Per the interview dated 17/576995, this action is made Non-Final.
Claim 10 is withdrawn by the examiner. Applicant made the election of Group 1, directed to the embodiment in figures 1-15B, with traverse, in the response dated 10/09/2024 is acknowledged, and the examiner responded in the office action dated 12/18/2024.
It is noted that applicant continue to assert that all claims of this instant applicant have priority back to 14/675983 dated 04/01/2015.
Applicant is noted of the following sections from the MPEP:
211.05 Sufficiency of Disclosure in Prior-Filed Application [R-01.2024]
A claim is not required in a provisional application. However, for a claim in a later filed nonprovisional application to be entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the provisional application, the written description and drawing(s) (if any) of the provisional application must adequately support and enable the subject matter of the claim in the later filed nonprovisional application. If a claim in the nonprovisional application is not adequately supported by the written description and drawing(s) (if any) of the provisional application (as in New Railhead), that claim in the nonprovisional application is not entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the provisional application. If the filing date of the earlier provisional application is necessary, for example, in the case of an interference or to overcome a reference, care must be taken to ensure that the disclosure filed as the provisional application adequately provides (1) a written description of the subject matter of the claim(s) at issue in the later filed nonprovisional application, and (2) an enabling disclosure to permit one of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the claimed invention in the later filed nonprovisional application without undue experimentation.
B. Claiming the Benefit of Nonprovisional Applications
The disclosure of a continuation application must be the same as the disclosure of the prior-filed application; i.e., the continuation must not include anything which would constitute new matter if inserted in the original application. See MPEP § 201.07. The disclosure of a divisional application must be the same as the disclosure of the prior-filed application, or include at least that portion of the disclosure of the prior-filed application that is germane to the invention claimed in the divisional application. See MPEP § 201.06. The disclosure of a continuation or divisional application cannot include anything which would constitute new matter if inserted in the prior-filed application. A continuation-in-part application may include matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application. See MPEP § 201.08. Only the claims of the continuation-in-part application that are disclosed in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) in the prior-filed application are entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the prior-filed application. If there is a continuous chain of copending nonprovisional applications, each copending application must disclose the claimed invention of the later-filed application in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) in order for the later-filed application to be entitled to the benefit of the earliest filing date. See Regents of the University of Minnesota v. Gilead Scis., Inc., 61 F.4th 1350, 1358, 1360, 2023 USPQ2d 269 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (affirming the PTAB's decision in an inter partes review proceeding and holding that the patentee was not entitled to rely on the earlier filing dates of two nonprovisional applications and a provisional application because the prior-filed applications did not provide sufficient written description to support the invention claimed in the challenged patent).
Under 35 U.S.C. 120, a claim in a U.S. application is entitled to the benefit of the filing date of an earlier filed U.S. application if the subject matter of the claim is disclosed in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) except for the best mode requirement, in the earlier filed application. See, e.g., Tronzo v. Biomet, Inc., 156 F.3d 1154, 47 USPQ2d 1829 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Scheiber, 587 F.2d 59, 199 USPQ 782 (CCPA 1978). A claim in a subsequently filed application that relies on a combination of prior applications may not be entitled to the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 since 35 U.S.C. 120 requires that the earlier filed application contain a disclosure which complies with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) except for the best mode requirement for each claim in the subsequently filed application. Studiengesellschaft Kohle m.b.H. v. Shell Oil Co., 112 F.3d 1561, 1564, 42 USPQ2d 1674, 1677 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
A claim in the later-filed application is not entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the prior-filed application if the disclosure of the prior-filed application does not enable one skilled in the art to "use" the claimed invention. See In re Hafner, 410 F.2d 1403, 1406, 161 USPQ 783, 786 (CCPA 1969) ("[T]o be entitled to the benefits provided by [35 U.S.C. 120 ], the invention disclosed in the "previously filed" application must be described therein in such a manner as to satisfy all the requirements of the first paragraph of [35 U.S.C.] 112, including that which requires the description to be sufficient to enable one skilled in the art to use the [invention].").
