DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. This Office Action is in response to submission of documents on December 12, 2025.
New rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to point out and distinctly claim what the inventor regards as the invention.
Rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to unpatentable subject matter is maintained.
Rejection of claims claim 1, 8, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz, in view of Ouenes, and Liu is maintained.
Rejection of claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Garcia-Teijeiro is maintained.
Rejection of claims 4, 11, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Shen is maintained.
Rejection of claim 5, 12, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Boone is maintained.
Rejection of claim 6, 13, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Shen and Boone is maintained.
Rejection of claims 7 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Herrera is maintained.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 101:
Applicant asserts that the amendment to the final limitation to claim 1 (i.e., “controlling [[a]] drilling equipment for drilling of a new well by using the optimum stress distribution and by adjusting drilling parameters comprising a speed and a direction of the drilling equipment) overcomes the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101. Specifically, “Applicant respectfully submits that claims 1, 8, and 15 are directed to optimizing hydrocarbon recovery through utilization of hydraulic fractures in hydrocarbon reservoirs as indicated in paragraph [0036] of the Application as filed….” Response at pg. 9. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the claims are directed to “controlling drilling equipment” utilizing the “optimum stress distribution,” which indicates “placement of new wells and fractures in terms of orientation and size to maximize recovery of hydrocarbons.” Thus, as opposed to “controlling…drilling parameters comprising a speed and a direction of the drilling equipment,” as claimed, the “optimum stress distribution” is claimed as an assessment that indicates where one or more new wells should be located.
Examiner suggests amending the claims to incorporate determining one or more locations to drill new wells according to the “optimum stress distribution” and further drilling the one or more wells. Thus, depending on the ultimate language used to amend the claims, the limitation would more likely be analyzed, when given additional consideration by Examiner, as an additional element that incorporates the recited abstract ideas into a practical application and not an additional element that recites an idea of a solution.
Thus, the claims, as currently presented, include additional elements that do not incorporate the abstract ideas into a practical application and further do not amount to significantly more because the “controlling…” step is an idea of a solution. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(1). Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained.
Regarding rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103:
Applicant asserts that Ouenes discloses simulations based on simulations "present at the time of the hydraulic fracturing, which is different than determining fracture design and orientation for optimum recovery of hydrocarbons by analyzing spatio-temporal relationships between the injection and the production of the fluids to or from the reservoir and, geomechanical changes, and the stress distribution, reservoir geomechanical and flow characteristics using a first model of a single well and a second model of a plurality of wells, as recited in amended claims 1, 8, and 15.” Response at pg. 13.
However, nothing in the claim prohibits a simulation of conditions while fracturing. “Spatio-temporal relationships,” as interpreted, is any relationship between compared conditions that is related to space and/or time. Thus, assuming that Ouenes only discloses conditions while fracturing, this does not preclude spatio-temporal relationships at the time of fracturing.
Further, Ouenes discloses conditions that are “spatio-temporal” and thus discloses that limitation, as further indicated below.
Accordingly, rejection of the independent claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes and Liu is maintained.
Dependent claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1, 8, and 15 recite “analyzing spatio-temporal relationships between the injection and the production of the fluids to or from the reservoir and, geomechanical changes, and the stress distribution, reservoir geomechanical and flow characteristics.” The limitation is indefinite because it is unclear which of the listed criteria are being compared. For example, the claim can be interpreted to mean, inter alia, any of the following spatio-temporal relationships are compared to each other:
“Injection of the fluids to the reservoir” with “production of the fluids from the reservoir”
“injection and the production of the fluids to or from the reservoir” (i.e., movement of fluids) with “geomechanical changes”
“injection and the production of the fluids to or from the reservoir” (i.e., movement of fluids) with “stress distribution”
“injection and the production of the fluids to or from the reservoir” (i.e., movement of fluids) with “geomechanical changes and stress distribution”
“injection and the production of the fluids to or from the reservoir” with “geomechanical changes, the stress distribution, reservoir geomechanical [characteristics], and flow characteristics”
Thus, it is unclear from the claim language which of the following are to be considered as a singular variable to compare with one or more other variables or whether one or more recitation of “and” should be considered as part of a singular variable:
“Injection of the fluids to the reservoir”
“Production of the fluids from the reservoir”
“geomechanical changes”
“stress distribution”
“reservoir geomechanical characteristics”
“flow characteristics”
Some of the potential comparisons are unclear as to the meaning of the terms, such as comparing “the injection and the production of the fluids to or from the reservoir” and “flow characteristics,” which, given a reasonable interpretation, encompasses “the injection and the production of the fluids to or from the reservoir.”
