Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 – 18 and 22 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 104009344 A (“Han”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 8,450,627 (“Mittleman”), U.S. Pat. No. 8,390,481 (“Pance”) and CN 102565861 A (“Uyvari”).
Regarding claim 14, Han discloses a power adapter with a sensing control function for switching light modes of a lamp load, comprising:
a plug case (1 and 3), which is an electrical insulator (the casing contains circuit board and terminal structures to together function as an electrical connector and therefore is an insulator), having an inner surface (interior surface of portion 3/5), an exterior surface (opposite surface of the case) and a mounting space defined therein (the space containing the circuit boards), wherein the plug case comprises a connector (the connector for wire 4), wherein the exterior surface of the plug case has an operation area integrally defined thereon and configured for a conductor of electric charges (5 is a touch button, the case defines an operation area of the button), including but not limited to a finger of a user, to approach to implement the sensing control function (5 is a touch button for a user which acts as a switch when touch is sensed);
a pin set (2) mounted on the plug case and configured for inserting into a power socket; and
a circuit module (6 and 8), mounted in the mounting space of the plug case for electrically connecting with the lamp load via the connector (6 and 8 act to connect and disconnect power and thus are electrically connecting the load via the connector), comprising a sensor board (8) which comprises a printed circuit board fittingly received in the mounting space of the single plug case (the board is fit within the case, see at least [0014]), a sensing conductor (9) and a controller mounted on the printed circuit board and electrically connected to the sensing conductor (the switching action must act through a controller therefore there is a controller associated with board 6/8 and connected to switching structure 5/9), wherein the sensing conductor is positioned corresponding to a position of the operation area of the exterior surface of the plug case (9 is aligned with 5).
Han does not explicitly disclose the case as being a single plug case which does not have an opening for a physical button for deformation, wherein the plug case has a protrusion integrally protruded from the inner surface; wherein the exterior surface of the single plug case has an operation area integrally defined thereon, or wherein the sensing conductor is positioned corresponding to a position of the operation area of the exterior surface of the plug case such that a center of the sensing conductor is aligned with a center of the operation area coaxially without any physical component therebetween, such that the sensing conductor is configured to detect an approach of the finger of the user at the operation area through the single plug case without requiring mechanical deformation, wherein the protrusion of the plug case is protruded from the inner surface and positioned between the operation area and the sensing conductor until a bottom surface of the protrusion contacts the sensing conductor to minimize a distance between the conductor of electric charges approaching the operation area and the sensing conductor so as to ensure the electric charges of the conductor of electric charges affecting the sensing conductor directly to maximize and optimize a sensing effect of the sensing conductor.
However, Mittleman teaches an apparatus insulative case or housing (311) without any opening for any physical button (310 and 311 are integral without any opening therebetween, see Fig. 3A), the housing having an inner surface (inner surface of 310/311), wherein the housing has a protrusion integrally protruded from the inner surfaces (dome portion 310, Fig. 3A), wherein the exterior surface has an operation area configured for a conductor of electric charges (the upper surface includes the concave portion for a user’s finger), including but not limited to a finger of a user, to approach to implement the sensing control function; the housing comprising a sensor board which comprises a printed circuit board (315), a sensing conductor (312) and a controller (col. 1, lns. 60 – 64) electrically connected to the sensing conductor (see Fig. 3A), wherein the sensing conductor is positioned corresponding to a position of the operation area of the exterior surface of the plug case such that a center of the sensing conductor is aligned with a center of the operation area coaxially (see col. 2, ln. 62 – col. 3, ln. 3) without any physical component therebetween (see Fig. 3A), such that the sensing conductor is configured to detect an approach of the finger of the user at the operation area through the single plug case without requiring mechanical deformation (col. 6, lns. 52 – 65), wherein the protrusion of the plug case is protruded from the inner surface and positioned between the operation area and the sensing conductor until a bottom surface of the protrusion contacts the sensing conductor to minimize a distance between the conductor of electric charges approaching the operation area and the sensing conductor (see Fig. 3) so as to ensure the electric charges of the conductor of electric charges affecting the sensing conductor directly to maximize and optimize a sensing effect of the sensing conductor (see col. 6, lns. 52 – 65).
Furthermore, Pance teaches forming a case having a protrusion and operation area as a single case (housing 105 is itself of sufficient ductility or flexibility to allow user to temporally stress or bend at area of contact without permanently distorting housing, see col. 6 lns. 30 – 41 and Figure 5a), with the operation area being integrally defined on the single case (illumination can be used to define the operation area on the case, see Fig. 6).
