DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments made to claims 20, 22, 24,26, 30, 34, and 36-39 in the response filed on 8/11/2025 are acknowledged. Claims 20-39 are still pending in the application and are examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see page 11, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the objections of claims 20, 22, 30, 36, 38, and 39 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see page 12, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 26, 34, and 39 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 12-13, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Please see arguments below.
Applicant argues “While disclosing a brace 500 with straps 506 and a control unit 516 that collects and transmits data (paras. [0112] — [0119]), Embodiment A of Stark does not disclose or describe that the control unit informs or guides the patient in real time or provides any indication for strap tightening, as required by the wearable device of claim 20. In this regard, there is no disclosure in Embodiment A of Stark that brace 500, including control unit 516, provides any instruction or recommendation to a patient for tightening straps 506, nor any disclosure of ‘real-time’ guidance for ‘incentivizing a patient to wear the back brace by at least providing indications to the patient for tightening the at least one strap’, as required by independent claim 20”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. In Embodiment A of Stark et al., it discloses that the control unit can include a microprocessor, wherein the location of the force applicators can be programmed into the control unit. Based on force measurements taken from force sensors (pressure sensors), the forces are monitored by the control unit to evaluate forces applied over time to the spine; therefore, there is real-time guidance to the clinician and assists in assessing the progress of the spine with the brace. Straps or other adjustments can also be made to alter the pressure applied to the user to assist with fitting and to ensure that proper levels of force is used to correct the spinal curvature (paragraph 0034/0090-0091/0111-0112/0114).
Applicant argues “Claim 20 also recites that the wearable device is configured for informing and guiding in real time and incentivizing a patient to wear the back brace by at least providing indications to the patient for tightening the at least one strap ‘by comparing a pressure value provided by the at least one pressure sensor with at least one calibration value’. Embodiment A of Stark does not disclose the use of a ‘calibration value’ in this context, nor does it describe ‘real time’ comparison of pressure values for the purpose of ‘informing and guiding...by at least providing indications to the patient…’, as required by claim 20. Although Embodiment A of Stark mentions ‘predetermined desired values’ (para. [0034], these are used internally by a microprocessor to potentially activate a release valve or report data, not to generate indications for the patient to tighten the strap. There is no disclosure in Embodiment A of Stark of a real-time comparison of sensor data with a calibration value that results in actionable guidance to the patient, such as an indication to tighten a strap, as required by independent claim 20”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Embodiment A of Stark et al. discloses that in an initial examination of the patient, measurements are made of deformity parameters as well as normative data on progression of curve shape and resolution patterns needed to design treatment. The above measurements would be considered the calibration value because initial measurements of deformity parameters are inputted into the control unit (microprocessor) in order to correct the spine via location and force of the force applicators. The corrective forces from the force applicator are established according to desired parameters and on initial measurements taken. Furthermore, the control unit can alter the forces within the brace to ensure proper levels of force to correct for unexpected changes in the forces or to alter the forces as a function of time in response to expected changes in spinal curvature (paragraph 0090-0091/0114-0116).
Applicant argues “Claim 20 further recites a wearable device ‘for enabling a doctor to monitor, intervene, and manage the patient and treatment in real time,’ While disclosing that a doctor may eventually access collected data through a base station (paras. [0114] — [0119]), Embodiment A of Stark does not disclose or describe ‘real time’ monitoring, intervention and management of the patient and treatment, as required by claim 20”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Embodiment of A of Stark discloses that the force sensors are connected to a microprocessor, which provides the capability to monitor the variation in applied corrective force over time. The monitored forces provided by the microprocessor assist invaluably with the assessment of the progress with the brace (paragraph 0090-0091/0114-0116).
Applicant's arguments, see pages 13-14, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 30 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Please see arguments below.
Applicant argues “Amended claim 30 requires ‘at least one pressure sensor passively configured to measure a pressure at an area of contact between the back brace and a corresponding pressure point on the patient’s torso, without applying force or actuation’. In contrast, the brace 500 in Embodiment A of Stark uses pressure sensors in conjunction with active force applicators to apply and monitor corrective force vectors. More specifically, Stark’s brace applies corrective force vectors using actuators, not merely passive monitoring (e.g., paras. [0027], [0035], [0088], [0116])”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. The amendment made points to a pressure sensor that measures pressure at an area of contact between the back brace and corresponding pressure point on the torso, without applying force or actuation. However, the embodiment A of Stark et al. still reads on this limitation because the sensors are not applying the force or actuation, it is the force applicators doing that function. The sensors are passively reading the force applied from the force applicators.
