Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Amendment and Declaration filed on 02/24/2026.
Claims 1 and 5 are amended.
Claim 8 is canceled.
Claims 1-7, 10-12 are pending in the instant application.
Claim 12 has been previously withdrawn from consideration.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132
The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 02/24/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection as set forth in the last Office action because of the reasons discussed below in the Response to Argument section.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 10-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11,260,035 in view of KARAMI et al (On iontophoretic delivery enhancement: Ionization and mobility of lidocaine hydrochloride in propylene glycol. International Journal of Pharmaceutics 168 (1998) 85–95).
The patent recites a topical composition comprising a topical skin composition comprising: about 4% w/w lidocaine (active ingredient) or a salt thereof; about 1% w/w poloxamer 407 (nonionic surfactant); about 0.2% w/w poloxamer 188; about 0.25% w/w polyoxyl castor oil; about 0.75% w/w menthol; and about 1% w/w carbomer (viscosity enhancer), wherein w/w denotes weight by total weight of the composition.
The patent does not teach using a permeation enhancer, such as propylene glycol.
KARAMI teaches the prior art had known of using penetration enhancers, such as propylene glycol, to enhance the drug delivery of topical lidocaine drug (see abstract; pg. 86 1st col). Additional disclosures include: synergistic effect can be found with combination with other penetration enhancers, such as oleic acid and/or ethanol, and surfactants (see pg. 85-86, under Introduction), wherein all formulations containing propylene glycol produced significantly greater anesthesia compared with the formulations without propylene glycol (see pg. 86, 1st col).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate permeation enhancers, such as propylene glycol. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because the penetration enhancer would increase the skin penetration of the lidocaine drug and produced significantly greater anesthesia compared with the formulations without propylene glycol, and reasonably would have expected success because penetration enhancers are well-known in the prior art, such as topical formulations.
Claims 1-7, 10-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12,508,221.
The patent recites a topical composition comprising lidocaine or a salt thereof, one or more nonionic surfactants, one or more viscosity enhancers, a mixture of propylene glycol monolaurate and propylene glycol at a ratio of about 1:9 and ethanol (see claim 1), wherein the one or more nonionic surfactants are selected from the group consisting of poloxamer 407, poloxamer 188 and polyoxyl 35 castor oil (see claim 4), wherein the one or more viscosity enhancers are selected from the group consisting of sodium carboxymethyl cellulose and carbomer 974P (see claim 7).
The difference between instant application and the patented claims is that the patent claims include additional limitations. Thus, the invention of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”, and, therefore, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of the patent and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORN (US 2019/0262290) in view of KARAMI et al (On iontophoretic delivery enhancement: Ionization and mobility of lidocaine hydrochloride in propylene glycol. International Journal of Pharmaceutics 168 (1998) 85–95) and CARRARA et al (US 2006/0153905).
HORN teaches a composition comprised of: an active ingredient, such as lidocaine (see abstract); nonionic surfactants, such as poloxamer 407, poloxamer 188 and polyoxyl 35 castor oil (see [0057] and [0193); viscosity enhancers, such as propylene glycol, carbomers, and carboxymethyl cellulose (see [0200]); and oleic acid (see Table 8, #225), which is a permeation enhancer. Additional disclosures include: ophthalmological drug vehicles (see [0174]) and skin drug vehicles (see [0177]); menthol (see [0068]); increase drug permeation (see [0012] and [0174]). Note, propylene glycol can be both a viscosity enhancer and a permeation enhancer.
HORN does not teach using propylene glycol as a permeation enhancer; or using a specific carbomer, such as carbomer 974P.
KARAMI teaches the prior art had known of using penetration enhancers, such as propylene glycol, to enhance the drug delivery of lidocaine drug (see abstract). Additional disclosures include: synergistic effect can be found with combination with other penetration enhancers, such as oleic acid and/or ethanol, and surfactants (see pg. 85-86, under Introduction), wherein all formulations containing propylene glycol produced significantly greater anesthesia compared with the formulations without propylene glycol (see pg. 86, 1st col).
CARRARA teaches the prior art had known of carbomers, such as carbomer 974P. (see [0079]). Thus, it would have been obvious to use carbomer 974P as the carbomer viscosity enhancer taught in HORN.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate a permeation enhancer, such as propylene glycol. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because the penetration enhancer would increase the skin penetration of the lidocaine drug and produced significantly greater anesthesia compared with the formulations without propylene glycol, and reasonably would have expected success because penetration enhancers are well-known in the prior art, such as topical formulations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that neither Horn nor Carrara teach any of the specifically claimed permeation enhancers. Further, Applicant has demonstrated evidence of unexpected results. Specifically, in Example 1 of the Instant Specification, Applicant has demonstrated that Formulations #6-#8, each of which are covered by the Instant Claims, provide superior penetration of lidocaine than industry standards Salonpas® Cream and Salonpas® Gel Patch and Formulation #7 further provide superior penetration of lidocaine than Aspercreme®. Further, as seen in the 132 declaration ("Nallakrishnan Declaration"), submitted herewith, Applicant has demonstrated that formulations of the Instant Invention provide superior penetration of diclofenac over the industry standard Omni Gel and Voltaren Gel. Specifically, a composition of the Instant Invention provided 1.6 times better average flux than Omni Gel and 1.2 times better average flux than Voltaren Gel. Thus, Applicant has demonstrated unexpected results that the Instantly Claimed compositions provide superior penetration of the claimed actives as compared to industry standards.
The Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive, because in order to overcome a prima facie case of obviousness, it is incumbent upon the Applicant to provide comparative test evidence that demonstrates unexpected superiority of the claimed compositions versus the closest prior art compositions, and not simply an advantage predictable from the prior art. See In re Chapman, 148 USPQ 711, 715 (CCPA, 1966). Moreover, such proffered comparisons must be commensurate in scope with the breadth of the claims. See In re Clemens, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA, 1980) and In re Coleman, 205 USPQ 1172, 1175 (CCPA 1980). In this instance, (1) Applicant’s proffered comparisons are not commensurate in the scope of the claims, wherein Applicant’s Formulation #6-8 use specific nonionic surfactants, such as poloxamer 408 and poloxamer 188, and polyoxyl 35 castor oil, and propylene glycol/monolaurate propylene glycol and other specific ingredients, (2) as discussed in the rejection, the prior art KARAMI teaches the prior art had known of using penetration enhancers, such as propylene glycol, to enhance the drug delivery of lidocaine drug (see abstract). Additional disclosures include: synergistic effect can be found with combination with other penetration enhancers, such as oleic acid and/or ethanol, and surfactants (see pg. 85-86, under Introduction), wherein all formulations containing propylene glycol produced significantly greater anesthesia compared with the formulations without propylene glycol (see pg. 86, 1st col); (3) Applicant’s claims recited other drugs and permeation enhancers.
Applicant argues that Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as unpatentable over copending Application No. 17/469,012. The '012 application recently issued as US Patent No. 12,508,221. Applicant herewith submits a terminal disclaimer over the '221 patent. Accordingly, this rejection is moot.
The Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive, because no terminal disclaimer was filed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618