the notification for executing the one of the applications of the second electronic device, an operation of the third electronic device, responsive to the selection of the one of the remotely obtainable content types.” which is not supported by the specification. The specification at best discloses provides for more than two devices to collaborate on photo sharing etc., but not selection of content types, just sharing of content.
Claim 15 recites “…receive, … an indication of acceptance of the user option to perform the one of the operations…” which is not supported by the specification. The disclosure does not disclose any user acceptance to perform operations.
Claims 16 and 17 also rejected for the same reason of claim 15, because, the disclosure does not disclose any user acceptance to perform operations.
Claim 20 recites similar limitations as claim 6, therefore rejected for the same rationale, see rejection of claim 6 above.
Claims 21, 22 and 23 recite similar limitations as claim 2, 3 and 4, therefore rejected for the same rationale, see rejection of claims 2, 3, and 4 above.
Claim 24 recites “…identify one or more available operations…”, “…identify a plurality of input types including an image input type,..”, “…provide, for display, a content-editing view of a content-editor application at the device, the content-editing view including one or more selectable options for modifying the content-editing view…”, “…receive, …a selection of one option of the plurality of selectable options to obtain data of the corresponding identified input type…” those are not supported by the specification. The disclosure does not disclose identify operation, identify input type, no selectable option, just discloses just a window explorer type interface for accessing photos or documents.
Claim 25 recites “…identify, by the content-editor application, the plurality of input types that are obtainable using the plurality of available operations…”, which is not supported by the specification. The disclosure does not disclose identify input types.
Claim 26 recites “…generate the plurality of selectable options based on the plurality of types of input.” which is not supported by the specification. The disclosure neither disclose any selectable option nor disclose identify input types.
Claim 27 recites “…advertise the available operation…” which is not supported by the specification. As aforementioned, nothing in the specification describes advertising operations.
Claim 28 recites “…the available operation controls a camera, a touch screen, a stylus, a light sensor, a motion sensor, an activity sensor, or a location sensor.” which is not supported by the specification. Nothing in the specification describes available operation controls a camera, a touch screen, a stylus, a light sensor, a motion sensor, an activity sensor, or a location sensor.
Claim 30 recites “…the application is a camera application…” which is not supported by the specification. The disclosure does not disclose any camera application.
Claim 31 recites “…identify the one or more other devices by obtaining a list… the list including an indication of the one or more available operations…”, which is not supported by the specification. The disclosure does not disclose any indication of available operations. Claim 31 further recites “sort, …the other devices into a group…”, which is not supported by the specification. The specification at best discloses discovered devices are listed under "Nearby devices" (0127), however no mention of sorting the devices.
Claim 32 recites “…the application is associated with a camera…”, which is not supported by the specification. The disclosure does not disclose application associated with a camera.
Claim 33 recites “…the content-editing view comprises a representation of a document in a word processing application.”, which is not supported by the specification. The disclosure does not mention word processing application.
Claim 35 recites “…generating commands, with the content-editor application, for performing an operation of the portable computing device to generate the data…” which is not supported by the specification. The disclosure does not mention command generation.
Claim 38 recites “…handwritten markup added…”, which is not supported by the specification. The disclosure does not mention any hand written markup.
Claim 39 recites similar limitations as claim 2, therefore rejected for the same rationale, see rejection of claim 2 above.
Claim 40 recites “…the application…is a camera application…” which is not supported by the specification. The disclosure does not disclose any camera application.
Claim 42, 43, 44 and 45 recites similar limitations as claim 2, 25, 8 and 27, therefore rejected for the same rationale, see rejection of claims, 25, 8 and 27 above.
Claim 47 recites, “…wherein the content-editor application of the first electronic device is a document editor, and the generated data from the second electronic device is a photo to be inserted inside a document being remotely edited on the first electronic device.”, which is not supported by the specification. The specification at best discloses discovered devices are listed under "Nearby devices" (0127), however no mention of sorting the devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-17 and 19-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 11061744 (Louch et al.).
