DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitations “gantries is disposed” in line 19.
It is suggested the limitations be amended to read --gantries are disposed--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitations “plurality of pickers is operable simultaneously” in line 20.
It is suggested the limitations be amended to read -- plurality of pickers are operable simultaneously --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10,13-27 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poliner (US 2006/0217836 A1) in view of Londo (US 8,057,756).
Referring to claim 1. Poliner discloses a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) for storing and dispensing a plurality of items (t-shirts; see Abstract), the dispenser comprising:
a cabinet (100; Figure 1);
a plurality of storage cells (120 including 122a upper tier and 122b bottom tier; Figure 2 and 4) located in the cabinet, each of the plurality of storage cells (120) having a generally vertical axis (vertical axis extending the length of 174 as shown in Figure 4) and configured for storage of a respective vertical stack of items (126a), having a respective topmost item (top article of the stack in the upper and bottom tiers), wherein the topmost item (top article of the stack in the upper and bottom tiers) from each of the plurality of storage cells (120; Figure 2) is at a common vertical position relative to a base of the cabinet (common vertical position of the top most article is the vertical position of top most article on the top of the stack in the upper tier and the bottom tier with respect to the base; thus the articles in the upper tier are at a common height with respect to the base and the articles in the bottom tier are at a common height with respect to the base; also see dispenser in Figure 10 wherein all the storage cells 20 are disposed on one tier) and
atop the respective vertical stacks of items (126a);
at least one dispensing outlet (108);
an article delivery system (130; Figure 4) configured to retrieve the topmost item (see articles 126a being removed in Figure 4 and 5) from at least two of the plurality of storage cells (two articles can be removed simultaneously by the article retrieval systems 140 and 142 may be activated during a single dispensing operation; Para. [0096]) and deliver the topmost items to the dispensing outlet (108), the article delivery system (130) including a plurality of pickers (140 and 142) which are operable simultaneously (Each of the article retrieval systems 140 and 142 may be activated during a single dispensing operation.; Para. [0096]) to retrieve the topmost items (126a) from the at least two of the plurality of storage cells (cell 122a in the upper tier and cell 122b in the bottom tier);
a user interface unit (102) accessible to a user of the dispenser; and
an on-board processing unit (on-board processing unit; Para. [0109]) configured to control the article delivery system (cause dispensing; Para. [0109]), the on-board processing unit (on-board processing unit; Para. [0109]) being in electrical communication with the article delivery system and the user interface unit (connected to the article delivery system to be controlled by the user interface unit by a user).
Poliner first embodiment as shown in Figure 4 does not disclose the dispenser
wherein the topmost item from each of the plurality of storage cells is at a common vertical position relative to a base of the cabinet.
Poliner second embodiment as shown in Figure 11 disclose the dispenser
wherein the topmost item (20) from each of the plurality of storage cells (22) is at a common vertical position relative to a base of the cabinet (see common height of the stacks in the dispenser of Figure 11).
Poliner does not disclose the dispenser comprising a plurality of gantries equal in number to the plurality of pickers, wherein each of the plurality of pickers is movably mounted to a respective one of the plurality of gantries, wherein the plurality of gantries is disposed superjacent to the common vertical position.
Poliner does not disclose the dispenser comprising a plurality of gantries equal in number to the plurality of pickers, wherein each of the plurality of pickers is movably mounted to a respective one of the plurality of gantries, wherein the plurality of gantries is disposed superjacent to the common vertical position.
Londo discloses a sampling probe gripper interface (20; Figure 1) wherein a plurality of gantries (34) equal in number to the plurality of pickers (picker tips extending from gantries 34; Figure 1), wherein each of the plurality of pickers (picker tips extending from gantries 34; Figure 1) is movably mounted to a respective one of the plurality of gantries (34), wherein the plurality of gantries (34) is disposed superjacent to the common vertical position (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Poliner to include a plurality of gantries equal in number to the plurality of pickers, wherein each of the plurality of pickers is movably mounted to a respective one of the plurality of gantries, wherein the plurality of gantries are disposed superjacent to the common vertical position as taught by Londo because a plurality of grippers mounted on a plurality of gantries would allow article dispensing simultaneously thus increasing the speed of dispensing articles.
