DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amending of claims 1, 10, 12. All 112b rejections withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pgs. 11-16, filed 11/3/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6, 8-12 under 35 USC 102 (claims 1-6, 8-10, 12) + 103 (claim 11) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Colles (US-20210305770-A1). Arguments pertain to amended portions of claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 11/27/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 12 is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). “electric means for accumulating” in line 11 is interpreted as Applicant’s FIG. 2 element 14 or a “capacitor” (Specification 0016 lines 3-4). “a first switching means” in line 10 is interpreted as Applicant’s FIG.2 element 16 or a “first switching unit” (Specification 0018 lines 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-2, 4, 8-10, 12 (and claims 3, 5-7, 11 via dependency) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1-2, 4, 8-10 recites the limitation "electric accumulator" in claim 1 line 11; claim 2 line 3; claim 4 lines 2-3; claim 8 line 4, line 7, line 8, line 10, line 13; claim 9 lines 8-9, claim 10 line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner interprets “electric accumulator” to mean “capacitor” from claim 1 + 10 line 2.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "electric means" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner interprets “electric means” to mean “capacitor” from claim 12 line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Colles (US-20210305770-A1).
Note: Colles fig. 13A equivalent to fig. 1A in structure and function except for use of switch MS (fig. 13A) instead of resistor RS (fig. 1A), 0086.
Regarding claim 1, Colles discloses a light emitting device comprising: a resonant circuit that comprises a capacitor accumulating electric charge and generates a current by resonance occurred in the resonant circuit (fig. 13A resonant circuit CS + LS + LDL + CBP comprises capacitor CS and generates resonance current 223’, fig. 2C graph 206 shows significant resonance current 223’ generated when GATEBP signal not asserted in inferior (but sufficiently disclosed) embodiment, 0030, 0043); a light emitting element that emits pulsed light at resonance frequency in response to receiving the current generated by the resonance occurred in the resonant circuit (fig. 13A light emitting element DL emits at resonance frequency shown in plot of 223’ in fig. 2C plot 206 in response to receiving iDL from resonant circuit), wherein the resonance frequency of the pulsed light emitted from the light emitting element is calculated in accordance with an inductance of the resonant circuit and a capacitance of the resonant circuit (resonance frequency depends on inductance and capacitance of resonant circuit, f=1/2*pi*sqrt(LC), see also 0035); and a first switching unit that is connected to a circuit between a power supply that supplies electric charge to the electric accumulator and the resonant circuit (fig. 13A first switching unit MS connected to a circuit (from Vin to node 110) between power supply Vin and resonant circuit, 0085-0086), and switches between a conduction state in which the circuit from the power supply to the resonant circuit is conductive and a non-conduction state in which the circuit is not conductive (fig. 13A MS switches between conductive and non-conductive states in which circuit not conductive, 0085-0086), wherein in an electric path from the power supply to the resonant circuit, a lower limit value of an electric resistance necessary to suppress attenuation of the resonance is a first electric resistance (fig. 13A open/OFF switch MS provides infinite (first) resistance in electric path to “suppress attenuation” of the resonance, as implicitly defined by applicant’s specification 0057… alternatively, “lower limit value” must necessarily be some value greater than 0 to suppress attenuation), and an electric resistance of the electric path from the power supply to the resonant circuit in a case where the first switching unit is in the conduction state is a second electric resistance smaller than the first electric resistance (fig. 13A (second) resistance of electric path from Vin to resonant circuit where MS closed/ON is 0, “second electric resistance” 0 smaller than either infinite “first electric resistance” or nonzero finite “first electric resistance”).
Regarding claim 2, Colles discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the first switching unit is in the non-conduction state in a case where the electric accumulator supplies a current to the light emitting element (fig. 13A MS nonconductive when capacitor CS supplies current to DL, 0085 final sentence + fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Colles discloses the light emitting device according to claim 2, further comprising: a second switching unit that switches between a conduction state in which the resonant circuit is conductive and a non-conduction state in which the resonant circuit is not conductive (fig. 13A second switching unit MDL switches conduction state when resonant circuit ON and non conduction with resonant OFF, fig. 3 steps 302-304 circuit + switch both conductive, 301 + 305 both nonconductive, 0045-0048); and a switching control unit that switches the first switching unit to the non-conduction state before the second switching unit is switched to the conduction state in a case where the first switching unit is in the conduction state and the second switching unit is in the non- conduction state (fig. 13A switching control unit 120 switches MS OFF before MDL ON when MS is ON and MDL is OFF, not on/off simultaneously, 0038, 0045-0048, 0085 final sentence, 0086).
