DETAILED ACTION
Please Note:
In view of the fact that art was found which renders the invention of claim 40 non-obvious, prosecution is hereby reopened. A Non-Final Office action is being issued as set forth below.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 20-24, 26-28, 36-38 and 40-43 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/06/2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicant’s amendments, filed on 03/06/2025, have been entered into the record. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 36. Therefore, claims 1, 20-24, 26-28, 36-38 and 40-43 are subject of the Office action below.
Withdrawn Rejections:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-Withdrawn
In view of the Applicant’s arguments on the grounds that some PHN patients also suffer from deafferentation pain (see Interview Summary mailed on 02/24/2025), the rejection of claims 40-43 under: i) 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph; and ii) 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103-Withdrawn
In view of the: i) Applicant’s amendment of claim 1 to introduce the limitation a neuropathic pain from other than PHN; and ii) Applicant’s arguments on the grounds that the Goodchild reference relates to combination therapy for neuropathic pain (see pages 6-8 of remarks filed 03/06/2025), the rejection of claims 1, 20-24, 26-28 and 36-38 under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over:
1) Katz of record (Pain Medicine, 2002, 3(4), 324-332), in view of Liu of record (CN102018696A, 04/20/2011, Machine Translation); and
2) Katz of record (Pain Medicine, 2002, 3(4), 324-332), in view of Liu of record (CN102018696A, 04/20/2011, Machine Translation) and further in view of: i) Goodchild of record (WO2009000038A1); and ii) Dworkin of record (Clinical J. Pain, 2002),
is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
New Grounds of Rejection, Necessitated by Applicant’s Amendments
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1 and 23-24 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Galer of record (The Clinical J. Pain, 2002) in view of Chinhin2001 of record (JP2001302501A, Machine Translation).
Claim 1 is directed to a method for relief of centralized or peripheral neuropathic pain that is:
intense, localized, sharp, or stinging, and /or dull, aching, diffuse or burning in nature;
not chronic; and
not from spine surgery, postherpetic neuralgia (PHN) or skin aliments,
in a human subject not concurrently receiving another active ingredient for pain, comprising applying on a skin surface of the subject, a patch for transdermal delivery of lidocaine (emphasis added, intended use), comprising:
i) < 5 wt% lidocaine, as the sole active ingredient;
ii) a non-sterile pharmaceutically acceptable carrier;
iii) a permeation enhancer; and
iv) an excipient.
Any pain of three months or more = chronic pain (see Applicant’s arguments and declaration of Dr. J Eric Castro, filed on 08/09/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Galer teaches a method for assessing the effect of 5 wt% lidocaine patch on distinct neuropathic pain qualities common to all neuropathic pain conditions, using only assessment tool specifically designed to measure the distinct components of neuropathic pain (see abstract). Patients with neuropathic pain, for example, tend to use specific words to describe their pain experience, such as burning, aching, itchy, cold, sharp, sensitive skin, and surface or deep pain (see abstract and ¶ on left column of page 298 and page 299).
Eligibility requirement included established torso PHN for at least 1 month and presence of allodynia (pain due to a stimulus that does not normally provoke pain). Subjects were not disclosed as concurrently receiving another active ingredient for pain. Please see “MATERIALs AND METHODS” section starting on page 298. At least 1 month to less than 3 months in Galer = pain that is not chronic (see discussions above).
Although Galer teaches PHN, Galer teaches a method for assessing the effect of 5 wt% lidocaine patch on distinct neuropathic pain qualities common to all neuropathic pain conditions, using only assessment tool specifically designed to measure the distinct components of neuropathic pain (see discussions above).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art that Galer envisioned a method for using lidocaine patch for treating pain qualities common to all neuropathic pain conditions, including pain from PHN and pain not from PHN, spine surgery, or skin aliments.
Galer is not explicit in teaching a lidocaine patch comprising a non-sterile pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, a permeation enhancer and an excipient. However, the claimed invention would have been obvious over Galer, because at the time of the instant invention, a lidocaine patch of instant invention was known in the art.
