5/DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated February 17, 2026, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 3, 10, 12 and 19 are currently amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. As detailed further below, the reference of Cheikh et al. US20210242720A1 is newly cited.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 7 “non-propogating” should amended to “non-propagating” to correct a typographical error.
Claims 10 and 19 include similar language and thus are objected to for the same reasoning.
Claims 2-9, 11-18 and 20 are objected to due to their dependency from an objected to claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-11 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheikh et al. US20210242720A1 in view of Wiemeersch et al. US20140253025A1.
Regarding claim 1, Cheikh discloses a charging apparatus (FIG. 2; ¶26).
a charging surface (5).
a magnetic charging interface (¶66-67 - charging coils 6 forming an interface to provide charging) comprising a magnetic charging element configured to generate a magnetic charging field proximate the charging surface (¶66 charging emitter antenna 6 arranged underneath the charging surface 5 and emitting a magnetic field)).
a magnetic communication interface (31/32) comprising a magnetic transceiver (antenna 31/32) separate from the magnetic charging interface (FIG. 2 illustrates the antenna 31/32 is separate from the charging coils 6) and configured to communicate using a non-propagating magnetic field (¶26 – the communication uses at least one near-field communication antenna emitting a magnetic field at a high frequency selected between 3 and 30 MHz, NFC is known to use non-propagating magnetic fields) the non-propogating magnetic field having a plurality of selectable frequencies (¶26 – the communication uses at least one near-field communication antenna emitting a magnetic field at a high frequency selected between 3 and 30 MHz, NFC is known to use non-propagating magnetic fields)
Cheikh does not explicitly disclose a processor configured to execute instructions to receive a charging parameter from a device magnetically coupled to the magnetic field generated by the magnetic transceiver and to control the magnetic charging field via the magnetic charging element during a charging session with the device based on the charging parameter.
Wiemeersch discloses a processor configured to execute instructions to receive a charging parameter from a device using the communication interface (¶28 – a receiver indicates its presence by communicating received signal strength and control data to the microcontroller) and to control the magnetic charging field via the magnetic charging element during a charging session with the device based on the charging parameter (¶30 – Once the necessary charging protocol is determined the charging process begins once the transmitting coil is aligned with a receiving coil).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control of Wiemeersch to the system of Cheikh, which includes the non-propagating magnetic field, in order to provide a customized charging to the particular device taking into account individual charging needs (Wiemeersch; ¶2 and 28).
Regarding claim 2, Cheikh discloses the magnetic charging element comprises at least one of a transmitter coil (¶67 – charging coils 6).
Regarding claim 7, Cheikh does not explicitly disclose a wireless communication interface, wherein: the processor is configured to execute instructions to receive data using the wireless communication interface and send the data using the magnetic communication interface.
Wiemeersch discloses a wireless communication interface (Bluetooth), wherein: the processor (microcontroller 50) is configured to execute instructions to receive data using the wireless communication interface and send the data using the magnetic communication interface (¶28 – microcontroller 50 begins inductive query by pinging a receiver to gauge compatibility).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control of Wiemeersch to the system of Cheikh, which includes the non-propagating magnetic field, in order to provide a customized charging to the particular device taking into account individual charging needs (Wiemeersch; ¶2 and 28)
Regarding claim 8, Cheikh does not explicitly disclose that the processor is configured to execute instructions to establish a peer network with one or more devices positioned on the charging surface using the magnetic communication interface.
Wiemeersch discloses that the processor is configured to execute instructions to establish a peer network with one or more devices positioned on the charging surface using the magnetic communication interface (¶22 – trigger wireless charging based on the Powermat® charging protocol).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control of Wiemeersch to the system of Cheikh, which includes the non-propagating magnetic field, in order to provide a customized charging to the particular device taking into account individual charging needs (Wiemeersch; ¶2 and 28)
Regarding claim 9, Cheikh discloses to implement the charging session with a device positioned on the charging surface (¶¶66 – charging surface supports the portable electronic device), and
Cheikh does not explicitly disclose to receive charging status data from the device using the magnetic communication interface during the charging session.
