DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 20 January 2026.
Claims 1-17 are amended.
Claims 1-17 are presently pending in this application
Claim Objections
Claims 1-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“blead-back valve” in claims 1-17 is misspelled.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanco (US Patent Publication No. 20080171988 A1), in view of Green et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20050096605 A1), hereinafter Green, Rowe et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20050096605 A1), hereinafter Rowe, and Mitchell et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20160346472 A1), hereinafter Mitchell.
Regarding claim 1, Blanco discloses a bleed-back control valve (Blanco: Fig. 6-9, the valve maintains a seal for preventing backflow of gas and fluids by forming a seal around a surgical tool; para. 0006), comprising: a main valve body (Fig. 6 and 7, comprised of closing valve 10 and seal assembly 30) comprising an inner luminal wall (Fig. 6 as shown, inner luminal wall A) extending from an upstream opening (Fig. 6 as shown, upstream opening U) to a downstream opening (Fig. 6 as shown, downstream opening D), and defining a lumen (Fig. 6 as shown, inner luminal wall A defines a lumen and extends from opening D to U); a downstream conical gasket (Fig. 7 and 10A, first seal 32) having a conical wall (Fig. 10A as shown, conical wall B) comprising a blunted apex (Fig. 10A as shown, blunted apex C) at a downstream end (Fig. 10A as shown, blunted apex C is located towards downstream end) and a base flange (Fig. 10A as shown, base flange H) at an upstream end (Fig. 10A as shown, base flange H is located at upstream end), the conical wall (Fig. 10A as shown, conical wall B) of the downstream conical gasket (Fig. 7 and 10A, first seal 32) being divided through the blunted apex (Fig. 10A as shown, blunted apex C) of the downstream conical gasket (Fig. 7 and 10A, first seal 32); and; an upstream conical gasket (Fig. 7, second seal 32) having a conical wall (Fig. 7 as shown, conical wall F) comprising a blunted apex (Fig. 7 as shown, blunted apex G) at a downstream end (Fig. 7 as shown, blunted apex G located at downstream end) and a base flange (Fig. 10A as shown, base flange E) at an upstream end (Fig. 10A as shown, base flange E is located at upstream end), the conical wall (Fig. 7 as shown, conical wall F) of the upstream conical gasket (Fig. 7, second seal 32) being divided through the blunted apex (Fig. 7 as shown, blunted apex G) of the upstream conical gasket (Fig. 7, second seal 32).
Blanco does not expressly disclose that the conical wall of the downstream conical gasket is divided into a plurality of edge-abutting semi-conical flaps defining seams, and that the conical wall of the upstream conical gasket is divided into a plurality of edge-abutting semi-conical flaps defining seams.
Blanco does not expressly disclose that the base flange of the downstream conical gasket having at least one first registering structure disposed on an upstream surface of the downstream conical gasket; and the base flange of the upstream conical gasket having at least one second registering structure disposed on a downstream surface of the upstream conical gasket complementary to, and thus adapted to engage, the at least one first registering structure disposed on an upstream surface of the downstream conical gasket, wherein the seams of the upstream conical gasket are angularly off-set from the seams of the downstream conical gasket by a predetermined amount.
Blanco does not expressly disclose a sidearm in fluid communication with the lumen and equipped with a three-way stopcock configured to switch fluid communication between the lumen and one of two alternate fluid paths; and a pressure transducer protruding through an opening into a lumen of the sidearm, the pressure transducer being isolatable from fluid communication with the lumen by switching the three-way stopcock.
Green teaches conical walls (Green: Fig. 10, tapered portions 192) of downstream and upstream conical gaskets (Fig. 10, conical retainers 150) divided through blunted apexes (Fig. 10, central apertures 200) into a plurality of edge-abutting semi-conical flaps defining seams (Fig. 10 and 13, triangular portions 194 have slits 196, which show triangular portions 194 abutting each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the valve of Blanco such that the conical wall of the downstream conical gasket is divided into a plurality of edge-abutting semi-conical flaps defining seams, and the conical wall of the upstream conical gasket is divided into a plurality of edge-abutting semi-conical flaps defining seams as taught by Green in order to provide a gas tight and fluid tight seal (Green: para. 0073).