Because the limitation can be interpreted any number of different ways, it is interpreted herein as meaning “spatio-temporal relationship between flow characteristics of fluids (into and out of the reservoir) and changes to the reservoir structure (i.e., “geomechanical changes,” “stress distribution,” and “reservoir geomechanical characteristics”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exceptions without significantly more. The claims recite mathematical calculations and mental processes. These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements that are recited in the claims are extra-solution activities that do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because courts have found that the steps of data gathering and recitations of generic computer component s and ideas of a solution are not significantly more than a judicial exception.
Claim 1
Step 1: The claim is directed to a process, falling under one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim 1 limitations include (bolded for abstract idea identification):
Claim 1
Mapping Under Step 2A Prong 1
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving stress change correlations over space and time for injection and production of fluids to or from a reservoir;
determining, using reservoir geomechanical modeling tools and using the stress change correlations, a stress distribution of the reservoir;
determining, using the stress distribution of the reservoir-and field-wide geomechanical properties for optimizing treatment, a fracture growth defining, using a fracturing model, a propagation behavior of a fracture in the reservoir;
determining fracture design and orientation for optimum recovery of hydrocarbons by analyzing spatio-temporal relationships between the injection and the production of the fluids to or from the reservoir and geomechanical changes and the stress distribution, reservoir geomechanical and flow characteristics using a first model of a single well and a second model of a plurality of wells;
determining changes in the stress distribution in the reservoir through injection or production of fluids relative to field configurations comprising the single well and the plurality of wells;
determining, using the changes in the stress distribution and the fracture design and orientation, an optimized injection or production and placement of wells, comprising using machine learning to adjust injection and production of fluids to or from the reservoir;
determining, using the optimized injection or production and placement of wells, an optimum stress distribution for placement of new wells and fractures in terms of orientation and size to maximize recovery of hydrocarbons; and
controlling a drilling of a new well by using the optimum stress distribution.
Abstract Idea: Mathematical Calculations
Using modeling tools includes performing one or more mathematical calculations or applying mathematical concepts to simulate the behavior of a system. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection I.
Abstract Idea: Mental Process
Using a model to determine behavior is a mental process that can be performed by a human and requires observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection III.
Abstract Idea: Mental Process
Determining a design for a well is a mental process that includes observation, evaluation, and judgment, which can be performed by a human with knowledge in the field with the aid of pencil and paper. See e.g., MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection III.
Abstract Idea: Mental Process
Determining a change can be performed by a human using observation. For example, a human can review stress distributions and identify when changes to the values exceed a threshold. See e.g., MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection III.
Abstract Idea: Mathematical Calculations
Machine learning techniques include performing one or more mathematical equations and/or functions to generate results. For example, a machine learning model can be constructed and provided with inputs related to changes in stress distributions, and the model can provide injection and production values that can be applied to a well. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection I.
Abstract Idea: Mental Process
Determining an optimum stress distribution can include adjusting injection and/or production of a well to maintain optimal conditions for a new well in order to maximize recovery. See e.g., MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection III.
Step 2A, Prong 2: The claim 1 limitations recite (bolded for additional element identification):
Claim 1
Mapping Under Step 2A Prong 2
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving stress change correlations over space and time for injection and production of fluids to or from a reservoir;
determining, using reservoir geomechanical modeling tools and using the stress change correlations, a stress distribution of the reservoir;
determining, using the stress distribution of the reservoir-and field-wide geomechanical properties for optimizing treatment, a fracture growth defining, using a fracturing model, a propagation behavior of a fracture in the reservoir;
determining fracture design and orientation for optimum recovery of hydrocarbons by analyzing spatio-temporal relationships between the injection and the production of the fluids to or from the reservoir and geomechanical changes and the stress distribution, reservoir geomechanical and flow characteristics using a first model of a single well and a second model of a plurality of wells;
determining changes in the stress distribution in the reservoir through injection or production of fluids relative to field configurations comprising the single well and the plurality of wells;
determining, using the changes in the stress distribution and the fracture design and orientation, an optimized injection or production and placement of wells, comprising using machine learning to adjust injection and production of fluids to or from the reservoir;
determining, using the optimized injection or production and placement of wells, an optimum stress distribution for placement of new wells and fractures in terms of orientation and size to maximize recovery of hydrocarbons; and
controlling a drilling of a new well by using the optimum stress distribution and by adjusting drilling parameters comprising a speed and a direction of the drilling equipment.
Reciting a generic computer to perform one or more judicial exceptions is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f), Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 112 USPQ2d 1750 (Fed. Cir. 2014); Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Receiving data is an extra-solution activity of data gathering and data transmission, which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g), OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering).