Regarding Claim 2, Louch teaches a device comprising: a memory storing a plurality of applications that are executable at the device; and a plurality of operations each associated with at least one of the plurality of applications ([C.4:L.7-26], Teaches devices that stores and executes applications. The devices includes multiple components-such as camaras, keyboards, touchscreens, stylus devices, sensors- that are activated by the application to perform operations to generate data or content); and
at least one processor configured to: advertise, to another device comprising a memory and at least one processor being in proximity of the device and associated with a user account of the device, a plurality of operations, each associated with a respective one of the plurality of applications ([C.7:L.62 - C.8:L.22], enables proximity-based pairing of devices registered to a common user, utilizing device APIs to identify and catalog features like cameras or touchscreens. Devices broadcast their presence and feature flags (e.g., camera, touchscreen, stylus availability) to other devices. These capabilities can be advertised with a "trusted device"—defined as devices that are paired, linked to the same user account);
receive, based on a selection of one of the operations of the device within a content-editor application running on the other device, a notification to one of the applications at the device associated with the one of the operations ([C.10:L.64 - C.11:L.16] receives a user selection of a feature-specifically, the image capture option of device 112 [i.e. operation of the device] from the content-editor application running on electronic device 110 [i.e., the other device]. Based on this selection sends a activation signal that cause the camera application on the device 112 to activate); execute the one of the applications at the device and the one of the operations responsive to the notification without user input to the device ([C.10:L.64 - C.11:L.30] Once the user selects the image-capture feature in the content-editor application on device 110, the device 112 automatically receive activation signal that cause the respective camera applications and camera component to execute without any user input of the device 112. Specifically, the content-editor application on device 110 activates the camera of device 112, and thereby activates a camera application on the device 112 resulting automatically displaying an image preview and capture interface);
provide, by the executed one of the applications and without user input to the device, a user option to perform the one of the operations via the executed one of the applications at the device ([C.11:L.59 - C.12:L.1] Once the content-editor application on electronic device 110 activates the camera application on electronic device 112, an image preview and an image capture option automatically display without any user input. The content-editor application’s activation of camera application on device 112 cause the device 112 to present the user with an option to operate the camera component, specifically the image capture option used to perform the image -capture operation);
receive a user input at the device for interacting with the executed one of the applications; perform, based on the user input, the one of the operations to generate data for the content-editor application running on the other device; and automatically provide the generated data to the other device for modification of a content-editing view of the content-editor application of the other device using the generated data ([C.12:L.53-63] In the example of FIGS. 2-4, when the bicycle for which an image is desired is within the view of the camera of electronic device 112, the user may select image capture option 302 to capture an image 400 of the bicycle with the camera of electronic device 112. By the selection of the image capture option, the image 400 is captured, transmitted, and directly inserted into UI view 200 at the location of cursor 206, which is moved accordingly to an updated next input location. As shown in FIG. 4. [C.15:L.8-38], electronic device 110 activates, with the content-editor application, an additional application on the other device. …electronic device 110 receives data for the content-editing view (e.g., content such as image 400 for insertion into the content-editor application), with the content-editor application from the additional application on the other device).
Regarding Claim 3, Louch teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the device is a smartphone or a tablet device, wherein the one of the operations of the device controls a camera, wherein the user input comprises a selection of an image capture option provided by the executed one of the applications at the device, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform the one of the operations by controlling the camera to capture an image, responsive to the selection of the image capture option ([C.11:L.59 - C.12:L.63] When a content-editor application on a first device activates a camera application on a second device, it automatically displays an image preview and capture option, enabling a user to take a photo of a subject (e.g., a bicycle). Upon selecting the image capture option, the resulting photo is immediately captured, transmitted, and inserted directly into the user interface of the content-editor application).