Where the prior application (a nonprovisional application) is found to be fatally defective because of insufficient disclosure to support allowable claims, a later-filed application filed as a "continuation-in-part" of the first application to supply the deficiency is not entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the first application. Hunt Co. v. Mallinckrodt Chemical Works, 177 F.2d 583, 587, 83 USPQ 277, 281 (2d Cir. 1949) and cases cited therein. Any claim in a continuation-in-part application which is directed solely to subject matter adequately disclosed under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application is entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the parent nonprovisional application. However, if a claim in a continuation-in-part application recites a feature which was not disclosed or adequately supported by a proper disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application, but which was first introduced or adequately supported in the continuation-in-part application, such a claim is entitled only to the filing date of the continuation-in-part application. See, e.g., In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 36 USPQ2d 1089 (Fed. Cir. 1995); Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994); In re Van Lagenhoven, 458 F.2d 132, 136, 173 USPQ 426, 429 (CCPA 1972).
By way of further illustration, if the claims of a continuation-in-part application which are only entitled to the continuation-in-part filing date "read on" published, publicly used or sold, or patented subject matter (e.g., as in a genus-species relationship) a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 would be proper.
PRIORITY ANALYSIS
Note the disclosure of 14/675983, 15/454255 regarding the battery:
[0002]…Furthermore, currently available luggage and baggage solutions do not effectively incorporate features that are important to the modern traveler, most notably a battery charger, GPS, speakers or similar electrical or power sources, which have become essential with the ever increasing reliance on mobile electronics.
[0023] According to an embodiment of the present invention, the second bag module is an electronic device module selected from a group of electronic devices modules consisting of a speaker for connecting to external or internal audio device, media player, geolocation device, digital display screen, electronic ink display, a power source, or battery charger.
[0073] According to an embodiment of the present invention, a modular travel bag that can be assembled into a customized configuration based on the requirements of given trip or activity. In a preferred embodiment, the modular travel bag may be comprised of various bag modules, each of which are comprised of a main body portion with a first end a second end, one or more access means on the main body portion, and one or more module connection means. In alternate embodiments, the modular travel bag may include fewer or additional components and features depending upon the intended use of the bag. Optional components include, but are not limited to (i) a garment rolling guide bar or garment rolling sheet, (ii) straps, handles, and other carrying elements; (iii) wheels, rollers, and similar means for carrying, reshaping or moving the modular bag; (iv) hangers, hooks, and similar elements for hanging the bag and; (v) supplemental storage compartments that are formed on or attached to the main body portion of the bag module (vi) electronic devices; and (vii) power source devices.
[0076] … In other embodiments, a bag module may be solid and function as an electrical, digital or power source device.
[0094] According to an embodiment of the present invention, one or more of the bag modules may be a power module. In a preferred embodiment, possible power modules could include, but are not limited to batteries, photovoltaic chargers, piezoelectric or kinetic chargers, or any other portable energy device or similar power source that could be used to power electrical components of the modular bag or to charge a user's electronic devices. As an illustrative example, the power module could be used to power lights, speakers, digital screens or other electrical components that are incorporated into the modular bag. Similarly, the power module could be used to charge or provide power to external devices such as mobile computing devices, portable hair dryers, electric razor, or other electrical devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that a power module would have numerous possible uses and benefits, and 20 embodiments of the present invention are contemplated to take advantage of any such possible use or benefit.
[0096] According to some embodiments of the present invention, one or more of the bag modules may be an electronic or digital module. In one embodiment, the electronic module may be a speaker for connecting to external or internal audio devices, a media player, a GPS geolocation device, a digital screen, or an electronic ink display. As an illustrative example, the electronic module could be used to provide a mobile multi-media platform for presentations via various connected display screens and speakers. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that a power module would have numerous possible uses and benefits, and embodiments of the present invention are contemplated to take advantage of any such possible use or benefit.
FIG. 10 D shows an exemplary embodiment of a solid module 102 that can act as a power source 131 for an electronic device, such as a battery, audiovisual device (e.g. speakers or a display element) or geolocation element (e.g. GPS system).
Claim 1:
1
A modular bag comprising:
Disclosed in parent case.
2
a luggage comprising a longitudinal axis,
Disclosed in parent case.
3
a main body,
Disclosed in parent case.