Rowe teaches a base flange (Rowe: Fig. 48, base flange 866) of a downstream conical gasket (Fig. 47 and 48, inner protector member 862) having at least one first registering structure (Fig. 48 and 49, openings 892) disposed on an upstream surface of the downstream conical gasket (Fig. 47-49, openings 892 disposed on upstream surface of inner protector member 862); and a base flange (Fig. 42, base flange 866) of an upstream conical gasket (Fig. 40 and 42, outer protector member 864) having at least one second registering structure (Fig. 42 and 43, stem portions 880) disposed on a downstream surface of the upstream conical gasket (Fig. 42 and 43, stem portions 880 on downstream surface of outer protector member 864) complementary to, and thus adapted to engage, the at least one first registering structure (Fig. 48 and 49, openings 892) disposed on an upstream surface of the downstream conical gasket (stem portions 880 are intended to extend through openings 892; col 13, ln 14-31), wherein seams of the upstream conical gasket (Fig. 40 and 42, outer protector member 864) are angularly off-set from the seams of the downstream conical gasket (Fig. 47 and 48, inner protector member 862) by a predetermined amount (Fig. 43 and 49 as shown, when portions 880 engaged with openings 892, seams of the outer protector member 864 are angularly offset from the X axis shown above from the seams of the inner protector member 862).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Blanco in view of Green such that the base flange of the downstream conical gasket has at least one first registering structure disposed on an upstream surface of the downstream conical gasket; and the base flange of the upstream conical gasket having at least one second registering structure disposed on a downstream surface of the upstream conical gasket complementary to, and thus adapted to engage, the at least one first registering structure disposed on an upstream surface of the downstream conical gasket, wherein the seams of the upstream conical gasket are angularly off-set from the seams of the downstream conical gasket by a predetermined amount as taught by Rowe in order to secure the outer and inner protector members together and allow for more rapid dilation of gaskets (Rowe: col 13, ln 28-31 and col 13, ln 40-43).
Mitchell teaches a sidearm (Mitchell: Fig. 4B, second port 46) in fluid communication with a lumen (Fig. 2, third fluid channel 34 fluidly connects to port 46 to first fluid channel 32 and second fluid channel 33) and equipped with a three-way stopcock (Fig. 4B, stopcock 42 is three-way) configured to switch fluid communication between the lumen (Fig. 2, third fluid channel 34) and one of two alternate fluid paths (Fig. 4B, fourth port 48 and third port 47); and a pressure transducer (Fig. 9, pressure transducer 10) protruding through an opening into a lumen of a sidearm (Fig. 9, pressure transducer 10 protrudes from third port 47, which is open to a lumen second port 46), the pressure transducer (Fig. 9, pressure transducer 10) being isolatable from fluid communication with the lumen (Fig. 2, first fluid channel 32 and second fluid channel 33) by switching a three-way stopcock (Fig. 6B, stopcock 42 can be switched to isolate fluid flow to port 47 leading to pressure transducer 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Blanco in view of Green and Rowe to include a sidearm in fluid communication with the lumen and equipped with a three-way stopcock configured to switch fluid communication between the lumen and one of two alternate fluid paths; and a pressure transducer protruding through an opening into a lumen of the sidearm, the pressure transducer being isolatable from fluid communication with the lumen by switching the three-way stopcock as taught by Mitchell in order to permit different fluid solutions to be alternately injected into a patient with a minimal number of stopcock manipulations while also allowing the pressure transducer to remain in fluid communication with the lumen (Kamen: para. 0008).
Regarding claim 6, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell discloses the valve above, further comprising a mounting groove (Blanco: Fig. 6 and 7, closing portion 36) in the inner luminal wall (Fig. 6 as shown, inner luminal wall A) sized to mountably receive the base flanges (Fig. 10A as shown, base flanges E and H) of the upstream and downstream conical gaskets simultaneously (Fig. 9 and 10, both base flanges E and H of the first and second seal 32 are mounted within closing portion 36).
Regarding claim 7, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell discloses the valve above, wherein one of the two alternate fluid paths comprises a contrast dye inlet (Mitchell: para. 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell such that one of the two alternate fluid paths comprises a contrast dye inlet as taught by Mitchell in order to permit contrast and saline solutions to be alternately injected into a patient vasculature (Mitchell: para. 0008).
Regarding claim 8, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell discloses the valve above, wherein one of the two alternate fluid paths comprises a saline inlet (Mitchell: para. 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell such that one of the two alternate fluid paths comprises a saline inlet as taught by Mitchell in order to permit contrast and saline solutions to be alternately injected into a patient vasculature (Mitchell: para. 0008).