The limitations recite idea of solutions without reciting details as to how a solution to the problem is accomplished. See, e.g., MPEP 2106.05(f)(1), Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Step 2B: Regarding Step 2B, the inquiry is whether any of the additional elements (i.e., the elements that are not the judicial exception) amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception. The extra-solution activity of receiving stress change correlations is well-understood, routine, and conventional and therefore is not significantly more than the recited judicial exceptions. See, e.g., Batmaz, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,526,890), disclosing collecting reservoir formation data over time: “As shown, a data audit 901 may be performed to collect data available of the formation being analyzed. For example, data may be collected using a sonic measurement tool or an image logging tool, and data may be collected from, for example, one or more current boreholes drilled in the formation, seismic testing, or one or more offset wells.” Batmaz at col. 11, lines 31-37. Furter, recitation of ideas of a solution have been determined by courts to be insignificantly more than recited judicial exceptions. See, e.g., MPEP 2106.05(f)(1), Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015). Finally, courts have found that claiming generic computer components is insignificantly more than the recited judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f), Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 112 USPQ2d 1750 (Fed. Cir. 2014); Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 2
Claim 2 recites generating, for display in a user interface, a plot showing a single well pressure distribution for a single well model. The limitation recites the judicial exception of a mental process because creating a plot can be performed by a human using a pencil and paper. For example, a human can generate a plot by drawing (or using a computer as an aid) plot points that show particular aspects of a well or reservoir formation on a set of Cartesian axes. Accordingly, claim 2 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 3
Claim 3 recites generating, for display in a user interface, a diagram showing a grid investigated for shear strain and shear stress. The limitation recites the judicial exception of a mental process because creating a diagram can be performed by a human using a pencil and paper. For example, a human can generate a diagram by drawing (or using a computer as an aid) a visual representation of data points that indicate particular aspects of a well or reservoir formation. Accordingly, claim 3 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 4
Claim 4 recites comprising generating, for display in a user interface, a three-dimensional (3D) plot showing different phenomena of shear strain between a toe and a heel of a well within an IJ direction. The limitation recites the judicial exception of a mental process because creating a plot can be performed by a human using a pencil and paper. For example, a human can generate a plot by drawing (or using a computer as an aid) plot points that show particular aspects of a well or reservoir formation on a set of Cartesian axes. Accordingly, claim 4 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 5
Claim 5 recites generating, for display in a user interface, a plot showing a gas saturation distribution of a parent well and a child well. The limitation recites the judicial exception of a mental process because creating a plot can be performed by a human using a pencil and paper. For example, a human can generate a plot by drawing (or using a computer as an aid) plot points that show particular aspects of a well or reservoir formation on a set of Cartesian axes. Accordingly, claim 5 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 6
Claim 6 recites generating, for display in a user interface, a 3D plot of shear strain in a parent well and a child well. The limitation recites the judicial exception of a mental process because creating a plot can be performed by a human using a pencil and paper. For example, a human can generate a plot by drawing (or using a computer as an aid) plot points that show particular aspects of a well or reservoir formation on a set of Cartesian axes. Accordingly, claim 6 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 7
Claim 7 recites generating, for display in a user interface, a 3D plot of shear stress in a parent well and a child well. The limitation recites the judicial exception of a mental process because creating a plot can be performed by a human using a pencil and paper. For example, a human can generate a plot by drawing (or using a computer as an aid) plot points that show particular aspects of a well or reservoir formation on a set of Cartesian axes. Accordingly, claim 7 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 8
Claim 8 recites a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions executable by a computer system to perform operations comprising a method that is substantially the same as the method of claim 1. The limitation of a non-transitory, computer-readable medium is a recitation of generic computer components, which courts have found to be insignificantly more than the recited exception and further do not integrate the exception into a practical application. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons as claim 1, claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claims 9-14
Claims 9-14 recite substantially the same imitations as claims 2-7. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons as claims 2-7, claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 15
Claim 15 recites a computer-implemented system, comprising: one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the one or more processors and storing programming instructions for execution by the one or more processors, the programming instructions instructing the one or more processors to perform operations comprising a method that is substantially the same as the method of claim 1. The limitation of one or more processors and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium are recitations of generic computer components, which courts have found to be insignificantly more than the recited exception and further do not integrate the exception into a practical application. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons as claim 1, claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claims 16-20
Claims 16-20 recite substantially the same imitations as claims 2-6. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons as claims 2-6, claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz, et al., (U.S. Patent No. 10,526,890, hereinafter “Batmaz”), in view of Ouenes (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0145793, hereinafter “Ouenes”) and Liu, et al., (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0124087, hereinafter “Liu”).