4
a side wall,
Disclosed in parent case.
5
a storage cavity formed inside of said main body,
Disclosed in parent case.
6
a locking mechanism that secures the access to said storage cavity located at said side wall, one or more opening that provides access to said storage cavity, and
Disclosed in parent case.
7
wheels;
There is no specific embodiment that a luggage with a battery being used in a wheeled luggage. New matter to the parent case.
8
a detachable portable battery;
Disclosed in parent case.
9
a securing element which is used to detachably secure said detachable portable battery and said luggage; and
Disclosed in parent case.
10
an adjustable carrying element that is connected to the luggage at a first attachment point that is part of said securing element detachably secures the battery and the luggage;
There is no specific embodiment of an adjustable carrying element that is connected to the luggage at a first attachment point that is part of said securing element detachably secures the battery and the luggage;
New matter to the parent case.
11
wherein said adjustable carrying element is further connected with the luggage at an additional second attachment point that is different than the first attachment point;
Disclosed in parent case.
12
wherein said longitudinal axis of the luggage is defined by a first longitudinal end point at one end of said longitudinal axis and by a second longitudinal end point at the opposite end of said longitudinal axis;
Disclosed in parent case.
13
wherein the opening that provides access to said storage cavity spans substantially the entire length of the longitudinal axis of the luggage;
Disclosed in parent case.
14
wherein said luggage and said detachable portable battery are configured to provide a detachable connection between the battery and the luggage;
Disclosed in parent case.
15
wherein said detachable connection will cause said detachable portable battery to become aligned with and connected to one of said longitudinal end points of said luggage;
Disclosed in parent case.
16
wherein said storage cavity of the luggage can be accessed without the need of removing the detachable portable battery from the luggage;
Disclosed in parent case.
17
wherein said detachable portable battery slides into the luggage in the direction of the longitudinal axis of the luggage by directly fitting via a side wall of the detachable portable battery;
There is no specific embodiment that a luggage battery being slides into the luggage in the direction of the longitudinal axis of the luggage by directly fitting via a side wall of the detachable portable battery. New matter to the parent case.
Also, not enable to one of ordinary skill in the art, 112(a) or 112, 1st in the parent case.
18
wherein, when said detachable portable battery completely slides into said luggage,
There is no specific embodiment that a luggage battery being completely slides into the luggage. New matter to the parent case. Also, not enable to one of ordinary skill in the art, 112(a) or 112, 1st in the parent case.
19
the overall size of the resulting modular bag is no larger than the overall size of the single said luggage; and
There is no specific embodiment that the overall size of the resulting modular bag is no larger than the overall size of the single said luggage.
20
wherein each of the luggage and the detachable portable battery is capable of functioning independently.
Disclosed in parent case.
Claim 2
a front housing of said main body;
a rear housing of said main body;
an openable lid system connected to said securing element and comprised of
a lid and an opening that is configured to introduce said detachable portable battery into said luggage; and
a battery housing fixture located below said openable lid system that is configured to accommodate inside said detachable portable battery when it completely slides into said luggage;
wherein said battery housing fixture comprises said connector consisting of springs that acts as an ejection mechanism
wherein, if said detachable portable battery is inside said battery housing fixture, said ejection mechanism ejects said detachable portable battery when a user opens said openable lid;
wherein said openable lid system is located in an aperture formed at said rear housing of the luggage; and
wherein said lid opens said aperture by the action of a user.
There is no disclosure in the parent case for
an openable lid system connected to said securing element and comprised of
a lid and an opening that is configured to introduce said detachable portable battery into said luggage; and
a battery housing fixture located below said openable lid system that is configured to accommodate inside said detachable portable battery when it completely slides into said luggage;
wherein said battery housing fixture comprises said connector consisting of springs that acts as an ejection mechanism
wherein, if said detachable portable battery is inside said battery housing fixture, said ejection mechanism ejects said detachable portable battery when a user opens said openable lid;
wherein said openable lid system is located in an aperture formed at said rear housing of the luggage; and
wherein said lid opens said aperture by the action of a user.
Claim 3
1
A modular bag comprising:
Disclosed in parent case.
2
a luggage comprising a longitudinal axis,
Disclosed in parent case.
