DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 04/24/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Priority
The instant application claims domestic priority to PRO 63/151,096 filed on 02/19/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) dated 06/15/2026 and 09/23/2026 both comply with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP §609. Accordingly, they have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obviousness
A) Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-24, 26, and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deckner et al. (U.S. Patent App. Pub. 2012/0219606) and Schweizer et al (U.S. Patent 3,112,247) in view of Midha et al. (U.S. Patent App. Pub. 2017/281486 A1).
Deckner teaches an oral care composition comprising arginine (Deckner at [0085], [0120]), peroxide (Deckner at [0108-0109]), water (Deckner at [0033]), calcium pyrophosphate (Deckner at [0083], [0091], [0094]), stannous fluoride (Deckner at [0102]), zinc (Deckner at [0190]), stearyl alcohol (Deckner at [0165]), and sodium lauryl sulfate (Deckner at [0171]). Deckner further teaches the use of arginine as an anti-sensitivity agent (Deckner at [0085]) and an antibacterial agent (Deckner at [0120]). Deckner teaches that anionic surfactants such as sodium lauryl sulfate, are preferred and used in a range of about 0.1% to 20% (Deckner at 0171-0172]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 1% to about 10%.
The teachings of Deckner differ from that of the instant application insofar as they do not teach the use of calcium pyrophosphate with a specific gamma to beta ratio.
Schweizer teaches an oral care composition wherein the percent of beta phase calcium pyrophosphate is at least 50% and the remainder of the calcium pyrophosphate is gamma phase calcium pyrophosphate (Schweizer at column 2 lines 27-36). Schweizer teaches that this ratio is beneficial for increasing fluoride compatibility. Schweizer teaches wherein the composition is a dentifrice like a toothpaste and comprises calcium pyrophosphate, stannous fluoride, and water.
Deckner et al. disclose wherein the dentifrice composition comprises calcium pyrophosphate, but does not disclose a ratio between gamma and beta phase within the calcium pyrophosphate. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the calcium pyrophosphate of Deckner et al. to have a ratio of about 1 since that ratio is a known and effective ratio for gamma to beta calcium pyrophosphate used in dentifrice compositions for the benefit of improved fluoride capacity as taught by Schweizer.
The combined teachings of Deckner and Schweizer differ from instant claim 18 and 19 insofar as they do not specifically disclose a specific Brookfields unit viscosity value. The teachings of Midha cure this deficit.
Midha recites an oral care composition comprising a peroxide (Midha at claim 1), AMPS polymer which is an amphiphilic polymer (Midha at claim 4), cetyl alcohol which is an alkyl alcohol (Midha at claim 7), and water (Midha at claim 9). Midha further recites wherein the water is present at 25% to 70% of the composition (Midha at claim 9). Midha further recites wherein the composition has a viscosity of from about 10 BKUs to about 45 BKUs, aka Brookfield Units (Midha at claim 8). Midha recites wherein the composition comprises from about 0.1% to about 8% peroxide (Midha at claim 2). Midha recites an oral care composition comprising sodium monofluorophosphate (Midha at claim 1), calcium pyrophosphate (Midha at claim 3), stannous fluoride (Midha at claim 1), zinc lactate (Midha at [0068]). Midha teaches the use of AMPS (Midha at [0046-0047]) polyacrylates cross polymer-6 or Sepimax Zen in a range of about 0.1% to about 10%
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Deckner et al. disclose wherein the oral care composition comprises calcium pyrophosphate, but does not disclose a target viscosity. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the calcium pyrophosphate of Deckner et al. to have a viscosity of from about 10 BKUs to about 45 BKUs, aka Brookfield Units since that viscosity is a known and effective for oral care compositions using calcium pyrophosphate as taught by Midha.