Referring to claim 2. Poliner discloses a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) for storing and dispensing a plurality of items (t-shirts; see Abstract),
wherein each of the plurality of pickers (140 and 142) is arranged in parallel (arm portion of 140 and 142 are disposed parallel in the horizontal direction see Figure 4) with one another and situated atop the common vertical position (pickers 140 and 142 are disposed on top of the respective stack; see Figure 5).
Referring to claim 3. Poliner discloses a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) for storing and dispensing a plurality of items (t-shirts; see Abstract),
wherein each of the plurality of storage cells (120; Figure 2) includes a respective elevator mechanism (24; Figure 11) configured to vertically raise the items (items in stack 20) stored therein (stored in compartment 22) toward the common vertical position and toward an associated one of the plurality of pickers (30; Figure 12).
Referring to claim 4. Poliner discloses a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) for storing and dispensing a plurality of items (t-shirts; see Abstract),
wherein each of the plurality of pickers is a pneumatic picker (see vacuum opening 148; Para. [[0096]) or a mechanical picker (arm portions 140 and 142 are moved mechanically; see new matter rejection above regarding the pickers consisting a pneumatic picker and a mechanical picker).
Referring to claim 5. Londo discloses a sampling probe ripper interface (20; Figure 1) wherein
wherein each of the plurality of gantries (34; Figure 1) is parallel with one another in a horizontal plane (see configuration in Figure 1).
Referring to claim 6. Poliner discloses a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) for storing and dispensing a plurality of items (t-shirts; see Abstract), wherein
the plurality of pickers (140 and 142) is positioned proximate an upper end of the cabinet (see position of members 30 and 30’ in Figure 12); and
each of the plurality of storage cells (120a and 120b; Figure 2) extends vertically from a lower end of the cabinet toward the upper end of the cabinet (see Figure 1).
Referring to claim 7. Poliner discloses a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) for storing and dispensing a plurality of items (t-shirts; see Abstract),
a main bank having a first plurality of the storage cells and the user interface (portion of dispenser including compartments behind doors 110a and user interface; Figure 1); and
at least one additional bank having a second plurality of the storage cells (portion of dispenser including compartments behind doors 110b; Figure 1) and being operably coupled to the main bank (coupled to the main bank via user interface);
wherein the article delivery system (130) spans and services the main bank and the at least one additional bank to facilitate retrieval of items from the main bank and the at least one additional bank for delivery to the dispensing outlet (dispensing trough the dispensing outlet).
Referring to claim 8. Poliner discloses a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) for storing and dispensing a plurality of items (t-shirts; see Abstract), wherein
a first one of the plurality of storage cells contains scrubs of a first size; and
a second one of the plurality of storage cells contains scrubs of a second size different from the first size (A complex algorithm is used to determine the placements of different sized scrub outfits along the length of each of the belts. Here too, stocking requires that each pocket be individually filled. Once deployed in the device, the belts are wound and/or rewound to a pocket containing the desired size scrub outfit article, either top or bottom).
Referring to claim 9. Poliner discloses a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) for storing and dispensing a plurality of items (t-shirts; see Abstract), the dispenser comprising:
a cabinet (housing cabinet 100; Figure 1);
a plurality of storage cells (120 including 122a upper tier and 122b bottom tier; Figure 2 and 4) located in the cabinet (within cabinet 100), each of the plurality of storage cells (120) having a generally vertical axis (vertical axis extending the length of 174 as shown in Figure 4)
and configured for storage of a respective vertical stack of items (126a), having a respective topmost item (top article of the stack), wherein the topmost item (top most articles of the stack) from each of the plurality of storage cells (120; Figure 2)
is at a common vertical position relative to a base of the cabinet (common vertical position of the top most article is the vertical position of top most article on the top of the stack as seen in Figure 11) and
atop the respective vertical stacks of items (126a);
at least one dispensing outlet (108);
an article delivery system (130; Figure 4) configured to retrieve the topmost item from at least two of the plurality (two articles can be removed simultaneously by the article retrieval systems 140 and 142 may be activated during a single dispensing operation; Para. [0096]) of storage cells (see articles 126a being removed in Figure 4 and 5) and deliver the topmost items to the dispensing outlet (108), the article delivery system (130) including a plurality of pickers (140 and 142)