For example, Chinhin2001 discloses a lidocaine patch for treating pain comprising from 0.5 wt% to 5 wt% lidocaine and 0.5 wt% to 15 wt% menthol (see abstract). Menthol increases lidocaine absorption, i.e., a permeation enhancer (see ¶ 0010). Additional ingredients that can be employed in the formulation of the patch includes: iii) water, i.e., a carrier (see ¶ 0025); and iv) castor oil, i.e., an excipient (see ¶ 0019). Chinhin2001’s patch does not require a sterile carrier.
The combination of lidocaine with menthol is more effective (see ¶ 0010).
Less than 0.5 wt% lidocaine would result in insufficient therapeutic effect and greater than 5 wt% would not result in better therapeutic effect (see ¶ 0011).
Less than 0.5 wt% menthol would result in insufficient therapeutic effect and greater than 15 wt% is unsuitable for treatment (see ¶ 0011).
The claimed < 5 wt% lidocaine (claim 1) and < 4 wt% (claim 23), overlaps or lies inside the range of 0.5 wt% to 5 wt% lidocaine disclosed by prior art (see discussions above).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (see MPEP § 2144.05).
In the instant case, because the claimed < 5 wt% or < 4 wt% lidocaine, overlaps or lies inside the range of 0.5 wt% to 5 wt% lidocaine disclosed by prior art (see discussions above), a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B), states that “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.”
In the instant case, the claimed < 5 wt% lidocaine, is a result effective variable that would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art. It is noted that no criticality (emphasis added), has been demonstrated in the specification with regard to the claimed < 5 wt% or <4 wt% lidocaine, for relief of neuropathic pain in a subject in need thereof.
Therefore, at the time of the instant invention, a person skilled in the art would have found it obvious to combine Galer and Chinhin2001 in order to apply on a skin surface of a human patient having a pain of claim 1, a patch comprising < 5 wt% lidocaine (e.g., 0.5-5 wt% lidocaine), a carrier, a permeation enhancer and an excipient, with a reasonable expectation that the application of the patch on a skin surface of the patient, would: i) exhibit an enhanced lidocaine absorption; and ii) relief the pain in the patient.
Obviousness requires only a reasonable expectation of success, not complete confidence in a given outcome; "at least some degree of predictability" is all that is required. M.P.E.P. § 2143.02.
The prior art can be modified or combined to reject claims as prima facie obvious as long as there is a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (see MPEP § 2143.02).
Regarding claim 1, the intended use of a patch of claim 1, for transdermal delivery of lidocaine, is an inherent property of the patch. Any properties exhibited by or benefits provided by the composition are inherent and are not given patentable weight over the prior art. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicants disclose and/or claim are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01. In the instant case, Galer and Chinhin2001, combine to disclose a patch of claims 1 (see discussions above).
Applicants are further requested to note that it is well settled that “intended use” of a composition or product, e.g., a topical delivery system, will not further limit claims drawn to a composition or product. See, e.g., Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987) and In re Hack 114,
Therefore, claim 1 is obvious over Galer and Chinhin2001.
Regarding claim 23, Liu teaches < 4 wt% lidocaine as the sole active ingredient (see discussions above).
Regarding claim 24, the recitation of the intended outcome of the execution of the method instant claim 1, resulting in complete relief of neuropathic pain, is not given any patentable weight because each of the recited clause is simply expressing the intended result of a process positively recited. Please see Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Since Galer and Chinhin2001, combine to disclose a method of claim 1 (see discussions above), the method of Galer and Chinhin2001, must necessarily exhibit the same outcomes of recited in claim 24. This is because each of the recited outcome in claim 24, is a natural process that flows from the human patient and the lidocaine patch applied. Please see MPEP, 2111.04.
Therefore, claim 24 is obvious over Galer and Chinhin2001.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a). From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Thus, the claims fail to patentably distinguish over the state of the art as represented by the cited references.
Claims 1, 20-22 and 36-38 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Galer of record in view of Chinhin2001 of record, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dworkin of record (Clinical J. Pain, 2002).
The limitations of claim 1, as well as the corresponding teachings of Galer and Chinhin2001, are described above and are hereby incorporated into the instant rejection.