Regarding claim 4, Colles discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the first switching unit is in the conduction state in a case where the electric accumulator does not supply a current to the light emitting element (fig. 13A MS ON when CS not supplying current to DL, only during pre-charge fig. 3 301, 0085 final sentence).
Regarding claim 5, Colles discloses the light emitting device according to claim 4, further comprising a second switching unit that switches between a conduction state in which the resonant circuit is conductive and a non-conduction state in which the resonant circuit is not conductive (fig. 13A second switching unit MDL switches conduction state when resonant circuit ON and non conduction with resonant OFF, fig. 3 steps 302-304 circuit + switch both conductive, 301 + 305 both nonconductive, 0045-0048); and a switching control unit that switches the first switching unit to the conduction state after the second switching unit is switched to the non-conduction state in a case where the first switching unit is in the non-conduction state and the second switching unit is in the conduction state (fig. 13A switching control unit 120 switches MS ON after MDL OFF when MS OFF and MDL ON, not on/off simultaneously, 0038, 0045-0048, 0085-0086, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Colles discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1, further comprising: a second switching unit that switches between a conduction state in which the resonant circuit is conductive and a non-conduction state in which the resonant circuit is not conductive (fig. 13A second switching unit MDL switches conduction state when resonant circuit ON and non conduction with resonant OFF, fig. 3 steps 302-304 circuit + switch both conductive, 301 + 305 both nonconductive, 0045-0048); and a switching control unit that switches the first switching unit between the conduction state and the non-conduction state (fig. 13A switching control unit 120 switches MS between ON and OFF, 0038, 0045-0048, 0085 final sentence, 0086), wherein a time at which the second switching unit becomes the conduction state and a time at which the second switching unit becomes the non-conduction state are predetermined (fig. 13A 120 predetermines the second switching unit state/timing), and a time at which the switching control unit puts the first switching unit into the non- conduction state is determined, depending on the time at which the second switching unit becomes the conduction state (fig. 13A 120 turns MS OFF at time depending on time when MDL turned ON, MS turns OFF at some time prior to MDL ON, therefore MS OFF depends on MDL ON), and a time at which the switching control unit puts the first switching unit into the conduction state is determined, depending on the time at which the second switching unit becomes the non-conduction state (fig. 13A MS ON time depends on MDL OFF time, fig. 3 precharge step 305, MS ON occurs after + depends on MDL OFF).
Regarding claim 8, Colles discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the electric resistance of the electric path from the power supply to the resonant circuit is the first electric resistance (infinite or nonzero finite value between Vin and resonant circuit), a time period necessary to supply a first amount of electric charge from the power supply to the electric accumulator is a first time period (first time period to supply first amount of charge from Vin to CS either infinite or nonzero finite value, depending on if infinite or nonzero finite resistance), the first amount of electric charge is an amount of electric charge necessary to be accumulated in the electric accumulator in order for the light emitting element to emit light by causing the electric accumulator to supply a current to the light emitting element (first amount of electric charge = nonzero finite charge accumulating in CS to be supplied to DL), in a case where light emission of the light emitting element is completed, the first amount of electric charge is supplied from the power supply to the electric accumulator via the first switching unit in the conduction state (fig. 13a after DL light emission completed, nonzero finite charge supplied from Vin to CS via switch MS ON, fig. 3 precharge 305, 0045-0048, 0085 final sentence), the light emitting element re-emits light in a case where a current in the resonant circuit is supplied from the electric accumulator (fig. 3 subsequent cycle 301-305 DL re-emits light when current in resonant circuit supplied from CS), and in a case where the electric resistance of the electric path from the power supply to the resonant circuit is the second electric resistance (i.e. zero), a time period from an end of the light emission of the light emitting element to the light re-emission of the light emitting element is shorter than the first time period (time period with 0 resistance shorter than time period with first resistance (infinite or nonzero finite)).