and wherein the plurality of pickers are operable simultaneously (Each of the article retrieval systems 140 and 142 may be activated during a single dispensing operation.; Para. [0096]) to retrieve the topmost items (126a) from the at least two of the plurality of storage cells (cells 122a and 122b);
a user interface unit (102) accessible to a user of the dispenser;
an on-board processing unit (on-board processing unit; Para. [0109]) configured to control the article delivery system (cause dispensing; Para. [0109]), the on-board processing unit (on-board processing unit; Para. [0109]) being in electrical communication with the article delivery system and the user interface unit (connected to the article delivery system to be controlled by the user interface unit by a user);
wherein each of the plurality of pickers (140 and 142) is arranged and movable in parallel (arm portion of 140 and 142 are disposed parallel in the horizontal direction see Figure 4) with one another and situated atop
the common vertical position;
wherein each of the plurality of storage cells (120; Figure 2) includes a respective elevator mechanism (24; Figure 11) configured to vertically raise the items (items in stack 20) stored therein (stored in compartment 22) toward the common vertical position and toward an associated one of the plurality of pickers (30; Figure 12);
wherein each of the plurality of pickers are one of a pneumatic picker (see vacuum opening 148; Para. [[0096]) or a mechanical picker (arm portions 140 and 142 are moved mechanically); and
wherein the plurality of pickers (140 and 142) is positioned proximate an upper end of the cabinet (see position of members 30 and 30’ in Figure 12) and each of the plurality of storage cells (120a and 120b; Figure 2) extends vertically from a lower end of the cabinet toward the upper end of the cabinet (see Figure 1);
wherein a first on of the plurality of storage cells contains scrubs of a first size; and
wherein a second one of the plurality of storage cells contains scrubs of a second size different from the first size (A complex algorithm is used to determine the placements of different sized scrub outfits along the length of each of the belts. Here too, stocking requires that each pocket be individually filled. Once deployed in the device, the belts are wound and/or rewound to a pocket containing the desired size scrub outfit article, either top or bottom).
Poliner first embodiment as shown in Figure 4 does not disclose the dispenser
wherein the topmost item from each of the plurality of storage cells is at a common vertical position relative to a base of the cabinet.
Poliner second embodiment as shown in Figure 11 disclose the dispenser
wherein the topmost item (20) from each of the plurality of storage cells (22) is at a common vertical position relative to a base of the cabinet (see common height of the stacks in the dispenser of Figure 11).
Poliner does not disclose the dispenser comprising a plurality of gantries equal in number to the plurality of pickers, wherein each of the plurality of pickers is movably mounted to a respective one of the plurality of gantries, wherein the plurality of gantries is disposed superjacent to the common vertical position.
Londo discloses a sampling probe ripper interface (20; Figure 1) wherein a plurality of gantries (34) equal in number to the plurality of pickers (picker tips extending from gantries 34; Figure 1), wherein each of the plurality of pickers (picker tips extending from gantries 34; Figure 1) is movably mounted to a respective one of the plurality of gantries (34), wherein the plurality of gantries (34) is disposed superjacent to the common vertical position (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Poliner to include a plurality of gantries equal in number to the plurality of pickers, wherein each of the plurality of pickers is movably mounted to a respective one of the plurality of gantries, wherein the plurality of gantries are disposed superjacent to the common vertical position as taught by Londo because a plurality of grippers mounted on a plurality of gantries would allow article dispensing simultaneously thus increasing the speed of dispensing articles.
Referring to claim 10. Poliner discloses a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) for storing and dispensing a plurality of items (t-shirts; see Abstract),
a main bank having a first plurality of the storage cells and the user interface (portion of dispenser including compartments behind doors 110a and user interface; Figure 1); and
at least one additional bank having a second plurality of the storage cells (portion of dispenser including compartments behind doors 110b; Figure 1) and being operably coupled to the main bank (coupled to the main bank via user interface);
wherein the article delivery system (130) spans and services the main bank and the at least one additional bank to facilitate retrieval of items from the main bank and the at least one additional bank for delivery to the dispensing outlet (dispensing trough the dispensing outlet; see Figure 1-3).
