DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dionne US20130266396 (hereinafter, Dionne) in view of Matthews US5564875 (hereinafter, Matthews).
Regarding claim 1, A vibration resistant fastening system for attaching a working surface to a threaded stud, the stud extending longitudinally through a hole defined through the working surface, the fastening system comprising:
a nut (512, see Fig. 13A) comprising a forward annulus (516, see Fig. 13A), a rearward head (Head, as indicated in annotated Fig. 13A), and a staged interior bore (refer to interior bore as seen in Fig. 13A) extending longitudinally through the head and annulus, the head including a threaded interior 514 for engaging the threaded stud, the threaded interior of the head defining a rearward section (opposite end from the head section) of the staged bore, wherein the annulus comprises:
an exterior including a cylindrical portion abutting and extending longitudinally forward from the head, and a tapered portion (see tapered annulus 516 in Fig. 13B) extending longitudinally forward from the cylindrical portion;
a second smooth cylindrical interior wall (SSC, as indicated in annotated Fig. 13A) defining an intermediate section of the staged bore extending within the annulus forward of the rearward section of the staged bore defined by the threaded interior of the head (see Fig. 13A); and
multiple slots (534, see Fig. 13A), extending longitudinally along the annulus, each defined through the annulus from the exterior thereof to the stage bore (see Fig. 13A).
Dionne in the same embodiment fails to teach, “an exterior including a cylindrical portion abutting and extending longitudinally forward from the head”.
However, Dionne in different embodiment teaches an assembly (see Figs. 18-20) having an exterior including a cylindrical portion (CP, as indicated in annotated Fig. 18) extending longitudinally forward from the head (H, as indicated in annotated Fig. 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention for the embodiment shown in Fig. 13A to have a cylindrical portion as taught in embodiment Fig. 18 to have slip resistive contact with the collar, whereas tapered portion tend to slip compared to smooth cylindrical portion.
Further, Dionne fails to teach a first smooth cylindrical interior wall defining a forward section of the staged bore forward of the second smooth cylindrical interior wall, wherein the first smooth cylindrical interior wall has a greater inner diameter than that of the second smooth cylindrical interior wall, wherein the second smooth cylindrical interior wall has a greater length longitudinally than the first cylindrical interior wall, and wherein portion of the annulus defining at least a portion of the first smooth cylindrical interior wall is configured to swage outward.
Matthews teaches a locking fastener 10 comprising a nut like outer member 32 having a first smooth cylindrical interior wall (FSCW, as indicated in annotated Fig. 2) defining a forward section of the staged bore 38 forward of the second smooth cylindrical interior wall (SSCW, as indicated in annotated Fig. 2), wherein the first smooth cylindrical interior wall has a greater inner diameter than that of the second smooth cylindrical interior wall (see Fig. 2), wherein the second smooth interior wall has a greater length longitudinally than the first cylindrical interior wall (see Fig. 2), and where portion of the annulus defining at least a portion of the first smooth cylindrical wall is configured to swage outward (see portion 40 flexing away outwardly).
It is the Examiner’s position that it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the interior wall of the nut in Dionne to have first smooth and second smooth cylindrical interior wall as disclosed by Matthews so the first smooth surface flares out to rotatably retains the other connection members to the nut (see column 5, lines 11-31).
Further, Dionne modified by Matthews meets the structural limitation where the first smooth interior wall has a greater diameter than the second smooth interior wall causing end portion to flex outward effectively (see Fig. 2).
Furthermore, Dionne modified by Matthews meets the structural limitation where the length of the second smooth interior wall is greater than the first smooth interior wall so the second smooth surface is comparatively stronger and able to withstand pressure from tightening of the bolt, whereas first smooth interior wall is short in length aiding press fit with the connecting element for effective outward flare (see column 5, lines 11-32).
Annotated Fig. 13A
Annotated Fig. 18
Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding claim 2, Dionne in view of Matthews teaches he vibration resistant fastening system of claim 1, wherein Dionne further teaches the multiple slots (see multiple cutouts (534) in Fig. 13A) extend from a forward end (towards bottom end in Fig. 13A) of the annulus to the head, such that the annulus is divided into part-annular portions (refer to Fig. 13A for part-annular portions).
Regarding claim 3, Dionne in view of Matthews teaches the vibration resistant fastening system of claim 1, but with embodiment shown in Fig. 13A fail to teach wherein the multiple slots include exactly two diametrically opposed slots.
However, Dionne in different embodiment as shown in Fig. 3 teaches similar assembly where multiple slots include exactly two diametrically opposed slots (34, see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify slots from three to two diametrically opposed slot to minimize the flex point for improved biasing force.
Regarding claim 4, Dionne in view of Matthews teaches the vibration resistant fastening system of claim 1, wherein Dionne further teaches the exterior of the annulus (1016, see Fig. 18) further comprises a cylindrical forward terminal end portion (TE, as indicated in annotated Fig. 18) extending longitudinally forward from the tapered portion.