3
a main body,
4
a side wall,
Disclosed in parent case.
5
a storage cavity formed inside of said main body,
Disclosed in parent case.
6
one or more opening that provides access to said storage cavity located at said side wall, and
Disclosed in parent case.
7
a locking mechanism that secures said opening, and
Disclosed in parent case.
8
wheels;
There is no specific embodiment that a luggage with a battery being used in a wheeled luggage. New matter to the parent case.
9
a detachable portable battery
Disclosed in parent case.
10
an adjustable carrying element
Disclosed in parent case.
11
a module connector that reversibly connects said detachable portable battery and said luggage
Disclosed in parent case
12
wherein said module connector is part of an attachment point that is connected to said carrying element;
There is no specific embodiment in which the module connector connecting the detachable portable battery is part of an attachment point that is connected to said carrying element;
13
wherein said carrying element further connects with the luggage at an additional point of connection;
Disclosed in parent case
14
wherein said additional point of connection is different than said attachment point
Disclosed in parent case
15
wherein the opening that provides access to said storage cavity spans substantially the entire length of the longitudinal axis of the luggage;
Disclosed in parent case
16
wherein the storage cavity of the luggage can be accessed without the need of removing the detachable portable battery from the luggage;
Disclosed in parent case.
17
wherein the detachable portable battery is able to be removed without the need to open said opening of said luggage;
Disclosed in parent case.
18
wherein said detachable portable battery is able to slide into said module connector directly fitting at said module connector via a side wall of the detachable portable battery; and
There is no disclosure in the parent case that the detachable portable battery is able to slide into said module connector directly fitting at said module connector via a side wall of the detachable portable battery
19
wherein each of the luggage and the detachable portable battery is capable of functioning independently.
There is no disclosure how the portable battery is capable of functioning independently.
Claim 4 recites at least some features similar to claim 2 and does not have priority back to the parent case.
Claim 21 recites a front and a rear housing hinged together, creating said storage cavity; and wherein said adjustable carrying element is a collapsible pull handle that is part of a telescoping handle system that acts as said attachment point and also as said adjustable carrying element and wherein said telescoping handle system comprises: an attachment accessory with an exterior and an interior surface, and a battery opening; at least one telescopically-extendable rod comprising a top-end; said collapsible pull handle connected to said telescopically-extendable rod at said top-end; a battery housing fixture that is substantially hollow that is connected to said inside surface of the attachment accessory, and that is configured to accommodate said detachable portable battery inside said battery housing fixture; an ejection mechanism comprising said spring connector and mounted within said battery housing fixture; and a lid that opens by the action of a user, that is connected to said battery opening, and that provides access for said detachable portable battery to fit inside said battery housing fixture; wherein said telescoping handle system is mounted within said rear housing of the luggage; wherein said telescoping handle system is connected to said luggage by said attachment accessory; wherein said telescoping handle system is further connected to said luggage at an additional point of connection that is different than said attachment accessory. These features in claim 21 do not have priority back to the parent case.
Other claims dependent on claims 2, 3, and 21 do not have priority back to the parent case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The recitation “wherein said lid is opened, said lid automatically closes down without the need for an action from a user” contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art. The specification recites that
“Additionally, the securing element (134) automatically closes, when the user is not keeping it manually opened, due to a spring system (172) that automatically closes the securing element (134) and the connected lid (171).”
The disclosure shows portion of the lid 171 pushed on via a user to open the lid and then the lid engage with portion 134 to allow the ejection of the battery (fig. 13), when the spring restore to the position in fig. 12, it seems that the lid would stop at the position in fig. 12 unless a user actively interact to fully close the lid, and there is no automatically closes down of the lid without the need for an action from a user the lid.
.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-19, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
In claim 1, line 5 “the access” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 1, line 17 and claim 22, line 3 “the opening” lacks proper antecedent basis. In line 6 claim 1 recites “one or more opening” so it’s unclear to which opening “the opening” refers.
In claim 2, line 10 “said connector” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 3, lines 4 and 15 “the opening” lacks proper antecedent basis. In line 3 claim 3 recites “one or more opening” so it’s unclear to which opening “the opening” refers.