Regarding instant claim 1, Deckner teaches the use of peroxide (Deckner at [0108]). Deckner teaches the use of form about 0.5% to about 10% of peroxide (Deckner at [0108]) which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 1% to about 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Deckner teaches the use of AMPS (Deckner at [0105]) in a range of 0.1% to 15%, which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 1% to about 10%. Midha teaches the use of AMPS (Midha at [0046-0047]) polyacrylates cross polymer-6 or Sepimax Zen in a range of about 0.1% to about 10%, which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 1% to about 5%. It would be prima facie obvious to have combined the polymers AMPS and polyacrylate cross polymer-6 as taught in Midha for the same purpose as a polymer in an oral care composition. See MPEP 2144.06(I). Deckner teaches the use of fatty amphiphiles include a combination of cetyl alcohol and stearyl alcohol in a range of about 0.1% to 20% (Deckner at 0170-0172]) which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 1% to about 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Deckner teach that humectants including water may be present in an amount of from about 0.1% to about 99% (Deckner at [0173]). The amounts of AMPS and cetyl alcohol taught by Deckner combine in ratios that overlaps the instantly claimed ratio of from about 1.0 to about 3. Since the prior art composition contains substantially the same components in the same relative proportions as instantly claimed, it would be expected to inherently possess the same chemical and physical properties, such as viscosity in Brookfeild units and the peroxide release rate. Deckner further teaches that the composition may be a powder or a tablet which as a solid would have a Brookfeilds unit viscosity of at least 10. Deckner does not require the use of nitrate.
Regarding instant claim 2, Deckner teaches the use of hydrogen peroxide (Deckner at [0108]).
Regarding instant claim 4, Deckner teaches the use of form about 0.5% to about 10% of peroxide (Deckner at [0108]) which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 3% to about 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 5, Deckner teaches the use of form about 0.5% to about 10% of peroxide (Deckner at [0108]) which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 3.5% to about 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 6-8, Deckner teaches the use of calcium pyrophosphate (Deckner at [0083], [0091], [0094]) in an amount of 1- 10%.
Regarding instant claim 9, Deckner teaches the use of calcium pyrophosphate (Deckner at [0083], [0091], [0094]). Schweizer teaches an oral care composition wherein the percent of beta phase calcium pyrophosphate is at least 50% and the remainder of the calcium pyrophosphate is gamma phase calcium pyrophosphate (Schweizer at column 2 lines 27-36) which overlaps with the instantly claimed range for the ratio of gamma to beta phase calcium pyrophosphate of at least about 1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Schweizer teaches that this ratio is beneficial for increasing fluoride compatibility (Schweizer at column 2 lines 27-36). One would be motivated to use the ratio of Schweizer for improved fluoride capacity.
Regarding instant claim 11-16, Deckner teaches the use of sodium monofluorophosphate zinc fluoride and stannous fluoride (Deckner at [0102]).
Regarding instant claim 17, Deckner teaches the use of zinc citrate or zinc lactate (Deckner at [0204]).
Regarding instant claim 18, Deckner teaches the use of amino acids (Deckner at [0085]).
Regarding instant claim 19, Deckner teaches the use of amino acids including arginine (Deckner at [0085]).
Regarding instant claim 20, Deckner teaches that anionic surfactants such as sodium lauryl sulfate, are preferred (Deckner at 0171-0172]).
Regarding instant claim 21, Deckner teaches that anionic surfactants such as sodium lauryl sulfate, are preferred and used in a range of about 0.1% to 20% (Deckner at 0171-0172]) which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of at least about 1.5% (Deckner at 0171-0172]).
Regarding instant claim 22, Deckner teaches that anionic surfactants such as sodium lauryl sulfate, are preferred and used in a range of about 0.1% to 20% (Deckner at 0171-0172]) which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of greater than 1.5%(Deckner at 0171-0172]).
Regarding instant claim 23, Deckner teaches that anionic surfactants such as sodium lauryl sulfate, are preferred (Deckner at 0171-0172]).
Regarding instant claim 24, Deckner teaches that anionic surfactants such as sodium lauryl sulfate, are preferred (Deckner at 0171-0172]).