Regarding claim 12, Colles discloses a light emitting device comprising: a resonant circuit that comprises a capacitor accumulating electric charge and generates a current by resonance occurred in the resonant circuit (fig. 13A resonant circuit CS + LS + LDL + CBP comprises capacitor CS and generates resonance current 223’, fig. 2C graph 206 shows significant resonance current 223’ generated when GATEBP signal not asserted in inferior (but sufficiently disclosed) embodiment, 0030, 0043); a light emitting element that emits pulsed light at resonance frequency in response to receiving the current generated by the resonance occurred in the resonant circuit (fig. 13A light emitting element DL emits at resonance frequency shown in plot of 223’ in fig. 2C plot 206 in response to receiving iDL from resonant circuit), wherein the resonance frequency of the pulsed light emitted from the light emitting element is calculated in accordance with an inductance of the resonant circuit and a capacitance of the resonant circuit (resonance frequency depends on inductance and capacitance of resonant circuit, f=1/2*pi*sqrt(LC), see also 0035); and a first switching means that is connected to a circuit between a power supply that supplies electric charge to the electric means for accumulating and the resonant circuit (fig. 13A first switching means MS connected to a circuit (from Vin to node 110) between power supply Vin and resonant circuit + supplies charge to capacitor CS, 0085-0086), and for switching between a conduction state in which the circuit from the power supply to the resonant circuit is conductive and a non-conduction state in which the circuit is not conductive (fig. 13A MS switches between conductive and non-conductive states in which circuit not conductive, 0085-0086), wherein in an electric path from the power supply to the resonant circuit, a lower limit value of an electric resistance necessary to suppress attenuation of the resonance is a first electric resistance (fig. 13A open/OFF switch MS provides effectively infinite (first) resistance in electric path to “suppress attenuation” of the resonance, as implicitly defined by applicant’s specification 0057), and an electric resistance of the electric path from the power supply to the resonant circuit in a case where the first switching means is in the conduction state is a second electric resistance smaller than the first electric resistance (fig. 13A resistance of electric path from Vin to resonant circuit where MS closed/ON is some other finite (second) resistance value smaller than effectively infinite first resistance).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colles in view of Hines (US-5933224-A).
Regarding claim 9, Colles discloses a detection apparatus comprising: the light emitting device according to claim 1 (claim 1 rejection), wherein the first switching unit switches to the conduction state, in a case where a current necessary for light emission of the light emitting element is supplied from the electric accumulator to the light emitting element in the non-conduction state (fig. 13A + 3, MS in conduction state when current from CS to DL not conducting, step 301 + 305, 0045-0048), an amount of electric charge necessary for supply of a current for causing the light emitting element to emit light is accumulated in the electric accumulator (fig. 13a charge for DL emission accumulated in CS, fig. 3 step 301 + 305).
Colles does not disclose a light receiving unit that receives light based on irradiation of a target object with light emitted from the light emitting device; and a detection unit that detects a distance to the target object on the basis of light reception of the light receiving unit, after a current necessary for light emission of the light emitting element is supplied from the electric accumulator until the light receiving unit receives light on the basis of the light emission, and a detection target includes a distance of 10 m as a distance to the target object.
Hines discloses a distance-measurement apparatus with a light receiving unit (fig. 3 receiving unit 118, col. 7 line 35 – col. 8 line 25), light detection unit (fig. 3 detection unit 122 determines distance based on 118 input) + laser range finder that transmits a single light pulse and waits until a full measurement cycle is complete before transmitting any subsequent light pulse (fig. 1, col. 1 lines 10-15 + col. 7 line 38-40 + col. 7 line 52 to col. 8 line 10), thus determining the pulse timing in accordance with a distance to a target object, and a maximum distance of 300 yards (col. 10 lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a light receiving unit that receives light based on irradiation of a target object with light emitted from the light emitting device; and a detection unit that detects a distance to the target object on the basis of light reception of the light receiving unit, after a current necessary for light emission of the light emitting element is supplied from the electric accumulator until the light receiving unit receives light on the basis of the light emission, and a detection target includes a distance of 10 m as a distance to the target object to add ranging/distance measurement functionality to the Colles device (Hines col. 1 lines 10-15), to allow for sufficient cooldown and recharge time for the electric accumulator. Using only one pulse per measurement cycle would also reduce the complexity required within the device’s distance calculation system. Finally, firing one pulse per cycle would reduce wasted energy in the case of misses or unusable data (Hines col. 8 line 55 – col. 9 line 10), and to allow for distance measurements of objects that are exactly 10 meters away.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colles in view of Moeneclaey (US-20170070029-A1).