Regarding Claim 4, Louch teaches the device of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is configured to provide the generated data by transmitting the captured image from the device to the content-editor application of the other device, responsive to the selection of the image capture option at the device, and without further input to the device or the other device ([C.12:L.53-63] In the example of FIGS. 2-4, when the bicycle for which an image is desired is within the view of the camera of electronic device 112, the user may select image capture option 302 to capture an image 400 of the bicycle with the camera of electronic device 112. By the selection of the image capture option, the image 400 is captured, transmitted, and directly inserted into UI view 200 at the location of cursor 206, which is moved accordingly to an updated next input location. As shown in FIG. 4. When a content-editor application on a first device activates a camera application on a second device, it automatically displays an image preview and capture option, enabling a user to take a photo of a subject (e.g., a bicycle). Upon selecting the image capture option, the resulting photo is immediately captured, transmitted, and inserted directly into the user interface of the content-editor application).
Regarding Claim 5, Louch teaches The device of claim 4, wherein the content-editor application of the other device comprises a word processing application with a displayed document for editing in the content-editing view, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit the captured image for display in the displayed document of the other device ([C.9:L.14-25] a content-editor application is executed by the processor of electronic device 110, electronic device 110 displays a user-interface (UI) view 200. …UI view 200 in the example of FIG. 2 is a representation of a document in a word processing application. [C.12:L.53-63] In the example of FIGS. 2-4,, when the bicycle for which an image is desired is within the view of the camera of electronic device 112, the user may select image capture option 302 to capture an image 400 of the bicycle with the camera of electronic device 112. By the selection of the image capture option, the image 400 is captured, transmitted, and directly inserted into UI view 200 at the location of cursor 206).
Regarding Claim 6, Louch teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an image from the other device; display the image; receive image markup input via a touchscreen of the device; and provide image markup metadata based on the image markup input to the other device, and without sending the image to the other device, wherein the generated data comprises the image markup metadata ([C.13:L.36-52] a user of a first device may request use of a remote device to edit or markup an image using an image editing application on another device (e.g., a device having a touchscreen and/or stylus for use in editing or marking up the image). In this example, a file manager application or an image editor application on the first device may provide, responsive to the request, the image to the remote device and activate the image editor application on the remote device for editing of the image. The remote device may receive markup input (e.g., via a stylus and/or touchscreen) and provide markup metadata (e.g., during or after receiving the markup input), based on the received markup, to the first device for rendering of the received markup on the image at the first device (e.g., without storing the image or the markup metadata at the remote device and, in some scenarios, without sending the image back to the first device).
Regarding Claim 7, Louch teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is configured to provide the generated data directly to the other device [C.12:L.60-63] By the selection of the image capture option, the image 400 is captured, transmitted, and directly inserted into UI view 200 at the location of cursor 206).
Regarding Claim 8, Louch teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is configured to advertise the plurality of operations, receive the notification, and provide the generated data using a near field communications channel and a direct WiFi channel ([C.7:L.37-41] electronic devices can exchange data directly using wireless near-field communications (NFC) signals such as Bluetooth signals, direct WiFi signals. [C.8:L.5-10] broadcast advertising signals (e.g., using a Bluetooth Low Energy, NFC protocols, or other wireless communications protocols) that indicate the presence of that device and/or feature flags that indicate available features of that device).
Regarding Claim 9, the claim limitations are identical and/or equivalent in scope to Claim 2, therefore, rejected under the same rationale as Claim 2.
Regarding Claims 10-12 the claim limitations are identical and/or equivalent in scope to Claims 3-5, therefore, rejected under the same rationale as Claims 3-5.
Regarding Claim 13, Louch teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the second electronic device is further configured to, prior to the selection of the image capture option: provide, for display at the second electronic device, a preview image stream from the camera ([C.11:L.17-34] As shown in FIG. 3, activating the cameras of electronic devices 112 from the content editor application of electronic device 110 activates a camera application on electronic device 112 such that electronic device 112 displays an image preview 300 and an image capture option 302); and provide, to the first electronic device for display within the displayed document at the first electronic device, the preview image stream from the camera ([C.12:L.9-14], In the example of FIG. 3, the content-editor application of electronic device 110 provides, for display (e.g., in UI view 200 of electronic device 110), a preview image stream 308 from the camera of selected electronic device 112 that mirrors the image preview 300 displayed at selected electronic device 112).