Regarding claim 9, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell discloses the valve above, wherein the pressure transducer (Mitchell: Fig. 9, pressure transducer 10) is in fluid communication with the saline inlet (Fig. 9, saline source 49 is fluid connected to first port 45) and isolatable from fluid communication with the lumen by switching the three-way stopcock (Fig. 4B and 9, stopcock 42 is three-way and can isolate port 45 from fluid communication with the first fluid channel 32 and second fluid channel 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell such that the pressure transducer is in fluid communication with the saline inlet and isolatable from fluid communication with the lumen by switching the three- way stopcock as taught by Mitchell in order to permit contrast and saline solutions to be alternately injected into a patient vasculature (Mitchell: para. 0008).
Regarding claim 10, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell discloses the valve above, further comprising a frustoconical valve seat (Fig. 6-9, seal assembly 30) supportively receiving a downstream surface of the conical wall (Fig. 7-9, conical wall B of first seal 32 received within seal assembly 30) of the downstream conical gasket (Fig. 7-10A, first seal 32), the frustoconical valve seat (Fig. 6-9, seal assembly 30) defining an orifice (Fig. 8 and 9, located at 36) in fluid communication with the lumen (Fig. 6 as shown, inner luminal wall A defines a lumen and extends from opening D to U), wherein the blunted apex (Fig. 10A as shown, blunted apex C) of the downstream conical gasket (Fig. 7-10A, first seal 32) protrudes through the orifice (Fig. 8, blunted apex C of first seal 32 protrudes through orifice located at 36).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanco (US Patent Publication No. 20080171988 A1), in view of Green, Rowe, Mitchell, in further view of Bramwell et al. (US Patent No. 9675792), hereinafter Bramwell.
Regarding claim 2, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell discloses the valve above.
Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell does not expressly disclose the valve further comprising a cylindrical seal disposed upstream of both the upstream and downstream conical gaskets, wherein a central through-hole of the cylindrical seal is aligned and in fluid communication with the lumen.
Bramwell teaches a valve (Bramwell: Fig. 1 and 2, hemostasis mechanism 10) further comprising a cylindrical seal (Fig. 1 and 2, second valve 32), wherein a central through-hole (Fig. 1 and 2, second opening 34) of the cylindrical seal (Fig. 1 and 2, second valve 32) is aligned and in fluid communication with the lumen (Fig. 1, second opening 34 is aligned with passage 26, which is aligned along axis 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell to include a cylindrical seal disposed upstream of both the upstream and downstream conical gaskets, wherein a central through-hole of the cylindrical seal is aligned and in fluid communication with the lumen as taught by Bramwell in order to limit backflow during surgical procedures (Bramwell: col 2, ln 66 – col 3, ln 2).
Regarding claim 3, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, Mitchell, and Bramwell discloses the valve above, further comprising a threaded compression fitting (Bramwell: Fig. 2, first thread 66 and second thread 68) in axially compressive communication with the cylindrical seal (Fig. 2, valve 32) such that compression of the cylindrical seal (Fig. 2, valve 32) is continuously adjustable through turning the threaded compression fitting (col 5, ln 62-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell to include a threaded compression fitting in axially compressive communication with the cylindrical seal such that compression of the cylindrical seal is continuously adjustable through turning the threaded compression fitting as taught by Bramwell in order to form a range of fluid seals without a medical device passing through the cylindrical seal (Bramwell: col 6, ln 22-24).
Regarding claim 4, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, Mitchell, and Bramwell discloses the valve above, wherein the central through-hole (Fig. 4, second opening 34) of the cylindrical seal (Fig. 4, second valve 32) is sized to slidably receive a catheter (catheter 204; col 7, ln 8-52) in an uncompressed state, and to lockably receive a catheter (catheter 204; col 7, ln 8-52) in a compressed state (col 7, ln 8-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell such that the central through-hole of the cylindrical seal is sized to slidably receive a catheter in an uncompressed state, and to lockably receive a catheter in a compressed state as taught by Bramwell in order to prevent backflow and allow a catheter to be inserted through (col 7, ln 27-52).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanco, in view of Green, Rowe, Mitchell, and Bramwell, in further view of Banik et al. (US Patent No. 5256149 A), hereinafter Banik.
Regarding claim 5, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, Mitchell, and Bramwell discloses the valve above.
Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, Mitchell, and Bramwell do not expressly disclose the valve further comprising a threaded mount fixedly co-operable with a mountable needle, cannula, trocar, sheath, or introducer.