Regarding claim 10, Colles discloses a light emitting device comprising: a resonant circuit that comprises a capacitor accumulating electric charge and generates a current by resonance occurred in the resonant circuit (fig. 13A resonant circuit CS + LS + LDL + CBP comprises capacitor CS and generates resonance current 223’, fig. 2C graph 206 shows significant resonance current 223’ generated when GATEBP signal not asserted in inferior (but sufficiently disclosed) embodiment, 0030, 0043); a light emitting element that emits pulsed light at resonance frequency in response to receiving the current generated by the resonance occurred in the resonant circuit (fig. 13A light emitting element DL emits at resonance frequency shown in plot of 223’ in fig. 2C plot 206 in response to receiving iDL from resonant circuit), wherein the resonance frequency of the pulsed light emitted from the light emitting element is calculated in accordance with an inductance of the resonant circuit and a capacitance of the resonant circuit (resonance frequency depends on inductance and capacitance of resonant circuit, f=1/2*pi*sqrt(LC), see also 0035); and a first switching unit that is connected to an electric path between a power supply that supplies electric charge to the electric accumulator and the resonant circuit (fig. 13A first switching unit MS connected to an electric path (from Vin to node 110) between power supply Vin and resonant circuit, 0085-0086), and switches between a conduction state in which a circuit from the power supply to the resonant circuit is conductive and a non-conduction state in which the circuit is not conductive (fig. 13A MS switches between conductive and non-conductive states in which circuit not conductive, 0085-0086), wherein in the electric path from the power supply to the resonant circuit, a lower limit value of an electric resistance necessary to suppress attenuation of the resonance is a first electric resistance (fig. 13A open/OFF switch MS provides effectively infinite (first) resistance in electric path to “suppress attenuation” of the resonance, as implicitly defined by applicant’s specification 0057), and an electric resistance of the electric path from the power supply to the resonant circuit in a case where the first switching unit is in the conduction state is a second electric resistance smaller than the first electric resistance (fig. 13A resistance of electric path from Vin to resonant circuit where MS closed/ON is some other finite (second) resistance value smaller than effectively infinite first resistance).
Colles does not disclose a light receiving unit that receives light based on irradiation of a target object with light emitted from the light emitting element; and a detection unit that detects a distance to the target object on the basis of light reception of the light receiving unit.
Moeneclaey discloses a light receiving unit (fig. 7 706) that receives light based on irradiation of a target object with light emitted from a light emitting element (0049-0050); and a detection unit (fig. 7 708) that detects a distance to the target object on the basis of light reception of the light receiving unit (0051-0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a light receiving unit that receives light based on irradiation of a target object with light emitted from the light emitting element; and a detection unit that detects a distance to the target object on the basis of light reception of the light receiving unit to add ranging/distance measurement functionality to the device (Moeneclaey 0003, 0051).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colles in view of Moeneclaey and Hines.
Regarding claim 11, modified Colles discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 10, further comprising: a second switching unit that switches between a conduction state in which the resonant circuit is conductive and a non-conduction state in which the resonant circuit is not conductive (fig. 13A second switching unit MDL switches conduction state when resonant circuit ON and non conduction with resonant OFF, fig. 3 steps 302-304 circuit + switch both conductive, 301 + 305 both nonconductive, 0045-0048).
Modified Colles does not disclose wherein a time period from a time at which the second switching unit becomes the non-conduction state to a time at which the second switching unit becomes the conduction state is determined in accordance with the distance to the target object that is set as a detection target in the detection apparatus.
Hines discloses a distance-measurement apparatus with a laser range finder that transmits a
single light pulse and waits until a full measurement cycle is complete before transmitting any
subsequent light pulse (fig. 1, col. 1 lines 10-15 + col. 7 line 38-40 + col. 7 line 52 to col. 8 line 10), thus
determining the pulse timing in accordance with a distance to a target object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to determine a time period from a time at which the second switching unit becomes the non-conduction state to a time at which the second switching unit becomes the
conduction state in accordance with the distance to the target object that is set as a detection target in
the detection apparatus to allow for sufficient cooldown and recharge time for the electric accumulator. Using only one pulse per measurement cycle would also reduce the complexity required within the device’s distance calculation system. Finally, firing one pulse per cycle would reduce wasted energy in the case of misses or unusable data (Hines col. 8 line 55 – col. 9 line 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mueller WO-2019211099-A1: Discloses a multi-switch circuit for pulsating actuation of laser diode
Includes storage capacitor charged after actuation of a first switch and discharged after actuation of second switch.
Davis US-20220131327-A1: Discloses rapid recharge laser driver used for multi-pulse transmission with switches used to control current flow to charge capacitors
Oka US-20200178361-A1: Discloses VCSEL array drive circuit and distance measurement apparatus
/A.E./ Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828