Han further discloses wherein while the conductor of electric charges approaches the operation area, the operation area is between the conductor of electric charges and the sensing conductor (a user which approaches the button has the button area between the user and the sensing conductor) and the controller outputs a driving signal to the lamp load to switch lighting modes of the lamp load (the switch actuates power on and off). Han does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to compute a resonant frequency according to a capacitance sensed from the sensing conductor, and the capacitance sensed by the sensing conductor is affected by the conductor of electric charges, wherein the controller is configured to determine a variance of the resonant frequency when the capacitance is varied, such that a driving signal is outputted by the circuit module to the lamp load to switch the lighting modes of the lamp load.
However, Uyvari teaches a capacitive proximity sensor system with controller connected to the sensor to sense a user, the controller computes a resonant frequency according to a capacitance sensed from the sensing conductor, wherein while the conductor of electric charges approaching the operation area ([0029]), the operation area is between the conductor of electric charges and the sensing conductor (a user approaches the apparatus to get closer to a sensor, which means the operation area which is being approached is between the sensing conductor and user) and the controller determines the resonant frequency is varied due to the user presence and then output a signal (see [0028] — [0031], and [0019] outputs detect signal).
It would have been obvious to provide a sensor and button press area as taught by Mittleman, because this combination presents a casing structure with an integrated actuation area which is visually appealing while still being easy to operate. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to make the plug case a single structure without an opening and to utilize illumination to mark the integral operation area as taught by Pance because this simplifies construction of the case by having a single unitary material be used for these portions of the case and makes the operation area easy to find on the casing.
Finally, it would have been obvious to have the controller to compute a resonant frequency based on the capacitance sensed and to determine if there is a variance as taught by Uyvari, because this is nothing more than a substitution of one known capacitance proximity sensor detection structure for another, with the expected results of the capacitive sensing structure being able to detect a human proximate to the sensor.
Regarding claim 15, Han as modified above discloses wherein the operation area is configured to allow the conductor of electric charges to be placed thereon (the concave portion allows a user to place their finger thereon).
Regarding claim 16, Mittleman further teaches wherein the sensing conductor is a metal foil (312 is a foil structure on the board 315, see Fig. 3a, having a predetermined shape selected from a group consisting of a filled circle, rectangle and triangle (see Fig. 3 and col. 8, lns. 33 – 35). Furthermore, Mittleman teaches 312 is a conductive material but does not teach the material of the metal foil is selected from a group consisting of a gold foil, a silver foil, a copper foil, an iron foil, and an aluminum foil. It would have been obvious to make the conductor out of a material from the listed group, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Here, the recited materials are conductive and suitable for placement on a circuit board and therefore would have been obvious to utilize to make the conductor member.
Regarding claim 17 and 18, Han as modified above discloses wherein the single plug case further has an indicator formed at the operation area for indicating a position of the operation area (the area is illuminated, Pance).
Regarding claim 22, Han discloses a power adapter with a sensing control function for switching light modes of a lamp load, comprising:
a plug case (1 and 3), which is an electrical insulator (the casing contains circuit board and terminal structures to together function as an electrical connector and therefore is an insulator), has an exterior surface (surface of the case) and a mounting space defined therein (the space containing the circuit boards within the case), wherein the plug case comprises a connector (the connector for wire 4), wherein the exterior surface of the plug case has an operation area integrally defined thereon and configured for a conductor of electric charges (5 is a touch button, the case defines an operation area of the button), including but not limited to a finger of a user, to approach to implement the sensing control function (5 is a touch button for a user which acts as a switch when touch is sensed);
a pin set (2) mounted on the plug case and configured for inserting into a power socket; and
a circuit module (6 and 8), mounted in the mounting space of the plug case for electrically connecting with the lamp load via the connector (6 and 8 act to connect and disconnect power and thus are electrically connecting the load via the connector), comprising a sensor board (8) which comprises a printed circuit board fittingly received in the mounting space of the single plug case (the board is fit within the case, see at least [0014]), a sensing conductor (9) and a controller mounted on the printed circuit board and electrically connected to the sensing conductor (the switching action must act through a controller therefore there is a controller associated with board 6/8 and connected to switching structure 5/9), wherein the sensing conductor is positioned corresponding to a position of the operation area of the exterior surface of the plug case (9 is aligned with 5).
