Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitations “the RMC, PMS, public power grid, or a combination of at least two thereof”, in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For purposes of examination, they will be understood to be –a PMS, an RMC, a public power grid or a combination of at least two thereof--. Clarification is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitations "the PMS" and “the RMC” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim. For purposes of examination, they will be understood to be –a PMS-- and –a RMC--. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7- 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Buescher (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/ 0200168).
Regarding claim 1, Buescher discloses an apparatus comprising:
a relay system (Buescher, elements 56, 224, figs. 3A, 3B, 10A, 10B, “relay output and driver”) operably connected to selectively control availability of operational power and measurement power to a water heater, characterized by a plurality of states (Buescher, ¶¶100-109, describing different states of the two heaters being selectively on and off, thus describing a plurality of states);
an electric parameter measurement unit (EPMU) (Buescher, monitoring module 320 with current sensor 322) operably connected to detect a state of the plurality of states by measuring an electrical parameter corresponding to power delivered to the water heater;
a processor (logic device) (microcontroller core, 304 inside control module 204, figs. 3A, 3B, fig. 11) operably connected to the EPMU and the relay to be effective to control operation of the relay, based on a signal from the EPMU reflecting the state of the water heater (at least ¶106, 109, where the current sensor indicates usage and which heating element is energized, thus reflecting a state of the water heater).
Regarding claim 2, Buescher discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above and further discloses, an apparatus wherein:
the plurality of states includes an "off' state, a "lower on" state, and an "upper on" state (Buescher, ¶¶106-109, figs. 10A-10B, these are the states indicated by the upper heating element being energized, the lower heating element being energized, or no element being energized); and
the electrical parameter is selected from a current (Buescher, ¶107, current), voltage, power, capacitance, resistance and a combination of at least two thereof.
Regarding claim 4, Buescher discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above and further discloses wherein the water heater comprises a self-control system including the upper thermostat and lower thermostat, operable to selectively direct power to an upper heating element and a lower heating element by mechanically responding to temperature in the water heater (Buescher, ¶101, temperature sensor 234) .
Regarding claim 5, Buescher discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further disclose wherein the state is detected by at least one of a [power monitoring system] PMS (monitoring current is indicative of power) and an [resistance measuring circuit] RMC measuring an electrical parameter reflecting the state of the water heater.
Regarding claim 7, Buescher discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above and further discloses a device wherein the relay is a double throw relay (Buescher, ¶0099, “double throw relay”).
Regarding claim 8, Buescher discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above and further discloses a device wherein the relay (226) is connected to an operating pole in each of a first throw position and second throw position whether connected to power or not.
Regarding claim 9, Buescher discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above and further discloses a device comprising a PMS capable of monitoring power from a public utility grid and measuring the electric parameter corresponding to the water heater (¶¶85, 107) .
Regarding claim 10, Buescher discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above and further discloses a device wherein power to the water heater is provided from the RMC, PMS, public power grid (Buescher, ¶0085) or a combination of at least two thereof.
Regarding claim 11, Buescher discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above and further discloses a device wherein the relay controls both electrical connectivity of the water heater to a source of power and to a device for measurement of parameters reflecting a state of the water heater.
Regarding claim 13, Buescher discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above and further discloses wherein power at any time is sent into the water heater substantially directly and exclusively from only one of 1) the PMS (¶85 for monitoring, ¶106 for the parameter), and 2) the RMC.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buescher (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/ 0200168) in view of Miller (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0116817) .
Regarding claim 3, Buescher discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a device wherein: the relay is operably connected to one of a capacitor circuit (¶0015, When the relay is open, a DC voltage is generated across capacitor 504) , a triac circuit, and a resistance measurement circuit, but does not further teach the apparatus is configured to be capable of measuring the electric parameter when the water heater is in an off state;
However, Miller teaches the apparatus is configured to be capable of measuring the electric parameter when the water heater is in an off state (Miller, fig. 3, 0005,0032, detection even if there is no current flowing via a detector module that senses current, even if no current flows through element; signal indicates there is no current). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Buescher with the teachings of Millar, to measure the electric parameter, even in the off state, to make sure that that everything is working properly, and that there is no surge or malfunction (Miller, ¶25, even when there is supposed to be no current). This would then be continuous monitoring of the heating elements, whether or not current was going through them to make sure everything was in working order and all the relays are working properly.
Claim(s) 6, 12, 14- 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buescher (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/ 0200168) in view of in view of Dagan (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/ 0169960).
Regarding claim 6, Buescher teaches all the limitations of claim 5, as above, but does not further teach, wherein detection is accomplished by detecting a singularity or discontinuity in the time derivative of the electrical parameter. However, Dagan teaches such a detection method (Dagan, ¶0024), and he does this through an RMC[resistance measuring circuit], which is recited in claim 5. While claim 5 claims the PMS and the RMC in the alternative, and Buescher has the PMS, for the purposes of this claim, an RMC of Dagan is combined with Buescher. The advantage would be to check the status of the boiler, if there is a disconnection in the infrastructure, or if the heating body is out of order, and here the discontinuity or singularity would be infinite resistance or no resistance depending on the status. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Buescher with the teachings of Dagan, to add metering a resistance of the circuit, in order to help determine disconnections in the infrastructure, or if the heating body is out of order, and here the discontinuity or singularity would be infinite resistance or no resistance depending on the status.