In claim 4, line 20 it is unclear which opening “said opening” refers to since claim 3 recites “one or more opening “in line 3 and claim 4 recites “an opening” in line 5.
Regarding claim 15, regarding the limitation “a space created between said attachment accessory and said rear housing of said luggage”, the disclosed attachment accessory is portion 126, by the specification, which is a part of the rear housing of the luggage and attach to the rear housing. It seems this limitation contradict the disclosure.
In claim 21, line 15 “said spring connector” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 21 recites “said telescoping handle system is connected to said luggage by said attachment accessory” and “an additional point of connection that is different than said attachment accessory.” Claim 21 depends from claim 3 so it is unclear if the “attachment point that is connected to said carrying element” and “an additional point of connection” in claim 3 are the same or different than the elements recited in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
SET 1:
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN204426982, note filing date Dec. 26, 2014), or in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of O’Shea et al. (5782325).
The utility model claims a mobile power supply trunk, wherein it comprises a box body, a fixing device and a replaceable power supply part, a fixing device is equipped with a pull rod, a fixed lock and a fixing groove, a replaceable power supply component is set with dust-proof cover, a plurality of standard USB charging interface, a charging indicating lamp, a power indicating lamp, a slot containing box, rechargeable battery. The utility model has advantages as follows: the utility model of charging interface and charging, are set outside the luggage, can be performed without opening the luggage case to finish the charging operation.
The utility model technical solution is as follows: a kind of mobile power supply trunk, wherein it comprises a box body, a fixing device and a replaceable power supply part, a fixing device is equipped with a pull rod, a fixed lock and a fixing groove, a replaceable power supply component is set with dust-proof cover, a plurality of standard USB charging interface, a charging indicating lamp, a power indicating lamp, a slot containing box, rechargeable battery.
As shown in picture 2, picture 1, picture 3, the utility model comprises a component box 1, a fixing device 2, a pull rod 4, a fixing groove 5, fixing lock 6, a dustproof cover 7, multiple slot positions container 8, handle 9, gap 10, an electric quantity indication lamp (11), a charging indication lamp 12, a standard USB charging interface 13, fixed locking 14, charging interface fixing groove 15, a wire 16, a rechargeable battery 17.
the replaceable power supply unit is fully charged, is placed in the fixing groove of the fixing device, the replaceable power supply unit after the fixed lock will automatically fix the power component, preparation work is finished.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Wang teaches a modular bag comprising: a luggage comprising a longitudinal axis, a main body, a side wall, a storage cavity formed inside of said main body, (fig. 1) a locking mechanism that secures the access to said storage cavity located at said side wall, one or more opening that provides access to said storage cavity, wheels (fig. 1); a detachable portable battery (fig. 3); a securing element which is used to detachably secure said detachable portable battery and said luggage (at portion 2 cited as fixing element); and an adjustable carrying element (4) that is connected to the luggage at a first attachment point that is part of said securing element detachably secures the battery and the luggage; wherein said adjustable carrying element is further connected with the luggage at an additional second attachment point that is different than the first attachment point (note that portion 2 are connected at a plurality of points including first and second attachment points);wherein said longitudinal axis of the luggage is defined by a first longitudinal end point at one end of said longitudinal axis and by a second longitudinal end point at the opposite end of said longitudinal axis; wherein the opening that provides access to said storage cavity spans substantially the entire length (note the luggage inherently has an opening substantially the entire length of the luggage) of the longitudinal axis of the luggage; wherein said luggage and said detachable portable battery are configured to provide a detachable connection between the battery and the luggage (at 6); wherein said detachable connection will cause said detachable portable battery to become aligned with and connected to one of said longitudinal end points of said luggage; wherein said storage cavity of the luggage can be accessed without the need of removing the detachable portable battery from the luggage; wherein the detachable portable battery is able to be removed without the need to open said opening of said luggage (as cited above); wherein said detachable portable battery slides into the luggage in the direction of the longitudinal axis of the luggage by directly fitting via a side wall of the detachable portable battery; wherein, when said detachable portable battery completely slides into said luggage, the overall size of the resulting modular bag is no larger than the overall size of the single said luggage (note that the battery is completely inside portion 5 by the two depression portion 10); and wherein each of the luggage and the detachable portable battery is capable of functioning independently (as cited above). Note that the luggage inherently has a locking mechanism (e.g. a zipper closure) extending the the entire longitudinal length of the luggage.
