Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 18-38 and 41-42 in the reply filed on 09/12/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-38 and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “highly” in claims is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “highly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the microcrystalline component" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 18-38 and 41-42 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)or 102(e) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over US20120082839(US’839).
Regarding claims 18,19, and 25 - 26, US’839 discloses formed building materials comprising a sequestered CO2. The building materials include a composition comprising a carbonate/bicarbonate component. The carbonate compound compositions include precipitated crystalline and/or amorphous carbonate compounds See abstract and [0096].
US’898 discloses the making of sequestered-CO2 components [0095-0097] in application 12/344,019 (0022-0028) which discloses a carbon dioxide gas contacted with carbonic acid that yields a bicarbonate rich product with a pH of 8-9 followed by a reaction with metal cations yielding a sequestered carbon dioxide carbonate.
As for the highly reflective microcrystalline/amorphous material, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 20, as for the crystalline size, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claims 21-22, the sequestered-CO2 component further comprises calcium, magnesium, or a combination thereof. See [0009].
Regarding claims 23-24, the sequestered-CO2 component may be combined with water and other additional components, which may include, but are not limited to clay, shale, soft slate, calcium silicate, quarried stone, Portland cement, fly ash, slag, metakaolin, cement, aggregate (e.g., blast furnace slag, bottom ash, gravel, limestone, granite, sand, etc.), silica fume and pozzolans. See [0038].
Regarding claim 27, US’839 disclosure of the preparation of sequestered-CO2 components [0095-0097] is described in application 12/344,019 (0022-0028).The disclosures do not expressly disclose the specific bicarbonate rich product that comprises droplets of a liquid condensed phase (LCP) in a bulk liquid. However, the LCP is an inherent function of an identical method and conditions of the reaction. where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 28-30, US’839 disclosure of the preparation of sequestered-CO2 components [0095-0097] is described in application 12/344,019 (0022-0028). The limitations of the claim are inherent US’839 disclosure of the preparation of sequestered-CO2 components [0095-0097] is described in application 12/344,019 (0022-0028). where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claims 31-32, US’839 discloses TiO2 pigment. See [0051].
Regarding claims 33-34, 38 and 42, US’839 discloses cementation material (reads on solid and granular). See [0035].
Regarding 35-37, US '839 discloses the process of forming building materials comprising sequestered CO2 carbonate. The building material is in the form of tiles,] fiber-cement sidings, which are then applied to the surface of roofs and to exterior structures. The sequestered carbonate is applied to the tile/sidings formation. The formation includes a homogenous mixture that would inherently yield at least a portion of the carbonate on the surface of the tile/siding. The sequestered carbonate material is used to reduce carbon emission via reduced lighting demands due to the high albedo of the material, See abstract; [0003]; [0043]; [0058]; and [0007].
Regarding claim 41, US '839 discloses the composition comprising silicon. See [0126].
Conclusion
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731