Applicant's arguments, see page 14 and 22, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 23 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection was made in view of Embodiment A of Stark et al. (US 20050043660 A1) in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 20160120733 A1) to meet the limitation of claim 23 since the scope of the claim has changed.
Applicant's arguments, see page 14, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 24 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Please see arguments below.
Applicant argues “Amended claim 24 includes the additional limitation that the wearable device includes a processor, a memory for storing pressure measurements, and a communication module configured to wirelessly transmit pressure data to the at least one external computing apparatus. Embodiment A of Stark does not disclose or describe the wireless transmission of pressure data to an external computing apparatus. In this regard, there is no disclosure of a communication module (e.g., a Bluetooth module) in the control unit 516 or elsewhere in Embodiment A of Stark”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. In Embodiment of A of Stark et al. it was disclosed that the measurements and corrective vector prescription determined can be downloaded from the base station to the control unit via radio frequencies (using transmitters and receivers) (paragraph 0090-0091/0112-0115/0118).
Applicant's arguments, see pages 14-15, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 29 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Please see arguments below.
Applicant argues “Amended claim 29 includes the additional limitation that: the least one pressure sensor comprises a plurality of pressure sensors each configured to be attached to the back brace at a point of pressure with the body of a patient; that the at least one strap comprises a plurality of straps configured to be tightened for adjusting pressures at the respective points of pressure to which the respective plurality of pressure sensors are attached; and that the wearable device is configured for informing and guiding in real time and incentivizing the patient to wear the back brace by at least providing indications to the patient for tightening each of the plurality of straps by comparing a corresponding pressure value provided by a corresponding one of the plurality of pressure sensors with a corresponding calibration value. No corresponding structural and functional combination is disclosed or described by Embodiment A of Stark. For example, Embodiment A of Stark does not disclose or describe that the control unit informs or guides the patient in real time or provides any indication for strap tightening, as set forth above for independent claim 20, from which claim 29 depends”; however, respectfully disagrees. In Embodiment A of Stark et al., it discloses that the control unit can include a microprocessor, wherein the location of the force applicators can be programmed into the control unit. Based on force measurements taken from a plurality of force sensors (pressure sensors), the forces are monitored by the control unit to evaluate forces applied over time to the spine; therefore, there is a real-time guidance to the clinician and assists in assessing the progress of the spine with the brace. The plurality of straps or other adjustments can also be made to alter the pressure applied to the user to assist with fitting and to ensure that proper levels of force is used to correct the spinal curvature (paragraph 0034/0090-0091/0111-0112/0114).
Applicant's arguments, see page 15, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 34 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Please see arguments below and new rejection in view of Embodiment A of Stark et al. (US 20050043660 A1) in view of Lou et al. (US 20110230806 A1).
Applicant argues “Amended claim 34 includes the additional limitation that the at least one calibration value is established by a clinician during an initial fitting session by physically adjusting the at least one strap of the back brace to exert a desired corrective pressure, and that the calibration value is stored on the server for subsequent comparisons during patient use. As noted above, the wearable device of amended claim 30, from which claim 34 now indirectly depends, relies on real-world, clinician-driven calibration, not automated force prescription as required by Embodiment A of Stark”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Embodiment A of Stark et al. discloses that in an initial examination of the patient, measurements are made of deformity parameters as well as normative data on progression of curve shape and resolution patterns needed to design treatment. The above measurements would be considered the calibration value because initial measurements of deformity parameters are inputted into the control unit (microprocessor) in order to correct the spine via location and force of the force applicators. The corrective forces from the force applicator are established according to desired parameters and on initial measurements taken. Additionally, straps or other adjustments can also be made to alter the pressure applied to the user to assist with fitting initially and to ensure that proper levels of force is used to correct the spinal curvature (paragraph 0034/0090-0091/0111-0112/0114). Furthermore, the control unit can alter the forces within the brace to ensure proper levels of force to correct for unexpected changes in the forces or to alter the forces as a function of time in response to expected changes in spinal curvature (paragraph 0090-0091/0114-0116).
Applicant's arguments, see page 15, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 35 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Please see arguments below and a new rejection in view of Embodiment A of Stark et al. (US 20050043660 A1) in view of Lou et al. (US 20110230806 A1).
