DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 24 August 2026 has been entered.
Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have the Specification objections. The Specification objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previous Claim objections. However, a new Claim objection has been provided in the present Office action.
Applicant’s arguments and explanation regarding the “direct” limitation for the 35 USC 112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. These arguments have overcome the previous 35 USC 112 rejection for “direct,” as recited in the claims. However, no arguments were provided regarding the “integral” limitation of claim 1 or the previous 35 USC 112(b) rejection for claim 14. New 35 USC 112 rejections have been provided for claim 13 based on the amendments. Therefore, there are still grounds for 35 USC 112 rejections in the present Office action.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 20 August 2025, with respect to the prior-art rejections of the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, after conducting an updated search, additional references were identified, which teach the amended portions of the claims. Therefore, the grounds of rejection under 35 USC § 103 still stand.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 24 August 2026, the status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 11, and 13-14 have been amended.
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, recommend amending claim 1 to recite: “wherein a means for exhausting.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “means for exhausting” in claims 4 and 14. Claims 4 and 14 have sufficient structure such that 35 USC 112(f) is not invoked for these claims.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites: “means for exhausting or evacuating the treated material of the chamber is in direct fluid communication with an interior of the chamber and is integral with the chamber.” However, neither the original Specification nor the original set of Claims disclose “means” that “integral” with a chamber. As a result, by using this limitation, the Applicant introduces new matter into the Application.
Claim 13 recites: “providing refractory materials and ceramic materials, to create an insulating material surrounding the housing, the housing surrounding the chamber.” However, neither the original Specification nor the original set of Claims disclose “an insulating material surrounding the housing.” As a result, by using this limitation, the Applicant introduces new matter into the application
Claims 2-12 and 14 are rejected based on their dependence to claim 1. The new rejection for claim 13 is based on the amended portion of the claims.
Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites: “means for exhausting or evacuating the treated material of the chamber … is integral with the chamber.” It is unclear what is intended in claiming a relationship between the “means for exhausting or evacuating” (interpreted under 112f as being a stack or a tube and a blower or a fan) and the “chamber,” where the “means” are “integral” with the “chamber.” Although fig. 1 of the Drawings in the Instant Application show an exhaust tube 38 that is connected to the chamber 14, it is not clear if “connected” means the same as “integral.” Definitions for “integral” include “essential to completeness,” “formed as a unit with another part,” and “lacking nothing essential.” This limitation is used in the Specification (please see the 112(a) rejection above). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art could not possibly know what this limitation means in view of the Specification, since there is no context in the Specification by which the limitations could be understood.
Claim 13 recites: “providing refractory materials and ceramic materials, to create an insulating material surrounding the housing, the housing surrounding the chamber.” The examiner understands this limitation to infer a manufacturing step, i.e., materials are provided to create an insulation surrounding the housing. However, claim 13 is dependent on claim 11, which recites: “A method for incinerating and reducing to ash organic material.” The scope of claim 13 is unclear because the claim is directed to a manufacturing step. However, the preamble of claim 11 is directed to a method of use, i.e., incinerating and reducing to ash organic material. As a result, the scope of claim 13 is unclear- is claim 13 directed to a method of using an apparatus or a method of creating an apparatus? Since there is no way of determining the requisite degree of this limitation, as best understood, if the prior art comprises the claimed structure, it will be presumed that the system can operate as intended.
Claim 14 is directed to the apparatus of claim 1. However, this claim is dependent on claim 11, which is a method claim. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. In this case, claim 14 uses structural limitations that are directed to the apparatus, and the claims do not appear directed to any method steps within the framework of a “method for incinerating,” as recited in claim 11 (MPEP 2173.05.p). Recommend associating claim 14 with a method step so that the claim can be clearly understood as limiting the scope of the method that is required in claim 11.