Banik teaches a threaded mount (Banik: Fig. 9, threaded distal end 342) fixedly co-operable with a mountable needle (col 7, ln 27-51 and col 8, ln 21-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Banik to include a threaded mount fixedly co-operable with a mountable needle, cannula, trocar, sheath, or introducer as taught by Banik in order to facilitate introducing the device into the body cavity (Banik: col 8, ln 21-55).
Claim 11-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanco (US Patent Publication No. 20080171988 A1), in view of Green et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20050096605 A1), hereinafter Green, Rowe et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20050096605 A1), hereinafter Rowe, Mitchell et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20160346472 A1), hereinafter Mitchell, and Haytman et al. (US Patent No. 6511434), hereinafter Haytman.
Regarding claim 11, Blanco discloses a bleed-back control valve (Blanco: Fig. 6-9, the valve maintains a seal for preventing backflow of gas and fluids by forming a seal around a surgical tool; para. 0006), comprising: a main valve body (Fig. 6 and 7, comprised of closing valve 10 and seal assembly 30) comprising an inner luminal wall (Fig. 6 as shown, inner luminal wall A) extending from an upstream opening (Fig. 6 as shown, upstream opening U) to a downstream opening (Fig. 6 as shown, downstream opening D), and defining a lumen (Fig. 6 as shown, inner luminal wall A defines a lumen and extends from opening D to U); a downstream conical gasket (Fig. 7 and 10A, first seal 32) having a conical wall (Fig. 10A as shown, conical wall B) comprising a blunted apex (Fig. 10A as shown, blunted apex C) at a downstream end (Fig. 10A as shown, blunted apex C is located towards downstream end) and a base flange (Fig. 10A as shown, base flange H) at an upstream end (Fig. 10A as shown, base flange H is located at upstream end), the conical wall (Fig. 10A as shown, conical wall B) of the downstream conical gasket (Fig. 7 and 10A, first seal 32) being divided through the blunted apex (Fig. 10A as shown, blunted apex C) of the downstream conical gasket (Fig. 7 and 10A, first seal 32); and; an upstream conical gasket (Fig. 7, second seal 32) having a conical wall (Fig. 7 as shown, conical wall F) comprising a blunted apex (Fig. 7 as shown, blunted apex G) at a downstream end (Fig. 7 as shown, blunted apex G located at downstream end) and a base flange (Fig. 10A as shown, base flange E) at an upstream end (Fig. 10A as shown, base flange E is located at upstream end), the conical wall (Fig. 7 as shown, conical wall F) of the upstream conical gasket (Fig. 7, second seal 32) being divided through the blunted apex (Fig. 7 as shown, blunted apex G) of the upstream conical gasket (Fig. 7, second seal 32).
Blanco does not expressly disclose that the conical wall of the downstream conical gasket is divided into a plurality of edge-abutting semi-conical flaps defining seams, and that the conical wall of the upstream conical gasket is divided into a plurality of edge-abutting semi-conical flaps defining seams
Blanco does not expressly disclose that the base flange of the downstream conical gasket having at least one first registering structure disposed on an upstream surface of the downstream conical gasket; and the base flange of the upstream conical gasket having at least one second registering structure disposed on a downstream surface of the upstream conical gasket complementary to, and thus adapted to engage, the at least one first registering structure disposed on an upstream surface of the downstream conical gasket, wherein the seams of the upstream conical gasket are angularly off-set from the seams of the downstream conical gasket by a predetermined amount.
Blanco does not expressly disclose a sidearm in fluid communication with the lumen, wherein a confluence joins the sidearm and lumen in fluid communication.
Blanco does not expressly disclose a purge valve disposed near the downstream end of the downstream conical gasket, and disposed upstream of the confluence.
Green teaches conical walls (Green: Fig. 10, tapered portions 192) of downstream and upstream conical gaskets (Fig. 10, conical retainers 150) divided through blunted apexes (Fig. 10, central apertures 200) into a plurality of edge-abutting semi-conical flaps defining seams (Fig. 10 and 13, triangular portions 194 have slits 196, which show triangular portions 194 abutting each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the valve of Blanco such that the conical wall of the downstream conical gasket is divided into a plurality of edge-abutting semi-conical flaps defining seams, and the conical wall of the upstream conical gasket is divided into a plurality of edge-abutting semi-conical flaps defining seams as taught by Green in order to provide a gas tight and fluid tight seal (Green: para. 0073).