In the alternative, O’shea teaches that it is known in the art to provide a locking mechanism (zipper 18) extending the entire opening longitudinal length of the luggage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a zipper closure extending the entire opening longitudinal length of the luggage to enable one to access the contents easily.
SET 2:
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hughes (20140076679).
[0040] FIGS. 10 and 11 show the housing 242 of one embodiment of the present invention, which may include a plurality of bores 256 for operably receiving the telescoping members 248. Counter from traditional briefcases, which use individual sleeves associated with the back surface of the briefcase to accommodate telescoping members, the housing of one embodiment of the present invention is positioned at or near the center of the briefcase and includes at least one storage cavity 260 positioned between the bores. The storage cavity 260 may be accessible through an opening in the upper surface as shown in FIG. 11. Alternatively, an opening may be provided in the inner surface 264 of an interior storage compartment, for example, the second storage compartment 218''. In this example, a first storage compartment 218', second storage compartment 218'', third storage compartment 218'' and a front storage compartment 218'' are shown. One of skill in the art will appreciate, however, that the number and size of the storage compartments do not have to be symmetrical wherein the housing 242 is offset from center without departing from the scope of the invention. The storage cavity 260 is designed to accommodate various items. For example, computer peripheral items, i.e., power cords, extra batteries, and the like can be stored.
[0041] The storage cavity in FIG. 11 is designed to accommodate an integral or removable power source 268. It is contemplated that users on long business trips may need additional power to charge or run laptop computers, cell phones, and other devices. Thus this provides the storage a power source 268 that includes at least a DC interface 272 and a USB interface 276. Those of skill in the art will appreciate that other interfaces may be employed without departing from the scope of the invention. In some embodiments of the present invention, the power source may be removed such that the storage cavity can also be used to store items, if desired. Removal of the power source may be desirable to meet FAA/TSA regulations. Again, the power source may be inserted into the storage cavity via an opening associated with the top surface of the housing 242, or an opening in the inner surface 264 of the second storage compartment 218'' as shown in FIG. 10.
Regarding claim 3, Hughes teaches a luggage comprising a longitudinal axis, a main body, a side wall, a storage cavity formed inside of said main body, one or more opening that provides access to said storage cavity located at said side wall, and a locking mechanism that secures said opening (zippers), and wheels, a detachable portable battery (power source 268);
an adjustable carrying element (handle 214); and a module connector that reversibly connects said detachable portable battery and said luggage (being the storage cavity) wherein said module connector is part of an attachment point that is connected to said carrying element (242); wherein said carrying element further connects with the luggage at an additional point of connection (note the handle in Hughes connect at a second point 9 at dash line in fig. 14); wherein said additional point of connection is different than said attachment point; wherein the opening that provides access to said storage cavity spans substantially the entire length of the longitudinal axis of the luggage (note one of the opening with peripheral zipper); wherein the storage cavity of the luggage can be accessed without the need of removing the detachable portable battery from the luggage; wherein the detachable portable battery is able to be removed without the need to open said opening of said luggage; wherein said detachable portable battery is able to slide into said module connector directly fitting at said module connector via a side wall of the detachable portable battery; and wherein each of the luggage and the detachable portable battery is capable of functioning independently.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes (20140076679) in view of Nikao (4146682) or Wang (CN204426982). Regarding claim 1, Hughes teaches a modular bag comprising: a luggage comprising a longitudinal axis, a main body, a side wall, a storage cavity formed inside of said main body, (fig. 11) a locking mechanism (zippers) that secures the access to said storage cavity located at said side wall, one or more opening that provides access to said storage cavity, wheels; a detachable portable battery (268); and an adjustable carrying element (4) that is connected to the luggage at a first attachment point that is part of said securing element detachably secures the battery and the luggage; wherein said adjustable carrying element is further connected with the luggage at an additional second attachment point that is different than the first attachment point (note that portion 2 are connected at a plurality of points including first and second attachment points); wherein said longitudinal axis of the luggage is defined by a first longitudinal end point at one end of said longitudinal axis and by a second longitudinal end point at the opposite end of said longitudinal axis; wherein the opening that provides access to said storage cavity spans substantially the entire length (note the luggage has an opening substantially the entire length of the luggage by the zipper structure) of the longitudinal axis of the luggage; wherein said luggage and said detachable portable battery are configured to provide a detachable connection between the battery and the luggage (cited above); wherein said detachable connection will cause said detachable portable battery to become aligned with and connected to one of said longitudinal end points of said luggage; wherein said storage cavity of the luggage can be accessed without the need of removing the detachable portable battery from the luggage; wherein the detachable portable battery is able to be removed without the need to open said opening of said luggage (as cited above via 272/276); wherein said detachable portable battery slides into the luggage in the direction of the longitudinal axis of the luggage by directly fitting via a side wall of the detachable portable battery; wherein, when said detachable portable battery completely slides into said luggage, the overall size of the resulting modular bag is no larger than the overall size of the single said luggage; and wherein each of the luggage and the detachable portable battery is capable of functioning independently (as cited above). Note that the luggage inherently has a locking mechanism (a zipper closure) extending the entire longitudinal length of the luggage.
