DETAILED ACTION
The current Office Action is in response to the papers submitted 02/12/2026. Claims 1 – 7, 10 – 17, 20, and 23 - 24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 7, 10 – 17, 20, and 23 - 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites that in the activated security mode data stored in the memory and associated with the execution of the designated program code is deleted. There is no indication how the data that is deleted is associated with the program code. Program code that is executed is data stored in memory that is associated with the program that is executed. This then would mean the data in memory that is deleted would include the program code itself. All data in the system is actually associated with the program code since all of the data in memory in the system where the program code is stored is associated with program code since it is all in the same system. This then would indicate all the data in the entire system is deleted, including the program code itself. This makes the claim indefinite since it is unclear how entering a security mode would cause all the data in the system to be deleted including the data of a program that is being executed. For examination the data that is associated with the program code and deleted is considered any data that is associated with the program code besides the actual program code data itself. The association limitation broadest reasonable limitation includes any data the program code execution generates and any other data in the system since any data in the system is associated with anything else in the system since data and hardware are all in the same system.
Claim 15 contains similar language as rejected in claim 1 above and is rejected for similar reasons.
All remaining claims are rejected for being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 7, 10 – 17, 20, and 23 - 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leiseboer et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0307484) referred to as Leiseboer in view of Cardina et al. (Pub. No.: US 2012/0116902) referred to as Cardina in view of Murphrey et al. (Pub. No.: US 2002/0078396) referred to as Murphrey.
With regard to claim 1, Leiseboer teaches a method [6, Fig 6; Figs 10 – 12; The device 6 processing data according to the methods of figures 10 - 12] for processing data [Paragraphs 0051 – 0053; The reading and storing of data in the cache is processing data] stored in a memory [610, Fig 6], the method [Figs 10 – 12; The figures show the steps performs in the methods of the system] comprising:
activating a security mode [Figs 6 and 10 – 12; Paragraphs 0050 – 0053, 0061 – 0063, 0067 – 0072; A security mode is entered when a user sets parameters such as a time duration or the number of read-back operations. Setting such parameters is a function call or instruction that is executed before read-back operations are executed. The read-back operations are separate from the code setting the parameters]; and
in the activated security mode, automatically deleting, by a hardware component [620, Fig 6], the data stored in the memory [610, Fig 6; Paragraphs 0050 – 0053; The data in memory 610 is a result of read program code being executed], and otherwise, refraining from automatically deleting data [105 and 106, Fig 10; 115 and 116, Fig 11; 123, Fig 12; Paragraphs 0050 – 0053, 0061 – 0063, 0067 – 0072; The controller deletes data in the memory when the security mode is activated and data is not deleted when the security mode is not activated].
However, Leiseboer may not specifically disclose the limitation(s) of activating a security mode depending on a function call or instruction for program code designated for protection against side-channel attacks and in the activated security mode, automatically deleting the data stored in the memory and associated with the execution of the designated program code.
Cardina discloses activating a security mode depending on a function call or instruction for program code designated for protection against attacks and in the activated security mode, automatically deleting the data stored in the memory and associated with the execution of the designated program code [Figs 2 – 3 and 5; Paragraphs 0041 – 0042, 0057, 0066; When program code that allows a user to use temporary account data is activated the system enters a security mode where time or uses of the temporary data is monitored and then the temporary data is automatically erased to prevent attacks].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cardina in Leiseboer, because it allows a system to enter a secure mode by allowing data to be accessed a threshold number of times or a threshold length of time thereby preventing attacks accessing the data after the threshold has been reached.
Murphrey discloses program code designated for protection against side-channel attacks [102, Fig 3; 116 and 118, Fig 4; A form of side-channel attack is data remanence and the repeated overwriting erases the original data and prevents obtaining information related to the original data that was erased through the multiple overwrites].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Murphrey, because the multiple overwrites in the erase operation ensures the original data remanence is not present at the end of the erase operation.
With regard to claim 2, Leiseboer teaches wherein the memory [610, Fig 6] comprises at least one register or a cache memory [610, Fig 6; Paragraphs 0051 – 0053; The memory is a volatile cache], and the data correspond to a value loadable into the memory [610, Fig 6; Paragraphs 0051 – 0053; The text stored in the cache is a value that is loaded from the VZ memory].
With regard to claim 3, Leiseboer teaches the data are deleted using of one constant, one random value, or one pseudorandom value [Paragraphs 0050, 0053, 0056, 0061, and 0063; The cache is erased using a secure erase operation which overwrites data with other data. The erase operation is also defined as including writing static ones or static zeros or random data. Data that is stored is also constant while it is stored].
With regard to claim 4, Leiseboer teaches previous data are deleted before the designated program performs an operation on the data stored in the memory [Figs 10 - 12; Two or more consecutive iterations of the processes will delete data from a previous iteration in the last step before operations in the current iteration are performed].
With regard to claim 5, Leiseboer teaches the memory [610, Fig 6] comprises a register, a memory not accessible or not visible from outside in relation to a processor, a memory accessible or visible from outside in relation to a processor, a RAM [Paragraph 0051; The cache being SRAM is a type of RAM], a non-volatile memory [610, Fig 6; Paragraph 0053; The cache is volatile], or a cache memory [610, Fig 6; The memory is cache].