Regarding Claim 14, Louch teaches the system of claim 10, further comprising a third electronic device (Fig. 2 illustrates a third electronic device 115), wherein the first electronic device is further configured to: prior to providing the notifications to the second electronic device for executing the one of the applications of the second electronic device: obtain, at the content-editor application, a list of communicatively coupled devices including the second electronic device and an indication of one or more data generating operations for each of the communicatively coupled devices including the plurality of operations of the second electronic device ([C8:L.4-12] each of electronic devices 110, 111, 112, and 115 may periodically transmit or broadcast advertising signals that indicate the presence of that device and/or feature flags that indicate available features of that device. For example a device may advertise a feature flag that indicates that the device has an available camera, stylus, touchscreen, sensor, or the like that can be used to provide input to other devices); provide, for display within the content-editor application, a list of remotely obtainable content types based on the one or more data-generating operations [C.8:L.45-55] An application such as a content-editor application, a file manager application, or other applications running on electronic device 110, 111, 112, or 115 can obtain the available-device list using the API of that device, and determine which remote devices in the list provided by the API can be used by the application to provide various types of input to the application (e.g., based on the list of features for that device). The application can then provide selectable options to a user for accessing a device in the list (e.g., by listing the available devices and/or by listing the available input types, for selection); receive, with the content-editor application, a selection of one of the remotely obtainable content types ([], As shown, the UI view 200 includes selectable options 210, which include an input or insert option that, when selected, cause the content editor application to provide a list of selectable insert options 220. …when one of options 210 is selected by a user of electronic device 110, the content-editor application may obtain, via API 208, list 225 of available devices including available features 226 for those devices. The content-editor application may receive list 225 and, based on the available features 226, identify types of input); and identify, with the content-editor application, the second electronic device and the third electronic device as available devices for providing the one of the remotely obtainable content types ([C.10:L.21-34], In the example of FIG. 2, the content-editor application has generated options 222 and 224 based on a list 225 of available devices (e.g., device “A”, “B”, and “C” that are communicatively coupled to electronic device 110) and corresponding data-generating features 226 for each device in the list, as obtained via API 208. In this example, device “A” may be electronic device 112 having a camera, a touchscreen, and a microphone, device “B” may be electronic device 1156 having a camera, a touchscreen, a microphone, and a stylus input device 121); and execute, concurrently with providing the notification for executing the one of the applications of the second electronic device, an operation of the third electronic device, responsive to the selection of the one of the remotely obtainable content types ([C.10:64-C.11:L.16] In the example of FIG. 2, because devices “A” and “B have cameras, content-editor application provides an image capture input option 224 linked to each of devices “A” and “B”. Electronic device 110 may receive, with the content-editor application, a selection of one of the remotely obtainable content types such as a selection of image capture input option 224. As shown in FIG. 3, responsive to the selection of image capture input option 224 at electronic device 110, electronic device 110 identifies, with the content-editor application, a second electronic device (electronic device 112 or device “A”) and a third electronic device (electronic device 115 or device “B”) as available devices for providing an image. Electronic device 110 then activates the camera of electronic device 112 and the camera of electronic device 115, with the content-editor application of electronic device 110, responsive to the selection of option 224).
Regarding Claim 15, Louch teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the first electronic device is further configured to: receive, with the content-editor application from the second electronic device, an indication of acceptance of the user option to perform the one of the operations to the first electronic device; determine, based on the indication, that the second electronic device has been selected for obtaining the one of the remotely obtainable content types; and unselect, responsive to the indication, the operation of the third electronic device ([C.11:L.59-67], receives an indication that electronic device 112 has been selected for generating and inserting the desired image. Accordingly, the content-editor application at electronic device 110 deactivates the camera and camera application on electronic device 115. The indication to the content-editor application at electronic device 110 may be the act of capturing the image with electronic device 112 by selection of image capture option 302 in an image capture operation in one or more implementations).
Regarding Claim 16, Louch teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the second electronic device is configured to receive a user input indicating the acceptance ([C.11:L.59-67], receives an indication that electronic device 112 has been selected for generating and inserting the desired image. The indication to the content-editor application at electronic device 110 may be the act of capturing the image with electronic device 112 by selection of image capture option 302 in an image capture operation in one or more implementations).