Referring to claim 13. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) the method comprising:
arranging the plurality of items (Para. [0093], articles 126a and 126b) in a cabinet in a plurality of vertical stacks (vertical stacks of articles 126a and 126b; Figure 2) with each of the plurality of vertical stacks being in a respective one of a plurality of discrete storage cells (each of the associated vertical stacks is stored in an associated storage compartment 120a and 120b; Figure 2);
simultaneously retrieving (Each of the article retrieval systems 140 and 142 may be activated during a single dispensing operation; Para. [0096]) from an upper end of the cabinet a first topmost item from a first one of the plurality of vertical stacks (top access opening for a plurality of pickers from vertical stacks adjacent an upper end of the cabinet; Figure 2)
and a second topmost item from a second one of the plurality of vertical stacks (top access opening for a plurality of pickers from second vertical stacks adjacent an upper end of the cabinet; Figure 2); and
delivering each of the first and second topmost items (topmost articles 126a and 126b) to a dispensing outlet (108) of the dispenser o facilitate access by at least one user of the dispenser (dispensing outlet accessible by user) wherein
the first topmost item (topmost articles 20; Figure 11) is retrieved by a first picker (30’; Figure 12) movably mounted to a first gantry (arm of member 30’; Figure 12); the second topmost item (second topmost articles 20; Figure 11) is retrieved by a second picker (30; Figure 12) movably mounted to a second gantry (arm of member 30; Figure 12);
Poliner first embodiment as shown in Figure 4 does not disclose the dispenser
wherein the topmost item from each of the plurality of storage cells is at a common vertical position relative to a base of the cabinet.
Poliner second embodiment as shown in Figure 11 disclose the dispenser
wherein the topmost item (20) from each of the plurality of storage cells (22) is at a common vertical position relative to a base of the cabinet (see common height of the stacks in the dispenser of Figure 11).
Poliner does not disclose the first and second gantries are parallel to each other and disposed superjacent to the plurality of vertical stacks.
Londo discloses a sampling probe ripper interface (20; Figure 1) wherein a first and second gantries (left gantry 34 and right gantry 34; Figure 1) are parallel to each other and disposed superjacent to the plurality of vertical stacks (see configuration in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Poliner to include the first and second gantries are parallel to each other and disposed superjacent to the plurality of vertical stacks as taught by Londo because the first and second gantries being parallel to each other and disposed superjacent to the plurality of vertical stacks would reduce the travel time of the grippers thus reducing overall article dispensing time.
Referring to claim 14. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) further comprising:
grouping the plurality of discrete storage cells (individual storage compartments 120a and 120b behind door 110a) into a main bank of storage cells (portion of dispenser including compartments behind doors 110a and user interface; Figure 1) and at least one additional bank of storage cells (individual storage compartments 120a and 120b behind door 110b); and
operably coupling the main bank of storage cells and the at least one additional bank of storage cells (the main bank and the additional bank are coupled by the user interface unit 102; Figure 1).
Referring to claim 15. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) further comprising:
wherein the simultaneously retrieving step (Each of the article retrieval systems 140 and 142 may be activated during a single dispensing operation; Para. [0096]) further comprises:
moving the first picker (140) to a first position above the first topmost item (item 160 above compartment 122a; Figure 4); and moving the second picker (142) to a second position above the second topmost item (item 160 above compartment 122b; Figure 4).
Referring to claim 16. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) further comprising:
wherein the delivering further comprises:
moving the first picker holding the first topmost item toward a chute in communication with the dispensing outlet (picker 140 moves the grasped article (160; Figure 6; see Para. [0100], drop chute not shown); and
moving the second picker (142; Figure 4) holding the second topmost item toward the chute (similar to the first picker).
Referring to claim 17. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) further comprising:
elevating a remainder of the items in the first one of the plurality of vertical stacks; and elevating a remainder of the items in the second one of the plurality of vertical stacks (A stack 20 of like sized scrub outfit parts, tops and bottoms, is deployed in each of the storage compartments 22. Each storage compartment is configured with an elevator system 24 operated by motor 26. The elevator system varies the height of the storage compartment floor 28, such that the upper most article in the stack is in position for selection by one of the two selection mechanisms 30 and 30'; Para. [0108]).
Referring to claims 18 and 19. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) further comprising:
arranging a first set of the plurality vertical stacks (storage compartment 120a) in a first linear row (vertical stack of 126a); and arranging a second set of the plurality of vertical stacks (storage compartment 120b) in a second linear row generally parallel to the first linear row (vertical stack of 126a is parallel to vertical stack of 126a).