Hughes does not teach a securing element which is used to detachably secure said detachable portable battery and said luggage,
Nakao or teaches that it is known in the art to provide a removable battery structure with a securing element at 6/9 and Wang teaches a securing element at 6 (cited above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a securing element as taught by Nakao or Wang to keep battery secured.
SET 3:
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Majess (12114748 based on 63/144452 dated 02/01/2021).
Trolley Bridge area 700, thereby releasing the force of the spring-loaded battery cradle 500 which moves the battery 460 upwards and through the battery opening 702 (similar in effect to toast popping up from a toaster.) When the Battery Latch 310 is thus released the upper part of the battery 460 is above the battery opening 702 in the Bridge area 700 and the battery 460 can be grasped and removed by the user. Insertion of the Battery 460 back into the battery holding area or holder 480 and resuming normal battery 460 functions is accomplished by a reversal of these actions.
Regarding claim 1, Majess teaches a modular bag comprising a luggage comprising a longitudinal axis, a main body (Fig. 1A-1D), a side wall, a storage cavity formed inside of said main body, a locking mechanism that secures the access to said storage cavity located at said side wall, one or more opening that provides access to said storage cavity, a handle, and wheels; a detachable portable battery (460); a securing element (310); wherein said longitudinal axis of the luggage is defined by a first longitudinal end point at one end of said longitudinal axis and by a second longitudinal end point at the opposite end of said longitudinal axis; wherein the opening that provides access to said storage cavity spans substantially the entire length of the longitudinal axis of the luggage; wherein said luggage and said detachable portable battery are configured to provide a detachable connection between the battery and the luggage; wherein said detachable connection will cause said detachable portable battery to become aligned with and connected to one of said longitudinal end points of said luggage, wherein said storage cavity of the luggage can be accessed without the need of removing the detachable portable battery from the luggage, wherein the detachable portable battery is able to be removed without the need to open said opening of said luggage; wherein said detachable portable battery completely slides into the luggage in the direction of the longitudinal axis of the luggage by directly fitting via a side wall of the detachable portable battery; wherein, when said detachable portable battery completely slides into said luggage, the overall size of the resulting modular bag is no larger than the overall size of the single said luggage; and wherein each of the luggage the detachable portable battery is capable of functioning independently.