Regarding Claim 17, Louch teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the second electronic device is configured to receive a user input indicating the acceptance, wherein the user input indicating the acceptance comprises an image capture operation on the second electronic device ([C.12:L.53-61], when the bicycle for which an image is desired is within the view of the camera of electronic device 112, the user may select image capture option 302 to capture an image 400 of the bicycle with the camera of electronic device 112. By the selection of the image capture option, the image 400 is captured, transmitted, and directly inserted into UI view 200 at the location of cursor 206).
Regarding Claim 19, Louch teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the second electronic device is configured to receive a user input indicating the acceptance, wherein the user input indicating the acceptance comprises a touch input to a touchscreen of the second electronic device [C.16:L.43-59], the indication that the second electronic device has been selected may include a touch input to a touchscreen of the second electronic device).
Regarding Claims 20, 21, 22 and 23 the claim limitations are identical and/or equivalent in scope to Claims 6, 2, 3 and 4, respectively, therefore, rejected under the same rationale as Claims 6, 3 and 4.
Regarding Claim 24, the claim limitations are identical and/or equivalent in scope to Claim 2, therefore, rejected under the same rationale as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 25, Louch teaches the device of claim 24, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: discover the one or more other devices including the portable computing device; and identify, by the content-editor application, the plurality of input types that are obtainable using the plurality of available operations, at least two of the plurality of input types corresponding to one of the plurality of available operations ([C.7:L.65-C.8:L.18], identify features of that device (e.g., components of the device such as a camera, a touchscreen or touchpad, a microphone, or a stylus input device). each of electronic devices may periodically transmit or broadcast advertising signals that indicate the presence of that device and/or feature flags that indicate available features of that device. For example a device may advertise a feature flag that indicates that the device has an available camera, stylus, touchscreen, sensor, or the like that can be used to provide input to other devices. The feature flags can be advertised together with general presence-indicating advertising signals of an electronic device, or the feature flags can be advertised once a trusted remote device is identified and communication is established with that trusted device).
Regarding Claim 26, Louch teaches the device of claim 25, wherein the content-editor application is configured to generate the plurality of selectable options based on the plurality of types of input ([Fig. 2, C.9:L.41-51], a content-editor application displays a user-interface (UI) view 200. when one of options 210 is selected by a user of electronic device 110, the content-editor application may obtain list 225 of available devices including available features 226 for those devices. The content-editor application may receive list 225 and, based on the available features 226, identify types of input (e.g., image input, image markup input, drawing input, handwriting recognition input, sensor input, health data input, activity data input, AR data input, mood input, or the like) that can be provided by the available features 226).
Regarding Claim 27, Louch teaches the device of claim 24, further comprising an available operation, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to advertise the available operation for providing data to the portable computing device ([C.8:L.5-12] periodically transmit or broadcast advertising signals that indicate the presence of that device and/or feature flags that indicate available features of that device. For example a device may advertise a feature flag that indicates that the device has an available camera, stylus, touchscreen, sensor, or the like that can be used to provide input to other devices).
Regarding Claim 28, Louch teaches the device of claim 27, wherein the available operation controls a camera, a touch screen, a stylus, a light sensor, a motion sensor, an activity sensor, or a location sensor ([C.8:L.5-12], For example a device may advertise a feature flag that indicates that the device has an available camera, stylus, touchscreen, sensor, or the like that can be used to provide input to other devices).
Regarding Claim 29, Louch teaches the device of claim 24, wherein the generated data comprises an image, a video, augmented reality content, image markup metadata, handwriting recognition data, or freehand sketch data ([C.10:L.41-52] Electronic device provide, for display with the content-editor application, a list of remotely obtainable content types (e.g., drawing content, image content, health data such as steps data, heart rate data, electro-cardio data, calorie data, blood pressure data or other data from a wearable device and/or other workout equipment, image editing metadata, augmented reality (AR) data such as data representing a user and/or the surroundings of a device and/or virtual content to be overlaid on or otherwise combined with one or more images of a user and/or the surroundings, and/or sensor data such as light sensor data, proximity sensor data, motion sensor data, or the like).