Applicant argues “Amended claim 35 includes the additional limitation that the server is further configured to generate usage metrics indicative of both the duration of brace wear and the correctness of brace fit, based on a comparison of real-time pressure measurements to the at least one calibration value. No corresponding features are disclosed or described by Embodiment A of Stark, at least as set forth above for amended independent claim 30, from which claim 35 now indirectly depends”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Embodiment A of Stark et al. discloses a method of use and generates usage metrics of duration and correctness of brace fit based on measurements made of deformity parameters as well as normative data on progression of curve shape and resolution patterns needed to design treatment. This information is first input into a base station, which is a microprocessor used by a health professional to track patient's condition and progress. The above measurements would be considered the calibration value because initial measurements of deformity parameters are inputted into the control unit (microprocessor) in order to correct the spine via location and force of the force applicators. The corrective forces from the force applicator are established according to desired parameters and on initial measurements taken. Furthermore, the control unit (connected to sensors) can alter the forces within the brace to ensure proper levels of force to correct for unexpected changes in the forces or to alter the forces as a function of time in response to expected changes in spinal curvature (paragraph 0090-0091/0114-0116).
Applicant's arguments, see pages 16-19, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 36, 37, and 39 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Please see arguments below regarding claims 37 and 39.
Applicant argues “Claim 37 is directed to the specific structure and function of the patient computing device, which is not disclosed or described by Embodiment B of Stark at least as identified below: -Claim 37 recites a patient computing device with its own memory module and processor, running a software application that stores and processes pressure data. Embodiment B of Stark does not disclose a separate patient computing device with a processor that runs software to manage sensor data or provide patient feedback and tracking. -Claim 37 requires that the patient computing device stores sensor data (pressure measurements, sensor IDs, time-stamps) and transmits it to a server for further analysis. Embodiment B of Stark lacks any teaching of cloud-based or server interaction, where data is transmitted for long-term storage and further processing. -The system of claim 37 presents real-time metrics such as pressure measurements, adjustments to the back brace, time use, and benefits to the patient. Embodiment B of Starks does not include features for real-time presentation of pressure data or personalized adjustments and recommendations to the patient based on the data. -Claim 37 requires that the patient computing device is configured to gamify the experience by providing metrics, target accomplishments, and rewards. Embodiment B of Stark does not disclose or suggest gamification or motivational tools for patients to encourage adherence to treatment. -Claim 37 requires a system that presents prescribed physical exercises for the patient as part of the treatment process. Embodiment B of Stark does not discuss integrating prescribed exercises or dynamic real-time adjustments for the patient based on sensor data. - The system of claim 37 is configured for indicating adjustments to the back brace to modify pressure measurements for more effective treatment. Stark’s disclosure is limited to automated actuator adjustment but does not include real-time feedback for the patient to make adjustments based on pressure measurements. Moreover, while acknowledging that Embodiment B of Stark does not expressly disclose many of the functions recited in claim 37, such as “presenting benefits, associated with the metrics, to the patient, presenting target accomplishments associated with the metrics, gamifying a use of the back brace by presenting a game using the metrics, associating the game with at least one award, and presenting physical exercises, prescribed by the doctor for the spine deformation treatment,” the OA concludes that the patient computing device disclosed in Embodiment B of Stark is nonetheless “capable of performing these functions,” merely by virtue of being a “computer.” Applicant respectfully disagrees. The mere capability of a computing device to perform functions when appropriately programmed does not amount to a disclosure or teaching of such functions being actually implemented or suggested. The Federal Circuit has consistently held that a system does not anticipate a claim simply because it is capable of being modified to perform the claimed functionality, unless there is clear teaching or suggestion that it actually does so. See Hewlett- Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Finisar Corp. v. DirecTV Group, Inc., 523 F.3d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 2008). Here, Embodiment B of Stark fails to disclose or suggest a software application or interface that implements the claimed interactive and motivational features, such as presenting benefits derived from use metrics, gamification elements, award associations, or doctor- prescribed exercises. These features represent purposeful and non-trivial functional distinctions that go beyond the capabilities of a generic computing device and reflect inventive contributions directed to improving patient compliance and engagement”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. The processor of the base station/computer in Embodiment B of Stark et al. is not a generic computing device. It is a processor that aids in correction of scoliosis and is connected to a wearable device (210, control unit) and pressure sensors. It can also take pressure measurements (over time) from the wearable device (210) and download it to the computer/base station [or vice-versa]; hence, pressure measurements from the pressure sensors can be saved for the physician to see on the computer/base station’s server, which allows the physician to evaluate the pressure fluctuations within each bladder (206) and design a desirable exercise routing and monitor the patient’s compliance with the target exercise routine. Although it was not explicitly disclosed by Embodiment B of Stark et al. that it could “present benefits derived from use metrics, gamification elements, award associations, or doctor-prescribed exercises”, the processor of Embodiment B of Stark et al. is fully capable of performing the intended use if the algorithm to perform these functions are inputted into the processor.