Claim 1
Batmaz discloses:
receiving stress change correlations over space and time for injection and production of fluids to or from a reservoir;
An example of a workflow for calculating stresses in a formation according to embodiments of the present disclosure is shown in FIG. 9, which may be used for calculating principle stresses of a borehole. As shown, a data audit 901 may be performed to collect data available of the formation being analyzed. For example, data may be collected using a sonic measurement tool or an image logging tool, and data may be collected from, for example, one or more current boreholes drilled in the formation, seismic testing, or one or more offset wells. Batmaz at col. 11, lines 28-37.
As new information accumulates, such as from additional data acquired in wellbores after or while drilling, well test data, or subsequent seismic surveys, a more detailed MEM of the rock formations at the reservoir level may be developed. MEMs may be used, for example, for designing completions, performing fracture stimulation, and simulating reservoir production. Batmaz at col. 11, lines 21-27.
Collection from “one or more boreholes” is analogous to “over space” measurements of “stresses of a borehole” (i.e., “stress change correlations”).
Collection “as new information accumulates” is analogous to “over…time.”
determining, using reservoir geomechanical modeling tools and using the stress change correlations, a stress distribution of the reservoir;
A three-dimensional model may then be constructed 902 to use as a framework model and determine drilling hazards. The model may be based on the data audit, and may include, for example, locations of major faults. Batmaz at col. 11, lines 38-41.
Further, measurements characterizing a formation may be used in modeling a reservoir system, for example, by using a mechanical earth model (“MEM”). As used herein, an MEM is a numerical representation of the geomechanical state of the reservoir, field, or basin. In addition to property distribution (e.g., density, porosity) and fracture system, an MEM may incorporate pore pressures, state of stress, and rock mechanical properties. The stresses on the reservoir may be caused by overburden weight (vertical stress), any superimposed tectonic forces, localized forces (e.g., resulting from faults, fractures, laminations, depositional orientation, variability in rock mechanical properties, etc.), and by production and injection. Various types of MEMs may be used, such as well-centric MEMs (concentrated on borehole effects, such as breakouts, collapses, sanding, and wellbore stability issues, and may be used for near-well dynamic simulations) and field wide MEMs (may be used to evaluate the effects of drilling and producing for full-field dynamic simulations), which may include time-lapse modeling of fluid flow and pressure, temperature changes, and associated effects on stresses. Batmaz at col. 10, line 62-col. 11, line 16.
An “MEM” is a “reservoir geomechanical modeling tool.”
“Locations of major faults,” “overburden weight,” “state of stress,” and “rock mechanical properties” are examples of “stress distribution of the reservoir.”
determining, using the optimized injection or production and placement of wells, an optimum stress distribution for placement of new wells and fractures in terms of orientation and size to maximize recovery of hydrocarbons;
After re-evaluation of reservoir characterization 12, completion and stimulation 14 may be analyzed and optimized. As mentioned above, increased production may depend, in part, on choosing a well in a location having good reservoir quality. However, increasing production in wells having stress regime heterogeneity may depend on having both good reservoir quality and good completion quality. Completion quality includes a set of properties that allows for effective reservoir contact through the creation of optimal hydraulic fracture geometry that provides connectivity to the wellbore and maintains sufficient conductivity for hydrocarbon production. This effective reservoir contact may be enhanced by hydraulic fractures that connect to the pre-existing natural fractures, but may be negatively impacted by features such as laminations that may compromise vertical connectivity within the hydraulic fracture. Batmaz at col. 14, lines 47-63.
The “properties that allows for effective reservoir contact through the creation of optimal hydraulic fracture geometry” are analogous to “optimum stress distribution” for a well.
controlling drilling equipment for drilling of a new well by using the optimum stress distribution and
Upon modeling the borehole through the formation and/or the hydraulic fracturing operation, the borehole may be drilled through the formation. In some embodiments, a new trajectory of a borehole being drilled may be modeled to extend through at least one normal stress regime region. Based on the model of the new trajectory, the drilling direction of the borehole may be altered. Batmaz at col. 18, lines 13-15.
by adjusting drilling parameters comprising a speed and a direction of the drilling equipment.
[A] new trajectory of a borehole being drilled may be modeled to extend through at least one normal stress regime region. Based on the model of the new trajectory, the drilling direction of the borehole may be altered. Batmaz at col. 18, lines 15-19.
“Trajectory” includes a path of an object over time, which includes the speed of the object.