Regarding instant claim 26, Deckner teaches the use of AMPS (Deckner at [0105]) in a range of 0.1% to 15%, which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 1% to about 10%. Midha teaches the use of AMPS (Midha at [0046-0047]) polyacrylates cross polymer-6 or Sepimax Zen in a range of about 0.1% to about 10%, which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 1% to about 5%. It would be prima facie obvious to have combined the polymers AMPS and polyacrylate cross polymer-6 as taught in Midha for the same purpose as a polymer in an oral care composition. See MPEP 2144.06(I).
Regarding instant claim 34, Deckner teaches the use of AMPS (Deckner at [0105]) in a range of 0.1% to 15%, which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 1.25% to about 2.25%. Midha teaches the use of AMPS (Midha at [0046-0047]) polyacrylates cross polymer-6 or Sepimax Zen in a range of about 0.1% to about 10%, which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 1% to about 5%. It would be prima facie obvious to have combined the polymers AMPS and polyacrylate cross polymer-6 as taught in Midha for the same purpose as a polymer in an oral care composition. See MPEP 2144.06(I).
Regarding instant claim 35, Deckner teaches the use of fatty amphiphiles include a combination of cetyl alcohol and stearyl alcohol in a range of about 0.1% to 20% (Deckner at 0170-0172]) which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 0.75% to about 1.25%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 36, Deckner teaches the use of fatty amphiphiles include a combination of cetyl alcohol and stearyl alcohol in a range of about 0.1% to 20% (Deckner at 0170-0172]). The amounts of stearyl and cetyl alcohol taught by Deckner combine in ratios that overlaps the instantly claimed ratio of from about 1:1. Deckner further teaches the use of a 1:1 ratio of stearyl and cetyl alcohol (Deckner at [0205]).
With regards to the release rate of hydrogen peroxide purely en arguendo for the compact prosecution and completeness of record.
B) Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deckner et al. (U.S. Patent App. Pub. 2012/0219606) and Schweizer et al (U.S. Patent 3,112,247) and of Midha et al. (U.S. Patent App. Pub. 2017/281486 A1) as applied to claims 2, 4-9, 11-24, 26, and 34-36 above, and further in view of Chaffer et al (US Patent Application Publication 20080274067 A1).
The teaching of Deckner, Schweizer and Midha are discussed above.
The teaching of Deckner, Schweizer and Midha differ from the instant application insofar as they do not specifically discuss peroxide release rate. The teachings of Chaffer cure this deficit.
Chaffer recites an oral care composition comprising an active agent e.g. a whitening agent, and a carrier including a carrier base comprising a wax and a substantivity agent (Chaffer at claim 1). Chaffer recites wherein the active agent comprises a whitening agent (Chaffer at claim 5). Chaffer recites wherein the active agent comprises an antimicrobial compound, mineralization compound, desensitization compound, anti-calculus agents, anti-inflamatory agents or anti-oxidants (Chaffer at claim 6). Chaffer recites wherein the whitening agent comprises a peroxide whitening agent and the composition further comprises a peroxide releasing agent (Chaffer at claim 7). Chaffer recites a method of whitening teeth comprising applying onto teeth a composition, for a period of time sufficient to produce an improvement in the whiteness of the teeth (Chaffer at claim 10). Chaffer recites a method of preparing a composition which method comprises an admixture of components of the composition (Chaffer at claim 11). Chaffer teaches that the whitening agent includes a peroxide whitening compound e.g. hydrogen peroxide, carbamide peroxide, calcium peroxide, persulfate salts, percarbonate salts, perborate salts, PVP-peroxide complexes, entrapped or encapsulated forms of peroxide, STP, metal chlorites such as calcium chlorite, barium chlorite, magnesium chlorite, sodium chlorite and potassium chlorite; peroxyacids, persulfates, chlorine dioxide, other hydrogen peroxide complexes and mixtures thereof. (Chaffer at [0013]). Chaffer teaches that the whitening agent is used in an amount ranging from 0.1 to 35% w/w of the composition, preferably 2 to 15% w/w based on the hydrogen peroxide or the proportional amount of active oxygen based on the whitening moiety (Chaffer at [0014]). Chaffer teaches that the compositions of the invention may comprise an active releasing agent to improve release of the agent on hydration in the oral cavity. Although not