Applicant argues “Claim 39 depends on claim 37 and includes the additional limitation that the back brace comprises at least one strap configured to be tightened for adjusting a pressure at the point of pressure in the area of contact of the back brace to which the at least one pressure sensor is attached, and that the processor of the wearable device is further configured to run the first set of instructions causing the processor to transmit the at least one pressure measurement and associated sensor identifier and one time-date data field to the patient computing device for informing and guiding the patient in real time to incentivize the patient to wear the back brace by providing indications to the patient for tightening the at least one strap. No corresponding structural and functional combination is disclosed or suggested by Embodiment B of Stark”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. The processor of the wearable device [210] receives data from each pressure measurement from each bladder [206] that has a pressure sensor [208] and transmits the data to the patient computing device; the pressure sensors [208] accounts for the pressure fluctuations within the bladder [206], which allows the plurality of straps [222] to be adjusted to alter resting pressure on the bladder [206] or to reposition the bladders [206] throughout the back brace [200] to accommodate the patient. Since the patient computing device receives the data from the processor of the wearable device [210], it allows physicians to design a desirable exercise routing and monitor the patient’s compliance with the target exercise routine: paragraph 0062-0065/0069/0077).
Applicant's arguments, see pages 19-21, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 21 and 32 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered. However, the argument regarding claim 21 is not persuasive while claim 32 has a new rejection in view of Embodiment A of Stark et al. (US 20050043660 A1) in view of Lou et al. (US 20110230806 A1) due to the change of scope. Please see argument below regarding claim 21.
Applicant argues “Stark discloses a system integrated within or associated with a rigid back brace shell and relies on fasteners and mounting hardware for attachment of components, not adhesive. The OA fails to identify any teaching, suggestion, or motivation in either Embodiment A of Stark or Chen that would have prompted a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the brace of Embodiment A of Stark to include a sensor with adhesive material on its bottom surface, especially given the different sensor and brace constructions in Chen. Additionally, Embodiment A of Stark emphasizes the secure integration of components via mechanical mounting and structured frameworks. Introducing adhesive-based attachments would compromise the intended structural integrity and sensor calibration described in Embodiment A of Stark, thereby teaching away from the proposed modification”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. In Embodiment A of Stark et al., it disclosed how the force applicators (bladder) can include force sensors, but it did not disclose how the force sensors are specifically fixed to the force applicators. Rather, Embodiment A of Stark et al. disclosed how the force applicators are attached to the back brace via hook and loop. Therefore, by adding an adhesive material on the bottom of an analogous sensor, it allows the pressure sensor of Embodiment A of Stark et al. to effectively fix onto the force applicator (utility model content, Chen et al.). In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Furthermore, we are not persuaded by Applicant’s argument because to teach away, a reference must actually criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the claimed solution. In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (prior art does not teach away from claimed subject matter merely by disclosing a different solution to a similar problem unless the prior art also criticizes, discredits, or otherwise discourages the solution claimed). In this case, there was no passages in Chen that does so and Applicant does not point to any passage in "Chen" that in any way criticizes, discredits, or otherwise discourages the use of adhesive with sensors and force applicators, as taught by Embodiment A of Stark et al.
Applicant's arguments, see page 21, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 22 and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered. However, the argument regarding claim 22 is not persuasive while claim 33 has a new rejection in view of Embodiment A of Stark et al. (US 20050043660 A1) in view of Lou et al. (US 20110230806 A1) and in further view of Vigano’ et al. (US 20170086519 A1) due to the change of scope. Please see argument below regarding claim 22.