Batmaz does not appear to disclose:
A computer-implemented method1, comprising:
determining, using the stress distribution of the reservoir and field-wide geomechanical properties for optimizing treatment, a fracture growth defining, using a fracturing model, a propagation behavior of a fracture in the reservoir;
determining fracture design and orientation for optimum recovery of hydrocarbons by analyzing spatio-temporal relationships between the injection and the production of the fluids to or from the reservoir and, geomechanical changes, and the stress distribution, reservoir geomechanical and flow characteristics using a first model of a single well and a second model of a plurality of wells;
determining changes in the stress distribution in the reservoir through injection or production of fluids relative to field configurations comprising the single well and the plurality of wells;
determining, using the changes in the stress distribution and the fracture design and orientation, an optimized injection or production and placement of wells, comprising using machine learning to adjust injection and production of fluids to or from the reservoir;
Ouenes, which is analogous art, discloses:
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
Properties of the injection treatment can be calculated or selected based on computer simulations of complex hydraulic fracture 121 propagation and interaction with the natural fracture network 109 in the subterranean region 104. Ouenes at [0043].
determining, using the stress distribution of the reservoir- and field-wide geomechanical properties for optimizing treatment, a fracture growth defining, using a fracturing model, a propagation behavior of a fracture in the reservoir;
The present invention uses these initial geomechanical conditions as input in the simulation of the hydraulic fracturing and the resulting interaction between the hydraulic and natural fractures which lead to a complex distribution of the strain around the stimulated well. Ouenes at [0049].
A major feature of the present invention is its ability to first combine the continuous representation of the natural fractures as a 2D map or a 3D volume derived from multiple sources that is then transformed into an equivalent fracture model where natural fractures or faults are represented by segments of certain lengths and orientations, which are used as input into a meshless particle-based geomechanical simulator able to represent explicitly the natural fractures or faults. Another major feature is the ability to model in the meshless particle-based method the interaction between the regional stress with the equivalent fracture model to quickly yield (i.e., in only few hours) horizontal differential stress maps and local maximum principal stresses directions, which can be used as the proper initial geomechanical conditions present before hydraulic fracturing. The meshless particle-based geomechanical simulator able to represent explicitly the natural fractures with the proper derived initial geomechanical conditions is used to add explicitly hydraulic fractures which are pressurized to reproduce the stress effects, and its propagation in the continuum reservoir, created during a hydraulic fracturing operations. The resulting strain is used to interpret geomechanical asymmetric half-lengths that can be input as a constraint into hydraulic fracturing design software to estimate the fracture heights and stress gradient at each stimulation stage. Ouenes at [0015].
“A meshless particle-based geomechanical simulator” is “a fracture model” that models “stress effects, and its propagation in the continuum reservoir, created during a hydraulic fracturing operations” (analogous to “fracture growth” and “propagation behavior”). The result is provided to “hydraulic fracturing design software to estimate the fracture heights and stress gradient at each stimulation stage” (analogous to “optimizing treatment”).
determining fracture design and orientation for optimum recovery of hydrocarbons by
FIGS. 5a-5b are flowcharts of an exemplary method of hydraulic fracture design and completion optimization according to the present invention. Ouenes at [0050].
analyzing spatio-temporal relationships between the injection and the production of the fluids to or from the reservoir and geomechanical changes and the stress distribution, reservoir geomechanical and flow characteristics
Multiple logs measuring rock properties are computed or measured along wellbore 108 and can be used in the completion optimization process. Ouenes at [0043].
Wellbore geometry and various logs computed or measured along the wellbore 108 provide stress information that could be used in the workflow. In some implementations, the well 101 is used to apply an injection treatment to extract resources from the subterranean formation 104 through the wellbore 108. The example well 101 may be used to create a complex hydraulic fracture 121 in wellbore 108. Ouenes at [0043].
In some instances, the data gathering step 151 includes gathering or obtaining completion stimulation data. The completion data includes the position and depth of the perforation clusters, cluster per fracture stages, tubing size, completion time. The stimulation data includes treatment volumes and rates, completion stages, initial and final instantaneous shut-in pressure (ISIP), breakdown pressure, closure pressure, conductivity, fracture gradient or other information regarding stimulation. Ouenes at [0055].
Limitation is interpreted as analyzing at least the flow of fluids as related to injection/production of fluids in the reservoir and/or wellbore.
“initial and final instantaneous shut-in pressure” is analogous to both fluid flow and stress distribution, and is spatio-temporal.
“Wellbore geometry” is related to spatial geomechanics.
using a first model of a single well and a second model of a plurality of wells;
FIG. 3 shows a wellbore 108 that has been drilled, but not completed and stimulated, crossing a fractured subterranean region 104. Ouenes at [0043].
The figure is related to a model of a single well.
Referring initially to FIG. 1, a cross-section 100 is shown extending across two well surface locations 101 and 102. Ouenes at [0040].