The invention of claims 20-22, 36 and 38 are similar to claim 1, however, claims 20-22, 36 and 38 slightly from claim 1 in that claims 20-22, 36 and 38 require: i) pain from complex regional pain syndrome type II (CRPS II, claim 20); ii) pain from reflex sympathetic dystrophy syndrome (RSDS, claim 21); iii) pain from multiple sclerosis (MS, claim 22); and iv) pain not in the excluded list (claims 36, 38).
Although Galer teaches PHN, Galer teaches a method for assessing the effect of 5 wt% lidocaine patch on distinct neuropathic pain qualities common to all neuropathic pain conditions, using only assessment tool specifically designed to measure the distinct components of neuropathic pain (see discussions above).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art that Galer envisioned a method for using lidocaine patch for treating pain qualities common to all neuropathic pain conditions, including pain from PHN and pain not from PHN, spine surgery, or skin aliments (e.g., pain from CRPS II (claim 20), RSDS (claim 21), MS (claim 22) and pain not in the excluded list (claims 36, 38)).
Furthermore, a person skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed inventions because at the time of the instant invention, the neuropathic conditions of claims 20-22, 36 and 38, were known in the art. For example, Dworkin discloses a variety of neuropathic pain conditions, including the PHN of Galer and neuropathic pain conditions of claims 20-22, 36 and 38. Please see Table 1, page 344 and reiterated below.
Therefore, at the time of the instant invention, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to combine Galer, Chinhin2001 and Dworkin, in order to arrive at the invention of claims 20-22, 36 and 38. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that the application of a patch of the claimed invention (e.g., a patch comprising 0.5-5 wt% lidocaine, a carrier, a permeation enhancer and an excipient, see discussions above), to a skin surface of a patient having a neuropathic pain condition (e.g., multiple sclerosis, a centralized neuropathic pain condition, see discussions above), would relief the neuropathic pain condition in the patient.
Obviousness requires only a reasonable expectation of success, not complete confidence in a given outcome; "at least some degree of predictability" is all that is required. M.P.E.P. § 2143.02.
The prior art can be modified or combined to reject claims as prima facie obvious as long as there is a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (see MPEP § 2143.02).
Therefore, claims 20-22, 36 and 38 are obvious over Galer, Chinhin2001 and Dworkin.
Regarding claim 37, the claimed < 4 wt% lidocaine, overlaps or lies inside the range of 0.5 wt% to 5 wt% lidocaine disclosed by prior art (see discussions above).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (see MPEP § 2144.05).
In the instant case, because the claimed < 4 wt% lidocaine, overlaps or lies inside the range of 0.5 wt% to 5 wt% lidocaine disclosed by prior art (see discussions above), a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B), states that “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.”
In the instant case, the claimed < 4 wt% lidocaine, is a result effective variable that would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art. It is noted that no criticality (emphasis added), has been demonstrated in the specification with regard to the claimed <4 wt% lidocaine, for relief of neuropathic pain in a subject in need thereof.
< 4 wt% lidocaine as the sole active ingredient (see discussions above).
Regarding claim 38, Dworkin discloses MS as a centralized neuropathic pain condition (see Table 1).
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a). From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Thus, the claims fail to patentably distinguish over the state of the art as represented by the cited references.
Claims 26-28 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Galer of record (The Clinical J. Pain, 2002) in view of: 1) Dworkin of record (Clinical J. Pain, 2002); and 2) Chinhin2001 of record (JP2001302501A, Machine Translation).
Claim 26 is directed to a method for relief of neuropathic pain from: i) complex regional pain syndrome type II (CRPS II); or ii) reflex sympathetic dystrophy syndrome (RSDS), in a human subject not concurrently receiving another active ingredient for pain, comprising applying on a skin surface of the subject, a patch for transdermal delivery of lidocaine (emphasis added, intended use), comprising:
i) < 5 wt% lidocaine, as the sole active ingredient;
ii) a non-sterile pharmaceutically acceptable carrier;
iii) a permeation enhancer; and
iv) an excipient.