Regarding the new limitation, note that Majess teaches an adjustable carrying element (retractable handle) that is connected to the luggage at a first attachment point (at 700) that is part of said securing element detachably secures the battery and the luggage; wherein said adjustable carrying element is further connected with the luggage at an additional second attachment point that is different than the first attachment point (fig. 2-3);
Regarding claim 3, Majess teach a luggage comprising a longitudinal axis, a main body, a side wall, a storage cavity formed inside of said main body, one or more opening that provides access to said storage cavity located at said side wall, and a locking mechanism that secures said opening (fig. 5A), and wheels; a detachable portable battery (460); an adjustable carrying element (retractable handle); and a module connector (7C) that reversibly connects said detachable portable battery and said luggage; wherein said module connector is part of an attachment point (700) that is connected to said carrying element; wherein said carrying element further connects with the luggage at an additional point of connection (figs 2 and 3 lower area of the handle); wherein said additional point of connection is different than said attachment point; wherein the opening that provides access to said storage cavity spans substantially the entire length of the longitudinal axis of the luggage (note the lid of the opening in fig. 5A); wherein the storage cavity of the luggage can be accessed without the need of removing the detachable portable battery from the luggage; wherein the detachable portable battery is able to be removed without the need to open said opening of said luggage; wherein said detachable portable battery is able to slide into said module connector directly fitting at said module connector via a side wall of the detachable portable battery; and wherein each of the luggage and the detachable portable battery is capable of functioning independently.
Claims 2, 4, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Majess (12114748 based on 63/144452 dated 02/01/2021).
Regarding claim 2, note a front housing of said main body; a rear housing of said main body; an openable lid system (300) connected to said securing element and comprised of a lid and an opening that is configured to introduce said detachable portable battery into said luggage; and a battery housing fixture (at 480) located below said openable lid system that is configured to accommodate inside said detachable portable battery when it completely slides into said luggage; wherein said battery housing fixture comprises said connector consisting of springs (510) that acts as an ejection mechanism; wherein, if said detachable portable battery is inside said battery housing fixture, said ejection mechanism ejects said detachable portable battery when a user opens said openable lid; wherein said openable lid system is located in an aperture formed at said rear housing of the luggage; and wherein said lid opens said aperture by the action of a user.
Regarding claim 4, note a front housing of said main body, a rear housing of said main body; an openable lid system located at said attachment point and comprised of a lid and an opening that is configured to introduce said detachable portable battery into said luggage; and a battery housing fixture (480) located at said attachment point and below said openable lid system; wherein said battery housing fixture is configured to act as said module connector that reversibly connects the detachable portable battery and the luggage by accomodating said detachable portable battery inside said battery housing fixture; wherein said springs (510) of said module connector are located at the bottom of said battery housing fixture, acting as an ejection mechanism; wherein, if said detachable portable battery is inside said battery housing fixture, said ejection mechanism ejects said detachable portable battery when a user opens said openable lid; wherein said openable lid system is located in an aperture formed at said rear housing of the luggage; and wherein said lid opens said opening by the action of a user.
Regarding claim 22 note the lid of the openable lid system 300 slides in a substantially perpendicular direction of the longitudinal axis of the luggage, and when said lid slides, it exposes the opening that is configured to introduce said detachable portable battery.
Regarding claim 23, note wherein said lid is connected to said securing element that detachably secure said detachable portable battery and said luggage, and to a spring-biased system (312) that opens and closes said securing element when said lid is opened by the user.
Claims 6, 8, 9, 11-17, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majess ‘899 as set forth above, and further in view of Sadow (6298964) or Chen (5323886) or Russo (7036641).
Regarding claim 21, note the main body comprises a front and a rear housing hinged together (fig. 3), creating said storage cavity; and wherein said collapsible pull handle is part of a telescoping handle system that acts as said attachment point and also as said carrying element and wherein said telescoping handle system comprises; at least one telescopically-extendable rod comprising a top-end; said collapsible pull handle connected to said telescopically-extendable rod at said top-end; a battery housing fixture that is substantially hollow that is connected to said inside surface of the attachment accessory, and that is configured to accommodate said detachable portable battery inside said battery housing fixture; an ejection mechanism comprising said spring connector and mounted within said battery housing fixture; and a lid that opens by the action of a user, that is connected to said battery opening, and that provides access for said detachable portable battery to fit inside said battery housing fixture wherein said telescoping handle system is mounted within said rear housing of the luggage; wherein said telescoping handle system is connected to said luggage by said attachment accessory; wherein said telescoping handle system is further connected to said luggage at an additional point of connection (DI) that is different than said attachment accessory. Note that Majess teaches handle by itself in fig. 1G. Majess is silent on the two detachable connection on the handle and the handle comprises an attachment accessory.
Russo teaches a handle having an attachment accessory (42) with connection at