Claims 2-12 are rejected based on their dependence to claim 1. The rejection for claim 13 is a new rejection that is based on the amended portion of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over , and in view of Thompson et al. (US-20200001336-A1) in view of Gregg (US-20130105469-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Thompson teaches a material conversion apparatus (fig. 1; converts waste material into harmless gas and ash, para 0012) comprising:
a housing (housing of waste disposal chamber 18, fig. 1);
a chamber (outer surface of crucible 10, fig. 1) for treating a material (waste material 6, fig. 1; para 0041) disposed within the housing;
an induction coil (coil 14, fig. 1) disposed within the housing and surrounding the chamber (as shown in fig. 1); and wherein the means for exhausting or evacuating the treated material of the chamber (first duct 30, fig. 1, which is construed as a “tube”) is in direct fluid communication with an interior of the chamber (interior of duct 30 extends to the interior of the crucible 10, fig. 1, which is construed as being uninterrupted air flow between the duct 30 and the interior of crucible 10) and is integral with the chamber (duct 30 contacts and is integral with the crucible 10, figs. 1 and 3).
Thompson, fig. 1
Thompson does not explicitly disclose the means for exhausting or evacuating the treated material (interpreted under 35 USC 112f as “an exhaust stack or tube” and a “fan;” Thompson teaches a first duct 30, which is construed as a “tube;” a fan is not explicitly disclosed).
However, in the same field of endeavor of material conversion apparatuses, Gregg teaches the means for exhausting or evacuating the treated material (“exhaust fan,” para 0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Thompson, in view of the teachings of Gregg, by using an exhaust fan, as taught by Gregg, in the first duct 30, as taught by Thompson, in order to use a draft fan that provides for further cooling by inducing additional air flow to provide for further cooling (Gregg, para 0014).
Regarding claim 3, Thompson teaches wherein the induction coil (coil 14, fig. 1) surrounds and envelops the chamber (outer surface of crucible 10, fig. 1), the induction coil generating sufficient heat to vaporize or melt waste material disposed within the chamber (para 0030).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Thompson in view of Gregg as set forth above regarding claim 1 teaches the invention of claim 4. Specifically, Thompson teaches wherein the means for exhausting comprises: an exhaust tube (duct 30, fig. 1), the exhaust tube being in communication with the chamber (duct 30 is in communication with the crucible 10, fig. 1), a blower (pump 34, fig. 1) in direct communication with the exhaust tube for creating a negative pressure within the chamber to draw residue through the exhaust tube (para 0034). Additionally, Gregg teaches including a power fan (“exhaust fan,” para 0020).
Regarding claim 5, Thompson teaches an igniter (plasma head 42 inside the plasma chamber 38, figs. 1-2) disposed within the exhaust tube for combusting vapors issuing from the chamber (para 0037).
Regarding claim 6, Thompson teaches a re-burner box (annotated in fig. 2 below; fig. 3) disposed upstream from an igniter (flow is towards the plasma head 42, fig. 2; construed as having the same configuration for box 46 relative to the igniter 44 in the Instant Application); and a secondary exhaust tube (third duct 48, fig. 2) in fluid communication with the re-burner box.
Thompson, fig. 2 (annotated)
Regarding claim 9, Thompson teaches wherein the housing (housing of waste disposal chamber 18, fig. 1) is disposed along a horizontal plane (right surface in fig. 3; annotated in fig. 3).
Thompson, Fig. 3 (annotated)
Regarding claim 10, Thompson teaches wherein' the housing (housing of waste disposal chamber 18, fig. 1) is disposed and extends vertically (vertically from the bottom to top of fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Thompson teaches a method (fig. 4) for incinerating and reducing to ash organic material (paras 0012 and 0027) comprising: incinerating (steps 514 ad 516, fig. 4) the material in the apparatus of Claim 1 (please see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 12, Thompson teaches wherein the induction coil (coil 14, fig. 1) surrounds and envelops the chamber (crucible 10, fig. 1), the induction coil generating sufficient heat to pyrolyze the organic material (para 0027).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Thompson in view of Gregg as set forth above regarding claim 1 teaches the invention of claim 14. Specifically, Thompson teaches wherein the means for exhausting comprises: (a) an exhaust tube (duct 30, fig. 1) in direct fluid communication with the chamber (duct 30 is in communication with the crucible 10, fig. 1) and (b) a blower (pump 34, fig. 1) in fluid communication with the exhaust tube, disposed exteriorly of the housing (pump 34 is located in the exterior of the chamber 18, fig. 1) and creating a negative pressure within the chamber to draw residue through the exhaust tube (para 0034). Additionally, Gregg teaches a power fan (“exhaust fan,” para 0020).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over , and in view of Thompson et al. (US-20200001336-A1) in view of Gregg (US-20130105469-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Nasato et al. (US-20230366540-A1; effective filing date of 25 September 2020).