With regard to claim 6, Leiseboer teaches the method [Figs 10 – 12; The figures show the steps performs in the methods of the system] is carried out on a processor [620, Fig 6; The controller acts as a processor since it executes the secure deletion of data in cache], a CPU, a controller [620, Fig 6; Paragraphs 0051 – 0053; The controller controls carries out the methods used to control data access], an arithmetic logic unit (ALU), a cache memory [610, Fig 6; Paragraphs 0051 – 0053; The methods are performed on the cache memory since the method involves read and writing data to and from the cache], a security module [6, Fig 6; The entire device is a security device since it is used to provide secure access to data], a crypto unit [406, Fig 5], or a coprocessor .
With regard to claim 7, Leiseboer teaches wherein the deletion is initiated and/or performed by a hardware component [620, Fig 6; Paragraphs 0051 – 0053; The controller controls the secure erase in cache].
With regard to claim 10, Leiseboer teaches the security mode is activatable or deactivatable depending on a switch, a register, a configuration register, a crypto unit, an input/output unit, a processor, a CPU, a controller [620, Fig 6; Paragraphs 0050 - 0053, 0061 - 0063, 0067 - 0072; The erasing is controlled and activated by the controller and a threshold], an arithmetic logic unit (ALU), a cache memory, a security module [620 or 630, Fig 6; Paragraphs 0050 - 0053, 0061 - 0063, 0067 - 0072; The event detector and/or controller is a security module since both are devices that are used in the process of securing data by erasing the data or synching the data in a cache], or a coprocessor.
With regard to claim 11, Leiseboer teaches the security mode has a plurality of deletion stages [Paragraphs 0050 – 0053; The erase including writing multiple zeros or ones shows multiple bits being written in the erase operation and each bit that is erased with a one or zero is considered a deletion stage].
With regard to claim 12, Leiseboer teaches the deletion is performed after each operation, provided that the security mode is activated [Paragraphs 0051 – 0053; Each time there is a read of cached data that surpasses the limited multiple read limit the data in the cache is deleted].
With regard to claim 13, Leiseboer teaches the deletion is performed after at least one cycle duration of a clock signal [Paragraph 0053; The deletion being based on a number of reads indicates there is a number of clock cycles that occur between the time the data was written and cycles required to perform the read and also detect that the read limit was reached since operations in a computer are regulated by clock cycles] and/or after a predefined time duration [Paragraph 0053; The deletion can be time based].
With regard to claim 14, Leiseboer teaches the data have previously been read from a further memory [4’, Fig 6] and loaded into the memory [610, Fig 6; Paragraphs 0051 – 0053; Data stored in VZ memory is read into the cache].
Claim 15 is a device corresponding to claim 1 and is thus rejected using the same prior art and similar reasoning. Leisboer teaches a device [Figs 1 and 6], Cardina discloses a device [Figs 5 – 7], and Murphrey discloses a device [Fig 1].
With regard to claim 16, Leiseboer teaches the device [6, Fig 6] comprises a processor [620, Fig 6; The controller acts as a processor since it executes the secure deletion of data in cache] or a microcontroller [620, Fig 6; The cache controller is also a microcontroller of the cache].
Claim 17 is a device corresponding to claim 5 and is thus rejected using the same prior art and similar reasoning.
Claim 20 is a device corresponding to claim 4 and is thus rejected using the same prior art and similar reasoning.
With regard to claim 23, Leiseboer discloses wherein the security-optimized mode is activatable or deactivatable depending on a jump to an exception routine, a return from an exception routine, a call of a function, a return from a function, a crypto unit that is used, an instruction or a set of instructions [Figs 10 – 12; Paragraphs 0050 - 0053, 0061 - 0063, 0067 – 0072; The security mode is activated or deactivated based on the read instruction and the instruction(s) defining the security process of erasing data based on time or number of reads], a position of a program pointer, or a position of a stack pointer.
Claim 24 is a device corresponding to claim 23 and is thus rejected using the same prior art and similar reasoning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on pages 7 – 8 the claims are definite since the 112(b) indefinite rejections have been overcome based on the amendments removing the “before” limitations. After careful consideration of the applicant’s arguments the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The specific 112(b) rejection reasoning based on the “before” language has been withdrawn. However, the claims are still rejected under 112(b) for being indefinite as to what data is actually deleted. There is no scope or specific definition as to what defines data as being associated with the execution of program code. The execution of a program requires associated data to be read and processed. This makes the actual program code associated with the execution of the program code. All data in a system, including program code itself, is associated with all other data for the fact of being in the same system. The “association” being essentially open ended makes the scope of the claim indefinite since it is unclear what data is deleted.
The applicant argues on pages 9 – 10 that Leiseboer and Murphey fail to teach the amended limitations, the amended limitations now require deletion of execution-related data such as intermediate value, operands, or results stored in registers or caches during execution, and that the side channel attacks are power consumption, timing, or electromagnetic emissions and not read accesses. After careful consideration of the applicant’s arguments the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The amendments have changed the scope of the claims requiring further search and consideration of the prior art. The new grounds of rejection are a result of the further search and consideration of the prior art. The examiner suggests amending the claims to include further details defining the inventive concept from the specification to overcome the cited prior art and further advance prosecution.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., deletion of execution-related data such as intermediate value, operands, or results stored in registers or caches during execution and the side channel attacks being power consumption, timing, or electromagnetic emissions) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). There is no indication what the deleted data is other than it is associated with the execution of the program code in some manner. Side-channel attacks are not only based on power consumption, timing, or electromagnetic emissions. Side-channel attacks cover a large group of attacks which include data remanence attacks which is reading deleted data. Murphey helps protect against data remanence side-attacks by overwriting deleted data multiple times to prevent any remanence of the original deleted data being left behind to be accessed. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
/Christopher D Birkhimer/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138