Rowe teaches a base flange (Rowe: Fig. 48, base flange 866) of a downstream conical gasket (Fig. 47 and 48, inner protector member 862) having at least one first registering structure (Fig. 48 and 49, openings 892) disposed on an upstream surface of the downstream conical gasket (Fig. 47-49, openings 892 disposed on upstream surface of inner protector member 862); and a base flange (Fig. 42, base flange 866) of an upstream conical gasket (Fig. 40 and 42, outer protector member 864) having at least one second registering structure (Fig. 42 and 43, stem portions 880) disposed on a downstream surface of the upstream conical gasket (Fig. 42 and 43, stem portions 880 on downstream surface of outer protector member 864) complementary to, and thus adapted to engage, the at least one first registering structure (Fig. 48 and 49, openings 892) disposed on an upstream surface of the downstream conical gasket (stem portions 880 are intended to extend through openings 892; col 13, ln 14-31), wherein seams of the upstream conical gasket (Fig. 40 and 42, outer protector member 864) are angularly off-set from the seams of the downstream conical gasket (Fig. 47 and 48, inner protector member 862) by a predetermined amount (Fig. 43 and 49 as shown, when portions 880 engaged with openings 892, seams of the outer protector member 864 are angularly offset from the X axis shown above from the seams of the inner protector member 862).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Blanco in view of Green such that the base flange of the downstream conical gasket has at least one first registering structure disposed on an upstream surface of the downstream conical gasket; and the base flange of the upstream conical gasket having at least one second registering structure disposed on a downstream surface of the upstream conical gasket complementary to, and thus adapted to engage, the at least one first registering structure disposed on an upstream surface of the downstream conical gasket, wherein the seams of the upstream conical gasket are angularly off-set from the seams of the downstream conical gasket by a predetermined amount as taught by Rowe in order to secure the outer and inner protector members together and allow for more rapid dilation of gaskets (Rowe: col 13, ln 28-31 and col 13, ln 40-43).
Mitchell teaches a sidearm (Mitchell: Fig. 4B, second port 46) in fluid communication with a lumen (Fig. 2, third fluid channel 34 fluidly connects to port 46 to first fluid channel 32 and second fluid channel 33), wherein a confluence (Fig. 4B, third channel 34) joins the sidearm (Fig. 4B, second port 46) and lumen (Fig. 2, first fluid channel 32 and second fluid channel 33) in fluid communication.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Blanco in view of Green and Rowe to include a sidearm in fluid communication with the lumen, wherein a confluence joins the sidearm and lumen in fluid communication as taught by Mitchell in order to permit different fluid solutions to be alternately injected into a patient with a minimal number of stopcock manipulations (Mitchell: para. 0008).
Haytman teaches a purge valve (Haytman: Fig. 2, flush valve 27) disposed upstream of a confluence (Fig. 2, flush valve 27 is upstream of network of tunnels P).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell to include a purge valve disposed near the downstream end of the downstream conical gasket, and disposed upstream of the confluence as taught by Haytman in order to purge the assembly of air bubbles (Haytman: col 5, ln 17-21).
Regarding claim 12, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, Mitchell, and Haytman discloses the valve above, wherein the purge valve (Haytman: Fig. 2, flush valve 27) comprises a sealing surface (Fig. 2, sealing plug 29) defined by an orifice (Fig. 2, orifice located at 29; col 5, ln 23-33) in fluid communication with the lumen (Fig. 2, orifice located at 29 is in fluid communication with lumen defined by network of tunnels P; col 5, ln 23-33) and with an exterior of the main valve body (Fig. 2, orifice located at 29 is in fluid communication with outside air assuming sealing plug 29 is lifted), a plug (Fig. 2, sealing plug 29) cooperating with a seat (Fig. 2, valve seat) to form a normally closed seal (col 5, ln 23-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the purge valve of Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell such that the purge valve comprises a sealing surface defined by an orifice in fluid communication with the lumen and with an exterior of the main valve body, a plug cooperating with the seat to form a normally closed seal as taught by Haytman in order to allow manual air bubble flushing (Haytman: col 5, ln 23-33).
Regarding claim 13, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, Mitchell, and Haytman discloses the valve above, where the plug (Haytman: Fig. 2, sealing plug 29) is held in sealing contact with the orifice (Fig. 2, orifice located at 29; col 5, ln 23-33) by a groove (Fig. 2 as shown, groove A holds plug 29 in sealing contact with orifice located at 29; col 5, ln 23-33) in which it is press fitted (plug 44, an alternative embodiment to plug 29, is pressed against valve seat; col 6, ln 5-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the purge valve of Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell such that the plug is held in sealing contact with the orifice by a groove in which it is press fitted as taught by Haytman in order to block flow of liquid through the input bore (Haytman: col 5, ln 23-33).