Applicant argues “There is no disclosure in Stark that the pressure sensors used are of the passive type, nor that they are resistive or capacitive sensors specifically. To the contrary, Stark focuses on feedback mechanisms within an active control loop involving force application, not on standalone passive sensing without any actuation. Accordingly, Stark does not teach or suggest the claimed configuration of passive, resistive or capacitive pressure sensors unaccompanied by any actuation or force-generating components. The secondary reference to Vigano does not cure the foregoing deficiencies of Embodiment A of Stark and, therefore, one ordinarily skilled in the art would not have been led to modify the references to attain the claimed subject matter”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. The embodiment A of Stark et al. discloses sensors that are not applying the force or actuation, it is the force applicators doing that function. The sensors are passively reading the force applied from the force applicators (paragraph 0112). Additionally, Vigano teaches analogous sensors that are resistive pressure sensors and a foam that is on the upper side of an analogous pressure sensor, therefore, it still reads on the limitations of claims 22 and 33.
Applicant's arguments, see page 22, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Please see argument below.
Applicant argues “Palmer does not cure the deficiencies of Embodiment A of Stark with respect to the subject matter of independent claim 20, from which claim 25 depends and, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been led to modify the references to attain the claimed subject matter”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. The embodiment A of Stark et al. discloses sensors that are not applying the force or actuation, it is the force applicators doing that function. The sensors are passively reading the force applied from the force applicators (paragraph 0112). Additionally, Palmer teaches a foam material that is disposed between an analogous pressure sensor and the patient’s body, which improves comfortability for the user.
Applicant's arguments, see page 23, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Please see argument below.
Applicant argues “The cited combination of references fails to teach or suggest the claimed arrangement of claim 26 in which the pressure sensor is embedded between two adhesive surfaces: one affixing the sensor to the back brace and another affixing the sensor to a foam material. Rather, the combination presented by the OA constitutes a hindsight reconstruction lacking a clear teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art to embed the pressure sensor between two adhesive surfaces in the claimed configuration”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen et al. teaches an adhesive surface (5 - see annotated figure 1 above, a pressure sensitive adhesive patch: detailed description) attaching the at least one analogous pressure sensor (3 - see annotated figure 1 above, there is a pressure sensor within the sensor patch [2 - see annotated figure 1 above]: detailed description) to an analogous back brace (1 - see annotated figure 1 above, an orthosis for adolescent idiopathic scoliosis: background technique/utility model content) (see annotated figure 1 above, the adhesive material [5] is on the bottom side of the one pressure sensor [3], which is used to attach the one pressure sensor [3] to the back brace [1]: utility model content) while Vigano’ et al. teaches another adhesive surface attaching the at least one analogous pressure sensor (12/14 - figure 1, a resistive pressure sensors: paragraph 0055) to the foam material (the one pressure sensor [12/14] is associated with a substrate [can be a synthetic foam] that is capable of being worn directly against the skin: paragraph 0018) (the synthetic foam is attached to the upper side of the one pressure sensor [12/14] via an adhesive material applied to the underlying synthetic foam to connect to the upper side of the one pressure sensor [12/14]: paragraph 0018/0021). By combining these references (Embodiment A of Stark et al., Chen et al., and Vigano’ et al.) there is an adhesive layer on both sides of the pressure sensor of Embodiment A of Stark et al.; one adhesive layer from Chen et al. attaches the pressure sensor of Embodiment A of Stark et al. to the back brace of Embodiment A of Stark et al. while the other adhesive layer from Vigano’ et al. attaches the pressure sensor of Embodiment A of Stark et al. to the foam material of Vigano’ et al.). Additionally, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant's arguments, see pages 24-25, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 27 and 38 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered. However, the argument regarding claim 27 is not persuasive while claim 38 has a new rejection in view of Embodiment B of Stark et al. (US 20050043660 A1) in view of DeLuke et al. (US 20150119780 A1) due to the change of scope. Please see argument below regarding claim 27.
Applicant argues “The OA acknowledges that Embodiment A of Stark et al. does not disclose a pressure sensor selected from a resistive pressure sensor, a capacitive pressure sensor, or a sensor with integrated wireless capabilities. The OA relies on Turner for disclosure of pressure sensors with integrated wireless communication capability. Applicants respectfully submit that the cited combination does not render claim 27 obvious because neither reference, individually or in combination, teaches or suggests the selective use of a pressure sensor from the specific group recited in the claim: a resistive sensor, a capacitive sensor, or a sensor with integrated wireless capability. In particular, Embodiment A of Stark does not disclose any detail regarding the sensor technology, let alone a specific type from the claimed group. Turner’s mention of wireless sensors is general and not limited to pressure sensors of the type used in orthopedic braces or patient-wearable systems”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. It was mentioned in Turner that there were pressure sensors that have the ability to transmit data wirelessly (paragraph 0071); this reads on the limitation of the claim because the claim language stated “least one pressure sensor is selected from a resistive pressure sensor, a capacitive pressure sensor, or a sensor with integrated wireless capabilities”. Embodiment A of Stark et al. also disclosed pressure sensors (paragraph 0112); therefore, the sensor of Turner is analogous to the sensor of Embodiment A of Stark et al. Additionally, both devices are used as a back support system.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 25-26, filed 8/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Please see arguments below.