Regarding Claim 30, Louch teaches the device of claim 24, wherein the application is a camera application and the data of the corresponding identified input type comprises image data that is received without execution of the content-editor application on the portable computing device ([C.10:L.64 - C.11:L.30] Once the user selects the image-capture feature in the content-editor application on device 110, the device 112 automatically receive activation signal that cause the respective camera applications and camera component to execute without any user input of the device 112. Specifically, the content-editor application on device 110 activates the camera of device 112, and thereby activates a camera application on the device 112 resulting automatically displaying an image preview and capture interface), and wherein the device and the portable computing device are associated with a common user account with a remote server ([C.7:L.52-64], a list of a user's own devices (e.g., devices registered at server 120 to that user's account) that are accessible to each other. …only devices in close proximity that are registered to a common user may be included in the list of available devices).
Regarding Claim 31, Louch teaches the device of claim 24, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify the one or more other devices by obtaining a list of other devices that are communicatively coupled to the device, the list including an indication of the one or more available operations of each of the other devices([C.9:L.2-12], during operation of a content-editor application on electronic device 110. As shown in FIG. 2, communications circuitry of electronic device 110 communicates with remote electronic devices 112 and 115 to identify these devices as available devices that are trusted and/or communicatively coupled to electronic device 110, and to identify features of each device, such as a front-facing camera, a rear-facing camera, a touchscreen, a microphone, a keyboard, one or more sensors such as a health sensor (e.g., a heart-rate sensor), a motion sensor (e.g., an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a compass), etc.); and sort, with the content-editor application, the other devices into a group of the other devices for each of the identified input types ([C.4:L.48-53] the application on the primary device can sort available secondary or remote devices by the input features on that device so that the user (or the application) can choose the device best suited to generate and input any particular type of data or content desired by the user), wherein: the plurality of selectable options include an option to obtain data of the image input type from any of a group of the other devices for the image input type, and the selection of the one option includes a selection of the portable computing device from the group of the other devices for the image input type ([C.11:L.6-16], As shown in FIG. 3, responsive to the selection of image capture input option 224 at electronic device 110, electronic device 110 identifies, with the content-editor application, a second electronic device (electronic device 112 or device “A”) and a third electronic device (electronic device 115 or device “B”) as available devices for providing an image. Electronic device 110 then activates the camera of electronic device 112 and the camera of electronic device 115, with the content-editor application of electronic device 110, responsive to the selection of option 224).
Regarding Claim 32, Louch teaches the device of claim 24, wherein the application is associated with a camera of the portable computing device [C.10:L.64-66], devices “A” and “B have cameras, content-editor application provides an image capture input option 224 linked to each of devices “A” and “B”), and wherein the plurality of applications include a drawing entry application associated with a stylus of the portable computing device, a handwriting recognition application, or an image markup application ([C.10:L.53-63], all of devices “A”, “B”, and “C” have touch screens, content-editor application provides a drawing input option 222 linked to each of devices “A”, “B”, and “C”. In one example, because device “B” includes stylus input device, content-editor application may identify device “B” as the device best suited for drawing input and may set device “B” as a default drawing input device with devices “A” and “C” as alternate options. In another example, devices “A”, “B”, and “C” may be provided as unranked options for drawing input for user selection. [C.15:L.9=22], activates, with the content-editor application, an additional application on the other device. For example, the additional application may be a camera application associated with a camera of a remote device, a health-monitoring or activity-monitoring application of a smart watch, a handwriting recognition application, an image markup application, an activity monitoring application associated with a sensor of the other device, a health monitoring application associated with the sensor of the other device, or a drawing entry (e.g., a note-taking or freehand sketch) application associated with a stylus of a remote device).
Regarding Claim 33, Louch teaches the device of claim 24, wherein the content-editing view comprises a representation of a document in a word processing application ([C.9:L.24-26], UI view 200 in the example of FIG. 2 is a representation of a document in a word processing application).