Regarding claim 2, Thompson teaches wherein the housing comprises an insulating element (“a high-temperature insulation is disposed within the internal cavity 26,” para 0029), the housing surrounding the chamber (chamber 18 and the “insulation” within cavity 26 surrounds crucible 10, fig. 1).
Thompson does not explicitly disclose an insulating element formed from refractory materials and ceramic fibers.
However, in the same field of endeavor of material conversion apparatuses, Nasato teaches an insulating element formed from refractory materials (“refractory material,” para 0050) and ceramic fibers (“ceramic fibers,” para 0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Thompson, in view of the teachings of Nasato, by using refractory materials and ceramic fibers, as taught by Nasato, for the high-temperature insulation, as taught by Thompson, in order to use materials that are resistant to high and that maintain the structural integrity of the device (Nasato, para 0050).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over , and in view of Thompson et al. (US-20200001336-A1) in view of Gregg (US-20130105469-A1) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above and further in view of Nishi et al. (US-6,502,520).
Regarding claim 7, Thompson teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose a lid which opens and closes the exhaust tube.
However, in the same field of endeavor of material conversion apparatuses, Nishi teaches a lid (opening/closing device 21, figure 3) which opens and closes the exhaust tube (opens and closes the chamber 20, which is construed as being part of the channel 34, fig. 3; column 12, lines 47-63).
Nishi, fig. 3
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Thompson in view of the teachings of Nishi, by using an opening/closing device 21, as taught by Nishi, to open and close the duct 30, as taught by Thompson, in order to use the opening/closing device as a seal when the sealed crucible is being used as molten product storage, for the advantage of inhibiting external air from flowing into the air-tight crucible, where the molten products are located (Nishi, column 12, line 63-column 13, line 12).
Regarding claim 8, Thompson teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose a second induction coil surrounding the exhaust tube, the second induction coil and the blower cooperating to define a thermal oxidizer
However, in the same field of endeavor of material conversion apparatuses, Nishi teaches a second induction coil (induction coil 38, figure 3) surrounding the exhaust tube (molten product storage chamber 20, figure 3, which is construed as being part of the channel 34), the second induction coil and the blower cooperating to define a thermal oxidizer (“Exhaust gases are passed through an exhaust gas discharging pipeline 35, purified and then discharged from an exhaust cylinder,” column 12, lines 50-52; the blower 9 and the coil 38 cooperate to pass exhaust gas, which is construed as being a “thermal oxidizer”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Thompson, in view of the teachings of Nishi, by using an induction coil 38, as taught by Nishi, around the plasma chamber 38, as taught by Thompson, in order to heat the plasma chamber using an additional heat source, ensuring that any toxic dioxidins in the plasma chamber are burnt off before passing through the discharge duct (Thompson, para 0037).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over , and in view of Thompson et al. (US-20200001336-A1) in view of Gregg (US-20130105469-A1) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of Wolfe et al. (US-20130240343-A1) and Nasato et al. (US-20230366540-A1; effective filing date of 25 September 2020).
Regarding claim 13, Thompson teaches the housing surrounding the chamber (chamber 18 surrounds crucible 10, fig. 1).
Thompson does not explicitly disclose providing refractory materials and ceramic materials, to create an insulating material surrounding the housing.
However, in the same field of endeavor of material conversion apparatuses, Wolfe teaches to create an insulating material (insulating layer 60, fig. 4) surrounding the housing (furnace housing 31, fig. 4).
Wolfe, fig. 4
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Thompson, in view of the teachings of Wolfe, by using an insulating layer, as taught by Wolfe, around the chamber 18, as taught by Thompson, in order to mitigate a potential injury should someone touch the chamber and possibly be burnt.
Thompson/Wolfe do not explicitly disclose providing refractory materials and ceramic materials.
However, in the same field of endeavor of material conversion apparatuses, Nasato teaches providing refractory materials (“refractory material,” para 0050) and ceramic materials (“ceramic fibers,” para 0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Thompson/Wolfe, in view of the teachings of Nasato, by using refractory materials and ceramic fibers, as taught by Nasato, for insulating layer 60, as taught by Wolfe, in order to use materials that are resistant to high and that maintain the structural integrity of the device (Nasato, para 0050).
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed 24 August 2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new rejections based on Gregg.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 9/28/2026