bound by any particular mechanism of action, the inventors believe that such an agent provides hydration channels in the composition milieu, allowing water to penetrate the composition and allowing the active component to leach out. When a peroxide whitening agent is used the composition comprises a peroxide releasing agent. Suitable peroxide releasing agents include water-soluble/swellable polymers e.g. xanthan gum, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyacrylic acid, maleic acid copolymers, polyvinyl alcohol, PEG, PPG, copolymers of PEG and/or PPG, and other suitable polymers containing either repetitive alcohol or organic acid functionalities. Xanthan gum may perform a dual role in a composition according to the invention, acting as both a substantivity agent and as a peroxide releasing agent (Chaffer at [0017]). Chaffer teaches that the peroxide releasing agent is used in an amount ranging from 0.5 to 20-% w/w of the composition, preferably from 2 to 10% w/w of the composition. The peroxide releasing agent may be utilized to control the release rate of peroxide e.g. more releasing agent for faster release and less for a slow release. (Chaffer at [0013]). Chaffer teaches the use of water-soluble salts of fluoride e.g. sodium fluoride, potassium fluoride and stannous fluoride, sodium fluorosilicate and ammonium fluorosilicate; mineralization combinations e.g. calcium salt/phosphate salt, calcium salt/ionic fluoride sources, zinc salt/phosphate salt (Chaffer at [0032]). Chaffer teaches the use of pyrophosphates (Chaffer at [0032]). Chaffer teaches that water is present in a range from 5 to 10% (Chaffer at [0023]). Chaffer does not require a nitrate.
It would be prima facie obvious to have optimized the release rate of the peroxide in the compositions of Deckner, Schweizer and Midha order to control the degree or speed of whitening and the length of utility in the oral cavity as taught by Chaffer. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the unexpected results of tables 2 and 3 overcome the prima facie case of obviousness.
The Examiner does not agree. Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). See MPEP 716.02. The burden is on Applicant to describe the practical and statistical significance of the data. Applicant has not to best of the Examiners understanding provided statistical information for the data nor explained the practical significance of the results. The evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). See MPEP 716.02(b)(I). Further it is the Applicants burden to explain the data provided. "[A]ppellants have the burden of explaining the data in any declaration they proffer as evidence of non-obviousness." Ex parte Ishizaka, 24 USPQ2d 1621, 1624 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). See MPEP 716.02(b)(II). With regards to Table 2, the table provides data only within the claimed ranges there is no upper or lower example showing an incompatible BKU with less than or more than the amount or range taught. Therefore, it is difficult to draw unexpected results when all of the compositions are within range and there is nothing to compare them against. Furthermore, even if data were unexpected the claims are not within the scope of the data provided. The data provides up to 2.25% for the polyacrylate crosspolymer-6 and up to 1.25 for the alcohols. The independent instant claim recites up to 5% for each which is not presently supported by the data. With regards to Table 3, there is only one data point provided in the table a 1:1 ratio with both components at 1.6%. The data does not include a control of 3.2% of each component, polyacrylate crosspolymer-6 and the alcohols, separately to ensure the additional mass of thickener is not responsible for the BKU increase, which makes it difficult to determine unexpected results. Even if, purely arguendo, the results were synergistic they would only support the very close range of a 1:1 ratio of polyacrylate crosspolymer-6 and the alcohols at a the very specific amount of 1.6% and would include the SLS of the cetyl alcohol/stearyl alcohol/SLS composition used in the instant specification. As such, no unexpected results have been established and the obviousness rejection stands.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-24, 26, and 34-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8,10-13,15-28,31-32, 35-36 and 38 of copending Application No. 17,577,402 in view of Deckner et al. (U.S. Patent App. Pub. 2012/0219606) and Schweizer et al (U.S. Patent 3,112,247) in view of Midha et al. (U.S. Patent App. Pub. 2017/281486 A1).