Regarding Claim 34, Louch teaches the device of claim 24, wherein the content-editor application comprises a word processor, a presentation editor, an email editor, a spreadsheet, an image editing application, or a messaging application ([C.9:L.24-32], UI view 200 in the example of FIG. 2 is a representation of a document in a word processing application. However, the content-editor view may be a representation of a presentation slide deck, an email, a note, a media content display, an image display, a video display or any other container for user content for a word processor, a presentation editor, an email editor, a messaging application, a spreadsheet, a media editor such as an image editor or a video editor).
Regarding Claim 35, Louch teaches the device of claim 24, wherein receiving the data comprises: generating commands, with the content-editor application, for performing an operation of the portable computing device to generate the data of the corresponding identified input type for insertion; and providing the generated commands to the portable computing device with communications circuitry of the device ([C.12:L.65-C.13:L.3], commands for operating the camera of electronic device 112 can be generated by the content-editor application of electronic device 110 and transmitted to the remote device by communications circuitry of electronic device 110).
Regarding Claim 36, Louch teaches the device of claim 24, wherein receiving the data comprises: calling, from the content-editor application of the device to an application programming interface of the device, a function for requesting the data of the corresponding identified input type; and providing, via the application programming interface and responsive to the calling of the function, commands for performing an operation of the portable computing device to generate the data of the corresponding identified input type for insertion ([C.15:L.38-45], receiving the data may include calling, from the content-editor application of the device and via an application programming interface 208 of the device, a function for requesting content, and providing, via the application programming interface 208 and responsive to the calling function, commands for operating a component of the other device to generate the content for insertion).
Regarding Claim 37, Louch teaches the device of claim 24, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive real-time preview data at the device from the executed application on the portable computing device; provide, for display at the device in the content-editing view of the content-editor application, the real-time preview data; and provide, for display, at least one modification to the real-time preview data ([C.12:L.9-25], In the example of FIG. 3, the content-editor application of electronic device 110 provides, for display (e.g., in UI view 200 of electronic device 110), a preview image stream 308 from the camera of selected electronic device 112 that mirrors the image preview 300 displayed at selected electronic device 112. It should also be appreciated that preview image stream 308 can be provided to mirror any data stream or content being generated by a selected remote device such as a real-time display of handwriting input being generated at the remote device. It should also be appreciated that placeholder 307 can include image preview streams from all activated devices (e.g., side-by-side streams from both of electronic device 112 and 115) so that the preview streams in placeholder 307 can be used for selection of the desired device).
Regarding Claim 38, Louch teaches the device of claim 37, wherein the at least one modification comprises handwritten markup added to the real-time preview data at the portable computing device ([C.12:L.9-25], preview image stream 308 can be provided to mirror any data stream or content being generated by a selected remote device such as a real-time display of handwriting input being generated at the remote device).
Regarding Claim 39, the claim limitations are identical and/or equivalent in scope to Claim 2, therefore, rejected under the same rationale as Claim 2. The Examiner further notes that Louch also teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instruction (see, C.23:L.34-40).
Regarding Claim 40, the claim limitations are identical and/or equivalent in scope to Claim 30, therefore, rejected under the same rationale as Claim 30.
Regarding Claim 41, Louch teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 40, wherein the steps further comprise inserting the content by performing an operation of the remote device with the remote device or with the content-editor application ([C.16:L.23-29], the second electronic device receives an input (e.g., a selection of an image capture option or a send option from a drawing input application) and modifies a content-editing view of the content-editor application (e.g., by inserting content generated at the second electronic device into the content editor application).
Regarding Claim 42, the claim limitations are identical and/or equivalent in scope to Claim 2, therefore, rejected under the same rationale as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 43, 44, and 45 the claim limitations are identical and/or equivalent in scope to Claims 25, 8 and 27, respectively, therefore, rejected under the same rationale as Claims 25, 8 and 27.