Regarding claim 5, Dionne in view of Matthews teaches the vibration resistant fastening system of claim 4, wherein Dionne modified by Matthews teaches the first smooth cylindrical interior wall (see Matthews as established in claim 1 above) that defines a forward section of the stage bore (see bore 38) extends longitudinally along the terminal end portion of the annulus and a forward portion of the tapered portion of the annulus (see tapered portion of the annulus 516 in Fig. 13A of Dionne).
Regarding claim 8, Dionne in view of Matthews teaches the vibration resistant fastening system of claim 1, but in the embodiment, Fig. 13A fails to teach further comprising a collar for distributing force from the nut to the working surface, the collar comprising:
a forward end including an annular forward contact surface for contacting the working surface around the hole through which the stud extends; and
a rearward end including an annular rearward contact surface for contacting a forward contact surface of the head of the nut.
However, Dionne in embodiment in Fig. 3 teaches a collar (24, see Fig. 3) for distributing force from the nut to the working surface, the collar comprising:
a forward end (forward end, as indicated in annotated Fig. 3) including an annular forward contact surface (contact surface, as indicated in annotated Fig. 3) for contacting the working surface around the hole through which the stud extends; and
a rearward end (rear end, as indicated in annotated Fig. 3) including an annular rearward contact surface (refer to the annular contact surface seen in Fig. 4) for contacting a forward contact surface of the head of the nut.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have used the collar as taught in embodiment Fig. 3 with the nut as taught in embodiment Fig. 18 for deflecting the annulus into fixed engagement with the shank upon tightening of the nut about a working surface.
Annotated Fig. 3
Regarding claim 9, Dionne in view of Matthews teaches the vibration resistant fastening system of claim 8, wherein advance of the annulus into the collar causes tensional force in the bolt to apply clamping force to the working surface (The Examiner interprets the claim 9 to be method steps, see claim 1 of Dionne).
Regarding claim 10, Dionne in view of Matthews teaches the vibration resistant fastening system of claim 8, wherein, upon advance of the annulus into the collar, the annulus contacts an interior ring (32, see Fig. 4) of the collar as the nut is turned on the threaded stud and undergoes an inward deflection due to a radial force applied by the collar to the annulus (claim 10 is considered method steps, see claims 9-10 of Dionne).
Regarding claim 11, Dionne in view of Matthews teaches the vibration resistant fastening system of claim 10, wherein the forward contact surface (CS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 3) of the head (H) of the nut 12 is annular and planar (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Dionne in view of Matthews teaches the vibration resistant fastening system of claim 8, wherein the forward contact surface of the head of the nut extends laterally outward relative to the exterior cylindrical portion of the annulus (refer to the head of the nut 12 in Fig. 3 extending outward and larger than the annulus 16).
Regarding claim 13, Dionne in view of Matthews teaches the vibration resistant fastening system of claim 8, wherein an entirety of the forward contact surface of the collar transfers tensional force applied by the stud to compressional force upon the working surface around the hole through which the stud extends (Claim 13 is considered a method step, refer to claims 9 and 17 of Dionne for similar purpose of the collar).
Regarding claim 14, Dionne in view of Matthews teaches the vibration resistant fastening system of claim 8, wherein Dionne further teaches the collar further comprises an interior ring (32, see Fig. 4) extending inward to engage the annulus of the nut in use.
Regarding claim 15, Dionne in view of Matthews teaches the vibration resistant fastening system of claim 1, wherein the nut further comprises a flange (F, as indicated in annotated Fig. 13A) intermediate, and extending laterally outward relative to, the annulus and head (see Fig. 13A).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dionne in view of Matthews, in further view of Cosenza US3702628 (hereinafter, Cosenza).
Regarding claim 16, Dionne in view of Matthews teaches the vibration resistant fastening system of claim 1, but fail to teach wherein the exterior of the annulus further comprises a tapered forward terminal end portion extending longitudinally forward from said tapered portion, such that the annulus has a forward staged outer taper.
However, Cosenza teaches similar Lock Nut Member where the exterior of the annulus (65, see Fig. 8) further comprising a tapered forward terminal end portion (forward terminal end portion, as indicated in annotated Fig. 8) extending longitudinally forward from the tapered portion (tapered portion, as indicated in annotated Fig. 8), such that the annulus has a forward state outer taper (forward state outer taper, as indicated in annotated Fig. 8).
As evidenced above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify terminal end of the Dionne to have tapered terminal forward end as taught by Cosenza for easy assembly as tapered end makes it easier to guide the annulus into the through hole of the nut.
Annotated Fig. 8
Regarding claim 17, Dionne in view of Matthews teaches the vibration resistant fastening system of claim 16, Cosenza further teaches the forward terminal end portion has a first taper angle (a2, as indicated in annotated Fig. 8.1); said tapered portion has a second taper angle (a2, as indicated in annotated Fig. 8.1); and the second taper angle is less than the first taper angle (refer to the angle a2 which is smaller than the angle a1).
Annotated Fig. 8.1
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/05/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5 and 8-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new and/or existing Prior Art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US9322426 (Thomas) discloses a nut and sleeve fastener where a fastener includes a nut 12 having a threaded bore 16, annular camming surface 26, a posterior portion 24. Further, Fig. 6 discloses a prior art nut having a first and second smooth interior wall (see Fig. 6).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIL K. MAGAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675