The instant application recites an oral care composition comprising a peroxide, amphiphilic polymer, alkyl alcohol, and water wherein the ratio of alkyl alcohol to amphiphilic polymer is at least about 0.5. The instant application further recites an oral care composition comprising peroxide, amphiphilic polymer, alkyl alcohol and at least 1.5 % by weight of the composition sodium alkyl sulfate surfactant.
The copending ‘402 application recites an oral care composition comprising peroxide, calcium pyrophosphate, and water wherein the oral care composition comprises a ratio of gamma phase calcium pyrophosphate to beta phase calcium pyrophosphate of at least about 0.8 (‘402 at claim 1). ‘402 recites an oral care composition wherein the peroxide comprises hydrogen peroxide, urea peroxide, carbamide peroxide, calcium peroxide, sodium peroxide, zinc peroxide, sodium percarbonate, polyvinylpyrrolidone-hydrogen peroxide complex, cross-linked polyvinyl pyrrolidone- hydrogen peroxide complex, or combinations thereof (‘402 at claim 2). ‘402 recites an oral care composition wherein the oral care composition comprises at least about 1%, by weight of the oral care composition, of the peroxide (‘402 at claim 3). ‘402 recites an oral care composition wherein the oral care composition comprises at least about 3%, by weight of the oral care composition, of the peroxide (‘402 at claim 4). ‘402 recites an oral care composition wherein the oral care composition comprises at least about 3.5%, by weight of the oral care composition, of the peroxide. (‘402 at claim 5). ‘402 recites an oral care composition wherein the oral care composition comprises from about 5%, to about 75%, by weight of the oral care composition, of the water (‘402 at claim 6). ‘402 recites an oral care composition wherein the oral care composition comprises from about 1%, to about 30%, by weight of the oral care composition, of the calcium pyrophosphate (‘402 at claim 7). ‘402 recites an oral care composition wherein the oral care composition comprises from about 1% to less than 15%, by weight of the oral care composition, of the calcium pyrophosphate (‘402 at claim 8). ‘402 recites an oral care composition wherein the ratio of gamma phase calcium pyrophosphate to beta phase calcium pyrophosphate is at least about 1 (‘402 at claim 9). ‘402 recites an oral care composition comprising sodium monofluorophosphate (‘402 at claim 13), stannous chloride (‘402 at claim 16), zinc lactate (‘402 at claim 17), arginine (‘402 at claim 20), sodium lauryl sulfate (‘402 at claim 24), 2- acrylamido-2-methylpropane sulfonic acid polymer, copolymer, cross polymer, or combination thereof (‘402 at claim 28) and cetyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, or combinations thereof (‘402 at claim 32). ‘402 recites an oral care composition wherein the oral care composition comprises greater than 1.5%, by weight of the oral care composition of anionic surfactant (‘402 at claim 22). ‘402 recites an oral care composition is a dentifrice (‘402 at claim 10).
‘402 does not recite the viscosity of the composition. The teachings of Midha, Schweizer, and Deckner cure this deficit.
The teachings of Midha, Schweizer, and Deckner are discussed above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art following the claims of the copending ‘402 application to have formatted the dentifrice having an appropriate viscosity such as that taught by Midha (i.e.10 to 45 BKU). One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Midha and the copending ‘402 application teach oral care dentifrices comprising peroxide, calcium pyrophosphate, alkyl alcohols, amphiphilic polymers, and water. Further, one would have been motivated to optimize the viscosity of the dentifrice to produce the desired texture and mouthfeel for the user. See MPEP 2143 (A) and MPEP 2144.05(II).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant states that upon indication of otherwise allowable subject matter, Applicant will consider filing a terminal disclaimer if necessary.
Since terminal disclaimers have not yet been filed, the non-statutory double patenting rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowable.
Correspondence
/AMANDA MICHELLE PETRITSCH/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612