Referring to claim 20. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) further comprising:
wherein the first and second topmost items and a topmost item in each of a remainder of the plurality of vertical stacks are generally positioned at a same vertical height (see topmost item levels of items in storage compartments; Figure 11).
Referring to claim 21. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) further comprising:
adding a third additional bank of storage cells (see second column of storage articles, right of the user interface unit as shown in Figure 10) to the at least one additional bank of storage cells at an end of the dispenser opposite from the main bank of storage cells (see Figure 10 consisting of a plurality of additional banks attached to the user interface unit).
Referring to claim 22. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) further comprising:
configuring a picker module (30 and 30’; Figure 11) positioned atop the main bank of storage cells (main storage bank disposed to the left of 36; Figure 11) and the at least one additional bank of storage cells (main storage bank disposed to the right of 36; Figure 11) to accommodate both the simultaneously retrieving and the delivering (Each of the article retrieval systems 140 and 142 may be activated during a single dispensing operation; Para. [0096]).
Referring to claim 23. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) the method comprising:
arranging the plurality of items (Para. [0093], articles 126a and 126b) in a plurality of vertical stacks (vertical stacks of articles 126a and 126b; Figure 2) with each of the plurality of vertical stacks being in a respective one of a plurality of discrete storage cells (each of the associated vertical stacks is stored in an associated storage compartment 120a and 120b; Figure 2);
grouping the plurality of discrete storage cells (individual storage compartments 120a and 120b behind door 110a) into a main bank of storage cells (portion of dispenser including compartments behind doors 110a and user interface; Figure 1) and at least one additional bank of storage cells (individual storage compartments 120a and 120b behind door 110b);
simultaneously retrieving (Each of the article retrieval systems 140 and 142 may be activated during a single dispensing operation; Para. [0096]) a first topmost item from a first one of the plurality of vertical stacks (top access opening for a plurality of pickers from vertical stacks adjacent an upper end of the cabinet; Figure 2)
and a second topmost item from a second one of the plurality of vertical stacks (top access opening for a plurality of pickers from second vertical stacks adjacent an upper end of the cabinet; Figure 2);
wherein the simultaneously retrieving (Each of the article retrieval systems 140 and 142 may be activated during a single dispensing operation; Para. [0096]) comprises:
moving a first picker (140) to a first position above the first topmost item (item 160 above compartment 122a; Figure 4); and moving a second picker (142) to a second position above the second topmost item (item 160 above compartment 122b; Figure 4);
the first picker (30’; Figure 12) is movably mounted to a first gantry (arm connecting to member 30’);
the second picker (30; Figure 12) is movably mounted to a second gantry (arm connecting to member 30);
delivering each of the first and second topmost items (topmost articles 126a and 126b) to a dispensing outlet (108) of the dispenser to facilitate access by at least one user of the dispenser (dispensing outlet accessible by user), wherein the delivering comprises:
moving the first picker holding the first topmost item toward a chute in communication with the dispensing outlet (picker 140 moves the grasped article (160; Figure 6; see Para. [0100], drop chute not shown);
moving the second picker (142; Figure 4) holding the second topmost item toward the chute (similar to the first picker);
elevating a remainder of the items in the first one of the plurality of vertical stacks; and
elevating a remainder of the items in the second one of the plurality of vertical stacks (A stack 20 of like sized scrub outfit parts, tops and bottoms, is deployed in each of the storage compartments 22. Each storage compartment is configured with an elevator system 24 operated by motor 26. The elevator system varies the height of the storage compartment floor 28, such that the upper most article in the stack is in position for selection by one of the two selection mechanisms 30 and 30'; Para. [0108]); and
configuring a picker module (30 and 30’; Figure 11) positioned atop the main bank of storage cells (main storage bank disposed to the left of 36; Figure 11) and the at least one additional bank of storage cells (main storage bank disposed to the right of 36; Figure 11) to accommodate both the simultaneously retrieving and the delivering (Each of the article retrieval systems 140 and 142 may be activated during a single dispensing operation; Para. [0096]).
Poliner first embodiment as shown in Figure 4 does not disclose the dispenser
wherein the topmost item from each of the plurality of storage cells is at a common vertical position relative to a base of the cabinet.
Poliner second embodiment as shown in Figure 11 disclose the dispenser
wherein the topmost item (20) from each of the plurality of storage cells (22) is at a common vertical position relative to a base of the cabinet (see common height of the stacks in the dispenser of Figure 11).