Wiemeersch discloses to receive charging status data from the device using the magnetic communication interface during the charging session (¶28- at the onset of the charging session microcontroller determines the compliancy of the chargeable device and receiver indicates its presence by communicating received signal strength and control data to the microcontroller).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control of Wiemeersch to the system of Cheikh, which includes the non-propagating magnetic field, in order to provide a customized charging to the particular device taking into account individual charging needs (Wiemeersch; ¶2 and 28)
Regarding claim 10, Cheikh discloses a method, comprising:
operating a magnetic transceiver in a communication interface (31/32) of a charging apparatus (FIG. 2; ¶26) to generate a non-propagating magnetic field (¶26 – the communication uses at least one near-field communication antenna emitting a magnetic field at a high frequency selected between 3 and 30 MHz, NFC is known to use non-propagating magnetic fields) ) the non-propogating magnetic field having a plurality of selectable frequencies (¶26 – the communication uses at least one near-field communication antenna emitting a magnetic field at a high frequency selected between 3 and 30 MHz, NFC is known to use non-propagating magnetic fields);
operating a magnetic charging element (¶66-67 - charging coils 6 forming an interface to provide charging) of the charging apparatus (FIG. 2; ¶26) separate from the communication interface (FIG. 2 illustrates the antenna 31/32 is separate from the charging coils 6) to generate a magnetic charging field proximate a charging surface of the charging apparatus during a charging session with the device to charge the device (¶66 charging emitter antenna 6 arranged underneath the charging surface 5 and emitting a magnetic field).
Although Cheikh discloses a printed circuit board 2 for monitoring and controlling the communication (¶69), Cheikh does not explicitly teach receiving a charging parameter from a device magnetically coupled to the non-propagating magnetic field via the non-propagating magnetic field.
Wiemeersch receiving a charging parameter from a device magnetically coupled to the magnetic field (¶28 – a receiver indicates its presence by communicating received signal strength and control data to the microcontroller) via the magnetic field (¶30 – Once the necessary charging protocol is determined the charging process begins once the transmitting coil is aligned with a receiving coil).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control of Wiemeersch to the system of Cheikh, which includes the non-propagating magnetic field, in order to provide a customized charging to the particular device taking into account individual charging needs (Wiemeersch; ¶2 and 28).
Regarding claim 11, Cheikh discloses operating at least one of a transmitter coil to generate the magnetic charging field (¶67 – charging coils 6).
Regarding claim 16, Cheikh does not explicitly disclose receiving data using a wireless communication interface of the charging apparatus; and operating the magnetic communication interface to send the data.
Wiemeersch discloses receiving data using a wireless communication interface of the charging apparatus (¶28- at the onset of the charging session microcontroller determines the compliancy of the chargeable device and receiver indicates its presence by communicating received signal strength and control data to the microcontroller); and
Wiemeersch discloses operating the communication interface (50) to send the data (¶28 – microcontroller 50 begins inductive query by pinging a receiver to gauge compatibility).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control of Wiemeersch to the system of Cheikh , which includes the non-propagating magnetic field, in order to provide a customized charging to the particular device taking into account individual charging needs (Wiemeersch; ¶2 and 28)
Regarding claim 17, Cheikh does not explicitly disclose operating the magnetic communication interface to implement a peer network with one or more devices positioned on the charging surface.
Wiemeersch discloses operating the communication interface (50) to implement a peer network with one or more devices positioned on the charging surface (¶22 – trigger wireless charging based on the Powermat® charging protocol; ¶30 – selectively connect each transmitting coil to the power circuit during the charging protocol).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control of Wiemeersch to the system of Cheikh which includes the non-propagating magnetic field, in order to provide a customized charging to the particular device taking into account individual charging needs (Wiemeersch; ¶2 and 28)
Regarding claim 18, Cheikh discloses implementing the charging session with a device positioned on the charging surface (¶¶66 – charging surface supports the portable electronic device)
Cheikh does not explicitly disclose receiving charging status data from the device via the magnetic signal during the charging session.