FIG. 1 illustrates two (i.e., “multiple”) wells.
determining changes in the stress distribution in the reservoir through injection or production of fluids relative to field configurations comprising the single well and the plurality of wells;
The meshless particle-based geomechanical simulator able to represent explicitly the natural fractures with the proper derived initial geomechanical conditions is used to add explicitly hydraulic fractures which are pressurized to reproduce the stress effects, and its propagation in the continuum reservoir, created during a hydraulic fracturing operations. Ouenes at [0015].
“Stress effects” are analogous to “stress distributions.”
“Hydraulic fractures which are pressurized” is analogous to “injection or production of fluids” (i.e., injecting fluids causes pressurization of the fractures).
Ouenes is analogous art to the claimed invention because are related to simulations of reservoir properties to assist in hydraulic fracturing operations. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the fracture modeling of Ouenes with the data collection methods disclosed in Batmaz to result in a system that can estimate stress distributions of a reservoir and model natural and hydraulic fractures based on the modeled distributions. Motivation to combine includes streamlining and automating parts of the well selection process to ensure a profitable well, thus saving time and costs associated with underperforming wells.
Ouenes does not appear to disclose:
determining, using the changes in the stress distribution and the fracture design and orientation, an optimized injection or production and placement of wells, comprising using machine learning to adjust injection and production of fluids to or from the reservoir;
Liu, which is analogous art, discloses:
determining, using the changes in the stress distribution and the fracture design and orientation, an optimized injection or production and placement of wells, comprising using machine learning to adjust injection and production of fluids to or from the reservoir;
In some implementations, the data from the hydrocarbon reservoir includes at least one of a hydraulic fracture geometry of the hydrocarbon reservoir; an injection rate of the hydrocarbon reservoir; or a mineral composition and an in situ stress of the hydrocarbon reservoir. Liu at [0006].
The disclosed methods and systems use measured reservoir characterization data, measured hydraulic fracturing data, and measured production rates of multiple hydrocarbon reservoirs and production wells to train a physics-constrained machine learning model. The physics-constrained machine learning model includes an artificial neural network to generate parameters that correspond to the physical mechanisms for fluid flow in the unconventional hydrocarbon reservoir. The physics-constrained machine learning model includes a reservoir flow model to predict hydrocarbon production rates for the hydrocarbon reservoir as a function of time based on the parameters. Liu at [0021].
Moreover, the methods and systems are used to estimate potential production as a function of time at geographical locations where production wells are not drilled yet. Therefore, optimal geographical locations for drilling production wells are determined. Liu at [0022].
The “parameters that correspond to the physical mechanisms for fluid flow in the unconventional hydrocarbon reservoir” are analogous to “optimized injection/production.”
“Generated properties” include “adjusting injection and production fluids”
Liu is analogous art to the claimed invention because both are related to optimum well placement and hydraulic fracturing. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the injection/production regulation of Liu with the models of Batmaz and Ouenes to maintain production levels once geomechanical properties and stress distributions are determined. Motivation to combine includes ensuring a completed well maintains an acceptable production level to improve profitability of the well.
Claim 8
Liu discloses:
A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions executable by a computer system to perform operations
In some implementations, the hardware processors 108 are general-purpose microprocessors. The computer system 100 also includes a main memory 606, such as a random-access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device, coupled to the bus 602 for storing information and instructions to be executed by processors 108. Liu at [0055].
Further, claim 8 recites a method that is substantially the same as the method disclosed in claim 1. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons and based on the same prior art as 1, claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes and Liu.
Claim 15
Liu discloses:
A computer-implemented system, comprising: one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the one or more processors and storing programming instructions for execution by the one or more processors, the programming instructions instructing the one or more processors to perform operations
The computer system 100 is used to train the physics-constrained machine learning model 116 to generate a predicted hydrocarbon production rate for the hydrocarbon reservoir 128 as a function of time. An implementation of the computer system 100 is illustrated and described in more detail later with reference to FIG. 6. The computer system 100 includes a physics-constrained machine learning model 116, one or more computer processors 108, a storage device 112, training data 120, and a display device 124. The computer processors 108 are computer hardware used to perform the methods disclosed herein. Liu at [0029].
Further, claim 15 recites limitations that are substantially the same as the limitations recited in claim 1. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons and based on the same prior art as claim 1, claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes and Liu.
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Garcia-Teijeiro, et al., (U.S. Patent No. 10,788,604, hereinafter “Garcia”).
Claim 2
Batmaz, Ouenes, and Liu do not appear to disclose:
generating, for display in a user interface, a plot showing a single well pressure distribution for a single well model.
Garcia, which is analogous art to the claimed invention, discloses:
generating, for display in a user interface, a plot showing a single well pressure distribution for a single well model.