Regarding Claim 46, Louch teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the content-editor application of the first electronic device is for editing a library of content items stored on the first electronic device, and the generated data from the second electronic device is for adding or modifying a content within the library of remote content items stored on the first electronic device ([C.24:L.17-31], provide, for display, a user-interface view of a file manager application. The user-interface view includes one or more selectable options for inputting data into a file stored [i.e. a library of content item stored] in the memory. The one or more selectable options include at least one option to obtain data from another device. The at least one processor is further configured to receive, via the file manager application, a selection of the at least one option to obtain the data from the other device. ..activate, via the file manager application, another application on the other device to generate the data. The at least one processor is further configured to receive, via the file manager application, the data from the other device. The at least one processor is further configured to input [i.e. adding], via the file manager application, the data into the file).
Regarding Claim 47, Louch teaches the system of claim 46, wherein the content-editor application of the first electronic device is a document editor, and the generated data from the second electronic device is a photo to be inserted inside a document being remotely edited on the first electronic device ([C.9:L.14-25] a content-editor application is executed by the processor of electronic device 110, electronic device 110 displays a user-interface (UI) view 200. …UI view 200 in the example of FIG. 2 is a representation of a document in a word processing application. [C.12:L.53-63] In the example of FIGS. 2-4,, when the bicycle for which an image is desired is within the view of the camera of electronic device 112, the user may select image capture option 302 to capture an image 400 of the bicycle with the camera of electronic device 112. By the selection of the image capture option, the image 400 is captured, transmitted, and directly inserted into UI view 200 at the location of cursor 206).
Regarding Claim 48, Louch teaches the system of claim 46, wherein the content-editor application of the first electronic device is a file manager, and the generated data from the second electronic device is a file to be inserted inside a remote file system of the first electronic device ([C.18:32-C.19:44] FIG. 8 illustrates a flow diagram of an example for directly receiving data from another device for input to a file with a file manager application. At block 802, the electronic device 110 provides, for display using a theme, a user-interface view of a file manager application, the user-interface view including one or more selectable options 210 for inputting data into a file stored by the memory of the device. At block 804, the electronic device 110 receives, via the file manager application, a selection of the at least one of the selectable insert options 220 to obtain the data from the other device. At block 806, the electronic device 110 activates, via the file manager application, another application on the other device. At block 808, the electronic device 110 receives the data for the UI view, with the file manager application, from the other application on the other device. At block 810, the file manager application may input the received data into a file on the filesystem.)
Regarding Claim 49, Louch teaches the system of claim 46, wherein the content-editor application of the first electronic device is a remote photo editor, and the generated data from the second electronic device is a photo to be inserted inside the remote photo editor of the first electronic device ([C.9:L.26-35], the content-editor may be a representation of a presentation slide deck, an email, a note, a media content display, an image display, a video display or any other container for user content for a word processor, a presentation editor, an email editor, a messaging application, a spreadsheet, a media editor such as an image editor or a video editor. The user desires to capture and input an image of Sally's bicycle for insertion into UI view 200).
Regarding Claim 50, Louch teaches the system of claim 48, wherein the data is generated from the second electronic device by editing a lightweight representation of a photo remotely stored on the first electronic device ([C.11:L.19-28], activates a camera application on electronic device 112 and a camera option on electronic device 115 such that electronic device 112 displays an image preview 300 [i.e., a lightweight representation] and an image capture option 302, and electronic device 115 displays an image preview 304 and an image capture option 306. …content-editor application has activated camera applications of both of electronic devices 112 and 115 so that the user can select one of these devices for capturing the image).
Regarding Claim 51, Louch teaches the system of claim 46, wherein the content-editor application of the first electronic device is a remote photo editor, and the data generated from the second electronic device is a sketch or markup data to be inserted inside the remote photo editor of the first electronic device ([C.9:L.26-35], the content-editor may be a representation of a presentation slide deck, an email, a note, a media content display, an image display, a video display or any other container for user content for a word processor, a presentation editor, an email editor, a messaging application, a spreadsheet, a media editor such as an image editor or a video editor. [C.14:L.11-16], obtaining data (e.g., an image, a video, augmented reality content, image markup metadata, handwriting recognition data, freehand sketch data, steps data, heart rate data, electro-cardio data, calorie data, blood pressure data, and/or mood data) from another device such as for insertion of content into the content-editing view).
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD YOUSUF A. MIAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2457
/ARIO ETIENNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2457