Wiemeersch discloses receiving charging status data from the device via the non-propagating magnetic signal during the charging session (¶28- at the onset of the charging session microcontroller determines the compliancy of the chargeable device and receiver indicates its presence by communicating received signal strength and control data to the microcontroller).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control of Wiemeersch to the system of Cheikh which includes the non-propagating magnetic field, in order to provide a customized charging to the particular device taking into account individual charging needs (Wiemeersch; ¶2 and 28)
Regarding claim 19, Cheikh discloses operations comprising:
operating a magnetic transceiver in a communication interface (31/32) of a charging apparatus (FIG. 2; ¶26) to generate a non-propagating magnetic field (¶26 – the communication uses at least one near-field communication antenna emitting a magnetic field at a high frequency selected between 3 and 30 MHz, NFC is known to use non-propagating magnetic fields) ) the non-propogating magnetic field having a plurality of selectable frequencies (¶26 – the communication uses at least one near-field communication antenna emitting a magnetic field at a high frequency selected between 3 and 30 MHz, NFC is known to use non-propagating magnetic fields);
operating a magnetic charging element (¶66-67 - charging coils 6 forming an interface to provide charging) of the charging apparatus (FIG. 2; ¶26) separate from the communication interface (FIG. 2 illustrates the antenna 31/32 is separate from the charging coils 6) to generate a magnetic charging field proximate a charging surface of the charging apparatus during a charging session with the device to charge the device (¶66 charging emitter antenna 6 arranged underneath the charging surface 5 and emitting a magnetic field).
Cheikh does not explicitly teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions; receiving a charging parameter from a device magnetically coupled to the non-propagating magnetic field via the non-propagating magnetic field.
Wiemeersch discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that when executed facilitate performance of operations (¶29 discloses a memory location of the microcontroller that stores the charging protocol)
Wiemeersch receiving a charging parameter from a device magnetically coupled to the magnetic field (¶28 – a receiver indicates its presence by communicating received signal strength and control data to the microcontroller) via the magnetic field (¶30 – Once the necessary charging protocol is determined the charging process begins once the transmitting coil is aligned with a receiving coil).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control of Wiemeersch to the system of Cheikh which includes the non-propagating magnetic field, in order to provide a customized charging to the particular device taking into account individual charging needs (Wiemeersch; ¶2 and 28).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheikh et al. US20210242720A1 in view of Wiemeersch et al. US20140253025A1 and further in view of Walley et al. US20110127845A1.
Regarding claim 3, Although Cheikh discloses communicating at a higher frequency using NFC (¶68 - a high frequency selected between 3 and 30 MHz), Cheikh does not explicitly disclose that the magnetic communication interface comprises: the magnetic transceiver configured to generate the non-propagating magnetic field using the plurality of selectable frequencies each of at least about 40 GHz.
Walley discloses that the magnetic communication interface (156/154/152) comprises:
a magnetic transceiver (156) configured to generate the non-propagating magnetic field (NFC technology) using a frequency of at least about 40 GHz (¶73 – 60 GHz).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the higher frequency as taught by Walley to the selectable frequencies of Cheikh in order to provide a protocol that is increasingly compatible with different devices to be charged (¶10).
Regarding claim 12, Cheikh discloses that operating the magnetic communication interface (31/32) comprises:
operating a magnetic transceiver (31/32) configured to generate the non-propagating magnetic field (¶26 – the communication uses at least one near-field communication antenna emitting a magnetic field at a high frequency selected between 3 and 30 MHz, NFC is known to use non-propagating magnetic fields)
Cheikh does not explicitly teach using the plurality of selectable frequencies each of at least about 40 GHz to receive the charging parameter.
Walley discloses a magnetic transceiver (156) configured to generate the non-propagating magnetic field (NFC technology) using a frequency of at least about 40 GHz (¶73 – 60 GHz).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the higher frequency as taught by Walley to the selectable frequencies of Cheikh in order to provide a protocol that is increasingly compatible with different devices to be charged (¶10).
Claims 4, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheikh et al. US20210242720A1 in view of Wiemeersch et al. US20140253025A1 and further in view of Pogorelik et al. US20160087486A1.
Regarding claim 4, Cheikh discloses that wherein the magnetic communication interface (31/32) comprises:
an antenna connected to the magnetic transceiver (¶68 – communication antennas 31/32; ¶97 – charging antennas 6 resting on the layer 7 and the communication antenna 31 provides a path in the layer 7, thus connecting the features);
a magnetic transceiver coupled to the antenna and configured to generate a magnetic field (¶68 – NFC antenna 31/32 emitting a magnetic field thus having a transmitter).
Cheikh does not explicitly teach a firmware module configured to implement a peer network protocol to communicate using the magnetic transceiver
Pogorelik teaches a firmware module (¶30 processor may be implemented as appropriate in firmware that executes the described functions of the reference) configured to implement a peer network protocol to communicate using the magnetic transceiver (¶16 - where the wireless charger and device are connected to a network 124 to allow for wireless communication between any or all the connected components allowing for peer-to-peer communication).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the communication components of Pogorelik to the communication interface of Cheikh in order to optimize the charging devices (¶2) and provide further mobility and operate in remote locations (¶16).