FIG. 9 shows examples of plots 910, 930 and 950. The plot 910 illustrates three-dimensional stress change in a neighborhood of a hydraulic fracture in a model where the hydraulic fracture is made within a model of a homogeneous medium. The plot 910 includes examples of values of Δfs (e.g., in psi) some of which are less than zero and some of which are greater than zero…In the plots 930 and 950 the abscissa (σ) and ordinate (τ) of each point on a circle are the magnitudes of the normal stress and shear stress components, respectively (e.g., acting on the rotated coordinate system). Garcia at col. 18, lines 29-42.
See also FIG. 9, illustrating a single well and pressures surrounding the well.
Garcia is analogous art to the claimed invention because both are related to illustrating well data related to hydraulic fracturing and reservoir stresses and pressures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine Garcia with the analysis performed in Ouenes, Liu, and Batmaz to generate plots of the modeled characteristics. Motivation to combine includes providing engineers with visual representations of reservoir and well conditions to improve readability of the model results and assist the engineers in making decisions regarding drilling new wells and maintenance of existing wells.
Claim 3
Batmaz, Ouenes, and Liu do not appear to disclose:
generating, for display in a user interface, a diagram showing a grid investigated for shear strain and shear stress.
Garcia discloses:
generating, for display in a user interface, a diagram showing a grid investigated for shear strain and shear stress.
In such an example, one or more increases in the projected shear plastic strain, with respect to the referential value, on a fracture may be interpreted as a microseismic event. Garcia at col. 21, lines 16-19.
As an example, the plastic strain tensor (e.g., used to compute microseismicity) may be decomposed into the normal and shear components on the discontinuity planes. Garcia at col. 21, lines 29-32.
Microseismicity recorded during multistage fracture treatments may provide disperse “clouds” of events (e.g., located at individual event hypocenters). As an example, a method can include analyzing clouds of events to extract planar-type features, which may be indicative of fracture location, directions of stresses, etc. Garcia at col. 15, lines 60-65.
FIG. 5 shows an example of a geologic environment 501 in an approximate perspective view and in an approximate side view where the geologic environment includes a monitoring bore 543 with a sensor array 544, a treatment bore 546, a fracture 548, a surface 549 and surface sensors 554 (e.g., seismic sensors, tiltmeters, etc.). As an example, during growth of the fracture 548, energy may be emitted as a microseismic event 556. Garcia at col. 14, lines 15-22.
Claims 9 and 10
Claims 9 and 10 recite limitations that are substantially the same as the limitations disclosed in claim 2 and 3. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons and based on the same prior art as claims 2 and 3, claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Garcia.
Claims 16 and 17
Claims 16 and 17 recite limitations that are substantially the same as the limitations recited in claims 2 and 3. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons and based on the same prior art as claims 2 and 3, claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Garcia.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Shen, et al., (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0211653, hereinafter “Shen”).
Claim 4
Batmaz, Ouenes, and Liu do not appear to disclose:
generating, for display in a user interface, a three-dimensional (3D) plot showing different phenomena of shear strain between a toe and a heel of a well within an IJ plane.
Shen, which is analogous art to the claimed invention, discloses:
generating, for display in a user interface, a three-dimensional (3D) plot showing different phenomena of shear strain between a toe and a heel of a well within an IJ plane.
FIG. 10 is a graphical display illustrating the contour of normal strain in the horizontal direction (LE11) within the model in FIG. 2 at time t=1,008,110 s. Shen at [0015].
The figure illustrates a horizontal well, which is horizontal (“an IJ direction”) between a heel and a toe of the wellbore.
Shen is analogous art to the claimed invention because both are related to injection processes to improve petroleum extraction in wells. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the plots of Shen with the models of Batmaz, Ouenes, and Liu to provide a graphical representation of the modeled characteristics. Motivation to combine includes providing engineers with visual representations of reservoir and well conditions to improve readability of the model results and assist the engineers in making decisions regarding drilling new wells and maintenance of existing wells.
Claims 11 and 18
Claims 11 and 18 recite limitations that are substantially the same as the limitations disclosed in claim 4. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons and based on the same prior art as claim 4, claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Shen.
Claim 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Boone, et al., (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0272153, hereinafter “Boone”).
Claim 5
Batmaz, Ouenes, and Liu do not appear to disclose:
generating, for display in a user interface, a plot showing a gas saturation distribution of a parent well and a child well.
Boone, which is analogous art to the claimed invention, discloses:
generating, for display in a user interface, a plot showing a gas saturation distribution of a parent well and a child well.
FIG. 18 shows the 3D results of reservoir simulations modeling a CSS operation in a partitioned reservoir with Athabasca Cold Lake type properties and one vertical permeability barrier, comparing gas saturation in a typical split pay reservoir with a split pay reservoir having a zone of increased permeability extending through the vertical permeability barrier above each of two adjacent horizontal CSS wells, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention; Boone at [0043].