Han does not explicitly disclose the case as being a single plug case which does not have an opening for a physical button for deformation, wherein the exterior surface of the single plug case has an operation area integrally defined thereon, or wherein the sensing conductor is positioned corresponding to a position of the operation area of the exterior surface of the plug case such that a center of the sensing conductor is aligned with a center of the operation area coaxially, and a gap is formed between the operation area and the sensing conductor that minimizes a distance between the conductor of electric charges approaching the operation area and the sensing conductor so as to ensure the electric charges of the conductor of electric charges affecting the sensing conductor directly to maximize and optimize a sensing effect of the sensing conductor, wherein no physical component is in the gap and the sensing conductor is configured to detect an approach of the finger of the user at the operation area through the single plug case without requiring mechanical deformation.
However, Mittleman teaches an apparatus insulative housing (311) without any opening for any physical button (310 and 311 are integral without any opening therebetween, see Fig. 3A), the housing having a surface (surface of 310/311), wherein the exterior surface has an operation area configured for a conductor of electric charges (the surface includes a concave portion for a user’s finger), including but not limited to a finger of a user, to approach to implement the sensing control function; the housing comprising a sensor board which comprises a printed circuit board (315), a sensing conductor (312) and a controller (col. 1, lns. 60 – 64) electrically connected to the sensing conductor (see Fig. 3A), wherein the sensing conductor is positioned corresponding to a position of the operation area of the exterior surface of the plug case such that a center of the sensing conductor is aligned with a center of the operation area coaxially (see col. 2, ln. 62 – col. 3, ln. 3), and a gap is formed between the operation area and the sensing conductor that minimizes a distance between the conductor of electric charges approaching the operation area and the sensing conductor (see col. 2, lns. 9 – 14 and Fig. 3A) so as to ensure the electric charges of the conductor of electric charges affecting the sensing conductor directly to maximize and optimize a sensing effect of the sensing conductor (see col. 6, lns. 52 – 65), wherein no physical component is in the gap (see Fig. 3a) and the sensing conductor is configured to detect an approach of the finger of the user at the operation area through the single plug case without requiring mechanical deformation (col. 6, lns. 52 – 65).
Furthermore, Pance teaches forming a case having a protrusion and operation area as a single case (housing 105 is itself of sufficient ductility or flexibility to allow user to temporally stress or bend at area of contact without permanently distorting housing, see col. 6 lns. 30 – 41 and Figure 5a), with the operation area being integrally defined on the single case (illumination can be used to define the operation area on the case, see Fig. 6).
Han further discloses wherein while the conductor of electric charges approaches the operation area, the operation area is between the conductor of electric charges and the sensing conductor (a user which approaches the button has the button area between the user and the sensing conductor) and the controller outputs a driving signal to the lamp load to switch lighting modes of the lamp load (the switch actuates power on and off). Han does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to compute a resonant frequency according to a capacitance sensed from the sensing conductor, and the capacitance sensed by the sensing conductor is affected by the conductor of electric charges, wherein the controller is configured to determine a variance of the resonant frequency when the capacitance is varied, such that a driving signal is outputted by the circuit module to the lamp load to switch the lighting modes of the lamp load.
However, Uyvari teaches a capacitive proximity sensor system with controller connected to the sensor to sense a user, the controller computes a resonant frequency according to a capacitance sensed from the sensing conductor, wherein while the conductor of electric charges approaching the operation area ([0029]), the operation area is between the conductor of electric charges and the sensing conductor (a user approaches the apparatus to get closer to a sensor, which means the operation area which is being approached is between the sensing conductor and user) and the controller determines the resonant frequency is varied due to the user presence and then output a signal (see [0028] — [0031], and [0019] outputs detect signal).
It would have been obvious to provide a sensor and button press area as taught by Mittleman, because this combination presents a casing structure with an integrated actuation area which is visually appealing while still being easy to operate. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to make the plug case a single structure without an opening and to utilize illumination to mark the integral operation area as taught by Pance because this simplifies construction of the case by having a single material be used for these portions of the case and makes the operation area easy to find on the casing.
It would have been obvious to have the controller to compute a resonant frequency based on the capacitance sensed and to determine if there is a variance as taught by Uyvari, because this is nothing more than a substitution of a known capacitance proximity sensor detection structure for another, with the expected results of the capacitive sensing structure being able to detect a human proximate to the sensor.
Regarding claim 23, Han as modified above discloses wherein the operation area is configured to allow the conductor of electric charges to be places thereon (the button portion allows a user to place their finger thereon).