Regarding claim 13, Cheikh does not explicitly disclose operating the magnetic communication interface to implement a peer network (¶16 - where the wireless charger and device are connected to a network 124 to allow for wireless communication between any or all the connected components allowing for peer-to-peer communication).
Pogorelik teaches operating the magnetic communication interface to implement a peer network (¶16 - where the wireless charger and device are connected to a network 124 to allow for wireless communication between any or all the connected components allowing for peer-to-peer communication).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the communication components of Pogorelik to the communication interface of Cheikh in order to optimize the charging devices (¶2) and provide further mobility and operate in remote locations (¶16).
Regarding claim 20, Cheikh discloses implementing the charging session with the one or more devices (¶66); and
Cheikh does not explicitly disclose the operations comprise: operating the magnetic communication interface to implement a peer network with one or more devices positioned on the charging surface; and operating the magnetic communication interface during the charging session to receive charging status data from the one or more devices.
Wiemeersch discloses operating the magnetic communication interface during the charging session to receive charging status data from the one or more devices (¶28- at the onset of the charging session microcontroller determines the compliancy of the chargeable device and receiver indicates its presence by communicating received signal strength and control data to the microcontroller).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control of Wiemeersch to the system of Cheikh, which includes the non-propagating magnetic field, in order to provide a customized charging to the particular device taking into account individual charging needs (Wiemeersch; ¶2 and 28)
Wiermeersch does not explicitly disclose operating the communication interface to implement a peer network with one or more devices positioned on the charging surface.
Pogorelik discloses operating the communication interface to implement a peer network with one or more devices positioned on the charging surface (¶16 - where the wireless charger and device are connected to a network 124 to allow for wireless communication between any or all the connected components allowing for peer-to-peer communication).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the communication components of Pogorelik to the communication interface of Cheikh in order to optimize the charging devices (¶2) and provide further mobility and operate in remote locations (¶16).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheikh et al. US20210242720A1 in view of Wiemeersch et al. US20140253025A1 and Pogorelik et al. US20160087486A1in further view of Daniel Cooper, “Duracell Powermat adding mesh network, scalable power to its wireless charging plates”, https://www.engadget.com/2013-02-25-duracell-powermat-mwc-features.html? (2/25/13).
Regarding claim 5, Cheikh does not explicitly disclose that the peer network protocol comprises a mesh network protocol.
Cooper discloses Powermat® having a mesh network (title).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a Powermat® having the mesh network in order to allow multiple areas to be monitored and encourage further sales due to enhanced features (first paragraph).
Regarding claim 14, Cheikh does not explicitly disclose implementing a mesh network protocol.
Cooper discloses Powermat® having a mesh network (title).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a Powermat® having the mesh network in order to allow multiple areas to be monitored and encourage further sales due to enhanced features (first paragraph).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheikh et al. US20210242720A1 in view of Wiemeersch et al. US20140253025A1 and further in view of Manico et al. US20080258679A1
Regarding claim 6, Cheikh does not explicitly disclose that the charging surface comprises a display, and the processor is configured to execute instructions to illustrate a charging zone on the display.
Wiemeersch discloses that the charging surface comprises a display (¶24).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the control of Wiemeersch to the system of Cheikh, which includes the non-propagating magnetic field, in order to provide a customized charging to the particular device taking into account individual charging needs (Wiemeersch; ¶2 and 28)
Wiemeersch does not explicitly disclose that the processor is configured to execute instructions to illustrate a charging zone on the display.
Manico discloses the processor is configured to execute instructions to illustrate a charging zone on the display (¶106-107 – display is partitioned into a wirelessly charging device portion depending upon the location of the device).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the additional display features of Manico to the display of Wiemeersch in order to enable consumers to better interact with small scale devices without requiring proximity to a personal computer (Manico; ¶10).
Regarding claim 15, Cheikh does not explicitly disclose illustrating a charging zone on a display of the charging surface.
Manico discloses illustrating a charging zone on the display of the charging surface (¶106-107 – display is partitioned into a wirelessly charging device portion depending upon the location of the device).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the additional display features of Manico to a display of Wiemeersch in order to enable consumers to better interact with small scale devices without requiring proximity to a personal computer (Manico; ¶10).
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859