Boone is analogous art to the claimed invention because both are related to enhanced petroleum recovery. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the plots of Boone with the models of Batmaz, Ouenes, and Liu to provide a graphical representation of the modeled characteristics. Motivation to combine includes providing engineers with visual representations of reservoir and well conditions to improve readability of the model results and assist the engineers in making decisions regarding drilling new wells and maintenance of existing wells.
Claims 12 and 19
Claims 12 and 19 recite limitations that are substantially the same as the limitations disclosed in claim 5. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons and based on the same prior art as claim 5, claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Boone.
Claim 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Shen and Boone.
Claim 6
Batmaz, Ouenes, and Liu do not appear to disclose:
generating, for display in a user interface, a 3D plot of shear strain in a parent well and a child well.
Shen discloses:
generating, for display in a user interface, a 3D plot of shear strain in a
FIG. 10 is a graphical display illustrating the contour of normal strain in the horizontal direction (LE11) within the model in FIG. 2 at time t=1,008,110 s. Shen at [0015].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the plots of Shen with the models of Batmaz, Ouenes, and Liu to provide a graphical representation of the modeled characteristics. Motivation to combine includes providing engineers with visual representations of reservoir and well conditions to improve readability of the model results and assist the engineers in making decisions regarding drilling new wells and maintenance of existing wells.
Shen does not appear to disclose:
a parent well and a child well.
Boone discloses:
a parent well and a child well.
FIG. 18 shows the 3D results of reservoir simulations modeling a CSS operation in a partitioned reservoir with Athabasca Cold Lake type properties and one vertical permeability barrier, comparing gas saturation in a typical split pay reservoir with a split pay reservoir having a zone of increased permeability extending through the vertical permeability barrier above each of two adjacent horizontal CSS wells, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention; Boone at [0043].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine Shen with the plots of Boone to model multiple wells that are in the same vicinity, such as parent and child wells. Motivation to combine includes providing data on multiple wells simultaneously, which improves analysis because, in some circumstances, one well can have effects on other wells.
Claims 13 and 20
Claims 13 and 20 recite limitations that are substantially the same as the limitations disclosed in claim 6. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons and based on the same prior art as claim 6, claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Shen and Boone.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Herrera, et al., (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0355707, hereinafter “Herrera”).
Claim 7
Batmaz, Ouenes, and Liu do not appear to disclose:
generating, for display in a user interface, a 3D plot of shear stress in a parent well and a child well.
Herrera, which is analogous art, discloses:
generating, for display in a user interface, a 3D plot of shear stress in a parent well and a child well.
FIG. 15 is a plot of microseismic event predictions 1576.1 about the modeled fractures 774.1 for a pair of adjacent wellbores 1504.1, 1504.2. The estimated microseismic events 1576.1 are shown as solid circles with darker shading indicating greater stress. Measured microseismic events 1576.2 are also shown. The microseismic events 1576 may be computed from stress drop that occurs during reactivation of the natural fractures. The predicted microseismic events can also be used for calibration to field observations. Herrera at [0178].
“Microseismic events” are analogous to “shear stress.”
Herrera is analogous art to the claimed invention because both are related to reservoir fracturing to generate petroleum production. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the plots of Herrera with the models of Batmaz, Ouenes, and Liu to provide a graphical representation of the modeled characteristics. Motivation to combine includes providing engineers with visual representations of reservoir and well conditions to improve readability of the model results and assist the engineers in making decisions regarding drilling new wells and maintenance of existing wells.
Claims 14
Claim 14 recites limitations that are substantially the same as the limitations disclosed in claim 7. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons and based on the same prior art as claim 7, claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Batmaz in view of Ouenes, Liu, and further in view of Herrera.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Blauch, et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 5,277,062), “Measuring in situ stress, induced fracture orientation, fracture distribution and spatial orientation of planar rock fabric features using computer tomography imagery of oriented core.”
Soliman, et al., (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2005/0125209), “Methods for geomechanical fracture modeling.”
Wang, et al., “Integrated well placement and fracture design optimization for multi-well pad development in tight oil reservoirs,” Computational Geosciences (2019) 23:471–493.
Ebadat, et al., “Well placement optimization according to field production curve using gradient-based control methods through dynamic modeling,” Journal of Petroleum Science and Engineering 100 (2012) 178–188.
Communication
JOSEPH MORRIS
Examiner
Art Unit 2188
/JOSEPH P MORRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188
1 Not explicitly disclosed by Batmaz, though the modeling disclosed would be implemented on a computing device.