Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 18-29, 31-38 and 41-43 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)or 102(e) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over US20120082839(US’839).
Regarding claims 18,19, and 25 - 26, US’839 discloses formed building materials comprising a sequestered CO2. The building materials include a composition comprising a carbonate/bicarbonate component. The carbonate compound compositions include precipitated crystalline and/or amorphous carbonate compounds See abstract and [0096].US’898 discloses the making of sequestered-CO2 components [0095-0097] in application 12/344,019 (0022-0028) which discloses a carbon dioxide gas contacted with carbonic acid that yields a bicarbonate rich product with a pH of 8-9 followed by a reaction with metal cations yielding a sequestered carbon dioxide carbonate. As for reflective microcrystalline/amorphous material having a visible light reflectance ranging from 50% to 99%. it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the alternative, although the prior art combination does not disclose the claimed properties, the claimed properties are deemed to naturally flow from the structure in the prior art combination, since the prior art combination teaches an invention with a substantially similar structure and chemical composition as the claimed invention. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise. Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully submits that the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the substantial ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Regarding claim 20, as for the crystalline size, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claims 21-22, the sequestered-CO2 component further comprises calcium, magnesium, or a combination thereof. See [0009].
Regarding claims 23-24, the sequestered-CO2 component may be combined with water and other additional components, which may include, but are not limited to clay, shale, soft slate, calcium silicate, quarried stone, Portland cement, fly ash, slag, metakaolin, cement, aggregate (e.g., blast furnace slag, bottom ash, gravel, limestone, granite, sand, etc.), silica fume and pozzolans. See [0038].
Regarding claim 27, US’839 disclosure of the preparation of sequestered-CO2 components [0095-0097] is described in application 12/344,019 (0022-0028).The disclosures do not expressly disclose the specific bicarbonate rich product that comprises droplets of a liquid condensed phase (LCP) in a bulk liquid. However, the LCP is an inherent function of an identical method and conditions of the reaction. where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 28-29, US’839 disclosure of the preparation of sequestered-CO2 components [0095-0097] is described in application 12/344,019 (0022-0028). The limitations of the claim are inherent, US’839 disclosure of the preparation of sequestered-CO2 components [0095-0097] is described in application 12/344,019 (0022-0028). where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claims 31-32, US’839 discloses TiO2 pigment. See [0051].
Regarding claims 33-34, 38 and 42, US’839 discloses cementation material (reads on solid and granular). See [0035].
Regarding 35-37, US '839 discloses the process of forming building materials comprising sequestered CO2 carbonate. The building material is in the form of tiles,] fiber-cement sidings, which are then applied to the surface of roofs and to exterior structures. The sequestered carbonate is applied to the tile/sidings formation. The formation includes a homogenous mixture that would inherently yield at least a portion of the carbonate on the surface of the tile/siding. The sequestered carbonate material is used to reduce carbon emission via reduced lighting demands due to the high albedo of the material, See abstract; [0003]; [0043]; [0058]; and [0007].
Regarding claim 41, US '839 discloses the composition comprising silicon. See [0126].
Regarding claim 43, US '839 discloses the process of forming building materials comprising sequestered CO2 carbonate. The building material is in the form of tiles,] fiber-cement sidings, which are then applied to the surface of roofs and to exterior structures. The sequestered carbonate is applied to the tile/sidings formation. The formation includes a homogenous mixture that would inherently yield at least a portion of the carbonate on the surface of the tile/siding. The sequestered carbonate material is used to reduce carbon emission via reduced lighting demands due to the high albedo of the material, See abstract; [0003]; [0043]; [0058]; and [0007].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that cited paragraph 95 of Ha refers to "a variety" of different methods that can be used to synthesize the cited CO2-sequestering components. Skilled artisans would recognize that a variety of methods could different in several important parameters, such at time, temperature, concentrations, particle sizes, and other features. Therefore, simply referring to "various" procedures does not necessarily indicate that the claimed 50% to 99% visible light reflectance would also necessarily occur in the methods of Ha.
The Examiner respectfully submits that US’839 disclosure of the preparation of sequestered-CO2 components [0095-0097] is described in application 12/344,019 (0022-0028). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Furthermore, a reference is not limited to the teaching in its preferred embodiment (A reference is good not only for what it teaches but also for what one of ordinary skill might reasonably infer from the teachings. In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (CAFC 1989); In re Bode USPQ 12; In re Lamberti 192 USPQ 278; In re Bozek 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969); In re Van Mater 144 USPQ 421; In re Jacoby 135 USPQ 317; In re LeGrice 133 USPQ 365; In re Preda 159 USPQ 342 (CCPA 1968). In addition, "A reference can be used for all it realistically teaches and is not limited to the disclosure in its preferred embodiments" See In re Van Marter, 144 USPQ 421).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731