Poliner does not disclose the first and second gantries are parallel to each other and disposed superjacent to the plurality of vertical stacks.
Londo discloses a sampling probe ripper interface (20; Figure 1) wherein a first and second gantries (left gantry 34 and right gantry 34; Figure 1) are parallel to each other and disposed superjacent to the plurality of vertical stacks (see configuration in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Poliner to include the first and second gantries are parallel to each other and disposed superjacent to the plurality of vertical stacks as taught by Londo because the first and second gantries being parallel to each other and disposed superjacent to the plurality of vertical stacks would reduce the travel time of the grippers thus reducing overall article dispensing time.
Referring to claim 24. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) comprising the steps of:
arranging a first set of the plurality vertical stacks (storage compartment 120a) in a first linear row (vertical stack of 126a); and arranging a second set of the plurality of vertical stacks (storage compartment 120b) in a second linear row generally parallel to the first linear row (vertical stack of 126a is parallel to vertical stack of 126a);
wherein the first one of the plurality of vertical stacks (storage compartment 120a) is in the first linear row (vertical stack of 126a) and the second one of the plurality of vertical stacks (storage compartment 120b) is in the second linear row.
Referring to claim 25. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) comprising the steps of:
wherein the first and second topmost items and a topmost item in each of a remainder of the plurality of vertical stacks are generally positioned at a same vertical height (see topmost item levels of items in storage compartments; Figure 11).
Referring to claim 26. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) comprising the steps of:
adding a third additional bank of storage cells (see second column of storage articles, right of the user interface unit as shown in Figure 10) to the at least one additional bank of storage cells at an end of the dispenser opposite from the main bank of storage cells (see Figure 10 consisting of a plurality of additional banks attached to the user interface unit).
Referring to claim 27. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) the method comprising:
arranging the plurality of items (Para. [0093], articles 126a and 126b) in a cabinet in a plurality of vertical stacks (vertical stacks of articles 126a and 126b; Figure 2) with each of the plurality of vertical stacks being in a respective one of a plurality of discrete storage cells (each of the associated vertical stacks is stored in an associated storage compartment 120a and 120b; Figure 2);
simultaneously retrieving (Each of the article retrieval systems 140 and 142 may be activated during a single dispensing operation; Para. [0096]) from an upper end of the cabinet a first topmost item from a first one of the plurality of vertical stacks (top access opening for a plurality of pickers from vertical stacks adjacent an upper end of the cabinet; Figure 2); and
delivering each of the first and second topmost items (topmost articles 126a and 126b) to a dispensing outlet (108) of the dispenser to facilitate for access by at least one user of the dispenser (dispensing outlet accessible by user),
grouping the plurality of discrete storage cells (individual storage compartments 120a and 120b behind door 110a) into a main bank of storage cells (portion of dispenser including compartments behind doors 110a and user interface; Figure 1) and at least one additional bank of storage cells (individual storage compartments 120a and 120b behind door 110b);
operably coupling the main bank of storage cells and the at least one additional bank of storage cells (the main bank and the additional bank are coupled by the user interface unit 102; Figure 1); and
configuring a picker module (30’; Figure 12) positioned atop the main bank of storage cells (110a) and the at least one additional bank of storage cells (110b) to accommodate both the simultaneously retrieving and the delivering (Each of the article retrieval systems 140 and 142 may be activated during a single dispensing operation.; Para. [0096]) to retrieve the topmost items (126a) from the at least two of the plurality of storage cells (cell 122a in the upper tier and cell 122b in the bottom tier).
Poliner first embodiment as shown in Figure 4 does not disclose the dispenser
wherein the topmost item from each of the plurality of storage cells is at a common vertical position relative to a base of the cabinet.
Poliner second embodiment as shown in Figure 11 disclose the dispenser
wherein the topmost item (20) from each of the plurality of storage cells (22) is at a common vertical position relative to a base of the cabinet (see common height of the stacks in the dispenser of Figure 11).
Poliner does not disclose the wherein the picker module includes a first gantry and a second gantry arranged in parallel, the first gantry including a first picker for retrieving the first topmost item and the second gantry including a second picker for retrieving the second topmost item.