Any pain of three months or more = chronic pain (see Applicant’s arguments and declaration of Dr. J Eric Castro, filed on 08/09/2024).
Regarding claim 26, Galer teaches a method for assessing the effect of 5 wt% lidocaine patch on distinct neuropathic pain qualities common to all neuropathic pain conditions, using only assessment tool specifically designed to measure the distinct components of neuropathic pain (see abstract). Patients with neuropathic pain, for example, tend to use specific words to describe their pain experience, such as burning, aching, itchy, cold, sharp, sensitive skin, and surface or deep pain (see abstract and ¶ on left column of page 298 and page 299).
Eligibility requirement included established torso PHN for at least 1 month and presence of allodynia (pain due to a stimulus that does not normally provoke pain). Subjects were not disclosed as concurrently receiving another active ingredient for pain. Please see “MATERIALs AND METHODS” section starting on page 298. At least 1 month to less than 3 months in Galer = pain that is not chronic (see discussions above).
Although Galer teaches PHN, Galer teaches a method for assessing the effect of 5 wt% lidocaine patch on distinct neuropathic pain qualities common to all neuropathic pain conditions, using only assessment tool specifically designed to measure the distinct components of neuropathic pain (see discussions above).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art that Galer envisioned a method for using lidocaine patch for treating pain qualities common to all neuropathic pain conditions, including pain from PHN and pain not from PHN (e.g., pain from CRPS II or RSDS of claim 26).
Furthermore, at the time of the instant invention, the neuropathic conditions of claim 26 (CRPS II or RSDS), were known in the art. For example, Dworkin discloses a variety of neuropathic pain conditions, including the PHN of Galer and CRPS II or RSDS of claim 26. Please see Table 1, page 344 and reiterated below.
Galer and Dworkin do not combine to explicitly teach a lidocaine patch comprising a non-sterile pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, a permeation enhancer and an excipient. However, the claimed invention would have been obvious over Galer and Dworkin, because at the time of the instant invention, a patch of instant claim 26 was known in the art.
For example, Chinhin2001 discloses a lidocaine patch for treating pain comprising from 0.5 wt% to 5 wt% lidocaine and 0.5 wt% to 15 wt% menthol (see abstract). Menthol increases lidocaine absorption, i.e., a permeation enhancer (see ¶ 0010). Additional ingredients that can be employed in the formulation of the patch includes: iii) water, i.e., a carrier (see ¶ 0025); and iv) castor oil, i.e., an excipient (see ¶ 0019). Chinhin2001’s patch does not require a sterile carrier.
The combination of lidocaine with menthol is more effective (see ¶ 0010).
Less than 0.5 wt% lidocaine would result in insufficient therapeutic effect and greater than 5 wt% would not result in better therapeutic effect (see ¶ 0011).
Less than 0.5 wt% menthol would result in insufficient therapeutic effect and greater than 15 wt% is unsuitable for treatment (see ¶ 0011).
The claimed < 5 wt% lidocaine, overlaps or lies inside the range of 0.5 wt% to 5 wt% lidocaine disclosed by prior art (see discussions above).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (see MPEP § 2144.05).
In the instant case, because the claimed < 5 wt% lidocaine, overlaps or lies inside the range of 0.5 wt% to 5 wt% lidocaine disclosed by prior art (see discussions above), a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B), states that “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.”
In the instant case, the claimed < 5 wt% lidocaine, is a result effective variable that would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art. It is noted that no criticality (emphasis added), has been demonstrated in the specification with regard to the claimed < 5 wt% lidocaine, for relief of a neuropathic pain condition in a subject in need thereof.
Therefore, at the time of the instant invention, a person skilled in the art would have found it obvious to combine Galer, Dworkin and Chinhin2001 in order to arrive at the invention of claim 26. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that the application of a patch of the claimed invention (e.g., a patch comprising 0.5-5 wt% lidocaine, a carrier, a permeation enhancer and an excipient, see discussions above), to a skin surface of a patient having a neuropathic pain condition (e.g., PHN, CRPS II or RSDS, see discussions above), would relief the neuropathic pain condition in the patient.