Regarding claim 14, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, Mitchell, and Haytman discloses the valve above, further comprising a port (Haytman: Fig. 2, input bore 32) located on a side of the purge valve (Fig. 2, flush valve 27), the port (Fig. 2, input bore 32) being closed when the plug (Fig. 2, sealing plug 29) is fully inserted in the groove (Fig. 2 as shown, when sealing plug 29 is full inserted, flow of liquid through input bore 32 is blocked; col 5, ln 23-33), and open when the plug (Haytman: Fig. 2, sealing plug 29) is partially withdrawn from the groove (when sealing plug 29 is raised above the valve seat, input bore 32 is open; col 5, ln 23-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the purge valve of Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell to include a port located on a side of the purge valve, the port being closed when the cap is fully inserted in the groove, and open when the cap is partially withdrawn from the groove as taught by Haytman in order to block flow of liquid through the input bore (Haytman: col 5, ln 23-33) and allow manual air bubble flushing (Haytman: col 5, ln 23-33).
Regarding claim 15, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, Mitchell, and Haytman discloses the valve above, wherein the plug (Haytman: Fig. 5, plug 44) is connected to the valve (Fig. 5, fast-flush valve 43) through a retaining ring (Fig. 6 as shown, retaining ring B of wing-shaped spring 45 connects valve 43 to plug 44) encircling the main valve body (Fig. 6 as shown, retaining ring B of wing-shaped spring 45 encircles cylindrical casing 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the purge valve of Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell such that the plug is connected to the valve through a retaining ring encircling the main valve body as taught by Haytman in order to press the plug into the valve seat (Haytman: col 6, ln 5-12).
Regarding claim 16, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, Mitchell, and Haytman discloses the valve above, wherein the plug (Haytman: Fig. 5, plug 44) is biased to a normally closed position (plug 44 is biased to be closed, as it requires to be manually pulled or moved to open; col 6, ln 5-12) by a spring force generated by an annular member (Fig. 5 and 6, wing-shaped spring 45 presses plug 44 into a closed position; col 6, ln 5-12) surrounding the plug (Fig. 6, wing-shaped spring 45 surrounds the plug) and pushing against an annular interior (Fig. 5, interior of the valve seat; col 6, ln 5-12) of a purge valve housing (Fig. 5, purge valve housing C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the purge valve of Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell such that the plug is biased to a normally closed position by a spring force generated by an annular member surrounding the plug and pushing against an annular interior of a purge valve housing as taught by Haytman in order to press the plug into the valve seat (col 6, ln 5-12).
Regarding claim 17, Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, Mitchell, and Haytman discloses the valve above, further comprising a port (Haytman: Fig. 2, input bore 32) located on a side of the purge valve (Fig. 2, flush valve 27), the port (Fig. 2, input bore 32) being normally closed, and the port (Fig. 2, input bore 32) being open when the plug (Fig. 2, sealing plug 29) is compressed by an upward force applied to a stem (when sealing plug 29 is raised above the valve seat by pulling handle 31, input bore 32 is open; col 5, ln 23-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the purge valve of Blanco in view of Green, Rowe, and Mitchell to include a port located on a side of the purge valve. the port being normally closed, and the port being open when the plug is compressed by an upward force applied to a stem as taught as taught by Haytman in order to block flow of liquid through the input bore (Haytman: col 5, ln 23-33) and allow manual air bubble flushing (Haytman: col 5, ln 23-33).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the valve of Blanco is not a bleed-back valve.
The valve of Blanco maintains a seal for preventing backflow of gas and fluids by forming a seal around a surgical tool (para. 0006), therefore, is a bleed-back control valve. The specification does not require the “blunted apex” be closed.
Applicant also argues that the “blunted apex” of claim 1 and 11 is reasonably clear, and that the examiner’s interpretation of the term is inconsistent with the disclosure.
The applicant appears to argue that the single embodiment of the “blunted apex” present in the specifications and drawings applies to the limitations of the claims. Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. A particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). It is an improper requirement to make of the examiner to interpret the definition of a term through the description of the drawings alone. Therefore, the examiner’s interpretation of the “blunted apex” is consistent with its plain meaning to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention; therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/LEI GONZALEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783