Londo discloses a sampling probe ripper interface (20; Figure 1) wherein the picker module (140; Figure 7) includes a first gantry (left 34 in Figure 1) and a second gantry (right 34 in Figure 1) arranged in parallel (see Figure 1), the first gantry (left 34 in Figure 1) including a first picker (picker tips extending from gantries 34; Figure 1) for retrieving the first topmost item and the second gantry (right 34 in Figure 1) including a second picker (picker tips extending from gantries 34; Figure 1) for retrieving the second topmost item.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Poliner to include the picker module including a first gantry and a second gantry arranged in parallel, the first gantry including a first picker for retrieving the first topmost item and the second gantry including a second picker for retrieving the second topmost item as taught by Londo because a plurality of grippers mounted on a plurality of gantries would allow article dispensing simultaneously thus increasing the speed of dispensing articles.
Referring to claim 29. Poliner discloses a method for dispensing a plurality of items (an interactive automated article dispensing method for dispensing articles; Para. [0035]) from a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) comprising the steps of:
adding a third additional bank of storage cells (see second column of storage articles, right of the user interface unit as shown in Figure 10) to the at least one additional bank of storage cells at an end of the dispenser opposite from the main bank of storage cells (see Figure 10 consisting of a plurality of additional banks attached to the user interface unit).
Referring to claim 30. Poliner discloses a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) for storing and dispensing a plurality of items (t-shirts; see Abstract),
wherein the plurality of storage cells (20; Figure 11) is arranged in only one tier (see single tier configuration in Figure 11).
Referring to claim 31. Poliner discloses a dispenser (dispenser 100; Figure 1) for storing and dispensing a plurality of items (t-shirts; see Abstract),
wherein the plurality of storage cells (20; Figure 11) are arranged in only one tier (see single tier configuration in Figure 11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See Modified rejections cited above now rejected in light of Poliner (US 2006/0217836 A1) in view of Londo (US 8,057,756).
Lonod discloses a sampling probe ripper interface (20; Figure 1) wherein a plurality of gantries (34) equal in number to the plurality of pickers (picker tips extending from gantries 34; Figure 1), wherein each of the plurality of pickers (picker tips extending from gantries 34; Figure 1) is movably mounted to a respective one of the plurality of gantries (34), wherein the plurality of gantries (34) is disposed superjacent to the common vertical position (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 1 and 9 Applicant argues “Since items 126 and 126b are in different vertically stacked tiers, the items 126a, 126b are not at the same vertical position in the Polinar dispenser” and “The rejection relies upon storage compartments which are in different vertical tiers such that the top-most items in each tier are at different vertical positions, not a common vertical position as in claims 1 and 9.” Applicant amends the claim limitations to include the argued structure in claims 1 and 9.
In view of the Examiner, Poliner discloses each of the plurality of storage cells (120) having a generally longitudinal vertical axis (vertical axis extending through the center of storage cells 122a and 122b as shown in Figure 4) and a top-most item (item that is in the topmost position in the stack), wherein the top-most item (item that is in the topmost position in the stack) from each of the plurality of storage cells (122a and 122b as shown in Figure 4) is at a common vertical position (a position in which the topmost articles is positioned) atop the respective vertical stacks of items (122a and 122b as shown in Figure 4). Therefore, Poliner discloses the limitations of claim 1 and 9 as disclosed.
Regarding claim 13, Applicant argues the limitations “simultaneously retrieving from an upper end of the cabinet a first topmost item from a first one of the plurality of vertical stacks and a second topmost item from a second one of the plurality of vertical stack” are not disclosed by the references and further “neither of these items are being retrieved from an upper end of the cabinet as is required in claim 13.”
In view of the Examiner, Poliner discloses simultaneously retrieving (Each of the article retrieval systems 140 and 142 may be activated during a single dispensing operation; Para. [0096]) from an upper end of the cabinet (top portion of the cabinet) a first topmost item from a first one of the plurality of vertical stacks (a top most article disposed in a upper end of the cabinet in a vertical storage stack) and a second topmost item from a second one of the plurality of vertical stacks (a top most article disposed in a bottom end of the cabinet in a vertical storage stack). The claim does not specifically state the position of the first topmost item and the second top most item as being disposed in a first storage cell and a second storage cell respectively wherein the first storage cell and the second storage cell are disposed in the upper end of the cabinet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/RAKESH KUMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651