Applicant argues “Embodiment A of Stark is directed primarily to a brace configured to detect spinal curvature and adjust tightness based on pressure sensor data. There is no teaching or suggestion in Embodiment A of Stark that the brace contemplates motion or orientation detection, or any form of biomechanical analysis. The secondary to Kanchan, by contrast, is directed to a sports performance monitoring system that uses IMU data to assess fatigue and athletic activity. The objectives of these references differ significantly. The Examiner has not provided a sufficient rationale that bridges these divergent fields to show why one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate an IMU into the brace of Embodiment A of Stark, particularly given that Embodiment A of Stark does not discuss or suggest movement tracking or fatigue analysis” and “Additionally, Embodiment A of Stark appears to be concerned with reducing unnecessary complexity, particularly for pediatric scoliosis patients, by providing focused pressure feedback to ensure proper brace usage. Adding an IMU, which requires power, processing capabilities, and additional software for orientation/motion interpretation, introduces significant system complexity that is counter to the focus in Embodiment A of Stark. Thus, applicant respectfully submits that Embodiment A of Stark teaches away from such a modification”; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the device of Kachan serves a different purpose compared to the device of Embodiment A of Stark, the IMU used serves a similar purpose of detecting motion on a body (it measures acceleration, angular velocity, and orientation of the body) which can assist in collecting valuable bio-mechanical data of the body (Kachan, paragraph 0040). Additionally, a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Furthermore, we are not persuaded by Applicant’s argument because to teach away, a reference must actually criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the claimed solution. In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (prior art does not teach away from claimed subject matter merely by disclosing a different solution to a similar problem unless the prior art also criticizes, discredits, or otherwise discourages the solution claimed). In this case, there was no passages in Kachan that does so and Applicant does not point to any passage in "Kachan" that in any way criticizes, discredits, or otherwise discourages the use of IMU with a brace to detect spinal curvature and adjust tightness based on pressure sensor data, as taught by Embodiment A of Stark et al. As such, we find that the disclosure of Kachan does not teach away the use of IMU with a brace to detect spinal curvature and adjust tightness based on pressure sensor data from Applicant’s claimed invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 36 objected to because of the following informalities: “more efficiently” should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20, 24, 29-31, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Embodiment A of Stark et al. (US 20050043660 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Embodiment A of Stark et al. discloses a back brace (500 - figure 11, a corrective back orthosis: paragraph 0109) configured to be worn by a patient for treating spinal deformations (the back brace [500] can be used to correct spinal misalignment: paragraph 0034/0109), the back brace (500) comprising: at least one pressure sensor (514 - figure 12, pressure sensors: paragraph 0112) configured to be attached to the back brace (500) at a point of pressure with a body of a patient (figure 12, the one pressure sensor [514] is attached to the back brace [500]; it is located on the bladder [508 - figure 12] to measure the pressure within the bladder [508] that is applied to the body of the patient: paragraph 0110-0112); at least one strap (506 - figure 11/12, straps: paragraph 0109) configured to be tightened for adjusting a pressure at the point of pressure (the one strap [506] can be made to alter the pressure of the bladder [508], which is then applied to the user wearing the back device [500]: paragraph 0091); and a wearable device (516 - figure 11, a control unit: paragraph 0112) configured (a) for being attached to one of an outside of the back brace and inside a cavity formed in the back brace (500) (figure 11, the wearable device [516] is attached to the outside of the back brace [500, facing away from the user]), (b) for processing signals from the at least one pressure sensor (514) (figure 12, the wearable device [516] is connected to the one pressure sensor [514] via wires; the pressure sensors [514] sends measurements to the wearable device [516]: paragraph 0034/0112), (c) for communicating with at least one external computing apparatus (the wearable device [516] communicates with a base station; the base station can download information from the wearable device [516] and vice-versa: paragraph 0112/0114-0119), (d) for informing and guiding in real time and incentivizing a patient to wear the back brace (500) by at least providing indications to the patient for tightening the at least one strap (506) by comparing a pressure value provided by the at least one pressure sensor (514) with at least one calibration value (the microprocessor of the wearable device [516] monitors pressure measured by the one pressure sensor [514] and determines variation in the measured pressure