Regarding claim 24, Mittleman further teaches wherein the sensing conductor is a metal foil (312 is a foil structure on the board 315, see Fig. 3a, having a predetermined shape selected from a group consisting of a filled circle, rectangle and triangle (see Fig. 3 and col. 8, lns. 33 – 35). Furthermore, Mittleman teaches 312 is a conductive material but does not teach the material of the metal foil is selected from a group consisting of a gold foil, a silver foil, a copper foil, an iron foil, and an aluminum foil. It would have been obvious to make the conductor out of a material from the listed group, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Here, the recited materials are conductive and suitable for placement on a circuit board and therefore would have been obvious to utilize to make the conductor member.
Regarding claim 25 and 26, Han as modified above discloses wherein the plug case further has an indicator formed at the operation area for indicating a position of the operation area (the area is illuminated, Pance).
Claims 19 – 21 and 27 – 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 104009344 A (“Han”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 8,450,627 (“Mittleman”) and U.S. Pat. No. 8,390,481 (“Pance”) and CN 102565861 A (“Uyvari”), and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 4,237,386 (“Instance”).
Regarding claims 19 – 21 and 27 – 29, Han as modified above discloses a switch-mode power supply circuit (the switching circuit) a sensing conductor (312), a controller, and an output control circuit (circuit to wire 4) with an output of the output control circuit is configured for electrically connecting to the lamp load via the connector of the plug case (the switch is for actuating power to wire 4 through the connector to wire 4), but does not disclose a rectifier, with the rectifier, switch-mode power supply circuit, sensing conductor, controller, and output control circuit electrically connected in series, wherein an input of the rectifier is electrically connected to the pin set and an output of the output control circuit is configured for electrically connecting to the lamp load via the connector of the plug case. However, Instance teaches a touch control switching module for a lamp, including a rectifier (col. 5, ln. 45), switch-mode power supply circuit (see Fig. 4 and the abstract), sensing conductor (see 61), controller (see the abstract), and output control circuit (see Fig. 4 and the abstract) electrically connected in series (see col. 1, lns. 55 – 57), wherein an input of the rectifier is electrically connected to the pin set (the rectifier connects to the AC pins to produce DC power) and an output of the output control circuit is configured for electrically connecting to the lamp load via the connector of the plug case (see col. 3, lns. 1 – 6). It would have been obvious to include the rectifier and the series connection as taught by Instance, because this enables the apparatus to utilize household power as a supply for devices which utilize DC power, and utilize a series connection because this enables a stable circuit which integrates the noted components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Han and Uyvari are each non-enabling disclosures and thus the rejection is improper. Applicant asserts these references are insufficiently detailed, and because these references are Chinese patent references they cannot be relied upon to supply missing technical elements in an obviousness rejection. Examiner cannot concur.
First, the level of disclosure required within a reference to make it an “enabling disclosure” is the same no matter what type of prior art is at issue. It does not matter whether the prior art reference is a U.S. patent, foreign patent, a printed publication or other. There is no basis in the statute for discriminating either in favor of or against prior art references on the basis of nationality. In re Moreton, 288 F.2d 708, 129 USPQ 227 (CCPA 1961). Thus, the fact that the references are Chinese patent documents does not mean those references cannot be relied upon.
Second, with respect to Han, Applicant argues that Han provides insufficient details with respect to the technical mechanism of the touch sensor, the sensing principle of the sensor, how a human touch is detected and converted into a reliable control signal as distinguished from noise, that a power switching circuit or switch is not discussed, and that essential safety considerations are not discussed. These arguments bear little relation to the claims at hand and what Han has been held to disclose. As recited above, Han is cited as disclosing a power adapter matching the claimed plug case with operation area, pin set, and circuit module. The argued features are not recited in the claim and thus irrelevant to the question of whether Han is an enabling piece of prior art with respect to the features actually located in the claim. For the claimed features, Han unfoundedly provides a disclosure sufficient to allow a person of ordinary skill to produce the power adapter with the specific features of the claim to which Han discloses.
Similarly, Applicant argues with respect to Uyvari that no circuit architecture is disclosed, no structural or electrical details are provided which teach how to construct a processing module, a parameter extraction unit, or decision logic, and that the disclosure of how the proximity detection sensor works and is calibrated is insufficient. Again, this argument discusses features which are not in the claims. Uyvari is introduced for its teaching of the detection of variance of a resonant frequency when a person approaches a sensor, and Uyvari certainly enables this element with its disclosure of the proximity sensor utilizing an oscillator which detects a resonant frequency change, as recited in [0028] — [0031] and which is supported with a circuit diagram in Figure 5.
Finally, Applicant argues that the cited references do not disclose a waterproof sensing adapter. However, the claims do not recite a waterproof adapter. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2833
/renee s luebke/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2833