Obviousness requires only a reasonable expectation of success, not complete confidence in a given outcome; "at least some degree of predictability" is all that is required. M.P.E.P. § 2143.02.
The prior art can be modified or combined to reject claims as prima facie obvious as long as there is a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (see MPEP § 2143.02).
Regarding claim 26, the intended use of a patch of claim 26, for transdermal delivery of lidocaine, is an inherent property of the patch. Any properties exhibited by or benefits provided by the composition are inherent and are not given patentable weight over the prior art. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicants disclose and/or claim are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01. In the instant case, Galer, Dworkin and Chinhin2001, combine to disclose a patch of claims 26 (see discussions above).
Applicants are further requested to note that it is well settled that “intended use” of a composition or product, e.g., a topical delivery system, will not further limit claims drawn to a composition or product. See, e.g., Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987) and In re Hack 114,
Therefore, claim 26 is obvious over Galer, Dworkin and Chinhin2001.
Regarding claim 27, Galer discloses pain that is not chronic (see discussions above).
Regarding claim 28, the recitation of the intended outcome of the execution of the method instant claim 28, resulting in complete relief of neuropathic pain, is not given any patentable weight because each of the recited clause is simply expressing the intended result of a process positively recited. Please see Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Since Galer, Chinhin2001 and Dworkin, combine to disclose a method of claim 26 (see discussions above), the method of Galer, Chinhin2001 and Dworkin, must necessarily exhibit the same outcomes of recited in claim 24. This is because each of the recited outcome in claim 28, is a natural process that flows from the human patient and the lidocaine patch applied. Please see MPEP, 2111.04.
Therefore, claim 28 is obvious over Galer, Chinhin2001 and Dworkin.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a). From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Thus, the claims fail to patentably distinguish over the state of the art as represented by the cited references.
Response to the Applicant’s Arguments
Dworkin refence:
Applicant argues against the Dworkin reference on the grounds that the cited reference only discloses a variety of neuropathic pain conditions (including the PHN of Galer and neuropathic pain conditions of the claimed invention), but did not teach a method for treating neuropathic pain. Please see pages 6-8 of Remarks filed on 03/06/2025.
Response:
The Office did not take a position that Dworkin teaches a method for treating neuropathic pain. Dworkin was cited for disclosing a variety of neuropathic pain conditions, including the PHN of Galer and neuropathic pain conditions of the claimed invention (see discussions above). The limitation of treating neuropathic pain is addressed by the Galer reference (see discussions above).
In response to the Applicant’s arguments against the references individually (e.g., Dworkin does not teach treating neuropathic pain, see pages 6-8 of Remarks), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combination of references. In obviousness rejection a combination of references is used, and the references are relied upon in combination and are not meant to be considered separately as in a vacuum. It is the combination of all of the cited and relied upon references that make up the state of the art with regard to the claimed invention. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co.; 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 40-43 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Galer of record (The Clinical J. Pain, 2002) in view of Chinhin2001 of record (JP2001302501A, Machine Translation).
Claim 40 recites:
Regarding claim 40, Galer teaches a method for assessing the effect of 5 wt% lidocaine patch on distinct neuropathic pain qualities common to all neuropathic pain conditions, using only assessment tool specifically designed to measure the distinct components of neuropathic pain (see abstract). Eligibility requirement included established torso PHN for at least 1 month and presence of allodynia (pain due to a stimulus that does not normally provoke pain). Subjects were not disclosed as concurrently receiving another active ingredient for pain (see “MATERIALs AND METHODS” section starting on page 298).
Although Galer teaches PHN with allodynia (pain due to a stimulus that does not normally provoke pain), Galer teaches a method for assessing the effect of 5 wt% lidocaine patch on distinct neuropathic pain qualities common to all neuropathic pain conditions, using only assessment tool specifically designed to measure the distinct components of neuropathic pain (see discussions above).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art that Galer envisioned a method for using lidocaine patch for treating pain qualities common to all neuropathic pain conditions, including PHN with allodynia (pain due to a stimulus that does not normally provoke pain and deafferentation pain from PHN with allodynia (pain due to a stimulus that does not normally provoke pain).