Regarding claim 12, Buescher discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not disclose a device wherein the apparatus includes connections between components thereof admitting only two options for power to the water heater comprising a trickle power incapable of operating the water heater, and operating power capable of heating water in the water heater. However, Dagan does teach with its RMC, one comprising a trickle power incapable of operating the water heater, and operating power capable of heating water in the water heater (¶0024, circuit voltage of between 3.3V to 12V; ¶0080, circuit check state). While Buescher has a current detector, for the purposes of this claim, an RMC of Dagan is combined with Buescher. The advantage would be to check the status of the boiler, if there is a disconnection in the infrastructure, or if the heating body is out of order, and here the test power would be “trickle power” not capable of activating the heater. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Buescher with the teachings of Dagan, to add the trickle power, in order to help determine disconnections in the infrastructure, checking the circuit, or if the heating body is out of order.
Regarding claim 14, Buescher discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not disclose a device wherein the relay is operably connected to provide two modes of operation including a first, operational power delivery mode, and a second, test power delivery, mode. However, Dagan teaches a device wherein the relay is operably connected to provide two modes of operation including a first, operational power delivery mode, and a second, test power delivery, mode (¶0024, circuit voltage of between 3.3V to 12V; ¶0080, circuit check state). While Buescher has a current detector, for the purposes of this claim, an RMC of Dagan is combined with Buescher. The advantage would be to check the status of the boiler, if there is a disconnection in the infrastructure, or if the heating body is out of order, and here the discontinuity or singularity would be infinite resistance or no resistance depending on the status. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Buescher with the teachings of Dagan, to add the trickle power, in order to help determine disconnections in the infrastructure, checking the circuit, or if the heating body is out of order.
Regarding claim 15, Buescher in view of Dagan teaches all the limitations of claim 14, as above, but does not further teach a device wherein the relay is configured to provide the two modes each individually and exclusively at any given time. However, Dagan does teach these modes (Dagan, ¶0080), and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to have these two modes, so that, either the device is being powered, or it is being checked to make sure that it can be powered should the circumstances arise, if hot water needs to be drawn, meaning by otherwise doing a circuit check to make sure the circuit is properly working and all the heating elements are in proper working order.
Regarding claim 16, Buescher in view of Dagan teaches all the limitations of claim 14, as above, but does not further teach a device wherein the relay is configured to provide the two modes simultaneously. However, Dagan does teach these modes (Dagan, ¶0080), and it would have been obvious to have these modes work simultaneously, for instance if the power is energizing the upper heating element, and the circuit check is checking the lower heating element, or vice versa, so make sure the whole device is in proper working order should any configuration of heaters being energized be needed.
Regarding claim 17, Buescher in view of Dagan teaches all the limitations of claim 14, as above, but does not further teach a device wherein: the relay is configured to provide two modes of operation, including 1) a power mode providing operational power and test power simultaneously to the water heater, 2) a test mode providing test power only to the water heater. However, Dagan teaches these modes, and it would be obvious to have them work simultaneously, for instance if the power is energizing the upper heating element, and the circuit check is checking the lower heating element, or vice versa, so make sure the whole device is in proper working order should any configuration of heaters being energized be needed, or to have the whole device being tested, so that when any element is turned on, it is sure to be in working order.
Regarding claim 18, Buescher discloses a method comprising:
providing a controller (Buescher, 204), operable to connect to a water heater, and comprising a relay system (Buescher, 226, 224), (Buescher, 107-109, measuring current is monitoring power), and processor (Buescher, control module 12 has a processor ¶38), operably interconnected to selectively control availability of power directed to a water heater characterized by a plurality of states (Buescher, figs. 10A, 10B, ¶¶106-109);
switching, by the relay, operational power, capable of heating water in the water heater (switching, via 224, 226 and 228);
instructing, by the processor, the relay to disconnect the operational power to the water heater (the power gets alternatively disconnected);
instructing the relay, by at least one of the PMS, RMC, and processor, to provide operational power to the water heater (Buescher, ¶¶106-109, power to the upper or lower heater).
Buescher does not disclose a resistance measuring circuit (RMC), nor
providing testing power to the water heater by at least one of the relay system, the PMS, and the RMC;
detecting, by the PMS a parameter reflecting the testing power and a response of the water heater to the testing power; and
determining, by the processor, a state of the water heater, based on a value of the parameter.
However, Dagan teaches an RMC (Dagan, ¶0024, circuit voltage of between 3.3V to 12V; ¶0080, circuit check state). And through this, it would be “providing testing power to the water heater by at least one of the relay system, the PMS, and the RMC”, and the PMS would detect any signal from the test, though it would not be capable of activating the heater, and then the processor would determine the status of the device, whether it is on or capable of being used based on both the PMS current detection and the RMC resistance detection. While Buescher has a current detector, for the purposes of this claim, an RMC of Dagan is combined with Buescher. The advantage would be to check the status of the boiler, if there is a disconnection in the infrastructure, or if the heating body is out of order, and here there would be a testing power. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Buescher with the teachings of Dagan, to add the trickle power, in order to help determine disconnections in the infrastructure, checking the circuit, or if the heating body is out of order and the status of all the heaters..
Regarding claim 19, Buescher in view of Dagan teaches all the limitations of claim 18, as above, but does not further teach a method comprising switching, by the relay between an operational power mode passing operational power to the water heater and a testing power mode passing testing power, orders of magnitude less than the operational power through the relay to the water heater. However, Dagan does teach that the testing circuit is a low voltage DC circuit for the circuit check state while (¶¶0082,0109) the operating power of the AC power source is high power (2000 W, ¶0104). Thus, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the testing power substantially lower than the power operational power, even by order s of magnitude, in order to jet be testing the circuit but to be sure not to activate any heater and it would also be obvious to have both these powers move through the relays, to test the different heating elements and the different parts of the circuit.
Regarding claim 20, Buescher in view of Dagan teaches all the limitations of claim 18, as above, but does not further teach a method comprising providing the operational power from the PMS, and the testing power from the RMC (PMS from Buescher provides the operational power, and the RMC, combined from Dagan, uses a testing power, and this is all in the previous combination).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892.
/LAWRENCE H SAMUELS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761