and predetermined desired values [calibrated value]; additionally, the microprocessor can also be interfaced with a graphic display [indication] to provide a graphic analysis of the spinal deterioration and the vectors of the corrective forces used to correct the deterioration. Based on the graphic analysis, the microprocessor can control a release valve to adjust the pressure within the bladder [508, which affects the amount of pressure applied to the user] or the strap [506] can be adjusted to alter the pressure. As a result, this incentivizes the patient to wear the back brace [500] to efficiently correct spinal deformations since physicians have the measurements and analysis: paragraph 0034/0090-0091/0112/0114), and (e) for enabling a doctor to monitor, intervene, and manage the patient and treatment in real time (measurements can be taken in real time and information can be directly be inputted into the wearable device [516]; the information can then be downloaded from the base station to the wearable device [516]; because of this process, it allows the doctor to track the patient’s condition and progress. Furthermore, the control unit can alter the forces within the brace to ensure proper levels of force to correct for unexpected changes in the forces or to alter the forces as a function of time in response to expected changes in spinal curvature: paragraph 0090-0091/0114-0119).
Regarding claim 24, Embodiment A of Stark et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 20. Embodiment A of Stark et al. further discloses wherein the wearable device (516) includes a processor, a memory for storing pressure measurements, and a communication module configured to wirelessly transmit pressure data to the at least one external computing apparatus (the wearable device [516] includes a microprocessor and a communication module [transmitters and receivers] to wirelessly communicate with the base station; it was also implied that the wearable device [516] includes a memory for storage since the wearable device [516] can monitor force/pressure and later be downloaded to a base station: paragraph 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 29, Embodiment A of Stark et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 20. Embodiment A of Stark et al. further discloses wherein the least one pressure sensor (514) comprises a plurality of pressure sensors (figure 12, there are multiple pressure sensors [514]: paragraph 0112) each configured to be attached to the back brace (500) at a point of pressure with the body of a patient (figure 12, each pressure sensor [514] is attached to the back brace via the bladders [508]: paragraph 0111-0112); wherein the at least one strap (506) comprises a plurality of straps (figure 11/12, there are two straps [506]: paragraph 0109) configured to be tightened for adjusting pressures at the respective points of pressure to which the respective plurality of pressure sensors are attached (the microprocessor can control a release valve to adjust the pressure within the bladder [508], which affects the pressure from the back brace [500] onto the user, or the strap [506] can be adjusted to alter the pressure of the back brace [500] depending on the user’s need/fit: paragraph 0034/0091/0112/0114); and wherein the wearable device (516) is configured for informing and guiding in real time and incentivizing the patient to wear the back brace (500) by at least providing indications to the patient for tightening each of the plurality of straps (506) by comparing a corresponding pressure value provided by a corresponding one of the plurality of pressure sensors (514) with a corresponding calibration value (the microprocessor of the wearable device [516] monitors pressure measured by the one pressure sensor [514] and determines variation in the measured pressure and predetermined desired values [calibrated value]; additionally, the microprocessor can also be interfaced with a graphic display [indication] to provide a graphic analysis of the spinal deterioration and the vectors of the corrective forces used to correct the deterioration. Based on the graphic analysis, the microprocessor can control a release valve to adjust the pressure within the bladder [508, which affects the amount of pressure applied to the user] or the strap [506] can be adjusted to alter the pressure. As a result, this incentivizes the patient to wear the back brace [500] to efficiently correct spinal deformations since physicians have the measurements and analysis. Additionally, Embodiment A of Stark et al. discloses that in an initial examination of the patient, measurements are made of deformity parameters as well as normative data on progression of curve shape and resolution patterns needed to design treatment. The above measurements would be considered the calibration value because initial measurements of deformity parameters are inputted into the wearable device [516] in order to correct the spine via location and force of the force applicators. The corrective forces from the force applicator are established according to desired parameters and on initial measurements taken. Furthermore, the control unit can alter the forces within the brace to ensure proper levels of force to correct for unexpected changes in the forces or to alter the forces as a function of time in response to expected changes in spinal curvature via data collected from pressure sensors [514] (paragraph 0034/0090-0091/0112/0114).