Galer is not explicit in teaching a lidocaine patch comprising a non-sterile pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, a permeation enhancer and an excipient. However, the claimed invention would have been obvious over Galer, because at the time of the instant invention, a lidocaine patch of instant invention was known in the art.
For example, Chinhin2001 discloses a lidocaine patch for treating pain comprising from 0.5 wt% to 5 wt% lidocaine and 0.5 wt% to 15 wt% menthol (see abstract). Menthol increases lidocaine absorption, i.e., a permeation enhancer (see ¶ 0010). Additional ingredients that can be employed in the formulation of the patch includes: iii) water, i.e., a carrier (see ¶ 0025); and iv) castor oil, i.e., an excipient (see ¶ 0019). Chinhin2001’s patch does not require a sterile carrier.
The combination of lidocaine with menthol is more effective (see ¶ 0010).
Less than 0.5 wt% lidocaine would result in insufficient therapeutic effect and greater than 5 wt% would not result in better therapeutic effect (see ¶ 0011).
Less than 0.5 wt% menthol would result in insufficient therapeutic effect and greater than 15 wt% is unsuitable for treatment (see ¶ 0011).
The claimed < 5 wt% lidocaine (claim 40) and < 4 wt% (claim 41), overlaps or lies inside the range of 0.5 wt% to 5 wt% lidocaine disclosed by prior art (see discussions above).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (see MPEP § 2144.05).
In the instant case, because the claimed < 5 wt% or < 4 wt% lidocaine, overlaps or lies inside the range of 0.5 wt% to 5 wt% lidocaine disclosed by prior art (see discussions above), a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B), states that “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.”
In the instant case, the claimed < 5 wt% lidocaine or < 4 wt% lidocaine, is a result effective variable that would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art. It is noted that no criticality (emphasis added), has been demonstrated in the specification with regard to the claimed < 5 wt% or <4 wt% lidocaine, for relief of neuropathic pain in a subject in need thereof.
Therefore, at the time of the instant invention, a person skilled in the art would have found it obvious to combine Galer and Chinhin2001 in order to apply on a skin surface of a human patient having a pain of claim 40, a patch comprising < 5 wt% lidocaine (e.g., 0.5-5 wt% lidocaine), a carrier, a permeation enhancer and an excipient, with a reasonable expectation that the application of the patch on a skin surface of the patient, would: i) exhibit an enhanced lidocaine absorption; and ii) relief the pain in the patient.
Obviousness requires only a reasonable expectation of success, not complete confidence in a given outcome; "at least some degree of predictability" is all that is required. M.P.E.P. § 2143.02.
The prior art can be modified or combined to reject claims as prima facie obvious as long as there is a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (see MPEP § 2143.02).
Regarding claim 40, the intended use of a patch of claim 40, for transdermal delivery of lidocaine, is an inherent property of the patch. Any properties exhibited by or benefits provided by the composition are inherent and are not given patentable weight over the prior art. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicants disclose and/or claim are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01. In the instant case, Galer and Chinhin2001, combine to disclose a patch of claims 40 (see discussions above).
Applicants are further requested to note that it is well settled that “intended use” of a composition or product, e.g., a topical delivery system, will not further limit claims drawn to a composition or product. See, e.g., Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987) and In re Hack 114,
Therefore, claims 40-41 are obvious over Galer and Chinhin2001.
Regarding claim 42, Chinhin2001 teaches menthol (see discussions above).
Regarding claim 43, no subject receiving concurrent therapy is disclosed by the prior art (see discussions above).
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a). From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Thus, the claims fail to patentably distinguish over the state of the art as represented by the cited references.
Conclusions
No claim is allowable.
If Applicants should amend the claims, a complete and responsive reply will clearly identify where support can be found in the disclosure for each amendment. Applicants should point to the page and line numbers of the application corresponding to each amendment, and provide any statements that might help to identify support for the claimed invention (e.g., if the amendment is not supported in ipsis verbis, clarification on the record may be helpful). Should the Applicants present new claims, Applicants should clearly identify where support can be found in the disclosure.
Correspondence
/IBRAHIM D BORI/
Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629