Regarding claim 30, Embodiment A of Stark et al. discloses a back brace (500 - figure 11, a corrective back orthosis: paragraph 0109) configured to be worn by a patient for treating spinal deformations (the back brace [500] can be used to correct spinal misalignment: paragraph 0034/0109), the back brace (500) comprising: at least one strap (506 - figure 11/12, straps: paragraph 0109) configured to be tightened to apply corrective pressure to the patient's torso (the one strap [506] can be made to alter the pressure of the bladder [508], which is then applied to the user wearing the back device [500]: paragraph 0091); at least one pressure sensor (514 - figure 12, pressure sensors: paragraph 0112) passively configured to measure a pressure at an area of contact between the back brace (500) and a corresponding pressure point on the patient's torso, without applying force or actuation (the pressure sensors [514] are not applying the force or actuation, it is the force applicators doing that function. The sensors are passively reading the force applied from the force applicators: paragraph 0110-0112); and a wearable device (516 - figure 11, a control unit: paragraph 0112) operatively connected to the at least one pressure sensor (514) (figure 12, the wearable [516] is connected to the one pressure sensor [514] via wires; the pressure sensors [514] sends measurements to the control unit [516]: paragraph 0026/0034/0112) and configured to receive pressure measurements in real time from the at least one pressure sensor (514) and to compare the received pressure measurements with at least one calibration value that corresponds to a target pressure defined by a clinician during an initial fitting of the back brace (500) (Embodiment A of Stark et al. discloses that in an initial examination of the patient, measurements are made of deformity parameters as well as normative data on progression of curve shape and resolution patterns needed to design treatment. The above measurements would be considered the calibration value because initial measurements of deformity parameters are inputted into the wearable device [516] in order to correct the spine via location and force of the force applicators. The corrective forces from the force applicator are established according to desired parameters and on initial measurements taken. Furthermore, the control unit can alter the forces within the brace to ensure proper levels of force to correct for unexpected changes in the forces or to alter the forces as a function of time in response to expected changes in spinal curvature via data collected from pressure sensors [514] (paragraph 0034/0090-0091/0112/0114).
Regarding claim 31, Embodiment A of Stark et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 30. Embodiment A of Stark et al. further discloses wherein the at least one pressure sensor (514) is provided at an inner side of the back brace (figure 11, the one pressure sensor [514] is at the inner side of the back brace [facing the user]) and the control unit (516) is provided on an outer side of the back brace (figure 11, the control unit [516] is attached to the outside of the back brace [500, facing away from the user]).
Claims 36-37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Embodiment B of Stark et al. (US 20050043660 A1).
Regarding claim 36, Embodiment B of Stark et al. discloses a back brace (200 - figure 6, a back orthosis: paragraph 0074) configured to be worn by a patient for efficient management of spine deformation treatments (the back brace [200] is an orthopedic restraining device that allows for passive correction of biological deformities: paragraph 0014), the back brace (200) comprising: at least one pressure sensor (208 - figure 6, a plurality of pressures sensors: paragraph 0075) configured to be attached to the back brace at an area of contact containing a point of pressure to be applied to a corresponding area of a patient's torso for correcting a spinal deformation and/or constraining a spine (figure 5/6, the plurality of pressure sensors [208] are attached to the bladders [206 - figure 6] and the bladders [206] are attached to the back brace [200] that wraps around the user’s torso; the pressure within the bladders [206] reflects the forces exerted by the patient. Therefore, the pressure changes can be used to design a desirable exercise routine to help treat the user’s back and allows the ability to monitor the patient’s compliance with the exercise routing: paragraph 0075/0077); and a wearable device (210 - figure 6, a controller with a microprocessor that functions similarly to the controller of figure 1: paragraph 0063/0075) having a real-time clock module (the wearable device [210] has a real time clock: paragraph 0063), a first memory module (the wearable device [210] has a non-volatile storage: paragraph 0063), a first communication module (the wearable device [210] comprises an interface with port for connection to another computer or to a modem: paragraph 0062), and a first processor (the wearable device [210] has a microprocessor: paragraph 0063) connected to the at least one pressure sensor (208) (figure 6, the wearable device [210] containing the real-time clock module, memory module, and pro